Best Mattress For Athletes 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

After a hard workout, race, or game, many athletes may want nothing more than a good night’s rest, and they should do so on a bed that suits their needs. Finding the right mattress can mean the difference between a quick recovery and many days of aches and pains. But there are a lot of bed-in-a-box mattresses out there to choose from, which is why we put together a list of the best mattresses for athletes, all of which stand out compared to the 100’s of other products that we’ve tested. We’ve included a variety of firmnesses and constructions, so hopefully there’s something here for all manner of people who live an active lifestyle.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for Athletes?

Our expert reviewers chose the Bear Elite Hybrid as the best mattress for athletes due to its cooling ability and quality construction that was designed specifically with athletes and active people in mind. 

Best Mattresses For Athletes: Our Top Picks

Video Review: Best Mattresses for Athletes 2024

Compare the Best Mattresses for Athletes

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Nectar Premier Copper Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress WinkBed Mattress Bear Original Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Spartan Hybrid Mattress Saatva Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress
Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Nectar Premier Copper Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress WinkBed Mattress Bear Original Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Spartan Hybrid Mattress Saatva Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress
Rating
Firmness Multiple firmness options Soft: 6/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options
Material Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid Innerspring Hybrid
Cooling -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Stomach Back & Side Back Back & Side Combination Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side

How We Chose the Best Mattresses For Athletes

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 140 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

When choosing the best mattresses for athletes, we took both durability and support into special consideration, as athletic types tend to need a good foundation for their musculature. Every one of these beds scored at least a 4 out of 5 in these two categories. The Bear Elite Hybrid scored the highest on support with a 4.5, while the Nectar Premier Copper scored the highest on durability with the same number.

Best Overall – Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Overall

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

The Elite Hybrid is made with effective cooling materials, including the Celliant cover and copper-infused foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Overall

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

The Elite Hybrid is made with effective cooling materials, including the Celliant cover and copper-infused foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Overall

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

The Elite Hybrid is made with effective cooling materials, including the Celliant cover and copper-infused foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Balanced foam feel
Zoned support system
Cons
Poor motion isolation
Some off-gassing

Our Expert’s Take

All of Bear’s mattresses stand out for their Celliant covers, which offer some unique benefits for athletes and active sleepers. Celliant is designed to improve blood flow and also speed up muscle recovery. It’s also good for cooling. This could be good news for athletes looking to get rest between workouts.

In addition to the Celliant cover, Bear mattresses each have their own individual strengths, too. In the case of the Bear Elite Hybrid, it layers slow-moving gel foam atop a layer of individually wrapped coils at the bottom of the bed. This gives the mattress a combination of comfort and support that should work well for most sleepers.

What our testers say: “If you tend to sleep hot at night, the Bear Elite mattress is a great choice. Its cooling cover contains phase change material, which helps lower body temperature.”Elisa, Editor & Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Celliant fibers have cooling properties that could be attractive to all types of sleepers. There’s also an infusion of graphite in the Bear Elite Hybrid’s top comfort layer.
  • The Elite Hybrid is available in three firmness levels: Soft, Medium, and Firm. The Medium option is a good option for most side sleepers, but if you’re looking for extra pressure relief and contouring , opt for the Soft model. 
  • Its pocketed coils give the Bear Elite Hybrid fantastic edge support, so you should feel supported when sleeping near the edge of the bed.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Unless you’re a back sleeper, sleepers who weigh over 230 lbs probably won’t find enough support on this mattress.
  • Since the Elite Hybrid has a responsive feel, it doesn’t isolate motion as well as other all-foam mattresses. 

Other User Reviews

The Bear Elite Hybrid has a 4.6/5 star rating based on 3,702 reviews on the Bear website. Many customers enjoyed how comfortable, supportive, and temperature-regulating the Elite Hybrid is. A few customers who purchased the Medium model thought it was softer than medium-firm.

Read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for more great options.

