Best Organic and Non-Toxic Mattresses of 2022

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

If you’re a sustainable shopper who wants a product free from harmful or toxic chemicals, consider an organic mattress. The organic landscape is tricky, as some brands are dishonest about having naturally sourced materials. That’s why we’ve made it easy for you by rounding up the best organic mattresses. Read on for our top ten picks that are truly organic!

The 10 Best Organic and Non-Toxic Mattresses of 2022

The best organic mattresses we’ve personally tested are:

YouTube player

 

Not all organic mattresses are created equal; they contain different materials and feature different firmnesses and extra features. Be sure to pay attention to the superlatives we’ve assigned to each mattress to find the best one for you.

If you’re still looking for more personalized recommendations, try taking our mattress quiz!

How We Chose the Best Organic Mattresses

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

When it comes to organic mattresses, most sleepers are looking for higher-quality materials than usual. That’s why all of these beds scored at least a 4 out of 5 for both support and durability, both of which indicate a sturdy construction. Additionally, all beds scored at least a 3.7 out of 5 for cooling, which means that they should do well at promoting breathability.

Best Overall

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a supportive latex hybrid mattress that is organic and great for cooling.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a supportive latex hybrid mattress that is organic and great for cooling.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a supportive latex hybrid mattress that is organic and great for cooling.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is our Editor’s Pick for this roundup. It’s well-rounded, providing support, comfort, durability, and cooling. Beneath this bed’s organic cotton cover sits a layer of soft New Zealand wool. In addition to creating nice pressure relief, wool promotes airflow. This mattress also includes a 4″ layer of naturally cooling Talalay latex. Back and side sleepers of most body types should feel comfortable and supported on this mattress.

Why We Love the WinkBeds EcoCloud

  • The EcoCloud mattress has a layer of zoned pocketed coils that further assist with airflow.
  • WinkBeds offers a generous lifetime warranty, a 120-night trial, and free shipping.
  • The materials are extremely durable, making it a great long-term investment.

Read our full EcoCloud mattress review.

Best Firm Organic Mattress

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is an organic luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Organic Mattress

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is an organic luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Organic Mattress

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is an organic luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review

Eco-conscious shoppers looking for a firmer feel should turn to the Saatva Latex Hybrid (7.5/10 on the firmness scale). It features supportive coils, Talalay latex, wool, and organic cotton. The responsiveness of the latex and the strength of the individually-wrapped coils provide lots of support. This is great for heavyweight back and side sleepers, average-weight stomach sleepers, and lightweight stomach sleepers.

Why We Love the Saatva Latex Hybrid

  • The plush wool and Talalay latex allow the hips to sink in just a little without sacrificing spinal alignment.
  • It’s incredibly durable and should last years without sagging.
  • The coils promote airflow through the mattress, and the Talalay latex won’t trap heat like other foams.

Read our full Saatva Latex Hybrid mattress review

Best Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Awara Mattress

The Awara is a firmer latex hybrid mattress that could be a good pick for back and stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Awara Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Limited lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Awara Mattress

The Awara is a firmer latex hybrid mattress that could be a good pick for back and stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Awara Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Limited lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Awara Mattress

The Awara is a firmer latex hybrid mattress that could be a good pick for back and stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Awara Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Limited lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Awara is another latex hybrid mattress with durable materials, boasting 4″ of Dunlop latex and over 9″ of pocketed coils. A tall and firm mattress, it’s ideal for stomach sleepers who need more support. This construction is also ideal for heavier sleepers.

Why We Love the Awara

  • It’s one of the firmer mattresses on this list, clocking in at an 8/10 on our firmness scale.
  • Your hips should get the necessary pressure relief without sinking in too far.
  • The mattress contains quality materials, so it should last for a number of years without sagging.

Read our full Awara mattress review

Best Organic Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Natural Mattress

The Nolah Natural, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back and side sleepers should especially appreciate this mattress.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Nolah Natural Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

120 Nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Organic Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Natural Mattress

The Nolah Natural, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back and side sleepers should especially appreciate this mattress.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Nolah Natural Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 Nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Organic Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Natural Mattress

The Nolah Natural, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back and side sleepers should especially appreciate this mattress.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Nolah Natural Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

120 Nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

The Nolah Natural contains many high-quality materials side sleepers should love. The organic wool and Talalay latex foam contribute comfort and contouring for pressure points. Thanks to Nolah’s proprietary HDMax TriZone support coil system, side sleepers should still get plenty of support.

