Best Mattress for a Guest Room 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

It’s so fun to have house guests — they hog the bathroom, leave dishes in the sink and eat the very last cookie. Still, everyone wants to be a good host and ensure guests are as comfortable as possible. One way to do that is to find the best mattress for a guest room.

Finding a comfortable mattress for the guest room can go a long way, but what should people be looking for when they are shopping? Well, we have a list of mattresses that should be a fantastic fit for many types of sleepers. we considered over 20 different mattresses for this list, but only ten of them made the final cut.

Whether it’s a mother-in-law coming for an extra-long stay or an old friend from college who just needs to crash on their way cross country, we’ve got them covered.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for a Guest Room?

Our expert reviewers chose the Nectar as the best mattress for a guest room based on its affordability with quality materials, versatile uses, and durability.

Our Top Picks for the Best Mattress for Guest Rooms

Best Mattress for a Guest Room 2024: Our Video Roundup

Compare the Best Mattresses for a Guest Room

Nectar Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Helix Midnight Mattress WinkBed Mattress Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Brooklyn Bedding Essential Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Nectar Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Helix Midnight Mattress WinkBed Mattress Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Brooklyn Bedding Essential Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Firm: 8/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back Back & Stomach Back & Side Combination Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Stomach

How We Chose Our Top Picks

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed hundreds of mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

Latex mattress testing in our studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

Guest beds need to be versatile enough to accommodate a variety of sleepers, so we chose medium-firm mattresses with enough support and durability for sustained use by a variety of sleepers. They also needed to be affordable enough to accommodate the purchase of an additional mattress for the household.

Best Memory Foam Mattress for a Guest Room – Nectar

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$699 - $1798

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$699 - $1798

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$699 - $1798

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Has a slow-moving memory foam feel
Affordable
Great for side sleepers
Cons
Not great for hot sleepers
Not bouncy or responsive

Our Expert’s Take

Today, many people are fans of memory foam mattresses. This type of material offers great pressure relief, contouring, and an overall comfortable feel. Those who think a memory foam mattress would be a good match for their guests should consider the Nectar.

The Nectar features 2″ of gel memory foam over a transition layer and base layer, allowing the mattress to exhibit that slow-moving feel that many expect from a memory foam mattress. Lying on the Nectar, house guests should feel themselves slowly sink into the mattress and feel it conform to the body.

The 3″ of soft memory foam makes the Nectar a very good match for side sleepers; guests should feel almost no pressure on their shoulders and hips in this position. At the same time, they should be able to switch to their back and get some good support and contouring.

Finally, the Nectar is quite affordable for a memory foam mattress; a queen size is currently around $1099.00.

What our testers say: “If you and your guests love memory foam, the Nectar is a great choice to consider. It’s full of that slow-moving memory foam. I love it for side sleeping because it provides great pressure relief. If your guests tend to sleep hot at night, the Nectar mattress might make them feel stuffy. I recommend the Brooklyn Essential for hot sleepers.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Mattress

  • Thanks to its slow-moving memory foam, the Nectar mattress helps alleviate pressure along shoulders and hips.
  • It’s a great match for side sleepers, because it offers a great balance of comfort and support.
  • It’s very affordable—only $1099.00 for a queen.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Mattress

  • It’s not a great match for hot sleepers. Even though the Nectar mattress has cooling gel-infused memory foam, it may still trap some body heat.
  • Stomach sleepers won’t get the proper hip support on this mattress, which can lead to lower back pain.

Other User Reviews

On Nectar’s website, customers gave the mattress a score of 4.7/5. Many side sleepers said they felt their joint pain melt away, and couples have said this is a great mattress for motion isolation. This means it helped keep them from being disturbed by their partner’s movements at night. Some people said the Nectar mattress felt too soft for their preference, though.

Read our full Nectar mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nectar mattress, check out our list of the best memory foam mattresses for more great options.