Best Cooling Mattress For Athletes – Nectar Premier Copper

Best Cooling

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper

While memory foam tends to sleep hot, this mattress keeps a low temperature with cooling technology such as gel infusions and a copper-infused cover.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper

While memory foam tends to sleep hot, this mattress keeps a low temperature with cooling technology such as gel infusions and a copper-infused cover.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Nectar Premier Copper
Best Cooling

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

While memory foam tends to sleep hot, this mattress keeps a low temperature with cooling technology such as gel infusions and a copper-infused cover.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Balanced foam feel
Great for hot sleepers
Cons
Great for hot sleepers
Some off-gassing

Our Expert’s Take

The Nectar Premier Copper not only may promote deep sleep for athletes — it can help them stay cool all night long with advanced cooling features. Its soft, copper-infused cover helps pull heat away from the body during post-workout slumbers. Plus, its memory foam comfort layer has gel running throughout it, which also likely helps sleepers stay cool.

It has a fairly simple construction, but it’s made entirely from sustainable CertiPUR-US certified foams. All Nectar mattresses also come with a Forever warranty and free returns.

What our testers say: “I felt fantastic while back sleeping on the Nectar Premier Copper. I enjoyed a good balance of pressure relief and spinal support. I also felt great while side-sleeping on the Nectar Premier Copper since thick layers of memory foam on top offer good pressure relief around the shoulder and hip.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Premier Copper

  • Its soft comfort layers offer a ton of pressure relief, which makes it potentially appealing to side-sleeping athletes, especially if they experience joint pain.
  • The Nectar Premier Copper isolates motion well and works great for couples.
  • Nectar mattresses come with a 365-night sleep trial and a forever warranty for the lifespan of your mattress. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Premier Copper

  • Although this is an all-foam mattress, the Nectar Premier Copper does not have a traditional slow-moving foam feel. Its high-density base foam gives the mattress a decent amount of bounce. 
  • Since Nectar is a bed-in-a-box company, you may observe some initial off-gassing that should dissipate after 48 hours. 

Other User Reviews

On the Nectar website, the Nectar Premier Copper mattress has received over 2,000 customer reviews and has an average rating of 4.5/5 stars. Side sleepers and hot sleepers love the Premier Copper’s soft gel-infused memory foam that keeps them comfortable and cool. A few negative reviews mention that this mattress does not have the best edge support.

Read our full Nectar Premier Copper mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of the best cooling mattresses for more great options.

Best Mattress For Back Sleepers – DreamCloud

Best Mattress For Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud Original mattress offers plenty of lumbar support for back sleepers, and it has as sturdy hybrid construction.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress For Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud Original mattress offers plenty of lumbar support for back sleepers, and it has as sturdy hybrid construction.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Mattress For Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud Original mattress offers plenty of lumbar support for back sleepers, and it has as sturdy hybrid construction.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Great value
Traditional innerspring feel
Cons
Poor motion isolation
Some off-gassing

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a back sleeper, you’ll likely need a particularly supportive mattress. The DreamCloud mattress definitely fits the bill. This mattress is a whole point firmer than the industry standard, offering potentially ample lumbar support.

This budget-friendly hybrid mattress has many high-end features, such as cashmere-blend cover and durable spring coils. Its breathable construction allows tons of room for airflow, so you shouldn’t overheat at night. However, it’s important to note that this mattress doesn’t isolate motion very well. If you share a bed with a partner, you may want to consider getting one of the best mattresses for couples.

What our testers say:  “The DreamCloud mattress is firmer than average, and it supported my spine really well. And for reference, I’m a taller guy who stands at 6’ 7.” This could be a good option for big and tall people.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud

  • The DreamCloud mattress is built with several layers of CertiPUR-US Certified foams. That means that its foams are made without harmful chemicals and materials and have low volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions.
  • This mattress is very breathable. The cashmere cover is thin and stretchy, and the innerspring coils allow room for airflow. It could be a good option if you tend to feel hot at night. 
  • The DreamCloud is slightly firmer than the industry standard of medium-firmness. Its supportive feel and touch of plushness on top is great for back sleeping. 

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud

  • The DreamCloud mattress might not be the best option for couples. It doesn’t isolate motion well, and it lacks good edge support.
  • It may not offer enough pressure relief for side sleepers. Because it’s firmer than average, side sleepers may feel some tension along their shoulders and hips.

Other User Reviews

The DreamCloud Hybrid mattress has a 4.6/5 star rating based on 8,715 customer reviews left on the DreamCloud website. Customers love how supportive the DreamCloud is and how it has helped alleviate users’ back pain. Some customers were not pleased with how firm the DreamCloud mattress felt, especially for side sleeping.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers for more great options.

