Best Organic and Non-Toxic Mattresses of 2022

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

If you’re a sustainable shopper or just want the comfort of knowing you’re buying a product free of harmful or toxic chemicals, then you’re probably intrigued by the idea of buying an organic mattress. That being said, the organic landscape is tricky, as many beds don’t actually live up to their promises of being made with naturally sourced materials. That’s why we’ve made it easy for you by rounding up the best organic mattresses that are truly organic.

The Best Organic and Non-Toxic Mattresses

The best organic mattresses we’ve personally tested are:

 

Not all organic mattresses are created equal; they contain different materials and feature different firmnesses and extra features. Be sure to pay attention to the superlatives we’ve assigned to each mattress to find the best one for you. If you’re still looking for more personalized recommendations, try taking our mattress quiz.

Editor's Pick

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is a luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support. 

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

180 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$1189 - $3075

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor's Pick

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is a luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support. 

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

180 nights

Price Range

$1189 - $3075

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor's Pick

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is a luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support. 

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

180 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$1189 - $3075

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is, as the name suggests, a latex hybrid mattress! Big surprise, right? The mattress features supportive coils, Talalay latex, wool, and organic cotton. With this hybrid construction, the bed has a great balance of comfort and support. This makes it a particularly good fit for back sleepers.

What Makes the Saatva Latex Hybrid Stand Out?

  • The plush wool and Talalay latex allow the hips to sink in ever so slightly.
  • The latex and coils create just the right amount of pushback, offering great support.
  • It’s an excellent match for hot sleepers. The coils promote airflow through the mattress, and the Talalay latex won’t trap heat the way that other foams are known to do.

Read our full Saatva Latex Hybrid mattress review

Best Cooling Organic Mattress

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a very supportive latex hybrid mattress.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1399 - $2399

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Organic Mattress

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a very supportive latex hybrid mattress.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1399 - $2399

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Organic Mattress

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a very supportive latex hybrid mattress.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1399 - $2399

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Made with naturally breathable materials, the WinkBeds EcoCloud mattress will help you stay cool all night long. Beneath this bed’s organic cotton cover sits a layer of soft New Zealand wool. In addition to creating nice pressure relief, wool promotes airflow. Underneath this, you’ll find a 4″ layer of Talalay latex. Unlike memory foam, latex has a bouncy and responsive feel. This means it doesn’t trap heat as easily!

What Makes the WinkBeds EcoCloud Stand Out?

  • To make things even breezier, the EcoCloud mattress has a layer of zoned pocketed coils that further assist with airflow.
  • The WinkBeds EcoCloud has a medium-firm feel, so it’s well-suited for back and side sleepers.
  • The high-quality materials make the bed especially durable, so it’s a great investment.

Read our full EcoCloud mattress review.

Best Flippable Mattress

EcoSleep Hybrid Mattress

The EcoSleep Hybrid features a luxurious and eco-friendly design.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read EcoSleep Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$899 - $1898

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Flippable Mattress

EcoSleep Hybrid Mattress

The EcoSleep Hybrid features a luxurious and eco-friendly design.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read EcoSleep Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$899 - $1898

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Flippable Mattress

EcoSleep Hybrid Mattress

The EcoSleep Hybrid features a luxurious and eco-friendly design.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read EcoSleep Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$899 - $1898

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

The Brooklyn Bedding EcoSleep mattress isn’t just high-quality and durable — it’s also flippable! This means you can choose between two firmness levels to get the proper support you need. The medium-firm side is fantastic for back sleepers, and the firm side will suit stomach sleepers quite well. Both sides have a bouncy and responsive feel.

What Makes the Brooklyn Bedding EcoSleep Stand Out?

  • The entire mattress is made with durable and eco-friendly materials. It has a cover made out of organic cotton and two layers of natural latex.
  • Because it’s made with both coils and latex, this mattress is naturally breathable. You shouldn’t sink inside the layers and trap body heat.
  • For support, this mattress has 6″ of Ascension coils.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding EcoSleep mattress review.

Best Organic Hybrid

Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress

If you're looking for an all natural latex bed with options, look no further than Nest Bedding's Owl mattress. This has three firmness options making it a great pick for just about anyone.

Read Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1049 - $2498

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Organic Hybrid

Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress

If you're looking for an all natural latex bed with options, look no further than Nest Bedding's Owl mattress. This has three firmness options making it a great pick for just about anyone.

