Best Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Stomach sleeping is the least common sleeping position, and it comes with its unique challenges and needs. As a result, you’ll need to do additional research to make sure you’re getting the best mattress for stomach sleepers. That’s why I’ve tested over 600 mattresses to find out what mattresses work and don’t work for stomach sleeping. In this article, we’ll share our top picks, tell you a little bit about what makes each one such a good fit and help you find the best mattress for stomach sleepers.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for Stomach Sleepers?

Our expert reviewers chose the Nectar Hybrid as the best mattress for its versatile support that accommodates more than just stomach sleepers.

The Best Mattresses for Stomach Sleepers

Best Mattresses for Stomach Sleepers: Video Review

Compare the Best Mattresses for Stomach Sleepers

Nectar Hybrid Mattress Helix Dawn Mattress WinkBed Plus Mattress Saatva Mattress Nolah Natural Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Helix Twilight Luxe Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Birch Natural Mattress
Nectar Hybrid Mattress Helix Dawn Mattress WinkBed Plus Mattress Saatva Mattress Nolah Natural Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Helix Twilight Luxe Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Birch Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Multiple firmness options Soft: 6/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10 Firm: 8/10 Firm: 8/10 Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Innerspring Latex Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Combination Back Combination Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach

How We Tested The Best Mattresses for Stomach Sleepers

Stomach sleepers tend to need more support than any other sleeping position, so we paid extra-close attention to this category when selecting these mattresses. That’s why for the mattresses we chose on this page, seven of the 10 scored a 4 out of 5 or higher in support.

A man sleeps on his stomach with the Coop Home Goods Retreat Mattress Topper.
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and spent time actually lying down on each mattress, performing hands-on testing and evaluating the factors above to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

How We Choose the Best Mattresses for Stomach Sleepers

Firmness

Arguably the most important factor for stomach sleepers, firmness is the first thing on our minds when considering mattresses for this list. High firmness helps keeps stomach sleepers’ hips elevated, which is important for pain relief. All the products featured here are rated a 6 out of 10 or higher on the firmness scale, meaning they provide a good deal of support for stomach sleepers.

Spinal Alignment

When stomach sleeping, it’s common for your hips to sink too far below the mattress surface. When this happens, your spine may rest out of alignment, which can result in back pain. So, the mattresses we’ve selected for this list all help to support proper spinal alignment.

Support

Like firmness, good support helps prevent lower back pain in stomach sleepers. We’ve considered this factor when selecting all the mattresses on this list.

Nectar Hybrid – Best Overall

Best Overall

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Overall

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed
Best Overall

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros of the Nectar Hybrid
High-quality materials for durability
Isolates motion well
Cooling features
Cons of the Nectar Hybrid
Not great for couples
Heavier stomach sleepers may not love it

Our Expert’s Take

The Nectar Hybrid combines comfortable layers with supportive coils to make for a high-quality mattress. It ranks at a 6.5/10 on our firmness scale, which is the industry standard for medium-firm. Lightweight sleepers who sleep on their stomach should feel the perfect amount of support on this mattress.

What the testers say: “I’m a heavier person, so the softness of the Nectar wasn’t ideal for stomach sleeping for me. However, our lighter-weight testers found the balance of support and softness to be ideal.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Hybrid

  • Stomach sleepers who shift to their back and need spinal support should enjoy the contouring benefits of the top memory foam layer, while also getting some nice support from the coil layer.
  • Hot sleepers who are looking for cooling benefits should get some decent airflow from the coils. In addition to that, the gel-infused memory foam should help with cooling.
  • Fans of a memory foam feel will love the soft top layers of foam, and they’ll still reap the benefits of a coil spring mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Hybrid

  • Though this is a hybrid mattress, it doesn’t have the typical hybrid feel. It feels soft on the top, like a foam mattress. It does, however, give enough bounce to be a good mattress for sex.
  • The Nectar is more suited for lightweight stomach sleepers since it’s a medium-firm mattress. Heavier stomach sleepers may want to look for other options in this roundup.

Other user reviews

From over 55,000 reviewers on the Nectar site, the Hybrid was ranked 4.7 out of 5 stars. Many reviewers said that the mattress was equally as great as some of its more luxury competitors for a fraction of the price, while others complained about their experiences with customer service.