Best Mattress For Heavy Athletes – Helix Midnight

Best Mattress For Heavy Athletes

Helix Midnight Mattress

the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom

With a layer of supportive coils at the bottom, the Helix Midnight should have enough support for larger athletes, especially if they sleep on their back or side.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress For Heavy Athletes

Helix Midnight Mattress

the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom

With a layer of supportive coils at the bottom, the Helix Midnight should have enough support for larger athletes, especially if they sleep on their back or side.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom
Best Mattress For Heavy Athletes

Helix Midnight Mattress

With a layer of supportive coils at the bottom, the Helix Midnight should have enough support for larger athletes, especially if they sleep on their back or side.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Ideal for back sleeping
Great for pain relief
Cons
Makes some noise
No slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

Larger athletes may need mattresses that offer plenty of support, just like the Helix Midnight. On our firmness scale, this bed feels like a 7/10 — a half point higher than the industry standard. This means the mattress potentially works well for heavier back and side sleepers. And if they want a more customized recommendation, they can always take the sleep quiz on Helix’s website.

What our testers say: The Helix Midnight was a fantastic match for back sleeping since the top layer of Memory Plus Foam conformed to my body and let me sink a bit while the individually-wrapped coils held me up. Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • The individually wrapped coils promote airflow, and the soft cover feels especially breathable.
  • Helix’s Memory Plus Foam has a slightly slow-moving feel that conforms to your body and provides excellent pressure relief. 
  • Athletes 230 lb or slightly over should get the proper amount of support from the coils. However, folks closer to 300 lb might want to look at some of the other mattresses on the Helix site.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • The Helix Midnight won’t offer enough support to heavyweight stomach sleepers. 
  • Because the Helix Midnight is a bed-in-a-box mattress, you might notice a slight chemical smell after you unbox its. This is called off-gassing, and should disappear after 48 hours. 

Other User Reviews

On the Helix website, the Helix Midnight has a 4.5 out of 5 star rating based on 6,634 reviews. Several customers said the Helix Midnight has improved their sleep quality and feels like the perfect combination of comfort and support. A few reviews mention the Helix Midnight was slightly softer and not as supportive as the reviewers expected.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options.

Best Mattress For Combo Sleepers – WinkBed

Best Mattress For Combination Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

Available in four firmness levels, the WinkBed mattress is a versatile hybrid mattress that works for a variety of people.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress For Combination Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

Available in four firmness levels, the WinkBed mattress is a versatile hybrid mattress that works for a variety of people.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
WinkBed
Best Mattress For Combination Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

Available in four firmness levels, the WinkBed mattress is a versatile hybrid mattress that works for a variety of people.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Traditional innerspring feel
Cooling pillow-top
Cons
Poor motion isolation
Not-budget-friendly

Our Expert’s Take

The WinkBed mattress contains high-quality coils and a luxurious tufted pillow top. But the best thing about this mattress is its versatility. It’s available in four firmness levels: Softer, Luxury Firm, Firmer, and Plus (for heavier people). The Luxury Firm model feels slightly firmer than average, which likely works well for many back and stomach sleepers. If you often rest on your side, the Softer model may be a good match. 

No matter which option you choose, you can rest easy knowing this mattress is durable and long-lasting. Thanks to its sturdy coils, it should last at least a decade. However, it’s important to note that this mattress has a traditional innerspring feel. If you want something slow-moving and plush, you may want to consider the Nolah instead.

What our testers say: “The WinkBed Luxury Firm mattress is a great match for me. As a back and side sleeper, I get the comfort and support I need on this bed.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • The Luxury Firm model is great for combination sleepers, thanks to its supportive feel and comfy pillow top.
  • The WinkBed’s cover is made from moisture-wicking Tencel, and underneath is a layer of gel-infused memory foam. The WinkBed is a great pick for hot sleepers.  
  • Its pocketed coil layer is zoned to provide extra lumbar support to help keep your spine in proper alignment. 

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • If you prefer a slow-moving feel, you may want to consider getting an all-foam mattress. The WinkBed mattress feels particularly bouncy.
  • The WinkBed is not the most budget-friendly mattress on this list, but if you wait for a holiday sale, you could buy a queen size WinkBed for under $1,500.

