Best Mattress for a Guest Room 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

It’s so fun to have house guests — they hog the bathroom, leave dishes in the sink and eat the very last cookie. Still, everyone wants to be a good host and ensure guests are as comfortable as possible. One way to do that is to find the best mattress for a guest room.

Finding a comfortable mattress for the guest room can go a long way, but what should people be looking for when they are shopping? Well, I have a list of mattresses that should be a fantastic fit for many types of sleepers. I considered over 20 different mattresses for this list, but only eight of them made the final cut.

Whether it’s a mother-in-law coming for an extra-long stay or an old friend from college who just needs to crash on their way cross country, we’ve got them covered.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for a Guest Room?

Our expert reviewers chose the Nectar as the best mattress for a guest room based on its affordability with quality materials, versatile uses, and durability.

Our Top Picks for the Best Mattress for Guest Rooms

Best Mattress for a Guest Room 2024: Our Video Roundup

Compare the Best Mattresses for a Guest Room

Nectar Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Helix Midnight Mattress WinkBed Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Essential Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid
Nectar Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Helix Midnight Mattress WinkBed Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Essential Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 8/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10 Soft: 6/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Combination Back Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach

How We Chose Our Top Picks

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed hundreds of mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

Latex mattress testing in our studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

Guest beds need to be versatile enough to accommodate a variety of sleepers, so we chose medium-firm mattresses with enough support and durability for sustained use by a variety of sleepers. They also needed to be affordable enough to accommodate the purchase of an additional mattress for the household.

Best Memory Foam Mattress for a Guest Room – Nectar

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Has a slow-moving memory foam feel
Affordable
Great for side sleepers
Cons
Not great for hot sleepers
Not bouncy or responsive

Our Expert’s Take

Today, many people are fans of memory foam mattresses. This type of material offers great pressure relief, contouring, and an overall comfortable feel. Those who think a memory foam mattress would be a good match for their guests should consider the Nectar.

The Nectar features 2″ of gel memory foam over a transition layer and base layer, allowing the mattress to exhibit that slow-moving feel that many expect from a memory foam mattress. Lying on the Nectar, house guests should feel themselves slowly sink into the mattress and feel it conform to the body.

The 3″ of soft memory foam makes the Nectar a very good match for side sleepers; guests should feel almost no pressure on their shoulders and hips in this position. At the same time, they should be able to switch to their back and get some good support and contouring.

Finally, the Nectar is quite affordable for a memory foam mattress; a queen size is currently around $999.00.

What our testers say: “If you and your guests love memory foam, the Nectar is a great choice to consider. It’s full of that slow-moving memory foam. I love it for side sleeping because it provides great pressure relief. If your guests tend to sleep hot at night, the Nectar mattress might make them feel stuffy. I recommend the Brooklyn Essential for hot sleepers.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Mattress

  • Thanks to its slow-moving memory foam, the Nectar mattress helps alleviate pressure along shoulders and hips.
  • It’s a great match for side sleepers, because it offers a great balance of comfort and support.
  • It’s very affordable—only $999.00 for a queen.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Mattress

  • It’s not a great match for hot sleepers. Even though the Nectar mattress has cooling gel-infused memory foam, it may still trap some body heat.
  • Stomach sleepers won’t get the proper hip support on this mattress, which can lead to lower back pain.

Other User Reviews

On Nectar’s website, customers gave the mattress a score of 4.7/5. Many side sleepers said they felt their joint pain melt away, and couples have said this is a great mattress for motion isolation. Some people said the Nectar mattress felt too soft for their preferences.

Read our full Nectar mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nectar mattress, check out our list of the best memory foam mattresses for more great options.

Best Guest Room Mattress for Heavy People – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros
Sleeps cool
Firm enough for sleepers over 230 lbs
Cons
Not enough pressure relief for side sleepers
No sinking feel like memory foam would have

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re looking for a durable, firm mattress that’s supportive enough for sleepers that weigh over 230 lbs, the Emma Hybrid Comfort is a great pick. It has zoned coils that help give the mattress some bounce when you want to move around while providing stability when you’re resting.

The cooling features offered by the Emma Hybrid Comfort include its Airgocell foam, which is designed to help regulate temperature, and UltraDry cover. These work together to make sleeping on the Hybrid Comfort a cool experience, even for typically hot sleepers.

