Best Organic and Non-Toxic Mattresses of 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

If you’re a sustainable shopper who wants a product free from harmful or toxic chemicals, consider an organic mattress. The organic landscape is tricky, as some brands are dishonest about having naturally sourced materials. That’s why we’ve made it easy for you by rounding up the best organic mattresses. We considered over 20 mattresses for this list and whittled it down to our favorite nine. Read on for our top picks that are truly organic.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Organic Mattress?

Our expert reviewers chose the Nolah Natural as the best organic mattress due to its cooling features and high-quality materials.

The 10 Best Organic and Non-Toxic Mattresses of 2024

Best Organic Mattresses 2024: Video Roundup

Compare Best Organic and Non-Toxic Mattresses of 2024

Nolah Natural Mattress WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Awara Mattress Birch Natural Mattress Brooklyn Bedding EcoSleep PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Mattress Birch Luxe Natural Mattress Bear Natural
Nolah Natural Mattress WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Awara Mattress Birch Natural Mattress Brooklyn Bedding EcoSleep PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Mattress Birch Luxe Natural Mattress Bear Natural
Rating
Firmness Soft: 6/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Material Latex Latex Latex Latex Hybrid Latex Latex Hybrid Latex
Cooling -- -- --
Sleep Position Combination Back & Side Back & Stomach Combination Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach --

Not all organic mattresses are created equal; they contain different materials and feature different firmnesses and extra features. Be sure to pay attention to the superlatives we’ve assigned to each mattress to find the best one for you.

If you’re still looking for more personalized recommendations, try taking our mattress quiz.

How We Chose the Best Organic Mattresses

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

Latex mattress testing in our studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

When it comes to organic mattresses, most sleepers are looking for higher-quality materials than usual. That’s why all of these beds scored at least a 4 out of 5 for both support and durability, both of which indicate a sturdy construction. Additionally, all beds scored at least a 3.7 out of 5 for cooling, which means that they should do well at promoting breathability.

Best Overall – Nolah Natural

Best Overall

Nolah Natural Mattress

Nolah Natural - coupon

The Nolah Natural, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back and side sleepers should especially appreciate this mattress.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Overall

Nolah Natural Mattress

Nolah Natural - coupon

The Nolah Natural, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back and side sleepers should especially appreciate this mattress.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Nolah Natural - coupon
Best Overall

Nolah Natural Mattress

The Nolah Natural, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back and side sleepers should especially appreciate this mattress.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 Nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Its latex construction promotes breathability
Should last at least 10 years
Cons
Lacks a memory foam feel
Too soft for stomach sleepers
Doesn’t isolate motion well

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a side sleeper, your mattress should be all about pressure relief. If you want something organic that will also relieve pressure on your shoulders and hips, the Nolah Natural is going to be a smart buy. It is softer than the PlushBeds Botanical Bliss and features organic wool and Talalay latex foam that will contour to your pressure points. But, thanks to Nolah’s proprietary HDMax TriZone support coil system, you will still get plenty of support. If your mattress is too soft, you could get out of alignment and deal with some pain issues down the line. The Nolah Natural will relieve pressure where you need it while still keeping you nice and supported.

What the testers say: “When I slept on my side on the Nolah Natural mattress, I was very comfortable. The wool and latex foam relieved the majority of pressure on my shoulders and hips. But, being a softer mattress, the Nolah did not give me enough support while I was stomach sleeping.” Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Natural

  • It offers excellent pressure relief for side sleepers. It scored a 6/10 on our firmness scale, which is softer than the industry average. You should feel little to no pressure on your shoulders and hips.
  • If you deal with back pain, the Nolah Natural should be a big help. While it is softer than average, it will still keep you in good alignment while you sleep. This can prevent and ease back pain.
  • Like the other mattresses on this list, it is eco-friendly and green. It was third-party tested to ensure its materials are technically organic.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Natural

  • Stomach sleepers won’t feel supported on the Nolah Natural. If you’re a stomach sleeper, you are going to want to find a firmer mattress. If your mattress is too soft, you’ll feel your hips sink down into the mattress, and this can cause back pain and other issues.
  • It doesn’t have a memory foam feel. Memory foam is an incredibly popular mattress material and, if you’re used to that quicksand feel, you’re not going to get it with the Nolah Natural.
  • It is a bouncy mattress and doesn’t cut down on motion transfer. If you sleep with a partner, you will feel every move they make during the night. If they like to toss and turn, get ready for some long nights.

Other Customer Reviews

On the Nolah website, the Natural tied with the PlushBeds with a score of 4.9/10. Unsurprisingly, side sleeping customers were big fans, but some back sleepers and stomach sleepers said it was too soft for them.

Read our full Nolah Natural mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for more great options.

Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers – WinkBeds EcoCloud

Best for Combination Sleepers

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

winkbed ecocloud e1622116270355

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a supportive latex hybrid mattress that makes it easy for you to switch positions while sleeping.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Combination Sleepers

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

winkbed ecocloud e1622116270355

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a supportive latex hybrid mattress that makes it easy for you to switch positions while sleeping.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
winkbed ecocloud e1622116270355
Best for Combination Sleepers

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a supportive latex hybrid mattress that makes it easy for you to switch positions while sleeping.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Boasts many cooling features
Features eco-friendly materials
A durable investment
Cons
Not firm enough for strict stomach sleepers
Lacks real contouring
May be too pricey for some

Our Expert’s Take

We’ve offered up a great option for side sleepers with the Nolah Natural, but what if you switch positions at night? Well, if you’re a tosser and turner, the WinkBeds EcoCloud will be the organic mattress for you. The star of the WinkBeds EcoCloud is a 4″ layer of Talalay latex. In addition to being naturally cooling, this material is extremely responsive, which makes it easy to switch positions while you sleep. The mattress also boasts a medium firmness, which is just what combo sleepers should be looking for. When we tested the mattress, we thought it was an especially good fit for back and side sleeping. Some stomach sleepers will be okay on the EcoCloud, but if you need extra support, take a look at the firmer Awara mattress.

What the testers say: “When I tried out the WinkBeds EcoCloud, the mattress offered me good support and comfort in all three sleeping positions. Its bouncy design also made it easy to change positions, letting me know this is a good option for combo sleepers. That being said, when I was just sleeping on my stomach, I could have used some more support.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBeds EcoCloud

  • Hot sleepers rejoice. We’ve got another great mattress for you. The WinkBeds is extremely breathable, so it won’t trap your body heat and make you feel all hot and sweaty during the night.
  • Get ready to get in the zone. Yep, the WinkBeds EcoCloud features zoned coils that give you comfort and support right where you need it. Specifically, it is firmer toward the center of the mattress, so you should feel more support under your lumbar area.
  • We hope you like long-term relationships. The EcoCloud boasts some high-end, durable materials, so you won’t be saying goodbye to this mattress anytime soon.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBeds EcoCloud

  • Sorry stomach sleepers, you miss out again. Some of you will get enough support on the WinkBeds EcoCloud, but if you just sleep on your stomach, keep hunting for that firmer mattress.
  • Apologies for the broken record but, again, you’re not going to get a memory foam feel with this mattress. If contouring is important to you, memory foam is the name of the game.
  • While it will be a long-lasting mattress, don’t be surprised if you get sticker shock. The WinkBeds EcoCloud, like other organic mattresses, is on the pricier side.

Other Customer Reviews

The WinkBeds EcoCloud didn’t score quite as high with customers when compared to the PlushBeds and Nolah mattresses. Still, 4.8/5 isn’t bad. On the WinkBeds website, customers said the EcoCloud was great for back and side sleeping, and even after a few years, it was still comfortable. However, some complained that the edge support was not up to snuff.

Read our full EcoCloud mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers for more great options.

Best Luxury Organic – Saatva Latex Hybrid

Best Luxury Organic

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is an organic luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Organic

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is an organic luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review
Best Luxury Organic

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is an organic luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Offers a balance of comfort and support
Incredibly durable
Features many cooling materials
Cons
Doesn’t offer much contouring
Not the best pressure relief
A pricey mattress

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re in the market for something more luxurious, the Saatva Latex Hybrid is a great choice. It uses high-quality materials such as supportive coils, Talalay latex, wool, and organic cotton, giving it a high-end look and feel. If you’ve ever slept in a nice hotel, the Saatva offers a similar feel to that. In addition, it scored a 7.5/10 on during our firmness tests, which is firmer than average. This made it a great fit for back sleeping and stomach sleeping. However, the firmer Saatva Latex Hybrid felt too firm for side sleeping. Side sleepers who want something will prefer the Nolan Natural, mentioned above.

What the testers say: “When I reviewed the Saatva Latex Hybrid, I was impressed by its high-end construction. And, the mattress offered great support both both back sleeping and stomach sleeping.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

Why We Love the Saatva Latex Hybrid

  • Its latex and wool are both certified organic, and it was third-party tested to make sure it features no toxic chemicals. You can rest easy and cleanly on the Saatva Latex Hybrid.
  • If you’re looking for firmness, you’ve found it with this mattress. It is a whole point firmer than average and offers great overall support. You stomach and back sleepers should take note.
  • And, we’ve got another cooling mattress here. The organic cotton and organic wool make the top of the mattress breathable, while Talalay latex prevents the mattress from trapping your body heat.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva Latex Hybrid

  • Side sleepers will want to keep rolling. This firm mattress just won’t cut it when it comes to pressure relief. You’ll feel a buildup of pressure around your shoulders and hips, and this could have you waking up with aches and pains.
  • Like many other latex hybrid mattresses, the Saatva is not cheap. If your budget is tighter, you can opt for a different mattress or sign up for a payment plan with Saatva.
  • Surprise, surprise, this latex hybrid doesn’t have a slow-moving feel. Again, memory foam is your friend if you like something with contouring.

