Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs, where we are compensated for items purchased through links from our site. See our disclosure page for details.

We at Mattress Clarity have tested over 600 mattresses over the course of five years in our Austin, TX mattress lab, so we can spot from a mile away a mattress that isn’t ideal for side sleeping. While sleeping on your side can feel fantastic, not every bed is made for side sleepers, as they usually need a softer mattress that provides exceptional pressure relief. That’s why our team of experts have taken a look at the many online mattresses out there and compiled a list of the best mattresses for side sleepers.

There’s something here for everyone, from those who prefer super-soft memory foam to folks who love something a little firmer.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for Side Sleepers?

Our expert reviewers chose the Helix Midnight as the best mattress for side sleepers due to its thick memory foam comfort layer. It relieves pressure on the shoulders and hips, while the coils keep the spine in neutral alignment. 

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers: Our Top Picks

Best Mattress for Side Sleeper 2024: Video Roundup

Compare the Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress Saatva Mattress Nectar Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Nectar Premier Hybrid Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe
Helix Midnight Mattress Saatva Mattress Nectar Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Nectar Premier Hybrid Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Material Hybrid Innerspring Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Combination Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Side

How We Tested Our Top Picks for Side Sleepers

When we talk about side sleepers, pressure relief often comes to mind, as they tend to need a lot of it at the shoulders and hips. But it’s also important that they get adequate support to keep them from sinking too far into the mattress. That’s why, for this roundup, we only included beds that scored at least a 3.5 out of 5 on support.

To put together this list of best mattresses for side sleepers, our Certified Sleep Science Coaches spent time actually lying down on each mattress, performing hands-on testing, and evaluating the factors above to determine which would be the best fit for each ranking. For example, we test the motion isolation of each mattress by placing a glass of water on it and pressing on the layers around it.

Mattress testing photos from the studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab in Austin, TX

We also test the edge support to see how much the bed collapses and look at a pressure map of the mattress to understand where there is built up pressure while laying on it. Rather than simply saying “this mattress is great” or “this mattress is terrible,” we recognize that this is a fairly subjective process. As a result, we simply try to point people in the right direction by categorizing each mattress and differentiating its qualities from others.

How We Chose Our Top Picks for Side Sleepers

Beds are tested across a myriad of factors, however, the beds we selected for this roundup had to excel in these particular categories in order to meet the needs of side sleepers:

Firmness

Side sleepers naturally put a lot of pressure on the shoulders, hips, and back. A big factor in weighing a bed’s suitability for side sleepers  is testing that a bed is soft enough to relieve pressure points, while not being too firm causing major aches and pains. We excluded any bed that exceeded a 7.5/10 firmness on our scale. 

Support

As a side sleeper, it is important to sleep on a supportive foundation to help keep proper alignment throughout the night. To ensure proper alignment, we recommend a medium-firm mattress, which is about a 6/10 on our firmness scale. However, if we do recommend a softer mattress, then the bed typically has the additional support of pocketed coils.

Contouring

While side sleeping, contouring in the top comfort layers is a crucial element as it ensures that there is enough cradling to avoid any excess pressure around points of contact, including hips and shoulders. This is especially important if you suffer from recurring hip or shoulder pain. Our top mattresses all have contouring and pressure relief to a better degree than typical mattresses, and we also specify which body types may fit best with which mattresses. 

Best Overall – Helix Midnight

Best Overall

Helix Midnight Mattress

the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Helix Midnight Mattress

the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom
Best Overall

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of Helix Midnight
Great for both side and back sleepers
Breathable cover and coils to promote airflow
Balanced foam feel
Cons of Helix Midnight
Not ideal for stomach sleepers or heavier sleepers
Lacks the typical slow-moving foam feel

Our Expert’s Take

The Helix Midnight is the company’s most popular mattress model, and it’s easy to see why. In our testing, we found that the high-quality hybrid has a classic medium-firm feel, so it offers the comfort and support side sleepers need. If you tend to switch sleeping positions during the night, the Helix Midnight should help you stay comfy.

We also loved the Helix Midnight because it has excellent edge support and motion isolation — great news for those who share a bed. It’s also made with high-quality materials, so it will last at least 10 years.

What the testers say: “I’m a side and back sleeper, and the Helix Midnight mattress was a good match for me. The top layer of Memory Plus Foam conformed well and let me sink in a bit for comfort on my side. If you prefer an even softer mattress, the Helix Sunset might be better for you, but overall this was a good blend of softness and support for me.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About Helix Midnight Mattress

  • Back sleepers who require a balance of support and comfort will love the Helix Midnight. This medium-firm mattress has sturdy coils to keep you propped up and plush foams to contour around the lower back.
  • Hot sleepers who want to sleep cool. The layer of coils helps promote airflow, and for extra cooling, shoppers can pay for a GlacioTex™ Cooling Pillow Top, which uses thermal fabric to draw away body heat.
  • Those who need one of the best orthopedic mattresses. The soft memory foam in this mattress is great for alleviating joint pain.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight Mattress

  • Stomach sleepers who need specific midsection support will want to look at another option, like the firmer Helix Dawn. This model was designed with stomach sleepers in mind.
  • Heavier side sleepers will need a firmer and more supportive mattress. We recommend the Helix PLUS, which was made specifically for heavy people.

