Best Mattresses That Won’t Sag

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Mattresses can be a major investment and, after spending hard-earned money, people want to trust that theirs is going to last. That’s why it can be so discouraging when the mattress starts to sag. (Pro tip: If you currently have a sagging mattress, check your mattress warranty to see if sagging is covered.)

But not all mattresses will give up so quickly and, after reviewing tons of them, I’ve found 10 that should stand up to years of use. These beds are high-quality, durable, and, most importantly, won’t sag! So read on if it’s time to replace your mattress.

Our Top Picks

The best mattresses that won’t sag are:

 

Editor's Pick

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor's Pick

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor's Pick

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

WinkBeds is known for its hybrid mattress that features pocketed coils and a soft pillow-top, with four different firmness options available: Softer, Luxury Firm, Firmer, and Plus. The Plus is made specifically with larger people in mind. No matter what model you get, it’s designed not to sag. The coils are extra-supportive, and the foams are designed to fight indentations. We personally reviewed the WinkBed Luxury Firm model and thought it had a great balance of comfort and support. Because of this, it should be a good match for multiple sleeping positions.

What Makes The WinkBed Stand Out?

  • The mattress is zoned to provide extra lumbar support. This makes it a particularly good fit for back sleepers.
  • We’ve named the WinkBed as one of the best luxury mattresses on the market.
  • The mattress contains many features to combat overheating such as Tencel fabric and gel-infused foam.

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review.

Best Mattress For Heavy People That Won't Sag

Saatva HD Mattress

The Saatva HD is a supportive mattress made specifically for larger people.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Saatva HD Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

180 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress For Heavy People That Won't Sag

Saatva HD Mattress

The Saatva HD is a supportive mattress made specifically for larger people.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Saatva HD Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

180 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress For Heavy People That Won't Sag

Saatva HD Mattress

The Saatva HD is a supportive mattress made specifically for larger people.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Saatva HD Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

180 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Saatva HD was designed specifically with larger sleepers in mind. In fact, we named it one of the best mattresses for heavy people! It has a plush pillow-top followed by a layer of zoned latex foam. This means it feels firmer in some areas and softer in others. For support, there’s a layer of thick foam and 12.5 gauge tempered steel coils. In addition to creating excellent edge support, these springs help support people of heavier weights and give them a luxurious sleep experience.

What Makes The Saatva HD Stand Out?

  • Because of its unique construction, this mattress has a firm, hybrid feel that’s best suited for heavier back, side, and stomach sleepers. However, some average-weight stomach sleepers may also find that it’s a good match.
  • The zoned latex layer and durable steel coils create a great balance of comfort and support.
  • When you shop with Saatva , the company offers free white glove delivery and a 180-night sleep trial period.

Read our full Saatva HD mattress review.

Best Hybrid Mattress That Won't Sag

Helix Plus Mattress

The Helix PLUS is a supportive hybrid that could be a great match for heavier sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Helix Plus Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress That Won't Sag

Helix Plus Mattress

The Helix PLUS is a supportive hybrid that could be a great match for heavier sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Helix Plus Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress That Won't Sag

Helix Plus Mattress

The Helix PLUS is a supportive hybrid that could be a great match for heavier sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Helix Plus Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Another mattress specially designed with larger people in mind, the Helix Plus is slightly firmer than average, coming in at 7.5/10 on our firmness scale. This rating just so happens to be a whole point higher than the industry standard for medium-firm beds. Heavier side sleepers over 230 pounds will especially appreciate the body contouring along their shoulders and hips.

What Makes The Helix Plus Stand Out?

  • With three comfort layers and tall, individually wrapped coils, this mattress provides ample comfort, pressure point relief, and lumbar support for larger back sleepers. We believe it’s one of the best mattresses for heavy people.
  • Because the coils are so sturdy, we expect this bed to last the entirety of its 15-year warranty.
  • The Helix Plus has many cooling features. The gel-infused memory foam helps regulate body temperature, and the coils promote airflow.

Read our full Helix Plus mattress review.

Best Mattress Under $1,000 That Won't Sag

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress Under $1,000 That Won't Sag

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress Under $1,000 That Won't Sag

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

When you’re shopping for a mattress that won’t sag, you might find yourself paying more for the materials. But if you want a durable mattress that won’t cost you an arm and a leg, check out the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress. Unlike many mattress brands, Brooklyn Bedding owns their own factory, allowing them to pass the savings onto the consumer.