This mattress also comes with a 10-year warranty and a 365-night trial, so you have a full year to decide if it’s the right bed for your guest room.

What our testers say: “I weigh more than 270 lb, and my weight was enough to compress the top layers of the mattress just a bit while sleeping on my back. I personally felt comfortable in this position, but back sleepers who like their hips to sink in more or simply prefer a softer feel will want to look elsewhere.” – Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • It’s an affordable mattress. This bed has plenty of cooling features and solid edge support, but comes at a reasonable price point.
  • There isn’t much motion transfer. Even though this bed has a bouncy feel, it does a good job of keeping any disturbances your bed partner might make from reaching your side.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • This is a firm mattress. If you weigh less than 130 lbs, or sleep on your side, this probably will be too firm for your needs.
  • It’s made with memory foam layers, but it doesn’t have the typical sink-in feel of an all-foam bed. If you prefer to have that type of deep-contouring mattress, opt for something like the Nectar.

Other User Reviews

On Emma’s website, the Hybrid Comfort earned 4.8 out of 5 stars. It’s a new mattress model, but there are already over 20 reviews, all of which give the bed a 4 or 5 out of 5 stars. Users say it’s a comfortable mattress and a good value. One user did mention that they were able to feel their partner moving around at night.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in this bed, check out our list of the best mattresses for heavy people for more great options.

Best Guest Room Mattress for the Money – Helix Midnight

Best for the Money

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for the Money

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for the Money

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
A durable mattress
Relatively affordable
Great for back and side sleepers
Cons
Not supportive enough for most stomach sleepers
Lacks a slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

Saying a bed is the best mattress for the money can mean a few different things. It can be something that will last you a long time, something that’s fairly affordable, or just an investment that works for just about anyone. In the case of the Helix Midnight, it checks all the boxes.

The Helix Midnight is a standout amongst the six models by Helix because it’s a great fit for the majority of sleepers. It works best for side sleepers, thanks to the presence of memory foam in the comfort layer. But the springs at the bottom mean you won’t feel stuck in the layers.

The Midnight won’t trap too much heat, due to a breathable cover and coils for airflow. It’s fairly affordable, coming in a little over $1,000 for a queen.

What our testers say: “The Helix Midnight makes many of our lists, and for good reason. It’s a great choice for side sleepers thanks to the foam comfort layer. But I still felt really supported on my back thanks to the coils.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • Back sleepers should get the optimal amount of comfort and support on this mattress. It has a medium-firm feel that’s ideal for back sleeping.
  • It’s great for hot sleepers, thanks to its cooling cover and airflow-promoting coils.
  • It has a balanced feel, due to its plush comfort layer and springy coils.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • It’s not supportive enough for most stomach sleepers. In this sleeping position, people will likely feel their hips sink out of alignment, which can cause lower back pain.
  • Heavier side sleepers may “bottom out” on this mattress. If you weigh more than 230 lb, we recommend looking for one of the best mattresses for heavy people.

Other User Reviews

On Helix’s website, the Midnight mattress earns a customer review score of 4.5/5. Many people said it helped alleviate hip pain, while others praised Helix’s excellent customer support team. Some people complained about the off-gassing smell, which is common for bed-in-a-box mattresses. In our experience, the smell faded away after 48 hours.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for the money for more great options.

Best Luxury Mattress for a Guest Room – WinkBed

Best Luxury Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Bouncy and responsive
Offers great lumbar support
Doesn’t trap heat
Cons
Has a higher price point
Doesn’t isolate motion well

Our Expert’s Take

If you want to treat your house guests to a luxurious sleeping experience, we recommend that you outfit your guest room with the WinkBed. With its traditional innerspring feel, this mattress is similar to one you would find in a high-end hotel. The bulk of the mattress is made of a tall layer of coils that conform to your body, capped off by a Euro-style pillow-top for pressure relief.

Your guests should also have no problem staying cool on the WinkBed, as its springs have lots of space between them for air to flow the mattress. Additionally, an infusion of gel in the foam helps keep a low temperature.

What our testers say: “If you have guests staying over who love innerspring mattresses, the WinkBed mattress is one of the best choices. I love that the coils are zoned, which means this mattress provides really great back support.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • It has a classic innerspring feel, thanks to the supportive coils and tufted pillow top.
  • It’s available in many different firmness options, from soft to firm. This makes it a great option for many different types of people.
  • It’s great for hot sleepers, because the coils promote airflow and the gel-infused foam helps dissipate heat.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • It costs more than other mattresses on the list, so if you want a more budget-friendly option, you may want to consider the Brooklyn Bedding Essential.
  • It doesn’t isolate motion well, which is not ideal for couples who are light sleepers. It’s possible you may feel your partner’s movements if they shift sleeping positions during the night.
  • It lacks a slow-moving feel. If you want to gently sink into a memory foam mattress, you may want to consider the Nectar.

Other User Reviews

On the WinkBeds website, there are dozens of five-star customer reviews. Many people have praised the mattress’s value, comfort and cooling features. I didn’t see any reviews that offered criticism or had anything less than five stars.

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the WinkBed, check out our list of the best luxury mattresses for more great options.

Best Hybrid Mattress for a Guest Room – DreamCloud

Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$839 - $1669

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$839 - $1669

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$839 - $1669

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros
It’s very durable
Doesn’t trap body heat
Good for back and stomach sleepers
Cons
Too firm for side sleepers
Doesn’t isolate motion well
Lacks good edge support

Our Expert’s Take

The majority of people who need a mattress for a guest room are seeking out the best deal possible. But what about those who want to splurge a bit and buy a luxury mattress for their house guests? That is why I added the DreamCloud to this list. It’s a luxury hybrid mattress that should make guests feel like they are truly sleeping in style.

The DreamCloud is a great hybrid mattress that contains individually wrapped coils, a comfort layer of soft memory foam, and a cover made of a cashmere blend. The cover is even quilted with a bit of foam for some softness.

The mattress’s hybrid construction provides the mattress with an excellent balance of comfort and support. In terms of firmness, the DreamCloud is a 7.5/10, meaning that it sleeps firmer than the average bed. The coils are quite supportive and the memory foam provides excellent pressure relief.

What our testers say: “The DreamCloud mattress is a great choice for guests who love firm beds. When I tested it, it provided some good support for me while I was sleeping on my back. And thanks to its hybrid design and a lot of breathable materials, guests won’t sleep hot.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud Mattress

  • It’s made with high-quality and luxurious materials. It has a cashmere-blend cover, gel-infused memory foam and individually-wrapped coils.
  • It’s great for hot sleepers, because the coils promote airflow and the gel-infused foam helps dissipate body heat.
  • Thanks to its 7.5/10 firmness rating, the DreamCloud mattress is a great match for back sleepers.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud Mattress

  • Side sleepers may not get the pressure relief they need. The DreamCloud mattress is firmer than average, so many side sleepers may feel pain along their shoulders and hips.
  • The DreamCloud has a classic hybrid feel, which isn’t a good match for memory foam fans. If you want to sink into your mattress and feel lots of body contouring, you should consider the Nectar.

Other User Reviews

On the DreamCloud website, customers gave this mattress a score of 4.7/5. Many people praised its balance of comfort and support. Other people said the mattress was too firm for their preferences.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the DreamCloud mattress, check out our list of the best hybrid mattresses for more great options.

Best Queen-Size Mattress for a Guest Room – Nolah

Best Queen Mattress for a Guest Room

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Queen Mattress for a Guest Room

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Queen Mattress for a Guest Room

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
Has a responsive foam feel
Affordable
Good for side sleepers
Cons
Not great for stomach sleepers
Not supportive enough for heavier people

Our Expert’s Take

If you want your guests to spread out on a queen-sized mattress in your guest room, then the Nolah Original is a great option. It’s an all-foam bed made of Nolah’s proprietary AirFoam.

The AirFoam has been optimized for cooling and breathability, meaning this mattress won’t trap heat, unlike so many other all-foam mattresses. Plus, this material is very durable and should last you a long time. Nolah even offers a lifetime warranty on this mattress.

And of course, like many mattresses on this list, it’s a good option if you’re shopping with a budget in mind, as a queen will come in below $1,000 with a discount.

What our testers say: “If you want a foam bed for your guests, but don’t want them to feel trapped, Nolah is great for that. I love its responsive foam feel. It’s very easy to move around on.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah

  • It offers all of the benefits of memory foam without the drawbacks. The material cushions the body and helps alleviate pressure, but because it’s ventilated for extra airflow, it doesn’t trap body heat.
  • Because it’s softer than average, it’s a great option for side sleepers.
  • It’s sold at a great price—about $1,000 for a queen after discounts

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah

  • It’s too soft for stomach sleepers. In this sleeping position, people are likely to develop lower back pain.
  • Heavier people may “bottom out” on this mattress, which can cause back pain.
  • It doesn’t have a traditional innerspring feel. If this is what you’re looking for, you may want to consider the WinkBed instead.

Other User Reviews

On the Nolah website, there are numerous five-star customer reviews. Many people praised its comfort, support and breathability. There are no published reviews with less than five stars, so I am unable to highlight any customer critiques.

Read our full Nolah Original mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nolah Original mattress, check out our list of the best queen mattresses for more great options.

Best Soft Mattress for a Guest Room – Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Soft Mattress for a Guest Room

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Soft Mattress for a Guest Room

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Soft Mattress for a Guest Room

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Good for back sleepers
Doesn’t trap heat
Bouncy and responsive
Cons
Costs more than others on the list
Some stomach sleepers may think the bed is too soft

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re looking for maximum comfort and pressure relief for your guest room, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a perfect choice. While there is a Medium and Firm version for this bed, we love how cushioning the Soft model is. It should offer pressure relief for many side-sleeping guests and support for some back sleepers. while its Soft model includes a hand-quilted cover and a thick foam comfort layer, there are also coils at the base to support the sleeper.

The Bear Elite Hybrid mattress has also been designed for cooling. In the cover, there’s a breathable Celliant material that can help you recharge and recover from the day. Right under that, there’s a layer of cooling copper-infused foam that will pull heat away from your body. And being a hybrid, the coils will allow air to flow through very easily.

And despite being a hybrid, if you have a couple over, this bed handles motion isolation very well. So, your guests should sleep through the night without waking up from each other’s movements.

What our testers say: “The Bear Elite Hybrid comes in multiple firmnesses, but the Soft model is the plushest. It offered great pressure relief for side sleeping when I tested it.” – Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • It’s available in many firmness levels, so it works for a variety of people. Stomach sleepers will prefer the Firm option, while back and side sleepers will likely prefer the Medium option.
  • It has a balanced feel, thanks to its plush comfort layers and springy coil system.
  • It doesn’t trap body heat, because the mattress has airflow-promoting coils, a cover made with phase change material and copper-infused memory foam.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • It lacks a slow-moving feel. If you want a mattress that offers lots of body contouring, you may want to consider the Nectar instead.
  • Heavier stomach sleepers may “bottom out” on this bed, even on the Firm model. This could cause lower back pain.
  • Because it contains many high-quality materials, this mattress has a higher price point. It may not be a great choice for everyone’s guest room.

Other User Reviews

On the Bear website, the Elite Hybrid mattress earns a customer review score of 4.5/5. Many people, of all sleeping positions, said this mattress felt comfy and supportive. A few people left one-star reviews, saying the mattress wasn’t comfortable or supportive enough.

Read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress, check out our list of the best soft mattresses for more great options.

Best Affordable Mattress for a Guest Room – Brooklyn Bedding Essential

Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Essential

The Brooklyn Bedding Essential is another great value pick from Brooklyn Bedding and still offers nice support.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$532 - $1132

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Essential

The Brooklyn Bedding Essential is another great value pick from Brooklyn Bedding and still offers nice support.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$532 - $1132

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Essential

The Brooklyn Bedding Essential is another great value pick from Brooklyn Bedding and still offers nice support.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$532 - $1132

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5

Pros
A great affordable mattress
Good for lightweight people
Good for side sleepers
Cons
Not supportive enough for stomach sleepers
Not a good match for heavier people
Lacks a slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

Luxury is great and all, but some people are looking for the best deal possible on a guest room mattress. And when it comes to value, Brooklyn Bedding is hard to beat. The company owns its own factory, so all of its beds are priced competitively. Their best cheap mattress is the Brooklyn Bedding Essential, a streamlined hybrid mattress. Before sales and discounts, it sits around $900, which is an incredible price for such a quality brand.

The Brooklyn Bedding Essential consists of three foam layers—a comfort layer, a transition layer and a base layer. The comfort layer contains high-quality quilted comfort foam, a breathable alternative to memory foam. Guests shouldn’t feel like they are getting stuck in the mattress, and they shouldn’t be sleeping particularly hot.

The Essential is an excellent fit for lightweight sleepers such as teenagers and children. Lighter side sleepers should also experience some exceptional pressure relief on the Essential.

What our testers say: “The Brooklyn Bedding Essential mattress is a good choice for guest rooms because it’s affordable, but durable. It has sturdy coils that make it nice and bouncy. I like side sleeping on this mattress, because the soft foam cushions my joints.” – Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Essential

  • It’s sold at a great price—around $900 for a queen. For reference, most queen size hybrid mattresses cost over $1,000. 
  • It offers lots of pressure relief, which is great for side sleepers and those who deal with hip pain. The thick foam layers help cushion joints and alleviate pain. 
  • It has a balanced feel. The responsive coils make it easy for sleepers to move around on top of it, while the thick comfort layers offer a bit of body contouring. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Essential

  • It’s not a great match for stomach sleepers. This mattress feels softer than average, so it’s not supportive enough to help stomach sleepers maintain the correct spinal alignment. 
  • People who weigh more than 250 lb may not get the support they need on this mattress. 
  • Because it has coils in its base layer, the Essential isn’t a good match for people who prefer a slow-moving memory foam feel. 

Other User Reviews

On Brooklyn Bedding’s website, the Essential mattress earns a customer review score of 4.8/5. Many people said they loved the supportive and comfy nature of this bed. Other customers said the mattress wasn’t supportive enough while stomach sleeping.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Essential mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding Essential mattress, check out our list of the best cheap mattresses for more great options.

Most Comfortable Mattress for a Guest Room – Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

Most Comfortable Mattress for Guest Room

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

Saatva Modern Foam - Airtable

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 Nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$995 - $2630

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Most Comfortable Mattress for Guest Room

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

Saatva Modern Foam - Airtable

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 Nights

Price Range

$995 - $2630

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Saatva Modern Foam - Airtable
Most Comfortable Mattress for Guest Room

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

365 Nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$995 - $2630

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Pros
Made with durable, organic materials
Good for back and side sleepers
Has a responsive feel
Cons
Has a higher price point
Not supportive enough for most stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

One of the best ways for a brand to increase the comfort of a mattress is to outfit it with a pillow top. Pillow tops are often cushy, contouring and create a luxurious sleeping experience. That’s exactly why we think the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid is one of the most comfortable mattresses for a guest room out there.

Not only is its pillow-top ultra-plush—it’s also zoned, meaning that it has different levels of softness to cater to different parts of your body. Additionally, it has built-in lumbar support, which makes it a great fit for any back sleepers staying in your guest room. It should also be an excellent fit for any sleepers experiencing back pain.

Underneath the pillow-top is a comfort layer of gel-infused memory foam for added pressure relief. And at the bottom of the mattress is a layer of pocketed coils that add some nice support and responsiveness. When combined, these different materials make the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid slightly firmer than medium-firm. There’s definitely a lot of support here, but the pillow-top and memory foam give you a lot of comfort, too.

What our testers say: “What I loved about the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid was that it’s the best of both worlds. You’ve got lovely plush foam on the top, with supportive coils at the bottom. Guests who are back and side combination sleepers will love this mattress.” – Elisa Regulski, Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

  • It helps alleviate back pain, thanks to the zoned support layer. The Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress feels firmer toward the center and softer near the head and the foot. This helps sleepers maintain the proper spinal alignment throughout the night.
  • It’s great for combination sleepers, thanks to its medium-firm feel and zoned support layer.
  • It’s great for hot sleepers due to the breathable cotton cover and airflow-promoting coils.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

  • It has a higher price point, which may not be ideal for many guest rooms.
  • Heavier stomach sleepers won’t get the hip support they need on this mattress.

Other User Reviews

On Saatva’s website, the Memory Foam Hybrid earns a customer review score of 4.8/5. Many people praised the customer support team and said the mattress was great for side and back sleeping. Some people left negative reviews because they had issues scheduling their mattress delivery.

Read our full Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Saatva Memory Foam mattress, check out our list of the most comfortable mattresses for more great options.