Other User Reviews

On Helix’s site, buyers rated the Helix Midnight 4.5/5 stars with over 6,100 reviews. They generally praised the comfort factor, quality of the materials, and pain relief factors, but some reviewers found it either too firm or too soft depending on their needs.

For more information, read our full Helix Midnight mattress review.

Best Innerspring Mattress for Side Sleepers – Saatva

Best Innerspring Mattress for Side Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Side Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Side Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Saatva
Multiple firmness options
Provides great support
Stays cool as you sleep
Cons of the Saatva
Doesn’t isolate motion well
On the expensive side

Our Expert’s Take

If you’ve perused some of our other best-of articles, you may have noticed that the Saatva makes many appearances. That’s because it’s truly one of our favorite mattresses we’ve ever tested. The innerspring hybrid construction gives it that luxurious hotel feel that so many people seek out in a mattress. Plus, it comes in three different firmness options—Plush Soft, Luxury Firm, and Firm.

Our full review of the Saatva concerns the Luxury Firm model. While we don’t recommend this firmness for side sleepers, the Plush Soft version of the Saatva should provide plenty of pressure relief for your hips and shoulders. This firmness will also work well for most lightweight sleepers. 

What the testers say: “The Saatva has a classic innerspring feel. It’s bouncy and responsive, but the tufted pillow top offers some plush cushioning. When I rested on the mattress, I didn’t sink too far into the layers. I felt like I was sleeping “on top of” the mattress rather than “inside” it.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva

  • Regardless of which firmness you select, the Saatva contains high-quality materials that provide solid durability and support. This makes it a great option for those who want to invest in a mattress that will maintain its structural integrity for many years. 
  • This construction also lends itself to good temperature regulation. The layer of high-grade coils allows warm air to evacuate the mattress, as opposed to an all-foam mattress which would typically trap your body heat in the dense layers. 
  • The Saatva has good responsiveness. It has a springy feel that makes it very easy to move around on. This is great news for combination sleepers, who toss, turn, and switch sleeping positions throughout the night. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • The Saatva doesn’t isolate motion very well. If you sleep with a partner, you might feel their movements as they shift around or get in and out of bed. This is important to keep in mind if you or your partner are light sleepers. If you’re sleeping with a partner check out our best mattresses for motion isolation for more recommendations.
  • While the Saatva is on the affordable side for a luxurious mattress, it still might be out of your price range. If you’re interested in a cheaper mattress that still works well for side sleepers, check out the Nectar

Other User Reviews

The Saatva mattress has an average rating of 4.8/5 based on 3,225 reviews from the company website. Many people comment on how the Saatva has made side sleeping much more comfortable. However, 35 people really disliked the mattress, leaving it a 1-star rating. Complaints touch on poor delivery, as well as the mattress not lasting as long as expected. 

For more information, read our full Saatva mattress review. Or for more back-and-side options, see our roundup of the best innerspring mattresses.

Best Medium-Firm Mattress for Side Sleepers – Nectar

Best Medium-Firm Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress for side sleepers that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Medium-Firm Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress for side sleepers that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390
Best Medium-Firm Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress for side sleepers that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Nectar
Supportive for a variety of sleepers
Breathable cover and gel-infused memory foam
Balanced foam feel
Cons of the Nectar
Stomach sleepers may not want something this soft
Motion isolating, but not bouncy

Our Expert’s Take

When people are seeking a mattress for side-sleeping, they also want to make sure they’re getting the best bang for their buck. Nectar is all about value and, while their mattress isn’t the cheapest option on the market, it is one of the best deals, which is why we chose it as our best overall mattress for side sleepers. Just looking at its construction and materials, we would expect it to be much more expensive.

The Nectar features two layers of memory foam in its construction: one is softer gel-infused memory foam, and the other is firmer Hi Core memory foam. Both layers of foam offer excellent pressure relief for side sleepers, who should slowly sink into the bed. Our side sleeping mattress testers found that the level of pressure relief was ideal for the sleeping position.

