Best Mattresses for Sleep Apnea – Which Will Ease Your Symptoms?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

If you struggle with sleep apnea, I’ve been there. I have had sleep apnea for years, and I know just how exhausting it can be. There are treatment options such as a CPAP machine and surgery, but did you know that the right mattress can help with your sleep apnea?

In my best mattresses for sleep apnea roundup, I’ll discuss what you should look for in a mattress and help you find the right model for your specific situation. Let’s get to it!

Editor’s Note: This article has been created for informational purposes, and should not be taken as medical advice. If you think you may have sleep apnea, consult a physician.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for Sleep Apnea?

Our expert reviewers chose the Nectar as the best mattress for sleep apnea due to its effectiveness for side sleepers, conforming nature for better breathing, and affordability. 

Best Mattresses for Sleep Apnea: Our Top Picks

Compare Best Mattresses for Sleep Apnea

Nectar Mattress Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress DreamCloud Premier Mattress WinkBed Mattress Bear Original Mattress Saatva Mattress Nolah Natural Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Nectar Mattress Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress DreamCloud Premier Mattress WinkBed Mattress Bear Original Mattress Saatva Mattress Nolah Natural Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Soft: 6/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Foam Innerspring Latex Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Combination Back Combination Back & Side Back & Stomach Combination Back Back & Stomach

How We Chose Our Top Picks

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

Latex mattress testing in our studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

For this roundup, we considered about 20 mattresses, and came up with a list of 10 beds that offer soft pressure relief for those with sleep apnea. Side sleeping can ease sleep apnea, and all of these mattresses scored well with pressure relief. The list contains a wide range of mattress types and prices.

Best Memory Foam Mattress for Sleep Apnea- Nectar Classic

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Nectar
Features that slow-moving memory foam feel
Great for side and back sleepers
Medium-firm and offers good support
Cons of the Nectar
Sleepers looking for bounce should opt for a bed with coils
Extra hot sleepers should choose the Nectar Premier Copper or a different bed

Our Expert’s Take

Memory foam mattresses are usually a good match for those with sleep apnea, and the Nectar Classic is no exception. This mattress boasts some of the softest, comfiest memory foam layers around and offers exceptional pressure relief for side sleeping. When you lie down on the Nectar, you’ll sink in and feel the mattress conform to the shape of your body. Because of this, the Nectar Classic will also help with any other hip or back pain issues you may be experiencing.

What the testers say: “When I lay on my side on the Nectar, I could feel the foam contouring around my shoulder and hip. It was also easy to switch positions when I wanted to move onto my back, and that ease of movement can be hard to find in some memory foam mattresses.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar

  • Average and lightweight back sleepers will feel comfortable and supported on the pressure-relieving memory foam. 
  • This is a great mattress for couples who need top-tier motion isolation. When your partner moves in their sleep, you won’t feel disturbed by the movement.
  • It’s generally a great option for side sleepers, especially those with hip pain. Its medium-firmness allows for average and lightweight sleepers’s hips to sink in enough to experience pain relief. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • The Nectar is truly a slow-moving all-foam mattress. If you prefer a bouncy or traditional innerspring feel, this might not be the best match for you. 
  • Memory foam mattresses tend to absorb heat while you sleep. The Nectar’s cooling cover and gel-infused memory foam may not be enough for extra hot sleepers to sleep cool. 
  • Stomach sleepers won’t find enough support from this bed and should opt for something firmer. 

Other User Reviews

On the Nectar website, the Nectar Classic boasts an impressive 4.7/5 rating from over 55,000 reviews. Many reviewers experienced back, hip and joint pain relief and said that it was very soft and comfortable to sleep on. Other reviewers mentioned that it did not sleep as cool as they had hoped. Not all users were a fan of the slow-moving feel, but for soft mattress fans, this was a great purchase. 

Read the full Nectar Classic mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Memory Foam Mattresses for more great options!