Heavyweight Sleepers – Over 230 lb

If someone is looking for a mattress for their guest room, they should consider the size of their guests. For instance, if they have a larger family member who comes to visit quite often, they should make sure that the mattress can support the additional weight. Because of this, I asked one of our team members Marten, who weighs 250 lb, to try out these nine mattresses and recommend which — if any — would be a good match for a heavier house guest like him.

Nolah Original - Side Sleeping
Marten testing the Nolah Original mattress

Out of these nine mattresses, two should be a decent match for someone of my size. First off, the Bear Elite Hybrid features both coils and pressure-relieving comfort foam, so the mattress is supportive enough for me when I am back-sleeping and soft enough for side-sleeping.

While the Nectar does not contain coils, I do feel satisfactory support when I am back-sleeping. I sink into the soft memory foam and feel it conform to the shape of my body. I also feel some exceptional pressure relief when I am side-sleeping.

How to Find the Best Mattress for a Guest Room

If someone is looking for a mattress for a guest room, there are a few things they should be considering—think about the following while mattress shopping, and it shouldn’t be difficult to choose!

  • Find a medium-firm mattress. It is important to find a mattress that will work for a wide variety of sleepers. A firm mattress might be good for some people, but what if a guest likes something softer? That is why it’s a good idea to choose a mattress that is close to medium-firm – a medium-firm mattress will be an excellent match for multiple sleeping positions, and most guests should find enough comfort and support.
  • Seek out a good value mattress. Mattresses are an investment; if one has already spent a significant amount of money on their own mattress, they don’t want to break the bank on a high priced guest room mattress. They should find a mattress with quality components that aren’t accompanied by a ridiculous price tag—customers should also attempt to buy a guest room mattress around holidays like the Fourth of July or Memorial Day when many mattress companies offer some pretty fantastic deals on their products. If you’re in a pinch to find the right mattress, there are many great mattresses online to choose from!
  • Consider the preferences of guests who visit often. If one’s in-laws come to visit often, it might be an excellent idea to choose a mattress that will work for them. If they need the best mattress for stomach sleepers, a firm mattress might be a better choice. If they are side sleepers, a soft mattress might be more ideal.
  • Cooling properties. Sleeping hot is an issue that many people deal with, and it is smart to find a mattress with cooling properties so that house guests aren’t overheating at night – memory foam mattresses are known for sleeping hot, but many now contain gel, graphite, or some other cooling materials – spring or hybrid mattresses are usually the best cooling mattresses because the coils promote airflow throughout the mattress.

Final Thoughts

Here’s a recap of our top picks for the best guest room mattresses:

MattressBest For
NectarBest Memory Foam Mattress
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Mattress for Heavy People
Helix MidnightBest Mattress for the Money
WinkBedBest Luxury Mattress
DreamCloudBest Hybrid Mattress
NolahBest Queen-Size Mattress
Bear Elite HybridBest Soft Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding EssentialBest Affordable Mattress
Saatva Memory Foam HybridMost Comfortable Mattress

RELATED: Best Full Size Mattress

Guest Room Mattresses FAQs

What type of mattress is best for a guest room?

Any type of mattress can work in a guest room, from a traditional innerspring mattress to an all-foam mattress. The type of mattress is not the most important consideration — it’s more about finding a mattress that will work a variety of people. Those who need a mattress for a guest room should choose something medium-firm that exhibits a balance of comfort and support; this should make it an exceptional fit for guests who sleep in any position.

What type of mattresses do hotels use?

While it does depend on the hotel, the majority of hotels have some type of innerspring mattress with a pillow top. Most of these mattresses will be close to medium-firm so that they will work for hotel guests who sleep on their back, side, or stomach. An excellent example of this type of mattress is the Saatva, which has two sets of coils and a Euro-style pillow top.

What is the best cheap mattress for a guest room?

People who need a cheap mattress for their guest room have a few options. If they want something with coils that provides good support, the Allswell could be an excellent choice. If they are seeking something with more of that memory foam feel, they should take a look at the Dreamfoam Essential mattress.

Should a guest room have a full or a queen bed?

If you plan on inviting couples to spend a few nights in your guest bedroom, you may want to opt for a queen size bed. Full beds aren’t quite big enough to accommodate two people. However, full size beds cost less and take up less room. So ultimately, the decision depends on your budget, space and plans for the room.

Featured image: Africa Studio/Shutterstock

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.