What the testers say: “When I was side sleeping, I only felt a bit of pressure on my shoulders and hips. I can see how this mattress could be good for those living with chronic pain or arthritis.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Mattress

  • It’s a great option for sleepers with any type of joint pain. The Nectar’s memory foam contours around the body, which helps relieve pressure and soothe aches.
  • For a memory foam mattress, it’s pretty cooling. Memory foam tends to trap heat, but the Nectar has unique features, like its breathable cover and gel-infused memory foam, that help keep it cool.
  • Its balanced foam feel will appeal to the majority of sleepers. We think it’s particularly comfortable for back sleeping and side sleeping.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Mattress

  • Stomach sleepers may not want something this soft. These sleepers will likely want to look for a firmer mattress—stomach sleepers need a bed that ranks at least a 7.5/10 on the firmness scale.
  • This bed has little to no bounce, which can make it a bit more difficult to move around and switch positions. If you tend to move around and switch positions while you sleep, check out our list of the best mattresses for combination sleepers.

Other User Reviews

On Nectar’s site, customers gave this mattress 4.7/5 stars, with 55,524 reviews at the time of writing. Many lauded this bed for its ability to alleviate back pain, but some commented that the Nectar was too hard for their taste.

For more information, read our full Nectar mattress review. Or for more options, see our roundup of the best medium-firm mattresses.

Best Mattress for Side Sleeping Couples – WinkBed

Best for Side-Sleeping Couples

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Side-Sleeping Couples

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
WinkBed
Best for Side-Sleeping Couples

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the WinkBed
Excellent support, especially for back pain
Four firmness options
Tall coils that leave plenty of room for airflow
Cons of the WinkBed
Not the best motion isolation
Higher-quality materials means a higher price

Our Expert’s Take

The WinkBed is a luxury hybrid mattress that features two sets of supportive coils and a plush pillow-top. Overall, it has a traditional innerspring feel because of its coil-on-coil construction. You have a selection of four firmnesses and, if you’re a side sleeper, we recommend the Softer model.

Not only will it give you the contouring you need, but we’ve also chosen it as one of our best mattresses for hip pain.

What the testers say: “During my tests, the WinkBed exhibited great edge support. This is good news for couples. Both partners will be able to use the full surface area of the mattress.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed Mattress

  • This bed has zoned support, which means it is firmer at the center and softer at the shoulders. This design supports a neutral spinal alignment, which makes it particularly great mattress for back pain.
  • It has four different firmness options, so all sleeper types should be able to find a model that works for their needs.
  • It’s made with high quality materials, like a soft Tencel cover and extra coils for edge support.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed Mattress

  • It is one of the more expensive mattresses on our list. Because this mattress is made with many high-quality materials the WinkBed has a higher price point.
  • It doesn’t have the best motion isolation, so you may feel your partner’s movements on your side of the bed.

Other User Reviews

On WinkBeds website, customers gave this mattress 4.8/5 stars. People said they were very happy with how comfortable and supportive this bed felt. However, some customers complained that the mattress was too firm.

For more information, read our full WinkBed mattress review. Or for more options, see our roundup of the best mattresses for couples

Best Cooling Mattress for Side Sleepers – Nolah Evolution

Best Cooling Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Cooling Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Nolah Evolution
Great cooling features
Multiple firmness options to support all body types
Built with reinforced edges for good edge support
Cons of the Nolah Evolution
Likely not firm enough for heavyweight side sleepers who also stomach sleep

Our Expert’s Take

The Nolah Evolution is a luxury mattress that balances comfort and support and comes with a number of cooling features, including the ArcticTex cover with a quilted Euro topper, which helps draw heat away from the body. The bed’s proprietary AirFoamICE is made to prevent heat from getting trapped in the bed, and is swaddled in a heat escape gusset that helps promote airflow.

The Nolah Evolution is also an excellent bed for heavier side sleepers, since the robust construction of thick foams and individually wrapped coils won’t let you sink in too far. For even more support, check out the Nolah Evolution Comfort+, a bed designed for sleepers who weigh 300 lbs or more.

What the testers say: “As someone who sleeps hot, I’m prone to waking up because I’m overheating. Because of this, the Nolah Evolution was perfect for my situation and nailed the nap test. Its thick coils and high-density foams were supportive enough to handle my weight, and its cooling cover and foams helped me nap without overheating in our Austin, TX mattress lab.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • For sleepers who are looking for a good balance of comfort and support, the Nolah Evolution should be a good fit. It’s built to be pressure-relieving thanks to its foams, and the individually wrapped coils add some sturdiness.
  • Like we mentioned above, the Nolah Evolution has some great cooling features such as a cooling cover, temperature-neutral foam, a heat escape gusset, and a layer of coils that help promote airflow.
  • The Nolah Evolution is a hybrid mattress, and while many mattresses with coil layers cause significant motion transfer, this bed has a slower-moving feel thanks to multiple comfort layers that help absorb movement, earning the bed 4/5 from testers on the motion transfer test.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • While the bed excels at isolating motion, the Nolah Evolution doesn’t have as great edge support as some hybrids, which may affect sleepers who tend to drift to the edge of their mattress.
  • This mattress is often sought by sleepers seeking a luxury bedroom upgrade. Consequently, it’s one of the pricier beds we’ve included in our roundup, at around $2,000 for a queen. If you’re on a tighter budget, you may want to consider the more brand’s more humble Nolah Original.