Best Hybrid Mattress for a Guest Room – DreamCloud

Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$839 - $2178

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$839 - $2178

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$839 - $2178

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros
It’s very durable
Doesn’t trap body heat
Good for back and stomach sleepers
Cons
Too firm for side sleepers
Doesn’t isolate motion well
Lacks good edge support

Our Expert’s Take

The majority of people who need a mattress for a guest room are seeking out the best deal possible. But what about those who want to splurge a bit and buy a luxury mattress for their house guests? That is why I added the DreamCloud to this list. It’s a luxury hybrid mattress that should make guests feel like they are truly sleeping in style.

The DreamCloud is a great hybrid mattress that contains individually wrapped coils, a comfort layer of soft memory foam, and a cover made of a cashmere blend. The cover is even quilted with a bit of foam for some softness.

The mattress’s hybrid construction provides the mattress with an excellent balance of comfort and support. In terms of firmness, the DreamCloud is a 7.5/10, meaning that it sleeps firmer than the average bed. The coils are quite supportive and the memory foam provides excellent pressure relief.

What our testers say: “The DreamCloud mattress is a great choice for guests who love firm beds. When I tested it, it provided some good support for me while I was sleeping on my back. And thanks to its hybrid design and a lot of breathable materials, guests won’t sleep hot.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud Mattress

  • It’s made with high-quality and luxurious materials. It has a cashmere-blend cover, gel-infused memory foam and individually-wrapped coils.
  • It’s great for hot sleepers, because the coils promote airflow and the gel-infused foam helps dissipate body heat.
  • Thanks to its 7.5/10 firmness rating, the DreamCloud mattress is a great match for back sleepers.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud Mattress

  • Side sleepers may not get the pressure relief they need. The DreamCloud mattress is firmer than average, so many side sleepers may feel pain along their shoulders and hips.
  • The DreamCloud has a classic hybrid feel, which isn’t a good match for memory foam fans. If you want to sink into your mattress and feel lots of body contouring, you should consider the Nectar.

Other User Reviews

On the DreamCloud website, customers gave this mattress a score of 4.7/5. Many people praised its balance of comfort and support. Other people said the mattress was too firm for their preferences.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the DreamCloud mattress, check out our list of the best hybrid mattresses for more great options.

Best Guest Room Mattress for Heavy People – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
emma comfort hybrid us airtable
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros
Sleeps cool
Firm enough for sleepers over 230 lbs
Cons
Not enough pressure relief for side sleepers
No sinking feel like memory foam would have

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re looking for a durable, firm mattress that’s supportive enough for sleepers that weigh over 230 lbs, the Emma Hybrid Comfort is a great pick. It has zoned coils that help give the mattress some bounce when you want to move around while providing stability when you’re resting.

The cooling features offered by the Emma Hybrid Comfort include its Airgocell foam, which is designed to help regulate temperature, and UltraDry cover. These work together to make sleeping on the Hybrid Comfort a cool experience, even for typically hot sleepers.

This mattress also comes with a 10-year warranty and a 365-night trial, so you have a full year to decide if it’s the right bed for your guest room.

What our testers say: “I weigh more than 270 lb, and my weight was enough to compress the top layers of the mattress just a bit while sleeping on my back. I personally felt comfortable in this position, but back sleepers who like their hips to sink in more or simply prefer a softer feel will want to look elsewhere.” – Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • It’s an affordable mattress. This bed has plenty of cooling features and solid edge support, but comes at a reasonable price point.
  • There isn’t much motion transfer. Even though this bed has a bouncy feel, it does a good job of keeping any disturbances your bed partner might make from reaching your side.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • This is a firm mattress. If you weigh less than 130 lbs, or sleep on your side, this probably will be too firm for your needs.
  • It’s made with memory foam layers, but it doesn’t have the typical sink-in feel of an all-foam bed. If you prefer to have that type of deep-contouring mattress, opt for something like the Nectar.

Other User Reviews

On Emma’s website, the Hybrid Comfort earned 4.8 out of 5 stars. It’s a new mattress model, but there are already over 20 reviews, all of which give the bed a 4 or 5 out of 5 stars. Users say it’s a comfortable mattress and a good value. One user did mention that they were able to feel their partner moving around at night.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in this bed, check out our list of the best mattresses for heavy people for more great options.