Other Customer Reviews

On the Saatva website, the latex hybrid scored a 4.8/5. Many were happy with the buying process and overall customer service experience. However, some said the white glove delivery process wasn’t what they expected, and others said the mattress was too firm.

Read our full Saatva Latex Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Luxury Mattresses for more great options.

Best Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers – Awara

Best Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Awara Mattress

awara mattress

The Awara is a firmer latex hybrid mattress that could be a good pick for back and stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Limited lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Awara Mattress

awara mattress

The Awara is a firmer latex hybrid mattress that could be a good pick for back and stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Limited lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
awara mattress
Best Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Awara Mattress

The Awara is a firmer latex hybrid mattress that could be a good pick for back and stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Limited lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
A firm, supportive mattress
Durable and long-lasting
Good for heavy people
Cons
May feel too bouncy for some
Not great for lightweight people
Too firm for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Awara is another latex hybrid mattress with durable materials, boasting 4″ of Dunlop latex and over 9″ of pocketed coils. This design makes the Awara ideal for stomach sleepers. It is firmer than average and will provide excellent under your hips. When we tested the Awara mattress, we experience great overall support and did not feel our hips sinking in whatsoever. However, being a firmer mattress, we were not fans of the Awara for side sleeping. Read about the Nolah Natural above if you prefer to sleep on your side.

What the testers say: “When I tried out the Awara mattress, it offered excellent support for stomach sleeping. It is a firmer than average mattress that gave me ample support under my hips and across my entire body.” Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Awara

  • The Awara will also be a good fit for heavier people. Larger people require more support than lightweight and average weight sleepers, but the coils and latex will be able to handle the extra weight.
  • When you buy the Awara mattress, you won’t need to buy a mattress for many years. This mattress is durable, and if you take care of it, it will serve you well for over ten years.
  • If you like a firm mattress, look no further. The Awara scored a 7.5/10, which is a whole point firmer than average. You won’t be lacking support on the Awara.

What to Keep in Mind About the Awara

  • Lightweight people won’t find what they are looking for. If you weigh less than 130 lb, and you don’t want a super firm mattress, the Awara will not be right for you. You won’t compress the mattress much, so it could feel firmer to you than it did to us.
  • Side sleepers will need a softer mattress. If you’re a side sleeper, you need something to relieve pressure on your joints. The Awara won’t be able to provide that.
  • Of course, we need to chat about memory foam again. This and the other latex hybrid mattresses aren’t going to give you the slow-moving feel you’ll get with memory foam.

Other Customer Reviews

Customers on the Awara website gave it a 4.4/5. While many Awara customers loved its cooling and comfort, others said the mattress was either too firm or too soft for their situation.

Read our full Awara mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Stomach Sleepers for more great options.

Best Affordable Organic Mattress – Birch

Best Affordable Organic Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex, as well as organic cotton and wool.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Affordable Organic Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex, as well as organic cotton and wool.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Affordable Organic Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex, as well as organic cotton and wool.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
A good value latex mattress
Cons
Doesn’t let you sink in much
Lacks a slow-moving feel
May feel too firm for some

Our Expert’s Take

Helix is a company known for its flexibility and mattress customization. Now, they’re in the latex game with the Birch, a hybrid mattress with high-end components. It contains Talalay latex, organic cotton, and individually wrapped coils. These materials make it an excellent mattress for back sleepers, providing a balanced feel. During our tests, the mattress let our hips sink in just the right amount, while we also got the proper amount of support. The mattress is also very bouncy, so if you do switch positions, it shouldn’t be a problem. And, one of its biggest selling points is the price. While not cheap, it is certainly more affordable than many of the organic mattresses available today.

What the testers say: “The Birch has a feel that you find with most latex mattresses — very bouncy. The combination of latex and coils make the mattress extremely responsive, so it’s easy to move around. You should sleep on top of the mattress without sinking in too far.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch

  • It is a firmer mattress that will work well for both back and stomach sleepers. But, if you’re a side sleeper, you can add a Birch pillow-top to soften things up a bit.
  • If you’re a bigger person, you should still get enough support on the Birch. It is on the firmer end and features some durable, supportive materials.
  • Hot sleepers are going to do well on the majority of the mattresses on this list, and the Birch is no exception. It features breathable materials that will keep you cool all night.

