Best Mattresses That Won’t Sag

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Mattresses are a major investment. After spending hard-earned money, people want to trust that theirs is going to last. That’s why it’s so discouraging when the mattress starts to sag. (Pro tip: If you currently have a sagging mattress, check your mattress warranty to see if sagging is covered.) However, not all mattresses will give up so quickly. After testing and analyzing numerous beds, I’ve found the best 10 mattresses that won’t sag. These beds are not only durable but also high quality.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress that Won’t Sag?

Our expert reviewers chose the Helix Midnight Luxe as the best mattress that won’t sag for its versatile support, durability, and high-quality, long-lasting materials.

Our Top Picks

Video Review: Best Mattresses that Won’t Sag

Compare Best Mattresses That Won’t Sag

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress WinkBed Plus Mattress Nolah Natural Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Saatva Mattress Titan Plus Emma Hybrid Comfort Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress WinkBed Plus Mattress Nolah Natural Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Saatva Mattress Titan Plus Emma Hybrid Comfort Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Soft: 6/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 9/10 Firm: 8/10 Firm: 8/10 Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Hybrid Hybrid Latex Hybrid Hybrid Innerspring Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Combination Back & Stomach Combination Back Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach

How We Chose the Best Mattresses That Won’t Sag

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches has reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

Latex mattress testing in our studio
Best Mattresses That Won't Sag

Because a longer-lasting mattress is less likely to sag, we paid extra-close attention to the category of durability for this roundup. We considered about 30 mattresses for this roundup, and ultimately came up with a list of 10 that we’re confident won’t sag over time. All of the 10 beds on this list scored at least a 3.5 out of 5 or higher on durability.

Best Hybrid Mattress That Won’t Sag – Helix Midnight Luxe

Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994
Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Great for back sleepers
Sleeps cool
Good edge support
Cons
Too soft for stomach sleepers
Pricey

Our Expert’s Take

A hybrid construction goes a long way in improving the durability of a mattress, and for our money the Helix Midnight Luxe is one of the best hybrids out there. Made with a plush pillow top, comfort layers of responsive, cooling foam, and two support layers—one made up of individually-wrapped coils, and the other of dense foam—the Helix Midnight Luxe is very robust. We gave it a perfect score on our durability test, indicating a mattress that can maintain its structure for years to come.

What the testers say:The Helix Midnight Luxe features some high-density foam and other high-quality materials such as individually-wrapped coils. It is hard to gauge how long a mattress will last. Based on its construction, the Helix Midnight Luxe should last for at least 10 years. This depends on your weight and how often you use the mattress, but the Helix Midnight Luxe is a durable option.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • The Helix Midnight Luxe has an incredibly sturdy perimeter. In fact, we awarded it a perfect score on our edge support test. What this means is that if you like to sleep or sit along the edges of your bed you likely won’t experience any sagging or dipping under your weight. 
  • This mattress isolates motion quite well. When we tested the mattress, we weren’t able to feel much movement from one side of the bed to the other. This is good news for couples, particularly if one or both of you are light sleepers. 
  • Back sleepers, regardless of body type, should appreciate the medium firmness of the Helix Midnight Luxe. Your shoulders and hips will sink below the surface a bit, but not so much that your spine is thrown out of alignment.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • We don’t recommend this mattress for stomach sleepers. It’s too soft for average- and heavyweight stomach sleepers to get the support they need. If you weigh 130 lbs or less, you may be comfortable on the Helix Midnight Luxe, but it still might not be a perfect fit. We suggest you check out our article on the best mattresses for stomach sleepers.

Other User Reviews

The Helix Midnight Luxe has an average rating of 4.4 out of 5 based on 5,887 customer reviews on the company website. Positive reviews highlight the bed’s middle-of-the-road firmness, as well as its ability to accommodate different types of sleepers. As for the negative reviews, they tend to revolve around experiences with the customer service team. 

Read our full Helix Midnight Luxe mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix mattress, check out our list of the best hybrid mattresses for more great options! 

