Best Cooling Mattresses 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

There are plenty of reasons why people sleep hot. It could be that their heater is on blast or their bedding is too heavy. Another common culprit? Heat-trapping mattresses! Fortunately, there are a number of beds out there for hot sleepers, 10 of which we’ve highlighted in our list of the best cooling mattresses below. We’ll take a closer look at each one by breaking down the mattress construction and cooling materials. Don’t see what you’re looking for? Try taking our mattress quiz. After answering a few short questions, you’ll receive personalized recommendations.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Cooling Mattress?

Our expert reviewers chose the Helix Midnight Luxe as the best cooling mattress due to its GlacioTex™ pillow-top layer that helps with heat dissipation and cooling cover featuring a Tencel material.

Our Top Picks for the Best Cooling Mattresses

Best Cooling Mattress 2024: Video Roundup

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress WinkBed Mattress Bear Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid Nectar Premier Mattress Nolah Signature 12" Mattress Saatva Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress Cocoon Chill Mattress
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress WinkBed Mattress Bear Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid Nectar Premier Mattress Nolah Signature 12" Mattress Saatva Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress Cocoon Chill Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 8/10 Multiple firmness options Soft: 6/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10
Material Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Foam Foam Innerspring Hybrid Foam
Cooling -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Combination Combination Back & Side Back & Stomach Combination Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Side

How We Chose the Best Cooling Mattresses

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

To identify the Best Cooling Mattresses, we’ve paid special attention to materials, breathability, added cooling technology, and other relevant criteria. All of these beds scored at least a 4 out of 5 on cooling.

Best Cooling Mattress Overall – Helix Midnight Luxe

Best Overall

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Overall

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Overall

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Coils and cover offer lots of airflow
Great pick for back and side sleepers
Premium quilted pillow-top gives extra pressure relief
Cons
May not be supportive enough for heavy sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

For those customers who just can’t decide on what they want or need, Helix is there to help. When logging onto their website, customers have two options: they can participate in a sleep quiz or select from one of Helix’s many hybrid mattress models. The brand’s most popular mattress is the Helix Midnight, and the luxury version of this bed is the Helix Midnight Luxe. It features a hybrid construction that’s 2″ taller than the standard Midnight, and your choice of a breathable Tencel cover or GlacioTex™ Cooling Pillow Top that will keep the top of the mattress from trapping too much heat.

What the testers say: “When I lay on my back and side on the Helix Midnight Luxe, I really enjoyed how the combination of foam and coils kept me feeling supported and comfortable. I think the majority of sleepers are going to like its feel, though I’d steer stomach sleepers to something firmer.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Like About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • The Midnight Luxe has great edge support, meaning that if you lay near the edge of the mattress, you shouldn’t feel as though you’re going to fall off. This also helps with durability, as the Midnight Luxe should last about a decade with proper care.
  • Couples should love the Midnight Luxe. It’s great at isolating motion, meaning couples shouldn’t wake each other up from moving around during the night, and it’s also bouncy and responsive enough to be a great mattress for sex.
  • Lightweight sleepers under 130 lbs should love the Midnight Luxe no matter what position they sleep in. Back and side sleepers who are lightweight should feel comfortable and supported, and lightweight stomach sleepers should get proper spinal support from the zoned coils.

What to Keep in Mind About Helix Midnight Luxe

  • Most stomach sleepers won’t get the proper support on this mattress. It’s medium-firm and ranked at 6.5/10 on our firmness scale, so most stomach sleepers will sink too far into the mattress and won’t get proper spinal support.
  • Most heavyweight sleepers will likely need a firmer mattress. Some heavy back sleepers may find some comfort on the Midnight Luxe, but most sleepers will want to try a mattress on our roundup of the best mattresses for heavy people.

Other user reviews

On the Helix site, over 5,000 users rated the Midnight Luxe 4.4 out of 5 stars. Many of the highest reviews say that the mattress is very soft but still supportive enough so that you won’t sink too far in and be uncomfortable. On the contrary, some other users had the opposite feeling, and thought that the mattress was too soft for them.

Read our full Helix Midnight Luxe mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for more great options.

Best Cooling Mattress for Stomach Sleepers – WinkBeds

Best Cooling Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Comes with a lifetime warranty, 120-night sleep trial and free shipping and returns
Fantastic edge support
Great long-term investment
Cons
Not suitable for buyers on a low budget. They should check out our best mattresses under $500.

