Best Mattresses for Couples

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs, where we are compensated for items purchased through links from our site. See our disclosure page for details.

It’s hard enough to find the best mattress for yourself. It’s even more difficult to find the best mattress for couples because each person might have a different weight, sleeping position, and firmness preference. Perhaps one of you is a light sleeper in search of good motion isolation or a hot sleeper who wants cooling features. That’s why when putting together our below roundup of the best mattresses for couples, we made sure to take the following qualities (and more) into consideration: cooling ability, motion isolation, responsiveness, and durability.

I have personally tested over 600 mattresses, and I considered 20 different models for this roundup. The result is a collection of beds that should have something for everyone—partners included.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for Couples?

Our expert reviewers chose the Nectar Premier Copper as the best mattress for couples for its luxurious feel, quality materials, and affordable price.

Best Mattresses for Couples 2024

Video Review: Best Mattress for Couples

Compare the Best Mattresses for Couples

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress Helix Dusk Luxe Mattress Saatva Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Titan Plus Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid Birch Luxe Natural Mattress
Nectar Premier Copper Mattress Helix Dusk Luxe Mattress Saatva Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Titan Plus Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid Birch Luxe Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Soft: 6/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 8/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 9/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10
Material Foam Hybrid Innerspring Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Combination Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Combination Back & Side Back Back & Stomach Combination Back & Stomach

Our Testing Process

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

Mattress testing photos from the studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

We recommend couples try to pay attention to qualities such as cooling and durability. In fact, we chose these 10 mattresses with these traits in mind. All 10 mattresses on this list scored at least a 4 out of 5 for durability, and eight of them scored at least a 4 out of 5 for cooling.

How We Chose the Best Mattresses for Couples

Motion Isolation

Motion isolation is the first thing we consider when selecting the best mattresses for couples. Good motion isolation means that you will be less likely to feel your partner’s tossing and turning throughout the night. This is especially important if one or both of you are restless sleepers.

Edge Support

Next, we look at edge support. Depending on the size of your mattress, you and your partner may find that there’s just enough room for you to both fit comfortably. If this is the case, you’ll want a mattress with solid edge support, as it will allow you to utilize the far reaches of the bed without fear of them sagging under your weight.

Durability

Last, we consider durability. With two people on the mattress, it’s natural that there’d be more potential for sagging over time. A highly durable mattress will hold up well under both of your weights, and will be less likely to sacrifice structural integrity despite the added strain on its surface.

Best Mattress for Motion Isolation – Nectar Premier Copper

Best Mattress for Motion Isolation

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced cooling mattress. It's also great at isolating motion.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Motion Isolation

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced cooling mattress. It's also great at isolating motion.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Nectar Premier Copper
Best Mattress for Motion Isolation

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced cooling mattress. It's also great at isolating motion.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros of the Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

checkThis mattress has many cooling features, such as copper-infused foam, that help pull heat away from the body.
check The Nectar Premier Copper works well for side sleepers, because the soft foams cushion shoulders and hips.
check This mattress is made with durable, high-quality materials. It should last at least 10 years.

Cons of the Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

dash It might be out of some people’s budgets.
dash It may not be supportive enough for stomach sleepers. If you tend to slee on your stomach, you may want to look for a firmer mattress.

The Nectar Premier Copper is the brand’s most luxurious mattress. This bed has many cooling features that help dissipate body heat. Thanks to its soft feel, this mattress works well for many side sleepers. That said, this mattress isn’t supportive enough for many heavyweight people and stomach sleepers. To learn more, watch our Nectar Premier Copper review video.

Our Expert’s Take

The Nectar Premier Copper is one of the best mattresses for couples and our overall top pick because of its ability to isolate motion. If you often find yourself woken up by your partner’s movements, you’ll want to invest in a bed that can absorb those motions. The Nectar Premier Copper has a thick layer of cooling gel memory foam, which works well to trap motion. The gel memory foam layer offers great pressure relief. The surface of the memory foam layer is infused with phase change material, which is a high-tech material that absorbs body heat and feels cool to the touch.

What our testers say: “As a back sleeper, I felt great sleeping on the Nectar Premier Copper. I felt a good balance of pressure relief and spinal support and felt a similar feeling when I tried side sleeping on the mattress. The top layers of memory foam are thick, which really helped with the pressure relief.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Premier Copper

  • It’s slightly softer than average, which makes it a great choice for side sleepers. The plush foam layers cushion joints and help alleviate pressure.
  • The Nectar Premier Copper mattress is great for couples because it isolates motion well. This means that you shouldn’t feel your partner’s movements on your side of the bed.
  • For an all-foam mattress, it sleeps very cool at night. The copper helps pull heat away from the body, and the gel-infused foam is breathable.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Premier Copper

  • Because this mattress is quite soft, it’s not supportive enough for stomach sleepers. Stomach sleepers will likely feel their hips sink out of alignment, which can cause lower back pain.
  • It’s an all-foam bed-in-a-box mattress, which means it has a 48-hour off-gassing period. You will notice a faint chemical smell at first, but it will dissipate after two days.

Other User Reviews

Out of over 57,000 customer reviews on the Nectar website, the Nectar Premier Copper has earned an average score of 4.7/5. Happy customers said the mattress was “the best ever” and one person even said it saved their life. People praised its plush feel and said it helped alleviate joint pain. A few people said they had issues with shipping times, and some complained that the mattress felt too soft.

Check out our full Nectar Premier Copper mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nectar Premier Copper mattress, check out our list of the Best Soft Mattresses for more great options!

