Titan Plus Luxe Mattress Review

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan mattress is designed with heavyweight sleepers in mind and comes in two versions: the Titan Plus and the Titan Plus Luxe. The Titan Plus Luxe is the softer of the two, and offers  plenty of lumbar support for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

An image of a man sleeping on his back while resting on top of the Titan Plus Luxe

At 6’7″ tall, I’m a heavyweight person. I personally tested this mattress in order to determine whether it will meet all of my sleep needs. Is this the supportive-yet-comfortable bed of your dreams? Read my unbiased Titan Plus Luxe review to find out.

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

Titan Luxe Hybrid Mattress Review

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$899 - $1998

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

Titan Luxe Hybrid Mattress Review

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$899 - $1998

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Titan Luxe Hybrid Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$899 - $1998

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

I Recommend the Titan Plus Luxe for…

  • Heavyweight individuals. We classify the “heavyweight” category as people over 230 lbs. This bed has sturdy coils, which were specifically designed to handle heavier weights.
  • Back sleepers. This bed has supportive coils and a soft comfort layer that supports back sleepers without making them feel like they will “bottom out” of the mattress.
  • Hot sleepers. This bed has a number of cooling features, and during my tests, I found that they really do help the mattress stay cool.
An image of a man on top of the Titan Plus Luxe mattress, resting on his back.

I Don’t Recommend the Titan Plus Luxe for…

  • Lightweight sleepers. As mentioned, this bed is designed for heavier weights, so lightweight sleepers might find this bed to be too firm.
  • Stomach sleepers. This bed has a medium-firm feel. While it has sturdy coils to support heavier weights, the top comfort layer might be too soft to keep hips supported.
  • Fans of all-foam mattresses. This is a hybrid mattress that combines both memory foam and coils. Because of that, it feels bouncy, and it will make you feel like you’re sleeping more “on top” of this mattress rather than “inside it.”
An image of a man sleeping on his stomach while on top of the Titan Plus Luxe mattress

How Firm is the Titan Plus Luxe Mattress?

After my tests, I rated the Titan Plus Luxe a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale, which is also the industry-standard for medium-firm mattresses. The scale we use goes from 1 to 10, with one being the softest, and 10 being the firmness. The mattress layers body-contouring foam over supportive coils, which creates a balance of comfort and support — this is exactly what medium-firm mattresses are known for.

Titan Plus Luxe Mattress Test Performance: My Overall Score

I ran a number of tests on the Titan Plus Luxe mattress. Below is a chart that shows each category and my scores. Overall, this is a fairly high scoring mattress, earning high marks in support and cooling, as well as a perfect 5/5 for its trial period.

Scroll over each category to get a brief definition of what each means. And keep reading for my full breakdown.

Poor
Average
Excellent

1
2
3
4
5
4.25
Overall Score
4.5
Support
4
Edge Support
4.5
Cooling
4
Motion Transfer
4
Response
4
Durability
5
Trial Period
4
Warranty

Titan Plus Luxe Mattress: Performance

Support: 4.5/5

My support test involves me trying out the mattress in each sleeping position: back, side, and stomach. I enjoyed a pleasant balance of comfort and support while back sleeping on the Titan Plus Luxe. The foam comfort layers provided a touch of body contouring, while the sturdy coils offered lumbar support.

I felt plenty of pressure relief while side sleeping. Most heavyweight side sleepers should find adequate comfort in this position.

In my experience, the Titan Plus Luxe is a touch too soft for stomach sleeping. (That’s especially true for heavyweight sleepers.) My hips sank a bit too far into the mattress, which pulled my spine out of alignment. Despite how it feels for stomach sleeping, I gave it a high support score because it feels great while back and side sleeping.

Edge Support: 4/5

Edge support is an important thing to consider, especially for couples. Essentially, edge support refers to how secure  you’ll feel while sitting or resting along the edge of the mattress.  A mattress with good edge support allows for both people to utilize the full  surface area of the bed.

To really put this category to the test, I pulled out my tape measure. I sank about 5.5” when I sat along the side of the bed, but keep in mind that I’m a bigger guy, so even with this much sinkage, I still felt secure. People lighter than me will experience less sinkage.

A man sits on the edge of the Titan Plus Luxe. He has a tape measure to show how much the edge of the mattress is dipping.