Other User Reviews

Customers on the Nolah site rated the Evolution mattress 4.9/5 stars. Since Nolah doesn’t allow users to filter through ratings on their site, we mostly noticed 5-star reviews on the mattress that highlighted how luxurious and cooling the mattress felt. 

For more information, read our full review of the Nolah Evolution. Or for more options, check out our roundup of the best cooling mattresses.

Best Luxury Mattress for Side Sleepers – Nectar Premier Hybrid

Best Luxury Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nectar Premier Hybrid

Nectar Hybrid Premier Featured

The Nectar Premier Hybrid mattress offers upgraded luxury and comfort. It's great for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Luxury Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nectar Premier Hybrid

Nectar Hybrid Premier Featured

The Nectar Premier Hybrid mattress offers upgraded luxury and comfort. It's great for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Nectar Hybrid Premier Featured
Best Luxury Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nectar Premier Hybrid

The Nectar Premier Hybrid mattress offers upgraded luxury and comfort. It's great for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Our Expert’s Take

While the Nectar Original mattress is known for its excellent value, side sleepers looking for luxury on a budget can still snag a pretty sweet deal with the Nectar Premier Hybrid, on sale for $1,099 (for a queen) at publication time.

The Nectar Premier Hybrid mattress starts with a thin, breathable (and antimicrobial) quilted cover that prevented heat from building up under them, mattress testers said. Next are three comfort layers: 1″ of soft memory foam for a cushy feel, a supportive Active Lift HD foam layer to keep your spine aligned, and a Dynamic Response layer that transitions to the core support layer. The core consists of an 8″ high row of individually wrapped coils, providing bounce and ease of movement, grounded by a high-density foam base layer for added stability.

What the testers say: “Nectar is a brand we love here because of its value. So if you’re wanting to get that luxury mattress experience without breaking the budget, the Premier Hybrid is a fantastic choice. The hybrid construction provides the right amount of lift where I felt great on my side and back.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Premier Hybrid Mattress

  • Luxury and cooling are kind of inseparable concepts when it comes to mattresses, and the Nectar Premier Hybrid fortunately nails both, testers said. The bed’s cooling construction of coils and a breathable cover helped it earn a 4.5/5 score from testers in the mattress lab.
  • Nectar Hybrid Premier has what we call a “balanced foam feel,” which means the bed’s surface is fairly slow-moving, but the coils add a bounciness that makes it more seamless to move around. This balance of support, comfort and responsiveness should appeal to any sleeper looking for a luxury mattress experience.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Premier Hybrid Mattress

  • Dual side and stomach sleepers may not get enough support on the Nectar Hybrid Premier, especially heavier sleepers. If you mostly sleep on your side but sometimes lay prone, we’d recommend checking out the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ as a luxe upgrade option.
  • Unlike the memory foam Nectar, this bed has a lot bounce, and while that makes it easier to position-switch, the Premier Hybrid doesn’t isolate motion as well as the Nectar, scoring a middling 3.5/5 in the category from mattress testers.

Other User Reviews

On Nectar’s site, customers gave the Premier Hybrid a rating of 4.4/5, collected from 1,703 reviews at publication time. Verified buyer Erica E., a self-described side sleeper, said a customer service rep guided her to the Premier Hybrid based on her needs, and it’s a match made in heaven: “It is soft and luxurious, but there is still enough support. The materials used for the mattress that I can touch and see are high quality and feel very nice as well.” Among concerns about the bed, some customers experienced back pain or felt that the mattress was too soft.

For more information, read our full Nectar Premier Hybrid mattress review. Or for more options, see our roundup of the best luxury mattresses.

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers and Muscle Recovery – Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers and Muscle Recovery

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers and Muscle Recovery

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers and Muscle Recovery

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros of the Bear Elite Hybrid
Celliant material may help with blood flow
Great mattress for hot sleepers
Good fit for side and back sleepers
Cons of the Bear Elite Hybrid
Not supportive enough for heavier stomach sleepers
Pricier than other mattress options on the market

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a side sleeper who’s incredibly active and loves a good workout, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress should be a fantastic fit. Bear uses a material called Celliant, which reportedly helps with muscle recovery. From testing, we know Celliant is definitely a cooling material, so it should help cool you down after an evening workout.

