Best Mattress for Seniors in 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

When we reach retirement age, many of us will struggle with sleep issues such as insomnia, not to mention the physical health conditions that come with getting older. Luckily, finding the best mattress for seniors can make it easier for them to get healthy sleep. And while comfort is subjective and there’s never going to be a single best option for all elderly sleepers, there are beds that will work wonderfully for certain types of sleepers. We’ve considered more than 15 mattresses for this list, and below we’ve highlighted our picks for the seven best mattresses for seniors.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for Seniors?

Our expert reviewers chose the Helix Midnight as the best mattress for seniors due to its exceptional edge support (for ease of getting out of bed), cooling features, durability and comfort.

Best Mattresses for Seniors in 2024

Best Mattress for Seniors 2024: Video Roundup

Compare the Best Mattresses for Seniors

Helix Midnight Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nectar Mattress Loom & Leaf Mattress Titan Plus Layla Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress
Helix Midnight Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nectar Mattress Loom & Leaf Mattress Titan Plus Layla Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 9/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10
Material Hybrid Hybrid Foam Foam Hybrid Foam Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Combination Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach Combination Back

How We Chose Our Top Picks

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

Testing edge support in our sleep lab

When it came to compiling a list of the best mattresses for the elderly, we focused specifically on response, pressure relief, and accessibility. All of these mattresses should be accessible to the elderly, but they range in design to offer more options.

Best Overall – Helix Midnight

Best Overall

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Helix Midnight
Easy for seniors to get in and out of bed
A good option for senior couples
You can upgrade to the Luxe or Elite models
Cons of the Helix Midnight
May not be supportive enough for heavy sleepers
Stomach sleepers require more support

Our Expert’s Take

Of all of the different models, we’ve chosen the Helix Midnight as our best overall pick for the best mattress for the elderly. It’s cooling, durable, and extremely comfortable.

Helix has become renowned for its customization. When selecting a bed, seniors can choose from one of the brand’s many mattress models or they can take Helix’s sleep quiz. Based on their answers, Helix will recommend the most suitable mattress.

What the testers say: “I’m a fan of Helix Midnight’s mix of pressure relief and response. Lying down, I felt it contouring to the shape of my body, but I never had trouble moving around or changing positions.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • Helix’s proprietary Memory Plus foam conforms to your body. Its slow-moving feel is a great fit for seniors in need of extra pain or pressure relief. 
  • Its reinforced individually-wrapped coils give the mattress excellent edge support, making it easy for seniors to get in and out of bed. 
  • The mattress’s hybrid construction provides optimal comfort and support to back and side sleepers. 

What to Keep in Mind About of the Helix Midnight

  • Its soft top comfort layer makes the Helix Midnight not the best match for stomach sleepers. We recommend opting for a slightly firmer mattress to support your hips and promote spinal alignment. 
  • During testing, we noticed a bit of creaking from the innerspring coils. However, it should not be loud enough to disrupt seniors from sleeping through the night. 

Other User Reviews

On the Helix website, the Helix Midnight mattress received over 6,300 reviews with an average rating of 4.5/5. Four and five-star customer reviews praised how the Helix Midnight was able to eliminate their back, hip and knee pain. Most users also found the bed to meet their expectations of medium firmness. A few reviews mentioned a chemical smell when first opening the box the mattress comes in, but this smell should dissipate after 48 hours.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses 2024 for more great options.

Best Mattress for Seniors with Back Pain – WinkBed

Best Mattress for Back Pain

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Pain

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Pain

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the WinkBed
Has a luxury look and feel
One of the best innerspring mattresses
Breathable and cooling
Cons of the WinkBed
Not the best motion isolation
Lacks contouring
Has a higher price point

Our Expert’s Take

An innerspring mattress that features extra-tall coils and a plush pillow-top, the WinkBed has an exceptional amount of support, which makes it a sound choice for anyone experiencing back pain. It should help keep the spine in a neutral alignment.

Of the four firmness options available, we’d recommend either the Luxury Firm or Firmer model. Both of these beds should have the requisite amount of comfort and support for folks with back pain.