RELATED: Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers

Why We Love the Nolah Natural Mattress 

  • The Nolah Natural’s latex construction promotes breathability.
  • The strong coil system helps sleepers maintain proper spinal alignment.
  • Thanks to its durable materials, it should last at least 10 years.

Read our full Nolah Natural mattress review.

Most Durable Organic Mattress

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Zenhaven Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Most Durable Organic Mattress

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Zenhaven Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Most Durable Organic Mattress

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Zenhaven Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Zenhaven should last you between seven and 10 years. The all-latex Zenhaven is one of the more unique options on this list because it’s flippable. Featuring both a Luxury Firm and Gentle Plush side, it offers sleepers two firmnesses in a single bed, so stomach sleepers, back sleepers, and some side sleepers should get what they’re looking for.

Why We Love the Zenhaven

  • It’s one of the best latex mattresses currently on the market.
  • It’s moderately priced for an all-latex mattress.
  • It contains supportive Talalay latex in all of its layers.

Read our full Zenhaven mattress review

Best Organic Mattress for Back Sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex, as well as organic cotton and wool. It is a great choice for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Birch Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Back Sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex, as well as organic cotton and wool. It is a great choice for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Birch Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Back Sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex, as well as organic cotton and wool. It is a great choice for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Birch Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix is a company known for its flexibility and mattress customization. Now, they’re in the latex game with the Birch, a hybrid mattress with high-end components. It contains Talalay latex, organic cotton, and individually wrapped coils. These materials make it an excellent mattress for back sleepers, providing a balanced feel.

Why We Love the Birch by Helix

Read our full Birch by Helix mattress review.

Best Organic Hybrid

Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress

If you're looking for an all natural latex bed with unique features and a hybrid construction, look no further than Nest Bedding's Owl mattress.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Organic Hybrid

Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress

If you're looking for an all natural latex bed with unique features and a hybrid construction, look no further than Nest Bedding's Owl mattress.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Organic Hybrid

Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress

If you're looking for an all natural latex bed with unique features and a hybrid construction, look no further than Nest Bedding's Owl mattress.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read Nest Bedding Owl Hybrid Latex Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Made with high-quality materials, the Owl Natural Latex Hybrid is one of the best organic mattresses on the market. It has three different firmness levels to choose from, so it’s easy to find a bed that suits your needs. If you’re a side sleeper, we recommend the Plush model, as it creates excellent pressure relief along the shoulders and hips. Combination sleepers may prefer the medium option, and stomach sleepers will want to choose the firm mattress.

Why We Love the Owl Natural Latex Hybrid

  • Because of its hybrid construction, the Owl has a bouncy and responsive feel.
  • Its hybrid construction allows for airflow, so hot sleepers shouldn’t overheat at night.
  • The latex in the support layer is made in the U.S.A.

Read our full Nest Bedding Owl Mattress review.

Best Organic Cooling Mattress

EcoSleep Mattress

The EcoSleep Hybrid features a luxurious and eco-friendly design.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read EcoSleep Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$899 - $1898

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Organic Cooling Mattress

EcoSleep Mattress

The EcoSleep Hybrid features a luxurious and eco-friendly design.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read EcoSleep Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$899 - $1898

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Organic Cooling Mattress

EcoSleep Mattress

The EcoSleep Hybrid features a luxurious and eco-friendly design.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read EcoSleep Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$899 - $1898

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

The Brooklyn Bedding EcoSleep mattress is our favorite organic mattress for hot sleepers because of its latex hybrid design. Latex mattresses, in general, don’t trap much heat, but the addition of coils in the EcoSleep construction makes it extra breathable.

This mattress is also flippable, so you can choose between two firmness levels! The medium-firm side is fantastic for back sleepers, and the firm side should suit stomach sleepers quite well. Both sides have a bouncy and responsive feel.

Why We Love the EcoSleep

  • It has a cover made out of organic cotton and two layers of natural latex.
  • Hot sleepers should like that this mattress aims to prevent the trapping of body heat.
  • This mattress has 6″ of Ascension coils for support.

Read our full EcoSleep mattress review.

