Best Queen-Size Mattresses of 2024: Which Is Right for You?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

With so many options out there, how can you ensure you pick the best queen-size mattress? Whether you’re looking to upgrade your current bed or you need a new bed for you and your partner, it’s probably going to require a little extra space. Lucky for you, we’ve tested hundreds of beds and compiled a list of our favorites. Along with the 10 best queen-size mattresses, we included options for just about every sleeping position, body type, and personal preference.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Queen-Size Mattress?

Our expert reviewers chose the DreamCloud as the best queen-size mattress due to its quality materials, impressive durability, and balance of pressure relief and support.

The 10 Best Queen-Size Mattresses

Video Review: Best Queen Mattress 2024

Compare the Best Queen-Size Mattresses of 2024

DreamCloud Original Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Nectar Mattress WinkBed Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Saatva Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Bear Star Hybrid Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
DreamCloud Original Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Nectar Mattress WinkBed Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Saatva Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Bear Star Hybrid Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Firm: 7.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 8/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Innerspring Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back Back & Side Back & Side Combination Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach

How We Chose Our Top Picks

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches has reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure sub-scores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

Latex mattress testing in our studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

Because queen mattresses usually cost more than smaller sizes such as full and twin, we chose mattresses that had an exceptional trial period. That way, you have plenty of time to test them out to make sure you’re getting the most bang for your buck. All of the queen beds featured here scored at least a 4 out of 5 on their trial periods.

If you need more information about mattress shopping, scroll down to our buyer’s guide section below.

DreamCloudBest Overall

Best Overall

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Overall

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Overall

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Lots of cooling features
Cover is quilted with memory foam
One of the best mattresses for sex
Cons
Not great for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The DreamCloud scored a 7.5/10 on our firmness scale, making it not only one of the best mattresses but one of the best firmer mattresses. We love this mattress for stomach sleepers, especially since it can be so hard to find a mattress that properly supports them. The DreamCloud is firm, so it should prevent stomach sleepers’ hips from sinking and it should promote good spinal alignment. Back sleepers who like a firmer feel should enjoy the balance of comfort and sturdiness. With a construction that mimics an innerspring feel, the DreamCloud is also bouncy and responsive. So, it’s ideal for combination sleepers who like to switch positions through the night.

What the testers say: “The DreamCloud has some really strong innerspring coils that help give it a pretty firm feel. It felt great back sleeping on this bed because I got a lot of spinal support. I’d recommend this bed to lightweight and average weight back sleepers as well as stomach sleepers.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud

  • The DreamCloud has temperature regulating materials, like a cashmere-blend cover and gel-infused memory foam, that help keep the mattress from becoming too warm as you sleep on it. 
  • This mattress has good durability—we scored it a 4 out of 5 on our test. Hybrids, like the DreamCloud, tend to hold up better under stress than all-foam mattresses do. If you’re after something that will last you up to ten years if properly cared for, the DreamCloud is a great option.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud

  • Although firm mattresses tend to be a good match for heavyweight people, the DreamCloud doesn’t quite fit the bill. When our heavier mattress tester rested on the mattress he did not feel properly supported in any of the three sleeping positions.

Other User Reviews

The DreamCloud mattress has an average rating of 4.6 out of 5 based on 8,614 reviews from the company website. Customers are happy with the durability of the mattress, as well as the company’s customer service and the delivery process.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for more great options.

Helix Midnight – Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Quality materials make it especially durable
Great choice for couples
Has a great balance of pressure relief and support
Cons
Won’t work for stomach sleepers over 130 lb

Our Expert’s Take

When looking for a queen-size mattress for combination sleepers, the most important factor is responsiveness. If a mattress adjusts quickly to your movements, it’s responsive. For combination sleepers, this is important, because responsive mattresses make it easier to move around on and switch positions. They shouldn’t feel stuck in the mattress material. And for a responsive bed with a wonderful mix of comfort and support, we can’t suggest the Helix Midnight enough. Its sturdy individually-wrapped coils and responsive transition foam give it a bit of a bounce, but it remains pressure-relieving and contouring thanks to its comfy proprietary foam. We think this construction should match most back and side sleepers.