Most Comfortable Mattress for Sleep Apnea- Helix Midnight Luxe

Most Comfortable Mattress For Sleep Apnea

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Most Comfortable Mattress For Sleep Apnea

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994
Most Comfortable Mattress For Sleep Apnea

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Helix Midnight Luxe
Features advanced cooling materials
Soft but responsive
A luxurious, durable mattress
Cons of the Helix Midnight Luxe
Not ideal for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

When you have sleep apnea, you don’t want to skimp on comfort, and the Helix Midnight Luxe has that in spades. The Helix Midnight Luxe is a high-quality hybrid mattress that features supportive coils, pressure-relieving foam and a plush pillow top comfort layer. This Helix Midnight Luxe offers nice comfort for side sleeping, the best position for dealing with sleep apnea. At the same time, the mattress is zoned, which will keep your spine in neutral alignment while you sleep on your side.

What the testers say: “I have sleep apnea, and one thing I know I need in a mattress is a mattress that offers me pressure relief for side sleeping. I got just that on the Helix Midnight Luxe, which helped me sleep soundly.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • Its medium-firmness makes this bed a great fit for average and lightweight side sleepers. We ranked this bed a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale, which is the industry standard for medium firmness. 
  • The zoned support layer delivers extra firmness around the lumbar area. This extra support will help prevent lower back pain and promote neutral spinal alignment. 
  • The Helix Midnight Luxe features some high-density foam and other high-quality materials such as individually-wrapped coils. Based on its construction, this mattress should last for at least 10 years.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • Sleepers over 275 lb should consider mattresses designed for heavy people. This bed is too soft for heavier back and stomach sleepers and too firm for heavier side sleepers. 
  • This mattress is delivered in a box, and we noticed a slight chemical smell after opening it. The smell dissipated completely after 48 hours. 

Other User Reviews

The Helix Midnight Luxe has received 5,306 reviews on the Helix website with an average rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars. Top-rated reviews praised how effective this bed was at eliminating lower back pain. Reviews across the board mentioned how the Midnight Luxe was softer than some sleepers expected.

Read the full Helix Midnight Luxe mattress review. Or check out our list of Most Comfortable Mattresses for other great options!

Best Hybrid Mattress for Sleep Apnea- DreamCloud Premier

Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier
Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros of the DreamCloud Premier
Features an excellent cooling build
Quilted foam and cashmere cover is a mattress tester favorite
Coils add bouncy responsiveness
Cons of the DreamCloud Premier
Won’t appeal to those who prefer an extra-soft or extra-firm mattress
One of the pricier models from DreamCloud

Our Expert’s Take

Hybrid mattresses are a great choice if you deal with sleep apnea. The DreamCloud Premier mattress is one of our favorite hybrid mattresses, as its thick memory foam relieves pressure on the shoulders and hips while the durable layer of steel coils keeps your spine properly supported. What’s more, the DreamCloud Premier mattress has a Euro pillowtop that adds a luxury hotel feel to the bed.

What the testers say: “The DreamCloud Premier is a hybrid bed with a luxury pillow top, so you get ample support with a luxe feels on top. I was impressed with how well it contoured around my curves and relieved pressure along my hips and lower back.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud Premier

  • The DreamCloud Premier is a pillow-top mattress. The soft, cashmere blend cover oozes luxury, and although you get some of that slow-moving memory foam feel, you also get lots of give-and-take from the coil layer.
  • The hybrid DreamCloud Premier will hardly trap heat. The quilted cashmere cover is very breathable, and the coils promote circulation of air, pulling body heat away.
  • The mattress is ideal for side and back sleepers. It offers good body contouring and provides ample pressure relief.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud Premier

  • As a solidly medium-firm mattress, this won’t suit a sleeper who favors either a softer or firmer mattress. Instead those sleepers may want to look at a hybrid bed that furnishes multiple firmness options, like the Saatva Classic or WinkBed — read on to learn more about those hybrids in this roundup.
  • Stomach sleepers — especially those on the heavier side — may not get enough support on the DreamCloud Premier. We’d suggest a firmer bed, like the DreamCloud Original if you’re a light- or medium-weight sleeper, or the Emma Hybrid Comfort for heavier stomach sleepers.

