Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers: Which Will You Choose?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

It can be difficult to find the best mattress for combination sleepers, as they typically switch between several different sleeping positions throughout the night. For example, the firmness level that works for a side sleeper may not be the best match for stomach sleeping. That’s why we’ve put together a list of beds that could be a great fit for folks who sleep on their back, side, and stomach — sometimes all in a single night.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers?

Our expert reviewers chose the Nectar Hybrid as the best mattress for combination sleepers due to its balance of comfort and support for all sleeping positions and for its good value.

The Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers

Compare the Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers

Nectar Hybrid Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Saatva Mattress WinkBed Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Bear Mattress Helix Dawn Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Birch Mattress
Nectar Hybrid Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Saatva Mattress WinkBed Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Bear Mattress Helix Dawn Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Birch Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Hybrid Hybrid Innerspring Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back Back & Side Back & Stomach Combination Back Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Stomach

How We Chose the Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

Mattress testing photos from the studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

To choose the Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers, we also took responsiveness into account. Because combination sleepers switch their sleeping position throughout the night, they need a bed that’s easy to move around on. Some of these mattresses are all-foam while others are hybrid, but you’re not likely to feel “stuck” in any of them.

And if you’re still left wanting more recommendations, try out our mattress quiz to receive tailored suggestions.

Best Overall

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

The Nectar Hybrid is a plush hybrid mattress with some nice responsiveness and cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Overall

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

The Nectar Hybrid is a plush hybrid mattress with some nice responsiveness and cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Overall

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

The Nectar Hybrid is a plush hybrid mattress with some nice responsiveness and cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Our Expert’s Take

Combo sleepers need a mattress that is easy to move around on, and not make you feel like you’re trapped in one position for the whole night. Nectar’s classic hybrid mattress combines pressure relieving foam and coils that back and side sleepers can enjoy. Better yet, you won’t feel like you’re trapped and can move very easily on top of this mattress. You have 365 nights to figure out if this is the mattress that’s right for you, too!

What the testers say: The Nectar Hybrid felt really easy to move around on and gave a nice balance of comfort and support. Some of the best benefits I felt when laying on it were the cooling benefits. There was a nice amount of airflow, and the foam didn’t trap a lot of heat.” -Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Nectar Classic Hybrid

  • Great balance of comfort and support
  • Easy to move around
  • Budget-friendly

Cons of the Nectar Classic Hybrid

  • Not great for stomach sleepers
  • May be too soft for some

Read our full Nectar Classic Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nectar mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses 2023 for more great options! 

Best Customizable Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model, although combo sleepers can also take a sleep quiz for more customized recommendations.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Customizable Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model, although combo sleepers can also take a sleep quiz for more customized recommendations.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Customizable Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model, although combo sleepers can also take a sleep quiz for more customized recommendations.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

With Helix, you have two options: you can choose from one of their many mattress models, or you can take a sleep quiz. If you take their quiz and say that you’re a combination sleeper, the brand might recommend the Helix Midnight, their most popular model. It has a great balance of comfort and support, and should be a good match for all three sleeping positions.

What the testers say: “I shift between my back and side while I sleep, so for combination sleepers like myself, the Helix Midnight should be a perfect fit. It contours my body and I felt the classic memory foam feel and sank into the top layers while I slept on it.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Helix Midnight

Cons of the Helix Midnight

  • Not great for stomach sleepers
  • Not great for heavier side sleepers

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight mattress, check out our list of the best customizable mattresses for more great options! 

Best Innerspring Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress with an innerspring feel that's both comfortable and supportive.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress with an innerspring feel that's both comfortable and supportive.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress with an innerspring feel that's both comfortable and supportive.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

While the Saatva mattress is technically a hybrid bed, it has an innerspring feel that’s evened out by a Euro-style pillow top. This type of mattress is usually a good option for combination sleepers because you get the support of two sets of coils and the comfort of a pillow top. When I lie on my back on the Saatva, my hips sink in just the right amount, and while sleeping on my side, I feel pressure relief on my shoulders and hips. While stomach sleeping, there’s great support and my hips don’t sink into the mattress excessively.