Other User Reviews

On WinkBed’s website, The WinkBed mattress has an impressive 4.8/5 star rating from over 8,500 customer reviews. Many customers were impressed by the WinkBed’s quality construction, bouncy feel, and easy setup. A few people said the mattress felt either too soft or too firm for their liking.

Read our full WinkBed mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Combo Sleepers for more great options.

Best Memory Foam Mattress For Athletes – Bear

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original provides excellent contouring for athletes and will ease pressure around their joints and other sensitive areas.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original provides excellent contouring for athletes and will ease pressure around their joints and other sensitive areas.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original provides excellent contouring for athletes and will ease pressure around their joints and other sensitive areas.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Affordable
Cooling features
Cons
No balanced foam feel
Not designed for heavyweight sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Memory foam is a material known for its contouring properties, and it can be especially comfortable for athletes who are looking for recovery. With this in mind, athletes should consider the Bear Original mattress. Its thick layer of memory foam offers some of the best contouring around and will hug your body when you lie down. 

While memory foam is extremely comfortable, it can also trap body heat and make you overheat during the night. However, this should not be an issue with the Bear. Its memory foam is gel-infused which will help dissipate heat, and both the Tencel cover and optional Celliant cover will also keep the top of the mattress nice and breathable.

What our testers say: “When I slept on the Bear Original mattress, I enjoyed the feeling of slowly sinking into the mattress. It was especially comfortable when I moved to my side, as the memory foam relieved pressure around my shoulders and hips.”Elisa, Editor

What We Love About the Bear

  • The medium firmness makes it a good choice for back sleepers. Athletes will lie down on their back and may feel good support while the memory foam hugs their bodies. 
  • Its slow-moving foam feel should offer most sleepers ample pressure relief while still being very supportive. 
  • While it is an all-foam mattress, the Bear shouldn’t make athletes sleep hot. If you sleep particularly hot, you could opt for the Celliant cover, which will help you sleep even cooler.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear

  • If you just sleep on your stomach, the Bear Original probably won’t be firm enough for you. You may want to find a firm mattress to give you more support under your hips. 
  • Heavier athletes likely won’t get the best pressure relief while side sleeping. They might press too far into the mattress and feel more pressure build up around the shoulders and hips.

Other User Reviews

On Bear’s website, the Original Bear mattress has a 4.7/5 star rating from 10,595 customer reviews. Many people found the Bear mattress super comfortable and said it helped relieve their shoulder, back, and hip pain. Some negative reviews mention the Bear mattress did not meet their firmness expectations, which can be subjective based on your sleep position and body type.

Read our full Bear Original mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Memory Foam Mattresses 2024 for more great options.

Best Mattress For Side Sleepers – Brooklyn Bedding Spartan

Best Mattress For Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Spartan Hybrid Mattress

A close shot of the foot of a hybrid mattress.

The Brooklyn Bedding Spartan mattress was made with athletes in mind. It has many cooling features, and it's available in three firmness levels. The soft model offers nice pressure relief for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Mattress For Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Spartan Hybrid Mattress

A close shot of the foot of a hybrid mattress.

The Brooklyn Bedding Spartan mattress was made with athletes in mind. It has many cooling features, and it's available in three firmness levels. The soft model offers nice pressure relief for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
A close shot of the foot of a hybrid mattress.
Best Mattress For Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Spartan Hybrid Mattress

The Brooklyn Bedding Spartan mattress was made with athletes in mind. It has many cooling features, and it's available in three firmness levels. The soft model offers nice pressure relief for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
Cooling
Nice pressure relief for side sleepers
Cons
Lacks a bouncy and responsive feel
Doesn’t have great edge support

Our Expert’s Take

While the Brooklyn Bedding Spartan comes in three firmnesses, the soft mattress will work well for athletes who may need pressure relief in their shoulders and hips while they sleep.

This bed has coils for support and three foam layers for comfort. The slow-moving comfort layers cushion joints and help alleviate pressure for side sleepers. Plus, this mattress has a Smart Fabric Performance Cover, which helps promote blood flow and muscle recovery.

What our testers say: “The soft model of the Brooklyn Bedding Spartan really cradled my shoulders and hips when I rested on my side. I also liked that the cover felt cool to the touch. I will note, though, that this mattress has a slow-moving feel that causes you to “sink into” the top layer. If you want something responsive and bouncy, you might want to consider the Brooklyn Bedding Signature instead.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Spartan

  • The Spartan is offered in multiple firmness levels. The Soft model will be ideal for side sleepers who need a bed that won’t cause pressure build-up in shoulders and hips.
  • The cooling cover helps promote muscle recovery, which is great for athletes.
  • It’s very affordable, especially if you shop during a holiday sale period.

What to Keep in Mind About the Spartan

  • The foam comfort layers make this mattress very plush and slow-moving, so if you would rather sleep “on top of” your mattress, rather than “inside it,” you may want to look elsewhere.
  • This bed doesn’t offer the best edge support. If you’re sleeping with a partner and tend to sleep towards the edge of this mattress, you may not feel very supported here.

Other User Reviews

The Brooklyn Bedding Spartan has a 4.7/5 star rating from over 10,000 customer reviews on the Brooklyn Bedding website. Many side and combination sleepers found the Spartan very comfortable and pressure-relieving. A few negative reviews claimed that the mattress started to sag after a few years of consistent use. 

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Spartan mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers for more great options.

Best Luxury Mattress For Athletes – Saatva

Best Luxury Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva mattress boasts luxury materials that are offer comfort and good recovery for athletes.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva mattress boasts luxury materials that are offer comfort and good recovery for athletes.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Luxury Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva mattress boasts luxury materials that are offer comfort and good recovery for athletes.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Zoned support
Great for pain relief
Cons
Poor motion isolation
No slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re coming home from the field or gym and want to sleep in the lap of luxury, the Saatva mattress is a great way to go. The Saatva is a hybrid mattress that features two sets of coils, topped with foam, a plush pillow top, and an organic cotton cover. This design will give you the experience of sleeping on a luxurious hotel mattress. 

Besides looking and feeling fancy, the Saatva is also great for athletes in a few ways. First off, it comes in multiple firmness options, so you’ll likely get the comfort and support you need, no matter what position you sleep in. In addition, the combination of two sets of coils and a breathable cover will prevent the mattress from trapping heat. A cool night of sleep may help even the most exhausted athlete will get the rest and recovery they require.

What our testers say: “When I tested the Saatva mattress, I was impressed by its luxurious design. The Luxury Firm model I tried also gave me the perfect balance of comfort and support for back sleeping.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva

  • It is available in multiple firmnesses. Side sleepers may prefer the Plush Soft model, back sleepers may opt for the Luxury Firm, and stomach sleepers will probably choose the Firm model. 
  • Its two layers of innerspring coils allow for a great deal of airflow. We’ve named the Saatva Classic as one of the best cooling mattresses
  • The bed’s zoning makes it a good option for people with pain issues. Back, neck, and shoulder pain are common problems for athletes, but the zoned Saatva will keep you in good alignment to prevent and ease joint and back pain.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • The Saatva doesn’t offer the best body contouring. While it does feature some foam in its construction, you aren’t going to feel the mattress hug your curves. If you like to feel like this after a workout, consider a memory foam mattress instead. 
  • It costs more than some mattresses on this list. You get a lot for your money, but if you are on a tight budget, you may need to keep hunting for a different mattress.

Other User Reviews

The Saatva Classic has a 4.8 out of 5 star rating from 3,297 customer ratings on the Saatva website. Customers praise Saatva for their quality customer service and white glove delivery experience and how well-made the Saatva Classic is. Some customers who left negative reviews found the Saatva Classic to be too firm, regardless of what model they bought.

Read our full Saatva mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Luxury Mattresses 2024 for more great options.

Best Hybrid Mattress For Athletes – Nolah Evolution

Best Hybrid Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress with cooling features and zoned lumbar support with great pressure-relieving qualities for athletes

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress with cooling features and zoned lumbar support with great pressure-relieving qualities for athletes

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Hybrid Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress with cooling features and zoned lumbar support with great pressure-relieving qualities for athletes

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Advanced cooling features
Luxurious feel
Cons
Not budget-friendly
No slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

Hybrid mattresses balance the support of durable innerspring coils and the comfort and responsiveness of foam or latex. The Nolah Evolution Hybrid mattress is made with several layers of pressure-relieving foam and an 8” zoned coil support system. This zoning is designed to provide extra firmness in the lumbar region for sleepers to maintain spinal alignment

This hybrid mattress comes with advanced cooling features to prevent heat from trapping and regulate body temperature. The Nolah Evolution’s comfort layer is made with AirFoamICE infused with graphite to potentially keep athletes sleeping cool and comfortable. This high-end mattress may be ideal for most back and side sleepers and is built to last at least 10 years.