Other User Reviews

With more than 5,000 reviews on DreamCloud’s website, the Premier mattress has an average rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars. Many customers mentioned that they love the hybrid design, and many are happy with the firmness of the mattress. Verified buyer Jon O. wrote that the bed offered complete sleep apnea relief: “After initial couple weeks of adjustment, we are having the best, most restful sleep we’ve ever had. Bonus? My sleep apnea events have gone to zero. The Mrs. is echoing my sentiments. Get one – fast!” Most customers who had complaints mentioned the bed’s firmness not being to their preference.

Read the full DreamCloud Premier mattress review. Or check out our list of the Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options!

Best Mattress for Back Pain and Sleep Apnea- WinkBed

Best Mattress For Back Pain

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress For Back Pain

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
WinkBed
Best Mattress For Back Pain

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the WinkBed
A luxury mattress and features high-end materials
Comes in multiple firmness options as well as a version just for heavy people
Breathable and features nice cooling materials
Cons of the WinkBed
Heavy to set up

Our Expert’s Take

Sleep apnea does not occur in a vacuum, and you may be struggling with other issues like back pain. The WinkBed is just the mattress to soothe your back pain while easing your sleep apnea. This luxury hybrid mattress features zoned coils, high-density foams and a plush pillow top. You’ll get the pressure relief you need, and the zoned coils will provide extra lumbar support. This can ease and prevent back pain because it keeps your spine in good neutral alignment. Say goodbye to back pain and reduce your sleep apnea symptoms at the same time.

What the testers say: “I tested the Luxury Firm version of the WinkBed, and I really enjoyed how well it supported me, particularly while back sleeping. The zoned support kept my spine in a nice, neutral alignment.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • This mattress comes in four firmness options, so it offers something for all sleepers. The Luxury Firm model works best for best sleepers who weigh less than 300 lb. 
  • There are several design features that make this mattress great for hot sleepers. Its breathable Tencel cover, gel-infused memory foam and innerspring coils all promote airflow. 
  • Its bouncy, innerspring feel makes this bed easy to change positions on. It’s a great fit for average and lightweight combination sleepers. 

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • The WinkBed did not perform well during our motion transfer test. This could be an issue for couples looking for a new mattress. 
  • The Luxury Firm model is not the best fit for heavyweight sleepers. We recommend looking into the WinkBed Plus model designed for sleepers over 300 lb.

Other User Reviews

Overall, the WinkBed Luxury Hybrid has earned a nearly perfect 4.8 star average out of about 8,400 reviews online. Plenty of positive reviews mention how this bed eliminated any back or joint pain they had. With four firmness options, some shoppers found that their bed’s firmness level was either too soft or too firm for their comfort. 

Read the full WinkBed mattress review. Or check out our Best Mattresses for Back Pain for other great options!

Best Cooling Mattress for Sleep Apnea- Bear Original

Best Cooling Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame
Best Cooling Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Bear
One of the best mattresses for athletes
Features a comfortable, classic memory foam feel
A great value mattress
Cons of the Bear
Not firm enough for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

If you deal with sleep apnea and sleep hot as well, you want a mattress that will relieve pressure while keeping you cool. That’s why we are such big fans of the Bear Original mattress–it is a soft memory foam mattress that contains some nice cooling features. Its comfortable design offers great pressure point relief for side sleepers, and its Celliant cover and gel-infused memory foam both dissipate heat. Overheating is an issue with many memory foam mattresses, but it shouldn’t be with the Bear!