We recommend the Soft or Medium models of this bed for the most pressure relief; they have cushioning memory foam that should relieve most pressure on your shoulders and hips, but there are also coils at the bottom to keep your spine aligned.

What the testers say: “The Bear Elite mattress has a balanced foam feel. When you rest on it, you’ll feel the thick comfort layers cushion your body. The strong support coils create a responsive feel, so it’s easy to move around on top of this bed. You shouldn’t “stuck inside” this mattress.”Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • It’s a great bed for hot sleepers. It coils promote lots of airflow, and it has a cooling cover, which is quilted with phase change material, a thermal fabric that helps dissipate body heat.
  • Some studies show Celliant, which is woven into this mattress, may help improve blood flow and promote muscle recovery.
  • The Bear Elite Hybrid has zoned support, which means it’s firmer at the hips and softer at the shoulders. This construction helps promote a healthy, neutral spinal alignment.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Stomach sleepers will want to look for a firmer mattress. These sleepers would sink too far into this bed, which would throw their spine out of alignment.
  • The Bear Elite Hybrid is Bear’s luxury offering, and as such, it comes with a luxury price tag.

Other User Reviews

Bear customers gave the Elite Hybrid 4.4/5 stars, from 265 reviews at the time of writing. Many raved about this mattress’s ideal level of support and comfort. However, some users wrote that the bed sagged in the middle after some use.

For more information, read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review. Not sure Bear is right for you, check out our best mattresses for athletes for other options. 

Best Soft Mattress for Side Sleepers – Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

Best Soft Mattress for Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Soft Mattress for Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review
Best Soft Mattress for Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe
Very durable, especially for the value
Great cooling
Four comfort layers offer excellent contouring
A classic medium-firm feel most sleepers will enjoy
Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe
The bounciness may not appeal to stomach sleepers
Not a typical, slow-moving memory foam mattress

Our Expert’s Take

In Tchaikovsky’s famous ballet adaptation of the fairy tale, a princess named Aurora sleeps for 100 years. You, too, may never want to be roused from your side sleeping slumber once you’ve nestled into the Aurora Luxe. Simply put, the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe has everything side sleepers need. When resting on top of the hybrid mattress, our testers experienced plenty of lower back support and luxurious pressure relief.

The four comfort layers have built-in cooling features, and thanks to the balanced hybrid feel, it should be easy to move around on this high-end mattress—there’s just the right amount of bounce and responsiveness. Best of all, Brooklyn Bedding creates all of its mattresses at its owned-and-operated factory in Phoenix, Arizona. That way, the brand can cut costs and pass the savings onto customers.

What the testers say: “As I was lying on my side on the Aurora Luxe, I felt good body contouring happening around my hips and shoulders. This should help alleviate pain along those pressure points. But, the coils still supported me enough so that I didn’t feel like I was sinking into it too much.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

  • This mattress is very affordable for a luxury mattress. Brooklyn Bedding owns its own factory, so it’s able to keep costs low.
  • The Aurora Luxe has a medium-firm feel that will appeal to most sleepers. We would readily recommend the bed to almost all average weight back and side sleepers.
  • It sleeps very cool thanks to an advanced cooling panel inside the cover, and a high-quality coil system that helps air flow easily through the mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

  • If you’re after a slow-moving, memory foam bed that will contour around your whole body, you may want to look elsewhere. This bed has a more responsive feel.
  • This bed is not firm enough for heavier-weight stomach sleepers. They need a bed that will keep their hips propped up in line with their shoulders.

Other User Reviews

Brooklyn Bedding customers gave the Aurora Luxe 4.7/5 stars, from 3,500+ reviews at the time of writing. Many remarked that the bed provided a nice, memory foam-like feel without too much sinkage. Some users remarked that the bed felt too firm, but others found it too soft.

For more information, read our full Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe mattress review. Or for more options, see our roundup of the best soft mattresses

Best Mattress for Heavy Side Sleepers – Titan Plus Luxe

Best Mattress for Heavy Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

Titan Luxe Hybrid Mattress Review

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Heavy Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

Titan Luxe Hybrid Mattress Review

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Titan Luxe Hybrid Mattress Review
Best Mattress for Heavy Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros of the Titan Plus Luxe
Specifically made for heavier weight sleepers
Cooling features
Excellent for heavy back sleepers
Good bounce and responsiveness
Cons of the Titan Plus Luxe
Doesn’t offer a slow-moving feel
Might be too soft for heavier stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Heavy side sleepers are in a tricky spot when it comes to purchasing a new mattress. They’ll need a comfort layer that gives them enough pressure relief on their shoulders and hips but is also supportive enough to keep them from sinking too far into the layers. In fact, Brooklyn Bedding designed this mattress specifically for heavy people over 230 lb.