Our Expert’s Take

It can be difficult to find a mattress with the proper support and spinal alignment for stomach sleepers, but the WinkBed achieves both. Thanks to the different firmness levels offered (Softer, Luxury Firm, Firmer, and Plus), the mattress provides lots of comfort and support for all body types and sleep positions. We especially recommend the Luxury Firm option for lightweight and average-weight stomach sleepers, and we think heavy sleepers should fare best on the Firmer or Plus models.

Not only that, but hot sleepers should enjoy the cooling properties of the WinkBed. With a breathable Tencel cover, gel-infused memory foam, and individually wrapped coils for airflow, you shouldn’t overheat at night.

What the testers say: “Stomach sleepers need a really firm bed to stay comfortable. The Firmer version of the WinkBed will give them the ultra supportive feel they need. And this mattress’s layers of coils prevent any overheating.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Like About the WinkBed

  • The balance between comfort and support in the WinkBed makes it a great fit for sleepers who suffer from lower back pain and sciatica.
  • The WinkBed is high-quality, affordable, and sold at a great value. It’s a durable and long-lasting mattress that should last most people 7-10 years with proper care.
  • The WinkBed is made with CertiPUR-US certified foams, which makes it eco-friendly, and also helps prevent the mattress from having an off-gassing smell when it’s first unboxed.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • Couples may love the WinkBed since it’s bouncy and responsive enough to be good for sex, however, because it’s bouncy, it may not be the best at isolating motion.
  • The WinkBed is only available online, so if you want to try before you make a purchase, you may want to try another mattress on this roundup. WinkBed does offer a 120-night sleep trial.

Other user reviews

On the WinkBed site, customers rated the WinkBed 4.8 out of 5 stars, with over 8,000 reviews. Some users wrote that they felt comfortable and supported in all sleeping positions while on the WinkBed, while others complained that the mattress was either too soft or too firm.

Read our full WinkBed mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Stomach Sleepers for more great options.

Best Cooling Memory Foam Mattress – Bear Original

Best Cooling Memory Foam Mattress

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Memory Foam Mattress

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Memory Foam Mattress

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
The breathable celliant cover offers additional cooling
Celliant is believed by some to promote blood flow and muscle recovery
High-density poly foam support layer helps keep the spine in a neutral alignment
Cons
Too soft for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

If you love memory foam, then you should love the first comfort layer of the Bear. Soft and pressure-relieving, it should give you some nice sinkage as soon as you lie down. But a firmer second comfort layer keeps you from sinking too far into the bed, creating a medium-firm feel that should appeal to back sleepers and side sleepers. And if you tend to sleep hot, know that the Bear has an infusion of graphite gel to help cool you down.

What the testers say: “Memory foam tends to trap heat, but the Bear combats this with a number of cooling materials, which are found in just about every layer of this bed, from its breathable cover to airflow-promoting coils. I didn’t find myself overheating during my testing of the Bear.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Like About the Bear

  • The Bear is a mattress specifically for athletes. The celliant fibers in this mattress are great for muscle recovery, promote blood flow, and can even help with cooling sleepers who overheat at night.
  • In addition to the celliant cover, the foam in the Bear is graphite gel-infused and breathable, giving this mattress some really great cooling benefits that hot sleepers should love.
  • The Bear mattress is easier to move around on than other firm mattresses, and also isolates motion well, making this a great mattress for couples.
  • The Bear is eco-friendly and made from certiPUR-US certified foams and it’s low in VOCs. This means that you won’t get any off-gassing smells from the mattress once you unbox it.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear

  • The Bear mattress is made from all foam, so it may not be as durable as some other mattresses on this list.
  • Since the Bear is made from softer materials, stomach sleepers may not get the proper spinal support they need while sleeping on the mattress.

Other user reviews

On the Bear site, over 10,000 reviewers rated the Bear Original at about 4.5 out of 5 stars. Some customers said that the mattress helped them with chronic neck and back pain, and others thought that the mattress felt on the softer side, and not medium-firm as they expected.

Read our full Bear mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Memory Foam Mattresses for more great options.

Best Cooling Mattress for Heavy People – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Cooling Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Cooling Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Cooling Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Value price tag
Great for hot sleepers
Great for sex
Cons
Not great for lightweight sleepers
Doesn’t offer classic foam feel

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a heavier person, you’ll likely need a mattress on the firmer side, which is why the Emma Hybrid Comfort is a great fit. We rank it at an 8/10 on our firmness scale, making it a pretty firm mattress. Although it’s on the firmer side, it’s still bouncy and responsive and boasts some great cooling features including AIRGOCELL foam, temperature-regulating UltraDry Cover, and coils to promote airflow.