What the testers say: “The Helix Midnight felt really great while I rested on my back and side—I got the perfect balance of pressure relief and support. However, I’d steer stomach sleepers over 130 lb to a firmer bed.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • The Helix Midnight is an excellent match for lightweight sleepers (under 130 lb), regardless of preferred sleeping position. The top layer of memory foam is soft enough to provide pressure relief for side sleepers, but not so soft that lightweight stomach sleepers will sink uncomfortably far below the surface. 
  • The Helix Midnight can be upgraded to the Midnight Luxe for several hundred extra dollars. While not cheap, the Helix Midnight Luxe offers zoned lumbar support, a quilted pillow top, and a hypoallergenic cooling cover—truly a luxury sleep experience.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • Unless you’re lightweight, the Helix Midnight isn’t a great option for stomach sleepers. Our average-weight and heavyweight testers felt the Midnight didn’t provide enough support while they were on their stomachs. For a better option, check out the WinkBeds Plus.
  • The Helix Midnight did make some slight squeaks and creaks while we tested it. It’s probably not bad enough to affect most people, but if you’re a very light sleeper it could be a problem.

Other User Reviews

Based on 6,604 reviews from the Helix website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.5 out of 5. Two of the most recent 5-star reviews praise the mattress for helping with back pain and hip pain. Looking at the 1-star reviews, many of them state that the Helix Midnight is either too firm or too soft. Remember, this mattress has a 100-night sleep trial, so if you find the firmness is not to your liking you can always return it.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers for more great options.

Nectar – Best Memory Foam Mattress

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar mattresses work exceptionally well for those who like slow-moving memory foam.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar mattresses work exceptionally well for those who like slow-moving memory foam.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar mattresses work exceptionally well for those who like slow-moving memory foam.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
365-night trial and lifetime warranty
Great for lightweight and average-weight back and side sleepers
The Nectar is priced at a great value
Cons
Combination sleepers may want to seek a more responsive mattress

Our Expert’s Take

Nectar has that classic, slow-moving memory foam feel that many sleepers love. While it does have a traditional medium-firm construction, the top layers feel especially plush. That means you should get loads of pressure relief on this mattress. Smaller back and side sleepers should love the Nectar memory foam bed. For people who weigh less than 200 lb, this mattress should allow a nice balance of comfort and support.

What the testers say: “If you’re a fan of memory foam, you’re most likely going to be a fan of the Nectar. I felt some really great sinkage and contouring on this bed. While memory foam is known to trap heat, this bed sleeps pretty cool. But extra hot sleepers should opt for the Nectar Premier Copper, which has a special cooling infusion and cover.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar

  • We consider the Nectar a great mattress for the money, because despite it being affordably priced (under $1,000 for a queen), it has a durable construction that utilizes high-quality materials.
  • The Nectar scored a 4.5 out of 5 on our motion isolation test. If you’re part of a couple you should appreciate this, as it will mitigate any disturbances caused by your partners tossing and turning. 
  • The Nectar has a medium-firm feel that works very well for most lightweight sleepers, regardless of preferred sleeping position.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • Heavyweight people tend to sleep best on a firm mattress that will keep them from sinking too far below the surface. The Nectar is too soft to perform well for these folks—the very thing that makes it good for lightweight people makes it bad for heavyweight people. Instead, we suggest the Emma Hybrid Comfort.

Other User Reviews

50,470 customer reviews of the Nectar mattress average up to a rating of 4.7 out of 5 on the company website. There are quite a few rave reviews that praise the Nectar for helping to remedy lower back pain.

To learn more, read our full Nectar memory foam mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Memory Foam Mattresses for more great options.

