Best King-Size Mattresses

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Do you want to sleep like a King? The best King-size mattress could make you feel like royalty because it gives you so much extra space to move around! We’ve tested hundreds of beds, and seriously considered around 25 of them when constructing this list. Ultimately, we landed on these 11 as the best King-size mattresses, with something for just about every type of sleeper.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best King-Size Mattress?

Our expert reviewers chose the Saatva as the best king-sized mattress thanks to its quality materials, luxurious and pressure relieving Euro top, and cooling features.

The Best King-Size Mattresses of 2024

Best King-Size Mattress 2024: Video Review

Compare the Best King-Size Mattresses

Saatva Mattress Nectar Mattress WinkBed Mattress DreamCloud Premier Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Titan Plus
Saatva Mattress Nectar Mattress WinkBed Mattress DreamCloud Premier Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Titan Plus
Rating
Firmness Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 8/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 8/10 Firm: 9/10
Material Innerspring Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Stomach Back & Side Combination Back Back & Side Back & Side Back Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach

How We Test King-Size Mattresses

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

Latex mattress testing in our studio
Best King-Size Mattresses

Because mattress size isn’t exactly a scientific category, we considered how much each of these products costs for a king, then compared that to the overall score. To ensure that we only included high-quality mattresses, we stuck with beds that had an overall score of at least 3.5 out of 5, with seven of them scoring a 4 or higher. We also evaluated the mattresses using testers with an array of body types, as our heavier mattress testers tend to prefer a firmer, more supportive mattress, while smaller sleepers prefer softer mattresses. Below, we’ve listed the factors that we weighed most heavily in finalizing our selections for this roundup.

How We Choose the Best King-Size Mattresses

Motion Isolation

King-size mattresses are most often purchased by couples and families. Ensuring your mattress has good motion isolation is crucial to prevent co-sleepers from disturbing each other, especially for those who are restless sleepers.

Responsiveness

Great, you have the luxury of spreading out on a king-size mattress. But what’s the point if you feel stuck in place? King-size mattress lovers might feel more favorable to a bouncy mattress with more give-and-take, so we noted mattresses that feature more of a responsive feel, while also including a mix of bouncy and slower moving models.

Durability

A king-size mattress is a significant investment that you’ll want to last as long as possible. Durable mattresses might come with a higher upfront cost but are less likely to need to be replaced often, saving you money over time.

Saatva – Best King-Size Mattress for Back Pain

Best for Back Pain

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Back Pain

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best for Back Pain

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Excellent fit for all sleeping positions
Feel of a hotel mattress
Numerous models offered
Cons
Not the slow-sinking feel of memory foam
Doesn’t isolate motion very well

Our Expert’s Take

If you’ve visited some of our other best-of lists you may have noticed that the Saatva appears quite often. It’s true: We love this mattress. The two sets of coils, combined with a plush pillow top, deliver that luxury hotel feel that so many people look for. Plus, the Soft, Luxury Firm and Firm options mean that you can select the firmness that best matches your needs. But for the best balance of comfort and support, we recommend the Luxury Firm model.

What the testers say: “The Saatva gives that classic feel that’s expected from a coil mattress with a pillow top. There’s some bounce from the multiple layers of coils, and a soft, plush feel on top. When I lie on the mattress, it feels more like I am sleeping “on” the mattress rather than “in” it.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva

  • You know that feeling you get when you first enter a hotel room and plop down on the freshly made, perfectly supportive yet soft mattress? Well, thanks to the Saatva’s high-quality hybrid construction it delivers a similar combination of comfort and support.
  • Sleepers who toss and turn throughout the night may appreciate how easy it is to move around on the Saatva, thanks to its layer of pocketed coils.
  • Older people who may have trouble getting in and out of bed should find the sturdy edges of the Saatva provide them enough stability when placing their weight along the perimeter.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • Fans of the conforming feeling of memory foam may not appreciate the construction of the Saatva, which doesn’t allow you to sink too far into the mattress surface.
  • Couples who value motion isolation will likely find that their partner’s movements reverberate a bit too much on the Saatva’s surface—check out the Nectar Premier Copper instead.

Other User Reviews

On the Saatva website, the classic Saatva mattress has 2,888 customer reviews with an average score of 4.8 out of 5. Many of these reviews praise the high-quality, comfortable materials used in the Saatva, as well as the excellent customer service. On the flip side, a few customers were disappointed to find their Saatva sagging after just a few years.

Read our full Saatva mattress review for more information. Not sure the Saatva Mattress is for you, check out our list of best mattresses for back pain for other great options.

Nectar – Best Memory Foam Mattress

Best Memory Foam

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390
Best Memory Foam

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Side sleepers should find great pressure relief
Very good at isolating motion
Good edge support
Cons
May be too soft for stomach sleepers
Not responsive enough for combo sleepers
Not enough support for heavyweight sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Unlike the other mattresses on this list, the Nectar is an all-foam, memory foam mattress that really offers that classic memory foam experience. Lying down, you should feel yourself slowly sink into this king-size bed. The memory foam will conform to your body and make you feel oh-so-comfortable. Also, while it is a memory foam mattress, the Nectar shouldn’t sleep too hot! The mattress features a breathable cover and cooling gel infusions that we found helped with heat dissipation.