Best Luxury Mattress That Won’t Sag – WinkBeds Plus

WinkBed Plus Mattress

winkbed plus

The WinkBeds Plus mattress was made specifically with larger people in mind. It’s made with luxurious materials that should stand the test of time.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

WinkBed Plus Mattress

winkbed plus

The WinkBeds Plus mattress was made specifically with larger people in mind. It’s made with luxurious materials that should stand the test of time.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
winkbed plus

WinkBed Plus Mattress

The WinkBeds Plus mattress was made specifically with larger people in mind. It’s made with luxurious materials that should stand the test of time.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Sleeps cool
Pillow-top feel
Great edge support
Eco-friendly materials
Cons
Average motion isolation
Not for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

WinkBeds is known for creating luxurious mattresses with an innerspring feel. With the WinkBeds Plus, they took this support even further by designing a mattress specifically for people who are heavier in weight. Heavy sleepers over 230 lbs should feel lifted by the Plus’ exceptionally tall layer of coils. That means it’s unlikely to sag, even under extra weight. This mattress also contains high-quality features, such as a cooling Tencel cover and gel-infused Euro pillow top.

What the testers say: “As a larger person, I love the WinkBed Plus’ durable coil system. I don’t feel like I’m sinking into the mattress, and it’s supportive enough for back and side sleeping. I also enjoy the luxurious features. The Tencel cover feels cool-to-the-touch, and the reinforced edge system gives the bed excellent edge support.” —Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBeds Plus

  • Heavyweight back and stomach sleepers should enjoy great spinal support on this bed. Its highly supportive and durable coil system will help keep sleepers from potentially sinking too far into the mattress. 
  • Its zoned support layer makes the mattress slightly firmer near the center. This means back and stomach sleepers’ hips will likely feel fully supported while they sleep.
  • Several design features make this bed a great option for hot sleepers. Its breathable Tencel fabric cover and innerspring support layer allows plenty of airflow throughout the mattress. 

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBeds Plus

  • Generally, lightweight sleepers will probably find this mattress to be too firm. A softer mattress could provide better pressure relief and body contouring to lightweight sleepers.
  • Because this mattress is firmer than the industry standard, average-weight, and heavyweight side sleepers might experience uncomfortable pressure around the shoulders and hips.
  • Sleepers who prefer a memory foam feel probably won’t be a fan of the Winkbed Plus’ bouncy innerspring feel.

Other User Reviews

There are over 8,000 reviews on WinkBed’s website, and the WinkBed Plus has achieved an impressive average 4.8 out of 5 stars. Five star reviews praised how the mattress did not sleep hot and how comfortable it was. The Luxury Firm model did not meet some sleeper’s expectations of firmness, most claiming it was too firm for their liking. 

Read our full WinkBeds Plus mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the WinkBeds mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for heavy people for more great options! 

Best Organic Mattress That Won’t Sag – Nolah Natural

Best Organic Mattress That Won't Sag

Nolah Natural Mattress

Nolah Natural - coupon

The Nolah Natural mattress, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back sleepers will especially appreciate its zoned coil system.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Organic Mattress That Won't Sag

Nolah Natural Mattress

Nolah Natural - coupon

The Nolah Natural mattress, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back sleepers will especially appreciate its zoned coil system.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Nolah Natural - coupon
Best Organic Mattress That Won't Sag

Nolah Natural Mattress

The Nolah Natural mattress, made entirely out of eco-friendly materials, feels both supportive and comfy. Back sleepers will especially appreciate its zoned coil system.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 Nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Durable and long-lasting
Great pressure relief
Bouncy feel
Softer than average
Cons
Poor motion isolation
Not designed for heavier sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Latex is great if you want a mattress that won’t sag. The Nolah Natural is a latex hybrid mattress that is a great long-term investment. It features thick Talalay latex in its comfort layer which won’t break down the way some memory foam and polyfoam might. In addition to the Talalay latex, the mattress contains organic cotton, wool and other eco-friendly materials. This makes the Nolah Natural a great organic mattress that won’t sag.

What the testers say: “The Nolah Natural’s zoned support system keeps me feeling comfy and supported whenever I rest on my back and side. I also love the breathable latex foam–I don’t sink too far into the mattress, but I still get the pressure relief I need. This bed feels super breathable and cool, which is great because I tend to overheat at night.” – Elisa, Reviewer 

What We Love About the Nolah Natural

  • This mattress boasts several certifications guaranteeing its organic and sustainably-sourced materials. The Nolah Natural meets strict industry standards on responsible business practices and emissions requirements, which is a huge plus for eco-friendly shoppers. 
  • Its zoned coil support system provides extra support in the hip area and promotes spinal alignment in the lumbar area of your back. 
  • This bed’s innerspring support layer and breathable Talalay latex layer mean hot sleepers should not be overheating.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Natural

  • Stomach sleepers might find this mattress too soft to support their hips.
  • The mattress’s innerspring bouncy feel means it doesn’t isolate motion well. Couples might be disturbed by their partner shift positions while they are sleeping.