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch

  • If you like something super soft, you’re not going to get it with the standard Birch mattress. Again, if you like something softer, you can add the pillow-top. That will make things softer, but it still might feel too firm for some.
  • When you lie on the Birch, it’s going to feel like you’re sleeping on top of the mattress. If you prefer to sink into your mattress, you should find a softer mattress with some slow-moving foam in it.
  • Do you like to bounce on your bed? We hope so. If you don’t, the responsive Birch won’t be for you. It is very bouncy, and this feel isn’t for everyone.

Other Customer Reviews

The Birch scored a 4.7/5 with customers on the Birch website. Many were pleased with the organic materials, but some said the mattress was too firm for them.

Read our full Birch by Helix mattress review for more information. Or, check out our list of the best affordable mattresses for more great options.

Best Organic Cooling Mattress – Brooklyn Bedding EcoSleep

Best Organic Cooling Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding EcoSleep

EcoSleep Coupon

The EcoSleep Hybrid features a luxurious and eco-friendly design.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$927 - $1898

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Organic Cooling Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding EcoSleep

EcoSleep Coupon

The EcoSleep Hybrid features a luxurious and eco-friendly design.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$927 - $1898

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
EcoSleep Coupon
Best Organic Cooling Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding EcoSleep

The EcoSleep Hybrid features a luxurious and eco-friendly design.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$927 - $1898

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Pros
Features two layers of natural latex
Prevents the trapping of body heat
6″ of Ascension coils offer good support
Cons
Doesn’t offer great pressure relief
Not very soft
Doesn’t conform to the body much

Our Expert’s Take

The Brooklyn Bedding EcoSleep mattress is our favorite organic mattress for hot sleepers because of its latex hybrid design. Organic and latex mattresses, in general, don’t trap much heat, but the addition of coils in the EcoSleep construction makes it extra breathable. This mattress also features Joma wool and organic cotton, which make the top of the mattress feel very cool. When we tested the EcoSleep, none of our testers overheated. The also flippable, so you can choose between two firmness levels. In our experience, the medium-firm side is fantastic for back sleeping, and the firm side suits stomach sleepers quite well. Neither side will be soft enough for side sleepers, however. If you sleep in this position, you will need a softer mattress.

What the testers say: “The EcoSleep mattress felt very cool to me when I reviewed it. Lying down, I did not feel like the mattress was trapping my body heat, and the top cover and wool layer made the top feel nice and breathable.” Joe, Reviewer

What We Love About the EcoSleep

  • Its materials and flippable design make it a very durable mattress. If you need to soften or firm up your mattress after a few years, you can simply flip the mattress over.
  • While the other mattresses on this list are cooling, this should be one of the most cooling. Multiple layers of latex and the addition of Joma wool will prevent the mattress from holding onto your body heat.
  • The Zenhaven’s flippable design also makes it a good fit for multiple sleeping positions. Back sleepers and stomach sleepers wiill find what they need on at least one side of the mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the EcoSleep

  • Neither side will offer good pressure relief for side sleepers. Even the Medium-Firm side scored an 8/10, which is too firm for side sleeping.
  • If you are simply a fan of soft mattresses, you’ll want to keep looking. Both sides of this mattress are firmer than average and won’t let you sink in too far.
  • Like the other latex mattresses on this list, the EcoSleep is nice and bouncy. Again, this is a preference thing, but if you like to sink into your mattress, the EcoSleep won’t be for you.

Other Customer Reviews

On the Brooklyn Bedding website, the EcoSleep got an average score of 4.7/5 with users. Many EcoSleep owners praised it for being a good bargain, but some complained it was not as firm as advertised.

Read our full EcoSleep mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

Best for Back Sleepers – PlushBeds Botanical Bliss

Best for Back Sleepers

PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Mattress

PlushbedsBoty

A great organic option for folks who want a little bounce and some cooling.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Best for Back Sleepers

PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Mattress

PlushbedsBoty

A great organic option for folks who want a little bounce and some cooling.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
PlushbedsBoty
Best for Back Sleepers

PlushBeds Botanical Bliss Mattress

A great organic option for folks who want a little bounce and some cooling.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Pros
Comes in three height options
A good fit for combo sleepers
Cons
Doesn’t have a memory foam feel
A pricier mattress

Our Expert’s Take

With quality materials and excellent construction, the PlushBeds Botanical Bliss is sure to make you feel like royalty, which is why it’s our top pick for the best organic mattress. Organic cotton and New Zealand wool cover the top of the mattress, followed by naturally cooling Talalay latex, and durable Dunlop latex. This all-latex bed comes in two firmnesses, Medium and Medium-Firm, so you can choose what works best for your sleeping needs and preferences. We personally reviewed the Medium model, and it felt great in multiple sleeping positions. That being said, if you just sleep on your stomach, even the Medium-Firm model won’t be firm enough. Take a look at the Awara mattress further down this list if you are primarily a stomach sleeper.

