Best Mattress for a Guest Room 2023

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

It’s so fun to have house guests — they hog the bathroom, leave dishes in the sink, and eat the very last cookie. Still, everyone wants to be a good host and ensure guests are as comfortable as possible. One way to do that is to find the best mattress for a guest room.

Finding a comfortable mattress for the guest room can go a long way, but what should people be looking for when they are shopping? Well, we have a list of mattresses that should be a fantastic fit for many types of sleepers. Whether it’s a mother-in-law coming for an extra-long stay or an old friend from college who just needs to crash on their way cross country, we’ve got them covered.

Read on to find the best mattresses for a guest room!

Our Top Picks

The best mattresses for a guest room are:

Best Mattress for a Guest Room 2023: Our Video Roundup

Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Bowery Mattress

The Brooklyn Bedding Bowery is an affordable mattress that a lot of people will like because of its value and the pressure relief it provides.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Bowery Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$499 - $2449

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Bowery Mattress

The Brooklyn Bedding Bowery is an affordable mattress that a lot of people will like because of its value and the pressure relief it provides.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Bowery Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$499 - $2449

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Bowery Mattress

The Brooklyn Bedding Bowery is an affordable mattress that a lot of people will like because of its value and the pressure relief it provides.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Bowery Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$499 - $2449

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Luxury is great and all, but some people are looking for the best deal possible on a guest room mattress. And when it comes to value, Brooklyn Bedding is hard to beat. The company owns its own factory, so all of its beds are priced competitively. Their most affordable mattress option is the Brooklyn Bedding Bowery, a streamlined, all-foam mattress. Before sales and discounts, it sits under $900, which is an incredible price for such a quality brand.

The Brooklyn Bedding Bowery consists of three foam layers — a comfort layer, a transition layer, and a base layer. The comfort layer contains Energex foam, a bouncier and more breathable alternative to memory foam. Guests shouldn’t feel like they are getting stuck in the mattress, and they shouldn’t be sleeping particularly hot.

The Bowery is going to be an excellent fit for lightweight sleepers such as teenagers and children. Lighter side sleepers should also experience some exceptional pressure relief on the Bowery.

What Makes the Bowery Stand Out?

  • The Bowery is a great value. It’s only priced at around $699.00 for a Queen-size mattress.
  • The mattress should be a great fit for lightweight side sleepers.
  • Guests should not complain about getting stuck or sleeping hot on the Bowery.

Read our full Bowery mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding Bowery mattress, check out our list of the best affordable mattresses for more great options.

Best for the Money

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for the Money

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for the Money

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Saying a bed is the best mattress for the money can mean a few different things. It can be something that will last you a long time, something that’s fairly affordable, or just an investment that works for just about anyone. In the case of the Helix Midnight, it checks all the boxes!

The Helix Midnight is a standout amongst the six models by Helix because it’s just a universal mattress. It works best for side sleepers, thanks to the presence of memory foam in the comfort layer. But the springs at the bottom mean you won’t feel stuck in the layers.

The Midnight won’t trap too much heat, due to a breathable cover and coils for airflow. It’s fairly affordable, coming in a little over $1,000 for a queen.

What Makes the Helix Midnight Mattress Stand Out?

  • This mattress is a 7/10 on our firmness scale, which is just a bit firmer than medium firm. But it’s a great option for back and side sleepers who want comfort and support.
  • While there’s the Helix Midnight Luxe upgrade, the standard Midnight is a great choice for the guest room for its affordable price.
  • If the Helix Midnight doesn’t work for you, you can take a quiz on Helix’s website for a personalized recommendation.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for the money for more great options.

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Today, many people are fans of memory foam mattresses. This type of material offers great pressure relief, contouring, and an overall comfortable feel. Those who think a memory foam mattress would be a good match for their guests should consider the Nectar.

The Nectar features 2″ of gel memory foam over a transition layer and base layer, allowing the mattress to exhibit that slow-moving feel that many expect from a memory foam mattress. Lying on the Nectar, house guests should feel themselves slowly sink into the mattress and feel it conform to the body.

The 3″ of soft memory foam makes the Nectar a very good match for side sleepers; guests should feel almost no pressure on their shoulders and hips in this position. At the same time, they should be able to switch to their back and get some good support and contouring.

Finally, the Nectar is quite affordable for a memory foam mattress; a Queen size is currently around $999.00.

What Makes the Nectar Stand Out?

  • The Nectar boasts a classic memory foam feel that lets sleepers slowly sink into the mattress.
  • The mattress should offer great pressure relief for side sleepers and good support for back sleepers.
  • The memory foam is infused with gel to keep the mattress from trapping too much heat.

Read our full Nectar mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nectar mattress, check out our list of the best memory foam mattresses for more great options.

Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Original Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$899 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Original Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$899 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Original Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$899 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

The majority of people who need a mattress for a guest room are seeking out the best deal possible. But what about those who want to splurge a bit and buy a luxury mattress for their house guests? That is why I added the DreamCloud to this list. It’s a luxury hybrid mattress that should make guests feel like they are truly sleeping in style.