WinkBeds – Best Hybrid Mattress

Best Hybrid Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Ideal for couples
One of the best mattresses for back pain
Comes with a generous 120-night trial and lifetime warranty
Cons
You won’t sink into the bed—it has a more “on top” of the mattress feel

Our Expert’s Take

Here at Mattress Clarity, we love the WinkBed mattress. This bed comes in four different firmness levels: Softer, Luxury-Firm, Firmer, and Plus. Regardless of your sleeping position or body type, you should be able to find a firmness level that suits your needs. The WinkBed makes an excellent queen mattress because of its impressive durability and edge support. With its strong individually-wrapped coils, this mattress has a lifespan between 7–10 years.

What the testers say: “When I rested on the WinkBed I felt really strong support. The steel coils in this bed are zoned, which means that the bed feels firmer at the center and softer at the head and foot. This design promotes a healthy spinal alignment.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • The WinkBed is available in multiple firmness options, including the Plus, which is specifically designed to accommodate heavyweight people. With multiple firmness options, you can select the model that best matches your sleep preferences and body type.
  • The WinkBed is quite bouncy, thanks largely to the zoned coils used in its construction. This makes it a good choice for combination sleepers, who move around a lot throughout the night, but also couples, as a bouncy mattress makes having sex more comfortable.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • Like the Saatva, the WinkBed doesn’t isolate motion all that well. If this is an important factor for you, we again suggest that you consider the Nectar.

Other User Reviews

On the company website, the WinkBed has over 8,500 reviews, with an average score of 4.8 out of 5. The vast majority of these reviews rate the mattress 5 stars. Customers have a lot of good things to say about the support that the WinkBed provides.

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options.

Emma Hybrid Comfort – Best Mattress for Heavy People

Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Great for sex
Sold for a value price
Great for hot sleepers
Cons
Doesn’t offer a classic foam feel
Not great for lightweight sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a larger sleeper, you’ll probably want a mattress that’s a bit firmer than average so that you feel fully supported as you sleep. The Emma Hybrid Comfort is ranked at 8/10 on our firmness scale, which is slightly more firm than the standard 6.5/10 mattress firmness.

This Emma mattress is made with zoned coils and a top layer of foam that’ll let larger sleepers sink in slightly while the bottom layers help support the body.

What our testers say: “As a larger sleeper, I felt very comfortable on the Emma Hybrid Comfort, since it’s supportive and firm. Back sleeping felt great since my body felt both comfortable and supported, and stomach sleeping was even better since my spine stayed aligned without my hips sinking too far into the mattress.Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • The Emma Hybrid Comfort is quite firm (8/10 on our firmness scale). Not only does this make it a great choice for heavyweight people, but stomach sleepers as well. While on your stomach, this mattress should keep your hips comfortably propped up and your spine aligned. 
  • This mattress is very reasonably priced, coming in at just over $1,000 for a queen. And, during one of their many sales, it can often be purchased for significantly less than that. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • The Emma Hybrid Comfort is far too firm for side sleepers. If you sleep on your side, you’ll want a plush mattress that allows your hips and shoulders to sink below the mattress surface. For a product that excels here, consider the Helix Midnight.

Other User Reviews

Because the Emma Hybrid Comfort is a relatively new product, it only has 29 customer reviews on the company website. The good news is that these 29 reviews add up to an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 for the mattress. The fantastic value of the Emma Hybrid Comfort is called out in several reviews.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options.

Saatva – Best Innerspring Mattress

Best Innerspring

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Innerspring

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Feels bouncy and responsive, making it easy to move around on
One of the best orthopedic mattresses on the market.
Cons
Memory foam lovers may not like the firmer, bouncier construction

Our Expert’s Take

For the most versatile, durable, and overall best innerspring mattress on the market, we recommend the Saatva Classic. Made with strong coils and a luxurious pillow-top, this bed feels comfortable and supportive. The Saatva Classic comes in three different firmness levels, so it’s easy to find the right bed for you. Back and side sleepers typically prefer the Luxury Firm model, while stomach sleepers feel more supported on the Firm option. Those needing additional pressure relief should opt for the Plush Soft version.