What our testers say:The  Emma Hybrid Comfort is a great mattress for stomach sleepers and heavy sleepers. It’s supportive and firm, which is exactly what those sleepers need.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Much like heavy sleepers, stomach sleepers will also need a firm mattress. This makes the Emma Hybrid Comfort a great fit for stomach sleepers too.
  • Since this mattress is bouncy and easy to move around on, it should work well for combination sleepers as well as couples looking for a good mattress for sex.
  • This mattress is sold at a great value, at just under $1,200 for a queen.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Lightweight sleepers probably won’t feel comfortable on a mattress this firm, and will likely want to opt for something softer.
  • If you just prefer a softer, more classic foam-feeling mattress, the Emma Hybrid Comfort probably won’t be a good choice for you.

Other user reviews

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is rated 4.7 out of 5 stars based on the 200+ reviews from the Emma site. Most customers raved about how the mattress is bouncy and works for couples, especially at its price point. The negative reviews complain about customer service.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options.

Best Cooling Hybrid Mattress – Leesa Sapira Chill

Best Cooling Hybrid Mattress

Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid

The Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid is true to its name and offers some of the best cooling materials out there.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Best Cooling Hybrid Mattress

Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid

The Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid is true to its name and offers some of the best cooling materials out there.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Best Cooling Hybrid Mattress

Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid

The Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid is true to its name and offers some of the best cooling materials out there.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Pros
Multiple firmness options
Plush pillow-top
Cooling benefits
Cons
Expensive
Not a classic foam feel

Our Expert’s Take

The Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid boasts all its best features in its name. It’s a hybrid mattress built with pocketed coils and features multiple layers of foam. It also features some really nice cooling features such as gel infusions in the foam, a cooling cover, and a ventilated layer that helps to promote airflow. It’s a medium-firm mattress that cushions pressure points, which makes it great for side sleepers.

What the testers say: “I felt really supported on the Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid. It gave some nice pressure relief, and I think a lot of sleepers should feel comfortable on this mattress.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid 

  • Since the Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid is a medium-firm mattress, it should work well for both back and side sleepers. The hips, shoulders, and spines should all fall into proper alignment in both of these positions.
  • The bouncy and responsive nature of the Leesa Sapira Chill should work well for combination sleepers, who switch sleeping positions throughout the night since it’s so easy to move around on.

What to Keep in Mind About the Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid

  • Stomach sleepers and heavier sleepers should consider a firmer mattress that will support the hips and keep the spine properly aligned.
  • If you’re shopping on a budget, this may not be a great fit since this mattress comes in at just over $2,000 for a Queen.

Other user reviews

On the Leesa website, this mattress is rated at 4.4 out of 5 based on over 1,900 reviews from real customers. Users love the medium-firm feel of the mattress though some sleepers claim they woke up with more back pain than they went to sleep with.

Read our full Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our roundup of the Best Hybrid Mattresses for more options!

Best Cooling Mattress for Couples – Nectar Premier

Best Cooling Mattress for Couples

Nectar Premier Mattress

The Nectar Premier is a plush memory foam mattress with some great cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress for Couples

Nectar Premier Mattress

The Nectar Premier is a plush memory foam mattress with some great cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress for Couples

Nectar Premier Mattress

The Nectar Premier is a plush memory foam mattress with some great cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Considerable edge support
Great for side sleepers and those who like a softer mattress
Offers soft contouring and pressure relief
Cons
Not super bouncy or responsive

Our Expert’s Take

Memory foam is a material known for trapping heat, which often causes hot sleepers to shy away from memory foam mattresses. While the Nectar Premier is a memory foam mattress, it does contain cooling materials that should keep it from getting hot at night. The top memory foam layer contains a gel infusion that will help with heat dissipation, plus the cover features a Tencel material that’s extremely breathable and also helps with cooling. It’s also a great mattress for motion isolation, meaning couples shouldn’t disturb each other through the night.