Best Organic Latex Mattress

Avocado Green Mattress

Avocado is an innovative, all-natural mattress that contains quality latex material.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Avocado Green Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

25-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Latex Mattress

Avocado Green Mattress

Avocado is an innovative, all-natural mattress that contains quality latex material.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Avocado Green Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Latex Mattress

Avocado Green Mattress

Avocado is an innovative, all-natural mattress that contains quality latex material.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Avocado Green Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

25-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Avocado features Dunlop latex and pocketed coils. Like the Birch, it comes with an optional pillow-top. This gives shoppers a few firmness options. We reviewed a model with the pillow-top and found its pressure relief to be a good option for both back sleepers and side sleepers. Because it’s a high-quality latex hybrid, it’s great for hot sleepers. The Dunlop latex is breathable, and the pocketed coils allow room for airflow.

Why We Love the Avocado 

  • The Avocado offers a luxury hotel look and feel.
  • Without the pillow-top, the Avocado is a good firmer option for stomach sleepers.
  • The Avocado is reasonably priced at $1599.00 for a Queen-size.

Read our full Avocado mattress review

Best Organic Mattress for Back Pain

Brentwood Home Oceano Mattress

The Brentwood Home Oceano is a luxury hybrid mattress that should be a good fit for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who want a durable, eco-friendly mattress.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read Brentwood Home Oceano Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

25-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Back Pain

Brentwood Home Oceano Mattress

The Brentwood Home Oceano is a luxury hybrid mattress that should be a good fit for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who want a durable, eco-friendly mattress.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read Brentwood Home Oceano Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year limited warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Back Pain

Brentwood Home Oceano Mattress

The Brentwood Home Oceano is a luxury hybrid mattress that should be a good fit for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those who want a durable, eco-friendly mattress.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read Brentwood Home Oceano Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

25-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

A great option for back pain, the Brentwood Home Oceano mattress features a zoned support system. This means the mattress feels soft in some places and firm in others. This promotes proper spinal alignment throughout the night. The Oceano mattress has 2,697 individually wrapped coils for support, which gives the mattress a long lifespan and prevents sagging.

Why We Love the Oceano

  • It has a zoned support system, so it’s great for folks with back pain.
  • This mattress has a responsive feel ideal for combination sleepers.
  • It contains plant-based bio foam, so it’s kind to the earth.

Read our full Brentwood Home Oceano mattress review.

What Is an Organic Mattress?

So, what exactly are we talking about when we say “organic mattress”? Simply put, an organic mattress excludes harmful chemicals and is made of all-natural materials. Few mattresses are 100% all-natural, but many are made of natural, sustainably sourced materials like latex, cotton, and wool.

With organic mattresses, it’s more about what’s not in them rather than what is. Many standard, non-organic mattresses often contain polyurethane foams, vinyl, and other synthetic materials. These are often treated with adhesives, dyes, and other harmful chemicals.

That’s why memory foam mattress lovers may complain of “off-gassing” during the unboxing process. Unwrapping a bed can let loose VOCs (volatile organic compounds). These often smell unpleasant and cause nausea and headaches. Non-organic foam mattresses can contain a slew of other chemicals such as flame retardants that might have other adverse health effects.

Keep reading to find out what types of materials are in organic mattresses, their benefits, and how to choose the best organic mattress.

What Materials are Found in Organic Mattresses?

The major materials you will find in an organic mattress are natural latex, cotton, and wool. We will note that these can be accompanied by coils in the mattress support layer. This applies when we’re talking about latex hybrids. A latex hybrid will not be 100% organic, but the top layers and those closest to our sleeping bodies are.

Let’s discuss the major organic mattress materials and what to consider when shopping.

Latex

First off, we have natural latex foam. When searching online for latex mattresses, you will come across two major types: Dunlop and Talalay. This refers to the process used to create the latex foam. Here’s the difference between Dunlop vs. Talalay latex:

  • Dunlop – With Dunlop latex, the process is simple and straightforward. The liquid rubber is poured into a mold and fills it. It’s placed in a vulcanization oven and then washed and dried.
  • Talalay – The liquid rubber is poured into a mold, but it doesn’t fill it completely. The mold is then covered and vacuum pressure is applied until the liquid rubber fills the space. The mold is frozen and CO2 is pushed into the latex. The rest of the treatment is the same as Dunlop latex.