What’s more, the Titan Plus Luxe also has some great cooling features. The foam layers of the mattress are infused with gel which helps dissipate heat, and the coil layer helps promote airflow. If you’re an especially hot sleeper, you can also add a cooling panel to the cover of the mattress for an additional cost.

What the testers say: “I’m a bigger guy, and the Titan Plus Luxe is made for larger and taller people like me. In my testing, the Titan Plus Luxe offered great pressure relief and response. It was easy to move around, and I didn’t feel too much pressure on my shoulders and hips. Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus Luxe

  • The Titan Plus Luxe is the upgraded version of the Titan Plus. It has added features like plusher foams for more comfort and taller coils for added support.
  • It was made specifically for heavy people. This bed won’t sag in the middle or envelop larger sleepers. It’s designed to support a total of 1,000 lb. I’d recommend the Titan Plus Luxe as one of the best mattresses for heavy people.
  • The Titan Plus Luxe does a great job at sleeping cool. It has airflow-promoting coils and gel-infused memory foam quilted into its cover. You can also opt, for an additional fee, for a cover cooling panel made with phase change material, a special thermal fabric that dissipates body heat.

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus Luxe

  • If you like to really sink into your mattress, and feel it contour around you, you will likely want to look elsewhere. This bed has a more “on top” of the bed feel.
  • This bed isn’t going to be a great option for lightweight sleepers. Since it was designed with heavy people in mind, it has an ultra supportive, firmer feel that most light sleepers will likely not enjoy.

Other User Reviews

On Titan’s website, 1,490 reviewers gave the Titan Plus Luxe 4.6/5 stars. Many customers remarked on how supportive the mattress was, and that it was great for heavy people. However, some customers complained that the mattress was too soft.

For more information, read our full Titan Plus Luxe mattress review. Or for more options, see our roundup of the best mattresses for heavy people

Other Mattresses for Side Sleepers We Like

While these mattresses didn’t make our top 8 recommendations, these mattresses are still a great option for people who are looking for a mattress for side sleepers. Check out our recommendations below.

DreamCloud Premier Rest

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier rest mattress on a bed frame

The DreamCloud Premier Rest is a luxury mattress option that sleeps cool and is a particularly good option for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

DreamCloud Premier Rest

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier rest mattress on a bed frame

The DreamCloud Premier Rest is a luxury mattress option that sleeps cool and is a particularly good option for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier rest mattress on a bed frame

DreamCloud Premier Rest

The DreamCloud Premier Rest is a luxury mattress option that sleeps cool and is a particularly good option for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
It works well for side sleepers because it offers plenty of pressure relief for shoulders and hips.
It has a luxurious, high-end feel.
Cons
It’s not supportive enough for stomach sleepers.
Because it’s a luxurious mattress, it has a higher price point.

TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress

tempur cloud airtable

The Tempur-Cloud promises to provide the soft comfort consumers have come to expect from Tempur-Pedic mattresses, but for a more affordable price.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

90 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress

tempur cloud airtable

The Tempur-Cloud promises to provide the soft comfort consumers have come to expect from Tempur-Pedic mattresses, but for a more affordable price.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

90 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
tempur cloud airtable

TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress

The Tempur-Cloud promises to provide the soft comfort consumers have come to expect from Tempur-Pedic mattresses, but for a more affordable price.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

90 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
reasonably priced for a Tempurpedic Mattress, making it an affordable mattress
The medium-firm feel is great for supporting side and back sleepers
Absorbs movement very well, making it a great mattress for couples
Cons
The multiple layers of foam traps heat, making this not a great mattress for hot sleepers
While medium-firm, it’s not firm enough to support stomach sleepers
The slow moving feel of this mattress, might not make it great for those with mobility issues

Sealy Posturepedic

Sealy Posturepedic construction

The Sealy Posturepedic hybrid mattress has a balanced foam feel, and it works well for many different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review

Sealy Posturepedic

Sealy Posturepedic construction

The Sealy Posturepedic hybrid mattress has a balanced foam feel, and it works well for many different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review
Sealy Posturepedic construction

Sealy Posturepedic

The Sealy Posturepedic hybrid mattress has a balanced foam feel, and it works well for many different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Sealy Chill cover helps to keep hot sleepers cool
Isolates motion well, making it a good mattress for couples
The soft feel helps to alleviate pressure on the shoulders and hips making it a suitable mattress for side sleepers
Cons
Has a balanced hybrid feel, if you’re looking for a memory foam feel this mattress might not be for you
Lightweight side sleepers might not get the compression they need from this mattress

What to Look for in a Mattress for Side Sleepers

Although the medical community doesn’t offer a clear-cut consensus on a “best” sleep position per se, physicians from trusted institutions like Johns Hopkins assert both benefits and drawbacks to side sleeping. For instance: you can alleviate sleep apnea with side sleeping, but also agitate heartburn if you’re a right-side sleeper. And unfortunately your body is susceptible to even dicier conditions when you lay on your side after a long night of drinking, like a compression of the radial nerve colloquially known as “Saturday Night Palsy.”  Like the hangover that accompanies the palsy, while there are some remedies available, you’re far better off preventing aches, pains, and numbness with a pressure-relieving mattress.