Best Guest Room Mattress for the Money – Helix Midnight

Best for the Money

Helix Midnight Mattress

the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for the Money

Helix Midnight Mattress

the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom
Best for the Money

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
A durable mattress
Relatively affordable
Great for back and side sleepers
Cons
Not supportive enough for most stomach sleepers
Lacks a slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

Saying a bed is the best mattress for the money can mean a few different things. It can be something that will last you a long time, something that’s fairly affordable, or just an investment that works for just about anyone. In the case of the Helix Midnight, it checks all the boxes.

The Helix Midnight is a standout amongst the six models by Helix because it’s a great fit for the majority of sleepers. It works best for side sleepers, thanks to the presence of memory foam in the comfort layer which helps provide cushioning for proper alignment. But the springs at the bottom mean you won’t feel stuck in the layers.

The Midnight won’t trap too much heat, due to a breathable cover and coils for airflow. It’s fairly affordable, coming in a little over $1,000 for a queen.

What our testers say: “The Helix Midnight makes many of our lists, and for good reason. It’s a great choice for side sleepers thanks to the foam comfort layer. But I still felt really supported on my back thanks to the coils.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • Back sleepers should get the optimal amount of comfort and support on this mattress. It has a medium-firm feel that’s ideal for back sleeping.
  • It’s great for hot sleepers, thanks to its cooling cover and airflow-promoting coils.
  • It has a balanced feel, due to its plush comfort layer and springy coils.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • It’s not supportive enough for most stomach sleepers. In this sleeping position, people will likely feel their hips sink out of alignment, which can cause lower back pain.
  • Heavier side sleepers may “bottom out” on this mattress. If you weigh more than 230 lb, we recommend looking for one of the best mattresses for heavy people.

Other User Reviews

On Helix’s website, the Midnight mattress earns a customer review score of 4.5/5. Many people said it helped alleviate hip pain, while others praised Helix’s excellent customer support team. Some people complained about the off-gassing smell, which is common for bed-in-a-box mattresses. In our experience, the smell faded away after 48 hours.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for the money for more great options.

Best Luxury Mattress for a Guest Room – WinkBed

Best Luxury Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
WinkBed
Best Luxury Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Bouncy and responsive
Offers great lumbar support
Doesn’t trap heat
Cons
Has a higher price point
Doesn’t isolate motion well

Our Expert’s Take

If you want to treat your house guests to a luxurious sleeping experience, we recommend that you outfit your guest room with the WinkBed. With its traditional innerspring feel, this mattress is similar to one you would find in a high-end hotel. The bulk of the mattress is made of a tall layer of coils that conform to your body, capped off by a Euro-style pillow-top for pressure relief.

Your guests should also have no problem staying cool on the WinkBed, as its springs have lots of space between them for air to flow through the mattress. Additionally, an infusion of gel in the foam helps keep a low temperature by absorbing heat.

What our testers say: “If you have guests staying over who love innerspring mattresses, the WinkBed mattress is one of the best choices. I love that the coils are zoned, which means this mattress provides really great back support.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • It has a classic innerspring feel, thanks to the supportive coils and tufted pillow top.
  • It’s available in many different firmness options, from soft to firm. This makes it a great option for many different types of people.
  • It’s great for hot sleepers, because the coils promote airflow and the gel-infused foam helps dissipate heat.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • It costs more than other mattresses on the list, so if you want a more budget-friendly option, you may want to consider the Brooklyn Bedding Essential.
  • It doesn’t isolate motion well, which is not ideal for couples who are light sleepers. It’s possible you may feel your partner’s movements if they shift sleeping positions during the night.
  • It lacks a slow-moving feel. If you want to gently sink into a memory foam mattress, you may want to consider the Nectar.

Other User Reviews

On the WinkBeds website, there are dozens of five-star customer reviews. Many people have praised the mattress’s value, comfort and cooling features. I didn’t see any reviews that offered criticism or had anything less than five stars.

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the WinkBed, check out our list of the best luxury mattresses for more great options.