What the testers say: “I was impressed by the PlushBeds’s luxurious design, and I loved back sleeping on the mattress. I reviewed the Medium, and it gave me the comfort and support I needed. However, I think even the Medium-Firm model won’t be firm enough for stomach sleeping.” Joe, Reviewer

What We Love About the PlushBeds Botanical Bliss

  • The PlushBeds features eco-friendly, green materials. “Green-washing” is a major issue with many mattress companies, but the PlushBeds was third-party tested to ensure it adheres to organic mattress standards. Based on our research, this is a true organic mattress.
  • You get firmness options with the PlushBeds mattress. Whenever you’re shopping for a new mattress, you always want to think about what firmness will be right for your sleeping position. Side sleepers and lightweight people will prefer the Medium model, while average weight combo and back sleepers will like the Medium-Firm model.
  • The PlushBeds will help you sleep nice and cool. Cotton, wool, and latex are naturally breathable, cooling materials. If you sleep like an oven, you can cool things down with this mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the PlushBeds Botanical Bliss

  • Like most latex mattresses, the PlushBeds doesn’t have the slow-moving feel that so many people love. If you like to slowly sink into your mattress, you’ll want to find a memory foam mattress. Just keep in mind that memory foam mattresses sleep hot and aren’t as responsive as latex mattresses.
  • And, like many all-natural latex mattresses, the PlushBeds Botanical Bliss isn’t exactly cheap. The PlushBeds will be a durable, long-lasting mattress, but you’re going to pay more upfront.

Other Customer Reviews

On the PlushBeds website, users gave the Botanical Bliss an average score of 4.9/5. Many happy customers praised the bed’s cooling qualities. Back sleepers and side sleepers were especially pleased with their purchase, but some complained it was heavy and didn’t have the best edge support.

Read our full PlushBeds Botanical Bliss mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers for more great options.

Best Organic Hybrid Mattress – Birch Luxe Natural

Best Organic Hybrid

Birch Luxe Natural Mattress

Birch Luxe featured

The Birch Luxe Natural Mattress is a new mattress designed with luxury in mind. This is a luxury hybrid mattress perfect for fans of eco-friendly made mattresses.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Organic Hybrid

Birch Luxe Natural Mattress

Birch Luxe featured

The Birch Luxe Natural Mattress is a new mattress designed with luxury in mind. This is a luxury hybrid mattress perfect for fans of eco-friendly made mattresses.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Birch Luxe featured
Best Organic Hybrid

Birch Luxe Natural Mattress

The Birch Luxe Natural Mattress is a new mattress designed with luxury in mind. This is a luxury hybrid mattress perfect for fans of eco-friendly made mattresses.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 Nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Has a bouncy and responsive feel
Great edge support
Features eco-friendly materials
Cons
Bad motion isolation
Not the most affordable mattress

Our Expert’s Take

We’ve mentioned quite a few hybrid mattresses on this list, but one of our all-time faves is the Birch Luxe Natural. We graded it a 7.5 out of 10 on our firmness scale, as it has a sturdy feel. Our mattress testers rested on the mattress in every position, and they all found it to feel great while on their backs and their stomachs. However, it was too firm for every one of them while they rested on their sides. In addition to being a good choice for back and stomach sleepers, the Birch Luxe Natural is also a great option for those who sleep hot; we awarded it a perfect score on our temperature regulation test. 

What the testers say: “When it comes to feel, the Birch Luxe Natural Mattress has individually wrapped, pocketed coils to give a bouncy innerspring feel. Though it does have a thin top layer of latex foam, the Birch Luxe Natural is more responsive than a typical memory foam mattress. Because of this, you should be able to change positions or get in and out of bed rather easily.” Elisa, Mattress Tester

What We Love About the Birch Luxe

  • The Birch Luxe Natural has fantastic edge support. Even when our heaviest mattress tester sat and rested along the edge of the mattress, he experienced no sagging underneath his weight. This is great news for sleepers who like to spread out and utilize every inch of the mattress surface.
  • We’ve tested many organic mattresses and find them to consistently contain some of the most high-quality, durable materials we’ve come across. We scored the Birch Luxe Natural a 4.5 out of 5 on our durability test, indicating a mattress that should last at least 10 years if properly cared for. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch Luxe

  • Like many mattresses on this list, the Birch Luxe Natural is very expensive. The original Birch is much more affordable if you’re shopping on a budget. 
  • We scored the Birch Luxe Natural a 3 out of 5 on our motion isolation test. When we placed a glass of water on the mattress and pushed into the surface around it, we noticed a lot of movement on the surface of the water. Basically, this indicates that you will be more likely to be disturbed by your partner’s movements, if you sleep with a partner. 