Sleeping on a high-quality mattress that offers both support and comfort on your side will benefit not just your sleep quality, but how your body feels when it’s time to greet the day. For these reasons, we’ve made a comprehensive guide on what to look for when shopping for the best mattress for side sleeping, starting with a factor we’ve mentioned several times already: pressure relief.

Great Pressure Relief

If you sleep on your side, you’re going to be naturally putting a lot of pressure on your hips, shoulders, and neck, which can cause tension throughout the spine.

To sleep comfortably, you’ll want a mattress that is soft enough to relieve those pressure points; foam mattresses tend to be great at relieving pressure points and can be ideal for side sleepers.

If a mattress is too firm, it will cut off a lot of the blood circulation in the body and potentially cause major aches and pains because it doesn’t contour to the widest points in the hips and shoulders. It could also cause side sleepers to wake up in the middle of the night and change positions.

Mattress testing the Helix in he studio
Our lead mattress reviewer, Marten, testing the Nectar mattress

Support to Avoid Neck Pain

If you have neck pain and sleep on your side, it’s quite possible that this is due to your pillow, not your bed frame or mattress. If your pillow isn’t supportive enough, then your neck will be angled downward in an uncomfortable position. Similarly, if your pillow is particularly thick, then your neck might be pushed upwards, causing even more annoying pain issues.

MC Neck Alignment Graphic 191101

So, instead of recommending a bed or mattress to alleviate neck pain, we encourage you to check out our article on the best pillows for side sleepers. Any of the recommendations in our informative roundup should help alleviate any sort of neck pain issues that you may get from your bed.

Support to Avoid Back Pain

First off, if you struggle with lower back pain, you should consult with a doctor for a professional opinion. This information does not constitute medical advice, and we can only give a general opinion on the relationship between back pain and mattresses.

Contouring to Avoid Hip Pain

If you struggle with hip pain, it might be because of your mattress. However, you should first consult a doctor before anything else. Again, the information in this article does not constitute medical advice.

Spinal Alignment

The best mattress for back pain is something that’s medium firm and supportive. This is easy enough for back and stomach sleepers, but gets a little tricky when it comes to sleeping on your side. Side sleepers are usually going to want to find a mattress that’s on the softer side with a thicker comfort layer to keep the right spine alignment throughout the night.

Essentially, those with back pain are going to want a measured balance of pressure and relief and support. They don’t want the comfort layer to be too soft or too thin.

Matching Your Budget

From our personal experience, budget mattresses aren’t always the best for side sleeping. Usually, they’re really firm and don’t have much of a comfort layer, thus creating pressure points. This can make it difficult for side sleepers to find a good mattress in a box for under $700.

That said, the Nectar mattress is a good value pick for side sleepers. It has two layers of memory foam that offer excellent pressure relief and prevent sleepers from overheating at night.

What Is The Best Mattress Firmness for Side Sleepers?

A bed’s firmness level will significantly impact how comfortable it is. Of course, firmness is highly subjective, and it greatly depends on body type. But overall, we recommend that side sleepers look for a mattress that’s slightly softer than average—about 6/10 on our firmness scale. For reference, 6.5/10 represents the industry standard of medium-firm.

Check out our chart below for the full breakdown of body type and firmness level:

Weight RangeFirmness Level
Lightweight: under 130 lb6/10, medium-soft
Average Weight: 130 – 230 lb6/10, medium-soft
Heavyweight: Over 230 lb6.5 – 7/10, medium-firm

Plush mattresses typically have thick comfort layers, which help alleviate pressure along the shoulders and hips. If a bed is too firm, you may sink straight through the comfort layers into the support section. This could strain pressure points and cause pain over time.

You’ll want to avoid particularly soft mattresses, too. It’s important to sleep on a supportive foundation so the body stays in the proper alignment.

What is the Best Type of Mattress for Side Sleepers?

With so many mattresses on the market, it can be difficult to find the right one for you. Here are the best type of mattresses for side sleepers.

mattress construction testing
Our lead mattress reviewer, Marten, testing in our sleep lab

Memory Foam Mattresses

It’s no coincidence that there are multiple memory foam mattresses on this list. They do a fantastic job of relieving pressure when compared with other types of materials, and they’re also great at isolating motion.

