Best Twin Size Mattress – Which Is Right For You?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Though they may be small, twin mattresses are mighty. This type of mattress is great for kids and adults alike. If you’re looking for a bed for a kid’s room, dorm room, or guest room, a twin might be just the ticket. Twin beds can also be a great choice for single adults with small bedrooms. Below, you’ll find a list of our favorite twin size mattresses, with options for all types of sleepers.

How We Chose Our Products

Our team of sleep specialists has reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

Since mattress size isn’t the most scientific of categories, we looked at how much each of these products costs for a full, then compared that to the overall score. To ensure that we only included high-quality mattresses, we stuck with beds that scored at least a 3.5 out of 5, with five of them scoring a 4 or higher. The highest-scoring beds are the WinkBed (4.4), Nectar (4.3), and Saatva (4.1).

The Best Twin Size Mattresses

  • DreamCloud – Editor’s Pick
  • Helix Kids – Best Twin Mattress for Kids
  • Nectar – Best Twin Mattress for Toddlers
  • Saatva – Best Twin Size Mattress for Adults
  • Birch – Best Organic Twin Mattress
  • Leesa Studio – Best Affordable Twin Mattress
  • WinkBed – Best Firm Twin Mattress
  • Layla – Best Memory Foam Twin Mattress
Editor's Pick

DreamCloud Mattress

DreamCloud is a supportive, comfortable hybrid mattress with a high-end design.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Editor's Pick

DreamCloud Mattress

DreamCloud is a supportive, comfortable hybrid mattress with a high-end design.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Editor's Pick

DreamCloud Mattress

DreamCloud is a supportive, comfortable hybrid mattress with a high-end design.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

DreamCloud

Our editor’s pick for the best twin mattress is the DreamCloud because it’s one of our most crowd-pleasing mattresses. It has a medium-firm, bouncy but not too bouncy feel that most sleepers should enjoy. It’s made from a combination of high-quality foams and innerspring coils. It also comes at an affordable price point!

What Makes the DreamCloud Stand Out?

  • It’s a luxury hybrid mattress that won’t break the bank
  • Sleepers who prefer a more “on top” of the bed feel will love this buoyant bed
  • It’s medium-firm feel should please a range of sleepers

Learn more in our full DreamCloud mattress review

Best Twin Mattress for Kids

Helix Kids Mattress

The Helix Kids mattress is a twin size option made specifically for kids.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Kids Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 Nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Twin Mattress for Kids

Helix Kids Mattress

The Helix Kids mattress is a twin size option made specifically for kids.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Kids Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 Nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Twin Mattress for Kids

Helix Kids Mattress

The Helix Kids mattress is a twin size option made specifically for kids.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Kids Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

100 Nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Helix Kids

If you’re looking for a mattress for your child, you’ll want to keep a few things in mind. First, you’ll want to make sure it’s affordable, particularly if you have more than one kid (bunk beds, anyone?). Second, you’ll want it to be comfortable for your child as they grow. In comes the Helix Kids mattress. This bed comes in at a value price, but has a few great perks, like its flippability — it has a soft side and a firm side.

What Makes the Helix Kids Stand Out?

  • It has two firmness levels; the firmer side is meant for younger children to support growing spines, while the soft side is best for kids up to 12
  • It has plenty of cooling technology so it’s great for hot sleepers
  • It’s non-toxic and water-repellent

Read our full Helix Kids mattress review

Best Twin Mattress for Toddlers

Nectar Mattress

The Nectar is a comfortable memory foam option for toddlers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Twin Mattress for Toddlers

Nectar Mattress

The Nectar is a comfortable memory foam option for toddlers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Twin Mattress for Toddlers

Nectar Mattress

The Nectar is a comfortable memory foam option for toddlers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nectar

The Nectar mattress is a great choice for toddlers because it has a slow-moving feel that should keep them sleeping comfortably in place. This memory foam mattress has some nice sinkage, so it will contour around your toddler’s body. This should help produce an effect similar to swaddling, and could help them sleep.

What Makes the Nectar Stand Out?

  • It’s budget-friendly
  • It has a breathable cover and a top layer of cooling gel memory foam
  • It offers great pressure relief, making it a good pick for side sleepers

Check out our full Nectar mattress review

Best Twin Mattress for Adults

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is a comfortable innerspring twin mattress that will work well for adults.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Twin Mattress for Adults

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is a comfortable innerspring twin mattress that will work well for adults.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Twin Mattress for Adults

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is a comfortable innerspring twin mattress that will work well for adults.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Saatva

Twin mattresses can be a great choice for single adults, especially if you’re trying to make the most of a small bedroom. The Saatva is a classic innerspring mattress that has a medium-firm feel. Its steel coils allow for plenty of airflow, making it rather cooling. It also has fantastic edge support, which means you won’t feel like the bed is collapsing beneath you while laying on the edges.