Dunlop is typically denser than Talalay. This means a mattress made with Dunlop latex may feel firmer than a mattress made with Talalay latex.

Organic Cotton

Organic cotton is a major material found in organic mattresses, mostly in the cover. It differs from “regular” cotton because it doesn’t come from genetically modified seeds, and when it’s growing it’s not sprayed with chemical pesticides. When organic cotton is treated and processed, manufacturers avoid harmful chemicals and dyes.

Wool

Wool is a natural material that is often found in the top layers of an organic mattress to add some plushness. It also acts as a natural fire retardant. Organic mattresses do not contain synthetic fire retardants we see in non-organic mattresses, but wool ensures organic mattresses adhere to mattress flammability guidelines.

Mattress Certifications to Look Out For

Some companies falsely use the words “organic” and “natural” to describe their mattresses. To find out how organic a mattress is and if it’s truly free of harmful chemicals, make sure that it has been certified by these third-party organizations:

CertiPUR-US 

This isn’t an organic certification, but it does measure what chemicals are in a mattress. A mattress that is CertiPur-US certified doesn’t contain chemicals such as formaldehyde, heavy metals, PBDEs, and ozone depleters. In addition, this certification measures off-gassing to ensure that emissions are less than 0.5 parts per million.

OEKO-TEX Standard 100 

During this testing, they measure textiles for nickel, formaldehyde, and harmful dyes. There are four classes of certifications categorizing who a mattress is made for and how close the textiles are to the sleeper’s skin. With Class I certification, the textiles are fit for babies and infants younger than 36 months old. Class II applies to children and adults over 36 months. Class III means the textile is approved as pillow fill, and Class IV means the textile is approved but will not make contact with the sleeper’s skin.

GOTS and GOLS 

These stand for Global Organic Textile Standard and Global Organic Latex Standard, respectively. GOTS certifies that material is at least 70% organic (this usually applies to cotton and wool). GOLS certifies mattresses as “organic” if the latex in a mattress is at least 95% organic.

Eco-Insitut 

This German company tests mattress emissions to ensure they’re safe for the environment and shoppers alike. They test for strong odors, heavy metals, and whether it’s a flame retardant mattress or not.

USDA Organic 

The good old USDA also gets involved with testing materials found in mattresses. These include cotton, wool, and latex. Some materials are certified 100% organic. If it’s certified “Organic,” it’s 95% organic, and if it’s “Made with Organic…” that means it’s at least 70% organic.

GREENGUARD Gold 

This is a very difficult certification to obtain. Their testing is more exacting and ensures that a product is safe for at-risk individuals such as the elderly or infants.

Cradle to Cradle 

They test products based on material health, material reuse, renewable and carbon management, water stewardship, and social fairness. They will then award five different achievement levels — Basic, Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Platinum.

Organic vs Natural vs Sustainable

“Organic,” “natural,” and “sustainable” are words with such a similar connotation that we often overlook their true meanings. It’s important to understand the differences between these terms so you know what you’re looking for and whether or not the product will satisfy.

  • Organic products are certified organic by the USDA, and in order to be certified, they must be at least 95% organic. Truly organic products are placed under a number of strict standards that “clean” or “non-toxic” products are not required to undergo.
  • Natural products come from raw materials or other biological resources that are derived from nature.
  • Sustainable products are not only environmentally friendly, but remain so in the long-term.

3 Benefits of Organic Mattresses

So, why should you consider buying an organic mattress? Organic and non-toxic mattresses come with a higher price point, but they are also a wise investment for several reasons.

Organic Mattresses are Durable and Long-Lasting

First off, organic mattresses are durable. Memory foam and polyfoam mattresses can sag after a short amount of time. Most organic mattresses contain latex, a very durable material that will not sag quickly.

RELATED: Best Mattresses That Won’t Sag 

Natural Materials Come with Natural Benefits

Organic and non-toxic mattresses usually sleep cooler than other types of mattresses. Memory foam mattresses can contain chemicals that trap heat and cause sleepers to overheat. Latex is free of these chemicals and is a more breathable material.

In addition, latex and other organic materials are antimicrobial and hypoallergenic, making them a good option for allergy sufferers.

Organic Mattresses are More Sustainable

Organic mattresses are better for the environment. Their materials and their production have less of a negative impact than standard non-organic mattresses.

