Best Mattresses for Under $1000

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs, where we are compensated for items purchased through links from our site. See our disclosure page for details.

While the bed-in-a-box revolution has lowered mattress prices to a more affordable level, many online mattresses still cost more than $1,000.  If you’re looking for a great mattress that won’t break the bank, this article is perfect for you.

In this roundup, I’ll go over everything you’ll need to know about buying the best mattress under $1,000. I considered over 25 different mattresses, but only 7 made the final cut. Keep reading to learn more about each mattress’s construction, firmness level, comfort, and price.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress Under $1,000?

Our expert reviewers chose the Nectar as the best mattress under $1,000 for its soft feel and compatibility with side sleepers.

Best Mattresses Under $1,000: Our Top 7 Picks

Best Mattress Under $1,000: Our Video Roundup

Compare the Best Mattresses Under $1,000

Nectar Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort DreamCloud Original Mattress Cocoon Chill Mattress Bear Original Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Essential Layla Mattress
Nectar Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort DreamCloud Original Mattress Cocoon Chill Mattress Bear Original Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Essential Layla Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 8/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options
Material Foam Hybrid Hybrid Foam Foam Hybrid Foam
Cooling --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back & Stomach Back Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Combination

How We Chose the Best Mattress Under $1,000

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

Latex mattress testing in our studio

When selecting the Best Mattresses Under $1,000, we started with a very simple—and obvious—requirement: they all had to cost less than $1,000 after discounts. From there, we picked beds that scored well on their specific superlative.

Note: Mattress prices tend to change quite a bit. So there’s a chance that a handful of these beds might see their cost rise to slightly over $1,000 during certain times of the year. But we’re confident that all of them will consistently hover around or significantly under the $1,000 after discounts.

Nectar – Best Mattress for Side Sleepers Under $1,000

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Classic memory-foam feel
Good for lightweight sleepers
Great for couples
Cons
Bad for heavyweight sleepers
Bad for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Many people love sinking into the Nectar’s cloud-like memory foam. This mattress creates pressure relief where side sleepers need it most. Keep reading to learn why we named this the best mattress for side sleepers.

The Nectar mattress feels slightly firmer than average, but it still works exceptionally well for most side sleepers. That’s thanks to its layers of soft yet supportive foam. This material has a slow-moving feel that sleepers can really sink into. If you love to feel your mattress gently hug and contour your body, this might be the bed for you.

To prevent sleepers from overheating, Nectar added special gel infused foam. This layer provides the contouring that’s so important for side sleepers and helps pull heat away from the body.

What the testers say: “Because [the Nectar] contours the body, it helps alleviate pain along shoulders and hips. This makes it a particularly good fit for most side sleepers. “Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar

  • Memory Foam Feel Thanks to the Nectar’s foam layers, the mattress has a soft, almost doughy feel that many people find comfortable. 
  • Great for Couples The same foam that gives the Nectar its doughy feel also helps to isolate motion. So, if you sleep with a partner who tosses and turns as they sleep, you’ll be less likely to feel it on your side of the bed. 
  • Good for Lightweight Sleepers – Our lightweight mattress tester found the Nectar provided a good balance of comfort and support, regardless of which position they were sleeping in. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • Bad for Heavyweight Sleepers If you’re over 230 lb you’ll likely want to look for a mattress that provides more support and keeps you from sinking too deep into the mattress. We suggest you consider the Emma Hybrid Comfort instead. 
  • Doesn’t Accommodate Most Stomach Sleepers Like heavier people, stomach sleepers need a mattress that provides a lot of support. This is especially true for average- and heavyweight sleepers. 

Other User Reviews

The Nectar mattress has a whopping 59,296 customer reviews on the company website. Based on this feedback, it has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5. Over 2,000 reviews focus specifically on the Nectar’s compatibility with side sleepers. Some, on the other hand, were disappointed to find that the mattress was much firmer than they had expected. 

For more information, read our full Nectar mattress review. For more side-sleeping options, see our roundup of the Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers.

Emma Hybrid Comfort – Best Firm Mattress Under $1,000

Best Firm Mattress

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Mattress

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
emma comfort hybrid us airtable
Best Firm Mattress

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros
Great edge support
Sleeps cool
Quite durable
Cons
Bad for side sleepers
Too firm for lightweight sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Emma Hybrid Comfort landed at an 8 out of 10 on our firmness scale. Because of its high firmness, it excels at supporting heavyweight sleepers, who tend to sleep best on a mattress that keeps them from sinking too far below its surface.

