Best Mattresses for Arthritis and Joint Pain Relief

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Falling asleep can be especially challenging if you struggle with arthritis and joint pain. That’s why we’ve put together a list of mattresses specifically for folks who struggle with these ailments. Although many factors inform the selection of a new bed — body weight, sleeping position, and personal preference, to name a few — we tried to pick mattresses that we’ve found alleviate pain by aligning the spine and cushioning the joints. And if by chance you still need more options after reading this guide, check out our mattress quiz for personalized recommendations.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for Arthritis and Joint Pain Relief?

Our expert reviewers chose the Nectar Premier Copper as the best mattress for arthritis and joint pain relief due to its durable support features and thick comfort layer of memory foam that helps contour pressure points and help relieve pain.

The Best Mattresses for Arthritis

The Best Mattress for Arthritis 2024: Our Video Roundup

Compare the Best Mattresses for Arthritis

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress Saatva Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Bear Star Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe Birch Luxe Natural Mattress
Nectar Premier Copper Mattress Saatva Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Bear Star Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe Birch Luxe Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Soft: 6/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10
Material Foam Innerspring Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Combination Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach

How We Chose Our Top Picks

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty. You can read more about our testing methods at the bottom of this roundup.

Mattress testing photos from the studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

When thinking about the best mattresses for arthritis, we wanted to choose beds that offer a good amount of support. This helps sleepers keep a neutral spinal alignment, which helps prevent pain. That’s why we only included mattresses that scored at least a 3.5 out of 5 in this category. And of these eight beds, five scored a 4 out of 5 or higher on support.

Best Mattress for Arthritis and Fibromyalgia- Nectar Premier Copper

Best Mattress For Arthritis and Fibromyalgia

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced, cooling mattress.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress For Arthritis and Fibromyalgia

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced, cooling mattress.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Nectar Premier Copper
Best Mattress For Arthritis and Fibromyalgia

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced, cooling mattress.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Great for back and side sleepers
Impressive cooling features
Cons
Not firm enough for stomach sleepers
Lacks a bouncy feel

Our Expert’s Take

If you struggle with arthritis and fibromyalgia, then you might find it difficult to fall or stay asleep. An excellent mattress is key to a good night’s rest. The Nectar Premier Copper mattress is an ideal mattress for arthritis and fibromyalgia because it balances comfort and support. And since it’s made entirely of foam, it’s great for pressure relief. Up top, there’s a thick comfort layer of memory foam that helps contour pressure points and alleviate pain. Below that, high-density base foam prevents premature sagging and helps promote good spinal alignment.

What the testers say: “As a hot sleeper, I love the Nectar Premier Copper’s cooling features. I really don’t feel hot when I sleep on this bed. It also offers plenty of pressure relief while side sleeping, which is exactly what I need.” — Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Premier Copper

  • The Premier Copper is Nectar’s most high-end model released to date. It has the ultimate combination of pressure relief, support, and cooling features from the brand.
  • It feels slightly softer than the standard for medium-firmness. Its slow-moving memory foam comfort layer and soft feeling makes the Premier Copper a great match for most side sleepers. 
  • This mattress gets its name from Nectar’s signature cooling cover infused with copper fibers that dissipate body heat and wick away moisture. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Premier Copper

  • Nectar is a bed-in-a-box company, and we noticed some initial off-gassing from the Premier Copper mattress. If you notice any off-gassing, it should dissipate in less than 48 hours.
  • Its base layer gives this bed a more bouncy, responsive feel than the Nectar Original

Other User Reviews

On Nectar’s website, the Premier Hybrid has a 4.5/5 star rating based on nearly 2,200 customer reviews. Many reviewers loved how the Premier Hybrid cradled their body and helped alleviate their back and joint pain. Some sleepers found that the Premier Hybrid was too soft and did not have enough support around its edge.

Read our full Nectar Premier Copper mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Fibromyalgia for more great options.