What the testers say: “On top of having sleep apnea, I also tend to sleep a bit hot. The Bear mattress’s breathable cover and cooling foam kept me from overheating, which told me I wouldn’t me waking up sweaty on this bed.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear

  • This bed is great for back sleepers of all body types. Even heavyweight sleepers will feel pleasant spinal support and comfort. Average and lightweight sleepers will benefit most from its pressure-relieving comfort layer. 
  • The Bear Original is sold at an affordable price and is a great value for the high quality materials used. 
  • Its high-density foam support layer helps with spinal alignment throughout the night. The foam will help contour at the lower back, while still being firm enough to keep the spine straight.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear

  • This mattress is likely too soft for most stomach sleepers. If you sleep on your stomach, consider a firmer mattress that will better support your hips. 
  • Heavier side sleepers will require a firmer, more supportive mattress. From our testing, these sleepers might sink too far into the mattress or feel pain on pressure points. 

Other User Reviews

On the Bear website, the Bear Original mattress received over 10,000 reviews with a rating of 4.4 out of 5. Many people bought the Bear Original to relieve their back pain and were satisfied with their purchase. Some mid-range reviews mentioned how the mattress was slightly firmer than their expectations, but most still found it comfortable to sleep on. 

Read the full Bear mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more options!

Best Luxury Mattress for Sleep Apnea- Saatva Classic

Best Luxury Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Luxury Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Saatva
Responsive so it’s easy move around on
Breathable materials and will keep you cool at night
Offers good relief for back pain
Cons of the Saatva
Sleepers looking for contouring or sinkage won’t like it

Our Expert’s Take

Looking for something more luxurious? The Saatva Classic could do just the trick if you have sleep apnea. The Saatva is an innerspring mattress that boasts two sets of coils, high-density foam and a pillow top. It has the look and feel of a mattress you might find in a luxury hotel. You can select from three firmnesses, but we recommend the Plush Soft model. Its plush pillow top will provide much-needed pressure relief, while its zoned construction keeps you in good alignment.

What the testers say: “The Saatva has a traditional feel that reminded me of beds I slept on when I was growing up. The bounce makes it easy to move around on, and the combination of springs and organic cotton makes it super breathable.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva

  • Combination sleepers will feel comfortable in multiple sleeping positions because of its firm support layers and plush pillow-top cover. Its bouncy feel also makes it easy to move around on.
  • Its innerspring coils and breathable organic cotton cover make this bed a great option for hot sleepers. There’s a lot of room for airflow here.
  • It is constructed with high-quality materials, like organic cotton, CertiPUR-US® certified foam and steel coils. These materials will help it last at least 10 years. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • The Saatva Classic has a vastly different feel than a slow-moving memory foam mattress. It’ll be bouncy and responsive and won’t have that sinking feeling.
  • Side sleepers, especially lightweight side sleepers, might find the Luxury Firm model to be too firm to feel pressure relief. 

Other User Reviews

On Saatva’s website, the Saatva Classic has an average 4.8 out of 5 stars after just under 3,000 reviews. Positive reviews rave about Saatva’s customer service that was an added bonus on top of the high-quality mattress. Because the bed comes in multiple firmness options, some users were not initially satisfied with the first mattress they purchased and ended up choosing a different firmness option. Regardless, some users thought that all of the Classic models were too firm.

Read the full Saatva mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Luxury Mattresses for more options!

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers with Sleep Apnea- Nolah Natural

Best Mattress For Side Sleepers

Nolah Natural Mattress

Nolah Natural - coupon

The Nolah Natural mattress, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back sleepers will especially appreciate its zoned coil system.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress For Side Sleepers

Nolah Natural Mattress

Nolah Natural - coupon

The Nolah Natural mattress, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back sleepers will especially appreciate its zoned coil system.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Nolah Natural - coupon
Best Mattress For Side Sleepers