What the testers say: “The Saatva feels like the mattresses I grew up sleeping on—it has a traditional bouncy feel. If you like to feel more on top of your mattress, and enjoy the support of coils, the Saatva is a great choice. And, three firmness options means there’s a model for every type of sleeper.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva

  • Unlike many of the mattresses you can order online, the Saatva doesn’t arrive compressed inside a cardboard box. So, you don’t need to deal with the hassle of unrolling your new bed and waiting for it to expand. 
  • The Saatva mattress is available in different firmnesses, but if you’re a back sleeper we highly recommend the Luxury Firm model. We tested the Luxury Firm and found it to provide a great mix of support and cushioning while we rested on our backs.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • The Saatva is a springy hybrid mattress with a lot of bounce, which is good for a lot of things, but can be a problem for couples. While your partner tosses and turns on their side of the bed, the motion reverberates across the surface, which may disturb you on your side of the bed. For a mattress that excels at motion isolation, consider the Nectar instead, or check out our best mattresses for couples.

Other User Reviews

The Saatva mattress has an average rating of 4.8 out of 5, based on 3,275 reviews from the company website. Most users have nothing but positive things to say, praising the buying experience and the quality of the Saatva.

Read our full Saatva mattress review for more information. Or for more options, check out our list of Best Innerspring Mattresses.

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid – Best Affordable Mattress

Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
One of the best mattresses for back pain
Lots of pressure relief
One of the best mattresses under $1,000
Cons
Simple construction won’t appeal to shoppers looking for a luxurious feel

Our Expert’s Take

Don’t want to break the bank? The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid offers fantastic comfort and support at a low price. This hybrid mattress comes in three firmness levels: soft, medium, and firm. Side and back sleepers should be happy with either the soft or medium mattress, while stomach sleepers should find the most support on the firm bed. Because of its versatile nature, the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid works well for combination sleepers.

What the testers say: “The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid comes in three firmness levels. I tested the medium version and found it ideal for back sleeping. I’d steer stomach sleepers to the firm option and side sleepers to the soft model.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • The Signature Hybrid is available in three different firmness options: Soft, Medium, and Firm. Our review concerns the Medium version, but it’s safe to assume that the Soft version will perform best for side sleepers, and the Firm version will work well for stomach sleepers. 
  • The Medium version, somewhat to our surprise, did a great job of accommodating our lightweight mattress testers. Typically, lightweight people find the most comfort on a softer mattress, but in this case the Signature Hybrid in Medium delivered all the comfort our testers needed.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • Unlike the Nectar, the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid does not do a good job of isolating motion. Its springy, responsive construction makes it easy to move around on, but it also leads to motion reverberation across the mattress surface. 
  • The Signature Hybrid doesn’t have all of the bells and whistles of a luxury mattress. It’s able to be priced so affordably because it doesn’t include any of the fancy technology that more expensive, high-end products boast. If you’re after a top-of-the-line sleep experience aided by cooling tech and zoned support, we suggest you take a look at our list of the best luxury mattresses.

Other User Reviews

The Signature Hybrid has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 10,772 reviews from the company website. Only 10 of the customers rated the Nectar 1 star. A couple of these unhappy reviewers called the mattress out for being too soft, and one reviewer stated that the bed is too firm.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cheap Mattresses for more great options.

Bear Star Hybrid – Best Mattress in a Box

Best Mattress in a Box

Bear Star Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Star Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress in a Box

Bear Star Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Star Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress in a Box

Bear Star Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Star Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
All of the foam used is CertiPUR-US® certified
An excellent choice for couples
Cover purportedly assists with blood circulation and recovery
Cons
Medium-firm feel won’t work for strict side sleepers or stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Bear Star Hybrid is a quality mattress in a box with a lengthy 365-night trial period, a lifetime warranty, and free shipping. It scored a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale, making it a medium-firm bed. The hybrid combination of strong coils and a quality foam support layer, along with a 14″ thickness, makes this mattress durable. This construction is ideal for lightweight and average-weight back and side sleepers. Even heavy back sleepers can benefit from the mattress’s comfort and support.

What the testers say: “This bed has a Goldilocks feel—it’s not too soft nor too firm. This makes it great for back and side combination sleepers. However, strict side sleepers will want to opt for a softer bed, and stomach sleepers will need something firmer.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Star Hybrid

  • