Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

It can be difficult to find the best mattress for combination sleepers, as they typically switch between several different sleeping positions throughout the night. For example, the firmness level that works for a side sleeper may not be the best match for stomach sleeping. That’s why we’ve put together a list of beds that could be a great fit for folks who sleep on their back, side, and stomach — sometimes all in a single night. Not just that, but we also put each mattress to the test when it comes to responsiveness — in other words, how easy they are to move around on. Of the hundreds of mattresses we’ve had throughout the years, these ten impress us the most when it comes to combination sleeping.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers?

Our expert reviewers chose the Nectar Hybrid as the best mattress for combination sleepers due to its balance of comfort and support for all sleeping positions and for its good value.

The Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers

Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers: Video Recap

Compare the Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers

Nectar Hybrid Mattress Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Saatva Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Helix Dawn Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Nectar Hybrid Mattress Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Saatva Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Helix Dawn Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 8/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Hybrid Hybrid Innerspring Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back Combination Back & Stomach Combination Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back Back & Stomach

How We Chose the Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

Mattress testing photos from the studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

To choose the Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers, we also took responsiveness into account. Because combination sleepers switch their sleeping position throughout the night, they need a bed that’s easy to move around on. Some of these mattresses are all-foam while others are hybrid, but you’re not likely to feel “stuck” in any of them.

Best Overall – Nectar Hybrid

Best Overall

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed

The Nectar Hybrid is a plush hybrid mattress with some nice responsiveness and cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Overall

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed

The Nectar Hybrid is a plush hybrid mattress with some nice responsiveness and cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed
Best Overall

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

The Nectar Hybrid is a plush hybrid mattress with some nice responsiveness and cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
Great balance of comfort and support
Easy to move around
Budget-friendly
Cons
Not great for stomach sleepers
May be too soft for some

Our Expert’s Take

Combination sleepers need a mattress that is easy to move around on, and not make you feel like you’re trapped in one position for the whole night. Nectar’s classic hybrid mattress combines pressure relieving foam and coils that back and side sleepers can enjoy. Better yet, you won’t feel like you’re trapped and can move very easily on top of this mattress. You have 365 nights to figure out if this is the mattress that’s right for you, too!

What the testers say: The Nectar Hybrid felt really easy to move around on and gave a nice balance of comfort and support. Some of the best benefits I felt when laying on it were the cooling benefits. There was a nice amount of airflow, and the foam didn’t trap a lot of heat.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Hybrid

  • The Nectar Hybrid is an exceptional choice for all lightweight sleepers (under 130 lb), regardless of preferred sleeping position. Whether you’re on your back, side, or stomach, smaller people will find the memory-foam comfort layers of the mattress provide the right amount of cushion and support. 
  • The Nectar Hybrid has a (no surprise) hybrid construction consisting of foam layers and a support layer of individually-wrapped coils. This type of build lends itself to great support and durability, but it also helps with temperature regulation. This mattress earned an impressive 4.5 out of 5 on our cooling test. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Hybrid

  • During our motion transfer test — in which one mattress tester lies on one side of the bed while another moves around on the other side. Our resting tester was able to feel a good deal of disturbance while their testing partner flopped around. This can be a problem for couples, especially those composed of light sleepers. If this is an issue for you, consider the Bear mattress instead. 

Other user reviews

The Nectar Hybrid has an average rating of 4.5 out of 5 based on 2,240 reviews from the company website. Quite a few 5-star reviews comment on the bounciness of the mattress, with one customer calling it, “almost wavelike”. Unhappy customers complain about the support of the mattress surface, with one complaining that the center sags and another saying that the edges sag as well.

Read our full Nectar Classic Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nectar mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses 2024 for more great options! 