Best Hybrid Mattress for Couples – Helix Dusk Luxe

Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Dusk Luxe Mattress

helix dusk luxe e1609434442779

The Helix Dusk Luxe is a comfortable, supportive, and luxury choice for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Dusk Luxe Mattress

helix dusk luxe e1609434442779

The Helix Dusk Luxe is a comfortable, supportive, and luxury choice for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
helix dusk luxe e1609434442779
Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Dusk Luxe Mattress

The Helix Dusk Luxe is a comfortable, supportive, and luxury choice for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros of the Helix Dusk Luxe Mattress

checkThis is an upgraded version of the Helix Dusk. It offers a thicker comfort layer which can offer more pressure relief for side sleepers.
checkThe coils are zoned, meaning it’s firmer in the center to offer more lumbar support for back sleepers.
checkThe medium-firm feel to this mattress makes it a great choice for a variety of body types.

Cons of the Helix Dusk Luxe Mattress

dashBecause this is a luxury version of the base model, it might not fit everyone’s budget. Take a look at our list of the best cheap mattresses for some more budget friendly options.
dashThis mattress is too soft to offer support for stomach sleepers, but we also have a list of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers as alternatives.

If you like the sound of the Helix Dusk, but want a more luxurious version, the Helix Dusk Luxe is the perfect upgrade. It’s a bit softer than the base model, and has a few more features to elevate your sleep. The coils are zoned for extra lumbar support, and the comfort foam is thicker for some added pressure relief.

Our Expert’s Take

Helix is unique in that you can identify your perfect mattress via an online quiz that lets you plug in your individual parameters. If you each take the quiz, Helix will suggest a mattress that closely accommodates both of your preferences. We love the Helix Dusk Luxe in particular because it features nice motion isolation, which is great news for light sleepers who don’t want their partner’s movements to disturb them at night.

The hybrid construction of the Dusk Luxe is supportive, but not too firm. As for who this works best for, lightweight sleepers (under 130 lb) should find it very comfortable, regardless of preferred sleeping position. Also, most back sleepers should find this firmness level ideal.

What our testers say: “During my tests, the Helix Dusk Luxe isolated motion very well. When my coworker moved around on the other side of the mattress, I did not feel his movements on my side of the bed. If you need one of the best mattresses for couples, consider the Helix Dusk Luxe.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Dusk Luxe

  • The Helix Dusk Luxe mattress features high-quality materials, so it should last at least 10 years.
  • The version of the Helix Dusk Luxe that we tested included the optional cooling cover. If you’re willing to spend the extra money, we definitely recommend this add-on for hot sleepers, as it legitimately feels cool to the touch. In addition to the cover, the Dusk Luxe’s hybrid construction promotes airflow and keeps hot air from getting trapped in the mattress. 
  • Not only does this mattress isolate motion well, which is important for couples, but it’s also very easy to move around on. This is great for sexually active couples, as the bouncy responsiveness will keep your movements from feeling stifled by the mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Dusk Luxe

  • The Helix Midnight isn’t supportive enough for heavyweight people. Because it’s on the softer side, if you weigh 230 lb or more you’ll likely sink uncomfortably below the mattress surface. Big and tall folks may want to consider getting the Titan Plus instead.

Other User Reviews

The Helix Dusk Luxe has an average rating of 4.5 out of 5 based on 1,232 reviews on the company website. The majority of the reviews award the mattress 5 stars, and users rave about the comfort and pain relief that the Dusk Luxe provides. However, a few customers were not so happy with the firmness of the mattress. Some claim it is too soft, and one describes it as a, “sunken soup hole”.

Read our full Helix Dusk Luxe mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight mattress, check out our list of the Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options!

Best Luxury Mattress for Couples – Saatva

Best Luxury Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Luxury Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros of the Saatva Mattress

check The Saatva mattress is a great option for combination sleepers. It is available in multiple firmness options, but the Luxury Firm model works well for multiple sleeping positions.
check The Luxury Firm model of the Saatva will work well for most back sleepers. Its balance of comfort and support and zoned construction ensure you’ll sleep in good neutral alignment.
checkShoppers looking for a long-lasting mattress will love the Saatva. It feature high-density foam and durable coils that should ensure it lasts for over 10 years.

Cons of the Saatva Mattress

dashIf you like the feel of a memory foam mattress, you’re not going to love the feel of the Saatva. Instead, you should take a look at our best memory foam mattresses.
dashLightweight side sleepers might not get the best pressure relief, even on the softest Saatva model. If you weigh less than 130 lb, check out our best mattresses for lightweight people.

The Saatva is a luxurious hybrid innerspring mattress that should be a great long-term investment. It is available in multiple firmness options, so it should work for the majority of sleeping positions, and its Luxury Firm model is one of the best mattresses for back sleepers. However, lightweight side sleepers and fans of memory foam should look elsewhere. Learn more in our video review.

Our Expert’s Take

The Saatva mattress has a balanced and supportive feel, which makes it a great choice for back and side sleepers. The top layers gently cushion joints, while the support coils help the back stay in the proper alignment. And like all mattresses on this list, The Saatva has great edge support! Thanks to its high-quality materials, we expect it to last at least 10 years.

What our testers say:  “When back sleeping on the Saatva mattress, I experienced an excellent balance of comfort and support. My hips sank into the pillow top the perfect amount, and I felt plenty of lumbar support from the coil layers. Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva 

  • It has multiple firmness options: Plush, Luxury Firm, and Firm. This means most sleepers should find a firmness level that works for them.
  • Though this is an innerspring mattress, it has a layer of foam quilted into the cover to make for a Euro-top pillow.
  • It’s made with high-quality materials, including the Euro pillow top with an organic cotton cover and two sets of steel coils. I expect this mattress to last at least 10 years.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • Because it’s a luxurious and high-end bed, the Saatva has a higher price point. It may not fit into everyone’s budget.
  • It may not supportive enough for big and tall people. If you weigh more than 250 lb, you may want to consider getting the Titan Plus instead.