What the testers say: “The Nectar Premier is really unique in that it offers two things that don’t usually go together: cooling and memory foam. When I tested the Nectar Premier, it gave me that soft, contouring feel, but I didn’t overheat at any point.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Like About the Nectar Premier

  • We often include the Nectar Premier mattress in our roundups of the best mattresses for the money. It’s made from high-quality materials, it’s durable and is a long-term investment.
  • Since the Nectar Premier is a foam mattress, it’s great at isolating motion. For couples who typically disturb each other through the night and are looking for a mattress to keep each other’s movements at bay, the Nectar fits the bill.
  • The Nectar Premier has a generous trial and warranty period. The brand offers a 365-night sleep trial and a lifetime warranty. Keep in mind though, the brand does have limited warranty terms listed on their site.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Premier

  • Heavier people likely won’t get enough support on the mattress. The Nectar Premier is a soft foam mattress, so heavier people may sink too deeply into the comfort layers.
  • Couples who are looking for the best mattress for sex may not like the Nectar. Since it’s a foam mattress, it’s not as bouncy and responsive as some of its competitors. Sleepers should have a fairly easy time moving around on it, but not as easily as if this were a hybrid mattress.

Other user reviews

On the Nectar site, over 48,000 verified buyers rated the Nectar mattress 4.7 out of 5 stars. Some of the top reviews claimed that the Nectar immediately helped relieve pressure points and aches and that the cooling benefits could be felt as soon as the user lay down. However, some users complained about the long shipping process and customer service, and others said that the mattress was too soft and their hips sank too far down into the mattress.

Read our full Nectar Premier mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

Best Cooling Mattress for Back Pain – Nolah Signature

Best Cooling Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Cooling Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Cooling Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
Offers fantastic lumbar support
AirFoam is extremely durable
Proprietary AirFoam is breathable and doesn’t trap body heat
Cons
Too soft for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Are you a hot sleeper who also suffers from back pain? Then you’ll want a mattress that targets both concerns. The Nolah Signature is a cooling mattress made with a 100% organic cotton cover, which is nice and breathable, and Nolah’s proprietary AirFoam, which is meant to promote airflow. The Signature is a great option for back pain because it has a medium-firm feel, which is ideal for promoting a neutral spinal alignment, and its foam should contour and support the lower back.

What the testers say: “When I tested the Nolah Signature, it felt super comfortable while back sleeping (the best position for those with back pain). Its AirFoam comfort layer contoured really nicely around my lower back. And that AirFoam is really breathable, so it kept me nice and cool too.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Like About the Nolah Signature

  • Couples should love the Nolah Signature, as it’s a great mattress for sex since it’s bouncy and responsive, and it’s also great at isolating motion, so couples shouldn’t wake each other up through the night if they move around.
  • The Nolah is made with AirFoam in the comfort layer to help with cooling, and it also has a tencel cover that’s cool to the touch. This makes this mattress a great fit for hot sleepers.
  • The Nolah Signature is a very durable mattress, and with great care, it’s meant to last 7-10 years. In addition to the long-lasting materials in the mattress, Nolah offers a lifetime warranty on their mattresses.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Signature

  • As durable as the Nolah Signature is, it doesn’t have the best edge support. This means that if you lay near the edge of the mattress, you may get the feeling that you’re going to roll off.
  • There is some initial off-gassing when you unbox the Nolah Signature. It’s best to give the mattress 24-48 hours to air out before you begin sleeping on it.

Other user reviews

Though Nolah does list customer reviews on its site, the site doesn’t allow readers to sort through or filter reviews and only the most recent reviews are displayed. Nonetheless, customers rated the mattress 4.8 out of 5 stars.

Read our full Nolah Signature mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Pain for more great options.

Best Cooling Mattress for Back Sleepers – Saatva Classic

Best for Back Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Back Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best for Back Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Comes with a 365-night trial, lifetime warranty and free white-glove delivery
Responsiveness makes it easy to switch positions
Available in multiple firmness options
Cons
You must pay a $99 transportation fee if you choose to return it

Our Expert’s Take

Back sleepers require a mattress with a balanced feel. This should elevate the hips into proper alignment while still providing the necessary pressure relief. The Saatva is a fantastic option for these sleepers, as it has a coil-on-coil construction that creates tons of support, while also providing cushioning with a Euro pillow-top. As for cooling, there’s plenty of room for airflow between all of the coils. You should have no problem keeping a low temperature on this mattress.