Other User Reviews

The Nolah Natural has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars on the Nolah website. Many users praise how the Nolah Natural is constructed with high-quality materials and how their quality of sleep improved after purchasing the bed. Some reviewers didn’t see a dramatic difference in their sleep quality and still woke up with some aching and pain.

Read our full Nolah Natural mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nolah Natural mattress, check out our list of the best organic mattresses for more great options! 

Best Mattress Under $1,000 That Won’t Sag – Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

Best Mattress Under $1,000

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers. Thanks to its durable materials, it shouldn’t sag.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress Under $1,000

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers. Thanks to its durable materials, it shouldn’t sag.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Mattress Under $1,000

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers. Thanks to its durable materials, it shouldn’t sag.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Provides body contouring
Good for back pain
Pillow-top feel
Balance of comfort and support
Cons
Slight chemical smell after opening
Poor motion isolation

Our Expert’s Take

When you’re shopping for a mattress that won’t sag, you might find yourself paying more for the materials. But if you want a durable mattress that won’t cost you an arm and a leg, check out the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress. Unlike many mattress brands, Brooklyn Bedding owns their own factory, allowing them to pass the savings onto the consumer.

What the testers say: “I love resting on the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid’s plush pillow top. The top layers cushion my joints, and the coils underneath offer the right amount of support. I felt comfortable while back and side sleeping, and I didn’t overheat on this mattress.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • This mattress comes with more size options than the industry standard. It is also sold at affordable prices for shoppers on a budget.
  • The mattress does a good job of regulating body temperature and dissipating heat. Its main comfort layer is made with proprietary TitanFlex foam to promote cooling. 
  • It offers potential comfort and support to combination sleepers, especially those who are average or lightweight.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • This bed might not be the best fit for heavy people. They’ll likely want to look for a more supportive mattress, like the Titan. 
  • As an innerspring mattress, it doesn’t absorb motion well. For couples who share a bed together, this may be an issue. 

Other User Reviews

There are over 10,000 reviews on Brooklyn Bedding’s website, and the Signature Hybrid has achieved an average 4.7 out of 5 stars. Many users purchased the Signature Hybrid for their RVs and could sleep comfortably while on the road. Combination sleepers also praised the mattress for being the right level of firmness for their preferred positions. 

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses under $1000 for more great options!

Best Soft Mattress That Won’t Sag – Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Soft Mattress That Won’t Sag

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

The Bear Elite Hybrid contains high-quality foam and durable coils, making it a great choice for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Soft Mattress That Won’t Sag

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

The Bear Elite Hybrid contains high-quality foam and durable coils, making it a great choice for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Soft Mattress That Won’t Sag

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Elite Hybrid contains high-quality foam and durable coils, making it a great choice for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Zoned support system
Great for combination sleepers
Balanced foam feel
Made with high-quality materials
Cons
Slight chemical smell after opening
Pricey

Our Expert’s Take

Softer mattresses aren’t always a great option if you want something that won’t sag. Many include foams (which are great for pressure relief but not always for durability), and these beds tend to be some of the first to wear down. The ideal solution? The Bear Elite Hybrid. First off, it contains individually-wrapped coils that should last for a number of years without sagging. Second, the top foam layers are high-quality and shouldn’t lose their shape too quickly. Being a hybrid, the Bear Elite Hybrid has a balance of comfort and support and should work for most sleeping positions, depending on which firmness you choose.