What the testers say: “When sleeping on the Nectar, I could feel the memory foam layers conforming to the curves of my body. The Nectar is one of the most comfortable memory foam mattresses on the market and should be a good fit for anyone who needs pressure relief and contouring.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar

  • Thanks to the Nectar’s comforting memory foam layers, side sleepers may enjoy the pressure relief needed to keep their hips and shoulders comfortable and ache-free.
  • People who sleep close to the edge of the bed probably won’t have any problem resting on the Nectar’s sturdy perimeter

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • Heavyweight sleepers may need firmer mattresses, as something too soft will likelyallow them to sink uncomfortably far into the mattress. The Nectar, like most memory foam mattresses, is one such mattress that is simply too soft for most heavyweight people. Instead, we recommend Titan Plus Luxe.
  • Like heavyweight sleepers, stomach sleepers usually do better on firmer mattresses. The Nectar simply doesn’t offer the support needed to keep their hips elevated in a comfortable position.

Other User Reviews

Based on a whopping 50,525 reviews on the Nectar website, the Nectar mattress earns an average score of 4.7 out of 5. There are many reviews stating that the bed has helped mitigate aches and pains, particularly in people who are older. That said, there are many comments calling out the poor customer service that Nectar provides, with some users stating that they waited a very long time for their mattresses to be delivered.

Read our full Nectar mattress review for more information. Not sure the Nectar Mattress is for you, check out our Best Memory Foam Mattresses for other great options.

WinkBed – Best King-Size Innerspring Mattress

Best King-Size Innerspring Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

Winkbeds has an innerspring mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best King-Size Innerspring Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

Winkbeds has an innerspring mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
WinkBed
Best King-Size Innerspring Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has an innerspring mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
On our list of best innerspring mattresses
Built for heavier people
Good for hot sleepers
Cons
Not great at isolating motion
Doesn’t provide the ‘hugging’, memory foam feeling that some enjoy

Our Expert’s Take

The WinkBed — especially the King-size — is a luxurious hybrid mattress with a traditional innerspring feel. Among its many notable features are tall, supportive coils, zoning, and a plush pillow-top. It’s also available in multiple firmnesses, so you can select from a Softer, Luxury Firm, Firm, or Plus model. The Luxury Firm is their most popular and we found it might be a great mattress for combination sleepers — comfortable for back sleepers, side sleepers, stomach sleepers, and anyone who switches between all of these positions.

What the testers say: “When I lay on the WinkBed, I got a pleasant balance of comfort and support, especially when sleeping on my back. The zoning in this mattress provides great lumbar support, though I did feel a bit too much pressure while side sleeping on this mattress. If you’re a lightweight or average-weight sleeper though, you might find a bit more pressure relief than I did. Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • Those who switch sleeping positions throughout the night will enjoy the level of responsiveness that the WinkBed provides. In fact, our review refers to it as “a combo sleeper’s dream” because of how easy it is to move around on.
  • The Tencel cover is very breathable, as are the individually wrapped coils that make up the support system of the bed. This means that hot air passes through the mattress rather than becoming trapped, making for a cooler sleep experience.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • Couples likely won’t be too impressed with the WinkBed’s ability to isolate motion. If you’re a light sleeper who is easily disturbed by your partner’s movements, this will especially be a problem for you—instead, check out the Nectar Premier Copper.
  • Shoppers looking for something a bit more plush and conforming might not feel comfortable on the WinkBed, which makes you feel more like you’re sleeping on top of the mattress rather than “in” it.

Other User Reviews

The WinkBed earned a 4.8 out of 5, based on 8,414 customer reviews submitted to the WinkBed website. Much praise is given to the firm yet somehow soft feel of the mattress, as well as the ease-of-movement that the construction provides. Not all is well, though, as some customers found it lacking in pressure relief, resulting in hip and back pain.

Read our full WinkBed mattress review for more information. Not sure the WinkBed is for you, check out our list of best innerspring mattresses for more options.

DreamCloud Premier – Best Pillow-Top King-Size Mattress

Best Pillow-Top King-Size Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that provides a cloud-like feel with its plush pillow top.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Pillow-Top King-Size Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that provides a cloud-like feel with its plush pillow top.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier
Best Pillow-Top King-Size Mattress

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that provides a cloud-like feel with its plush pillow top.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Top foam offers a plush pillowy experience
Comfortable Euro-top that offers pressure relief
Great for heavyweight sleepers
Stays cool at night
Cons
Unimpressive edge support
Too soft for heavier stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

A king-size mattress is a big investment. Odds are, you’ll be sleeping on this mattress for years to come, so you’ll certainly want to prioritize comfort. The DreamCloud Premier has you covered in this department, as its plush pillow top provides luxurious cushioning that helps relieve pressure in sensitive areas of your body. The hybrid construction underneath the pillow top provide ample support, so this mattress really has the best of both worlds—the comfort of a soft foam mattress and the support and durability of an innerspring mattress.