What the testers say: “The Saatva is offered in three firmness options and I tested the Luxury Firm one. It had a really sturdy balanced feel that felt particularly great for back sleeping. If it’s contouring you’re after, this isn’t the bed for you, but lovers of bounce and responsiveness will be really happy here.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Like About the Saatva

  • The Saatva comes in three firmness options: Plush Soft, Luxury Firm, and Firm, meaning that most sleepers shouldn’t have trouble finding a mattress that works for them. For the sake of this review, our testers tried out the Luxury Firm model.
  • The Luxury Firm version of the Saatva that we tried offered a great balance of comfort and support. This makes it a great mattress for some chronic pain, including orthopedic pain.
  • The Saatva is responsive and easy to move around on, so couples who are looking for a mattress for sex should definitely enjoy the Saatva.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • Though couples may like the Saatva as a mattress for sex, the bouncy nature of the innerspring coils may mean that partners will feel each other moving around throughout the night.
  • The Luxury Firm and Firm versions of this mattress may be too firm for some. We rank them at a 7/10 and 8/10 respectively, which are both firmer than the 6.5/10 medium-firm standard.

Other user reviews

On the Saatva site, 2,000+ users rated the Saatva mattress at 4.8 out of 5 stars. Some of the top reviewers praised how the mattress wasn’t too soft or too firm, and that it helped them with chronic pain. Some customers complained about the $99 return fee for their mattress, which Saatva does make clear on their site.

Read our full Saatva mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers for more great options.

Best Cooling Mattress for Side Sleepers – Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

Best Cooling Mattress for Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress for Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review
Best Cooling Mattress for Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Should also work for the majority of back sleepers
Comfort layer is very thick and plush
Cover has cooling phase change material
Cons
Heavier people won’t get enough support. They should check out the Brooklyn Bedding Titan

Our Expert’s Take

The Aurora Luxe mattress comes from Brooklyn Bedding, a producer of high-quality cheap mattresses. Because the company owns its factory, it can sell beds like the higher-end Aurora Luxe hybrid at a very affordable price.

On top of the bed is a cover containing GlacioTex™ — a phase change material that’s cool to the touch and changes its physical state to help people keep a lower temperature at night. After that, a layer of CopperFlex foam is, as the name suggests, infused with copper to draw heat away from the body. Add in the airflow-promoting coils, and that is one cool-sleeping mattress.

What the testers say: “I tested the medium version of the Aurora Luxe, and it felt really comfortable on both my side and back. However, if you’re a side sleeper looking for extra pressure relief, I’d opt for the soft version for maximum comfort.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Like About the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

  • The Aurora Luxe is a great mattress for hot sleepers. It features a cooling cover, cooling infusions in its three comfort layers, and coils that allow plenty of airflow to circulate.
  • If couples want a great mattress for sex, the Aurora Luxe should be a great match. Since it’s bouncy and responsive, it should be easy to move around on and switch positions.
  • The Aurora Luxe is a high-quality mattress, and a long-term investment. It’s durable, and with proper care, it should last you for a long time.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

  • Like many mattresses with foam layers, the Aurora Luxe will need about 24-48 hours to allow off-gassing smells to dissipate after unboxing.
  • Though couples may love the Aurora Luxe as a mattress for sex, they may want to keep in mind that the mattress doesn’t isolate motion well, so there is a chance that partners could disturb each other through the night if they move around in their sleep.

Other user reviews

On the Brooklyn Bedding site, over 3,000 users rated the Aurora Luxe 4.7 out of 5 stars. The top reviews on the page state that the mattress has the perfect balance between support and comfort, while some complaints say that the mattress was uncomfortable and felt similar to a blow-up bed.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers for more great options.

Best Affordable Cooling Mattress – Cocoon Chill

Best Affordable Mattress

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The Cocoon by Sealy is a comfortable mattress that is also a great value.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Affordable Mattress

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The Cocoon by Sealy is a comfortable mattress that is also a great value.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Affordable Mattress

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The Cocoon by Sealy is a comfortable mattress that is also a great value.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Those who need extra support can opt for the Cocoon Chill Hybrid
Great for back sleepers and stomach sleepers.
Phase change material in the cover will keep you cool throughout the night
Cons
Some shoppers complain about return and warranty policies

Our Expert’s Take

Those who are looking for a cooling mattress that’s also firm and supportive should consider the Cocoon Chill, made by Sealy. With a cover made with phase change material, this bed feels cool to the touch. Plus, it creates a great balance of comfort and support! That’s great news for folks with back pain.