What our testers say: “Sleeping on the Nolah Evolution, I felt a great balance of comfort and support from its Eco support coils and foam comfort layers. Its Euro topper and zoned support system cushioned my shoulders and hips and gave me excellent pressure relief.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • The Nolah Evolution is available in three firmness levels: Plush, Luxury Firm, and Firm. We reviewed the Luxury Firm model which is medium-firm and a good option for most back and side sleepers. 
  • This hybrid mattress boasts several cooling features including a heat-dissipating cover, graphite-infused memory foam, and a heat escape gusset. 
  • Its innerspring coil layer is zoned to provide extra lumbar support and is less firm around the head and foot of the mattress. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • This is one of Nolah’s more luxurious models, and it may be out of some shopper’s budgets. 
  • The Luxury Firm option might not be firm enough to support stomach sleeper’s hips. Stomach sleepers may want to opt for the Firm model.

Other User Reviews

On Nolah’s website, the Nolah Evolution 15” has an impressive 4.9 out of 5 star rating. Top reviews mention how customers wake up feeling well-rested and have fewer aches and pains in the morning. Keep in mind that visitors to the Nolah website cannot sort or filter through all customer reviews for a given product. 

Read our full Nolah Evolution Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options.

Jump To

Type of Mattress | Mattress Thickness | Mattress Firmness | Mattress Features | Sleep for Athletes| Heavyweight Sleepers

Best Mattress Type for Athletes

  • Memory foam mattresses have great pressure-relieving properties that can benefit athletes.
  • Innerspring mattresses circulate air well and create a cooler sleep surface. However, without a top comfort layer, innersprings may not be as comfortable or pressure-relieving as memory foam.
  • Hybrid mattresses combine the best qualities of foam and spring mattresses, balancing a comfortable top layer of foam, wool, latex, or other materials with the support of a coil layer. Hybrids can be a good fit for athletes looking for restorative sleep.
  • Latex mattresses are bouncy, cooling, pressure-relieving, and come in a wide range of firmnesses. It’s likely that athletes can find a great latex mattress that will work for them.

Best Mattress Thickness for Athletes

There are several factors to consider when you’re thinking about the thickness of your mattress. For example, your weight and sleeping position will play a role in what mattress thickness is best for you.

In general, though, medium-profile mattresses, or mattresses that measure between 10 and 12 inches are likely going to give you the most support and cushioning. Mattresses above 12 inches may also offer a great deal of softness and comfort.

Mattresses lower than 10 inches may be a great option for lightweight sleepers, but likely will sink in too much for a heavyweight sleeper.

Best Mattress Firmness for Athletes

Most people have a particular firmness they prefer when it comes to mattresses, and this applies to athletes as well.

Again, it’s important that athletes consider their sleeping position and whether they’re getting the necessary support or comfort. An athlete who sleeps on their side may not want something extremely firm because they could wake up with pain on their joints, shoulders, and hips. But if they sleep on their stomach, a soft mattress could let their hips sink in too far and cause lower back pain.

Almost everyone needs a mattress that will keep their spine in neutral alignment, but this could be even more important for athletes who can put lots of strain on their bodies during workouts, races, meets, and other sporting events.

What Features Should Athletes Look For In A Mattress?

When shopping for a mattress, athletes should remember that there’s not one perfect mattress for everyone, so it really does depend on one’s preferences.

Cooling

Whether someone is an athlete or not, it typically doesn’t feel good to sleep hot at night, and some mattress types — especially those that contain memory foam — can trap body heat and make sleepers overheat.

Athletes may opt for a mattress that promotes cooling so that they can potentially improve their sleep quality. They might want to consider something without memory foam that also contains cooling features such as Phase Change Material (PCM). However, if they prefer memory foam, they should make sure that it’s at least infused with gel, graphite, or some other cooling material.

Pressure Relief

Pressure relief is important for athletes who may value their sleep as a time for restoration. If a mattress isn’t made with pressure relief in mind, people may wake up with pain at the pressure points like the hips, shoulders, and knees.