Other User Reviews

Over 3,000 customers have reviewed the Saatva on the website, and the mattress has an overall score of 4.8/5. Many people praised the customer service team and free white glove delivery. Some customers said it is difficult to find the perfect firmness for their needs.

Read our full Saatva mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Saatva mattress, check out our list of the Best Luxury Mattresses for more great options!

Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
emma comfort hybrid us airtable
Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros of the Emma Comfort Hybrid Mattress

checkThe Emma Hybrid Comfort is a great choice for back sleepers who want a firm mattress that can support heavier weights. Back sleepers should get a good amount of comfort and support here.
checkThis bed is good for budget shoppers, as it can be discounted up to 50% during major holidays.
checkHot sleepers shouldn’t worry about overheating because the coils allow for airflow, the cover is breathable, and you don’t sink into the bed, which means it won’t trap heat.

Cons of the Emma Comfort Hybrid Mattress

dashIt’s far too firm for side sleepers. Check out our list of the best mattresses for side sleepers for the best options.
dashThe foam doesn’t offer a lot of contouring. If you want a mattress with a more slow-moving foam feel, look at our list of the best memory foam mattresses.

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is an affordable mattress that’s very firm and offers great support for stomach and back sleepers. It can also handle heavier weights, so it’s a great choice for heavyweight individuals who need a supportive mattress. Couples should sleep soundly without worrying about noticing their partner move around during the night and it won’t trap too much heat. Learn more in our video review.

Our Expert’s Take

The last thing couples need is to feel stuck when they’re trying to change sleeping positions. Luckily, the Emma Hybrid Comfort has bouncy coils and responsive foams that improve sleepers’ ease of movement. With a firmness of 8/10, you should sleep more “on top of” this mattress than in it, and won’t have to worry about getting stuck in the materials. And with impressive motion isolation, couples shouldn’t wake up from each other’s movements at night.

What our testers say: “Thankfully, I didn’t see any serious motion transfer on the Emma Hybrid Comfort. I placed a glass of water on one side of the mattress and then pushed into the other side. I saw very little disturbance in the water. I also lay on one side of the mattress while my coworker moved around on the opposite side. I was not disturbed whatsoever, so this should be a good mattress for couples.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • It was made with heavier people in mind. It’s quite supportive and durable, so it shouldn’t sag as time goes on.
  • It’s much firmer than average, making it a good option for many back and stomach sleepers.
  • It contains many cooling features, such as a moisture-wicking cover, airflow-promoting coils and some aerated foam.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Because it’s firmer than average, it’s not the best choice for side sleepers. If you rest in this sleeping position, you may feel some pressure on your shoulder and hip.
  • Lightweight sleepers will think this mattress feels too firm. If you weigh less than 150 lb, you may want to consider getting the Helix Midnight instead.

Other User Reviews

Because the Emma Hybrid Comfort is a new mattress, there aren’t any user reviews of the product on the company website.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers for more great options!

Best Innerspring Mattress for Couples – WinkBed

Best Innerspring Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
WinkBed
Best Innerspring Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros of the WinkBed Mattress

check It has a bouncy, responsive feel. This is great for combination sleepers who benefit from a bed that makes it easy to change positions at night.
check The WinkBed features zoned support. With firmer foam at the top and bottom and more cushioning foam in the middle, this bed has excellent lumbar support.
check This bed sleeps cool. Thanks to the breathable coils and gel-infused memory foam, hot sleepers can expect a cool night’s rest.

Cons of the WinkBed Mattress

dashThis isn’t the best option for motion isolation. Instead, check out our list of the best mattresses for couples.
dashThe WinkBed doesn’t have a traditional “sink-in” memory foam feel. Instead, check out our list of the best memory foam mattresses.

The WinkBed is a versatile mattress that provides zoned support and cooling comfort for a fair price. This bed’s excellent responsiveness makes it a good fit for combination sleeper that want a bed that’s easy to move around on. For couples looking for motion isolation, though, this probably isn’t the best choice. Instead, check out the Nectar Premier Copper. Learn more in our video review.

Our Expert’s Take

Because most beds have foam in their construction, it’s rare to find a true innerspring mattress. While the WinkBed is technically a hybrid, it relies on a coil support system and provides the feel of a traditional innerspring. Its plush pillow-top gives it the look and feel of something you’d find in a nice hotel. The mattress is available in four different firmnesses, and we believe the Luxury Firm model is best for couples. The balanced feel should fit all three sleeping positions. Being an innerspring mattress, the WinkBed is breathable. Its two sets of coils leave a lot of room for airflow.

What our testers say: “I felt the bouncy, responsive innerspring feel of the WinkBed thanks to its coils, and there was also a plush feel thanks to the pillow-top. The zoning in this mattress made for great lumbar support when I slept on it, and it also made this mattress one of best orthopedic mattresses and best mattresses for lower back pain and sciatica.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed Mattress

  • It has a traditional innerspring feel, which makes it easy to move around on top of it.
  • The WinkBed is available in four firmness levels: Softer, Luxury Firm, Firmer and Plus (for heavier people). No matter your sleeping position or body type, you should be able to find a mattress that works well for you.
  • It has a luxurious tufted pillow top, which is reminiscent of what you’ll find at five-star hotels.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed Mattress

  • If you’re looking for a slow-moving foam mattress, you may want to consider the Nectar Premier Copper instead. The WinkBed mattress feels very bouncy and responsive.
  • At regular price, a queen-size WinkBed mattress costs around $1,800, which could be too expensive for some people. However, with Mattress Clarity coupons, you can often save as much as $300.