What the testers say: “The DreamCloud Premier mattress is a luxury hybrid that has been helping people sleep in style for years. It offers an excellent balance of comfort and support because of its plush pillow top and supportive coils.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud Premier

  • Back and side sleepers of all shapes and sizes should find that the DreamCloud Premier has the perfect, middle-ground firmness that provides plenty of support but also the cushioning needed to relieve pressure.
  • Couples who prioritize good motion isolation probablywon’t need to worry about disturbing one another on the DreamCloud Premier, as this mattress does a good job of keeping movements from reverberating across the surface.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud Premier

  • People who are older may have difficulty getting in and out of bed and have an easier time when the perimeter of the mattress is sturdy and doesn’t sag under applied pressure. Unfortunately, the DreamCloud Premier doesn’t excel here—check out the WinkBed instead.
  • Heavyweight (over 230 lb) stomach sleepers may want something firmer than the DreamCloud Premier to keep their hips from sinking uncomfortably far into the mattress.

Other User Reviews

Based on 3551 customer reviews on the DreamCloud website, this mattress has an average score of 4.5 out of 5. Like ours, many of these reviews praise the DreamCloud Premier for accommodating many types of heavyweight sleepers. That said, some found it incredibly cumbersome and difficult to set up, which might especially be a problem if you plan to do it alone.

Read our full DreamCloud Premier mattress review for more information. Not sure the DreamCloud Premier mattress is for you, check out our list of the best pillow top mattresses for other great options.

Helix Midnight – Best Hybrid King-Size Mattress

Best King-Size Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best King-Size Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Helix Midnight Mattress
Best King-Size Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Offers a nice balance of comfort and support
May be great for back sleepers and side sleepers
Luxe models available
Cons
Doesn’t provide enough support for most stomach sleepers
Some customers complained about longer shipping times

Our Expert’s Take

Like other Helix mattresses, the Helix Midnight has a high-quality hybrid construction. But, out of the numerous king-size hybrids we’ve tried, Helix has some of our favorites. The brand offers models of various firmnesses and feels so, no matter what position you sleep in, Helix should be able to set you up. Our personal favorite king-size mattress has to be the Helix Midnight, which scored a 4 out of 5 on our durability test—a sign of a sturdy, well-constructed hybrid mattress.

What the testers say: “In my experience, the Helix Midnight offers great comfort and support. When lying on it, I enjoyed a touch of pressure relief without sacrificing spinal alignment.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • Those prone to overheating throughout the night may find the cooling features of the Helix Midnight a welcome facilitator of temperature regulation.
  • The Helix Midnight supports back and side sleepers very well, so much so that it can be a great option for those of you who have back pain. The hybrid build allows your hips and shoulders to sink in enough to get needed pressure relief, but not so much that your spine goes out of alignment. If you’re a stomach sleeper with back pain, however, this mattress might not be firm enough for you.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • Stomach sleepers tend to need firmer mattresses, something that keeps their hips elevated so that their spines remain properly aligned—instead, consider the Helix Dawn.
  • Our heavier mattress testers (over 230 lb) found that the Helix Midnight may have caused some uncomfortable pressure buildup around their hips and shoulders.

Other User Reviews

On the Helix website, the Helix Midnight has 4.5 out of 5 stars from 6,214 customer reviews. Many of these praise the balance between soft and firm as well as the support that the Helix Midnight provides. However, some negative reviews indicate a lack of motion isolation, as well as a saggy mattress perimeter.

Read our full Helix mattress review for more information. Not sure the Helix Midnight is for you, check out our best hybrid mattresses for more great options.

Nolah Evolution Hybrid – Best Luxury King-Size Mattress

Best Luxury King-Size Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury King-Size Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Luxury King-Size Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
A balanced feel and a zoned construction
Good for most back and side sleepers
Isolates motion well
Cons
Not ideal for most stomach sleepers
Quite expensive

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re looking for a king-size mattress that’s fit for a king, check out the Nolah Evolution as an option. You might be wondering how we define luxury when talking about a mattress. Well, most of it comes down to the quality of materials and construction. With a height of 15”, along with sturdy coils and an Edge Support System, this bed could last for at least 10 years while maintaining its structural integrity and support. Also, cooling features like its special heat escape gusset, its graphite-infused cooling foam, and its cooling cover earned the Nolah Evolution a stellar 5 out of 5 on our temperature regulation test.

What the testers say: “When I lie on this mattress, the Euro-top comfort layer cushions my pressure points, while the Eco Support coils provide a good amount of support. Plus, the mattress is firmer in the center, so I feel extra lumbar support.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • Side and back sleepers probably receive sufficient support and comfort from the Luxury Firm version of the Nolah Evolution, thanks to the middle-of-the-road firmness level and impressive hybrid construction which utilizes both high-quality foam and supportive coils.
  • Shoppers who want a mattress with fantastic longevity will appreciate the durability of this mattress. If properly cared for, you can expect the Nolah Evolution to maintain its structural integrity for upwards of ten years.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • Stomach sleepers should look for something that does a better job of keeping their hips elevated. You’ll likely want to look at mattresses on the higher end of the firmness scale. For some great options, check out our list of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers.
  • Budget shoppers may find the Nolah Evolution too pricey—consider the DreamCloud Premier for a more affordable luxury option.

Other User Reviews

Taking a look at customer reviews, on the Nolah website this mattress has an average rating of 4.9 out of 5 based on 810 entries. Customers praise the back pain relief and temperature regulation that the Nolah Evolution provides, however, some find it too tall, making it awkward for them to get into bed. Also, several users complain that it is too firm for their liking.

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress review for more information. Not sure the Nolah Evolution is for you, check out our best luxury mattresses for other great options.

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid – Best Priced King-Size Mattress

Best-Priced King-Size Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best-Priced King-Size Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best-Priced King-Size Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Medium model is great for back sleepers
Breathable for a cool feel
Quite affordable
Cons
Poor motion isolation
Doesn’t have a luxurious feel

Our Expert’s Take

When we say “best priced” we don’t necessarily mean cheapest. Rather, the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid earns a spot on this list because of its great value. The company owns its own factory, so they’re able to cut out the middleman and price their beds lower than competitors. The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid—outfitted with supportive coils and proprietary foams—is the brand’s most popular mattress and is priced at just a little over $1,000 after discounts. You can select from Soft, Medium, and Firm models. Our tester tried the medium model, which he found to be a great fit for back sleeping.

What the testers say: “When lying on the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid, I felt a balance of plushness and support. The mattress comes in three firmness options, and the medium model I tried offered some soft top layers and supportive lower layers.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • The Brooklyn Bedding Signature has multiple firmness options, so no matter your body type or preferred sleeping position you should be able to find one that works for you. We like the soft option for lightweight sleepers, the medium option for average weight back sleepers, and the firm option for heavyweight sleepers and stomach sleepers.
  • With sales, the Brooklyn Signature Hybrid can often be purchased for less than $1,000, which is an outstanding price for such a quality mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • Couples will likely want more motion isolation than is offered by the Brooklyn Bedding Signature. Memory foam mattresses tend to excel in this area.
  • Those looking for the bells and whistles of a luxury mattress might be a little bit underwhelmed by the lack of advanced cooling technology and robust comfort layers. If those things interest you, we suggest the Nolah Evolution Hybrid.

Other User Reviews

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid has 10,148 reviews on the company website for an average score of 4.7 out of 5. Many of the comments actually recommend this as a great option for an RV mattress. Some users find even the softest version of the Brooklyn Signature Hybrid too firm for them.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review for more information. Not sure the Brooklyn Bedding is for you, check out our best value mattresses for other great options.

Emma Hybrid Comfort – Best King-Size Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Best King-Size Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best King-Size Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
emma comfort hybrid us airtable
Best King-Size Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Great for heavy people
Sold at a great value
Bouncy and responsive
Cons
Not great for lightweight people
Not great for classic foam lovers

Our Expert’s Take

Stomach sleepers tend to need firmer mattresses that can support their spines and keep them aligned through the night, which is what makes the Emma Hybrid Comfort the perfect fit. We ranked the Emma Hybrid Comfort at an 8/10 on our firmness scale, likely making it a great fit for sleepers who are looking for extra support. It’s also bouncy and responsive, making shifting around and changing positions easy.

What our testers say: “The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a very supportive mattress that should work for heavy people and stomach sleepers. The kinds of sleepers don’t want to skimp on support, and the Emma Hybrid Comfort has that in the bag.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Like stomach sleepers, heavier sleepers usually need mattresses on the firmer side to help support them as they sleep. This means that the Emma Hybrid Comfort should be a great fit for those kind of sleepers.
  • Heavier combination sleepers should love the fact that the Emma is bouncy and responsive since it’s easy to move around on. Couples should also enjoy the responsiveness.
  • A queen-sized mattress costs just under $1,200, making it a great value mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • While the Emma Hybrid Comfort is probably a great choice for heavier sleepers and stomach sleepers, it’s not the best choice for lightweight sleepers who may feel that the mattress is too firm for their liking.
  • People who love a typical slow-moving foam mattress probably won’t enjoy the bouncy, responsive hybrid feel of this mattress.

Other User Reviews

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is rated 4.7 out of 5 stars based on the 200+ reviews from the Emma website. Customers love the bounciness and how well this mattress works for couples, especially for an affordable price. The negative reviews complain about customer service.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort review. Not sure the Emma Hybrid Comfort is for you, check out our best mattresses for stomach sleepers for other great options.

Bear Elite Hybrid – Best King-Size Mattress for Muscle Recovery

Best King-Size Mattress for Muscle Recovery

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best King-Size Mattress for Muscle Recovery

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best King-Size Mattress for Muscle Recovery

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Easy to move around on
Three firmness options available
Sleeps cool
Cons
Quite pricey
Not good for heavy stomach sleepers
The return and refund process may take a long time

Our Expert’s Take

Bear designs its beds for athletes who may deal with aches and pains, and the secret is Celliant technology. The claim is that this material may assist with blood flow and muscle recovery, and can also keep you cool at night. Their highest-end model is the Bear Elite Hybrid. When stretching out on the king-size Bear Elite Hybrid, our tester experienced a great deal of pressure relief, especially while on their back and side. As for cooling capabilities, they are noticeable—particularly in the hand-quilted cover which, to us, felt cool to the touch.

What the testers say: “Sleeping on the Bear Elite Hybrid, I was impressed by how cooling it was. Its cooling cover contains phase change material, which helps lower body temperature. It also contains a layer of copper-infused memory foam to help dissipate body heat. I could feel these materials getting to work, and they made for a restorative night of sleep.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • For folks who sleep too hot, the Bear Elite’s cooling cover helps to lower body temperature helping you sleep cool at night.
  • Athletes looking for something that could help optimize recovery may find that the Bear Elite Hybrid does just that. While we can’t speak to whether or not the Celliant technology actually helps promote blood flow, we will say that the support and pressure relief we felt on the mattress might help mitigate aches and soreness.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Heavyweight (over 230 lb) stomach sleepers will want a firmer mattress than the Bear Elite Hybrid, as this will help keep their hips from sinking uncomfortably into the mattress. We suggest the Plank Firm.
  • The Bear Elite Hybrid costs over $2,000 for a queen. Shoppers with a strict budget might need to look elsewhere.

Other User Reviews

On the Bear website, the Elite Hybrid has 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 263 reviews. Many users praised the pain relief and cool night’s sleep that the Bear Elite Hybrid provides. A few people, on the other hand, found the middle of the bed too soft, causing an uncomfortable dip in the center of the mattress.

Read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review for more information. Not sure the Bear Elite is for you, Check out our best mattresses for athletes for other great options.

Plank – Best Extra Firm King-Size Mattress

Best Extra Firm Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

plank firm airtable

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Extra Firm Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

plank firm airtable

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
plank firm airtable
Best Extra Firm Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Flippable
One of the firmest mattresses on the market
May be great for heavier people
Cons
Potentially bad for side sleepers
Lacking in motion isolation

Our Expert’s Take

The Plank mattress is an extra firm, flippable mattress, coming in at 8/10 on our firmness scale for the firm side and 9/10 on the extra firm side. It’s designed to create an extremely flat sleeping surface that your body probably won’t sink into at all. Though firmness is subjective, we found the Plank mattress felt very firm, and we’re sure just about everyone will agree.

What the testers say: “The Plank mattress is definitely one of the firmest mattresses I’ve tested, ever. This mattress felt way too firm for side sleeping, but for other sleeping positions, my whole body felt supported.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Plank Firm

  • The Plank is a flippable mattress, which is a great option for folks who aren’t sure which firmness is best for them. Both sides of the Plank are very firm, but the difference between the sides is noticeable.
  • Heavyweight people will likely feel comfortable on the Plank given its high firmness, which will keep them properly supported. Back sleepers will probably do best on the softer side, while the firmer of the two sides will work better for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

What to Keep in Mind About the Plank Firm

  • Side sleepers will almost certainly want something with more cushion for their sensitive pressure points (hips and shoulders). Instead, consider the Helix Midnight.
  • If you find yourself getting uncomfortably hot at night you may want to look for a mattress with more cooling abilities than the Plank Firm.

Other User Reviews

Based on 2,642 reviews from the Plank website, this mattress has an average score of 4.8 out of 5. Many of the customers who were looking for a very firm mattress are clearly pleased with Plank making good on their promise. However, there are a select few who surprisingly claim this mattress simply isn’t firm enough. Of course, this is entirely subjective, but as someone who has tested it, I can honestly say I can’t imagine a firmer mattress.

Read our full Plank mattress review for more information. Not sure the Plank mattress is a good fit for you, check out our best extra firm mattresses for other great options.

Titan Plus – Best King Size Mattress for Heavy People

Best Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
titan featured image
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Great for heavy stomach sleepers
One of the best mattresses for heavy people
Stays cool throughout the night
Cons
Probably not good for side sleepers
Poor motion isolation

Our Expert’s Take

The Titan Plus is a mattress specifically designed for heavier sleepers. It comes in at 9/10 on our firmness scale, making it one of the firmest mattresses on this list. It’s a great option for supporting heavy sleepers who typically sleep on their stomach. Don’t worry, though–it doesn’t feel like sleeping on a concrete slab. It’s a hybrid mattress, so you’ll get an innerspring feel with a slight foam feeling on top.