Other Customer Reviews

It’s difficult to determine the exact rating of the Birch Luxe Natural on the company website, as it averages together the score of all Birch products. However, of the reviews that call out the Birch Luxe specifically, they all seem to be quite positive, with one user even calling the bed the “best mattress we’ve ever had.” 

Read our full Birch Luxe Mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options.

Best Organic Mattress for Couples – Bear Natural

Best Organic Mattress for Couples

Bear Natural

DSC04425 Edit 1

The Bear Natural is an eco-friendly mattress that boasts excellent edge support, durability, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
/5
Best Organic Mattress for Couples

Bear Natural

DSC04425 Edit 1

The Bear Natural is an eco-friendly mattress that boasts excellent edge support, durability, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
/5
DSC04425 Edit 1
Best Organic Mattress for Couples

Bear Natural

The Bear Natural is an eco-friendly mattress that boasts excellent edge support, durability, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
/5
Pros
Lifetime warranty
Great for back sleepers
Bouncy feel
Cons
Very expensive
Bad for most side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

When we talk about a mattress being good for couples, we’re typically talking about one of two factors: motion isolation or responsiveness. The Bear Natural doesn’t excel at the former, as its latex layers are quite springy and don’t absorb motion well. However, this mattress shines when it comes to responsiveness. Our testers found it very bouncy and easy to move around on, which makes it a great mattress for sex, or even just for couples who shift and move around throughout the night. 

What the testers say: “The Bear Natural has a very bouncy latex hybrid feel. Latex has a uniquely buoyant sensation—you get the feeling that you’re sleeping on the mattress, not being enveloped by it. I didn’t sink in too far and it was easy to move around and change positions, so it’s a great option for combination sleepers.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Natural

  • Every one of our mattress testers, from lightweight to heavyweight, felt great when they rested on their backs. The medium-firm feel of the Bear Natural caters well to back sleepers of all sizes, as it provides just the right amount of give for your hips to sink comfortably into the mattress.
  • Another important factor for couples is edge support. Because of the Bear Natural’s reinforced perimeter, our testers were able to comfortably rest on the edge of the bed without it sagging under their weight. This means that you and your partner can take advantage of every inch of the mattress surface. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Natural

  • As is the case with many latex, organic mattresses, the Bear Natural is very expensive. 
  • The Bear Natural is too firm for most side sleepers. Only our heavyweight tester felt comfortable on their side, everyone else felt a lot of pressure around their hips and shoulders. 

Other Customer Reviews

The Bear Natural is a new product, so there are no customer reviews at this time. 

Read our full Bear Natural mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

Other Organic Mattresses We Like

Although these mattresses didn’t make our top 10 recommendations, these mattresses are still a great option for people who are looking for an organic mattress. Check out our recommendations below.

Zenhaven Mattress

zenhaven

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Zenhaven Mattress

zenhaven

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
zenhaven

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Both sides of the Zenhaven are firm enough to support most back sleepers.
The Zenhaven boasts several third-party certifications to ensure it’s made using all-natural, organic materials with sustainable manufacturing processes.
Cons
Both sides of the Zenhaven aren’t best suited for side sleepers.
Does not handle motion transfer well

What Makes a Mattress Organic?

So, what exactly are we talking about when we say “organic mattress”? Simply put, an organic mattress excludes harmful chemicals and is made of all-natural materials. Few mattresses are 100% all-natural, but many are made of natural, sustainably sourced materials like latex, cotton, and wool.

Latex

First off, we have natural latex foam. When searching online for latex mattresses, you will come across two major types: Dunlop and Talalay. This refers to the process used to create the latex foam. Here’s the difference between Dunlop vs. Talalay latex:

  • Dunlop – With Dunlop latex, the process is simple and straightforward. The liquid rubber is poured into a mold and fills it. It’s placed in a vulcanization oven and then washed and dried.
  • Talalay – The liquid rubber is poured into a mold, but it doesn’t fill it completely. The mold is then covered and vacuum pressure is applied until the liquid rubber fills the space. The mold is frozen and CO2 is pushed into the latex. The rest of the treatment is the same as Dunlop latex.

Dunlop is typically denser than Talalay. This means a mattress made with Dunlop latex may feel firmer than a mattress made with Talalay latex.

Organic Cotton

Organic cotton is a major material found in organic mattresses, mostly in the cover. It differs from “regular” cotton because it doesn’t come from genetically modified seeds, and when it’s growing it’s not sprayed with chemical pesticides. When organic cotton is treated and processed, manufacturers avoid harmful chemicals and dyes.