If a mattress is too firm or too soft, it likely won’t have good pressure relief. Materials like high-density foam and latex offer nice pressure relief to help aid muscle recovery during sleep.

Sleeping Position

Athletes sleep in all different positions, and this will really determine what type of mattress is best.

  • A soft mattress may be the best mattress for side sleeping athletes because they likely require pressure relief for their shoulders and hips.
  • Athletes who just sleep on their backs will probably want to find a mattress that’s closer to medium-firm with an excellent balance of comfort and support. This will allow their hips to sink in the right amount while still providing them with the requisite amount of support.
  • Finally, athletes who need the best mattress for stomach sleepers may want to choose something firmer to provide more support under their hips. Otherwise, their hips could bow into the mattress.

Extra Features for Athletes

There are a few mattresses on the market marketed specifically toward athletes (all of the Bear models come to mind). Some of these contain materials like Celliant, which can improve blood flow and assist with muscle recovery. Athletes who want a mattress made just for them should just do their research, as there are more and more options hitting the market.

The Importance of Sleep For Athletes

Getting restorative and comfortable sleep is important for everyone, but it’s also important to athletes who put extra strain on their bodies. Sleep is a key time for the body to rest, and without it, athletes may feel their performance is affected.

While we sleep, the body releases the human growth hormone (HGH) to prompt muscle restoration. These processes can occur during the deep stages of sleep, so not getting enough deep sleep can be harmful for athletes.

This is why it’s so important for an athlete or active person to carefully consider their mattress choice, as a supportive and comfortable bed is one of the key tools to restorative sleep.

Heavyweight Sleepers – Over 230 lb

Whenever someone is shopping for a mattress, they should consider their size and body weight. Of course, this applies to athletes as well.

In general, larger athletes should find a mattress with coils that will support their heavier weight. If they sleep on their side, they should also choose a mattress with a thicker comfort layer that will prevent them from bottoming out and hitting the firmer support layers.

Summary

Here’s a recap of our top picks for the best mattresses for athletes:

MattressBest For
Bear Elite HybridBest Overall
Nectar Premier CopperBest Cooling Mattress for Athletes
DreamCloudBest Mattress for Back Sleepers
Helix MidnightBest Mattress for Heavy Athletes
WinkBedBest Mattress for Combo Sleepers
BearBest Memory Foam Mattress for Athletes
Brooklyn Bedding SpartanBest Mattress for Side Sleepers
SaatvaBest Luxury Mattress for Athletes
Nolah EvolutionBest Hybrid Mattress for Athletes

Mattresses for Athletes FAQs

What type of mattress is best for athletes?

Pretty much any type of mattress can work for athletes, and it just depends on what firmness and feel they prefer. That being said, a hybrid mattress can be an especially good fit. Hybrid mattresses offer a balance of comfort and support that can help prevent pain issues, especially in the lumbar area. They’re also generally better with cooling, and can be more durable and last longer than other types of mattresses.

Are memory foam mattresses good for athletes?

Memory foam mattresses can be a fantastic match for athletes, depending on personal preference. Simply put, some people like the slow-moving feel of memory foam, and some don’t. Memory foam can be great with joint pain relief, and it can also possibly alleviate back pain. However, the material is known for trapping heat, so it’s not the best with cooling, especially if you’ve just had a strenuous workout.

What firmness is good for athletes?

A mattress with any firmness can work for athletes; it just depends on their sleeping position and firmness preferences. However, a medium-firm mattress is usually the best match for all three sleeping positions, and it can also help with the back pain that some athletes struggle with.

Joe Auer

Joe Auer is the editor of Mattress Clarity. He mainly focuses on mattress reviews and oversees the content across the site. He likes things simple and takes a straightforward, objective approach to his reviews. Joe has personally tested nearly 250 mattresses and always recommends people do their research before buying a new bed. He has been testing mattresses for over 5 years now, so he knows a thing or two when it comes to mattress selection. He has been cited as an authority in the industry by a number of large publications. When he isn't testing sleep products, he enjoys working out, reading both fiction and non-fiction, and playing classical piano. He enjoys traveling as well, and not just to test out hotel mattresses! Joe has an undergraduate degree from Wake Forest University and an MBA from Columbia University.