Nolah Natural Mattress

The Nolah Natural mattress, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back sleepers will especially appreciate its zoned coil system.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 Nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros of the Nolah Natural
A good cooling option for hot sleepers
Offers a unique feel with the use of both latex and coils
Excellent choice for organic mattress lovers
Cons of the Nolah Natural
Will not have a slow-moving foam feel that some sleepers seek

Our Expert’s Take

Side sleeping is the best position for those with sleep apnea, and one of our favorite mattresses for this position is the Nolah Natural. As the name suggests, this is an organic, sustainably sourced mattress that features supportive coils and comfortable foams. The mattress boasts an organic cotton cover that testers said lent a luxurious feel and excellent breathability. Comfort layers also include organic wool, which is another temperature-regulating material that also acts as a natural fire barrier — that also means there’s no fiberglass to speak of in this bed. A 2” Talalay latex foam layer adds more durability and bounce than traditional memory foam, and testers said that the zoned support coils helped keep their spines aligned. 

What the testers say: “I’m a combination sleeper, and I tend to sleep on my side for a good portion of the night. I think the Nolah Natural is great for this position, because it has the bouncy latex to help you seamlessly move around and lots of pressure relief. I’ll also mention that side sleeping is ideal for those with sleep apnea, so I’d encourage you to try it out if it’s not already your go-to position.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Natural

  • Though the Nolah Natural features coils in its support layer, the comfort layer at the top of the mattress is quite thick. This will provide a good amount of pressure relief for side sleepers.
  • It’s built with many cooling components. The bouncy latex is also breathable and designed for temperature regulation. The coils offer a lot of airflow as well.
  • Latex and coils are two of the most durable materials in a mattress, so you can expect a long life from your mattress — at least 10 years, we estimate.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Natural

  • While this isn’t Nolah’s most luxurious model (that goes to the Nolah Evolution), the use of organic materials makes the bed slightly pricier than the typical comparable model, so even with a discount, a queen is about $1,500.
  • The build of bouncy latex and coils means that Nolah Natural does not isolate motion very well, so the bed could be a difficult fit for couples who tend to be awoken by their partner’s motion transfer through the bed.

Other User Reviews

Looking through reviews on Nolah’s website, many customers are very happy with their purchase, averaging 4.8 out of 5 stars. A common sentiment was praise for Nolah’s customer service and general remarks about how comfortable the mattress is. We’ll note, however, that Nolah is less transparent with its customer feedback than other brands since you can’t sort for negative reviews.

Read the full Nolah Natural mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers for more great options!

Best Affordable Mattress for Sleep Apnea- Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature
Responsive and won’t make you feel stuck
The coils promote airflow
Firmness options make it a good fit for multiple sleeping positions
Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature
Has a simple construction so won’t appeal to those after luxury

Our Expert’s Take

Sleep apnea can be expensive with all the treatment and CPAP costs, so you don’t want to spend too much on your mattress. The Brooklyn Bedding Signature is an affordable bed-in-a-box mattress that will still be a good fit for those with sleep apnea. It comes in three firmnesses, and the Soft model boasts some excellent pressure relief for side sleeping. A plush pillow top and soft foam will relieve any pressure around the shoulders and hips while the coils provide solid support. You’ll be able to sleep in the best position for sleep apnea, and you won’t break the bank to do so.

What the testers say: “The Brooklyn Signature has a fairly simple construction, but that doesn’t mean its not a quality mattress. I tested the medium firmness model of this bed, and really enjoyed how well it supported me, particularly while back sleeping.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • The medium-firm model is a great option for average and lightweight combination sleepers. Back and stomach sleepers in these categories should feel a good balance of comfort and support.
  • The mattress does a good job of regulating body temperature and dissipating heat. Its main comfort layer is made with proprietary TitanFlex foam to promote cooling. 
  • It’s a responsive mattress and is very easy to move around on. Individually-wrapped coils and layers of high-density foam offers a bouncy and pillow-top feel. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • This is not a bed designed for heavy sleepers. For heavier back and stomach sleepers, a firmer mattress would be a better fit to ensure they receive proper support. 
  • As an innerspring mattress, it doesn’t absorb motion well. For couples who share a bed together, this may be an issue. 