What the testers say: “As a person who deals with back pain, I loved the zoned construction found in the WinkBed mattress. Lying on my back, I felt the firmer area of the mattress press up into my lumbar area. I felt all the support I needed there.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • The WinkBed has a traditional innerspring feel. Innerspring mattresses are bouncy, responsive and easy to move around on. 
  • It comes with a breathable TENCEL™ cover that helps hot sleepers stay cool.
  • The Luxury Firm model delivers a balance of comfort and support for back sleepers. It does this because of the thin pillow top comfort layer and the zoned coils, which offer support for the lumbar area of your back. 

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • This bed is not supportive enough for sleepers who weigh over 300 lb. These folks should opt for a firmer mattress to offer adequate pressure relief, or check out the WinkBed Plus, a bed designed for heavyweight sleepers. 
  • The WinkBed is not the best mattress for couples because of its poor motion isolation. During our testing, we noticed some motion disturbances that traveled from one side of the bed to the other. 

Other User Reviews

The WinkBed has an impressive 4.8/5 star rating from 8,419 reviews on the WinkBed website. Positive reviews agree that the Luxury Firm model is a very comfortable mattress that relieved user’s back pain from their first night of sleep. These reviews also mentioned how easy the mattress was to set up in their homes. A common complaint about the WinkBed was that the sleeper’s selected model was either too soft or too firm for their liking. Luckily, WinkBed offers free shipping and returns to ensure sleepers are satisfied with their mattresses. 

Read our full WinkBed mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Pain for more great options.

Best Adjustable Bed for Senior – Nectar

Best Adjustable Bed for Seniors

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Adjustable Bed for Seniors

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Adjustable Bed for Seniors

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Nectar
Nectar’s adjustable frame is easy to set up
Should offer excellent pressure relief
Great for back sleepers and side sleepers
Cons of the Nectar
The adjustable frame doesn’t hug the wall
Not as responsive as some mattresses

Our Expert’s Take

An adjustable bed creates a truly customizable experience. This is ideal for seniors because of the numerous health benefits associated with adjustable frames.

Our personal favorite mattress and adjustable base bundle is the Nectar mattress and the Nectar adjustable frame. Together, this pair provides versatility, comfort, support, and convenience at a great value.

What the testers say: “The Nectar mattress worked very well with the Nectar adjustable base. I was able to raise up the head area of the mattress, and this helped curb some of the snoring I deal with.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar

  • Nectar’s gel memory foam provides superb body contouring. Its slow-moving feel will have you sinking into the mattress and conforming to your shape. 
  • Its high-density base layer provides excellent edge support. This durable foam should make the mattress last between seven and 10 years.
  • Nectar’s compatible adjustable bed frame comes with several settings with various benefits including minimizing snoring and massaging motions. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • Memory foam mattresses tend to absorb heat, and hot sleepers may feel too warm sleeping on the Nectar. However, we did not sleep hot on the Nectar due to its cooling cover and gel-infused foam.
  • This bed is too soft and not supportive enough for stomach sleepers. A stomach sleeper’s hips would sink too far into the mattress which typically leads to lower back pain over time. 

Other User Reviews

The Nectar mattress has received an impressive 56,476 reviews on the Nectar website with an average 4.7/5 rating. Reviewers love the balance of softness and support that brings them comfortable and restful sleep. People that bought the Nectar with its adjustable frame claimed the frame further improved their sleep quality. Some negative reviews mentioned how the bed was not as soft as they had hoped. 

Read our full Nectar mattress review for more information. Or see our roundup for the Best Adjustable Beds.