Best Mattress for Seniors with Arthritis- Saatva

Best Mattress For Seniors With Arthritis

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers, including seniors.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress For Seniors With Arthritis

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers, including seniors.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Mattress For Seniors With Arthritis

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers, including seniors.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Great for combination sleepers
Zoned support system
Cons
No slow-moving feel
Not budget-friendly

Our Expert’s Take

The Saatva is a luxury innerspring mattress with a high-end design of support coils, micro-coils, and a pillow-top that contours to your body shape. You have the choice of three different firmness levels, but we think the Luxury Firm model is going to be the best for seniors with arthritis.

What the testers say: “The Saatva mattress offers both comfort and support, which makes it a great bed if you deal with arthritis or fibromyalgia. I love its classic innerspring feel and organic cotton cover. It helps me maintain the proper spinal alignment all night long!” — Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva

  • The Saatva’s construction allows for ample airflow through its two sets of support coils. Its organic cotton cover is also naturally breathable to help sleepers stay cool.
  • Both its pocketed coil system and its Euro pillow top offer zoned support to help keep your spine in alignment. 
  • This mattress is built with a reinforced edge to make it easy to get in and out of bed. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • The Plush Soft model of the Saatva Classic is best suited for most side sleepers. However, this model is not as pressure-relieving and plush as other best mattresses for side sleeping
  • Its two sets of innerspring coils give the Saatva a very bouncy feel. Those who prefer to sink gently into their mattress should consider a slow-moving foam mattress. 

Other User Reviews

The Saatva Classic has earned a 4.8 out of 5 star rating from over 3,300 customer ratings on its product page. Many reviewers mention how the Saatva mattress helped alleviate their back pain with its zoned support system. A few customers were not satisfied with Saatva’s delivery service and their return policy. 

Read our full Saatva mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Seniors for more great options.

Best Customizable Mattress for Arthritis- Helix Midnight

Best Customizable Mattress For Arthritis

Helix Midnight Mattress

the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Customizable Mattress For Arthritis

Helix Midnight Mattress

the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom
Best Customizable Mattress For Arthritis

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Luxurious upgrades available
Balanced hybrid feel
Cons
Not designed for heavyweight sleepers
Makes some noise

Our Expert’s Take

Helix touts six different mattress models that vary in firmness and feel. Most unique of all, the undecided can take an online sleep quiz, and Helix will choose the right bed for them! When it comes to arthritis and joint pain, we believe the Helix Midnight is one of the best options, as it has the best balance of comfort and support in the whole line.

What the testers say: “The Helix Midnight is my favorite mattress from the brand. It offers both comfort and support, which helps me stay comfortable while I’m back and side sleeping. I love its responsive feel because it’s easy to move around on top of the bed, and I don’t feel like I’m ‘stuck inside’ it.” — Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • This bed offers a great balance of comfort and support for most combination sleepers. Its slow-moving foam layer provides great pressure relief while back and side sleeping. 
  • The Helix Midnight has several features that make it a great fit for couples. It isolates motion well and is also bouncy and responsive enough for sex. 
  • Its reinforced edge and balanced foam feel make the Helix Midnight easy to move around on. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • Unless you are a lightweight sleeper, the Helix Midnight probably won’t offer enough support for stomach sleeping. 
  • When you are moving around on the Helix Midnight, you might hear some faint creaking from its coil support layer. 

Other User Reviews

On the Helix website, the Midnight Core mattress has a 4.5 out of 5 star rating from over 6,600 customer reviews. Hundreds of customers were impressed with its quality construction and balance of comfort and support. A few customers thought the Helix Midnight was not supportive enough, which led to some users to develop back pain over time.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Customizable Mattresses for more great options.

Best Cooling Mattress for Arthritis- WinkBed

Best Cooling Mattress for Arthritis

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress for Arthritis

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
WinkBed
Best Cooling Mattress for Arthritis

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Multiple firmness options
Great lumbar support
Cons
Poor motion isolation
Not budget-friendly

Our Expert’s Take

The WinkBed is known for its traditional innerspring feel, with zoned coils that target different sections of the body for optimal pain relief. The coils near the head and foot of the bed are softer, while the coils in the center of the mattress are firmer since sleepers need more support near their backs and stomachs. We think this zoning should appeal to anyone struggling with arthritis, as it provides both pressure relief while also keeping the body lifted. Another benefit of so many coils is that they allow air to flow through the bed’s structure, making the WinkBed an excellent cooling mattress.