Best Customizable Mattress for Combination Sleepers – Helix Midnight Luxe

Best Customizable Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model, although combo sleepers can also take a sleep quiz for more customized recommendations.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Customizable Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model, although combo sleepers can also take a sleep quiz for more customized recommendations.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994
Best Customizable Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model, although combo sleepers can also take a sleep quiz for more customized recommendations.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
It’s a cooling mattress
Less-luxe alternative available for budget shoppers
Easy to move on
Cons
Not great for stomach sleepers
Not great for heavier side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

With Helix, you have two options: you can choose from one of their many mattress models, or you can take a sleep quiz. If you take their quiz and say that you’re a combination sleeper, the brand might recommend the Helix Midnight Luxe, the luxury pillow top upgrade of their most popular model, the Helix Midnight. The Midnight Luxe offers a great balance of comfort and support, and should be a good match for all three sleeping positions.

What the testers say: “I tend to alternate between my back and both side while I sleep, so for combination sleepers like myself, the Helix Midnight Luxe is a nice fit. The Euro-top cushions my body, and I felt the classic memory foam feel and sank into the top layers while I slept on it.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • The Helix Midnight earned a staggering 4.5/5 or higher on all of our seven performance tests. This means it’s a great, well-rounded mattress that doesn’t sacrifice quality in any area. 
  • This mattress has a medium-firm feel that works very well for back sleepers. It’s firm enough to keep heavyweight back sleepers’ hips and shoulders properly supported, but soft enough for lightweight back sleepers to get the pressure relief that they need. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • Some stomach sleepers may find that the Helix Midnight Luxe is too soft for them. Lightweight sleepers may find the support they need on their stomachs, but to be safe we’d recommend a firmer mattress for any stomach sleeper. Consider the Plank Firm Luxe for a good mattress for combo sleepers that’s particularly great for those who primarily sleep on their stomachs. 

Other user reviews

Based on 6,000+ customer reviews from the Helix website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.4/5. The combination of firmness and softness is a big talking point among 5-star reviewers. As for the 1-star reviews, there was some reports of customer service issues, and persistent or worsening back pain. We’d note, though, that many customers also reported that the bed needs breaking in before a proper judgment call on comfort.

Read our full Helix Midnight Luxe mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight Luxe mattress, check out our list of the best customizable mattresses for more great options! 

Best Innerspring Mattress for Combination Sleepers – Saatva

Best Innerspring Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress with an innerspring feel that's both comfortable and supportive.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress with an innerspring feel that's both comfortable and supportive.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress with an innerspring feel that's both comfortable and supportive.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Good for combination sleepers
Cooling benefits
A great orthopedic mattresses
Cons
Lacks slow-moving feel
May be too firm for some

Our Expert’s Take

While the Saatva mattress is technically a hybrid bed, it has an innerspring feel that’s evened out by a Euro-style pillow top. This type of mattress is usually a good option for combination sleepers because you get the support of two sets of coils and the comfort of a pillow top. When I lie on my back on the Saatva, my hips sink in just the right amount, and while sleeping on my side, I feel pressure relief on my shoulders and hips. While stomach sleeping, there’s great support and my hips don’t sink into the mattress excessively.

What the testers say:Laying on the Saatva, I got some nice support from the two coil layers, but I still felt some plush comfort from the pillow-top layer. I got the feeling that I was sleeping “on top” of this mattress, and it gave me some great lumbar support.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva

  • In our review for the Saatva mattress we refer to it as a “combination sleepers’ dream”. Its zoned construction means that the mattress will provide different amounts of support depending on which sleeping position you occupy, so you can switch from side to back to stomach and feel comfortable in each one. 
  • The Saatva mattress is available in three different firmness options. You’ll want to do some research in order to determine which firmness best accommodates your body types before you make a selection. Regardless of which firmness you select, the Saatva will perform well for combo sleepers. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • While I don’t usually recommend all-foam mattresses for combination sleepers, I understand that some people prefer the feel of them. The Saatva mattress has more of an innerspring feel, meaning the comfort layers won’t envelope you the way they would with a foam mattress. If you’re after that cloud-like feeling, consider a memory foam mattress like the Bear instead. 