Read our full Nectar Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nectar Hybrid mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for more great options!

Helix Dawn – Best Firm Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Best Firm Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress Review

The Helix Dawn is one of the company's firmest models. Because of this, it should be a supportive option for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Firm Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress Review

The Helix Dawn is one of the company's firmest models. Because of this, it should be a supportive option for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Helix Dawn Mattress Review
Best Firm Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress

The Helix Dawn is one of the company's firmest models. Because of this, it should be a supportive option for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5

Pros of the Helix Dawn
Individually-wrapped coils and latex-like foam
Coils and breathable cover allow air to flow
Lots of customization options
Cons of the Helix Dawn
Not enough support for average weight side sleepers
Not enough support for average weight back sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Sometimes, stomach sleepers want multiple options to choose from. If that sounds like you, you should consider Helix. The company offers many models that should work for stomach sleepers, but to save you time, we recommend the Helix Dawn. This is the brand’s firmest mattress. It was built specifically with stomach sleepers in mind and is great to keep the spine aligned.

What the testers say: “I felt great while back sleeping on the Helix Dawn. The firm nature of this mattress kept my spine well supported and aligned. One possible downside? I didn’t experience much pressure relief in this position, so back sleepers who enjoy some body contouring might find that this mattress feels too firm.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Dawn

  • Stomach sleepers who need plenty of support will love how the Helix Dawn is firm enough to keep their spine in alignment through the night. It’s also a great fit for other sleepers who love firm mattresses.
  • People who enjoy a bouncier feeling mattress top should enjoy the Dawn, especially couples who are looking for a mattress that is ideal for sex.
  • Couples who don’t want to feel each other moving around should also love the Dawn. It’s great at isolating motion, so couples shouldn’t disturb each other at night.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Dawn

  • Side sleepers may not get the best pressure relief on the Helix Dawn.
  • People who prefer sleeping on a soft mattress probably won’t love how firm the mattress is.
  • People who prefer a classic memory foam feel also should avoid the Helix Dawn.

Other user reviews

Customers on the Helix website ranked the Dawn at 4.4 out of 5 stars, with over 1,000 reviews. Some users did complain that the mattresses dented after a few months of use, however.

Read our full Helix Dawn mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Dawn mattress, check out our list of the best firm mattresses for more great options!

WinkBeds Plus – Best Hybrid Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Best Hybrid Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

WinkBed Plus Mattress

The WinkBeds Plus is a mattress made specifically for larger people, and heavier stomach sleepers should get the support they need on the WinkBeds Plus.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

WinkBed Plus Mattress

The WinkBeds Plus is a mattress made specifically for larger people, and heavier stomach sleepers should get the support they need on the WinkBeds Plus.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

WinkBed Plus Mattress

The WinkBeds Plus is a mattress made specifically for larger people, and heavier stomach sleepers should get the support they need on the WinkBeds Plus.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros of the WinkBeds Plus
Plush pillow top for comfort
Great durability
Very supportive coils and latex foam
Cons of the WinkBeds Plus
May not be soft enough
Side sleepers may need more pressure relief

Our Expert’s Take

The support of a mattress can depend on someone’s weight. While a bed could be a good fit for an average-weight sleeper, it might not be supportive enough for someone heavier. If you’re a heavier person who sleeps on your stomach, the WinkBed Plus should be right for you, as its hybrid construction is designed with larger people in mind.

What the testers say: “It can be challenging to find a mattress that’s supportive enough for heavyweight stomach sleepers, but that wasn’t an issue on this bed. This was one of my favorite mattresses for stomach sleeping.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed Plus

  • Heavyweight back and stomach sleepers should love how soft the top layer of the WinkBed Plus is and how supportive the layers underneath are. The WinkBed is ranked at 7.5/10 on our firmness scale, which is pretty firm.
  • Hot sleepers who need a mattress that sleeps cool will enjoy the the Tencel fabric in the cover, the gel infusion in the Euro pillow top and the individually-wrapped coils, which allow for airflow.
  • Couples should enjoy the fact that the WinkBed is easy to move around on, making it a great mattress for sex.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed Plus

  • Side sleepers will likely need a mattress that offers more pressure relief, since their hips and shoulders may feel firm on this mattress.
  • Fans of a memory foam feel will likely want a mattress that offers more body contouring.

Other user reviews

Reviewers on the WinkBeds site ranked the mattress at 4.8 out of 5 stars, which is great considering there are over 8,000 reviews for the Plus mattress. Customers love that the mattress is firm and supportive but has a soft top to add a comforting balance.

Read our full WinkBeds Plus mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the WinkBeds Plus mattress, check out our list of the best hybrid mattresses for more great options!

Saatva Classic – Best Innerspring Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Best Innerspring Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Saatva Classic
Great edge support
Multiple firmness options
Stays cool
Cons of the Saatva Classic
Bad at isolating motion
Expensive

Our Expert’s Take

The Saatva is a hybrid innerspring mattress that comes in multiple firmness options. Since you’re a stomach sleeper, we highly recommend the Firm option, as it will do a better job of keeping your hips supported than the other firmness options will. We tested the Luxury Firm version, which is essentially halfway between Soft and Firm. While we felt supported on this version, we feel the Firm option will be the best bet for you. 

What the testers say: “On the Firm model, I felt very comfortable and supported while stomach sleeping. My hips didn’t sink into the pillow top, which helped me maintain the proper spinal alignment. The Firm model also offered plenty of support when I rested on my back.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva Classic

  • Because of the Saatva’s zoned support system, it provides different levels of support depending on which sleeping position you’re in. For this reason, combination sleepers should have an easy time settling into new positions as they flop around throughout the night. 
  • We consider the Saatva one of the best orthopedic mattresses. Our testers felt that their spines remained neutrally aligned while they were on the mattress, and the plush foams in the construction kept them from feeling too much pressure around their hips and shoulders. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva Classic

  • We gave the Saatva a score of 3/5 on our motion transfer test. When one of our testers rested on the mattress, they were easily able to feel our other tester getting in and out of the bed. If you’re interested in a better mattress for couples, consider the Helix Dawn instead. 

Other user reviews

The Saatva Classic has an average rating of 4.8 out of 5, based on 3,441 reviews on the company website. 57 of the 5-star reviews come specifically from stomach sleepers, all of whom are very happy with the comfort the Saatva provides. Of the 45 1-star reviews, many of them concern Saatva’s customer service, which we have never had an issue with. 

Read our full Saatva mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Saatva mattress, check out our list of the best innerspring mattresses for more great options!

Nolah Natural – Best Mattress for Lightweight Stomach Sleepers

Best Mattress for Lightweight Stomach Sleepers

Nolah Natural Mattress

Nolah Natural - coupon

The Nolah Natural mattress, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back sleepers will especially appreciate its zoned coil system.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Latex

Trial Period

120 Nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Lightweight Stomach Sleepers

Nolah Natural Mattress

Nolah Natural - coupon

The Nolah Natural mattress, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back sleepers will especially appreciate its zoned coil system.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 Nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Nolah Natural - coupon
Best Mattress for Lightweight Stomach Sleepers

Nolah Natural Mattress

The Nolah Natural mattress, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back sleepers will especially appreciate its zoned coil system.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Latex

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

120 Nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Pros of the Nolah Natural
Works well for lightweight sleepers
Great for eco-conscious shoppers
2″ of Talalay latex
Cons of the Nolah Natural
Not great for stomach sleeping
Not great at isolating motion

Our Expert’s Take

Lightweight sleepers under 130 lb often require softer mattress options. The Nolah Natural provides a 6/10 firmness (close to medium firmness). This allows lightweight sleepers to receive the necessary comfort while also getting enough support for stomach sleeping. The Nolah Natural keeps lightweight sleepers’ hips lifted, promoting proper spinal alignment for stomach sleepers.