Other User Reviews

On WinkBed‘s website, you’ll see dozens of five-star reviews from real customers. Many people praised the mattress’s construction, durability and comfort. It’s important to note that WinkBeds has not published any negative reviews, so I am unable to shed light on customer complaints.

Read our full WinkBed mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the WinkBed mattress, check out our list of the Best Innerspring Mattresses for more great options!

Best Cooling Mattress for Couples – Nolah Evolution

Best Cooling Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Cooling Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros of the Nolah Evolution Mattress

check It has great cooling features, such as graphite-infused foam and airflow-promoting coils.
check Even though it has coils, it isolates motion well. This makes it a great mattress for couples.
check It’s available in three firmness levels, so it works for a variety of people.

Cons of the Nolah Evolution Mattress

dash It lacks a slow-moving feel. If that’s what you are looking for, you may want to get one of the best memory foam mattresses instead.
dash It’s not supportive enough for most people who weigh more than 300 lb. If you fall in this category, you may want to consider getting the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ instead.
dash Because it’s a luxurious mattress, it might be too pricey for some people.

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid mattress is available in three firmness levels. The Luxury Firm model works well for many back and side sleepers. This mattress has many cooling features, and it isolates motion well. It’s not a great option for most people who weigh over 300 lb, though. If you fall in this category, you may need more lumbar support. Watch our Nolah Evolution mattress review video to learn more.

Our Expert’s Take

Memory foam is known for sleeping hot, which is why Nolah set out to create its take on the material. The comfort layer of the hybrid Nolah Evolution is made of something called AirFoamICE. It has the pressure-relieving properties of memory foam, but with an infusion of graphite and more ventilation to help it sleep cool. There’s also a layer of high-tech support coils at the bottom of the mattress (leaving plenty of room for airflow), so this bed should help couples stay nice and cool.

What our testers say: “I felt a great amount of comfort and support on the Nolah Evolution mattress. It should work well for both back and side sleepers, and when I slept on it, the Euro Top comfort layer cushioned pressure points, while the Eco Support coils provided some nice support.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • It’s a great cooling mattress. The cover is breathable, and the foam layers are aerated for extra airflow. Plus, the foam layers are infused with graphite, which helps pull heat away from the body.
  • It’s available in three firmness levels: Plush, Luxury Firm and Firm. This means it works for a variety of people.
  • The responsive comfort layers help alleviate pain along pressure points. This means that side sleepers shouldn’t feel shoulder pain, and they shouldn’t feel “stuck” inside the mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • This is Nolah’s most luxurious mattress, so it has a higher price point. If you are on a budget, you may want to consider getting the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid instead.

Other User Reviews

On Nolah‘s website, the Evolution Hybrid earns a customer review score of 4.9/5. Many people said the mattress is “perfect,” and that it feels “super comfy.” Nolah doesn’t showcase any negative reviews, so we do not have information about common complaints.

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nolah Evolution mattress, check out our list of the Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options!

Best Value Mattress for Couples – Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

Best Value Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Value Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Value Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

check The Brooklyn Bedding Signature is a budget-friendly mattress. It’s a good fit for shoppers looking for an affordable, versatile bed.
check Combination sleepers will find it easy to change positions on this bed. Thanks to its bouncy coil construction, the Signature offers a very responsive surface.
check Back and side sleepers under 230 lbs can expect great pressure relief and support on this bed.

Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

dashThis bed doesn’t provide much motion isolation. If you’re looking for a mattress that will absorb more motion, check out our list of the best mattresses for couples.
dashThe Brooklyn Bedding Signature isn’t a luxury mattress. If you want something that’s got more bells and whistles, check out our list of the best luxury mattresses.

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature is an affordable, no-frills bed with a medium-firm feel that should work for a wide variety of sleepers. While it’s made with durable materials and should last up to 10 years, it isn’t the most luxurious option. If you’re looking for a premium bed, check out the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe. Learn more in our video review.

Our Expert’s Take

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid is a great option for couples who want a durable mattress that won’t break the bank. You should be able to find a Queen-size bed for $1,249 without sales or discounts. It’s made with high-quality materials and should last 7–10 years. With a balanced construction of plush foam and supportive coils, this mattress suits a variety of sleepers.

What our testers say: “When I laid on the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid I felt the plush pillow-top and a good amount of bounce from the innerspring layers. I felt the most comfortable on my back and side on this mattress, and it had a “springy” overall feel thanks to the supportive coils.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • It’s a great value. Brooklyn Bedding owns their own factory, which allows them to cut out the middleman and sell the mattresses at a lower price.
  • It’s available three firmness levels: soft, medium and firm. The soft models works well for most side sleepers, while the medium model is great for back and side sleepers. Stomach sleepers should opt for the firm model.
  • It has coils in its support layer, which helps promote airflow throughout the mattress. This is particularly helpful for people who tend to sleep hot at night.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • It doesn’t have many high-end features. If you want a mattress with more bells and whistles, you may want to consider getting the Saatva Solaire.
  • Like many bed-in-a-box mattresses, the Brooklyn Bedding Signature has a 48-hour off-gassing period. You will notice a faint chemical smell after you unbox it.
  • Fans of a slow-moving memory foam feel may want to consider getting the Nectar Premier Copper. The Brooklyn Bedding Signature feels very bouncy and responsive.

Other User Reviews

On Brooklyn Bedding’s website, the Signature Hybrid mattress has earned an average customer review score of 4.7/5. For reference, over 10,000 people have reviewed it. Many people said the Signature Hybrid mattress feels quite comfortable, and even more said the delivery and setup was a breeze. A few people described the mattress as “lumpy” and said it started to sink over time.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for the Money for more great options!

Best for Heavy Couples – Titan Plus

Best for Heavy Couples

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best for Heavy Couples

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
titan featured image
Best for Heavy Couples

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Pros of the Titan Plus Mattress

check It works well for people who weigh 230 – 500 lb, thanks to its supportive feel.
check This mattress has great edge support.
check The Titan Plus mattress is breathable and cool, so it works well for hot sleepers.

Cons of the Titan Plus Mattress

dashLightweight people likely won’t get enough pressure relief on this mattress.
dashIt’s too firm for many side sleepers, who will likely need more cushioning along their shoulders and hips. If you want a mattress that’s more plush, you may want to consider getting the Titan Plus Luxe instead.

The Titan Plus mattress works well for many heavyweight back and stomach sleepers. It’s quite firm, coming in at 9/10 on our firmness scale. This means that many side sleepers won’t get the pressure relief they need along their shoulders and hips. Watch our Titan Plus mattress review video to learn more.

Our Expert’s Take

When testing out the Titan Plus mattress, we gave it a 9 out of 10 on our firmness scale. That means this is an especially firm bed and should have no problem keeping couples propped up. It’s also ideal for stomach sleepers and heavy people over 230 lb. The Titan Plus was designed just for these folks, with extra-sturdy materials to ensure durability and prevent sagging. The comfort layer is made of a proprietary material called TitanFlex foam, which is more responsive than your average memory foam, and there’s an extra-tall layer of coils at the bottom of the mattress.

What our testers say: “Because of its firmness, I felt very supported and felt good spinal alignment when back sleeping on the Titan Plus. I should note though, that some back sleepers may find this mattress too firm since the hips don’t sink in for pressure relief. Stomach sleeping on this mattress was great though, and I felt supported across my entire body.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus

  • It was made specifically with heavier people in mind. This means it’s more supportive than most mattresses, and it shouldn’t sag as time goes on.
  • The Titan Plus is the firmest mattress on our list. This makes it a great option for heavyweight back sleepers and most stomach sleepers.
  • It’s made with high-quality materials, including 961 individually-encased coils. This makes the mattress particularly durable, and we expect it to last at least a decade.

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • This mattress is very firm. Most side sleepers will not get the pressure relief they need. If you rest on your side, you may want to consider getting the Helix Midnight.
  • The Titan Plus was made for heavier people, so it’s not a good match for people who weigh less than 230 lb.

Other User Reviews

On the Titan website, the mattress earns an overall customer review score of 4.7/5. Big and tall people said the mattress offers plenty of support, especially while back sleeping. Some people said the mattress felt too firm and they needed to purchase a mattress topper.

Read our full Titan Plus mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Titan Plus mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options!

Best Mattress for Back Sleepers – Leesa Sapira Chill

Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid

leesa sapira chill hybrid airtable

The Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid is true to its name and offers some of the best cooling materials out there.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid

leesa sapira chill hybrid airtable

The Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid is true to its name and offers some of the best cooling materials out there.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
leesa sapira chill hybrid airtable
Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid

The Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid is true to its name and offers some of the best cooling materials out there.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

Pros of the Leesa Sapira Chill Mattress

check This bed is available in several firmness options. That means a variety of sleepers should be able to pick a feel that works for their needs.
check It sleeps impressively cool. The cooling cover and breathable foam and coils mean it offers strong temperature-regulation.
check The pillow top gives the bed a hotel-like feel. This provides plenty of cushion while the coils offer zoned support.

Cons of the Leesa Sapira Chill Mattress

dash This is a more responsive mattress, so you won’t get that signtaure memory foam sinking feeling. Instead, check out our list of the best memory foam mattresses.
dash The Leesa Sapira Chill isn’t a cheap mattress. Although, it’s often on sale, if you’re looking for something more budget-friendly, check out our list of the best cheap mattresses.

The Leesa Sapira Chill is a cool, comfortable bed that pairs a plush pillow top with supportive zoned coils. It’s available in three firmness options, so many sleepers should be able to choose a model that works for their sleeping position. This isn’t the cheapest option for a cooling mattress, though. Instead, check out the Cocoon Chill.

Our Expert’s Take

The Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid’s name says it all. It’s a mattress that features pocketed coils, multiple layers of foam, and some great cooling features. It’s got gel-infused layers, a cooling cover, and the coil layer helps to promote airflow. It’s also medium-firm and cushions the spine nicely, making it a perfect fit for back sleepers.

What the testers say: The Leesa Sapira Chill is great for relieving pressure, and makes it a great fit for multiple types of sleepers, especially back and side sleepers. I felt really supported sleeping in both of these positions.Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Leesa Sapira Chill 

  • Since the Leesa Sapira Chill is a medium-firm mattress, it should also work well for side sleepers. The hips and shoulders should be cushioned for some great pressure relief in this position.
  • Couples who want a great mattress for sex should love that this mattress is bouncy and responsive and easy to move around and change positions on.

What to Keep in Mind About the Leesa Sapira Chill

  • Stomach sleepers and heavier sleepers will probably prefer a mattress on the firmer side that will keep their hips and spine supported.
  • This isn’t a great fit for sleepers who want a cheap mattress or are shopping on a budget since this mattress costs just over $2,000 for a Queen.

Other User Reviews

On the Leesa website, this mattress is rated at 4.4 out of 5 based on over 1,900 reviews from real customers. Many users complimented that this mattress is medium-firm and is great for a variety of sleepers, though some folks claim that the mattress gave them back pain.

Read our full Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or, check out our roundup of the Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers for more great options.

Best Organic Mattress for Couples – Birch Luxe

Best Organic

Birch Luxe Natural Mattress

Birch Luxe featured

The Birch Luxe Natural Mattress is a new mattress designed with luxury in mind. This is a luxury hybrid mattress perfect for fans of eco-friendly made mattresses.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Organic

Birch Luxe Natural Mattress

Birch Luxe featured

The Birch Luxe Natural Mattress is a new mattress designed with luxury in mind. This is a luxury hybrid mattress perfect for fans of eco-friendly made mattresses.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Birch Luxe featured
Best Organic

Birch Luxe Natural Mattress

The Birch Luxe Natural Mattress is a new mattress designed with luxury in mind. This is a luxury hybrid mattress perfect for fans of eco-friendly made mattresses.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 Nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5

Pros of the Birch Luxe

check This bed is one of the firmer options, which is great if you like a bed with less sinkage and more pushback.
check Birch Luxe sleeps exceptionally cool, from its cover to breathable coil base.
check The Euro-top has you feeling like you’re sleeping in the lap of luxury, all wrapped in an eco-friendly package.

Cons of the Birch Luxe

dash As a more responsive mattress, you won’t feel hugged by the bed, which may not be preferable.
dash Organic and sustainably-sourced materials make the Birch Luxe one of our pricier picks.

The Birch Luxe is tailor-made for Birch Natural lovers who want an upgrade. You get added plushness and pressure relief, with plenty of bounce from the latex and coils.

Our Expert’s Take

Its predecessor the Birch Natural is a huge hit with the Mattress Clarity team, and the Birch Luxe represents a lavish upgrade for the eco-conscious couple who want to bask in an especially elevated boudoir. Like the Birch Natural, the Birch Luxe is furnished with all-organic materials, including its organic wool and cotton cover with a quilted Euro-top, and comfort layers of cashmere, wool, and natural latex foam.

A robust grid of individually wrapped steel coils (over 1,000 in a queen) help you feel on-top of the 11.5” mattress, rather than sunken in, testers said. The durable, breathable build is also why testers gave the bed perfect scores for support, edge support, and cooling. The bed is so impressive that we think despite the more middling motion transfer score, the bed’s other attributes make it an excellent fit for most couples.

What our testers say: “Despite this bed’s less than stellar motion isolation, I love the Birch Luxe for couples because the edges have such outstanding structural integrity. You get a mattress that’s eco-friendly, cooling, and holds you and your partner up anywhere on the bed.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch Luxe

  • Per our recap of its mattress lab scores, the Birch Natural is a highly cooling mattress that will suit hot sleepers, thanks to its breathable, natural materials.
  • A robust perimeter is a must for some people, especially if you’re partner tends to usurp the center of the bed. The Birch Luxe has a well-reinforced edge that won’t leave you feeling like you’re teetering if you drift (or are pushed) away from the center of the bed.
  • Mattresses with coils and latex, such as the Birch Luxe, tend to last the longest, at least 7-10 years, keeping your bed out of the landfill and in your home for years to come.

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch Luxe

  • The Birch Luxe is a bit firmer than most beds, measuring at a 7.5/10 on our firmness scale. If you want something closer to a soft or medium-firm or are particular about your preferences, consider a customizable option like the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid.
  • If you sleep with a partner whose nighttime movements tend to jostle you awake, you’ll want to look for a mattress with better motion isolation than the Birch Luxe, and unfortunately, poor motion isolation is a common trait of the more eco-friendly mattresses that use bouncy latex.

Other User Reviews

On the Birch Luxe product page, 4,000+ customers left an average rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars. Verified buyer Melody R. wrote that her sleep has greatly improved on the Birch Luxe: “I couldn’t be happier with my new mattress! I use an app to monitor my sleep, and since I got the Birch Luxe mattress, my sleep score has improved by 50%.” There were no 1- or 2-star reviews, however, some customers didn’t like the springy feel lent by the coil base.

Read our full Birch Luxe mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Organic & Non-Toxic Mattresses for more great options.

How to Choose a Mattress for Couples

Determine Individual Needs

couple sleeping on memoryfoam 09

When it comes to figuring out what mattress is best for you and your partner, you first want to determine what each of your individual needs are. Some things you want to talk about include your preference for motion isolation, edge support, cooling, and the mattress’ performance during sex.

Below, we cover what all of these terms mean, and how they impact the bed that you and your partner should purchase.

Consider Mattress Size

In order to fit two adults on a mattress, you’ll likely need to purchase a full-size mattress or larger. If you’re larger than average, or if you prefer more space to stretch and move around while you sleep, you might want to opt for a queen- or king-sized mattress instead. Split king mattresses are also an option if you and your partner have different sleeping needs, such as the firmness you prefer. If you want to take a deeper look into what mattress size is best for you and your partner, check out our resource on mattress sizes and dimensions.

Compromise

We mentioned split king mattresses above, which are a great option for couples who have different sleeping needs and preferences, but airbeds are another great option for couples who are looking to compromise on a mattress. Not to be confused with blow-up air mattresses, airbeds are customizable mattresses that typically allow for different firmness levels on each side of the mattress.

What Makes the Best Mattress for Couples?