Other user reviews

The Saatva mattress has an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 3,258 reviews on the company website. 2,954 reviews out of those 3,258 awarded the Saatva 5 stars, so customers generally had great things to say. Many of the negative reviews revolve around the delivery process and customer service.

Read our full Saatva mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Saatva mattress, check out our list of the best innerspring mattresses for more great options! 

Best Luxury Mattress for Combination Sleepers – WinkBed

Best Luxury Mattress for Combination Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress for Combination Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
WinkBed
Best Luxury Mattress for Combination Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Hotel quality mattress
Four different firmness levels
Cooling features
Cons
Not budget-friendly
Not great for couples

Our Expert’s Take

The WinkBed is another hybrid mattress with an innerspring feel, courtesy of two layers of coils and a Euro-style pillow top. That means it has a great balance of comfort and support that should fit a variety of sleepers. Back sleepers should feel their hips sink in while also getting support from the two coil layers. When side sleeping, the pillow top will relieve pressure on the shoulders and hips, and stomach sleepers should get a ton of support from the coils below.

What the testers say: “The WinkBed gave a great balance of comfort and support, which is perfect for combination sleepers. I felt some great lumbar support from the zoning in this mattress, and it also offers some great pressure relief.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • Like the Saatva, the WinkBed is available in multiple firmness options. Shoppers can choose between the Softer, Luxury Firm, Firmer, or Plus (designed for heavyweight people) versions of the mattress. 
  • The WinkBed has phenomenal edge support (it earned a perfect score on our test). Lying and sitting along the perimeter of the mattress didn’t cause the edges to sag at all. This is great news for those who like to utilize every inch of the mattress surface when they sleep. 
  • Because of its high-quality construction, the WinkBed has great durability. So, while somewhat expensive, this mattress is a great investment, as it will last for many years if properly cared for. 
  • Purchase of this mattress comes with a generous lifetime warranty. 

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • The WinkBed isn’t our top choice for couples. It didn’t impress us during our motion isolation test. This means that if you sleep with a partner, you’re likely to feel their movements reverberate to your side of the bed, even if they’re just switching their sleeping position. 

Other user reviews

8,564 customers reviewed the WinkBed on the company website. The average rating for the mattress is 4.8 out of 5. Customers enjoy the hotel-like feel of the WinkBed mattress. Some, however, state that the mattress is not helpful for back pain, as they had expected it to be.

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the WinkBeds mattress, check out our list of the best luxury mattresses for more great options! 

Best Hybrid Mattress for Combination Sleepers – Nolah Evolution Hybrid

Best Hybrid Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid is an extremely supportive mattress that will work well for larger sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid is an extremely supportive mattress that will work well for larger sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Hybrid Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid is an extremely supportive mattress that will work well for larger sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Great for heavier combo sleepers
Cooling benefits
10-year warranty
Cons
Not budget-friendly
Not great for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Combination sleepers who want the benefits of both foam and coils should look at the Nolah Evolution. This is a very supportive bed-in-a-box mattress with strong, sturdy coils at the bottom which will allow air to flow through this mattress fairly easily. These coils are also zoned, meaning this bed feels firmer in the center to provide great lumbar support, too! And with a thick foam comfort layer, side sleepers will be able to get the pressure relief that they need.

What the testers say: “As a combination sleeper, the Nolah Evolution mattress was a perfect fit. It’s high quality and offers some great comfort that is balanced with a great deal of support. This mattress also has some great cooling features, so it should work for sleepers who overheat at night.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution Hybrid

  • The Nolah Evolution Hybrid includes several features (graphite infusion, heat escape gusset, breathable coil system) that promote cooling. In fact, we found these construction elements to be so effective at regulating temperature that we gave the mattress a perfect score on our cooling test. 
  • Like other mattresses we’ve discussed, the Nolah Evolution Hybrid is available in several different firmnesses. Whether you’re a lightweight side sleeper, a heavyweight stomach sleeper, or anything in-between, you’ll likely be able to find a version of the mattress that accommodates your needs. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution Hybrid

  • The Nolah Evolution Hybrid costs over $2,000 for a queen. While the mattress isn’t what we’d call budget-friendly, the company does regularly run sales that apply significant discounts. Or, for a product that’s much easier on your wallet even before discounts, consider the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid
  • The Nolah Evolution Hybrid has somewhat saggy edges. You might find that lying or sitting along the mattress perimeter is uncomfortable for this reason. If strong edges are important to you, consider the WinkBed instead. 

Other user reviews

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid has an average rating of 4.9 out of 5 based on 700 reviews from the company website. Finding negative reviews is difficult, as the Nolah website does not allow you to filter by score. However, there was one customer who was unhappy to find that the mattress was not firm enough for them.

Read our full Nolah Evolution Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nolah Evolution mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for heavy people for more great options! 

Best Mattress for Heavy Combination Sleepers – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
emma comfort hybrid us airtable
Best for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Great mattress for couples and for sex
High-quality at affordable prices
Cooling features
Cons
Not great for lightweight sleepers
Not great for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Unlike some of the other mattress models on this page, the Emma Hybrid Comfort works exceptionally well for larger people. Its materials can support a lot of weight, and the firm feel of this mattress gives it the perfect amount of comfort and support for heavier sleepers who sleep on their backs or on their stomachs.

What our testers say: “The Emma Hybrid Comfort has a bouncy, hybrid feel. The coils provide a good deal of bounce, and the top foam layers pop back into place very quickly. I had no issues moving around or changing positions on this mattress. ” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • This mattress is on the firmer side (8/10 on our scale), which is great news for stomach sleepers and heavyweight people. It provides enough support to keep these folks from sinking below the mattress surface and potentially causing aches and pains. 
  • The Emma Hybrid Comfort stays quite cool at night. While not cool to the touch, the mattress is constructed with breathable materials that keep things from overheating. 
  • You won’t break the bank buying this mattress. A queen comes in at just over $1,000. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Because it’s so firm, this mattress doesn’t work well for side sleepers. If you sleep on your side, you should seek out a soft mattress that relieves pressure around your shoulders and hips. Take a look at our list of the best mattresses for side sleepers for some great options. 

Other user reviews

This mattress has an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 28 reviews from the Emma website. Positive reviews highlight the Emma Hybrid Comfort as a great investment, because of its high quality and low price point. The lowest rating is 3 stars, and the customer was simply unhappy with the packaging of the mattress.

Read our Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review. For more recommendations, check out our best mattresses for heavy people.

Best Cooling Mattress for Combination Sleepers – Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Cooling Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Cooling Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Cooling Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Very supportive
Multiple firmness options
Durable
Cons
Not great for couples
Expensive

Our Expert’s Take

We’ve all been there: hot summer night and even with the A/C cranked you still can’t get comfortable under your comforter. If sleeping hot is something that you struggle with, a mattress specifically designed to help you sleep cool is your best bet. The Bear Elite Hybrid has several cooling features, such as a cool-to-the-touch cover, copper-infused foam, and a breathable layer of pocketed coils. For those of you who toss and turn not just because you’re a combination sleeper, but also because you have trouble staying cool, the Bear Elite Hybrid is a great option.

What the testers say: “If you tend to sleep hot at night, the Bear Elite mattress is a great choice. Its cooling cover contains phase change material, which helps lower body temperature. It also contains a layer of copper-infused memory foam to help dissipate body heat. And finally, the Bear Elite mattress contains a coil support system for extra airflow.” – Elisa, Editor & Product Tester

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • We’ve found many of the technologies used by mattress companies to improve temperature regulation in their products hit or miss. However, the phase change material that Bear incorporates into the cover of the Elite Hybrid is legitimately cool to the touch. 
  • This mattress is available in multiple firmness options: Soft, Medium, and Firm. Per our review, we recommend the Soft version for lightweight side sleepers, the Medium version for average-weight back and side sleepers, and the Firm version for stomach sleepers. 
  • The Bear Elite Hybrid comes with a lifetime warranty.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • The Bear Elite Hybrid’s didn’t impress us with its motion isolation. As one of us rested on one side of the mattress, we felt a considerable amount of disturbance from our fellow tester moving around on the other side. This could be a problem if you share your bed with a partner. Check out our list of the best mattresses for couples for some great, motion-isolating options.