What the testers say: “The Nolah Natural is a bit softer than some other mattress for stomach sleeping. But lightweight stomach sleepers who need a bit of give will find this ideal for them.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Natural

  • The Nolah is an eco-friendly mattress made with organic cotton, organic wool and Talalay latex foam.
  • Stomach sleepers who shift to their side and need pressure relief should love the luxe and breathable cotton layers and the supportive coil layer.
  • Couples who are looking for the best mattress for sex should love the Nolah, since it’s bouncy and responsive nature makes it a great fit.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Natural

  • People who want a slow-moving memory foam feel on their mattress likely won’t love the Nolah Natural since it’s a bouncy innerspring mattress.
  • Couples who are concerned about motion transfer might feel each other moving around through the night on the Nolah Natural.
  • If you want a durable mattress, the high-quality organic materials and Talalay latex should last about 10 years.

Other user reviews

Reviewers on the Nolah site ranked the Natural at 4.8 out of 5 stars, with many users raving about how the mattress helped with their back pain, while some complained that the mattress wasn’t firm enough.

Read our full Nolah Natural mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nolah Natural mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for lightweight sleepers for more great options!

Brooklyn Bedding Signature – Best Mattress for Stomach and Back Sleeping

Best Mattress for Stomach and Back Sleeping

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Stomach and Back Sleeping

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Mattress for Stomach and Back Sleeping

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature
Bouncy coils and foam layers make this good for sex
Great option for hot sleepers
Three firmness options: soft, medium, and firm
Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature
Not a deluxe mattress
Sleepers over 300 lb may need more support

Our Expert’s Take

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature is a hybrid mattress that features a quilted top, a comfort layer and transition layer of high-density and responsive foam, a support layer of individually wrapped coils and a high-density flex base layer. The materials in this mattress make it comfortable and supportive for back sleepers, and the company offers a Firm model that stomach sleepers should enjoy.

What the testers say: “When I tested sleeping on my stomach, the Signature Hybrid provided decent support overall, though you might be better off opting for the firm model instead of the softer options.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • People who want one of the best cheap mattresses should love the Brooklyn Bedding Signature since it’s cheaper than a lot of mattresses on the market. It’s also the brand’s best-selling mattress, which speaks to its quality.
  • Combination sleepers and those who tend to shift position in the night should love the fact that the soft foam layers offer comfort and a bit of contouring, while the coils offer support.
  • The Brooklyn Bedding Signature offers three firmness levels: soft, medium, and firm. This means that most sleepers should be able to find a mattress that fits their needs.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid may give a slight chemical smell when it’s first unboxed, but the smell should disappear after a day or two.
  • Motion isolation isn’t the best on this mattress. If you sleep with a partner and are worried about being disturbed by their movement, you should keep this in mind.
  • The Signature Hybrid has decent edge support, but not the best.

Other user reviews

On the Brooklyn Bedding site, over 10,000 reviewers rated 4.7 out of 5 stars, with most customers praising how supportive and cooling the mattress is. Some users, however, complained that the mattress is too soft.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for back sleepers for more great options! 

Helix Twilight Luxe – Best Cooling Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Best Cooling Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Helix Twilight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Twilight Luxe is a firm, supportive mattress that should work well for stomach sleepers and some back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Cooling Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Helix Twilight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Twilight Luxe is a firm, supportive mattress that should work well for stomach sleepers and some back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Cooling Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Helix Twilight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Twilight Luxe is a firm, supportive mattress that should work well for stomach sleepers and some back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros of the Helix Twilight Luxe
A 15-year warranty and a 100-night sleep trial
Plenty of support for lightweight stomach sleepers
Zoned support layer to provide lumbar support
Cons of the Helix Twilight Luxe
Not great for side sleepers
Not for soft mattress lovers

Our Expert’s Take

Thanks to its luxury cooling technology, the Helix Twilight Luxe mattress is designed to help prevent heat buildup. Sleepers are welcomed by a Tencel cover, which is cooling and eco-friendly. Cooling gel-infused memory foam promotes breathability. Because it’s a hybrid mattress, the springy pocketed coils in the support layer provide even more airflow. This bed clocks in at a 7.5/10 on our firmness scale, making it supportive enough for stomach sleepers.