What the testers say: “The Bear Elite Hybrid is a high-quality mattress made with luxurious materials. Sleeping on it felt like being on a nice hotel mattress. It’s also thicker than traditional mattresses, so we expect it to have a long lifespan. The Bear Elite Hybrid should last at least 10 years.” —Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • This mattress comes in three firmness options. We reviewed the Luxury Firm option which is likely ideal for combination sleepers, as it works for both back and side sleepers, who should feel well-supported.
  • This bed is a great option for sleepers with back pain. Its bouncy coils create plenty of lumbar support, even for sleepers around 230 lb. 
  • It is constructed with cooling materials throughout its layers. The Bear Elite Hybrid is made from copper-infused memory foam and zoned comfort foam designed to promote airflow. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • The Bear Elite Hybrid is a high-end long-term investment. It could be too pricey for those on a strict budget. 
  • Heavyweight sleepers close to or over 300 lb might find this bed not supportive enough. 

Other User Reviews

The Bear Elite Hybrid mattress received 266 reviews on the Bear website with an average score of 4.5/5. Top reviews rave about how users don’t wake up with back pain and that the Elite Hybrid is an upgrade from their previous mattress. Combination sleepers were highly satisfied and could sleep well without aching pain. But other reviewers did not find this mattress as comfortable or as firm as they expected.

Read the full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress, check out our list of the best soft mattresses for more great options! 

Best Innerspring Mattress That Won’t Sag – Saatva Classic

Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Lifetime warranty
Multiple firmness options
Very supportive
Cons
Poor motion isolation

Our Expert’s Take

Innerspring coils are a commonly used material in making a mattress durable and supportive. The Saatva features two sets of steel coils, making this a very durable mattress that is unlikely to sag. Plus, the additional layer of coils makes for a very supportive mattress across the entire surface, so you shouldn’t have to worry about the edges of the bed dipping under your weight if you sleep along the perimeter. That said, if you’re a heavyweight person then you may want to opt for the Firm version of the Saatva, as it should do a better job of maintaining its structural integrity under your weight. 

What the testers say: “The Saatva has a classic innerspring feel. It’s bouncy and responsive, but the tufted pillow top offers some plush cushioning. When I rested on the mattress, I didn’t sink too far into the layers. I felt like I was sleeping “on top of” the mattress rather than “inside” it.” — Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva Classic

  • Multiple firmness options mean the Saatva can cater to a wide range of people. Whether you’re a lightweight side sleeper and need something with a little more cushioning, or you’re a heavyweight stomach sleeper and need a mattress that will support your hips, the Saatva should have you covered. 
  • We tested the medium-firm version of the Saatva—what they call the Luxury Firm. Our mattress testers found it performed exceptionally well for lightweight stomach sleepers and average-weight back sleepers. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva Classic

  • This mattress is on the expensive side, as a queen will cost you just over $2,000. If you’re interested in something more affordable, consider the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid.
  • The Saatva earned a disappointing 3/5 on our motion transfer test. Our testers were easily able to feel one another’s movements as they shared the bed, meaning this might not be the best option for couples, particularly those made up of light sleepers. Instead, we would suggest the Helix Midnight Luxe.

Other User Reviews

Based on 3,436 customer reviews on the Saatva website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.8 out of 5. Compared to other mattresses, 66 5-star reviewers were happy to find that the Saatva didn’t show any signs of sagging after some time. That said, there is one 1-star review that mentions the mattress began sagging after one year. 

Read our full Saatva mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Saatva mattress, check out our list of the best innerspring mattresses for more great options! 

Best Mattress For Heavy People That Won’t Sag – Titan Plus

Best Mattress For Heavy People That Won't Sag

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress For Heavy People That Won't Sag

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
titan featured image
Best Mattress For Heavy People That Won't Sag

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Affordable
Great motion isolation
Solid edge support
Eco-friendly materials
Cons
Not for most average or lightweight sleepers
No bounce or “give”

Our Expert’s Take

The Titan Plus was designed with larger sleepers (over 230 lbs) in mind. In fact, we named it one of the best mattresses for heavy people! The elements of its construction that make it sag-resistant also contribute to its compatibility with heavier people. The industrial coils provide support throughout the entire mattress, so heavier parts of your body won’t sink in more than they’re supposed to. Directly under the coil layer is a base of dense foam that holds up very well under weights up to and over 300 lbs. 

What the testers say: “I’m a heavier person and am 6’7”, so the Titan Plus was very supportive for me. I got some good support back sleeping, but for some, the hips may not sink into the mattress enough to be comfortable. Stomach sleeping felt the best on this mattress though, since the firm feel let my hips sink and my spine get the right support.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus

  • Heavyweight back and stomach sleepers might feel enough comfort and support from this bed, especially in the hip area. Its heavy duty TitanCaliber coils keep sleepers over 300 lb from sinking too far into the mattress.
  • It’s priced lower than many other beds made for larger people.
  • Its gel-infused memory foam cover provides a touch of that slow-moving feel on top as well as cooling comfort.