What Makes the Saatva Stand Out?

  • It’s offered in three firmness options, so there is one to suit every sleeper
  • It comes in a twin and a twin XL (great news for tall sleepers)
  • The mattress features zoning that could help combat back pain
  • It has a bouncy feel that combination sleepers will enjoy

Learn more in our full Saatva mattress review

Best Organic Twin Mattress

Birch Mattress

The Birch is an eco-friendly twin mattress with great cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Birch Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Twin Mattress

Birch Mattress

The Birch is an eco-friendly twin mattress with great cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Birch Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Twin Mattress

Birch Mattress

The Birch is an eco-friendly twin mattress with great cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Birch Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Birch

Are you an eco-friendly shopper? Then you’ll definitely want to check out the Birch mattress. It’s made with a combination of high-quality materials like latex foam, pocketed coils, natural wool, and organic cotton. It has a firmer feel that will be a great match for back sleepers and stomach sleepers. Latex mattresses are naturally cooling, so this bed is also a nice choice for hot sleepers.

What Makes the Birch Stand Out?

  • It’s made with eco-friendly materials that are GreenGuard Gold and Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) certified
  • The mattress features hypoallergenic materials, making it great for those with allergies
  • It has a bouncy, firmer feel that back and stomach sleepers should love
  • It’s a great mattress for hot sleepers

Learn more in our full Birch mattress review

Best Affordable Twin Mattress

Studio by Leesa Mattress

The Leesa Studio is a great twin mattress that is easy on the wallet.

Clarity Score 3.4/5
Read Studio by Leesa Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Affordable Twin Mattress

Studio by Leesa Mattress

The Leesa Studio is a great twin mattress that is easy on the wallet.

Clarity Score 3.4/5
Read Studio by Leesa Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Affordable Twin Mattress

Studio by Leesa Mattress

The Leesa Studio is a great twin mattress that is easy on the wallet.

Clarity Score 3.4/5
Read Studio by Leesa Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Leesa Studio

If you’re looking for a bed that won’t break the bank, you might want to consider the Leesa Studio. This foam bed is made from three foam layers, including memory foam, pressure-relieving foam, and a base layer of high-density foam. These layers of foam will cushion pressure points nicely, making for a nice sleeping experience.

What Makes the Leesa Studio Stand Out?

  • It is a value mattress, making it a great choice for guest rooms
  • It has a medium-firm feel, so it should suit a range of sleeping positions
  • It has a 10-year warranty

Learn more in our full Leesa Studio mattress review

Best Firm Twin Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Leesa is a comfortable foam mattress that offers great pressure relief for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Twin Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Leesa is a comfortable foam mattress that offers great pressure relief for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Twin Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Leesa is a comfortable foam mattress that offers great pressure relief for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a quality mattress that consistently makes our lists as one of the best hybrid mattresses on the market. It is made with a combination of soft foams and strong, supportive coils that give it a nice, balanced feel and help support a neutral spinal alignment. It has a Euro-style pillow top that adds a plush feel that should make for a good night’s sleep.

What Makes the WinkBed Stand Out?

  • It comes in three firmness options, so whether you like a soft or firm mattress, you’re covered
  • It’s made to be cooling and won’t trap body heat
  • It comes with a lifetime warranty

Check out our full WinkBed mattress review

Best Memory Foam Twin Mattress

Layla Mattress

The Layla is a twin mattress that offers that great memory foam feel.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Layla Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Twin Mattress

Layla Mattress

The Layla is a twin mattress that offers that great memory foam feel.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Layla Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Twin Mattress

Layla Mattress

The Layla is a twin mattress that offers that great memory foam feel.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Layla Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Layla

The Layla mattress is a flippable memory foam mattress. It has both a firm side and a soft side, so whether you’re a side, back, or stomach sleeper, you should find one that works for you. Though memory foam mattresses are prone to trapping heat, the Layla mitigates this through a combination of cooling foam and a Thermogel cover, which helps draw heat away from the sleeper’s body.

What Makes the Layla Stand Out?

  • It’s flippable, with a soft side and a firm side
  • Its memory foam helps reduce motion transfer, so you shouldn’t feel your partner’s movements
  • It’s a bed-in-a-box mattress that ships in a convenient box to your home

Read our full Layla mattress review

Twin Size Mattress Dimensions

A standard twin size mattress is 39” wide by 74” long. You might see some small variations in these dimensions, but a twin size mattress will always be close to 39” x 74”.

Twin vs Full Mattress

A full size mattress is 54” wide by 74” long. You get the same amount of length with a twin mattress, but 15” less width. Because of this, the full size mattress is going to be a better option for couples. A twin size mattress is going to be very tight for couples, but a full size offers around 27” for each partner.