What Makes The Brooklyn Bedding Stand Out?

  • While you’ll be paying less than $1,000 for a Queen-size after discounts, you can expect the Signature Hybrid to last for a number of years. This is because it features TitanFlex and Energex foam, as well as Ascension Coils (all durable materials).
  • The Brooklyn Bedding comes in three different firmness levels, allowing you to find the perfect fit for you.
  • The mattress is breathable and a good fit for hot sleepers.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review.

Best Foam Mattress That Won't Sag

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Foam Mattress That Won't Sag

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Foam Mattress That Won't Sag

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

When many people shop for a soft memory foam mattress, they fear that it will sag after only a few short years. While the Nectar is a soft, comfortable memory foam mattress, shoppers can rest assured that it will hold up for quite some time. That’s because the Nectar features high-density foams in its construction.

What Makes The Nectar Stand Out?

  • The bed has gel-infused memory foam, Hi Core memory foam, and base support foam, all of which should stand up to many years of constant use.
  • The top memory foam layers should provide excellent pressure relief and contouring for side sleepers and back sleepers.
  • Currently priced at under $1,000, the Nectar is one of the best value mattresses out there.

Read our full Nectar mattress review

Best Firm Mattress That Won't Sag

GhostBed Mattress

The GhostBed is a bed-in-a-box that comes with higher quality materials and is lower priced. This may be one of the best values on the market and, if you are a stomach sleeper or hot sleeper, it could be a good choice for you.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read GhostBed Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Mattress That Won't Sag

GhostBed Mattress

The GhostBed is a bed-in-a-box that comes with higher quality materials and is lower priced. This may be one of the best values on the market and, if you are a stomach sleeper or hot sleeper, it could be a good choice for you.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read GhostBed Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Mattress That Won't Sag

GhostBed Mattress

The GhostBed is a bed-in-a-box that comes with higher quality materials and is lower priced. This may be one of the best values on the market and, if you are a stomach sleeper or hot sleeper, it could be a good choice for you.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read GhostBed Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

When it comes to mattress materials that won’t sag, latex really is one of the best, as it’s known to bounce back and retain its shape even after many years of use. However, there is a drawback…it can cost a lot. If you want the durability of latex but want to spend less money, consider the GhostBed mattress. The GhostBed features synthetic latex that’s much more affordable than all-natural Talalay or Dunlop latex. But it should still give you support without sagging quickly!

What Makes The GhostBed Stand Out?

  • The GhostBed is one of the best firm mattresses on this list.
  • It’s a great fit for stomach-sleeping. Heavier back sleepers could also get a balance of comfort and support.
  • It features cooling materials to keep you from overheating at night.

Read our full GhostBed mattress review.

Best Soft Mattress That Won't Sag

Puffy Mattress

Puffy is a comfortable memory foam mattress that is especially great for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read Puffy Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Soft Mattress That Won't Sag

Puffy Mattress

Puffy is a comfortable memory foam mattress that is especially great for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read Puffy Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Soft Mattress That Won't Sag

Puffy Mattress

Puffy is a comfortable memory foam mattress that is especially great for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read Puffy Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

The Puffy mattress has a classic memory foam feel that you can really sink into. Because it’s an all-foam mattress, it creates plenty of pressure relief that’s especially well-suited for lightweight and average-weight sleepers.

What Makes The Puffy Stand Out?

  • When side-sleeping, most people will sink into the soft foam layer and experience wonderful pressure relief.
  • The Puffy also creates wonderful body-contouring, which is ideal for back sleepers.
  • We expect this mattress to last 7–10 years. To make things even better, Puffy mattresses come with a lifetime warranty!

Read our full Puffy mattress review.

Best Luxury Mattress That Won't Sag

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Luxury Mattress That Won't Sag

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Luxury Mattress That Won't Sag

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

If someone wants a mattress that won’t sag, they want to make sure it contains high-quality and high-density materials that won’t break down anytime soon. The DreamCloud easily meets this criteria with supportive coils and multiple layers of high-density foam that should stand up to years of use.

What Makes The DreamCloud Stand Out?

  • This durable hybrid mattress offers an excellent balance of comfort and support. Back sleepers should feel their hips sinking into the plush pillow-top while the coils support them.
  • Stomach sleepers should also be comfortable.
  • The mattress offers a luxury look and feel that should remind people of sleeping in a hotel.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review.

Best Latex Mattress That Won't Sag

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Zenhaven Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

180 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Latex Mattress That Won't Sag

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Zenhaven Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

180 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Latex Mattress That Won't Sag

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Zenhaven Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

180 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

If you’re looking for a flippable latex mattress that won’t sag, the Zenhaven is the perfect choice. Made with all-natural materials, it’s also eco-friendly. It has a soft cover made out of organic cotton, a layer of flame-retardant wool, and some luxurious Talalay Latex foam. Its unique construction gives the mattress a bouncy and responsive feel.

What Makes Zenhaven Stand Out?

  • Because it’s flippable, you can choose your desired firmness level. The Gentle Firm side is best for back sleepers, and the Luxury Plush side best suits back and side sleepers.
  • It’s more affordable than many other latex mattresses on the market.
  • Latex is naturally breathable, so it won’t trap heat like memory foam often does. Hot sleepers shouldn’t have to worry about waking up feeling clammy and dehydrated in the middle of the night.

Read our full Zenhaven mattress review.

Best Cooling Mattress That Won't Sag

Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress

The Casper Wave Hybrid is a comfortable option for back sleepers, hot sleepers, and many side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress That Won't Sag

Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress

The Casper Wave Hybrid is a comfortable option for back sleepers, hot sleepers, and many side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress That Won't Sag

Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress

The Casper Wave Hybrid is a comfortable option for back sleepers, hot sleepers, and many side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Casper Wave Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Lots of sleepers overheat at night, myself included. That’s why Casper created the Wave Hybrid, a mattress with tons of cooling features. The coils not only make the mattress especially durable — they also promote airflow. But the cooling elements don’t stop there. The top layers are ventilated, so they’re extra-breathable. Pair this with its thin cover, gel-infused foam, and latex comfort layers, and you’ve got the recipe for a refreshing night’s sleep.

What Makes The Casper Wave Hybrid Stand Out?

  • It has a durable construction that supports heavier people and should also be comfortable for lightweight people.
  • Light- and average-weight stomach sleepers should get the support they need.
  • The mattress is zoned for extra lumbar support.

Read our full Casper Wave Hybrid mattress review.

Marten’s Take

Marten is our Director of Content, and he has a much different body type than me (he’s 6’7″ and weighs about 230 lb while I am 5’9″ and weigh 160 lbs). Here’s what he thought about these mattresses:

First, I reviewed the WinkBed Plus, which is made specifically for larger people like me. It’s extremely supportive and durable because there are high-density foams on top and particularly high-grade coils beneath that shouldn’t sag.

Then, we have the GhostBed, which was very supportive and a particularly good fit for me when I was lying on my back and stomach.

The Saatva HD is a fantastic choice for heavier sleepers who sleep in any position; it’s a great fit whether I am on my back, side, or stomach.

It seems Marten thought all 10 mattresses could be a good fit for him. This isn’t surprising, given that these are all very durable mattresses, and durability is usually accompanied by a decent amount of support.

RELATED: Best Firm Mattress

What Should Someone Consider When Finding A Mattress That Won’t Sag?

Best Mattresses That Won't Sag Icons

  • What is the density of the foam found in the mattress? Mattresses often sag because there’s a layer of low-density foam somewhere in the construction. So if someone wants a foam mattress that won’t sag, they should pay close attention to the foam density. If someone chooses a mattress that is 2.5- or 3-lb foam, it might start to sag. But if they pick a mattress with 4- or 5-lb density foam, this should help the mattress last longer.
  • What type of foam is featured in the mattress? If someone wants a mattress that won’t sag, latex foam is going to be particularly good because it’s responsive, bouncy, and durable. This natural product can handle heavier weights without sagging.
  • Does the mattress feature coils in its construction? If someone wants a mattress that isn’t going to sag, they should take a look at something with innerspring coils because they add an extra level of support and durability. The coils will help support heavier weights while also fighting significant sagging in the mattress.
  • Make sure you get the right support system. Getting the right support can keep your mattress from sagging too quickly. Your mattress could require a special foundation or box spring.
  • How often should you replace your mattress? Think about how long the mattress is going to last and when it might be time to switch up.