Best Mattress for Pain Relief for Seniors – Loom & Leaf

Best Mattress for Pain Relief for Seniors

Loom & Leaf Mattress

Loom & Leaf is a perfect choice for those looking for a luxury memory foam feel that relieves pain.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Pain Relief for Seniors

Loom & Leaf Mattress

Loom & Leaf is a perfect choice for those looking for a luxury memory foam feel that relieves pain.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Pain Relief for Seniors

Loom & Leaf Mattress

Loom & Leaf is a perfect choice for those looking for a luxury memory foam feel that relieves pain.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Loom & Leaf
A durable, long-lasting mattress
Zoning assists with spinal support
Boasts nice cooling features
Cons of the Loom & Leaf
Not very responsive
Not a cheap mattress

Our Expert’s Take

Many elderly shoppers looking to relieve pain in their joints should consider a memory foam mattress. These beds can really cushion the shoulders and hips and prevent a build-up of pressure. For seniors, we recommend the Loom & Leaf, which comes in two firmnesses: Relaxed Firm and Firm.

Both models combine gel memory foam with a high-density memory foam that should make it easy to move around and prevent sleepers from getting stuck.

What the testers say: “While the Loom & Leaf felt firm at first, its memory foam slowly gave in and let me sink into the mattress. In the end, it offered some of the best pressure relief I have ever felt. The memory foam cradled my shoulders and hips, making it especially great for side sleeping.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Loom & Leaf

  • This bed has a classic memory foam feel to promote spinal alignment and lumbar support. This can help alleviate pain in those areas.
  • Average and heavyweight side sleepers receive plenty of pressure point relief along their shoulders and hips.
  • The Loom & Leaf is a great choice for senior couples. Its memory foam layers do an excellent job at isolating motion throughout, so you won’t notice your partner moving around. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Loom & Leaf

  • The Loom & Leaf is a long-term investment with a price tag that might be out of range for shoppers on a budget. 

Other User Reviews

On the Saatva website, the Loom & Leaf mattress has a nearly perfect 4.9/5 rating from 542 reviews. Several reviews mention being impressed by its high-quality construction and customer service. One senior reviewer said he slept more comfortably and longer on the Loom & Leaf than on any other mattress he owned. A few users said that the Loom & Leaf was slightly firmer than what they expected from a memory foam mattress. 

Read our full Loom & Leaf mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Arthritis and Joint Pain for more great options.

Best Mattress for Heavier Seniors – Titan Plus

Best Mattress for Heavier Seniors

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Heavier Seniors

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Heavier Seniors

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros of the Titan Plus
A cooler-sleeping mattress
A good fit for elderly back sleepers over 230 lb
Has impressive edge support
Cons of the Titan Plus
Not built for lightweight sleepers
Not for fans of soft mattresses
Doesn’t have a memory foam feel

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re an elderly person with a larger body type, then the Titan Plus may be for you. It was actually designed specifically for heavy sleepers. The foam at the top of the mattress is more responsive than typical memory foam, giving just a little bit of relief while also creating enough support to keep the spine neutrally aligned. Further support comes from a layer of tall coils at the bottom of the mattress.

Folks 230 lb or above are likely to feel the most pressure relief from the foams, but average-weight stomach sleepers should also be comfortable on the Titan Plus, especially if they experience back pain.

What the testers say: “I’m a heavier guy, and the Titan Plus gave me plenty of support. I often struggle to get enough support when I’m back sleeping, but it wasn’t an issue on the Titan Plus. Heavier people of all ages should love this mattress.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus

  • As a mattress designed for heavyweight sleepers, it is designed with heavy-duty coils and highly durable memory foam layers. This mattress can support up to 1,000 lb.
  • Heavyweight sleepers will receive support and pressure relief to promote spinal alignment. 
  • Its construction promotes airflow throughout the mattress to prevent hot sleeping. Brooklyn Bedding also offers an optional cooling cover to aid hot sleepers. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • There is not much “give” in this mattress. It does not have a bouncy feel or offer much body contouring. 
  • Lightweight and average weight sleepers will certainly find this bed too firm. This is one of the most firm mattresses we have ever reviewed. We found it to be a 9 out of 10 on our firmness scale. 

Other User Reviews

The Titan Plus mattress earned a 4.7/5 star rating from 2,473 reviews on the Brooklyn Bedding website. Several positive reviews mention how durable and sturdy the Titan Plus mattress is. Reviews from heavier sleepers rave how supportive and comfortable they sleep on their new mattress. A few reviewers thought the mattress was too firm to sleep comfortably on. 

Read our full Titan Plus mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options.

Best Mattress for Senior Couples – Layla

Best Mattress for Couples

Layla Mattress

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Couples

Layla Mattress

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Couples

Layla Mattress

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Layla
A copper infusion helps it sleep cool
Excels at isolating motion
Has a flippable hybrid option
Cons of the Layla
Heavy people should consider one of the best hybrid mattresses
The soft side is not as responsive

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re an elderly couple with different sleep preferences, you might want to take a look at the all-foam Layla. With a flippable design, you can test out two very different firmness levels to figure out what works best for you both. On the soft side, you’ll get a lot of plushness and contouring — two traits that tend to be best for side sleepers. The firm side, meanwhile, is firmer and more supportive.

What the testers say: “When I tested out the motion transfer on the Layla, I was very impressed. Especially on the soft side, I saw almost no disturbance. The thick memory foam did a great job of absorbing motion, so this should be a good option for couples.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Layla

  • Its memory foam construction handles motion isolation very well. The softer side is slightly better at preventing motion transfer than the firmer side. 
  • This flippable bed is the perfect solution for combination sleepers. The firmer side is supportive enough for most back sleepers and lighter stomach sleepers. The softer side offers more pressure relief for side sleepers but is also great fit for average and lightweight sleepers who prefer a softer mattress. 
  • Its thick base support layer makes the Layla one of the best mattresses for pain relief.

What to Keep in Mind About the Layla

  • The Layla mattress has subpar edge support. We noticed not feeling as supported sitting or laying near the edge during our testing. 
  • Because the Layla is not very responsive, it is not the best mattress for sex. Instead, look for a bouncier mattress that is easier to move around on. 

Other User Reviews

On the Layla website, the Layla mattress earned a 4.5/5 star rating from around 7,500 reviews. Many reviews from seniors claim that the Layla mattress is very comfortable and capable of relieving chronic pain. Those that left one and two star reviews were disappointed by the lack of a medium-firm feel. Although most reviewers found one side capable of improving their sleep quality after purchasing.  

Read our full Layla mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

Best Mattress for Seniors Who Sleep Hot – DreamCloud

Best for Seniors Who Sleep Hot

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best for Seniors Who Sleep Hot

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best for Seniors Who Sleep Hot

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros of the DreamCloud
An excellent fit for elderly combination sleepers
Has solid edge support
An affordable mattress
Cons of the DreamCloud
Not the best for heavy people
Too firm for side sleeping

Our Expert’s Take

Hybrid mattresses tend to be a wonderful match for hot sleepers because the coils promote airflow through the bed and keep it from trapping too much heat.

The DreamCloud — one of our favorite hybrid mattresses — has individually wrapped coils, gel-infused cooling foam, and a breathable cashmere-blend cover.

What the testers say: “Based on my experience, the DreamCloud is an effective cooling mattress. The cover, foams, and coils all kept the mattress nice and breathable, so that it shouldn’t make you overheat at night.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud

  • The DreamCloud has a traditional innerspring feel, making it highly responsive and easy to move around on. 
  • Its medium-firmness is best suited for back sleepers and lighter stomach sleepers. 
  • This mattress is made from high-quality, durable materials that won’t sag after a few years. 

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud

  • The DreamCloud does not handle motion transfer particularly well. If one partner moves in the middle of the night, the other partner may feel a disturbance. 
  • Sleepers close to 300 lb or over may not feel supported by this mattress. We recommend these people opt for a firmer mattress. 

Other User Reviews

On the DreamCloud website, the DreamCloud Hybrid mattress has received 7,564 reviews with an average rating of 4.6/5. Reviewers attest to its balance of comfort and support finding it to be the perfect medium-firm mattress. Some five star reviews compare the DreamCloud to sleeping on an actual cloud. A handful of negative reviews mention being unsatisfied with its edge support. 