Cooling: 4.5/5

While you can opt for a specialized cooling cover, my Titan Plus Luxe had the standard cover. 

I used my temperature gun on the Titan Plus Luxe after it had a chance to reach room temperature, which was around 71 F. After I was on the bed for five minutes, I got up and tested the surface. My temperature gun read 76.6 F. The temperature only increased by a little over 5 F, which is very good. 

Helix Plus Luxe cooling

I didn’t feel hot or stuffy on this mattress  in the slightest, but if you’re a particularly hot sleeper, you may want to opt for the cooling cover.

Motion Transfer: 4/5

Motion transfer is important for couples to consider, especially if one person is a light sleeper. I test for motion transfer two different ways: a test with my colleague moving around in the bed and a water glass test.

The first test is the true to life test. I  on one side of the bed, and my co-worker got in on the other side and started moving around to mimic a partner changing positions or getting in and out of bed during the night. Because of the thick comfort layers, I didn’t really notice a lot of movement transfer over to my side of the bed. There might have been a slight bounce here and there, but that’s naturally going to happen because of the coils.

An image of a glass of water on top of the Titan Plus Luxe, with a man pressing into the mattress around the glass.

The water glass test is more of a visual test. I placed a glass of water in the middle of the bed and pressed into the top of the bed around it. There wasn’t too much disturbance in the water, so overall, I rated motion transfer fairly high.

Response: 4/5

Higher response scores mean the bed is easier to move around on. Because the Titan Plus Luxe is a hybrid mattress, which uses coils, this bed is naturally going to be easier to move around on than an all-foam bed. However, it didn’t get a perfect 5/5 because the top comfort layers are nice and cushioning.

Durability: 4/5

I only tested this mattress for a few weeks, so to assess durability, I paid close attention to its overall construction. The Titan Plus Luxe has high-density foams and sturdy coils, so it shouldn’t sag as time goes on. I can see this mattress lasting the length of its 10-year warranty, especially with good care. Because of this, I rated durability pretty high.

Titan Plus Luxe Company Policies Scores

Trial Period: 5/5

The Titan Plus Luxe has a 120-night sleep trial period. The industry standard is about 100 nights, so I gave it a perfect score here. Having a full four months to test out your mattress is plenty of time to decide if this mattress is right for you.

It’s worth noting that Brooklyn Bedding will not accept returns before 30 days have passed from the delivery date. That’s because it often takes a few weeks for your body to adjust to a new mattress, and Brooklyn Bedding wants to ensure you give the bed a fair chance.

When it comes to returns, Brooklyn Bedding charges a $99 return fee. It’s worth noting that shipping charges are non-refundable for orders to Hawaii, Alaska, and Canada.

Warranty: 4/5

The Titan Plus Luxe comes with a 10-year warranty. This is the industry standard for warranties, but is still a substantial amount of time, which is why I rated it a 4/5. This warranty covers:

  • Defects or deterioration in the cell structure of the foam
  • Defects that result in splitting or cracking of the materials despite normal wear and tear
  • Impressions in the top comfort layer greater than 1.5” deep
  • Sagging, especially if you’ve placed the mattress on a proper, supportive boxspring, base, or frame

Titan Plus Luxe Mattress – Other Factors to Consider

I’ve covered the initial considerations people have about mattresses, but let’s take a look at some other key factors you should keep in mind.

Two-Hour Nap Test

My testing process isn’t complete without a full-on nap test. I tend to switch between my back and my side while I sleep. And the Titan Plus Luxe is great for both of those positions, so I was already off to a great start. I really like how the foam immediately contours to my body, offering a great amount of comfort. But because of those coils, I felt very well supported.

An image of a man sleeping on his side while on top of the Titan Plus Luxe mattress

When I did eventually switch over to my side, I was able to do so easily. Yes, I do sink into that top layer of foam a little, but it’s not enough for me to feel stuck in it.This is important to point out because if you’re a combination sleeper like myself, you know that being able to move around easily is key.

I tend to run hot, too. After a full two hours on this bed, I woke up at a comfortable temperature. The gel-infusion in the memory foam comfort layer really did work for me. Plus, hybrid mattresses are always going to be better at cooling because air can flow through the coils at the bottom, too.