In addition to heavy people, we think that this mattress is suitable for most back sleepers since the firm construction should promote proper spinal alignment. Additionally, stomach sleepers should feel happy with the overall support of this mattress, since it feels much firmer than other mattresses on the market.

Hot sleepers will love to hear that the memory foam layer of the Emma Hybrid Comfort does a good job at heat dissipation and the coil layer helps promote airflow, so you shouldn’t be waking up hot and sweaty!

What the testers say: “The Emma Hybrid Comfort is supportive enough for heavier people. Its zoned coils are up to the challenge and should handle weights in excess of 300 lb. Also, its high-density foams shouldn’t sag under this weight.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Great Choice for Heavyweight People As we mentioned above, Emma Hybrid Comfort provides adequate support to keep heavy people (over 230 lb) from sinking uncomfortably far into the mattress. 
  • Durable Construction – Because of its high-quality hybrid construction, you can expect the Emma Hybrid Comfort to last upwards of ten years if properly cared for. 
  • Good for Stomach Sleepers – Like heavyweight sleepers, stomach sleepers need a firm mattress that will keep their hips from sinking into the mattress. The Emma Hybrid Comfort provides the firmness and support needed to keep the spine aligned.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Too Firm for Side Sleepers – Unlike stomach sleepers, side sleepers (especially light- and average-weight ones) need a soft mattress that allows their hips and shoulders to sink below the surface and receive needed cushion and pressure relief. Check out our list of the best soft mattresses for some great options. 
  • Bad for Lightweights Sleepers – Like side sleepers, lightweight people tend to prefer softer mattresses that will provide some give under their bodyweight. 

Other User Reviews

The Emma Hybrid Comfort only has five reviews on the company website, as the product is fairly new. However, all five reviews rate the mattress 5 out of 5 stars. 

For more information, read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review. For more options for heavyweight people, check out our list of Best Mattresses for Heavy People.

DreamCloud – Best Cooling Mattress Under $1,000

Best Cooling Mattress Under $1,000

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Cooling Mattress Under $1,000

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Cooling Mattress Under $1,000

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros
Sleeps cool
Quite durable
Good for combination sleepers
Cons
Bad for side sleepers
Not enough support for heavyweight people

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re prone to overheating, it’s important that you purchase a mattress with proven ability to stay cool. A hybrid mattress is a good place to start, as they tend to be more breathable than all-foam mattresses. Not only is the DreamCloud a hybrid mattress, it also includes cooling features in its comfort layers that help with temperature regulation. 

The cashmere-blend cover of the DreamCloud is very soft and breathable. As this is the layer that will come in contact with your body it’s important that it helps to dissipate heat. Under that, the comfort foam layers have a gel infusion that helps to keep body heat from becoming trapped. 

In addition to its cooling abilities, the DreamCloud has solid durability. So, for the price you pay you’re getting great value, as the product can be relied on for quite some time. 

What the testers say:When I slept on the DreamCloud, I felt quite cool because the mattress features a few temperature-regulating materials. The cashmere-blend cover is breathable and allows air to pass through the top of the mattress, and the gel-infused memory foam helps dissipate body heat.Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud Mattress

  • Durable – Because of its solid hybrid construction, the DreamCloud is likely to maintain its structural integrity for a long time. This is especially true if it’s properly cared for. 
  • Good Responsiveness – The DreamCloud has a bouncy feel that makes it easy to move around and change sleep positions on the mattress surface. This is an important factor for combination sleepers, who tend to switch sleeping positions throughout the night.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud Mattress

  • Bad for Side Sleepers Our testers did not find the DreamCloud to provide much pressure relief. For this reason, we can’t recommend it for side sleepers, who need plenty of cushioning around their shoulders and hips. Take a look at the Nectar instead. 

Other User Reviews

Based on 8,213 reviews from the DreamCloud website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.6 out of 5. 141 of the 5-star reviews call out the DreamCloud for being breathable and sleeping cool at night. However, some customers felt the mattress was far too firm and overall uncomfortable. 

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

Cocoon Chill – Best Memory Foam Mattress Under $1,000

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Cocoon Chill Mattress

cocoon chill hybrid featured image

The Cocoon by Sealy is a comfortable mattress that is also a great value.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Cocoon Chill Mattress

cocoon chill hybrid featured image

The Cocoon by Sealy is a comfortable mattress that is also a great value.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
cocoon chill hybrid featured image
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The Cocoon by Sealy is a comfortable mattress that is also a great value.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros
Good for back and stomach sleepers
Has great cooling features
Has great edge support
Cons
Too firm for side sleepers
Not supportive enough for heavy people

Our Expert’s Take

For a memory foam mattress, the Cocoon Chill is unique — not just for its low price, but for its cooling capabilities.