Good Motion Isolation

Couples need a mattress with sufficient motion isolation so they don’t disturb each other with their movements. When it comes to cutting down on motion transfer, a mattress with lots of memory foam is best. This is especially important for light sleepers who awaken with the smallest motion.

Edge Support

It’s important to consider how much of the mattress you utilize as a couple. Can you sit or lie near the edge of your mattress or do you feel like you’re going to fall off? Solid edge support ensures that you and your partner will have the necessary space to sleep.

A woman sits on the edge of the Recore mattress.
Testing edge support in our sleep lab

Fits Multiple Sleeping Positions

If you and your partner don’t have the same sleeping position, you’ll probably want a medium-firm mattress. With a good balance of comfort and support, a mattress can accommodate numerous sleeping positions.

Cooling

Because couples sleep two bodies in a bed instead of just one, it becomes easier for the mattress — and thus the people on top of it — to overheat. That’s why we recommend that couples find a mattress that sleeps cool, whether through the construction of breathable materials, advanced cooling features, or a combination of both.

As a rule of thumb, hybrid and innerspring mattresses tend to sleep cooler than memory foam, as the coils leave more room for airflow. And latex foam is naturally cooling on its own. None of this means that memory foam mattresses will never work for a couple (after all, memory foam is better at motion isolation). But in general, these beds pose more of a challenge when it comes to temperature regulation. It’s definitely something to keep in mind if you or your partner sleep hot.

Durability

Since a mattress for a couple is going to be holding more weight, it’s imperative that it be made with durable materials that will last a long time. All of the mattresses on this list scored exceptionally high in the category of durability.

Responsiveness

A responsive mattress allows you to change positions without feeling stuck. This is important for couples, as it makes sexual activities a lot easier. Admittedly, it’s somewhat of a challenge to find a mattress that’s both responsive and good at isolating motion, but there are beds out there (including several in this roundup) that fit the bill

A Solid Mattress Warranty

You want to make sure you are covered if you and your partner have any issues with your mattress. Take a look at the fine print on the mattress warranty.

What Mattress Type is the Best for Motion Isolation?

When we talk about “motion isolation,” we’re talking about a mattress’ ability to cut down on motion transfer and prevent you and your partner from being stirred by each other’s movements at night. Here are how some of the most common mattress materials perform when it comes to motion isolation.

A hand presses into memory foam
Testing memory foam in our sleep lab

Memory Foam

Memory foam is known for its great motion isolation. The higher the density of the foam, the better the mattress is for this. Of all the materials used in mattress construction, foam is most likely to cut down on motion transfer and prevent you and your partner from feeling each other’s movements in bed.

The factors that make memory foam mattresses great for motion isolation also make them great in other ways. Couples might also love that foam mattresses are essentially noiseless and pressure relieving since most foam mattresses are soft and contour the body to make you feel like you’re sinking in it rather than sleeping on it. Check out below to see if memory foam mattresses are a good fit for you:

Who is a Memory Foam Mattress Good For?
Couples who take motion isolation seriously: Memory foam is known to absorb movement in a mattress. If you move around on a memory foam mattress, your motion should be more isolated to that specific area.
People who want a mattress that makes no noise: Memory foam does not creak or make audible noises when you move around on the mattress.
People who need pressure relief: Memory foam cushions the joints and relieves pressure on the heavier areas of the body. It also takes the shape of your body and fills in any gaps.
Who Shouldn’t Choose a Memory Foam Mattress?
Hot sleepers: Some memory foam can trap heat. When you sleep on a memory foam mattress, this heat may be directed back at you, causing you to overheat.
People who need a long-lasting mattress: Memory foam can begin to sag quicker than other mattress types since it’s soft and countouring.

Latex

Latex mattresses are usually made with a healthy portion of latex foam, which is pretty good at isolating motion, though not quite as good as memory foam. The plus side is that latex foam is extremely responsive, resulting in mattresses that are easy to move around on.

Check out our resource on how latex and memory foam mattresses are different if you aren’t sure which is best for you.

Latex is a great middle-ground for couples who want decent motion isolation, but also want to purchase a bouncy and responsive mattress that is good for sex. Latex also tends to be cooler than typical foam and is hypoallergenic. A drawback though? All of the benefits of latex foam tend to make it pricier than other mattress types. Check out below to see if a latex mattress is a good fit for you and your partner:

Who is a Latex Mattress Good For?
Those who want good durability: Natural latex mattresses will typically last longer than memory foam or poly foam because of the density of the foams used in the construction.
Couples who want the best mattress for sex: Latex mattresses tend to have more bounce, making them great for sex.
Hot sleepers: Latex tends to be naturally cooler than foam mattresses.
Those with allergies: Latex is hypoallergenic, and usually made with eco-friendly, natural materials.
Who Shouldn’t Choose a Latex Mattress?
Shoppers on a budget: Latex is harder to source than other kinds of foam, and taking that into consideration, as well as the eco-friendly and hypoallergenic benefits, latex tends to cost more than other foams.
Fans of a classic foam feel: Latex foam is bouncier, heavier and more dense than memory foam. If you prefer the classic soft foam feel, where you sink into your mattress, this won’t be a good fit.

Innerspring

Most innerspring mattresses have poor motion isolation, but if the mattress uses pocketed coils, the isolation abilities should improve. Also, if the coils are paired with some type of foam — as is the case with most hybrid mattresses — this can cut down on the motion transfer.