Wool

Wool is a natural material that is often found in the top layers of an organic mattress to add some plushness. It also acts as a natural fire retardant. Organic mattresses do not contain synthetic fire retardants we see in non-organic mattresses, but bwool meets federal fire retardant standards.

What’s Not in an Organic Mattress?

With organic mattresses, it’s more about what’s not in them rather than what is. Many standard, non-organic mattresses often contain polyurethane foams, vinyl, and other synthetic materials. These are often treated with adhesives, dyes, and other harmful chemicals.

That’s why memory foam mattress lovers may complain of “off-gassing” during the unboxing process. Unwrapping a bed can let loose VOCs (volatile organic compounds). These often smell unpleasant and can cause nausea and headaches. Non-organic foam mattresses can contain other chemicals such as flame retardants that might have other adverse health effects.

Keep reading to find out what types of materials are in organic mattresses, their benefits, and how to choose the best organic mattress.

Avocado Eco Organic - construction
Testing an organic mattress in our sleep lab

Organic vs Natural vs Sustainable

“Organic,” “natural,” and “sustainable” are words with such a similar connotation that we often overlook their true meanings. It’s important to understand the differences between these terms so you know what you’re looking for and whether or not the product will satisfy.

  • Organic products are certified organic by the USDA, and in order to be certified, they must be at least 95% organic. Truly organic products are placed under a number of strict standards that “clean” or “non-toxic” products are not required to undergo.
  • Natural products come from raw materials or other biological resources that are derived from nature.
  • Sustainable products are not only environmentally friendly, but remain so in the long-term.

3 Benefits of Organic Mattresses

So, why should you consider buying an organic mattress? Organic and non-toxic mattresses come with a higher price point, but they are also a wise investment for several reasons.

Organic Mattresses are Durable and Long-Lasting

First off, organic mattresses are durable. Memory foam and polyfoam mattresses can sag after a short amount of time. Most organic mattresses contain latex, a very durable material that will not sag quickly. For some long-lasting options, check out our roundup for the best mattresses that won’t sag.

Natural Materials Come with Natural Benefits

Organic and non-toxic mattresses usually sleep cooler than other types of mattresses. Memory foam mattresses can contain chemicals that trap heat and cause sleepers to overheat. Latex is free of these chemicals and is a more breathable material.

In addition, latex and other organic materials are antimicrobial and hypoallergenic, making them a good option for allergy sufferers. Check out our guide on dust allergies for more information.

Organic Mattresses are More Sustainable

Organic mattresses are better for the environment. Their materials and their production have less of a negative impact than standard non-organic mattresses.

Saatva Mattress Cover
Looking at an organic cover in our sleep lab

How to Choose an Organic Mattress

So, you’ve decided a non-toxic, organic mattress is right for you. How can you make sure you’re finding the perfect natural mattress for your specific situation? We’ll go over all the factors you should keep in mind.

Mattress Size

This is something to consider when buying any type of mattress. We want to make sure our bed is big enough! At the same time, we don’t want something so big that we’re spending money on space we don’t need. Shoppers who are trying to find the right size mattress for them should read our in-depth mattress size guide.

Firmness and Sleeping Position

Firmness is one of the main things to keep in mind when buying any mattress. People have different firmness preferences, but it also comes into play when we think about sleeping positions. If someone is a back sleeper, they should opt for a medium-firm mattress. Side sleepers should find something softer that offers better pressure relief, and stomach sleepers need a firm mattress.

Mattress Construction and Materials

We discussed how the major materials found in organic mattresses are cotton, wool, and latex. However, there are numerous types of producers of these materials, so research to see how they’re made and how they’ll affect the mattress’s performance. Some organic mattresses contain coils. These can add more support and breathability, so larger people and hot sleepers should keep them in mind.

Durability

Organic mattresses can be an investment and they’re usually made to last. Do your research to see how durable their ideal mattress is. You can also check out our list of the best mattresses for the money to see what organic mattresses are the best long-term investments.

Budget

Think about how the price corresponds to your budget. If the mattress costs more, ensure you’re getting something that will last. For some of the best budget options on the market, take a look at our roundup for the best mattresses under $1,000.

Organic Mattress Certifications

Some companies falsely use the words “organic” and “natural” to describe their mattresses. To find out how organic a mattress is and if it’s truly free of harmful chemicals, make sure that it has been certified by these third-party organizations:

CertiPUR-US 

This isn’t an organic certification, but it does measure what chemicals are in a mattress. A mattress that is CertiPur-US certified doesn’t contain chemicals such as formaldehyde, heavy metals, PBDEs, and ozone depleters. In addition, this certification measures off-gassing to ensure that emissions are less than 0.5 parts per million.