Most Comfortable Mattress for a Guest Room – Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

Most Comfortable Mattress for Guest Room

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

Saatva Modern Foam - Airtable

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1195 - $2630

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Most Comfortable Mattress for Guest Room

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

Saatva Modern Foam - Airtable

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1195 - $2630

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Saatva Modern Foam - Airtable
Most Comfortable Mattress for Guest Room

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 Nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1195 - $2630

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Pros
Made with durable, organic materials
Good for back and side sleepers
Has a responsive feel
Cons
Has a higher price point
Not supportive enough for most stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

One of the best ways for a brand to increase the comfort of a mattress is to outfit it with a pillow top. Pillow tops are often cushy, contouring and create a luxurious sleeping experience. That’s exactly why we think the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid is one of the most comfortable mattresses for a guest room out there.

Not only is its pillow-top ultra-plush—it’s also zoned, meaning that it has different levels of softness to cater to different parts of your body. Additionally, it has built-in lumbar support, which makes it a great fit for any back sleepers staying in your guest room. It should also be an excellent fit for any sleepers experiencing back pain.

Underneath the pillow-top is a comfort layer of gel-infused memory foam for added pressure relief. And at the bottom of the mattress is a layer of pocketed coils that add some nice support and responsiveness. When combined, these different materials make the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid slightly firmer than medium-firm. There’s definitely a lot of support here, but the pillow-top and memory foam give you a lot of comfort, too.

What our testers say: “What I loved about the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid was that it’s the best of both worlds. You’ve got lovely plush foam on the top, with supportive coils at the bottom. Guests who are back and side combination sleepers will love this mattress.” – Elisa Regulski, Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

  • It helps alleviate back pain, thanks to the zoned support layer. The Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress feels firmer toward the center and softer near the head and the foot. This helps sleepers maintain the proper spinal alignment throughout the night.
  • It’s great for folks who change positions at night thanks to its medium-firm feel and zoned support layer.
  • It’s great for hot sleepers due to the breathable cotton cover and airflow-promoting coils.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

  • It has a higher price point, which may not be ideal for many guest rooms.
  • Heavier stomach sleepers won’t get the hip support they need on this mattress.

Other User Reviews

On Saatva’s website, the Memory Foam Hybrid earns a customer review score of 4.8/5. Many people praised the customer support team and said the mattress was great for side and back sleeping. Some people left negative reviews because they had issues scheduling their mattress delivery.

Read our full Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Saatva Memory Foam mattress, check out our list of the most comfortable mattresses for more great options.

Best Affordable Mattress for a Guest Room – Brooklyn Bedding Essential

Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Essential

brooklyn bedding essential airtable

The Brooklyn Bedding Essential is another great value pick from Brooklyn Bedding and still offers nice support.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$532 - $1132

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Essential

brooklyn bedding essential airtable

The Brooklyn Bedding Essential is another great value pick from Brooklyn Bedding and still offers nice support.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$532 - $1132

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5
brooklyn bedding essential airtable
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Essential

The Brooklyn Bedding Essential is another great value pick from Brooklyn Bedding and still offers nice support.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$532 - $1132

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5

Pros
A great affordable mattress
Good for lightweight people
Good for side sleepers
Cons
Not supportive enough for stomach sleepers
Not a good match for heavier people
Lacks a slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

Luxury is great and all, but some people are looking for the best deal possible on a guest room mattress. And when it comes to value, Brooklyn Bedding is hard to beat. The company owns its own factory, so all of its beds are priced competitively. Their best cheap mattress is the Brooklyn Bedding Essential, a streamlined hybrid mattress. Before sales and discounts, it sits around $900, which is an incredible price for such a quality brand.

The Brooklyn Bedding Essential consists of three foam layers—a comfort layer, a transition layer and a base layer. The comfort layer contains high-quality quilted comfort foam, a breathable alternative to memory foam. Guests shouldn’t feel like they are getting stuck in the mattress, and they shouldn’t be sleeping particularly hot.

The Essential is an excellent fit for lightweight sleepers such as teenagers and children. Lighter side sleepers should also experience some exceptional pressure relief on the Essential.