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

Jump To

How to Find the Best Mattress for the Elderly | Choosing an Accessible Mattress | How to Make a Bedroom More Accessible | What Type of Mattress Is Best for Seniors? | Why Seniors Need a Great Mattress | Sleep Tips for Seniors | Overall | FAQ

Why Seniors Need a Great Mattress

Sleep is important for everyone at every stage of their life, and that includes seniors. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), adults between the ages of 61 and 64 should aim for seven to nine hours of sleep each night, while adults over the age of 65 should slumber for approximately 7 to 8 hours every night.

Even though sleep remains critical as we age, many seniors struggle to obtain quality sleep on a regular basis. Some of them deal with pain-related issues such as arthritis, fibromyalgia, and/or back pain, making it harder to fall and stay asleep. Additionally, certain pain medications can act as stimulants and make it even more difficult to get enough shut-eye.

Even seniors who don’t deal with pain might struggle to obtain quality sleep, because sleep itself changes as we age. A long-term study of 9,000 people over the age of 65 found that, compared to younger adults, elderly adults have more fragmented sleep and spend less time in deeper sleep stages. There’s also evidence that circadian rhythms might shift as we age, prompting our bodies to wake up earlier and shortchanging sleep.

So how does this relate to a mattress? Well, mattresses play a huge role in determining whether we feel comfortable (or not) when we lie down to sleep. An uncomfortable or unsupportive mattress can exacerbate pain and make it harder to fall asleep and sleep soundly through the night. A high-quality mattress that feels good and helps mitigate pain can facilitate restful sleep.

For more information, check out our article on Sleep Changes Seniors Should Know.

Choosing the Best Mattress for Seniors

Whether seniors go with one of our recommended mattresses or decide to keep looking, here are some factors they should consider.

  • Bounce: When people reach an older age, they may struggle with serious mobility issues. This makes it more difficult to get in and out of bed and change positions. They want to ensure that their mattress doesn’t sag and make things worse, causing them to feel trapped. So, it’s a good idea to find a mattress that is more responsive and contains coils, bouncier foams, or even latex.
  • Pressure relief: Many elderly sleepers might have a condition such as arthritis or fibromyalgia, or they could just be dealing with joint pain. A softer mattress that contains pressure-relieving memory foam should cushion those trouble areas and relieve built-up pressure. Take a look at our list of the best mattresses for hip pain.
  • Firmness: Although comfort is subjective, medium firmness lends a balance of comfort and support. This is important for cushioning joints and maintaining spinal alignment. Is your current mattress too soft? Here’s our latest resource on how to make a mattress firmer!
  • Cooling: As our bodies age, they’re not as effective at regulating our temperature. That’s why it’s a good idea to choose a mattress that will stay cool. Try to find a bed with coils that allow for good airflow, or foam that has additional cooling features.
  • Edge support: Seniors will want to ensure that their mattress has great edge support, meaning that they need a mattress that ensures they won’t roll off and become injured from sleeping too close to the edge of their bed.

What Type of Mattress Is Best for Seniors?

There are more types of mattresses on the market than ever before, from classic innerspring models to beds made from memory foam and latex. Here’s an overview of some of the mattress types that might appeal to senior sleepers.

Innerspring Mattresses

As the name suggests, innerspring mattresses include springs (otherwise known as coils) in their construction. There’s a lot of variety under the innerspring umbrella; some innerspring beds are made with pocketed or individually wrapped coils while others stack multiple layers of coils on top of each other, and so on.

Pros of innerspring mattresses for seniors:

  • They tend to be supportive, helping maintain spinal alignment and reduce back pain.
  • They have strong edge support, so it’s easier to climb in and out of bed.
  • They work well for hot sleepers since the spaces between the coils allow for plenty of airflow.
  • They often suit back and stomach sleepers, who need plenty of support for proper spinal alignment.

Cons to innerspring mattresses for seniors:

  • Some innerspring beds might feel too firm and won’t offer enough cushioning for achy joints.
  • They might not be well-suited to side sleepers, who need plenty of pressure relief around the shoulder and hips.
  • A coil construction can sometimes add height to a bed, making it harder to climb in and out.
  • Some innerspring mattresses don’t do a great job of minimizing motion transfer, which might wake up elderly couples if they shift around during the night.