Other user reviews

The Bear mattress has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 10,164 reviews from the company website. Customers praise the Bear Based on 3,705 customer reviews from the Bear website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.6 out of 5. Happy shoppers appreciate the multiple firmness options, as well as the cooling abilities of the mattress. However, there are some negative reviews that claim the mattress is too expensive and begins to sag after a short time.

Read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Bear mattress, check out our list of the best cooling mattresses for more great options! 

Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers with Back Pain – Helix Dawn

Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers with Back Pain

Helix Dawn Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress Review

The Helix Dawn has a firm yet pressure-relieving feel that's perfect for combination sleepers with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers with Back Pain

Helix Dawn Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress Review

The Helix Dawn has a firm yet pressure-relieving feel that's perfect for combination sleepers with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Helix Dawn Mattress Review
Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers with Back Pain

Helix Dawn Mattress

The Helix Dawn has a firm yet pressure-relieving feel that's perfect for combination sleepers with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Great for back and stomach combination sleepers
Cooling benefits
Budget-friendly
Cons
Not great for side sleepers
May be too firm for some

Our Expert’s Take

Combination sleepers who also suffer from back pain will want a mattress that supports them in the various positions they sleep in. The Helix Dawn is a firmer mattress that will work great for back and stomach sleepers, as well as sleepers who switch between these two positions. Its firm feel will promote a healthy, straight spinal alignment, which is the key to preventing and alleviating back pain. This bed also has a top layer of Helix Dynamic Foam, which will contour around the body and relieve some tension around pressure points.

What the testers say:  “I really enjoyed back sleeping on the Helix Dawn. It was firm enough to keep my spine supported, and I didn’t sink too much into it. The downside though, was that I didn’t get as much pressure relief in this position as I would have liked.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Dawn

  • The Helix Dawn is one of the firmness mattresses that the company offers. This firmness makes the mattress a great option for stomach sleepers, as it keeps their hips sufficiently propped up and supported. 
  • The hybrid construction of the Helix Dawn helps keep things from getting too warm at night. The innerspring layer allows body heat to pass out of the mattress instead of trapping it. 
  • The Helix Dawn has solid edge support, which is helpful for those who utilize the perimeter of the mattress to stabilize themselves as they get in and out of bed. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Dawn 

  • This mattress is quite bad for side sleepers. Even heavyweight side sleepers will likely find the Helix Dawn uncomfortable, just as our heavier mattress tester did when he tested it while on his side. 
  • Unless you’re over 230 lb, this mattress isn’t a great option for back sleepers either. 

Other user reviews

The Helix Dawn has an average rating of 4.4 out of 5 based on 1,258 customer reviews from the company website. One user called the mattress the “Perfect firm mattress for a sore back”. Many of the 38 1-star reviews claim the Helix Dawn is much softer than advertised.

Read our full Helix Dawn mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Tempur-Cloud mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for back pain for more great options! 

Best Affordable Mattress for Combination Sleepers – Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

Best Cheap Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cheap Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Cheap Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
High-quality with a value price
Easy to move on
Sleeps cool
Cons
Doesn’t absorb motion well
Not the best edge support

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a combination sleeper who doesn’t want to break the bank, take a look at the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress. It comes in three firmness options: Soft, Medium, and Firm. Combo sleepers should consider the Medium model, as it has the best balance of comfort and support. You should feel slightly lifted when you’re back sleeping and stomach sleeping, and a relaxing mix of contouring and sinkage when side sleeping.