Off-Gassing

The Titan Plus Luxe is a bed-in-a-box mattress. Once you remove the packaging, the bed will expand and have a slight chemical smell.  But I left the Titan Plus Luxe in a well ventilated area and the smell  went away after about 48 hours.

Noise

During my tests, I didn’t notice any noise coming from the Titan Plus Luxe. However, my Titan Plus Luxe was brand new. After some amount of time, the coils in the support layer might begin to squeak.

Sex

The best mattress for sex makes it easy for partners to change positions without feeling stuck in the bed. Because the Titan Plus Luxe is bouncy and responsive, it should be a great match for couples.

Mattress Height

The Titan Plus Luxe mattress is 13” tall. This puts it just a little bit taller than the average mattress height, which ranges from about 10”-12” tall.

Sleeping Position and Weight

As I’ve said, this bed is designed for heavier bodies. Heavyweight back and side sleepers will find a good amount of comfort and support on the Titan Plus Luxe. It’s not ideal for stomach sleepers because it’s just too soft.

Average-weight sleepers (anyone between 130 and 230 lbs) should also find good comfort and support for back sleeping. Though this is a medium-firm mattress, the top comfort layer might feel a little firmer depending on where you fall in this range.

Those on the heavier end should feel supported, but those on the lighter end might think the bed  is too firm. The same could be said for stomach sleepers, but the opposite: Lighter stomach sleepers may find the support they need, while heavier stomach sleepers might feel some pain along their lower backs.

The Titan Plus Luxe has a medium-firm feel, but lightweight back and side sleepers will likely find this bed to be too firm. Lightweight stomach sleepers, however, might find the support they need to keep their hips elevated.

Sleeper WeightBack SleepersSide SleepersStomach Sleepers
Lightweight (under 130 lbs)FairPoorExcellent
Average (130 – 230 lbs)GoodFairGood
Heavyweight (Over 230 lbs)ExcellentExcellentFair

Heavyweight Tester 6’7”, 270 lbs

“I’m the target audience for the Titan Plus Luxe, and I have to say, it worked really well for me. I particularly loved it for back and side sleeping. It was able to provide enough body contouring and comfort for back sleeping, and I felt some good pressure relief on my side. It’s a bit too soft for me on my stomach, however.” – Marten

Average weight Tester 5’3”, 150 lbs

“After testing the Titan Plus Luxe in all three sleeping positions, I felt most comfortable on my back. The comfort layer felt really nice and plush. I began to feel some pressure build up on my side, however. I felt OK on my stomach, but I’d still recommend getting a firmer mattress for this position.” – Elisa

Titan Plus Luxe Mattress Construction

Let’s take a look at the high-quality materials that go into the Titan Plus Luxe mattress.

Cover

The Titan Plus Luxe features a soft cover that’s quilted with 1” of gel memory foam. This material offers pressure relief, and it helps pull heat away from the body. 

A close up image of the cover of the Titan Plus Luxe mattress

You can also opt to add the GlacioTex™ cooling cover. This comes at an additional cost, but it’s designed to be cool to the touch and helps dissipate body heat. For my review, I tested the standard cover.

Comfort Layers

The primary comfort layer consists of 2” of proprietary TitanFlex™ Foam, a medium-firm foam that’s designed to provide comfort and body contouring, while still being easy to move around on.

Underneath this layer of foam, there’s a foam transition layer. This layer is 1” thick and adds another layer of responsiveness to the top of this mattress. This layer should help prevent you from bottoming out of the comfort layer, so you shouldn’t feel those coils underneath.

Support Layers

The Titan Plus Luxe’s support layer is made from 8” of individually-wrapped and extra-supportive coils. Underneath the coils, there’s a high-density foam base that provides structure and support for the mattress overall. 

A close up image of the edge of the Titan Plus Luxe mattress.

How to Try and Buy the Titan Plus Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding is an online bed-in-a-box mattress retailer. This means there aren’t many physical stores you can visit to test out the mattress. However, once it arrives on your doorstep, you do have 120 nights to test it out in your home.

Sizes and Prices of the Titan Plus Luxe Mattress

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin38" x 75"$899.00
Twin XL38" x 80"$974.00
Full53" x 75"$1274.00
Queen60" x 80"$1599.00
King76" x 80"$1799.00
California King72" x 84"$1799.00
Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe
Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Use code SUMMER25 and save 25% off sitewide

Clarity Score
4.3 / 5.0

How the Titan Plus Luxe Compares

Brooklyn Bedding makes a number of mattresses, and there are several beds out there that are designed to support bigger bodies. If you’re not certain the Titan Plus Luxe is for you, let’s take some time to do a little comparison shopping.