Other User Reviews

On the Brooklyn Bedding website, over 10,000 reviews rate the Signature Hybrid mattress 4.7 out of 5 stars. Several positive reviews mention that the mattress is comfortable and helps with aches and pains. Many users purchased the Signature Hybrid for their RVs and could enjoy sleeping easily while on the road. One specific remark made by users with negative reviews was that the medium-firm model was too firm for side sleepers. 

Read the full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Affordable Mattresses for other options!

Best Latex Mattress for Sleep Apnea- Birch

Best Latex Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Latex Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Latex Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Birch
A durable, long-term investment
Hypoallergenic
Bouncy and easy to move around on
Cons of the Birch
Expensive

Our Expert’s Take

Latex mattresses are often a good fit for sleep apnea, because of their hypoallergenic materials. Allergies can exacerbate sleep apnea symptoms, but a mattress like the Birch can help prevent allergen buildup in your mattress. Also, similar to the other mattresses on this list, the Birch is ideal for side sleeping. The mattress comes with or without a pillow top, and we do recommend splurging for the pillow top. This adds more comfort to the top of the mattress, making it even more comfortable for side sleeping.

What the testers say: “The Birch has a bouyant and bouncy feel that makes it really easy to move around on. Since I’m a combination sleeper, I need to be able to switch positions, and I was able to do so with ease on this bed.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch

  • It’s made with 100% certified organic materials that are also hypoallergenic. This is great for those who have sensitive allergies in addition to sleep apnea, as these materials won’t trap anything that could make allergies worse.
  • It’s a very bouncy and responsive mattress. This means that the Birch mattress is great for combination sleepers who tend to move around frequently during the night. 
  • All of the materials that go into the Birch mattress are designed for longevity. This mattress should last you at least a decade.

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch

  • While we do love the organic materials that go into this mattress, their inclusion does drive up the price. Shoppers who are on a strict budget should stick to a mattress with a lower price tag.
  • If you’re looking for something that provides a lot of body contouring, and has more of a slow-moving memory foam feel, the Birch is not the mattress for you.

Other User Reviews

Birch customers gave the Birch mattress 4.6 out of 5 stars on the brand’s website. Many praised the fact that it is made with organic materials. Some stomach sleepers found that it was the perfect match for them. However, some reviews that were less than satisfactory mentioned the fact that the bed was too firm for them. 

Read the full Birch mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Latex Mattresses for other great options!

What Is Sleep Apnea?

Sleep apnea occurs when you stop breathing during the night and wake up. You may not realize you are waking up at first, which is why sleep apnea is so difficult to diagnose. However, you are waking up, and this prevents you from getting a good night’s sleep.

However, it’s more than just lost sleep. Sleep apnea can also increase your chances of heart disease, hypertension, and Alzheimer’s.

The most common type of sleep apnea is Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA). This occurs when the muscles at the back of the throat muscles relax, narrowing or collapsing your airway. When this happens, you wake up in order to start breathing again.

You might also suffer from Central Sleep Apnea, which occurs when your brain does not send the correct signals to maintain proper breathing while you sleep. If you have Complex Sleep Apnea, this means you have developed Central Sleep Apnea after previously having Obstructive Sleep Apnea.

Sleep Apnea Symptoms

At first, many sleep apnea sufferers might not realize that they are experiencing sleep apnea. This is because the symptoms of sleep apnea occur while they are sleeping. If you sleep alone, you may have no idea that you are exhibiting signs of sleep apnea.

However, if you sleep with a partner, they will have plenty to tell you. First off, you will probably be snoring loudly during the night. Also, you may seem to choke in your sleep and may even stop breathing.

A man sleeps on his back with a CPAP machine on his face.
Testing an elevated sleep position in our sleep lab

If you don’t sleep with a partner, you’ll notice some symptoms during the day. You will feel daytime fatigue and will probably have a headache. You may also have a sore, dry throat as well.

How To Choose A Mattress For Sleep Apnea

When you’re choosing a new mattress for sleep apnea, there are a few things to keep in mind. First off, you want to think about your sleeping position. Side sleeping is the best sleeping position for sleep apnea as it helps open your airways, preventing apnea incidents. You can also sleep on your stomach, but this can lead to other pain issues.

You’re going to want to sleep on your side, so you will want a mattress with good pressure relief. Side sleeping, your weight is concentrated on your shoulders and hips, and you need a mattress that will relieve buildup around those pressure points. Consider a softer mattress that will let you sink in a fair bit.

A man sleeps on his side on the Big Fig mattress
Marten side sleep testing a mattress in our sleep lab

At the same time, don’t choose a mattress that is too soft. If you sink in too far, it could throw your spine out of alignment. This can lead to back pain and other joint pain issues. Choose a soft mattress, but make sure the mattress offers some good support as well.

Hybrid mattresses are often a great match for sleep apnea because they provide the comfort of foam and the support of coils. A memory foam mattress can offer great pressure relief but, again, make sure it isn’t too soft.

Finally, you want to pay attention to the materials used in the mattress. Specifically, are they hypoallergenic or not? A mattress with hypoallergenic materials can prevent dust mites and allergen buildup in the mattress and this can, in turn, make you feel less congested. Congestion from allergies can exacerbate sleep apnea symptoms, so this is something to keep in mind.

Firm vs Soft Mattress For Sleep Apnea

If you’re looking for the best mattress for sleep apnea, you do want to think about firmness levels. Generally speaking, a soft mattress is going to be better for sleep apnea. Soft mattresses offer better pressure relief than firm mattresses, making them a better fit for side sleeping.

However, stomach sleeping can also work if you struggle with sleep apnea. While it can lead to back pain issues, stomach sleeping can still ease sleep apnea symptoms. If you do decide to sleep on your stomach, a firm mattress will be the better choice. This will help keep your hips elevated and your entire body supported.

Summary

Again, here is our list of the best mattresses for sleep apnea.

MattressBest For:
Nectar ClassicBest Memory Foam Mattress
Helix Midnight LuxeMost Comfortable Mattress
DreamCloud PremierBest Hybrid Mattress
WinkBedBest Mattress for Back Pain
Bear OriginalBest Cooling Mattress
Saatva ClassicBest Luxury Mattress
Nolah NaturalBest Mattress for Side Sleepers
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Affordable Mattress
BirchBest Latex Mattress

Best Mattress for Sleep Apnea FAQs

Can a bad mattress cause sleep apnea?

A bad mattress cannot actually cause sleep apnea, but it can exacerbate an existing condition. If the mattress does not let you sleep on your side, it could cause you to wake up more often during the night. We recommend getting a soft mattress that makes side sleeping more comfortable.

What type of mattress is best for sleep apnea?

A soft mattress that provides good pressure relief is the best. This will keep you comfortable when side sleeping, the best position for those with sleep apnea. Look for mattresses that have a firmness rating of 6.5 or lower, and use soft foams for added contouring.

Is a firm mattress better for sleep apnea?

In general, firm mattresses are not the best for sleep apnea. Side sleeping is ideal for sleep apnea, and a soft mattress is better for this position. However, stomach sleeping can also help ease sleep apnea and, in this case, a firmer mattress is better.

Are TEMPUR-Pedic mattresses good for sleep apnea?

Yes, the majority of TEMPUR-Pedic mattresses are good for sleep apnea. This is because most TEMPUR-Pedic mattresses have a softer feel, thanks to the brand’s proprietary TEMPUR foam. This special memory foam offers lots of soft cushioning and contouring.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.