Read Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$1049 - $2498

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Organic Hybrid

Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress

If you're looking for an all natural latex bed with options, look no further than Nest Bedding's Owl mattress. This has three firmness options making it a great pick for just about anyone.

Read Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1049 - $2498

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Made with high-quality materials, the Owl Natural Latex Hybrid is one of the best organic mattresses on the market. It has has three different firmness levels to choose from, so it’s easy to find a bed that suits your needs. If you’re a side sleeper, we recommend the Plush model, as it creates excellent pressure relief along the shoulders and hips. Combination sleepers may prefer the medium option, and stomach sleepers will want to choose the firm mattress.

What Makes the Owl Natural Latex Hybrid Mattress Stand Out?

  • Because of its hybrid construction, the Owl has a bouncy and responsive feel.
  • Hybrid construction allows for airflow, so hot sleepers shouldn’t overheat at night.
  • The latex in the support layer is made in the U.S.A.
Best Organic Mattress for Back Sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Birch Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$1249 - $1999

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Back Sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Birch Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$1249 - $1999

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Back Sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Birch Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1249 - $1999

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix is a company known for its flexibility and mattress customization. Now, they’re in the latex game with the Birch, a latex hybrid mattress that features some very high-end components. It contains Talalay latex, organic cotton, and individually wrapped coils. These materials make it an excellent mattress for back sleepers, giving them the balance of comfort and support they require. The hips sink into the tufted organic cotton and Talalay latex, while the rest of the body still gets a slight lift.

What Makes the Birch by Helix Stand Out?

Read our full Birch by Helix mattress review.

Best Organic Latex Mattress

Avocado Green Mattress

Avocado is an innovative, all-natural mattress that a lot of people are going to like. 

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Avocado Green Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

25-year limited warranty

Price Range

$1099 - $2099

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Latex Mattress

Avocado Green Mattress

Avocado is an innovative, all-natural mattress that a lot of people are going to like. 

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Avocado Green Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$1099 - $2099

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Latex Mattress

Avocado Green Mattress

Avocado is an innovative, all-natural mattress that a lot of people are going to like. 

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Avocado Green Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

25-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1099 - $2099

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Avocado is another latex hybrid mattress that features nice components such as Dunlop latex and pocketed coils.  Like the Birch, it also comes with an optional pillow-top. This gives shoppers a few firmness options. We reviewed a model with the pillow-top and found its pressure relief to be a good option for both back sleepers and side sleepers. Given that the Avocado is a high-quality latex hybrid, it should be a good fit for hot sleepers as well. The Dunlop latex is quite breathable, and the pocketed coils allow a great deal of room for airflow.

What Makes the Avocado Mattress Stand Out?

  • The Avocado is a high-quality latex hybrid mattress that should offer a luxury hotel look and feel.
  • Without the pillow top, the Avocado should be a firmer option for stomach sleepers.
  • The Avocado is reasonably priced at under $1,600 for a Queen-size.

Read our full Avocado mattress review

Best Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Awara Mattress

The Awara is a firmer latex hybrid mattress that could be a good pick for back and stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Awara Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Limited lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1398 - $2198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Awara Mattress

The Awara is a firmer latex hybrid mattress that could be a good pick for back and stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Awara Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Limited lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$1398 - $2198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Awara Mattress

The Awara is a firmer latex hybrid mattress that could be a good pick for back and stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Awara Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Limited lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1398 - $2198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Awara is another latex hybrid mattress that contains some very durable, high-quality materials, boasting 4″ of Dunlop latex and over 9″ of pocketed coils. Being such a tall, durable mattress, it should be a good fit for stomach sleepers, who tend to need more support than other sleeping positions. The coils and dense Dunlop latex should also be able to support heavier sleepers.

What Makes the Awara Stand Out?

  • It’s one of the firmer mattresses on this list, clocking in at an 8/10 on our firmness scale.
  • Lying on the Awara, we don’t feel our hips bowing in whatsoever.
  • The mattress contains durable materials, so it should last for a number of years without sagging.