Product
Firmness
Score
titan luxe hybrid featured image
Product
Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.3 / 5
brooklyn bedding signature featured image
Product
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress
Firmness
Multiple firmness options
Score
4.0 / 5
Big Fig
Product
Big Fig Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 8/10
Score
4.6 / 5
DSC04386 Edit
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.1 / 5

Titan Plus Luxe vs Brooklyn Bedding Signature

Both the Titan Plus Luxe and the Brooklyn Signature are hybrid mattresses from Brooklyn Bedding with similar constructions and materials. However, there’s one big difference: The coils in the Titan Plus Luxe are more supportive, because this bed is expressly designed for heavyweight sleepers.

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature comes in three firmness options: Soft, Medium and Firm. I ranked the medium model a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale. The Titan Plus Luxe only comes in one firmness option, which I also ranked a 6.5/10.

Brooklyn Bedding Signature - Back Sleeping

Because they have similar constructions, it might not be surprising that they both boast a bouncy and responsive feel. That said, the Titan Plus Luxe has a slightly more slow-moving feel on top thanks to its cover, which is quilted with memory foam.

Finally, these beds differ when it comes to price. The Brooklyn Signature Hybrid starts around $1332.00 for a queen size, while the Titan Plus Luxe costs more with a starting price of $1599.00 for the same size.

Be sure to read the Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress review for more info. 

Titan Plus Luxe vs Big Fig

When it comes to their constructions, the Titan Plus Luxe and Big Fig mattresses are fairly similar. Both are hybrid mattresses that incorporate durable coils and high-density foams, and both of them are constructed with heavyweight sleepers in mind.

In spite of the similarities in their constructions, these beds differ when it comes to firmness. I ranked the Big Fig an 8/10, which is much firmer than average. (This makes sense when you consider that the Big Fig can support over 1,000 lbs) In contrast, the Titan Plus Luxe is much softer at around 6.5/10, or medium-firm.

A man sits near the edge of the Big Fig mattress

These beds also feel quite different. The Titan Plus Luxe’s memory foam-quilted cover gives the mattress a slow-moving feel. In contrast, the Big Fig is much bouncier and even more responsive.

When it comes to price, the Titan Plus Luxe is the cheaper of the two mattresses: It starts at $1599.00 for a queen size, while the same size Big Fig starts at $1899.00.

Read more about this mattress in our Big Fig mattress review.

Titan Plus Luxe vs Purple 

The Purple Mattress is a mattress that uses its gel flex grid on top of a foam support layer, unlike the Titan Plus Luxe, which is a hybrid mattress with coils. Purple uses its proprietary gel flex grid right on top instead of memory foam like the Titan Plus Luxe.

Both mattresses are medium-firm, but the Purple feels a bit more springy and responsive than the Titan Plus Luxe. The gel flex grid, naturally, doesn’t have that soft, plush, slow-moving memory foam feel. However, it should still work well for heavyweight side sleepers who are looking for some pressure relief.

a man sleeps on his side on the Purple Original mattress

Both mattresses work well for hot sleepers, but the Purple has a little bit of an edge over the Titan Plus Luxe. The gel grid has an open structure and allows for better airflow over the gel-infused memory foam in the Titan Plus Luxe. 

Both mattresses are around the same price, though the Purple is slightly less than the Titan Plus Luxe. For a queen-size mattress, the Titan Plus Luxe (at full price) is around $1599.00, while the Purple (at full price) is $1499.00.

Titan Plus Luxe Mattress FAQs

Is the Titan Plus Luxe a good mattress?

Yes, the Titan Plus Luxe is a supportive and durable mattress that’s made with high-quality materials. That said, this bed is a better fit for some types of sleepers than others (just like any mattress).

How long will the Titan Plus Luxe last?

The Titan Plus Luxe is a durable mattress that should last at least 10 years.

Can you flip a Titan Plus Luxe?

No, you cannot flip the Titan Plus Luxe mattress. Doing so would result in sleeping on the firmer support layers as opposed to the pressure-relieving comfort layers.

Titan Plus Luxe Mattress Video Review

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.