What the testers say: “I felt great support when I was stomach sleeping on the Helix Twilight Luxe. Firm mattresses work well for stomach sleeping, and the Helix Twilight Luxe is no exception. If you want even more support for heavier folks, the firmer Helix Dawn Luxe could be a good option.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Twilight Luxe

  • The Twilight Luxe has a Tencel cover, which has some cooling benefits. You can also upgrade with the GlacioTex™ Cooling Cover, which feels even cooler.
  • Couples should enjoy the Twilight Luxe for two reasons: It isolates motion well and it’s good for sex.
  • The Helix Twilight Luxe is durable and should last about 10 years.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Twilight Luxe

  • As a luxury mattress, the Helix Twilight Luxe may be on the pricier side and may not be best for shoppers who are on a budget.
  • Like many bed-in-a-box mattresses, the Twilight Luxe can give off a chemical smell, but it should dissipate after 48 hours.

Other user reviews

On the Helix site, the Twilight Luxe is currently ranked at 4.4 out of 5 stars, with 662 reviews. Customers love how soft the mattress is, yet still supportive enough to help ease hip and back pain.

Read our full Helix Twilight Luxe mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Twilight Luxe mattress, check out our list of the best cooling mattresses for more great options!

Plank Firm – Best Extra-Firm Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Best Extra-Firm Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Extra-Firm Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Extra-Firm Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros of the Plank Firm
Supportive high-density base foam
Great firmness for stomach sleepers
Good mattress for sex
Cons
Not great for lightweight stomach sleepers
Not great edge support

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a stomach sleeper, the number one thing you should be looking for in your mattress is firmness. Stomach sleepers need a firmer sleeping surface to keep their hips in line with their shoulders, which prevents back pain. The Plank Firm mattress is one of the firmest beds out there. It’s also double-sided, with a firm side and an extra-firm side, so stomach sleepers of all weights should find a side that suits their needs.

What the testers say: “For me, the extra-firm side proved to be a great match for stomach sleeping. It is incredibly supportive and kept my hips fully elevated and aligned with my spine. This makes a great match for stomach sleepers.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Plank Firm

  • People who prefer very firm mattresses should love the Plank Firm. It’s one of the firmest mattresses on the market, coming at a 9/10 on our firmness scale on the “extra-firm” side.
  • Stomach sleepers who need more spinal support should love the Plank Firm. It’s supportive enough to keep the hips and spine aligned, and is one of the best stomach sleeping mattresses available.
  • Back sleepers who like a firmer feel may like the “firm” side of the Plank. It ranks at an 8/10 on our firmness scale, which offers a bit more comfort than the extra-firm side.

What to Keep in Mind About Like the Plank Firm

  • Side sleepers who’ll need more pressure relief on their hips and shoulders will probably find the Plank Firm way too firm to be comfortable.
  • Couples who are worried about feeling their partner move around at night should keep in mind that the Plank Firm doesn’t isolate motion as well as some of its competitors.
  • As firm as the Plank is, it doesn’t have the best edge support, which is something to consider if you sleep close to the edge and are worried about rolling off.

Other user reviews

On the Plank site, customers ranked the Plank Firm at 4.8 out of 5 stars, with over 2,000 reviewers chiming in. Many reviewers were stomach sleepers who suffered from back pain and enjoyed the firmness the Plank offers. Others complained that the mattress wasn’t firm enough.

Read our full Plank mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Plank mattress, check out our list of the best extra-firm mattresses for more great options!

Emma Hybrid Comfort – Best Mattress for Heavyweight Stomach Sleepers

Best Mattress for Heavy Stomach Sleepers

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy Stomach Sleepers

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy Stomach Sleepers

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros of the Emma Hybrid Comfort
Plenty of support for heavyweight people
Stays cool as you sleep
Good for couples
Cons of the Emma Hybrid Comfort
Too firm for side sleepers
Lightweight sleepers need a softer mattress

Our Expert’s Take

As we’ve discussed, stomach sleepers need a firm, supportive mattress in order to sleep comfortably and ache-free. This is especially true for heavyweight (over 230 lb) stomach sleepers. The Emma Hybrid Comfort fits the bill here, as it kept our larger tester’s hips propped up and their spine properly aligned. 

What the testers say: “When I flipped onto my stomach, the Emma Hybrid Comfort worked like a charm. The mattress did not collapse under my pelvis, which is a common issue for me on mattresses. I got good support under my center mass and across my entire body.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Thanks to its sturdy hybrid construction, the Emma Hybrid Comfort provides a ton of support. This isn’t just important for previously mentioned stomach and heavyweight sleepers, it also makes it much easier for seniors to get in and out of bed, as it allows them to brace themselves on the mattress without it sagging underneath them. 
  • Also because of the hybrid design, this mattress has very good responsiveness. This means that you won’t feel trapped in the mattress. Instead, you should feel as if the mattress encourages movement and makes changing sleeping positions throughout the night a breeze. 

What We to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • The Emma Hybrid Comfort is not soft enough for side sleepers. When our testers tried out the mattress in this position, they all felt that it didn’t provide enough pressure relief, regardless of their body type. If this is a concern of yours, check out our list of the best mattresses for side sleepers

Other user reviews

The Emma Hybrid Comfort has an average rating of 5 out of 5, based on just five customer reviews from the company website. The number of verified reviews is low because the product is new, but those who have left feedback are all thrilled with the product’s quality.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in this mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for heavy people for more great options! 

Birch – Best Latex Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Best Latex Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Latex Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Latex Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Birch
A good value
Contains breathable and durable materials
Excellent support under the hips
Cons of the Birch
Not great for classic foam lovers
Isn’t the best for isolating motion

Our Expert’s Take

The Birch (made by Helix) is an environmentally friendly hybrid mattress built with dense, supportive materials such as Talalay latex, organic wool and individually-wrapped coils. Customers also have the option to add a pillow top if they want more plushness. Without the pillow top, the Birch has a firmer, more supportive feel.

What the testers say: “While stomach sleeping, the Birch without the pillow top was very supportive for me. I felt well-aligned, and the firmness didn’t not allow me to bow in at the hips. I found it to be one of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers.” Joe, Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch

  • People who prefer all-natural mattresses will love the fact that the Birch is made up of organic wool and cotton and Talalay latex. It’s also flame-retardant!
  • Aerated latex tends to be cooler than memory foam, and with the addition of the coils, the Birch should sleep cool and be a good fit for hot sleepers.
  • The Birch was a quiet mattress when we tested it, and was easy to move around on. This makes it great for couples who are looking for a good mattress for sex.

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch

  • Though the Birch is great for couples who want a mattress ideal for sex, couples who are easily woken up by their partner’s movements may want to know that the Birch doesn’t isolate motion very well due to the bouncy latex and the innerspring coils.
  • Some hybrid mattresses have a classic foam feel on the top layer that causes you to sink into it. But since the Birch has a latex layer, it’s more responsive.

Other user reviews

On the Birch site, over 2,000 reviewers ranked the mattress at 4.7 out of 5 stars, highlighting the comfort, easy setup and the fact that it’s eco-friendly. However, some users complained that the latex layer was too thin.

Read our full Birch mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Birch mattress, check out our list of the best latex mattresses for more great options!

Other Mattresses for Stomach Sleepers We Like

While these mattresses didn’t make our top 9 recommendations, these mattresses are still a great option for people who are looking for a mattress for stomach sleepers. Check out our recommendations below.

Casper Original Mattress

casper original hero

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Original Mattress

casper original hero

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
casper original hero

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Its balanced foam feel makes it easy to move around at night.
Lightweight and medium weight combination sleepers are going to love the Casper mattress.
Cons
Heavier side sleepers won’t get the pressure relief they need on the Casper.
It doesn’t have a slow-moving memory foam feel.

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Zoned support system
It’s a cooling memory foam mattress. The gel-infused comfort layers help pull heat away from the body.
Cons
Those who want a bouncy, innerspring feel should look elsewhere.
Heavier side sleepers may “bottom out” on this bed.

What to Consider When Choosing a Mattress for Stomach Sleeping

Mattresses aren’t one-size-fits-all. Here are a few important things to think about if you’re a stomach sleeper shopping for a new mattress.