What the testers say: “I felt a nice plush feel when sleeping on the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid, and it was balanced out with a supportive feel. I tried the medium firm model of the mattress, and the top layer was soft, while the lower layers gave a bit more support.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid 

  • The Medium version (the Signature Hybrid is available in three firmnesses) is excellent for lightweight sleepers. Our smaller mattress tester assumed every sleeping position on the Signature Hybrid and felt great in every one. 
  • This mattress has the traditional, bouncy feel of an innerspring mattress. This is one of the most important factors for combo sleepers, as it makes it very easy to move around on the mattress surface. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • The Signature Hybrid can be priced affordably because it doesn’t come with any luxury features or bells and whistles. If you’re after a high-end product that will make you feel like you’re staying in a 5-star hotel, you should consider the WinkBed.

Other user reviews

The Signature Hybrid has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 10,703 reviews from the Brooklyn Bedding website. There’s a big emphasis amongst positive reviews on the mattress working very well for RV sleeping spaces. Two of the 1-star reviews say that the mattress is too soft.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding mattress, check out our list of the best cheap mattresses for more great options! 

Best Organic Mattress for Combination Sleepers – Birch

Best Organic Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Organic Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Pillow-top available
Environmentally friendly
Flame retardant wool
Cons
May be too firm for some
May be too bouncy for some

Our Expert’s Take

As a material, latex is naturally responsive, allowing combination sleepers to switch positions with ease. They should be very comfortable on the Birch, an organic hybrid mattress constructed with latex foam over individually wrapped coils. This results in a bed that’s springy, cooling, and firm.

What the testers say:  “I really enjoyed sleeping on the Birch mattress. The high-quality wool and latex let my hips sink into the mattress and also gave me some nice lumbar support. This could make it a good fit for any sleepers who might have back pain.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch

  • We awarded the Birch mattress a perfect score on our cooling test. Not only are the organic materials used in the construction environmentally friendly, they’re also naturally good at regulating temperature. 
  • This is one of the best mattresses for back sleepers we’ve ever tested. Every one of our testers, from small to large, felt great in this sleeping position. Largely, this is thanks to the Birch’s medium-firm construction, which provides ample support and comfort, and allows your hips to sink below the surface just enough to relieve pressure. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch

  • As is the case with many mattresses on this list, the Birch is not a top choice for couples. That’s because the bouncy responsiveness that makes it great for combo sleepers also makes it bad at isolating motion. When your partner moves on their side of the bed, you’ll feel it on yours. 

Other user reviews

Based on 4,359 reviews from the Birch website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.6 out of 5. There are 3,009 5-star reviews, many of which praise the mattress for being very comfortable and helping relieve pain. Some of the negative reviews claim the Birch is too squeaky, arrived in poor condition, and smells.

Read our full Birch mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Birch mattress, check out our list of the best organic mattresses for more great options! 

Six Considerations When Buying a Mattress for Combination Sleeping

There’s no one perfect mattress for everyone, but if people take the following criteria into account, they should be able to find the best mattress for them.

Six Considerations When Buying a Mattress for Combination-Sleeping

Weight and Size

One’s weight affects how far they sink into the mattress and how much support they’ll require. If someone is lighter, a medium-firm memory foam mattress could be a good fit for numerous sleeping positions.

However, if they’re heavier, they might need a more supportive hybrid or innerspring mattress with a softer top layer. For combination sleepers, it’s all about finding the right balance of comfort and support.

Firmness

Soft mattresses are usually best for side sleepers; medium-firm mattresses are better for back sleepers; and firmer mattresses are typically a good fit for stomach sleepers. When it comes to combination sleepers, who essentially fluctuate between two or more of these positions, they should look for something in the medium-firm range. This should ensure that the mattress is soft enough for side sleeping and supportive enough for back and stomach sleeping.

Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers

Also, keep in mind that no matter the mattress, it’s always a good idea to keep a pillow in between your knees while side sleeping.