Even though memory foam tends to sleep hot, the Cocoon Chill lives up to its name with a cover that’s cool to the touch. It’s soft, breathable, and should help sleepers keep a low temperature at night.

Underneath the cover, a comfort layer of memory foam eventually transitions to a much denser foam at the bottom of the bed. This makes the Cocoon fairly firm and responsive for a memory foam mattress. We clocked it at about a 7.5 out of 10 on our mattress firmness scale.

What the testers say: “The Cocoon Chill is a firmer mattress, so when laying on it, I felt like I was laying right on the top layer rather than sinking deeply into it. It felt firm enough to support stomach sleeping, and when I laid on my back I felt supported by the memory foam layer. It felt a bit too firm for side sleeping though.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Cocoon Chill

  • It’s a cooling memory foam mattress – The Cocoon Chill has a cover made out of phase change material, which feels cool-to-the-touch.
  • Back and stomach sleepers will be really comfortable – Coming in at 7.5/10 on our firmness scale, the Cocoon Chill mattress offers excellent lumbar support for back and stomach sleepers.

What to Keep in Mind About the Cocoon Chill

  • It’s not right for side sleepers — The Cocoon Chill doesn’t offer enough pressure relief for side sleepers.
  • It won’t work for heavy people –Those who weigh more than 230 lb may “bottom out” on this mattress. If you fall in this category, you may want to consider getting the Titan Plus mattress instead.

Other User Reviews

On the Cocoon Chill website, the mattress earns a customer rating of 4.7/5. People noted it has great edge support, and many people said it helped with their back pain. However, some people left one-star reviews because they felt the mattress was too soft.

For more information, read our full Cocoon Chill mattress review. For more foam options, see our roundup of the Best Memory Foam Mattresses.

Bear Original – Best King Mattress Under $1,000

Best King Mattress Under $1,000

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best King Mattress Under $1,000

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame
Best King Mattress Under $1,000

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Great for back and side sleepers
Breathable and cooling
Isolates motion well
Cons
Not great if you want a firm feel
Not supportive enough for most stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

A king mattress under $1,000? It may sound too good to be true, but with the Bear Original, it’s reality! This high-quality bed contains graphite-gel memory foam, which helps dissipate body heat. It also has a medium-firm feel, so it supports both back and side sleepers.

Overall, this mattress has a slow-moving memory foam feel. Sleepers will feel lots of body contouring on this bed, but they won’t feel like they’re “sinking inside” it. The Bear Original’s all-foam construction also aids in motion isolation, so it’s a great choice for couples.

However, if you’re looking for a more responsive mattress, we recommend Helix. This mattress has coils in its support layer, which gives it a bouncy feel.

What the testers say: “I sank right into this mattress and felt great lumbar support when trying the Bear while laying on my back, and when sleeping on my side, I felt great pressure relief. But, like many foam mattresses, I think this may be a bit too soft for most stomach sleepers and they likely won’t get the proper spinal support while stomach sleeping.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Original

  • It’s great for back sleepers – This mattress has a medium-firm feel, which gives back sleepers a great amount of comfort and support.
  • Lightweight and average weight side sleepers will be happy – The thick comfort layer helps cushion joints, which is exactly what side sleepers need.
  • It’s a good choice for hot sleepers – The gel-infused memory foam helps dissipate body heat.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Original

  • It won’t work for stomach sleepers – The Bear Original may not offer enough hip support for stomach sleepers.
  • It’s not right for fans of firm mattresses – The Bear Original has a classic medium-firm feel, coming in at 6.5/10 on our firmness scale. If you want something more supportive, you may want to consider the Helix Dawn mattress.
  • It doesn’t have a bouncy feel – This is an all-foam bed, so it doesn’t feel as responsive as hybrid and innerspring mattresses.

Other User Reviews

On the Bear website, the Bear Original mattress earns a customer review score of 4.5/5. Many combination back and side sleepers thought this mattress was a great pick. However, a few stomach sleepers said the Bear wasn’t supportive enough.

For more information, read our full Bear Original mattress review. For more king options, see our roundup of the Best King-Size Mattresses.