RELATED: How Often Should You Rotate Your Mattress?

How To Tell If A Mattress Is Sagging

  • Note that there’s a difference between the natural body impressions of a bed and a mattress that’s truly sagging. Body impressions are usually a series of small dips. Sagging results in one long dip across the bed, almost resembling a smile that runs the length of the mattress.
  • If you think your mattress is sagging, measure the dip. If it’s less than two inches deep, then you’re fine. But if it’s more than two inches deep, that means your bed is sagging.

How To Fix A Sagging Mattress

  • Replace the sleep foundation, and make sure your new foundation — whether a platform bed, slats, or something else — is compatible with your specific mattress. If you use slats, make sure they’re evenly spaced out.
  • Strategically add pillows around your back, hips, and legs. This is more of a temporary solution, but it will somewhat replace the support that’s been lost in the sagging mattress.
  • Add a mattress topper. This will thicken the bed and provide more contouring and support. See our list of best mattress toppers if you’re in need of suggestions!
  • Turn your mattress around so that the head is now the foot and vice versa. This will redistribute your body weight and help keep the mattress from sagging further.

What Causes A Mattress To Sag

  • The reasons are relatively simple. First, a mattress may sag as a result of simple wear and tear on a bed.
  • But the more common reason is that the mattress hasn’t been properly constructed for durability. That’s why it’s so important to get a mattress that you know will last you years and years.

How We Chose Our Products

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 140 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

Because a longer-lasting mattress is less likely to sag, we paid extra-close attention to the category of durability for this roundup. Of the 10 beds on this list, seven of them scored a 4 out of 5 or higher on durability, with the WinkBed, Helix Plus, and Zenhaven all scoring a 4.5 and the Saatva HD scoring a perfect 5.

Overall

Here’s a recap of our top picks for the best mattresses that won’t sag:

Mattress Superlative
WinkBed Editor’s Pick
Saatva HD Best Mattress For Heavy People That Won’t Sag
Helix Plus Best Hybrid Mattress That Won’t Sag
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Best Firm Mattress That Won’t Sag
Nectar Best Foam Mattress That Won’t Sag
GhostBed Best Mattress Under $1,000 That Won’t Sag
Puffy Best Soft Mattress That Won’t Sag
DreamCloud Best Luxury Mattress That Won’t Sag
Zenhaven Best Latex Mattress That Won’t Sag
Casper Wave Hybrid Best Cooling Mattress That Won’t Sag

FAQs

Do memory foam mattresses sag?

Low-quality memory foam mattresses have a tendency to sag. To avoid this, make sure you find a bed made with high-density foam. These beds will last much longer (about 7–10 years). If you're especially worried about a sagging mattress, opt for a hybrid model made with springs and memory foam. The supportive coils underneath should keep the mattress in good condition for many years.

Can a bed frame cause a mattress to sag?

Yes. If your bed frame isn't supportive enough, your mattress could sag. The same goes for box springs. If your current box spring can't support your mattress's weight, the bed might dip and sag.

Can you fix a sagging mattress?

While it's more or less impossible to permanently fix a sagging mattress, there are temporary solutions such as replacing your sleep foundation, rotating your bed, adding more pillows to specific areas of your body, and adding a mattress topper.

Can a sagging mattress cause back pain?

Yes. Because the bed is no longer evenly supportive, a sagging mattress can cause pain and stiffness, and throw your spine out of its neutral alignment.

How much should a mattress sag?

A mattress that sags two inches or less is perfectly normal. If it's sagging more than two inches, then it's time to think about a solution.

Gravatar for Elisa Regulski

Elisa Regulski

Elisa the Editor of Mattress Clarity, where she analyzes sleep products and appears in review videos. She earned a M.A in Mass Communication from Texas State University and a B.F.A in acting from Oklahoma City University. In addition to writing about sleep health, Elisa is passionate about reviewing music. Her articles about the Austin City Limits Music Festival have appeared in Glide Magazine and Speakers In Code. When she isn’t writing, Elisa can be heard singing with national party band, Saved By The ‘90s. She also performs with Austin-based arts collective, New Manifest Theatre Company.