What our testers say: “The Brooklyn Bedding Essential mattress is a good choice for guest rooms because it’s affordable, but durable. It has sturdy coils that make it nice and bouncy. I like side sleeping on this mattress, because the soft foam cushions my joints.” – Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Essential

  • It’s sold at a great price—around $900 for a queen. For reference, most queen size hybrid mattresses cost over $1,000. 
  • It offers lots of pressure relief, which is great for side sleepers and those who deal with hip pain. The thick foam layers help cushion joints and alleviate pain. 
  • It has a balanced feel. The responsive coils make it easy for sleepers to move around on top of it, while the thick comfort layers offer a bit of body contouring. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Essential

  • It’s not a great match for stomach sleepers. This mattress feels softer than average, so it’s not supportive enough to help stomach sleepers maintain the correct spinal alignment. 
  • People who weigh more than 250 lb may not get the support they need on this mattress. 
  • Because it has coils in its base layer, the Essential isn’t a good match for people who prefer a slow-moving memory foam feel. 

Other User Reviews

On Brooklyn Bedding’s website, the Essential mattress earns a customer review score of 4.8/5. Many people said they loved the supportive and comfy nature of this bed. Other customers said the mattress wasn’t supportive enough while stomach sleeping.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Essential mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding Essential mattress, check out our list of the best cheap mattresses for more great options.

Best Queen-Size Mattress for a Guest Room – Nolah Evolution Hybrid

Best Queen Mattress for a Guest Room

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Queen Mattress for a Guest Room

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Queen Mattress for a Guest Room

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Multiple firmnesses
Exceptional temperature regulation
Very durable
Cons
Edge support isn’t great
Expensive

Our Expert’s Take

If you want your guests to spread out on a queen-sized mattress in your guest room, then the Nolah Evolution is a great option. It’s a hybrid bed with a robust height of 15” and a graphite infused comfort layer.

Like the WinkBed, the Nolah Evolution Hybrid would add a splash of luxury to any guest room, making it a great option for anyone who wants to treat their friends and family to fantastic sleep anytime they visit. 

We reviewed the Luxury Firm version of this mattress, which is the one we’d recommend for most guest rooms. Our testers found it to accommodate a wide range of body types and sleeping positions, thanks to its medium-firm feel. If you primarily plan on hosting guests who weigh over 230 lb, however, then we would suggest the Firm version. 

What our testers say: “I felt a great balance of comfort and support when I rested on my back. This mattress has zoned support, which means it feels firmer toward the center. This was particularly helpful while back sleeping, because it helped me maintain the proper spinal alignment.” – Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • The cooling features included in the Nolah Evolution are very impressive. In addition to the cooling graphite infusions and breathable coil system, this mattress has a unique construction element in the gusset that’s found towards the top of the bed. This gusset allows body heat that might ordinarily become trapped in the comfort layers to exit the mattress.
  • We found this mattress to be very durable. Through our testing process, we determined that the Nolah Evolution could last for upwards of ten years if properly cared for, thus earning it a perfect score on our durability test. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah

  • Despite a reinforced edge support system in the Nolah Evolution, we found the mattress perimeter to be somewhat saggy. It dipped quite a bit under our weight when we sat and rested on the edge of the mattress, leading us to give it a 3.5 out of 5 on our edge support test. 
  • This mattress is on the expensive side, costing over $2,000 for a queen. If you were hoping to furnish your guest room without breaking the bank, consider the Nectar instead. 

Other User Reviews

The Nolah Evolution has an average rating of 4.9 out of 5, based on 895 reviews on the company website. The majority of customers rewarded the mattress a perfect score, however, there is one notable 3-star review that states the Nolah Evolution began to sag after just three months. 

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nolah Evolution mattress, check out our list of the best queen mattresses for more great options.

Best Soft Mattress for a Guest Room – Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Soft Mattress for a Guest Room

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Soft Mattress for a Guest Room

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Soft Mattress for a Guest Room

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Good for back sleepers
Doesn’t trap heat
Bouncy and responsive
Cons
Costs more than others on the list
Some stomach sleepers may think the bed is too soft

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re looking for maximum comfort and pressure relief for your guest room, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a perfect choice. While there is a Medium and Firm version for this bed, we love how cushioning the Soft model is. It should offer pressure relief for many side-sleeping guests and support for some back sleepers. while its Soft model includes a hand-quilted cover and a thick foam comfort layer, there are also coils at the base to support the sleeper.