Brooklyn Bedding Essential – Best Hybrid Mattress Under $1,000

Best Hybrid Mattress Under $1,000

Brooklyn Bedding Essential

brooklyn bedding essential airtable

The Brooklyn Bedding Essential is another great value pick from Brooklyn Bedding and still offers nice support.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5
Best Hybrid Mattress Under $1,000

Brooklyn Bedding Essential

brooklyn bedding essential airtable

The Brooklyn Bedding Essential is another great value pick from Brooklyn Bedding and still offers nice support.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5
brooklyn bedding essential airtable
Best Hybrid Mattress Under $1,000

Brooklyn Bedding Essential

The Brooklyn Bedding Essential is another great value pick from Brooklyn Bedding and still offers nice support.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5

Pros
Sold at a value price
Has a responsive feel
Great for back sleepers
Cons
Lacks a slow-moving feel
Doesn’t contour the body

Our Expert’s Take

When you’re looking for a mattress that is high-quality but also affordable, Brooklyn Bedding is always a good place to start. The company owns its factory, allowing them to cut out the middleman and pass the savings to you.

One of their more budget-friendly models is the Brooklyn Bedding Essential mattress. This is a hybrid mattress that features both coils and comfortable, proprietary foams.

When buying an Essential mattress, you’re going to get a perfectly medium-firm mattress. When we reviewed it, we found it to have a great balance of comfort and support. This makes it ideal for back sleepers. Side sleepers that are average or lightweight may be comfortable on the Essential, but stomach sleepers may need something more firm like the Helix Dawn or Titan Plus.

What the testers say: “On my back, I felt my hips sink into the mattress perfectly, and the top foam layers offered a bit of contouring. Overall, I felt a plush and innerspring feel when laying on the Essential, which gave it a nice bounce that was easy to move around on.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Essential

  • Back sleepers will love it – This mattress has a classic medium-firm feel, which is ideal for back sleepers.
  • It’s a responsive mattress – The coils in the support layer make it easy for sleepers to move around on top of the bed.
  • It’s great for people on a tight budget – This is the most affordable mattress Brooklyn Bedding sells.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Essential

  • It’s a long-lasting mattress – Because this mattress is so budget-friendly, it’s not particularly durable. We expect it to last about five years. If you want a more durable option, consider the Helix Midnight.
  • Stomach sleepers won’t be comfortable – The Brooklyn Bedding Essential mattress doesn’t offer enough hip support for stomach sleepers, which could cause lower back pain.
  • It lacks body contouring – If you want a mattress that will cradle your hips, you may want to get the Nolah instead.

Other User Reviews

Many people left five-star reviews on the Brooklyn Bedding Essential website, praising the bed’s budget-friendly price point and pressure relief. However, many people noted that it’s not the most durable mattress, and they may need to replace it in a few years.

For more information, read our full Brooklyn Bedding Essential mattress review. For more hybrid options, see our roundup of the Best Hybrid Mattresses.

Layla – Best Flippable Mattress Under $1,000

Best Flippable Mattress

Layla Mattress

mattress gal 2

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Flippable Mattress

Layla Mattress

mattress gal 2

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
mattress gal 2
Best Flippable Mattress

Layla Mattress

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Good for side sleepers
Has cooling features
Great for back sleepers
Cons
Too soft for heavyweight stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

One of the best perks about the Layla mattress is that it’s a mattress that comes with options. The Layla is a flippable mattress, one side being soft and plush, and the other being more firm. With this mattress, you get the best of both worlds!

On the soft side of the Layla, you get a thick top layer of foam, making this mattress softer than average—it ranks at a 6/10 on our firmness scale, with a 6.5/10 being the standard for a medium firm mattress. You’ll sink into the mattress and get that typical memory foam feel.

The firmer side of the mattress has a thinner top layer and firm supportive layers, ranking in at an 8/10 on our firmness scale. This side of the mattress should be great for back and stomach sleepers, as the firmness should help keep the spine properly aligned and supported.

What our testers say: “On the soft side of the Layla, I felt the typical, slow-moving feel of the mattress and I sank right into it. The firmer side, on the other hand, let me feel like I was laying on it rather than in it, and it was much easier to move around on.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Layla Mattress

  • It’s great for side sleepers – The soft side of the Layla mattress cushions joints and helps alleviate pressure.
  • It has options – With a soft and a firm side, the Layla mattress is quite versatile.
  • Hot sleepers will love it – The Layla mattress has Thermogel in the cover and copper-infused memory foam in the comfort layer. Together, these materials help dissipate body heat and keep sleepers cool.

What to Keep in Mind About the Layla Mattress

  • It’s not a medium-firm mattress – The Layla has a soft and firm side, so if you want something in the middle, you may want to consider getting the Helix Midnight.
  • It won’t work for heavier stomach sleepers — Both sides of the Layla mattress aren’t supportive enough for heavyweight stomach sleepers.
  • You’ll sink into the mattress – The Layla has a slow-moving feel, which causes sleepers to gently sink into the top comfort layers. If you want to sleep more “on top of” your mattress, consider getting one of the Helix mattresses.