What the testers say:Laying on the Saatva, I got some nice support from the two coil layers, but I still felt some plush comfort from the pillow-top layer. I got the feeling that I was sleeping “on top” of this mattress, and it gave me some great lumbar support.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Saatva

Cons of the Saatva

  • Lacks slow-moving feel
  • May be too firm for some

Read our full Saatva mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Saatva mattress, check out our list of the best innerspring mattresses for more great options! 

Best Luxury Mattress for Combination Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress for Combination Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress for Combination Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

The WinkBed is another hybrid mattress with an innerspring feel, courtesy of two layers of coils and a Euro-style pillow top. That means it has a great balance of comfort and support that should fit a variety of sleepers. Back sleepers should feel their hips sink in while also getting support from the two coil layers. When side sleeping, the pillow top will relieve pressure on the shoulders and hips, and stomach sleepers should get a ton of support from the coils below.

What the testers say: “The WinkBed gave a great balance of comfort and support, which is perfect for combination sleepers. I felt some great lumbar support from the zoning in this mattress, and it also offers some great pressure relief.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the WinkBed

  • Hotel quality mattress
  • Four different firmness levels
  • Cooling features

Cons of the WinkBed

  • Not budget-friendly
  • Not great for couples

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the WinkBeds mattress, check out our list of the best luxury mattresses for more great options! 

Best Hybrid Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid is an extremely supportive mattress that will work well for larger sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid is an extremely supportive mattress that will work well for larger sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution Hybrid is an extremely supportive mattress that will work well for larger sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

Combination sleepers who want the benefits of both foam and coils should look at the Nolah Evolution. This is a very supportive bed-in-a-box mattress with strong, sturdy coils at the bottom which will allow air to flow through this mattress fairly easily. These coils are also zoned, meaning this bed feels firmer in the center to provide great lumbar support, too! And with a thick foam comfort layer, side sleepers will be able to get the pressure relief that they need.

What the testers say: “As a combination sleeper, the Nolah Evolution mattress was a perfect fit. It’s high quality and offers some great comfort that is balanced with a great deal of support. This mattress also has some great cooling features, so it should work for sleepers who overheat at night.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Nolah Evolution Hybrid

  • Great for heavier combo sleepers
  • Cooling benefits
  • 10-year warranty

Cons of the Nolah Evolution Hybrid

  • Not budget-friendly
  • Not great for stomach sleepers

Read our full Nolah Evolution Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nolah Evolution mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for heavy people for more great options! 

Best for Heavy People

Emma CliMax Hybrid

The Emma CliMax is a supportive, high-quality option for heavier people and couples.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Best for Heavy People

Emma CliMax Hybrid

The Emma CliMax is a supportive, high-quality option for heavier people and couples.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Best for Heavy People

Emma CliMax Hybrid

The Emma CliMax is a supportive, high-quality option for heavier people and couples.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.9/5

Our Expert’s Take

Unlike the other mattress models on this page, the Emma CliMax is specifically catered to larger people. Its materials are made to support more weight, and the firm feel of this mattress gives it the perfect amount of comfort and support for heavier sleepers who sleep on their backs or on their sides.

What our testers say: “Back sleeping was a dream on the Emma CliMax. I felt supported, and the zoning gave me great lumbar support. It’s important to note that this mattress is meant for heavier sleepers so it’s pretty firm, and may be too firm for lighter sleepers.” -Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Emma CliMax

  • Great for couples and for sex
  • High-quality at affordable prices
  • Cooling features

Cons of the Emma CliMax

  • Not great for lightweight sleepers
  • Not great for side sleepers

Read our Emma CliMax mattress review. For more recommendations, check out our best mattresses for heavy people.

Best Memory Foam

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original offers a comfy memory foam feel and is a great fit for multiple sleeping positions.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original offers a comfy memory foam feel and is a great fit for multiple sleeping positions.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original offers a comfy memory foam feel and is a great fit for multiple sleeping positions.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re someone who loves to sink into an all foam mattress, then the Bear original is a great option for you! On the outside of the Bear mattress, you’ll find a Celliant cover that is super breathable. This cover is designed to help your muscles recover, making you feel much more refreshed when you wake up in the morning. And despite being an all-foam bed, the top comfort layer is infused with gel to help pull body heat away from your body.