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • This mattress is much firmer than the industry standard of medium-firmness of 6.5/10. This makes it too firm for average-weight side sleepers and practically all lightweight sleepers. 
  • Some heavyweight side sleepers might find this mattress doesn’t provide enough pressure relief.

Other User Reviews

On Brooklyn Bedding’s website, the Titan Plus has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars from 2,441 published reviews. Heavier sleepers were pleased with how sturdy and supportive the mattress was in all sleeping positions. A couple reviews across the board said adding a mattress topper further improved their sleep quality on the Titan Plus. 

Read our full Titan Plus mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Titan Plus mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for heavy people for more great options!

Best Firm Mattress That Won’t Sag – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Firm Mattress That Won't Sag

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Mattress That Won't Sag

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
emma comfort hybrid us airtable
Best Firm Mattress That Won't Sag

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Good for hot sleepers
Works well for couples
Fantastic support
Cons
Most likely not ideal for side sleepers
Lightweight sleepers may not get enough pressure relief

Our Expert’s Take

If you want a mattress that won’t sag too quickly, a firm mattress is a probably good place to start. The Emma Hybrid Comfort is made for heavy people and is one of the firmest mattresses on this list. Our average weight reviewer ranked the mattress at an 8/10 for firmness, but with that said, it’ll probably feel a bit softer for heavier sleepers. The Emma Hybrid Comfort features durable materials designed to withstand and support heavier weights. Whether you are heavier or not, this firm mattress should give you a great amount of firmness and should last you a long time.

What the testers say: “The Emma Hybrid Comfort is supportive enough for heavier people. Its zoned coils are up to the challenge and should handle weights in excess of 300 lb. Also, its high-density foams shouldn’t sag under this weight.” — Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • As is the case with many mattresses designed for heavy people, the Emma Hybrid Comfort has great edge support. This means that the perimeter of the mattress won’t sag under even a large amount of weight. 
  • Not just good for heavyweight stomach sleepers, light- and average-weight stomach sleepers should also find comfort and support on the Emma Hybrid Comfort. Because of its high firmness (8/10), your hips will stay propped up on the mattress surface, which means your spine will stay properly aligned

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • What makes the Emma Hybrid Comfort a good option for stomach sleepers can potentially make it a bad option for most side sleepers. Unless you’re a heavyweight side sleeper, you’ll likely find that this mattress is too firm. A too-firm mattress for side sleepers can result in pressure and pain around the shoulders and hips. We suggest the Bear Elite Hybrid instead.

Other User Reviews

The Emma Hybrid Comfort has a perfect 5/5 star rating on the Emma website. There are only four customer reviews, as the product is new, but those who have purchased and reviewed the mattress are clearly happy with it.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Emma Hybrid Comfort, check out our list of the best firm mattresses for more great options!

Best Extra-Firm Mattress That Won’t Sag – Plank Firm

Best Extra-Firm Mattress That Won't Sag

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

plank firm airtable

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Extra-Firm Mattress That Won't Sag

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

plank firm airtable

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
plank firm airtable
Best Extra-Firm Mattress That Won't Sag

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Flippable mattress
One of the firmest beds available
CertiPUR-US® certified foam
Excellent edge support
Cons
May absorb heat
Won’t absorb motion

Our Expert’s Take

It’s called the Plank for a reason. This bed from Brooklyn Bedding comes with both a firm side and an extra-firm side. The former scored an 8/10 on our mattress firmness scale, and the latter scored a 9/10. To give you some context, a 1/10 would be like lying on a giant marshmallow and a 10/10 would be like lying on a board.  So the Plank Firm is for folks who want a firm and supportive mattress that will keep them lifted and help their spine stay in a neutral alignment. And because this bed is so firm, it likely won’t dip or sag as time goes on!

What the testers say: “Both sides of the Plank have a firm foam feel. I didn’t sink into the top layers very much, so it was very easy for me to move around on top of this bed. As a heavier person, the extra firm side offered plenty of support whenever I rested on my back and stomach.” —Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Plank Firm

  • This flippable bed comes with two firmness options in one. We ranked the firm side of the Plank Firm around an 8/10 on the firmness scale, and we ranked the extra-firm side close to 9/10.
  • Both sides are great options for average-weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers. They keep the hips elevated and aligned with the spine while sleeping.
  • The firm side may provide back sleepers with adequate pressure relief around the hips. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Plank Firm

  • Both sides are much firmer than the industry standard for medium-firmness. If you are not looking for an extra-firm mattress, consider options closer to the 6.5/10 standard. 
  • Side sleepers may not find enough pressure relief on either side of the mattress. There’s no “give” from the mattress, so side sleepers will experience a lot of pressure around the shoulders and hips.

Other User Reviews

The Plank Firm mattress boasts a 4.8/5 user rating of 2,670 reviews on the Brooklyn Bedding website. Sleepers looking for an extra-firm bed agreed this was a great investment to improve their sleep quality. For those who prefer the extra-firm feel, they claimed this mattress was great for back pain. Other reviews were mixed whether the mattress was too firm or too soft for their liking. Keep in mind though, firmness is subjective and will change from person to person. 

Read our full Plank Firm mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Plank Firm mattress, check out our list of the best extra firm mattresses for more great options! 

Best Mattress for Stomach Sleepers That Won’t Sag – Birch

Best Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton. It’s very supportive and works well for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton. It’s very supportive and works well for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton. It’s very supportive and works well for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Very bouncy feel
Offers body contouring
No chemical smell
Great for back pain
Cons
Poor motion isolation
Too firm for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

When it comes to sleeping positions, having a mattress that doesn’t sag can be especially important for some stomach sleepers. If the mattress dips too much, it may cause their hips to bow and fall out of alignment with their shoulders. Luckily, the Birch mattress is made from materials that should keep stomach sleepers lifted and healthily aligned. Its comfort layers are made of latex foam—a material known for its natural durability and responsiveness. At the bottom of the mattress, a layer of individually wrapped coils adds to the mattress’ overall support.

What the testers say: “When I sleep on my back and stomach, I feel a great balance of comfort and support. The latex layers cushion my joints but prevent me from sinking too far into the foam. And thanks to the breathable wool and latex, the Birch mattress doesn’t overheat at night.” — Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch

  • This all-natural mattress is free of harmful chemicals, durable, and eco-friendly. It is certified to be sustainably-sourced and meet strict emissions standards. 
  • It’s a potentially great fit for average and lightweight stomach sleepers. The firmness level may help prevent hips from dipping too far into the top layer, which helps keep the body in alignment.
  • The Birch is a hybrid mattress, and its coils promote airflow through the mattress, making it very breathable.

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch

  • Because the Birch is made with high-quality, environmentally-friendly materials, it is not as affordable as a non-organic mattress
  • Average and heavyweight side sleepers may find that this mattress adds too much pressure to their shoulders and hips. These sleepers might find more comfort with Birch’s pillow-top mattress topper, which they can add for an additional fee.

Other User Reviews

Over 1,800 reviews rated the Birch mattress an average score of 4.7 out of 5. Users mentioned being able to rest easy knowing that the Birch mattress is made with no hazardous chemicals. Most people love how this bed is not too firm and not too soft, but some people wished the mattress was a bit firmer. 

Read our full Birch mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Birch mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers for more great options! 

What Should Someone Consider When Finding A Mattress That Won’t Sag?

Best Mattresses That Won't Sag Icons
  • What is the density of the foam found in the mattress? Mattresses often sag because there’s a layer of low-density foam somewhere in the construction. So if someone wants a foam mattress that won’t sag, they should pay close attention to the foam density. If someone chooses a mattress that is 2.5- or 3-lb foam, it might start to sag. But if they pick a mattress with 4- or 5-lb density foam, this should help the mattress last longer.
  • What type of foam is featured in the mattress? If someone wants a mattress that won’t sag, latex foam is going to be particularly good because it’s responsive, bouncy, and durable. This natural product can handle heavier weights without sagging.
  • Does the mattress feature coils in its construction? If someone wants a mattress that isn’t going to sag, they should take a look at something with innerspring coils because they add an extra level of support and durability. The coils will help support heavier weights while also fighting significant sagging in the mattress.
  • Make sure you get the right support system. Getting the right support may keep your mattress from sagging too quickly. Your mattress could require a special foundation or box spring.
  • How often should you replace your mattress? Think about how long the mattress is going to last and when it might be time to switch up.