Read our full Awara mattress review

Most Durable Organic Mattress

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Zenhaven Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

180 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$1449 - $3296

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Most Durable Organic Mattress

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Zenhaven Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

180 nights

Price Range

$1449 - $3296

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Most Durable Organic Mattress

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Zenhaven Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

180 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1449 - $3296

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

The all-latex Zenhaven is one of the more unique options on this list because it’s flippable. Featuring both a Luxury Firm and Gentle Plush side, it offers sleepers two firmnesses in a single bed, so stomach sleepers, back sleepers, and some side sleepers should get what they’re looking for.

What Makes the Zenhaven Stand Out?

  • The Zenhaven is one of the best latex mattresses currently on the market, and it’s especially durable.
  • It’s moderately priced for an all-latex mattress.
  • It contains durable, Talalay latex in all its layers.

Read our full Zenhaven mattress review

Best Organic Mattress for Back Pain

PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Mattress

A great organic option for folks who want a little bounce and some cooling.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$2599 - $3598

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Best Organic Mattress for Back Pain

PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Mattress

A great organic option for folks who want a little bounce and some cooling.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$2599 - $3598

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Best Organic Mattress for Back Pain

PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Mattress

A great organic option for folks who want a little bounce and some cooling.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$2599 - $3598

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5

The PlushBeds Botanical Bliss mattress creates a great balance of comfort and support, which is exactly what you need if you suffer from back pain. In the comfort layer, you’ll find 2″ of Talalay Latex. This breathable material doesn’t trap body heat, and it creates plenty of pressure relief. For support, the Botanical Bliss mattress has two layers of Dunlop Latex.

What Makes the PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Stand Out?

  • Because of its unique construction, the Botanical Bliss mattress has a medium firmness level.
  •  It feels bouncy and responsive, so you won’t feel “stuck” inside this mattress.
  •  Overall, we recommend this mattress for back and side sleepers.

Read our full PlushBeds Botanical Bliss mattress review

Best Organic Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Natural Mattress

The Nolah Natural mattress, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back sleepers will especially appreciate its zoned coil system.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Nolah Natural Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

120 Nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$999 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Organic Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Natural Mattress

The Nolah Natural mattress, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back sleepers will especially appreciate its zoned coil system.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Nolah Natural Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 Nights

Price Range

$999 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Organic Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Natural Mattress

The Nolah Natural mattress, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back sleepers will especially appreciate its zoned coil system.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Nolah Natural Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

120 Nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$999 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

The Nolah Natural contains many high-quality materials. When you rest on top of it, you’ll feel loads of comfort from the organic wool and Talalay latex foam. But that’s not the only reason we love this bed! Thanks to Nolah’s proprietary HDMax TriZone support coil system, side sleepers should get plenty of support.

And because the Nolah Natural is so well-made, we expect it to last at least 10 years. This organic mattress is definitely worth the investment!

What Makes The Nolah Natural Mattress Stand Out?

  • It offers plenty of pressure relief for side sleepers.
  • The strong coil system helps sleepers maintain the correct spinal alignment.
  • Thanks to its high-quality materials, it will last at least 10 years.

Read our full Nolah Natural mattress review.

What Is an Organic Mattress?

So, what exactly are we talking about when we say “organic mattress”? Simply put, we are talking about a mattress that does not contain harmful chemicals and is made of all-natural materials. Few mattresses are 100% all-natural, but many are made of naturally, sustainably-sourced materials such as latex, cotton, and wool.

However, with organic mattresses, it isn’t so much about what is in them but rather what isn’t. Many standard, non-organic mattresses often contain polyurethane foams, vinyl, and other synthetic materials. These, in turn, are often treated with adhesives, dyes, and other harmful chemicals.

Organic Mattress

This is why, when someone unboxes a standard memory foam mattress, they may complain of “off-gassing.” When we unwrap a bed in a box mattress, VOCs (volatile organic compounds) are let loose into the air. These can smell quite terrible and can cause nausea and headaches. Non-organic foam mattresses can also contain a slew of other chemicals such as flame retardants that might have other adverse health effects.

We won’t get into the specific chemicals found in non-organic mattresses because, frankly, we’re here to talk about organic mattresses! Keep reading to find out what types of materials are in organic mattresses, their benefits, and how to choose the best organic mattress.

What Materials Are Found in Organic Mattresses?

Best Organic Mattresses For Sleep

The major materials you will find in an organic mattress are natural latex, cotton, and wool. We will note that these can be accompanied by coils in the mattress support layer – this applies when we are talking about latex hybrids. Of course, a latex hybrid will not be 100% organic, but the top layers and those that are closest to our sleeping bodies are.