Other User Reviews

On the Layla mattress website, the majority of customers left four and five-star reviews. Many people praised the mattress’s motion isolation, comfort and support. However, some people said the mattress felt too firm, even on the softer side.

Make sure to check out our full Layla mattress review for more information. Or, check out our list of the Best Flippable Mattresses.

What to Consider When Buying a Mattress Under $1000

Whether you decide to choose one of these five mattresses or another mattress under $1,000, there are a few things you should think about. There is no one right mattress for everyone so keep these points in mind when you are looking for the best mattresses on Amazon or elsewhere online.

  • Sleeping position: It is always important to take one’s preferred sleeping position into account when a person is picking out a mattress. A mattress that is a good fit for stomach sleepers might not be the best for side sleepers, for example. In general, side sleepers should opt for a softer mattress to ensure they get enough pressure relief on their shoulders and hips. Back sleepers should look for something closer to medium-firm so that they feel a good balance of comfort and support, and stomach sleepers should choose a mattress on the firmer end of the spectrum.Different Sleeping Positions
  • Durability: So, let’s say someone finds a mattress that costs less than $1,000, but two years later the mattress starts to sag and fall apart. While the person saved money up front, that mattress wasn’t a sound investment ultimately. When people are choosing a mattress, they should always think about the durability of the materials used. If the mattress contains memory foam, is it of a higher density? People should keep an eye out for a mattress with high-density foams, latex, or coils, and they should have something that will last them for a good amount of time.
  • Sleeping temperature: It is also a good idea to find out if a new mattress will have people sleeping cool or hot Sleeping Temperaturethroughout the night. A mattress under $1,000 isn’t so good if people wake up sweating every night, for example. People should pay close attention to the materials used in the mattress. If there is memory foam in the mattress, people should see if the producer infuses the memory foam with gel, graphite, or some other cooling agent. Also, hybrid and innerspring mattresses are going to have better airflow in general. Finally, people should keep an eye out for features like cooling covers and materials like latex. Hot sleepers might want to consider the SweetNight Twilight mattress as well.
  • Value: In the end, it all comes down to value, and just because someone is paying Mattress Valueless for a mattress does not mean that they are getting a great value. However, if people consider the quality of the materials, the construction, and extra features, they should know if they are getting a good value. People should just think about how much they are paying for what they get, and they should be just fine!

Other Cheap Mattress Options

Here at Mattress Clarity, we recognize that not every sleeper is working with the same budget. That’s why we put together this roundup of the best mattresses under $1,000. But we also have several other articles for folks who want a high-quality mattress without breaking the bank. Check them out below

Overall

Here’s an overview of our top picks for the best mattresses under $1,000:

MattressBest For
NectarBest Mattress for Side Sleepers
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Firm Mattress Under $1,000
DreamCloudBest Cooling Mattress Under $1,000
Cocoon ChillBest Memory Foam Mattress
Bear OriginalBest King Mattress Under $1,000
Brooklyn Bedding EssentialBest Hybrid Mattress Under $1,000
LaylaBest Flippable Mattress Under $1,000

If people are trying to spend less than $1,000 on their next mattress, one of these options should work for them. Again, consumers should consider their sleeping position and other preferences, and one of these mattresses should be a clear choice. If people need more advice, they can leave their questions in the comment section below.

Best Mattress Under $1,000 FAQs

Can you get a good mattress for under $1,000?

Yes! Plenty of brands make mattresses that are both high-quality and budget friendly. Personally, I’d recommend spending at least $500 on your mattress if you want it to last more than about five years. I’d also recommend shopping during holidays (Memorial Day, Presidents Day, Black Friday, etc.) because brands almost always run deals on these days, and you’ll see a lot of brands reducing their prices on queens and fulls to under $1,000.

What is the best mattress under $1,000?

It depends on your preferences. You’ll want to take a look at our mattress buying guide to see which bed is right for you. Sleepers of different weights, heights, and preferred sleeping positions positions will do better on different beds. Of course, all the beds in this list are our favorite beds under $1,000, but ensure you’re figuring out your individual needs before you buy!

Is $1,000 a lot for a mattress?

No, most queen-size mattresses cost more than $1,000. Mattresses that cost less than $1,000 are considered budget-friendly. But just because they are on the low end of the price range doesn’t mean they are all poor quality. Many, like Helix and Nolah, are both comfy and affordable.

How long does a $1,000 mattress last?

Most $1,000 mattresses won’t last as long as high-end mattresses, but all of the beds featured in this roundup should last at least five years. If you want a particularly durable bed, we recommend Helix. These beds should last between seven and 10 years.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.