OEKO-TEX Standard 100 

During this testing, they measure textiles for nickel, formaldehyde, and harmful dyes. There are four classes of certifications categorizing who a mattress is made for and how close the textiles are to the sleeper’s skin. With Class I certification, the textiles are fit for babies and infants younger than 36 months old. Class II applies to children and adults over 36 months. Class III means the textile is approved as pillow fill, and Class IV means the textile is approved but will not make contact with the sleeper’s skin.

GOTS and GOLS 

These stand for Global Organic Textile Standard and Global Organic Latex Standard, respectively. GOTS certifies that material is at least 70% organic (this usually applies to cotton and wool). GOLS certifies mattresses as “organic” if the latex in a mattress is at least 95% organic.

Eco-Insitut 

This German company tests mattress emissions to ensure they’re safe for the environment and shoppers alike. They test for strong odors, heavy metals, and whether it’s a flame retardant mattress or not.

USDA Organic 

The good old USDA also gets involved with testing materials found in mattresses. These include cotton, wool, and latex. Some materials are certified 100% organic. If it’s certified “Organic,” it’s 95% organic, and if it’s “Made with Organic…” that means it’s at least 70% organic.

GREENGUARD Gold 

This is a very difficult certification to obtain. Their testing is more exacting and ensures that a product is safe for at-risk individuals such as the elderly or infants.

Cradle to Cradle 

They test products based on material health, material reuse, renewable and carbon management, water stewardship, and social fairness. They will then award five different achievement levels — Basic, Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Platinum.

Organic Bedding and Pillows

When it comes to organic products for the bedroom, it doesn’t end with mattresses! Organic cotton sheets, mattress toppers, and an organic pillow can be a great addition to any eco-friendly sleeping space. You may even want to check out our list of the best latex pillows!

Summary

MattressBest For
Nolah NaturalBest Overall
WinkBeds EcoCloudBest for Combination Sleepers
Saatva Latex HybridBest Luxury Organic Mattress
AwaraBest Organic Mattress for Stomach Sleepers
BirchBest Affordable Organic Mattress
EcoSleepBest Organic Cooling
PlushBeds Botanical BlissBest Organic Mattress for Back Sleepers
Birch Luxe NaturalBest Organic Hybrid
Bear NaturalBest Organic Mattress for Couples

Organic Mattress FAQs

What is the best organic mattress?

All 10 of the featured mattresses offer something special, so depending on your needs and preferences, your ideal mattress might be different than someone else’s. The Saatva Latex Hybrid would be the best overall. It is a luxury latex hybrid with the a comfortable pillow top.

Are organic mattresses worth it?

While organic mattresses usually cost more than non-organic mattresses, we think this purchase is worth it. Organic mattresses are high-quality and make for good long-term investments. Their cooling qualities and overall support are tough to beat.

Why should I buy an organic mattress?

Organic mattresses are ideal if you want something that’s better for the environment, or if you want to sleep on a mattress free of harmful chemicals. Allergy sufferers should also appreciate that many organic mattresses are constructed of hypoallergenic material. Those looking for a durable or cooling mattress might want to consider going organic.

How do I choose an organic mattress?

Shoppers should think about factors such as size, firmness, and durability when they are picking an organic mattress. We recommend they research the materials and read about certifications to make sure it is truly organic and eco-friendly.

How much is an organic mattress?

Organic mattresses tend to be pricier than their non-organic counterparts. You can generally expect to pay $700 – $2500, but this depends on the size, brand, and model you decide to purchase.

What is an organic mattress made of?

Natural latex, cotton, and wool are the most common materials. Some mattresses feature coils in the support layer, and this applies when we’re talking about latex hybrids. So while a latex hybrid is not fully organic, the layers we make contact with are.

What makes a mattress organic?

Organic mattresses are made of all-natural materials and leave out harmful chemicals. To make sure your mattress is truly organic, keep an eye out for certifications from GREENGUARD and GOTS.

Are non-organic mattresses safe?

For sensitive groups such as seniors or infants, those with asthma, and people with skin or chemical sensitivities, we don’t recommend non-organic mattresses. If toxic chemicals are a concern for you but you’re unable to afford an organic mattress, we suggest thoroughly researching and staying away from chemicals like VOCs.

Is organic eco-friendly?

An organic mattress is not the same as an eco-friendly mattress. All organic mattresses are eco-friendly, but not all eco-friendly beds are organic. While organic mattresses have all-natural materials and are better for the environment, some beds may include other sustainable methods, such as utilizing recycled materials, that afford it the more general “eco-friendly” label.

Sources

Sources

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.