Let’s discuss the major organic mattress materials and what to consider when shopping.

Latex

First off, we have natural latex foam. When searching online for latex mattresses, you will come across two major types, Dunlop and Talalay. This refers to the process used to create the latex foam. Here’s the difference between Dunlop vs. Talalay latex:

  • Dunlop – With Dunlop latex, the process is simple and straightforward. The liquid rubber is poured into a mold and fills it completely. It is then placed in a vulcanization oven and, after that, it is washed and dried.
  • Talalay – The liquid rubber is poured into a mold, but it does not fill it completely. The mold is then covered and vacuum pressure is applied until the liquid rubber fills the space completely. The mold is then frozen and CO2 is pushed into the latex and then the rest of the treatment is the same.

It is honestly difficult to tell the difference between Dunlop and Talalay latex, but Dunlop is, in general, denser than Talalay Latex. This means a mattress made with Dunlop latex may feel more firm than a mattress made with Talalay latex.

Organic Cotton

Besides natural, organic cotton is a major material found in organic mattresses – usually, it is in the cover.

Organic cotton differs from “regular” cotton in that it does not come from genetically-modified seeds and when it is growing, it is not sprayed with chemical pesticides. When it is finally treated and processed, organic cotton manufacturers do not use harmful chemicals and dyes.

Wool

Finally, you will often find wool in organic mattresses. Wool is a natural material that is often found in the top layers of an organic mattress to add some plushness.

Wool also acts as a natural fire retardant. This is important, given that organic mattresses do not contain synthetic fire retardants we see in non-organic mattresses. Wool can ensure that organic mattresses adhere to mattress flammability guidelines.

Mattress Certifications to Look Out For

Organic Mattress CertificationSome companies use the words “organic” and “natural” to describe their mattresses when they are really anything but. To find out how organic a mattress is and if it is truly free of harmful chemicals, make sure that it has been certified by these third-party organizations:

  • CertiPUR-US – This is not an organic certification, but they do measure what chemicals are in a mattress. A mattress that is CertiPur-US certified does not contain chemicals such as formaldehyde, heavy metals, PBDEs, and ozone depleters. In addition, they measure off-gassing to ensure that emissions are less than 0.5 parts per million.
  • OEKO-TEX Standard 100 – During this testing, they measure textiles for nickel, formaldehyde, and harmful dyes. There are four different classes of certifications depending on who they are fit for and how close the textiles are to the sleeper’s skin. With Class I certification, the textiles are fit for babies and infants younger than 36 months ad, with Class II, they are fit for children and adults over 36 months. Class III means it is approved as pillow fill, Class IV means the textile is approved but will not make contact with the sleeper’s skin.
  • GOTS and GOLS – These stand for Global Organic Textile Standard and Global Organic Latex Standard respectively. GOTS certifies that material is at least 70% organic – this usually applies to cotton and wool. GOLS certifies mattresses as “organic” if the latex in a mattress is at least 95% organic.
  • Eco-Insitut – This german company tests mattress emissions to ensure they are safe for the environment and shoppers as well. They test for strong odors, heavy metals, and whether it is a flame retardant mattress or not.
  • USDA Organic – The good old USDA also gets involved with testing materials found in mattresses – this includes, cotton, wool, and latex. If the material is certified “100% Organic”, then it is, well, 100% organic. If it is certified “Organic,” it is 95% organic and if it is “Made with Organic…” that means it is at least 70% organic.
  • GREENGUARD Gold – This is a very difficult certification to obtain. Their testing is much more exacting and ensures that a product is safe for at-risk individuals such as the elderly or infants.
  • Cradle to Cradle – This certification means that a mattress is good for the environment in a number of ways. They test products based on material health, material reuse, renewable and carbon management, water stewardship, and social fairness. They will then award four different achievement levels – Basic, Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Platinum.

3 Benefits of an Organic Mattress

So, why should you consider buying an organic mattress? Organic and non-toxic mattresses usually come with a higher price point, but they are also usually a wise investment for several reasons.

Organic Mattresses Are Durable and Long-Lasting

First off, organic mattresses are known for being quite durable. Memory foam and polyfoam mattresses are known to sag after a short amount of time. Most organic mattresses contain latex, a very durable material that will not sag quickly at all.

While an organic latex mattress might cost more upfront, it should be a better long-term investment. See our post on the best mattresses that won’t sag for more durable options.

Natural Materials Come with Natural Benefits

Second, organic and non-toxic mattresses usually sleep cooler than other types of mattresses. Memory foam mattresses, for instance, contain chemicals that trap heat and cause sleepers to overheat during the night. Latex is free of these chemicals and is generally a more breathable material.

Organic Mattresses Are Cooling

In addition, latex and other organic materials are antimicrobial and hypoallergenic, making them a good option for allergy sufferers.

Organic Mattresses Are More Sustainable

Finally, organic mattresses are better for the environment. Their materials and their production have less of a negative impact on the environment than standard non-organic mattresses.

How to Choose an Organic Mattress

So, let’s say you have decided that a non-toxic, organic mattress is right for you – how can you make sure you are finding the perfect mattress for your specific situation? We’ll go over all the factors you should keep in mind.

How To Choose An Organic Mattress

  • Size – This is something to consider when buying any type of mattress – we want to make sure our bed is big enough! At the same time, we don’t want something so big that we’re spending money on space we don’t need. Shoppers who are trying to find the right size mattress for them should read our in-depth mattress size guide.
  • Firmness and Sleeping Position – Firmness is one of the main things to keep in mind when buying any mattress. People have different firmness preferences, but it also comes into play when we think about sleeping positions. Basically, if someone is a back sleeper, they are going to want to find a medium-firm mattress. If they are a side sleeper, they should find something softer that offers better pressure relief. If they are a stomach sleeper, they are going to need a firm mattress.
  • Mattress Construction and Materials – We discussed above that the major materials found in organic mattresses are cotton, wool, and latex. However, there are numerous types of producers of these materials, so do the research to see how they are made and how they will affect the overall performance of the mattress. In addition, some organic mattresses contain coils – these can add more support and breathability, so larger people and hot sleepers might want to keep them in mind.
  • Certifications – Some companies will claim their mattress is “organic” when it might be quite the opposite. Third-party certifications can help shoppers discover just how organic a mattress really is.
  • Durability and Budget – Organic mattresses can be an investment and, thankfully, organic materials are usually made to last. That being said, shoppers should do their research to see exactly how durable their future mattress is. They should think about the price and budget and, if the mattress costs more, that they are getting something that will last a long time.
  • Organic Bedding and Pillows – When it comes to organic products for the bedroom, it doesn’t end with mattresses! Organic cotton sheets and an organic latex pillow can be a great addition to any eco-friendly sleeping space.

Final Thoughts

Again, here are our top picks for the best organic mattresses.

Mattress Best For
Saatva Latex Hybrid Editor’s Pick
WinkBeds EcoCloud Best Cooling Organic Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding EcoSleep Best Flippable Mattress
Owl Natural Latex Hybrid Best Organic Hybrid
Birch by Helix Best Organic Mattress for Back Sleepers
Avocado Best Organic Latex Mattress
Awara Best Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers
Zenhaven Most Durable Organic Mattress
PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Best Organic Mattress for Back Pain
Nolah Natural Best Organic Mattress for Side Sleepers

FAQs

Now, we would like to answer some of the most frequently asked questions regarding organic mattresses.

What is the best organic mattress?

We chose these 10 as our favorite organic mattresses. However, the Birch by Helix and Avocado would have to be the best overall as they are luxury latex hybrids with the option of a pillow top.

Are organic mattresses worth it?

While organic mattresses usually cost more than non-organic mattresses, they really are worth it. Their durability makes them a good long-term investment and their cooling and support are hard to match.

Why should I buy an organic mattress?

People should buy an organic mattress if they want something that is better for the environment, and they want to sleep on something that is free of harmful chemicals. Also, they should buy an organic mattress if they are a hot sleeper or want something that is going to last for a good amount of time.

How do I choose an organic mattress?

Shoppers should think about size, firmness, and durability when they are picking an organic mattress. They should also look at the materials and read up on the certifications to make sure it is truly organic and eco-friendly.

Gravatar for Marten Carlson

Marten Carlson

Marten is Senior Editor at Mattress Clarity. He covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films. He has directed genre short films and features. His newest film, Starlets, recently premiered at the River Town Film Festival in Clinton, NJ. He also stars in the upcoming thriller, Sour Bear. His next film, At The Hop, is a hot rod actioner with a horror twist.