RELATED: How Often Should You Rotate Your Mattress?

Sunbeam heated pad
Testing in our sleep lab

How To Tell If A Mattress Is Sagging

Impressions

Note that there’s a difference between the natural body impressions of a bed and a mattress that’s truly sagging. Body impressions are usually a series of small dips. Sagging results in one long dip across the bed, almost resembling a smile that runs the length of the mattress.

Dip

If you think your mattress is sagging, measure the dip. If it’s less than two inches deep, then you’re likely fine. But if it’s more than two inches deep, that means your bed is probably sagging.

bear star hybrid push
Hands-on mattress testing

How To Fix A Sagging Mattress

Find the Proper Base

Replace the sleep foundation, and make sure your new foundation — whether a platform bed, slats, or something else — is compatible with your specific mattress. If you use slats, make sure they’re evenly spaced out.

Use Pillows

Strategically add pillows around your back, hips, and legs. This is more of a temporary solution, but it will can somewhat help replace the support that’s been lost in the sagging mattress.

Add a Mattress Topper

This will thicken the bed and provide more contouring and support. See our list of best mattress toppers if you’re in need of suggestions!

Turn Around Your Mattress

Turn your mattress around so that the head is now the foot and vice versa. This will redistribute your body weight and could help keep the mattress from sagging further.

What Causes A Mattress To Sag

The reasons are relatively simple. First, a mattress may sag as a result of simple wear and tear on a bed. The more common reason is that the mattress isn’t properly constructed for durability. That’s why it’s so important to get a mattress that you know will last you years and years.

RELATED: How to Fix a Sagging Mattress

Overall

Here’s a recap of our top picks for the best mattresses that won’t sag:

MattressSuperlative
Helix Midnight LuxeBest Hybrid Mattress That Won’t Sag
WinkBeds PlusBest Luxury Mattress That Won’t Sag
Nolah NaturalBest Organic Mattress That Won’t Sag
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Mattress Under $1,000 That Won’t Sag
Bear Elite HybridBest Soft Mattress That Won’t Sag
Saatva ClassicBest Innerspring Mattress That Won’t Sag
Titan PlusBest Mattress For Heavy People That Won’t Sag
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Firm Mattress That Won’t Sag
Plank FirmBest Extra-Firm Mattress That Won’t Sag
BirchBest Mattress For Stomach Sleepers That Won’t Sag

FAQs

Do memory foam mattresses sag?

Low-quality memory foam mattresses have a tendency to sag. To avoid this, make sure you find a bed made with high-density foam. These beds will last much longer (about seven to 10 years). If you’re particularly worried about a sagging mattress, opt for a hybrid model made with springs and memory foam. The supportive coils underneath should keep the mattress in good condition for many years.

Can a bed frame cause a mattress to sag?

Yes. If your bed frame isn’t supportive enough, your mattress could sag. The same goes for box springs. If your current box spring can’t support your mattress’s weight, the bed might dip and sag.

Can you fix a sagging mattress?

While it’s more or less impossible to permanently fix a sagging mattress, there are temporary solutions such as replacing your sleep foundation, rotating your bed, adding more pillows to specific areas of your body and adding a mattress topper. You can also help prevent sagging by flipping your mattress (if it is flippable), or if it’s not flippable (most beds these days aren’t) by rotating it 180 degrees every six months or so.

Can a sagging mattress cause back pain?

Possibly. Because the bed is no longer evenly supportive, a sagging mattress can cause pain and stiffness, and throw your spine out of its neutral alignment. You may want your mattress surface to be flat and even, as this can help support spine alignment.

How much should a mattress sag?

A mattress that sags two inches or less is perfectly normal. If it’s sagging more than two inches, then it’s time to think about a solution.

Elisa Regulski

Elisa is the Editor of Mattress Clarity, where she analyzes sleep products and appears in review videos. A certified sleep science coach, Elisa's sleep tips have appeared in Readers Digest, Homes and Gardens, and 21 Oak. She earned a M.A in Mass Communication from Texas State University and a B.F.A in acting from Oklahoma City University.