Firmness

Stomach sleepers need firm mattresses in order to keep their spines in the correct alignment. If a stomach sleeper rests on a mattress that’s too soft, their hips will likely sink into the top of the bed. This puts a lot of strain on the lower back and can cause pain over time. 

Beds that fall within the 7.5-9/10 range on our firmness scale are best for stomach sleepers. For reference, 6.5/10 represents the industry standard of medium-firm. Take a look at our list of the best firm mattresses for more options. 

Body Type

Body type also plays a significant role in which mattress you should get. For example, lightweight stomach sleepers don’t compress mattresses too much, so they often think mattresses feel firmer than heavier people do. Lightweight stomach sleepers may not need a particularly firm mattress—something within the 6.5-7/10 range should work well. 

On the other hand, heavier people may need a more supportive mattress to prevent them from “bottoming out.” Those who weigh more than 230 lb may need a mattress that was made specifically for heavy people

Spinal Alignment

Because stomach sleepers can easily develop lower back pain, it’s particularly important for people in this category to find a mattress that helps them maintain the proper spinal alignment. Look for a supportive mattress that can keep your hips elevated. If your hips sink into the mattress’s top layer, you could put extra strain on your lower back. 

Durability and Support

Mattress support is particularly important for stomach sleepers because it can help prevent lower back pain. But that’s not the only thing to keep in mind; you’ll also want to find a durable mattress that will last several years. All of the mattresses on this list should last at least seven years, but some of them will last at least a decade. 

Pressure Relief

The top priority for stomach sleepers is support. But if you’re a combination sleeper who switches positions throughout the night, you’ll also want to find a mattress that offers a bit of pressure relief. Side sleepers, in particular, need an extra boost of cushioning along shoulders and hips. If you occasionally rest on your back, you may need to find a mattress with a thick comfort layer that can cradle the curves of your body.

Best Type of Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

With so many mattresses on the market, it can be tough to understand the differences between them. To make things easier, I’ll break down the many different types of mattresses below. 

Foam

Like the name suggests, foam mattresses are made entirely out of foam. The base layers typically consist of high-density foam, which offers lumbar support. The materials in the comfort layers range from brand to brand. Some beds contain traditional memory foam, which has a slow-moving feel. Other brands feature proprietary memory foam that feels more responsive.

Lucid Gel Foam Mattress - Construction

All-foam beds have a bad reputation for trapping body heat, but that’s not always the case. If you’re in the market for an all-foam bed, look for something with a cooling cover or gel infusion. You’ll find lots of good options on our list of the best cooling mattresses

Innerspring

Innerspring mattresses have layers of thick coils at the bottom, which give the mattress a bouncy and responsive feel. Instead of thick comfort layers, innerspring mattresses have thin covers that are often tufted. You won’t feel a lot of pressure relief on an innerspring mattress, which is why these types of mattresses aren’t very popular. 

A cut out innerspring mattress showing its inner layers
Inspecting innerspring coils in our sleep lab

Latex

Latex mattresses feature latex foam, a material that’s eco-friendly, cooling and responsive. Latex foam feels more supportive than traditional memory foam, making it a good choice for many stomach sleepers. This material is also more durable than other types of foam, so even though latex mattresses have higher price tags, they are often worth the investment. Take a look at our list of the best latex mattresses for some good options. 

The Best Latex Mattress Toppers Featured Image

Hybrid

Hybrid mattresses contain both coils and foam. Unlike innerspring mattresses, hybrids have thick comfort layers and offer lots of pressure relief. Hybrid mattresses can contain memory foam, proprietary foam or latex, and they are available in a wide range of firmness levels. Birch makes one of our favorite hybrid mattresses. 

A cross-section shot of a hybrid mattress
Testing the inside of a hybrid mattress in our sleep lab

Mattress Accessories for Stomach Sleepers

Need an extra boost of comfort for your sleep environment? Take a look at some of the best mattress accessories for stomach sleepers. 

Pillows

Stomach sleepers don’t need a lofty pillow. If a pillow is too tall, it could crane the neck out of alignment and cause pain and tension. You may want to consider getting an adjustable pillow. That way, you can easily make the pillow taller or shorter. Take a look at our list of the best pillows for stomach sleepers for some good options. 