What the testers say: “Back sleeping on the Titan Plus I felt supported, but some sleepers may feel like this mattress is a bit too supportive since the firm layers don’t allow the hips to sink into the top foam layer. Overall though, this mattress allowed for good spinal support and should be great for heavy people.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus

  • This firm mattress may offer the support that heavyweight sleepers need in order to keep everything exactly where it should be. Many times, softer mattresses allow the hips and shoulders of heavier people to sink deep into the mattress, thereby throwing the spine out of alignment and potentially causing discomfort. With the Titan Plus, this is not an issue.
  • Stomach sleepers, like heavyweight sleepers, tend to appreciate firmer mattresses like the Titan Plus. They too need their hips to stay supported and elevated as they sleep, or they risk waking up with back pain.

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • Side sleepers will likely find the Titan Plus too firm. Unlike stomach sleepers, side sleepers likely want their hips and shoulders to sink into the mattress a bit, as this helps keep pressure from building up in those sensitive areas. Go for a softer mattress like Helix Midnight instead
  • Couples might want something that isolates motion more effectively so they don’t disturb each other while changing sleeping positions or getting in and out of bed.

Other User Reviews

The Titan Plus has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5, based on 2,433 customer reviews from the Titan website. Many rave about the high-quality firm construction that’s great for heavyweight sleepers. Unsurprisingly, some users complain that the Titan Plus is too firm and very difficult to get comfortable on.

Read our full Titan Plus mattress review for more information. Not sure the Titan Plus is for you, check out our best mattresses for heavy people for other great options.

Other King-Sized Mattresses We Like

While these mattresses didn’t make our list of top 12, they are a great option for people looking for a king-sized mattress. Check out our featured recommendations below.

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
One of the best mattresses for lower back pain and sciatica
One of the best pillow-top mattresses
A good value latex mattress
Cons
May feel too firm for some
Lacks a slow-moving feel
Doesn’t let you sink in much

How to Choose a King-Size Mattress

A man sits near the edge of the Bear Star Hybrid
Testing for edge performance in our sleep lab

Alright, so you’ve decided that a king-size mattress is right for you. You’ve ruled out a queen-size bed. (If you haven’t, read on below!) You’ve determined which type of mattress and which mattress materials best suits your needs. (More on that below, too!) But before you make a purchase, there are still a few more elements to consider. Here are some important factors to think about as you choose the best king-size mattress for you.

Sleeping Position

If you’re a back sleeper, a blend of pressure relief and spinal support is usually best (think medium-firm). Side sleepers often require softer, more pressure-relieving beds; stomach sleepers may require extra-supportive beds; and combination sleepers may need a mattress that helps them feel comfortable and supported in multiple positions.

Body Type

Your body weight and height can have a big influence on the type of mattress that best suits your needs. For instance, tall people might prefer the extra length of a California king, heavyweight people will probably require a more supportive king mattress in the form of an innerspring or hybrid, and so on.

Temperature Regulation

If you tend to sleep hot, make sure to prioritize a mattress that sleeps cool. As a general rule, all-foam beds sleep hotter than innerspring, latex and hybrid mattresses. Some mattresses include design features for the express purpose of sleeping cool, while others don’t. Learn more in our roundup of the best cooling mattresses.

Firmness and Pressure Relief

If you’re thinking about your preferred sleeping position(s) and body type, this might prompt you to think about the appropriate firmness and the level of pressure relief that you need from a mattress. As noted above, back sleepers tend to require medium-firm mattresses. Side sleepers, on the other hand, usually feel best on pressure-relieving, softer mattresses. Stomach sleepers generally need firmer mattresses.

Budget Considerations

This is an important factor to consider no matter which size mattress you’re buying. Know your budget before you start shopping so you don’t find the mattress of your dreams only to discover that it’s beyond your price point. Many mattresses list their prices based on smaller sizes first, so make sure you select “king” when you’re shopping.

Motion Isolation

You may want to consider motion isolation if you sleep with a partner. If your partner has ever moved around on their side of the mattress, and this disturbed you on your side, you have experienced motion transfer. This can make it difficult to stay asleep if your partner shifts positions and gets out of bed during the night. Usually, mattresses with thick memory foam are great at isolating motion, but some coil mattresses work as well.

Edge Support

If you do share your mattress with a sleeping partner, then edge support is likely also important. Strong edge support enables you both to utilize the full surface of the mattress, so you can enjoy all the extra space that you’re paying for with a king-size bed. As a general rule, innerspring, latex and hybrid mattresses tend to offer stronger edge support than all-foam beds.

Durability

Since king-size mattresses are usually a big financial investment, most people want to ensure they will last a long time. This is why it’s important to look for a mattress that’s made with high-quality, long-lasting materials, such as sturdy coils, durable latex and/or high-density foams. See our best mattresses that won’t sag for some durable options.

Bedroom Size

Last but definitely not least, make sure you measure your bedroom. You’ll want to make sure that a king mattress (76″ x 80″) will fit comfortably in your space. Make sure you consider the other furniture if your room that will have to fit around your bed. The last thing you want is to invest in a king mattress only to find that it doesn’t work for the space you have.

Pros and Cons of a King-Size Mattress

There are upsides, and there are downsides to buying a king-size mattress. We’ve got all the major pros and cons of king-size mattresses right here.

Pros of a King-Size Mattress

  • They offer loads of space. This won’t come as a surprise: King-size mattresses are big. A standard king-size mattress measures 76″ x 80″, or approximately 6.3 by 6.6 feet. This means there’s tons of room for sleepers to stretch out and get comfy in every sleeping position.
  • There’s room for larger people. Taller and/or heavier people sometimes feel cramped on smaller mattresses. A king-size bed should provide more room for them to sleep comfortably.couple sleeping happily in bed
  • There’s room for couples. If you share your bed with a partner, a king offers more space for both of you to stretch out and find the sleep position that feels most comfortable—without kicking, pushing, pulling away blankets or otherwise disturbing each other. See our best mattresses for couples for some great options.
  • Motion isolation. More great news for couples—because there’s more room on a king-size mattress, you’re less likely to feel your partner’s movement on the other side of the bed. Pro tip: In terms of material, king-size memory foam mattresses tend to be the best at isolating motion.
  • There’s room for the whole family. If you have kids or pets who like to climb into bed with you, then a king-size mattress can accommodate more people much more comfortably than a smaller bed.
  • They create spatial balance. If you have a large bedroom, a king-size mattress can help fill the space so the room feels more balanced. In contrast, placing a small bed in an enormous room can make the room feel imbalanced and sparse.
  • They create a grand look. Many people love the grand look of a king-size mattress and choose a larger bed for aesthetic reasons.

Cons of a King-Size Mattress

  • They take up a lot of space. While size is one of the primary benefits of a king-size mattress, it can also be a disadvantage if you have a small bedroom. A king bed can overtake the space—or it may not fit at all.
  • They’re hard to move. Because king-size beds are so large, they’re also extra heavy. This means it can be difficult to transport them to your home and between rooms.
  • They’re costly. No matter the mattress brand, kings are more costly than smaller sizes. For some people, buying a king-size bed could stretch their budget or be out of reach financially.
  • They may not look good in certain spaces. Cramming a king-size mattress into a space that’s too small to adequately accommodate it can throw off the visual balance of a room and make it feel more cramped. This is purely a matter of design preferences, of course, but it’s something to consider.

Different Types of King-Size Mattresses

When people picture a king-size bed, they typically imagine a…big bed. But there are actually several varieties under the “king mattress” umbrella. Here’s a quick overview of the different types of king mattresses.

SizeDimensions
King76″ x 80″
California King72″ x 84″
Eastern King76″ x 80″
Split KingTwo 38″ x 80″ pieces
Split California KingTwo 36″ x 84″ pieces
Alaskan King108″ x 108″
Wyoming King84″ x 84″
Texas King80″ x 98″

Mattress Size Types Explained

King Size Mattress

In the mattress world, this term refers to a standard king-size mattress, which gives sleepers an extra 16″ of width compared to a queen-size bed. It measures 76″ wide by 80″ long. That’s the same width and length that you’d get if you pushed two twin XL mattresses together

California King

A California king is even longer than a standard king. It’s also a little narrower. It clocks in at 72″ wide and 84″ long. The extra length means California king mattresses are especially well-suited to tall people.

 

Eastern King Mattress

This term is used interchangeably with “king mattress.” It refers to a mattress that’s the same size as a standard king, or 76″ x 80″.

Split King Mattress

As the name suggests, a split king is a mattress that’s divided into two pieces. Each piece is approximately the size of a twin xl mattress. Many couples enjoy sleeping on a split king because they’re able to customize each side to their personal preferences. Split king mattresses are sometimes referred to as dual king beds. Split Kings can also be found in Split California King- Size which like it’s counterpart California king, there is an extra length of 72” x 84”.

 

Alaskan King

Now we’re getting into the oversized mattresses, and the Alaskan king is the biggest of them all, measuring a staggering 108″ x 108″. While that’s more space than most folks need, it can be a dream for especially large people and couples who co-sleep with two children. The only downside is that you’ll need a sizable bedroom that measures at least 16 x 16 feet.

Wyoming King

A more realistic option for those who still want an oversized bed is the Wyoming king, which is as long as a California King, but much wider. Its dimensions are 84″ x 84″, to be exact. Parents who co-sleep with one child might want to check it out.

Texas King

Finally, we have the Texas king, an oversized mattress measuring 80″ x 98″. Though shorter than the Alaskan king, it’s still long enough to accommodate families who share the bed with up to two children, depending on everyone’s size.

King Size Mattress vs Other Size Mattresses

There are, of course, many other sizes of mattresses besides kings and queens. If you’re considering another size mattress, see how it stacks up against a king.

King Size Mattress vs Full Mattress

Full-size mattresses are significantly smaller than king size mattresses. Their standard dimensions are 54″ wide by 75″ long, while king-size mattresses are 76″ x 80″ long. You get less surface area on full-size mattresses, so they are a better fit for smaller, single sleepers. Full size mattresses can fit smaller couples, but they are typically not ideal for two people. Couples usually will fare much better on king-size mattresses.

Full-size mattresses take up less space than king-size mattresses, so they are better if you sleep in a smaller room. Whether you are in a smaller studio apartment or bedroom, a full-size will fit more easily.