What the testers say: “The WinkBed’s zoned support layer helps me maintain the correct spinal alignment throughout the night, so I don’t wake up with back pain! I love its classic innerspring construction and plush pillow top.” — Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • Its innerspring coil layer allows for ample airflow to prevent from trapping heat. The WinkBed also features a Tencel cover that is breathable and moisture-wicking. 
  • Not only is the WinkBed’s top foam layers responsive and extra pressure-relieving, they are also infused with gel beads to keep you cool. 
  • The Luxury Firm model is a great match for most back and side sleepers. Lightweight stomach sleepers can also find enough support on this model. 

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • The WinkBed does not have a slow-moving foam feel, it feels quite bouncy because of its individually-wrapped coil layer.
  • This mattress may be out of some shopper’s budgets. But for the price, you are getting a worthwhile investment that should last at least seven to 10 years. 

Other User Reviews

The WinkBed has earned an impressive average customer rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars on its product page. The majority of WinkBed customers were pleased with the brand’s quality delivery service and loved how comfortable the WinkBed feels to sleep on. Some customers who purchased the Luxury Firm or Firmer WinkBed models found these options too firm for their preferences. 

Read our full WinkBed mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

Best Mattress for Arthritis in the Lower Back- Nolah Evolution

Best for Arthritis in the Lower Back

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Arthritis in the Lower Back

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best for Arthritis in the Lower Back

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Zoned support system
Proprietary cooling features
Cons
Not budget-friendly
Lacks a slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

Hybrid mattresses are ideal for those with lower back pain, and a pressure-relieving comfort layer is ideal for arthritis. The Nolah Evolution is a hybrid mattress and a solid option for those experiencing arthritis in the lower back. It has a zoned construction, meaning this mattress is firmer towards the center. This provides sleepers with extra lumbar support. It has a 2” Euro-top cooling cover and a 2” layer of graphite-infused, pressure-relieving foam for comfort.

What the testers say: “The Nolah Evolution’s zoned layer gives me the support where I need it most. I could really feel that extra boost of lumbar support when I rested on my back, but it also offered plenty of pressure relief whenever I slept on my side.” — Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • The Nolah Evolution is available in three firmness levels: Plush, Luxury Firm, and Firm. The Luxury Firm model feels like the industry standard for medium-firmness and is ideal for most back sleepers. 
  • Its multiple memory foam comfort layers offer sleepers amazing pressure relief and lumbar support. 
  • This mattress features Nolah’s AirFoam, a proprietary, ventilated foam layer designed to keep sleepers cool. Am AirBreath heat escape gusset surrounds this layer to further dissipate body heat. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • Because the Nolah Evolution is a luxury mattress with advanced cooling technology, it is not as affordable as other mattresses on this list. 
  • The Luxury Firm model won’t be supportive enough for most stomach sleepers. These sleepers should opt for the Firm model for extra support. 

Other User Reviews

The Nolah Evolution 15” mattress boasts a 4.9 out of 5 star rating on the Nolah website. Top customer reviews say that the Nolah Evolution was a great investment to achieve better sleep. Keep in mind that visitors to the Nolah website cannot filter or sort through customer reviews.

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Sciatica and Lower Back Pain for more great options.

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers with Arthritis- Bear Star Hybrid

Best Mattress For Side Sleepers With Arthritis

Bear Star Hybrid Mattress

bear star hybrid airtable2

The Bear Star Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress For Side Sleepers With Arthritis

Bear Star Hybrid Mattress

bear star hybrid airtable2

The Bear Star Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
bear star hybrid airtable2
Best Mattress For Side Sleepers With Arthritis

Bear Star Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Star Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Advanced cooling technology
Made from CertiPUR-US certified foams
Cons
Not great for heavyweight side sleepers
Not softer than average

Our Expert’s Take

The Bear Star Hybrid mattress has a classic medium-firm feel, making it a great choice for side sleepers with arthritis. The memory foam comfort layer cushions joints and the 8” coil system provides plenty of lumbar support. Most back and side sleepers should feel comfortable on the Bear Star Hybrid. Another perk: The Bear Star Hybrid mattress works well for couples. It isolates motion well, so you shouldn’t feel your partner shifting sleeping positions at the night.

What the testers say: “The Bear Star mattress cushions my pressure points, which makes it a great mattress for side sleeping. I love how the coils promote airflow and create a responsive feel. It’s easy to move around on and I don’t overheat at night!” — Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Star Hybrid

  • Bear mattresses feature Celliant technology to help sleepers keep cool and aid with muscle recovery. 
  • Its top comfort layer creates plenty of pressure relief for side sleeping and is gel-infused to draw heat away from your body. 
  • For a hybrid mattress, the Bear Star Hybrid does an excellent job at isolating motion. That’s why we think this is a great mattress for couples

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Star Hybrid

  • Heavyweight sleepers may feel a good deal of pressure around their shoulders and hips while side sleeping. 
  • At full price, the Bear Star Hybrid might be out of some shopper’s budgets. But if you wait for a holiday sale, you could save hundreds of dollars on a new Bear mattress. 

Other User Reviews

The Bear Star Hybrid only has 49 customer reviews on the Bear website, but it has been rated 4.8 out of 5 stars. Customers love how the Star Hybrid has helped reduce their back pain and muscle soreness. 

Read our full Bear Star Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers for more great options.

Best Mattress for Heavy Sleepers with Arthritis- Titan Plus Luxe

Best Mattress for Heavy Sleepers with Arthritis

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

Titan Luxe Hybrid Mattress Review

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Heavy Sleepers with Arthritis

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

Titan Luxe Hybrid Mattress Review

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Titan Luxe Hybrid Mattress Review
Best Mattress for Heavy Sleepers with Arthritis

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Very supportive
Durable
Cons
Not designed for lightweight sleepers
No slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

Heavier sleepers require a firmer mattress with more support, but those battling arthritis still need something plush that relieves joint pain. The medium-firm and balanced feel of the Titan Plus Luxe should be great for this. The hybrid bed includes 8” of sturdy coils to keep heavier sleepers well-supported, and its responsive TitanFlex foam should provide a plush feel without trapping sleepers in the material.

What the testers say: “I’m 6’7″, so having a supportive mattress is very important for me. I love how the Titan Plus Luxe supports my spine and cushions my joints. I can tell that this is a durable mattress that will last at least a decade.” — Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus Luxe

  • Heavyweight combination sleepers should experience a great deal of comfort and support from its pressure-relieving foam and durable coils. 
  • Its support layer is made from 8” individually-encased TitanCore coils to provide long-lasting support. 
  • The Titan Plus Luxe does a great job at isolating motion while still feeling responsive. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus Luxe

  • Many light- and average weight sleepers will find the Titan Plus Luxe too firm to sleep comfortably. However, lighter stomach sleepers will probably find enough support for their hips on this mattress. 
  • You may notice some slight off-gassing from the Titan Plus Luxe after you unbox it. This should disappear after 48 hours. 

Other User Reviews

On Brooklyn Bedding’s website, the Titan Plus Luxe has an average user rating of 4.7/5 stars based on 1,798 customer ratings. Several big and tall sleepers found the Titan Plus Luxe to be comfortable, cooling, and an upgrade to their previous mattress. A few reviews mention that for a highly supportive bed, the Titan Plus Luxe does not have the best edge support.

Read our full Titan Plus Luxe mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options.

Best Luxury Mattress for Arthritis- Birch Luxe Natural

Best Luxury Mattress for Arthritis

Birch Luxe Natural Mattress

Birch Luxe featured

The Birch Luxe Natural Mattress is a new mattress designed with luxury in mind. This is a luxury hybrid mattress perfect for fans of eco-friendly made mattresses.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Luxury Mattress for Arthritis

Birch Luxe Natural Mattress

Birch Luxe featured

The Birch Luxe Natural Mattress is a new mattress designed with luxury in mind. This is a luxury hybrid mattress perfect for fans of eco-friendly made mattresses.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Birch Luxe featured
Best Luxury Mattress for Arthritis

Birch Luxe Natural Mattress

The Birch Luxe Natural Mattress is a new mattress designed with luxury in mind. This is a luxury hybrid mattress perfect for fans of eco-friendly made mattresses.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 Nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Great for back and stomach sleepers
Naturally cooling materials
Cons
Not budget-friendly
Not for fans of a softer mattress

Our Expert’s Take

Just because you struggle with arthritis doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy a luxurious night’s sleep. Helix caters to both of these areas — pain relief and a luxury sleeping experience — with the Birch Luxe Natural. It’s an organic hybrid mattress that uses natural latex foam to both cushion the joints and provide support. Arthritis sufferers should get some contouring while still being able to move around.

What the testers say: “The Birch Luxe mattress has a responsive feel, and I love how the latex foam dissipates body heat. I felt great whenever I rested on my back. The coils supported my spine, while the comfort layers cushioned my hips.” — Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch Luxe Natural

  • The Birch Luxe Natural boasts several certifications to ensure it is made from eco-friendly, organic materials using sustainable practices. 
  • Its layer of individually wrapped coils features zoned lumbar support and reinforced edge support. 
  • Its layer of latex foam is naturally breathable and ventilated to promote airflow. Its layers of organic wool also regulate temperature and wick away moisture. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch Luxe Natural

  • Because the Birch Luxe Natural feels like a 7.5/10 on our firmness scale, we wouldn’t recommend it for side sleepers. 
  • The Birch Luxe Natural is made from luxury, organic materials, so it won’t be as affordable as a value mattress. 

Other User Reviews

The Birch Luxe Natural has a 4.4/5 star rating based on 163 customer reviews left on the Birch website. Several customers appreciate how eco-friendly and well-made the Birch Luxe Natural is and how comfortable it is for back sleeping. Some customers found the mattress to be too firm for their comfort, which led to some users experiencing hip pain. 

Read our full Birch Luxe Natural mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Luxury Mattresses for more great options.

How To Choose The Best Mattress For Arthritis

Just as there’s no single best sleeping position for arthritis, there’s also no singular best mattress type. You’ll definitely want something that will align the spine and cushion the joints, but the right bed will depend on a number of factors, from sleep position to personal preferences regarding temperature regulation, support, pressure relief, and so on.

Memory Foam

MemoryFoam

Memory foam can be a great option for folks suffering from arthritis because it helps cushion and relieve pressure around the joints.

Benefits

  • The foam contours the body and relieves pressure.
  • Memory foam beds have a slow, sinking feeling that many find comfortable.

Drawbacks

  • They aren’t always the best beds for switching positions.
  • The material is known for trapping heat.

Innerspring

InnerSprings

As the name implies, innerspring mattresses incorporate coils into their construction. These coils tend to create a bouncy and responsive feel, as well as a supportive sleeping surface. This bodes well for folks with arthritis, as they can have mobility issues and might want a bed that allows them to move around easily at night.

Benefits

  • Innerspring beds tend to sleep cool, as the coils allow for plenty of airflow.
  • They do a good job of promoting spinal alignment.
  • Despite the bounce, you can add a plush pillow-top for extra pressure relief.

Drawbacks

  • Some innerspring mattresses might feel too firm for folks with joint pain.

Hybrid

Some hybrid models place a comfort layer of memory foam over coils. Other models might have a comfort layer of polyfoam, latex, or another material. Either way, the combination of materials helps people with arthritis by balancing cushioning and pressure relief with spinal support. Also, make sure to read up on our best orthopedic mattresses.

Benefits

  • The comfort layer helps relieve pressure on the joints.
  • The coils create a supportive sleep surface and allow for lots of airflow.

Drawbacks

  • Hybrid beds tend to be more expensive.

Latex

Latex mattresses can be natural or synthetic, and are processed in different ways to make the material denser or airier. Most latex has a bouncy and responsive feel mixed with some pressure relief. You’re unlikely to feel “stuck” in the bed, making it easy for folks with arthritis and joint pain to move around.

Benefits

  • The comfort layer helps relieve pressure on the joints.
  • Latex beds tend to sleep cool.

Drawbacks

  • Some people find that latex mattresses don’t offer enough body contouring to adequately relieve joint pain.
  • Latex mattresses can be on the pricier side.

Airbeds

Don’t worry, we’re not talking about the inflatable mattress that you keep stashed in the closet! Airbeds are actually luxury mattresses made with customizable air chambers. Using an app, remote control, or crank, people with arthritis and joint pain can change the firmness of the mattress to their liking.

Benefits

  • If you have arthritis, you can customize the mattress as your pain evolves.

Drawbacks

  • The comfort layer tends to be thin, which means some people won’t find adequate cushioning.
  • Airbeds tend to be quite pricey.

What to Look For In a Mattress For Arthritis

We’ve talked about how each type of mattress might work well (or not so well) for pain relief and arthritis. Now let’s break down some of the traits sleepers should be on the lookout for.

Pressure Relief

First and foremost, anyone who struggles with arthritis will want their mattress to relieve the pain and pressure on their joints. So they’ll want to find a mattress that has at least a little bit of sinkage and contouring, even if it’s a firmer or more responsive bed overall.

Support

At the same time, people with arthritis need a lot of support to help them keep a neutral alignment and prevent further pain. Hybrid and innerspring mattresses have coils to help keep the sleeper lifted, but there are all-foam beds that can work for this as well.

A man sleeps on his side on the Lytton Signature mattress

Firmness

As a general rule, medium-firm mattresses often feel best to those who deal with chronic pain. That’s because they tend to offer a balance of spinal support and pressure relief. That being said, side sleepers might want a slightly softer mattress, and stomach sleepers will probably need a firmer bed for adequate spinal support.

Note: Heavier-weight side sleepers might require a plusher mattress than lightweight folks to get enough pressure relief. Heavier-weight sleepers also tend to require a sturdier mattress to obtain proper support. See: Firm vs. Soft Mattress.

Edge Support

People who deal with arthritis often face mobility issues that could make it harder to climb in and out of bed. For this reason, a sturdy edge is important so the mattress doesn’t collapse while you’re sitting or leaning near the edge of it. Mattresses with coils often have decent edge support, and some all-foam beds feature a high-density layer of foam around their perimeter.

molecule hybrid edge support

Bounciness

A mattress that has a little bit of bounce to it will make it easier to move around if you have arthritis. While you won’t want it to be too bouncy, you want to make sure you have at least some mobility and aren’t sinking too far into the bed.

Sleep Trial/Warranty

If you struggle with joint pain or arthritis, it can be hard to know if a mattress will keep you comfortable over the long term just from reading reviews online or testing it out in a store. For this reason, it’s a good idea to look for a bed with a generous sleep trial. This way, you can test out the mattress in the comfort of your own home (and over an extended time period) to make sure it’s well-suited to your needs.

Summary

Need a recap? Here are the best mattresses for arthritis.

MattressSuperlative
Nectar Premier CopperBest Mattress for Arthritis and Fibromyalgia
SaatvaBest Mattress for Seniors with Arthritis
Helix MidnightBest Customizable Mattress for Arthritis
WinkBedBest Cooling Mattress for Arthritis
Nolah EvolutionBest Mattress for Arthritis in the Lower Back
Bear Star HybridBest Mattress for Side Sleepers with Arthritis
Titan Plus LuxBest Mattress for Heavy Sleepers with Arthritis
Birch Luxe NaturalBest Luxury Mattress for Arthritis

Best Mattress for Arthritis and Joint Pain FAQs

What is the best mattress for arthritis?

There’s no one best mattress for arthritis. That being said, the Helix mattresses are a great place to start, as they allow you to find the perfect match for your specific situation.

What type of mattress is best for arthritis?

Many types of mattresses can be a good fit for arthritis. This includes innerspring, hybrid, and memory foam mattresses. However, memory foam is known for offering the best pain and pressure relief. A memory foam or memory foam hybrid mattress could be your best choice.

Is a firm or soft mattress better for arthritis?

If you struggle with arthritis, you want something that’s soft enough to relieve pressure on your joints, but firm enough to keep you properly aligned. It also depends on your sleeping position and your size.

Featured image: Paolese/Shutterstock/Adobe Stock

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.