While innerspring mattresses may not boast amazing motion isolation, there are a few other benefits that they offer that couples may want to consider before choosing another mattress type. Innerspring mattresses tend to be more supportive, promote airflow, and because of the coil layers, they tend to be more durable. Read more below to help decide if you should still consider an innerspring mattress, despite the lack of motion isolation capabilities:

Who is an Innerspring Good For?
Hot sleepers: Innerspring mattresses can promote better airflow and ventilation, which can help dissipate heat and keep you cool while sleeping.
Those looking for a durable mattress: Innerspring mattresses are generally more durable than other types, especially if they have a high coil count or quality construction.
Those who need extra support: Innerspring mattresses are known for their strong and stable support system, which can be beneficial for those who prefer a firmer feel or need extra support for their back, hips, or shoulders.
Couples who want a good mattress for sex: Innerspring mattresses can provide a noticeable bounce, which can be useful for activities like sex.
Who Shouldn’t Choose an Innerspring Mattress?
Couples who need motion isolation: Innerspring mattresses can transfer more motion than other types of mattresses, since the coils can transfer movement across the bed, which may disturb a partner’s sleep.
People who sleep lightly: Innerspring mattresses can produce noise, especially if the coils are older or of lower quality, which can disrupt sleep.
Sleepers who need pressure relief: : Innerspring mattresses may not provide enough pressure relief for some sleepers, especially those with chronic pain or pressure points, as the coils can push back against the body.

Hybrid

Hybrid mattresses are made with foam or latex layers on the top, with a layer of coils on the bottom of the mattress. Because of the foam layer, some hybrid mattresses do just as great of a job at isolating motion as foam mattresses.

Like latex mattresses, hybrid mattresses tend to be a good middle-ground for couples who want to balance having a mattress that has good motion isolation and is responsive enough to be a good mattress for sex. The addition of both foam and coils can provide both support and comfort, and many hybrid mattresses can allow sleepers to move around easily without transferring motion.

Motion isolation, cooling benefits, firmness levels, durability, and other sleep needs can vary widely between hybrid mattresses. Check out our list of the best hybrid mattresses to find one to suit your needs, and read more below to help decide if his mattress type is a good fit for you and your partner:

Who is a Hybrid Mattress Good For?
Hot sleepers: The coils in hybrid mattresses add some breathability and help keep the mattress from holding too much heat.
Those looking for a durable mattress: Coils are a very durable material, so hybrid mattresses can stand up to many more years of use than foam alone without sagging too quickly.
Those who need extra support: The coil layers in hybrid mattresses are able to handle heavier weights and provide the support needed for back and stomach sleeping.
Who Shouldn’t Choose a Hybrid Mattress?
Shoppers on a budget: While not all hybrid mattresses cost more than other mattress types, this is often the case. Because of this, a hybrid mattress might not be in everyone’s budget.
People who sleep lightly: Coil layers within hybrid mattresses can produce noise, unlike all foam mattresses which are typically quiet.

How Does Motion Isolation Work?

Dense foam layers isolate movement better than lightweight materials since the foams absorb the motion rather than transfer it throughout the rest of the bed. That’s why memory foam mattresses tend to work better for couples – latex and innerspring mattresses usually don’t have thick and dense comfort layers, which causes motion to transfer throughout the bed and it may disturb your partner.

Why is Motion Isolation Important?

Couples greatly benefit from mattresses that isolate motion. If your partner tosses and turns during the night, the last thing you want is to feel that movement on your side of the bed, especially If you’re a light sleeper since the motion could disrupt your precious rest!

Pros and Cons of a Motion Isolating Mattress

Pros
You won’t feel your partners movements during the night
If you and your partner sleep with pets, they shouldn’t disturb you while you sleep
Light sleepers won’t be woken up with movement
Cons
Some motion isolating mattresses aren’t bouncy, meaning they may make it hard to move around on
Mattresses that aren’t easy to move around on aren’t the best options for sex

Overall

Here’s a summary of the best mattresses for couples:

Mattress

Best For

Helix Dusk Luxe

Best Hybrid Mattress

SaatvaBest Luxury Mattress
Nectar Premier CopperBest Mattress for Motion Isolation

Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

WinkBedBest Innerspring Mattress
Nolah EvolutionBest Cooling Mattress
Leesa Sapira ChillBest Mattress for Back Sleepers
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Value Mattress for Couples

Titan Plus

Best Mattress for Heavy Couples
Birch LuxeBest Organic Mattress for Couples

Still trying to compromise on a great mattress? Try taking our mattress quiz to receive tailored mattress recommendations both you and your partner will love.

Best Mattress for Couples FAQs

What type of mattress is best for couples?

Every couple is going to have different needs, but we think that the Helix Midnight is a good overall pick for most folks due to its support, cooling capabilities, and medium firmness.

What is the best mattress for joint and back pain?

The WinkBed mattress is an excellent fit for sleepers who experience joint and back pain. It has zoned support, so it feels firmer in some places and softer in others. The result is a mattress that creates a great balance of comfort and support — just what you need if you deal with pain.

Are foam mattresses good for couples?

High-density memory foam mattresses are particularly good at reducing motion transfer, so the higher the density of the foam, the better the mattress will be for this. Memory foam mattresses wouldn’t be our top pick in terms of cooling. Latex, hybrid, and innerspring mattresses work best for this. However, a lot of memory foam beds these days include open-celled foam or other ventilating properties. In terms of durability, there are plenty of memory foam mattresses on the market that prevent sagging. Foam mattresses have a bad reputation for durability, but by reading our reviews and selecting a mattress that includes high-density foundation foam, you should find a bed lasting at least seven years.

How often should a couple get a new mattress?

While there’s no one-size-fits-all answer, a good rule of thumb is that couples should replace their mattress every six to eight years.

 

 

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.