Sleeping Positions

If someone is a combination sleeper, they also need to think about which positions they switch between. If someone sleeps on their side and back, they might want something pressure-relieving and supportive.

If they sleep on their back and stomach, they’ll probably want something that’s supportive, but also a little bit firmer.

If someone sleeps in all three positions throughout the night, they’ll want to look at several options until they find that sweet spot between comfort and support.

Mattress Type

There are a few types of mattresses that can accommodate combination sleepers. Hybrid and innerspring mattresses provide support in the bed’s coils while also creating comfort and pressure relief with a pillow top or various foam layers.

If combo sleepers want an all-foam mattress, they should consider one with a zoned construction or a thinner comfort layer. You don’t want to sink too far into the mattress when moving to your back or stomach, as that’s a sign of not getting enough support.

Responsiveness

Combination sleepers will likely want a mattress that immediately responds whenever they switch sleeping positions. If someone chooses a slow-moving memory foam mattress, it might take some time for the mattress to conform to the shape of the body.

However, a bouncier mattress with responsive foam or latex in its comfort layer should allow sleepers to move around without feeling stuck or uncomfortable. But preferences can also vary from person to person. You may be a combination sleeper who values the plush feel of memory foam over responsiveness, in which case you might opt for an all-foam bed.

Motion Transfer

If someone needs the best mattress for couples, it’s especially important to consider how the mattress will handle motion transfer. If one or both partners are combination sleepers, will their movements disturb each other, or will the mattress absorb the motion? Memory foam mattresses usually have the best motion transfer results.

At the same time, they’re not always the best choice for combination sleepers. People should try to find a mattress that will cut down on motion transfer while also meeting their other combination sleeper needs.

glass of water on a Saatva mattress
Testing for motion isolation in the sleep testing lab

Overall

Here’s an overview of the best mattresses for combination sleepers:

MattressSuperlative
Nectar HybridBest Overall
Helix Midnight LuxeBest Customizable Mattress for Combination Sleepers
SaatvaBest Innerspring Mattress for Combination Sleepers
WinkBedsBest Luxury Mattress for Combination Sleepers
Nolah EvolutionBest Hybrid Mattress for Combination Sleepers
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Mattress for Heavy Combination Sleepers
Bear Elite HybridBest Cooling Mattress for Combination Sleepers
Helix DawnBest Mattress for Combination Sleepers with Back Pain
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Cheap Mattress for Combination Sleepers
BirchBest Organic Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers FAQs

What kind of mattress is best for combination sleepers?

There is no one perfect mattress for combination sleepers, but in general, a medium-firm mattress that is bouncy and responsive can accommodate multiple sleeping positions while making it easy to change positions throughout the night. Additionally, a mattress with zoning can be helpful for combination sleepers as it provides additional support towards the center of the mattress for back sleeping, holds up your pelvis for stomach sleeping, and is softer under the shoulders and hips for side sleeping.

What mattress firmness is best for combination sleepers?

A medium-firm mattress (6.5/10 on the firmness scale) can be a good option for combination sleepers. Different mattress firmnesses are typically better for different sleeping positions, so a medium-firm mattress ensures the mattress will be soft enough for side sleeping and supportive enough for back and stomach sleeping.

Joe Auer

Joe Auer is the editor of Mattress Clarity. He mainly focuses on mattress reviews and oversees the content across the site. He likes things simple and takes a straightforward, objective approach to his reviews. Joe has personally tested nearly 250 mattresses and always recommends people do their research before buying a new bed. He has been testing mattresses for over 5 years now, so he knows a thing or two when it comes to mattress selection. He has been cited as an authority in the industry by a number of large publications. When he isn't testing sleep products, he enjoys working out, reading both fiction and non-fiction, and playing classical piano. He enjoys traveling as well, and not just to test out hotel mattresses! Joe has an undergraduate degree from Wake Forest University and an MBA from Columbia University.