The Bear Elite Hybrid mattress has also been designed for cooling. In the cover, there’s a breathable Celliant material that can help you recharge and recover from the day. Right under that, there’s a layer of cooling copper-infused foam that will pull heat away from your body. And being a hybrid, the coils will allow air to flow through very easily.

And despite being a hybrid, if you have a couple over, this bed handles motion isolation very well. So, your guests should sleep through the night without waking up from each other’s movements.

What our testers say: “The Bear Elite Hybrid comes in multiple firmnesses, but the Soft model is the plushest. It offered great pressure relief for side sleeping when I tested it.” – Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • It’s available in many firmness levels, so it works for a variety of people. Stomach sleepers will prefer the Firm option, while back and side sleepers will likely prefer the Medium option.
  • It has a balanced feel, thanks to its plush comfort layers and springy coil system.
  • It doesn’t trap body heat, because the mattress has airflow-promoting coils, a cover made with phase change material and copper-infused memory foam.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • It lacks a slow-moving feel. If you want a mattress that offers lots of body contouring, you may want to consider the Nectar instead.
  • Heavier stomach sleepers may “bottom out” on this bed, even on the Firm model. This could cause lower back pain.
  • Because it contains many high-quality materials, this mattress has a higher price point. It may not be a great choice for everyone’s guest room.

Other User Reviews

On the Bear website, the Elite Hybrid mattress earns a customer review score of 4.5/5. Many people, of all sleeping positions, said this mattress felt comfy and supportive. A few people left one-star reviews, saying the mattress wasn’t comfortable or supportive enough.

Read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress, check out our list of the best soft mattresses for more great options.

Best Organic Mattress for a Guest Room – Birch Natural

Best Organic Mattress for Guest Room

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1373 - $2248

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress for Guest Room

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1373 - $2248

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Organic Mattress for Guest Room

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1373 - $2248

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Good for hot sleepers
Very supportive
Fantastic for back sleepers
Cons
Bad for couples
Too firm for most side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Organic mattresses aren’t just a good option for those interested in shopping sustainably, as they contain some of the highest quality materials on the bed-in-a-box market. The Birch is no exception here. Made with organic cotton, wool, latex, and individually wrapped coils, this mattress is an expertly crafted product. 

Two performance factors that we often associate with quality in mattresses are durability and support. On our support test, we gave the Birch a perfect score of 5 out of 5, and on our durability test we awarded it a 4.5 out of 5. These two qualities indicate a mattress that should not only last for a long time, but also maintain its structural integrity for many years. 

More important to many people will be the fact that the Birch is constructed in an eco-friendly manner and is free of harmful chemicals. 

What our testers say: “The Birch mattress is one of the best organic mattresses I’ve ever reviewed. Most back sleepers and average weight stomach sleepers will find a balance of comfort of support on its responsive latex comfort layer.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch Natural

  • Like the Nolah Evolution, the Birch Natural stays exceptionally cool at night. The aerated latex and wool used in the Birch’s construction naturally promotes breathability. Thanks to these materials, we never felt uncomfortably warm as we tested the mattress, leading us to give it a perfect score on our temperature regulation test.  
  • Every one of our mattress testers felt fantastic on their backs. From lightweight to heavyweight, the Birch provides sufficient support to keep back sleepers’ hips somewhat propped up, while still being soft enough to provide pressure relief to this sensitive area. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch Natural

  • The latex in the Birch Natural gives it quite a bit of bounce. This characteristic may be a problem for couples, as it can cause movements to reverberate across the mattress surface. So, if you plan on hosting couples in your guest room you may want to consider the Nectar instead. 

Other User Reviews

Based on 4,315 reviews on the Birch website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.6 out of 5. The quality of the mattress is a big talking point amongst 5-star reviews. Some found it to be softer than they anticipated, but the majority of customers seem happy with the firmness. 

Read our full Birch mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Birch Natural mattress, check out our list of the best organic mattresses for more great options.

Heavyweight Sleepers – Over 230 lb

If someone is looking for a mattress for their guest room, they should consider the size of their guests. For instance, if they have a larger family member who comes to visit quite often, they should make sure that the mattress can support the additional weight. Because of this, I asked one of our team members Marten, who weighs 250 lb, to try out these ten mattresses and recommend which — if any — would be a good match for a heavier house guest like him.

Nolah Original - Side Sleeping
Marten testing the Nolah Original mattress

Out of these ten mattresses, two should be a decent match for someone of my size. First off, the Bear Elite Hybrid features both coils and pressure-relieving comfort foam, so the mattress is supportive enough for me when I am back-sleeping and soft enough for side-sleeping.

While the Nectar does not contain coils, I do feel satisfactory support when I am back-sleeping. I sink into the soft memory foam and feel it conform to the shape of my body. I also feel some exceptional pressure relief when I am side-sleeping.

How to Find the Best Mattress for a Guest Room

If someone is looking for a mattress for a guest room, there are a few things they should be considering—think about the following while mattress shopping, and it shouldn’t be difficult to choose!

  • Find a medium-firm mattress. It is important to find a mattress that will work for a wide variety of sleepers. A firm mattress might be good for some people, but what if a guest likes something softer? That is why it’s a good idea to choose a mattress that is close to medium-firm – a medium-firm mattress will be an excellent match for multiple sleeping positions, and most guests should find enough comfort and support.
  • Seek out a good value mattress. Mattresses are an investment; if one has already spent a significant amount of money on their own mattress, they don’t want to break the bank on a high priced guest room mattress. They should find a mattress with quality components that aren’t accompanied by a ridiculous price tag—customers should also attempt to buy a guest room mattress around holidays like the Fourth of July or Memorial Day when many mattress companies offer some pretty fantastic deals on their products. If you’re in a pinch to find the right mattress, there are many great mattresses online to choose from!
  • Consider the preferences of guests who visit often. If one’s in-laws come to visit often, it might be an excellent idea to choose a mattress that will work for them. If they need the best mattress for stomach sleepers, a firm mattress might be a better choice. If they are side sleepers, a soft mattress might be more ideal.
  • Cooling properties. Sleeping hot is an issue that many people deal with, and it is smart to find a mattress with cooling properties so that house guests aren’t overheating at night – memory foam mattresses are known for sleeping hot, but many now contain gel, graphite, or some other cooling materials – spring or hybrid mattresses are usually the best cooling mattresses because the coils promote airflow throughout the mattress.

Final Thoughts

Here’s a recap of our top picks for the best guest room mattresses:

MattressBest For
NectarBest Memory Foam Mattress
DreamCloudBest Hybrid Mattress
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Mattress for Heavy People
Helix MidnightBest Mattress for the Money
WinkBedBest Luxury Mattress
Saatva Memory Foam HybridMost Comfortable Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding EssentialBest Affordable Mattress
Nolah EvolutionBest Queen-Size Mattress
Bear Elite HybridBest Soft Mattress
Birch NaturalBest Organic Mattress

RELATED: Best Full Size Mattress

Guest Room Mattresses FAQs

What type of mattress is best for a guest room?

Any type of mattress can work in a guest room, from a traditional innerspring mattress to an all-foam mattress. The type of mattress is not the most important consideration — it’s more about finding a mattress that will work a variety of people. Those who need a mattress for a guest room should choose something medium-firm that exhibits a balance of comfort and support; this should make it an exceptional fit for guests who sleep in any position.

What type of mattresses do hotels use?

While it does depend on the hotel, the majority of hotels have some type of innerspring mattress with a pillow top. Most of these mattresses will be close to medium-firm so that they will work for hotel guests who sleep on their back, side, or stomach. An excellent example of this type of mattress is the Saatva, which has two sets of coils and a Euro-style pillow top.

What is the best cheap mattress for a guest room?

People who need a cheap mattress for their guest room have a few options. If they want something with coils that provides good support, the Allswell could be an excellent choice. If they are seeking something with more of that memory foam feel, they should take a look at the Dreamfoam Essential mattress.

Should a guest room have a full or a queen bed?

If you plan on inviting couples to spend a few nights in your guest bedroom, you may want to opt for a queen size bed. Full beds aren’t quite big enough to accommodate two people. However, full size beds cost less and take up less room. So ultimately, the decision depends on your budget, space and plans for the room.

Featured image: Africa Studio/Shutterstock

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.