RELATED: Dust Allergies

How to Choose an Organic Mattress

So, you’ve decided a non-toxic, organic mattress is right for you. How can you make sure you’re finding the perfect natural mattress for your specific situation? We’ll go over all the factors you should keep in mind.

Size

This is something to consider when buying any type of mattress. We want to make sure our bed is big enough! At the same time, we don’t want something so big that we’re spending money on space we don’t need. Shoppers who are trying to find the right size mattress for them should read our in-depth mattress size guide.

Firmness and Sleeping Position

Firmness is one of the main things to keep in mind when buying any mattress. People have different firmness preferences, but it also comes into play when we think about sleeping positions. If someone is a back sleeper, they should opt for a medium-firm mattress. Side sleepers should find something softer that offers better pressure relief, and stomach sleepers need a firm mattress.

Mattress Construction and Materials

We discussed how the major materials found in organic mattresses are cotton, wool, and latex. However, there are numerous types of producers of these materials, so research to see how they’re made and how they’ll affect the mattress’s performance. Some organic mattresses contain coils. These can add more support and breathability, so larger people and hot sleepers should keep them in mind.

Certifications

Some companies will claim their mattress is “organic” when it’s not actually the case. Third-party certifications can help shoppers discover just how organic a mattress really is.

Durability and Budget

Organic mattresses can be an investment and they’re usually made to last. Do your research to see how durable their ideal mattress is. Think about how the price corresponds to your budget. If the mattress costs more, ensure you’re getting something that will last.

RELATED: Best Mattresses for Under $1,000

Organic Bedding and Pillows

When it comes to organic products for the bedroom, it doesn’t end with mattresses! Organic cotton sheets and an organic latex pillow can be a great addition to any eco-friendly sleeping space.

Final Thoughts

Again, here are our top picks for the best organic mattresses.

Mattress Best For
WinkBeds EcoCloud Best Overall
Saatva Latex Hybrid Best Organic Firm Mattress
Awara Best Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers
Nolah Natural Best Organic Mattress for Side Sleepers
Zenhaven Most Durable Organic Mattress
Birch Best Organic Mattress for Back Sleepers
Nest Owl Natural Latex Hybrid Best Organic Hybrid
EcoSleep Best Organic Cooling
Avocado Best Organic Latex Mattress
Brentwood Home Oceano Best Organic Mattress for Back Pain

FAQs

Now, we would like to answer some of the most frequently asked questions regarding organic mattresses.

What is the best organic mattress?

All 10 of the featured mattresses offer something special, so depending on your needs and preferences, your ideal mattress might be different than someone else's. The Birch by Helix and the Avocado would have to be the best overall. They're both luxury latex hybrids with the option of a pillow top.

Are organic mattresses worth it?

While organic mattresses usually cost more than non-organic mattresses, we think this purchase is worth it. Organic mattresses are high-quality and make for good long-term investments. Their cooling qualities and overall support are tough to beat.

Why should I buy an organic mattress?

Organic mattresses are ideal if you want something that's better for the environment, or if you want to sleep on a mattress free of harmful chemicals. Allergy sufferers should also appreciate that many organic mattresses are constructed of hypoallergenic material. Those looking for a durable or cooling mattress might want to consider going organic.

How do I choose an organic mattress?

Shoppers should think about factors such as size, firmness, and durability when they are picking an organic mattress. We recommend they research the materials and read about certifications to make sure it is truly organic and eco-friendly.

How much is an organic mattress?

Organic mattresses tend to be pricier than their non-organic counterparts. You can generally expect to pay $700 - $2500, but this depends on the size, brand, and model you decide to purchase.

What is an organic mattress made of?

Natural latex, cotton, and wool are the most common materials. Some mattresses feature coils in the support layer, and this applies when we’re talking about latex hybrids. So while a latex hybrid is not fully organic, the layers we make contact with are.

What makes a mattress organic?

Organic mattresses are made of all-natural materials and leave out harmful chemicals.

Are non-organic mattresses safe?

For sensitive groups such as seniors or infants, those with asthma, and people with skin or chemical sensitivities, we don't recommend non-organic mattresses. If toxic chemicals are a concern for you but you're unable to afford an organic mattress, we suggest thoroughly researching and staying away from chemicals like VOCs.

Gravatar for Marten Carlson

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.