The DreamCloud is a great hybrid mattress that contains individually wrapped coils, a comfort layer of soft memory foam, and a cover made of a cashmere blend. The cover is even quilted with a bit of foam for some softness.

The mattress’s hybrid construction provides the mattress with an excellent balance of comfort and support. In terms of firmness, the DreamCloud is a 7.5/10, meaning that it sleeps firmer than the average bed. The coils are quite supportive and the memory foam provides excellent pressure relief.

What Makes the DreamCloud Stand Out?

  • The cashmere cover is breathable and soft to the touch.
  • The cover and airflow-promoting coils should make the DreamCloud a suitable option for hot sleepers.
  • The mattress has a perfect balance of comfort and support, and should be a particularly good match for back sleepers and lightweight sleepers of all sleeping positions.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the DreamCloud mattress, check out our list of the best hybrid mattresses for more great options.

Most Comfortable Mattress for Guest Room

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 Nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$925 - $2630

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Most Comfortable Mattress for Guest Room

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 Nights

Price Range

$925 - $2630

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Most Comfortable Mattress for Guest Room

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

365 Nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$925 - $2630

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

One of the best ways for a brand to increase the comfort of a mattress is to outfit it with a pillow-top. Pillow-tops are often cushy, contouring, and create a luxurious sleeping experience. That’s exactly why we think the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid is one of the most comfortable mattresses for a guest room out there.

Not only is its pillow-top ultra-plush — it’s also zoned, meaning that it has different levels of softness to cater to different parts of your body. Additionally, it has built-in lumbar support, which makes it a great fit for any back sleepers staying in your guest room. It should also be an excellent fit for any sleepers experiencing back pain.

Underneath the pillow-top is a comfort layer of gel-infused memory foam for added pressure relief. And at the bottom of the mattress is a layer of pocketed coils that add some nice support and responsiveness. When combined, these different materials make the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid slightly firmer than medium firm. There’s definitely a lot of support here, but the pillow-top and memory foam give you a lot of comfort, too.

What Makes the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Stand Out?

  • In keeping with the Saatva brand, this mattress doesn’t come in a box, which means it isn’t compressed.
  • The coils provide a lot of room for airflow. Coupled with the gel-infused memory foam, this should be a cooler-sleeping mattress.
  • Side sleepers who prefer a firmer bed are also likely to enjoy the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid.

Read our full Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Saatva Memory Foam mattress, check out our list of the most comfortable mattresses for more great options.

Best Luxury Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

If you want to treat your house guests to a luxurious sleeping experience, we recommend that you outfit your guest room with the WinkBed. With its traditional innerspring feel, this mattress is similar to one you would find in a high-end hotel. The bulk of the mattress is made of a tall layer of coils that conform to your body, capped off by a Euro-style pillow-top for pressure relief. Your guests should also have no problem staying cool on the WinkBed, as its springs have lots of space between them for air to flow the mattress. Additionally, an infusion of gel in the foam helps keep a low temperature.

What Makes the WinkBeds Mattress Stand Out?

  • It’s available in several different firmness levels: Softer, Luxury Firm, Firmer, and Plus, which is designed for heavy sleepers over 230 lb.
  • We think this mattress is the best fit for back sleepers and stomach sleepers.
  • Because of the mattress’ bounce and responsiveness, combination sleepers should have no problem switching positions at night.

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the WinkBed, check out our list of the best luxury mattresses for more great options.

Best Queen

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Nolah Original 10" Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Queen

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Nolah Original 10" Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Queen

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Nolah Original 10" Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

If you want your guests to spread out on a queen-sized mattress in your guest room, then the Nolah Original is a great option. It’s an all-foam bed made of Nolah’s proprietary AirFoam.

The AirFoam has been optimized for cooling and breathability, meaning this mattress won’t trap heat, unlike so many other all-foam mattresses. Plus, this material is very durable and should last you a long time. Nolah even offers a lifetime warranty on this mattress.

And of course, like many mattresses on this list, it’s a good option if you’re shopping with a budget in mind, as a queen will come in below $1,000 with a discount.

What Makes the Nolah Original Mattress Stand Out?

  • As a medium-firm mattress, the Nolah should have enough comfort and support for both side sleepers and back sleepers.
  • It shouldn’t sag or lose its shape, meaning you won’t have to replace it for a good while.
  • Being all-foam, the Nolah excels at motion isolation, which makes it a solid choice for couples. You and your partner are unlikely to feel each other’s movements at night.

Read our full Nolah Original mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nolah Original mattress, check out our list of the best queen mattresses for more great options.

Best Cooling

Bear Star Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Star Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Bear Star Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling

Bear Star Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Star Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Bear Star Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling

Bear Star Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Star Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Bear Star Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

If you live in a warmer climate, or have guests that typically run hot, the Bear mattress is a perfect choice for staying cool at night. This bed coms in an all-foam and a hybrid model, but for this list, we’ll be focusing on the hybrid version.

The Bear mattress has been designed for cooling. On the outside, there’s a breathable Celliant cover that will help you recharge and recover from the day. Right under that, there’s a layer of cooling gel foam that will pull heat away from your body. And being a hybrid, the coils will allow air to flow through very easily.

This medium-firm bed is a good match for back sleepers and some lightweight side sleepers. And despite being a hybrid, if you have a couple over, this bed handles motion isolation very well.

What Makes the Bear Mattress Stand Out?

  • The foam on top blends perfectly with the coils at the bottom to provide a great balance of comfort and support.
  • If you’re interested in the all-foam version, it’s a little less expensive.
  • Because they may promote recovery, Bear mattresses are popular among athletes.

Read our full Bear mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Bear Original mattress, check out our list of the best cooling mattresses for more great options.

Heavyweight Sleepers – Over 230 lb

If someone is looking for a mattress for their guest room, they should consider the size of their guests. For instance, if they have a larger family member who comes to visit quite often, they should make sure that the mattress can support the additional weight. Because of this, I asked one of our team members Marten, who weighs 250 lb, to try out these nine mattresses and recommend which — if any — would be a good match for a heavier house guest like him.

Out of these nine mattresses, two should be a decent match for someone of my size. First off, the Bear Star Hybrid features both coils and pressure-relieving comfort foam, so the mattress is supportive enough for me when I am back-sleeping and soft enough for side-sleeping.

While the Nectar does not contain coils, I do feel satisfactory support when I am back-sleeping. I sink into the soft memory foam and feel it conform to the shape of my body. I also feel some exceptional pressure relief when I am side-sleeping.

How to Find the Best Mattress for a Guest Room

If someone is looking for a mattress for a guest room, there are a few things they should be considering – think about the following while mattress shopping, and it shouldn’t be difficult to choose!

  • Find a medium-firm mattress. It is important to find a mattress that will work for a wide variety of sleepers. A firm mattress might be good for some people, but what if a guest likes something softer? That is why it’s a good idea to choose a mattress that is close to medium-firm – a medium-firm mattress will be an excellent match for multiple sleeping positions, and most guests should find enough comfort and support.
  • Seek out a good value mattress. Mattresses are an investment; if one has already spent a significant amount of money on their own mattress, they don’t want to break the bank on a high priced guest room mattress. They should find a mattress with quality components that aren’t accompanied by a ridiculous price tag – customers should also attempt to buy a guest room mattress around holidays like the Fourth of July or Memorial Day when many mattress companies offer some pretty fantastic deals on their products. If you’re in a pinch to find the right mattress, there are many great mattresses online to choose from!
  • Consider the preferences of guests who visit often. If one’s in-laws come to visit often, it might be an excellent idea to choose a mattress that will work for them. If they need the best mattress for stomach sleepers, a firm mattress might be a better choice. If they are side sleepers, a soft mattress might be more ideal.
  • Cooling properties. Sleeping hot is an issue that many people deal with, and it is smart to find a mattress with cooling properties so that house guests aren’t overheating at night – memory foam mattresses are known for sleeping hot, but many now contain gel, graphite, or some other cooling materials – spring or hybrid mattresses are usually the best with cooling because the coils promote airflow throughout the mattress.

Final Thoughts

Here’s a recap of our top picks for the best guest room mattresses:

Mattress Best For
Brooklyn Bedding Bowery Best Affordable Mattress
Helix Midnight Best Mattress for the Money
Nectar Best Memory Foam Mattress
DreamCloud Best Hybrid Mattress
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Most Comfortable Mattress
WinkBeds Best Luxury Mattress
Nolah Best Queen-Size Mattress
Bear Star Hybrid Best Cooling Mattress

RELATED: Best Full Size Mattress

FAQs

What type of mattress is best for a guest room?

Any type of mattress can work in a guest room, from a traditional innerspring mattress to an all-foam mattress. The type of mattress is not the most important consideration — it's more about finding a mattress that will work a variety of people. Those who need a mattress for a guest room should choose something medium-firm that exhibits a balance of comfort and support; this should make it an exceptional fit for guests who sleep in any position.

What type of mattresses do hotels use?

While it does depend on the hotel, the majority of hotels have some type of innerspring mattress with a pillow top. Most of these mattresses will be close to medium-firm so that they will work for hotel guests who sleep on their back, side, or stomach. An excellent example of this type of mattress is the Saatva, which has two sets of coils and a Euro-style pillow top.

What is the best cheap mattress for a guest room?

People who need a cheap mattress for their guest room have a few options. If they want something with coils that provides good support, the Allswell could be an excellent choice. If they are seeking something with more of that memory foam feel, they should take a look at the Dreamfoam Essential mattress.

Featured image: Africa Studio/Shutterstock

Gravatar for Joe Auer

Joe Auer

Joe Auer is the editor of Mattress Clarity. He mainly focuses on mattress reviews and oversees the content across the site.

He likes things simple and take a straightforward, objective approach to his reviews. Joe has personally tested nearly 250 mattresses and always recommends people do their research before buying a new bed. He has been testing mattresses for over 5 years now, so he knows a thing or two when it comes to mattress selection. He has been cited as an authority in the industry by a number of large publications.

Joe has an undergraduate degree from Wake Forest University and an MBA from Columbia University.