What the testers say: “The Bear was a really comfortable mattress to lay on. I felt my back sink into the top layer and the foam contoured my body. The lumbar and spinal support was great too, and most sleepers should find this mattress to be a good fit.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Bear

  • Great for heavy back and side combo sleepers
  • Hybrid option available
  • This is a great mattress for athletes

Cons of the Bear

  • Not great for stomach sleepers
  • Not great for heavier side sleepers

Read our full Bear mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Bear mattress, check out our list of the best memory foam mattresses for more great options! 

Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers with Back Pain

Helix Dawn Mattress

The Helix Dawn has a firm yet pressure-relieving feel that's perfect for combination sleepers with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers with Back Pain

Helix Dawn Mattress

The Helix Dawn has a firm yet pressure-relieving feel that's perfect for combination sleepers with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers with Back Pain

Helix Dawn Mattress

The Helix Dawn has a firm yet pressure-relieving feel that's perfect for combination sleepers with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5

Our Expert’s Take

Combination sleepers who also suffer from back pain will want a mattress that supports them in the various positions they sleep in. The Helix Dawn is a firmer mattress that will work great for back and stomach sleepers, as well as sleepers who switch between these two positions. Its firm feel will promote a healthy, straight spinal alignment, which is the key to preventing and alleviating back pain. This bed also has a top layer of Helix Dynamic Foam, which will contour around the body and relieve some tension around pressure points.

What the testers say:  “I really enjoyed back sleeping on the Helix Dawn. It was firm enough to keep my spine supported, and I didn’t sink too much into it. The downside though, was that I didn’t get as much pressure relief in this position as I would have liked.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Helix Dawn

  • Great for back and stomach combination sleepers
  • Cooling benefits
  • Budget-friendly

Cons of the Helix Dawn

  • Not great for side sleepers
  • May be too firm for some

Read our full Helix Dawn mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Tempur-Cloud mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for back pain for more great options! 

Best Cheap Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Cheap Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Cheap Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a combination sleeper who doesn’t want to break the bank, take a look at the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress. It comes in three firmness options: Soft, Medium, and Firm. Combo sleepers should consider the Medium model, as it has the best balance of comfort and support. You should feel slightly lifted when you’re back sleeping and stomach sleeping, and a relaxing mix of contouring and sinkage when side sleeping.

What the testers say: “I felt a nice plush feel when sleeping on the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid, and it was balanced out with a supportive feel. I tried the medium firm model of the mattress, and the top layer was soft, while the lower layers gave a bit more support.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • High-quality with a value price
  • Easy to move on
  • Sleeps cool

Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • Doesn’t absorb motion well
  • Not the best edge support

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding mattress, check out our list of the best cheap mattresses for more great options! 

Best Organic Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

As a material, latex is naturally responsive, allowing combination sleepers to switch positions with ease. They should be very comfortable on the Birch, an organic hybrid mattress constructed with latex foam over individually wrapped coils. This results in a bed that’s springy, cooling, and firm.

What the testers say:  “I really enjoyed sleeping on the Birch mattress. The high-quality wool and latex let my hips sink into the mattress and also gave me some nice lumbar support. This could make it a good fit for any sleepers who might have back pain.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Birch

  • Pillow-top available
  • Environmentally friendly
  • Flame retardant wool

Cons of the Birch

  • May be too firm for some
  • May be too bouncy for some

Read our full Birch mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Birch mattress, check out our list of the best organic mattresses for more great options! 

Six Considerations When Buying a Mattress for Combination Sleeping

There’s no one perfect mattress for everyone, but if people take the following criteria into account, they should be able to find the best mattress for them.

Six Considerations When Buying a Mattress for Combination-Sleeping

Weight and Size

One’s weight affects how far they sink into the mattress and how much support they’ll require. If someone is lighter, a medium-firm memory foam mattress could be a good fit for numerous sleeping positions.

However, if they’re heavier, they might need a more supportive hybrid or innerspring mattress with a softer top layer. For combination sleepers, it’s all about finding the right balance of comfort and support.

Firmness

Soft mattresses are usually best for side sleepers; medium-firm mattresses are better for back sleepers; and firmer mattresses are typically a good fit for stomach sleepers. When it comes to combination sleepers, who essentially fluctuate between two or more of these positions, they should look for something in the medium-firm range. This should ensure that the mattress is soft enough for side sleeping and supportive enough for back and stomach sleeping.

Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers

Also, keep in mind that no matter the mattress, it’s always a good idea to keep a pillow in between your knees while side sleeping.

Sleeping Positions

If someone is a combination sleeper, they also need to think about which positions they switch between. If someone sleeps on their side and back, they might want something pressure-relieving and supportive.

If they sleep on their back and stomach, they’ll probably want something that’s supportive, but also a little bit firmer.

If someone sleeps in all three positions throughout the night, they’ll want to look at several options until they find that sweet spot between comfort and support.

Mattress Type

There are a few types of mattresses that can accommodate combination sleepers. Hybrid and innerspring mattresses provide support in the bed’s coils while also creating comfort and pressure relief with a pillow top or various foam layers.

If combo sleepers want an all-foam mattress, they should consider one with a zoned construction or a thinner comfort layer. You don’t want to sink too far into the mattress when moving to your back or stomach, as that’s a sign of not getting enough support.

Responsiveness

Combination sleepers will likely want a mattress that immediately responds whenever they switch sleeping positions. If someone chooses a slow-moving memory foam mattress, it might take some time for the mattress to conform to the shape of the body.

However, a bouncier mattress with responsive foam or latex in its comfort layer should allow sleepers to move around without feeling stuck or uncomfortable. But preferences can also vary from person to person. You may be a combination sleeper who values the plush feel of memory foam over responsiveness, in which case you might opt for an all-foam bed.

Motion Transfer

If someone needs the best mattress for couples, it’s especially important to consider how the mattress will handle motion transfer. If one or both partners are combination sleepers, will their movements disturb each other, or will the mattress absorb the motion? Memory foam mattresses usually have the best motion transfer results.

At the same time, they’re not always the best choice for combination sleepers. People should try to find a mattress that will cut down on motion transfer while also meeting their other combination sleeper needs.

glass of water on a Saatva mattress
Testing for motion isolation in the sleep testing lab

Overall

Here’s an overview of the best mattresses for combination sleepers:

MattressSuperlative
Nectar HybridBest Overall
Helix MidnightBest Customizable Mattress for Combination Sleepers
SaatvaBest Innerspring Mattress for Combination Sleepers
WinkBedsBest Luxury Mattress for Combination Sleepers
Nolah EvolutionBest Hybrid Mattress for Combination Sleepers
Emma CliMaxBest Mattress for Heavy Combination Sleepers
BearBest Memory Foam
Helix DawnBest Mattress for Combination Sleepers with Back Pain
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Cheap Mattress for Combination Sleepers
BirchBest Organic Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers FAQs

What kind of mattress is best for combination sleepers?

There is no one perfect mattress for combination sleepers, but in general, a medium-firm mattress that is bouncy and responsive can accommodate multiple sleeping positions while making it easy to change positions throughout the night. Additionally, a mattress with zoning can be helpful for combination sleepers as it provides additional support towards the center of the mattress for back sleeping, holds up your pelvis for stomach sleeping, and is softer under the shoulders and hips for side sleeping.

What mattress firmness is best for combination sleepers?

A medium-firm mattress (6.5/10 on the firmness scale) can be a good option for combination sleepers. Different mattress firmnesses are typically better for different sleeping positions, so a medium-firm mattress ensures the mattress will be soft enough for side sleeping and supportive enough for back and stomach sleeping.

Joe Auer

Joe Auer

Joe Auer is the editor of Mattress Clarity. He mainly focuses on mattress reviews and oversees the content across the site. He likes things simple and takes a straightforward, objective approach to his reviews. Joe has personally tested nearly 250 mattresses and always recommends people do their research before buying a new bed. He has been testing mattresses for over 5 years now, so he knows a thing or two when it comes to mattress selection. He has been cited as an authority in the industry by a number of large publications. When he isn't testing sleep products, he enjoys working out, reading both fiction and non-fiction, and playing classical piano. He enjoys traveling as well, and not just to test out hotel mattresses! Joe has an undergraduate degree from Wake Forest University and an MBA from Columbia University.