And, full-size mattresses generally cost less than king-size mattresses. If either mattress would work for your bedroom and sleeping style, you will likely save money by opting for a full-size mattress.

King Size Mattress vs Twin Mattress

King mattresses are some of the biggest on the market, and twin mattresses are some of the smallest. Twin mattresses are usually 38″ wide by 75″ long. They are basically half of the width of a king mattress!

While they are smaller, twin mattresses can be a great fit for children and teenagers who might not need as much space. They are also a good match for guest rooms and bedrooms with very little space.

If you sleep with a partner or are a larger person, you will most likely need to opt for a king mattress. A king will give you twice as much width and more length as well. But, remember that you will very likely be paying more. 

How to Decide Between a King vs Queen Mattress

If you’re considering a king-size mattress, then odds are good that you’ve also taken a gander at queen-size beds. Many people find themselves trying to decide between these two sizes. Here are some factors that can help influence your decision when considering a king vs queen-size mattress.

CriteriaKing-Size MattressQueen-Size Mattress
Dimensions76″ x 80″60″ x 80″
Price$900 – $2,300 $800 – $1,700
Choose If…
  • You have a larger room to fill
  • You want extra space (especially when sleeping with a partner)
  • You want to make a grand impression
  • You want to save some money
  • You sleep alone
  • You and your partner fit comfortably in a Queen and do not need additional space

Factors to Consider for a King vs Queen Size Mattress

  • Bedroom size: This is one of the quickest ways to determine whether a king or queen-size mattress might be right for you. When you take measurements, don’t just think about the mattress. It’s also important to consider how much room you’ll have for a bed frame, side tables, dog beds, dressers, general floor space and so on. If you or your partner use a wheelchair or other mobility device, make sure there’s plenty of room to maneuver.
  • Sleeping situation: If you share a bed with a partner, pet and/or child, it could be a good idea to upgrade from a queen-size mattress to a king. If you sleep alone, then you might find ample space on a Queen.
  • Body type: Taller and/or larger people often prefer having a more spacious mattress in the form of a king-size bed. The same goes for couples where both partners are on the taller and/or larger side.
  • Design preferences: Finally, it’s helpful to consider your aesthetic preferences. Do you like the grand impression made by a king-size bed? Do you prefer your bed to take up less space in the bedroom? Do you have your eye on a specific bed frame that’s only available in one size? The answers to these and other design questions will inform your decision between a king and queen mattress.

RELATED: King vs Queen Mattress

queen vs. king-size mattress comparison graphic

Summary

MattressBest forPrice
SaatvaBest King-Size Mattress for Back Pain$2595.00
NectarBest King-Size Memory Foam Mattress$1399.00
WinkBedBest King-Size Innerspring Mattress$1999.00
DreamCloud PremierBest Pillow Top King-Size Mattress$2169.00
Helix MidnightBest Hybrid King-Size Mattress$1748.80
Nolah Evolution HybridBest Luxury King-Size Mattress$2699.00
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Priced King-Size Mattress$1599.00
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest King-Size Mattress for Stomach Sleepers$1489.00
Bear Elite HybridBest King-Size Mattress for Muscle Recovery$2762.00
PlankBest Extra-Firm King-Size Mattress$1532.00
Titan PlusBest King-Size Mattress for Heavy People$1499.00

Best King-Size Mattress FAQs

What is the best king-size mattress?

There is no one best king-size mattress out there, but there are a few we would recommend. Fans of memory foam should like the Nectar, and innerspring lovers should like the WinkBed.

Remember, a mattress is rarely one-size-fits-all. We suggest you do a good amount of research before investing in what could end up being your sleeping surface for the next decade.

How big is a king-size mattress?

A standard king-size mattress is 76″ x 80″. For reference, a twin mattress is 38″ x 75″. So imagine two twin mattresses pushed together with an extra 5″ of length and you’ve got yourself a king-size mattress.

What should a good king-size mattress cost?

A good king-size mattress should cost between $1,500 and $3,000. However, it should be mentioned that your idea of ‘good’ might be different than someone else’s. It’s possible that a king mattress on the low end of that price spectrum simply doesn’t provide you with the level of comfort and support you need. On the other hand, you might find the bells and whistles that a $3,000 mattress offers to be frivolous. Do plenty of research before deciding which camp you land in.

Who should get a king-size mattress?
  • People with larger bedrooms
  • People who share a bed with a partner, child or pet
  • Tall and/or large people
  • People for whom budget is no issue
Is a king mattress better than a California king?

It depends on your preferences and needs. A king mattress is 76″ x 80″ while a California king is 72″ x 84″—basically, a king is wider while a Cal king is longer. So, tall people who need extra room towards the bottom of the mattress might want to consider a Cal king, while people who enjoy extra room on the sides will likely prefer a king. For more info, check out our article on king vs California king mattresses.

Who should get a queen-size mattress?
  • People with smaller bedrooms
  • People who sleep alone
  • Petite people
  • People who are looking to save some money

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.