What the testers say: “The Cocoon Chill is by far the most affordable bed on this list. This bed packs in quite a cooling punch, with luxury perks like heat-dissipating phase change material in its cover, for an affordable price.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Like About the Cocoon Chill

  • The Cocoon Chill is a foam mattress that’s made to dissipate heat. The cover is made with phase-change material, which makes the mattress cool to the touch. All of this makes this mattress an excellent choice for hot sleepers!
  • Couples should love the Cocoon Chill for two reasons, first, the mattress has great motion isolation, so couples shouldn’t wake each other through the night with their movements. Secondly, the mattress has some bounce to it, so it should be easy to move around on, making it a good mattress for sex.
  • This is a great mattress option for sleepers that weigh less than 130 lbs. No matter what sleeping position lightweight sleepers sleep in, they should find comfort on the Cocoon Chill.

What to Keep in Mind About the Cocoon Chill

  • While this mattress is fairly durable, it’ll last you about 5-8 years. This is a smaller time frame than some of its competitors who have mattresses with an average lifespan of about 7-10 years.
  • While this mattress may be a good fit for lightweight sleepers, many heavyweight sleepers may not get enough support in some sleeping positions, especially heavier side sleepers.

Other user reviews

On the Cocoon site, over 8,000 users rated the Chill mattress 4.7 out of 5 stars. Some of the top reviews mentioned how the mattress was soft yet supportive, and users claimed to feel benefits such as pain relief even after just one night of sleeping on the mattress. Others claimed that the mattress was too soft, so they didn’t get enough support.

Read our full Cocoon mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cheap Mattresses for more great options.

Other Cooling Mattresses We Like

While these mattresses didn’t make our top 10 recommendations, these mattresses are still a great option for people who are looking for a cooling mattress. Check out our recommendations below.

Puffy Cloud Mattress

Puffy is a comfortable memory foam mattress that is especially great for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Puffy Cloud Mattress

Puffy is a comfortable memory foam mattress that is especially great for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Puffy Cloud Mattress

Puffy is a comfortable memory foam mattress that is especially great for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Pros
Balanced foam feel
Cooling features
Cons
Not designed for heavyweight sleepers
Some off-gassing

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is a luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support. 

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is a luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support. 

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Saatva Latex Hybrid is a luxury mattress with a nice balance of comfort and support. 

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Latex

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Plush feel
Very supportive and durable
Contains breathable materials
Cons
Doesn’t offer much body contouring
Not great for side sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Birch Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
One of the best mattresses for lower back pain and sciatica
A good value latex mattress
One of the best pillow-top mattresses
Cons
Doesn’t let you sink in much
Lacks a slow-moving feel
May feel too firm for some

Jump To

Mattress Cooling Materials | Reasons For Sleeping Hot | Tips For Hot Sleepers | Cooling Mattress Accessories | Summary | FAQs

How Do Different Mattress Types Help with Cooling?

To help you find the best bed for your sleep needs, I’ll break down the most common types of cooling mattresses and explain how they work.

Innerspring and Hybrid

Innerspring and hybrid mattresses contain coils, which promote airflow. The springs also give the mattress a bouncy and responsive feel, which prevents sleepers from “sinking” inside the top layers and trapping body heat all around them. 

Latex

Latex foam feels particularly breathable and responsive. This material doesn’t conform to the curves of your body like traditional memory foam does, which makes it a cooling option for those who tend to run hot. 

Memory Foam and Polyfoam

Memory foam has a slow-moving feel that cradles pressure points and creates a “quicksand” type of feeling. Pure memory foam traps body heat, but infused memory foam helps prevent this problem. For the best results, look for memory foam that’s infused with gel, graphite or copper. These materials help pull heat away from the body and keep sleepers cool. 

Many mattresses contain polyfoam, a less expensive material that feels plush and slow-moving. Most polyfoam mattresses trap body heat, but some manufacturers include cooling infusions to help combat this issue. You should also keep your eye out for aerated polyfoam, a material that’s ventilated for extra breathability and airflow. 

Gel Memory Foam

Gel memory foam is one of the most popular cooling materials on the market. It consists of traditional memory foam that’s infused with cooling gel. The gel helps pull heat away from the body and keep sleepers cool. For the most effective cooling mattress, opt for a hybrid mattress that contains breathable coils and gel memory foam. 

Mattress Cooling Materials 

Now that we understand the different types of mattresses, let’s take a closer look at the best cooling materials. 

CELLIANT

Often found in mattress covers and workout clothes, CELLIANT material is specifically designed to keep people cool. The fiber absorbs body heat, converts it into far infrared radiation (FIR) and reflects the FIR back toward the body. 