A lot of memory foam owners complain about “sleeping hot.” That’s because memory foam can trap heat more than other mattress materials. But many brands combat this problem by infusing their beds with cooling technology such as gel or copper-infused foam. A breathable mattress cover is also important.

Hybrid Mattresses

Hybrid mattresses are unique in that they combine some or all of the materials we’ve already mentioned. The most common construction you’ll find is a support layer of steel coils topped with layers of foam—usually memory foam, latex foam, or a proprietary material specific to the mattress brand.

Because of the breadth of materials involved, hybrid mattresses can be wide-ranging in their feel and firmness. But in general, they’re going to be more supportive than all-foam beds, in addition to being bouncier and more responsive. They tend to be a good pick for side sleepers who want a blend of comfort and support without the sleep surface being too soft.

Our top pick, the Helix Midnight, is an example of a hybrid mattress. It contains coil layers that add more support to the softer foams above. This provides a nice balance of contour and pushback that side sleepers need.

What Mattress Types Are Not As Good for Side Sleepers?

Innerspring Mattresses

A truly innerspring mattress—not to be confused with the aforementioned hybrid mattress, as sometimes the terms are used interchangeably—will lack the foam comfort layers of a hybrid. Instead, an intertwined coil system, or rows of pocketed coils, will comprise the bulk of the bed’s build. Although the coils will provide lift and support, the lack of a contouring and pressure-relieving memory foam layer will probably make for an uncomfortable night’s sleep for a side sleeper, especially those who like to cozy in a bit to the bed’s surface. If you already have an innerspring mattress and are on a tight budget, consider adding a memory foam mattress topper. Just note that if the springs in your mattress are uneven or sagging after years of wear, a mattress topper won’t be enough of a remedy to keep your hips supported and spine aligned.

Latex Mattresses

It’s not an iron-clad rule, but our testers tend to shy away from recommending latex mattresses to side sleepers. Latex foam, even the typical “Talalay latex,” manufactured to feel softer, tends to feel firmer and less pressure-relieving than memory foam comfort layers. However, naturally derived latex does tend to be more breathable and sleep less hot than memory foam, so if you like a mattress with more bouncy responsiveness and don’t mind a firmer surface, latex could be a good option. 

Tips for Side Sleeping

In addition to choosing the right mattress and pillow, here are some other tips side sleepers can take to get a good night’s rest.

  • Keep a neutral posture: When you turn on your side to fall asleep, make sure your body is relaxed and not twisted into an uneven position.
  • Put a pillow between your legs: Some side sleepers cause themselves discomfort when their knees rub up against each other. Sleeping with a pillow between your legs can minimize this friction and treat your lower body to some added plushness.
  • Add more pillows: Side sleepers usually need a higher pillow loft to keep their neck, shoulders, and spine in a neutral alignment. If you feel like you need a taller loft, create one yourself by stacking up your pillows.

Benefits of Side Sleeping

Side sleeping is one of the healthiest sleep positions, especially for back pain. Learn how to become a side sleeper in our comprehensive guide, and be sure to check out our article on which side you should sleep on to get the best night’s sleep.

Summary of the Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers

MattressSuperlative
Helix MidnightBest Overall
SaatvaBest Innerspring Mattress for Side Sleepers
NectarBest Medium-Firm Mattress for Side Sleepers
WinkBedBest for Side-Sleeping Couples
Nolah EvolutionBest Cooling Mattress for Side Sleepers
Nectar Premier HybridBest Luxury Mattress for Side Sleepers
Bear Elite HybridBest Mattress for Side Sleepers and Muscle Recovery
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora LuxeBest Soft Mattress for Side Sleepers
Titan Plus LuxeBest Mattress for Heavy Side Sleepers

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers FAQs

What kind of mattress is best for side sleepers?

Side sleepers should look for a mattress that is softer than average, about 5-6.5/10 on our firmness scale. A mattress within this firmness range should relieve pressure on the shoulders and hips. Anything higher than a 7 on the firmness scale is too firm for most side sleepers.

What mattress is best for side sleepers who have back pain?

There’s no true best mattress for side sleepers with back pain because everyone differs in body type. However, we recommend searching for a high-quality hybrid mattress that offers both comfort and support. This should help side sleepers maintain the proper spinal alignment and it should also prevent back pain.

What type of mattress should a side sleeper use?

Memory foam mattresses are great for side sleepers. These beds have a slow-moving feel, which allows sleepers to sink into the layers and feel the pressure relief they need.

You could also opt for an innerspring mattress that has a soft pillow top, such as the Saatva Classic. This bed offers both comfort and support.

What types of mattresses should side sleepers avoid?

Generally, latex mattresses don’t work well for side sleepers. Latex foam usually feels quite firm, so it doesn’t offer the pressure relief side sleepers need.

Sources

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.