In addition, a full size offers more room for adults and teenagers. A twin size will work better for children, smaller teenagers, and those who have a very limited amount of space in their bedroom.

For more information, make sure to read our twin vs full mattress comparison.

Twin vs Twin XL Mattress

A twin XL mattress 39” wide by 80” long. Most twin XL mattresses are the same width as twin mattresses, but they provide 6” more length. They are the same length as a king mattress and, when you combine two twin xls mattresses, they are exactly the same size as a king.

With their extra length, twin XL mattresses are a good choice for taller children and teenagers as well. You’ll also find twin XL mattresses in most college dorm rooms. Twin mattresses will be better for smaller children and those who are on a very tight budget.

Take a look at our twin vs twin XL mattress comparison.

Who Should Consider Buying A Twin Mattress?

Who exactly should get a twin size bed. While twin mattresses are quite small, they are still going to work for a few different types of sleepers.

  • Single adults. If you sleep by yourself and need a new mattress, a twin size could work very well for you. A twin size won’t take up too much room and, as we will get into below, could save you quite a bit of money.
  • Those who need a great mattress for kids. Besides crib mattresses, twin size mattresses are the smallest options out there. This makes them a great option for kids who have outgrown their crib mattress. The majority of bunk beds are also designed to hold twin size mattresses, so they are great for two children sharing a bedroom.
  • Smaller teenagers. If you are a parent who needs a mattress for a larger or taller teenager, a twin size mattress might not be big enough. However, if your teenager is on the smaller side, a twin size mattress could give them enough room to sleep comfortably. For more options, check out our best mattresses for teenagers roundup.
  • People with very limited space. Again, twin size mattresses are the smallest options on the market. If you live in a particularly small apartment or room, a twin size mattress will definitely fit.Price Graphic
  • Those who need a mattress for a guest room. If you have a smaller guest room, a twin size mattress could be a great choice. Twin size mattresses take up very little space and could work for guests.
  • Shoppers on a very tight budget. If your budget is low, a twin size mattress could be a good way to save some extra money. It will also allow you to buy a higher-quality mattress without spending as much as you would for a full, queen, or king.

Who Shouldn’t Consider Buying A Twin Mattress?

Twin size mattresses aren’t going to work for everyone. If the following applies to you, you might want to consider a different size mattress.

  • Heavier people. If you are a heavier person, a twin size might not be the right mattress for you. You will want to take a look at a mattress for heavy people and also consider a queen or king size mattress to get the right amount of space.Mattresses For Heavy Sleeper
  • Taller people. Being only 75” long, twin mattresses aren’t going to be long enough for most taller people. They will definitely feel their feet hanging off the edge of the bed. Tall people should look at a twin XL or something larger.
  • Couples. If you sleep with a partner, a twin size mattress will probably be too small for you. A twin size mattress is barely large enough for one adult, let alone two. You should at least consider a full size mattress for you and your partner.

How Much Does a Twin Mattress Cost?

The price of a twin size mattress will depend on a few factors: materials, quality, and brand. For instance, a lower-end memory foam mattress on Amazon might only cost around $100 for a twin size. On the other hand, a latex mattress from a nicer brand could cost upwards of $1100.

That being said, most twin size mattresses will cost an average of $300. Just keep in mind that a higher-end twin size mattress could last longer than something on the lower end.

Summary

Here’s a summary of the best twin size mattresses.

Mattress Superlative
DreamCloud Editor’s Pick
Helix Kids Best Mattress for Kids
Nectar Best Twin Mattress for Toddlers
Saatva Best Twin Size Mattress for Adults
Birch Best Organic Mattress
Leesa Studio Best Affordable Mattress
WinkBed Best Firm Mattress
Layla Best Memory Foam Mattress

FAQs

How big is a twin size mattress?

A twin size mattress is usually 38” wide and 75” long. These dimensions might vary by one or two inches, however.

Do two twin size mattresses make a king?

No, two twin size mattresses do not make a king. Two twin XL mattresses, when put together, are the same size as a king mattress.

How much does a twin mattress weigh?

It depends on the specific mattress, but twin mattresses usually weigh between 40 and 50 lbs. A twin size latex mattress might weigh more, and a twin size innerspring mattress might weigh less.

Gravatar for Marten Carlson

Marten Carlson

Marten is Senior Editor at Mattress Clarity. He covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films. He has directed genre short films and features. His newest film, Starlets, recently premiered at the River Town Film Festival in Clinton, NJ. He also stars in the upcoming thriller, Sour Bear. His next film, At The Hop, is a hot rod actioner with a horror twist.