Memory Foam Mattresses

Memory foam mattresses are made from (that’s right!) memory foam, a material that’s known for being soft and pressure-relieving. Memory foam also tends to contour the body and have a slow response to pressure.

Pros of memory foam mattresses for seniors:

  • Memory foam tends to be pressure-relieving, so it can help cushion achy joints.
  • Because it contours the body, foam can be a great choice for side sleepers looking to find comfort around the shoulder and hips.
  • It’s easy to find thinner memory foam mattresses, which can be useful for folks who have a hard time climbing in and out of a tall bed.
  • Memory foam tends to be silent and does a great job of absorbing motion. This is crucial for senior couples who don’t want to disturb each other during the night.

Cons to memory foam mattresses for seniors:

  • Memory foam mattresses on the softer side might not provide enough spinal support.
  • Some memory foam mattresses have poor edge support, making it harder to climb in and out of bed.
  • Because of their slow response to pressure, it can be hard to move around on top of memory foam beds.
  • As a general rule, memory foam mattresses trap heat and might not be a great choice for hot sleepers.
Marten testing a memory foam mattress in our sleep lab
Testing a memory foam mattress in our sleep lab

Latex Mattresses

Latex mattresses can be made from natural latex (which is derived from rubber trees), synthetic latex (which is made through chemical processes), or a blend of the two. It can be processed in one of two ways: Dunlop latex has a firmer feel, while Talalay latex has a softer feel. Both natural and synthetic latex mattresses are known for their durability and bounce, and they tend to sleep cool.

Pros of latex mattresses for seniors:

  • Latex tends to be responsive, making it easier to move around and get on and off the bed.
  • Latex generally sleeps cool, so it’s a good choice for hot sleepers.
  • Because latex is known for its durability, a latex mattress is less likely to sag than a foam mattress. This means the mattress is more likely to promote spinal alignment over the long term, which can help combat back pain.

Cons to latex mattresses for seniors:

  • Latex is a heavy material, so it can be challenging to move these mattresses around (especially for folks who might deal with reduced muscle mass or mobility and coordination issues).
  • Latex mattresses tend to be expensive, so they won’t suit every senior’s budget.
  • Because latex is fairly bouncy, it doesn’t do a great job of minimizing motion transfer. This can be an issue for elderly folks who share a bed with a restless partner.

Hybrid Mattresses

Hybrid mattresses feature a combination of coils and foam, thereby offering the best of both worlds (or, er, both mattresses). Typically, hybrid mattresses are built with a foam comfort layer laid out over coils. The foam layer could be made from memory foam or another type of foam, and the coils may or may not be individually wrapped.

Pros of hybrid mattresses for seniors:

  • They generally offer a nice combination of comfort and support, which can help combat back pain while cushioning joints.
  • The innerspring coils enable air to flow through the mattress, helping people sleep cooler than they might on an all-foam bed.
  • The foam layer offers more pressure relief than might exist on a standard innerspring mattress.
  • They tend to suit multiple sleep positions, so senior couples with different preferred sleep styles might be able to compromise with a hybrid.

Cons to hybrid mattresses for seniors:

  • Because they feature multiple layers and coils, hybrid mattresses sometimes weigh a lot. This could make it challenging to move the mattress.
  • Hybrid mattresses are on the pricier side.
A cross-section shot of a hybrid mattress
Testing the inside of a hybrid mattress in our sleep lab

Airbeds

Not to be confused with air mattresses, airbeds are luxurious mattresses made from adjustable air chambers. Sleepers can customize the firmness of the mattress to their preferences on a nightly basis, and some airbeds allow couples to customize their respective sides of the bed.

Pros of airbed mattresses for seniors:

  • Seniors who deal with fluctuating levels of aches, back pain, or mobility can customize the mattress to their needs on a nightly basis.
  • Senior couples who have different sleep preferences might be able to customize each side of the mattress to their respective taste.
  • Airbeds are almost immune to sagging, so they should support healthy spinal alignment for the full life of the mattress.

Cons to airbed mattresses for seniors:

  • Airbeds tend to be pricey.
  • Adjusting the airbed might involve some noise from the pump.
  • Airbeds might not offer enough cushioning for folks who really want to sink in the bed.