Mattress Toppers

Most mattress toppers make beds feel softer, so stomach sleepers don’t usually need one. That said, there are a few mattress toppers that either don’t affect the firmness level of a mattress or make the bed feel slightly more supportive. Check out our list of the best mattress toppers for stomach sleepers to see our top picks. 

How to Sleep on Your Stomach Comfortably

Stomach sleeping is widely regarded as the worst sleeping position because it can cause neck and back pain. But if you can’t sleep in any other position, there are a few ways you can make yourself more comfortable.   

Sleep Without a Pillow

Pillows can crane the neck out of alignment and cause pain. If you often wake up with a sore neck after sleeping on your stomach, you may want to try ditching your pillow altogether. If you have a comfy pillow top mattress, like the DreamCloud, you may get the ideal amount of cushioning you need. 

A man sleeps on his stomach on the Minocasa Hybrid mattress.

Put a Pillow Under Your Hips

If you feel your hips sinking into the top of the mattress, you can try placing a pillow under your pelvis. This will elevate the hips and help keep the spine in the proper alignment. 

Keep Your Legs Down at a Natural Angle

Stomach sleeping is also known as the “freefall position,” because many people hitch their legs out to the side while lying on their stomachs. But this can cause your spine to get even more misaligned. For better spinal alignment, you should try to keep your legs down and straight or let them splay out just a bit.

Is It Bad to Sleep on Your Stomach?

Stomach sleeping is not the best sleeping position because it can cause lower back pain and neck tension. That said, there are many ways to combat these common issues—you can sleep on a firm mattress, rest with a low loft pillow or place a pillow under your hips. 

Summary

Now that you’ve learned all about what to look for in a mattress, here’s a quick summary of our top picks for the best mattresses for stomach sleepers:

Mattress Superlative
Nectar HybridBest Overall
Helix DawnBest Firm Mattress for Stomach Sleepers
WinkBeds PlusBest Hybrid Mattress for Stomach Sleepers
Saatva ClassicBest Innerspring Mattress for Stomach Sleepers
Nolah NaturalBest Mattress for Lightweight Stomach Sleepers
Brooklyn Bedding SignatureBest Mattress for Stomach and Back Sleeping
Helix Twilight LuxeBest Cooling Mattress for Stomach Sleepers
PlankBest Extra-Firm Mattress for Stomach Sleepers
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Mattress for Heavy Stomach Sleepers
BirchBest Latex Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Best Mattress for Stomach Sleepers FAQs

What is the best mattress for stomach sleepers?

The Helix Dawn is one of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers that we have tested. It is slightly firmer than average, which helps keep the spine in alignment throughout the night. It also has tons of customization options, which is great if you sleep with a partner whose needs may be different.

Is a firm mattress good for stomach sleepers?

Yes! Stomach sleepers should look for mattresses that are a bit firmer to avoid having their hips sink too far into the mattress and causing their spine to come out of alignment throughout the night. Having proper spinal alignment is one of the most important aspects of being comfortable on your mattress.

Can a good mattress help stomach sleepers with back pain?

Back pain is a common issue for stomach sleepers since stomach sleeping doesn’t allow for proper spinal alignment as easily as side or back sleeping does. Stomach sleepers should opt for mattresses that prevent their hips and shoulders from sinking while also providing cushion and comfort. Usually, firmer mattresses are ideal for this sleeping position.

Are memory foam mattresses good for stomach sleeping?

The perfect mattress material will vary from person to person, but there are a few drawbacks to having a foam mattress as a stomach sleeper. The biggest drawback is that most traditional foam mattresses are pretty soft, and stomach sleepers will likely be more comfortable on a firmer mattress. However, there are several hybrid mattresses listed in our roundup that should work well for stomach sleepers.

What’s the most comfortable way to sleep on my stomach?

If you’re a stomach sleeper, you may want to try sleeping with a thin pillow or without a pillow so you can avoid straining your neck by pointing it upward. Also, you may want to try sleeping with a pillow under your hips to help keep your spine aligned. Lastly, picking a firmer mattress may help keep your hips from dipping in too much and misaligning your spine.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.