TENCEL™

TENCEL™, also known as Lyocell, is made from the pulp of sustainably-sourced wood. It feels particularly breathable, but it’s also quite durable. This high-end material is often found in the best bed sheets

Lycra

Also known as Spandex, this material is breathable, wicks moisture away from the body and can be found in some mattress protectors.

Phase Change Material

Often used in bedding, mattress protectors and mattresses, phase change material (PCM) changes from one state to another as your body temperature changes. PCM pulls heat away from the body and stores it if you start to overheat. If you get too cold, the material can also release the stored heat to warm you up.

Copper Infusions 

Copper is an excellent heat conductor, so many mattresses have copper fibers woven into the fabric to help direct heat away from the body. A bonus: Copper is antimicrobial and antibacterial, so it can contribute to an overall healthier sleeping experience.

Gel Infusions 

Some mattresses are infused with millions of tiny gel liquid beads that help wick away moisture and drive away heat. Even though memory foam sleeps hot, these gel beads can go a long way in cooling down the bed.

Graphite Infusions 

Graphite is a crystalline carbon found in rocks, and it’s naturally cooling. Many mattress manufacturers infuse the foam comfort layers with graphite, which helps keep the bed cool.

Ventilated Memory Foam 

Mattress companies often use ventilated memory foam, which has an open-cell construction that allows more air to flow through the bed. This fabric is less dense than standard memory foam, and it often feels more responsive. This also helps sleepers stay cool at night because it prevents people from “sinking” inside the bed and trapping heat.

What Kind of Mattress Cover is Best for Keeping Cool?

Mattress covers surround the tops of beds and often contain cooling infusions and fabrics. There are two main types of mattress covers. Let’s look closely at both:

Quilted Cover

Quilted covers contain fabrics that are, you guessed it, quilted together with another material. Most of the time, quilted covers contain memory foam. While memory foam offers pressure relief, it can also trap body heat. If you want a mattress with a quilted cover, look for something that’s infused with a cooling material such as copper, graphite or gel.
A close corner shot of the WinkBed Luxury Firm mattress

Non-quilted Cover

Non-quilted covers are typically thinner than quilted covers, which makes them feel more breathable and cool.

Why Do We Sleep Hot in the First Place? 

One of the main reasons we sleep hot has to do with how our body acts during REM sleep. When we’re in this deep stage of sleep, the temperature-regulating system in our brains is asleep as well, so our bodies usually match the temperature of our bedroom and the mattress materials around us. There are also a few other specific conditions that might exacerbate feeling hot while trying to sleep. These include:

Anxiety 

People who suffer from anxiety can have fluctuations in their body heat. During anxious moments, they might experience something akin to hot flashes. If they occur at night, they can cause people to wake up or have trouble going back to sleep.

Hyperthyroidism 

The thyroid gland produces the thyroid hormone, which, among other things, helps regulate body temperature. With hyperthyroidism, the gland produces too much of the hormone and can cause people with the condition to feel overheated.

Menopause

Women who are just beginning their menopausal transition can sometimes experience hot flashes. These occur as estrogen levels change and a feeling of intense heat comes on that can cause night sweats.

Medications

Some prescription drugs have also been shown to cause night sweats. Antidepressants and other psychiatric drugs can lower norepinephrine levels, which can lead to excessive sweating during the day and night.

Other Conditions

Several other health conditions may affect body temperature, thereby causing people to sleep hot. For example, Graves’ Disease, Multiple Sclerosis (MS) and some forms of cancer are accompanied by fluctuations in body temperature.

Tips for Hot Sleepers

In addition to getting a cooling mattress, the following tips can help you feel cool and comfortable during the night:

  • Opt for 100 percent cotton sheets. Synthetic fabrics can trap heat and cause the body to feel even warmer. Instead, go for sheets made of natural fabrics like cotton or bamboo, or look for bedding with cooling or sweat-wicking technology.
  • Get a box fan or AC unit going. An air conditioning unit will dramatically chill the air in your room, helping most people stay comfortable. But even a simple box fan can help with airflow, providing a cooling effect. Plus, fans and AC units generate white noise that blocks out other noises, helping hot sleepers fall asleep and stay asleep.
  • Sleep downstairs. Because heat rises, rooms on the first floor or in a basement are generally the coolest. People who have a bedroom on a higher floor and can relocate to a spot on a lower level should attempt to switch it up.
  • Stick your pillowcase in the freezer. Place a pillowcase (or even sheets!) in a ziplock and stick it in the freezer for a couple of hours before bed, then make the bed with the chilled bedding right before bedtime. The crisp, cool surface will help cool the body’s temperature as people fall asleep.
  • Take a cool shower before bed. The same idea applies here: Lowering the body temperature a tiny bit can make people feel more comfortable and less likely to overheat. If possible, make sure to shower right before getting into bed for the night. That way, the body doesn’t have time to warm up again.