How to Make a Bedroom More Accessible for the Elderly

While choosing an accessible mattress is crucial if you have mobility issues, it’s just as important to consider your entire sleeping environment.

  • Purchase an adjustable bed.
  • Utilize bed rails and/or grab bars.
  • Rid the bedroom of unnecessary clutter.
  • Visualize the pathway to your bed and come up with a plan of how to best clear it. Keep in mind furniture placement, space on each side of the bed, doorway width, and loose rugs.

Choosing an Accessible Mattress for Seniors

As we age, it’s common for mobility and flexibility to decline. That means it’s important to think about accessibility while shopping for a mattress for elderly folks.

  • Look for a shorter mattress: Tall mattresses can look elegant, but they aren’t practical. As a general rule, many elderly folks need a shorter mattress so it’s easier to climb in and out of bed.
  • Prioritize edge support: Edge support refers to how comfortable a sleeper feels while sitting or lying down near the edge of a mattress. The edge support is strong when a person feels secure in these positions; it’s poor if the person feels like they’re going to tip off or out of the bed.

Sleep Tips for Seniors

As we’ve noted, quality sleep is essential for seniors, but it’s hard to come by. Here are some tips that increase the odds of seniors enjoying sound sleep.

  • Create a bedroom environment that’s conducive to sleep: Good sleep hygiene involves keeping the bedroom cool, quiet, and dark, and eliminating electronic devices from the bedroom. Also, make sure to limit the activities on that mattress to sleep and sex so the brain doesn’t associate the bed with more stimulating activities.
  • Stay active: Engaging in physical exercise during the day makes it more likely that someone will feel sleepy at night.
  • Practice soothing bedtime rituals: Make a habit of winding down before bed with a comforting ritual such as taking a bath, reading a good book, or listening to calming music. Or maybe consider a combination of these activities. Avoid screens in the hour or two before bed, because the blue light they emit can interfere with the body’s circadian rhythm.
  • Sustain a consistent sleep schedule: Going to bed and waking up at the same time every day helps train the body to start winding down at a consistent time each night.

Summary

MattressSuperlative
HelixBest Overall
WinkBedsBest Mattress for Back Pain
NectarBest Adjustable Bed
Loom & LeafBest Mattress for Pain Relief for Seniors
Titan PlusBest Mattress for Heavier Seniors
LaylaBest Mattress for Couples
DreamCloudBest Mattress for Seniors Who Sleep Hot

Best Mattress for Seniors FAQs

Do you need a softer mattress as you get older?

It depends on your specific situation, but a soft mattress can work for elderly sleepers who are dealing with issues such as fibromyalgia, arthritis, or joint pain. However, a firmer mattress might work better for elderly sleepers in need of more support. When buying a soft mattress, watch out that it’s not too soft. Seniors will likely want a mattress that is easy to move around on—beds with thick layers of memory foam can be hard to get in and out of.

What’s the best mattress for seniors with arthritis?

Seniors who deal with arthritis should choose a mattress that’s on the softer side, as it will relieve pressure in any trouble areas. We recommend the Nectar Premier Copper as our favorite mattress for arthritis. This bed has soft, cushioning foams that should help cradle and reduce pressure on sensitive joints.

What type of mattress is best for the elderly?

This depends on many factors, including pain issues and sleeping position. A person who has arthritis or fibromyalgia might want to choose a softer mattress with something like memory foam in the construction, but those who need more support might want to seek out a firmer mattress that contains coils or some other more supportive material. And mobility is also something to consider—a responsive mattress will make it easier to move around and get out of bed.

Is memory foam good for the elderly?

Memory foam can relieve pressure for those with joint pain issues and provide some excellent overall comfort. However, it can make it more difficult to move around on a mattress, which isn’t ideal for those with mobility issues. Also, memory foam is known to sleep hot and could cause some seniors to overheat at night. Overall, we recommend looking at a memory foam bed with cooling infusions or a hybrid memory foam bed; hybrids have coils which allow air to flow through the mattress.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.