Cooling Mattress Accessories and Bedding for Hot Sleepers 

Beyond finding that perfect cooling mattress, there are a few other bedding and mattress products that hot sleepers should be looking for.

The BedJet

The BedJet is a device that offers climate control for the bed by blowing air directly into the mattress. The temperature of the air is completely controlled by the sleeper. That means if they’re cold, they can blow hot air into the bed.

BedJet Climate Control System Review

Cooling Mattress Protectors and Toppers

Most people get mattress protectors to protect against dust mites, bacteria and allergens. Mattress protectors also keep mattresses clean and protect against spills and stains. At the same time, they can help with cooling.

The Bear mattress protector has a special fabric that can pull heat away from the body and keep people cool at night. Even if people sleep on a hot memory foam mattress, this protector can help regulate the temperature.

A cooling mattress topper can also be a good investment. A mattress topper that includes latex or some type of cooling material such as gel or graphite can add serious cooling to the top of the mattress. Take a look at our list of the best cooling mattress toppers for some ideas. 

Cooling Sheets

While thread count usually speaks to the quality of the sheets, higher thread count sheets are usually less breathable than lower thread count sheets. This is because the high thread count sheets are denser and allow less air to pass through.

Consumers should also think about the fabrics used in their sheets. Although synthetic materials are cheaper and thought to be of lower quality, they may be more breathable. Microfibers have a looser weave, which allows for more air to pass through, so people will likely trap less heat when sleeping under synthetic sheets. That said, there are natural fibers with cooling properties, such as bamboo sheets.

Cooling Pillows

Your pillow could also be one of the reasons you’re overheating. Some pillows are made with thick pieces of memory foam, which trap heat and make sleepers feel stuffy. Some of our favorite cooling pillows include the Saatva Latex, TEMPUR-Cloud Cooling Pro and Sleep Number True Temp pillow.

Summary

Here’s a recap of our top picks for the best mattresses for hot sleepers:

MattressBest for
Helix Midnight LuxeBest Overall
WinkBedsBest Cooling Mattress for Stomach Sleepers
Bear OriginalBest Cooling Memory Foam Mattress
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Cooling Mattress for Heavy People
Leesa Sapira ChillBest Cooling Hybrid Mattress
Nectar PremierBest Cooling Mattress for Couples
Nolah SignatureBest Cooling Mattress for Back Pain
Saatva ClassicBest for Back Sleepers
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora LuxeBest Cooling Mattress for Side Sleepers
Cocoon ChillBest Affordable Cooling Mattress

Best Cooling Mattress FAQs

Why are you sleeping hot at night?

There are a number of reasons someone might be sleeping hot at night. It could be due to a medical condition such as anxiety or hyperthyroidism. However, it could also have to do with one’s sleep environment. The temperature of the room and lack of breathability in one’s bedding and mattress can also cause one to overheat.

Does cooling gel really make mattresses sleep cooler?

While gel can keep mattresses from overheating quite so much, they probably don’t work as well as many companies advertise. Gel memory foam, for instance, might still trap a good deal of heat.

How do you stay cool while sleeping?

There are a few ways someone can keep their bed cool at night. First, they can invest in a cooler sleeping mattress with coils and other heat-dissipating material. Second, they could opt for cooling, breathable sheets, or a mattress protector. Lastly, they could spring for the BedJet, a device that blows air into the mattress.

Does latex sleep cool?

Latex generally sleeps pretty cool due to its chemical composition, and latex mattresses are typically aerated with air holes punched in the top. However, keep an eye out for mattresses that combine latex with memory or poly foam as these are more likely to trap heat.

How do I make my memory foam mattress cooler?

One quick and easy way to cool down your memory foam mattress is to add a cooling mattress topper. Choosing the right bedding such as cooling sheets can also help. And if you use a bed frame, check how breathable it is. Slatted beds are a fantastic way to promote airflow and wick away moisture.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.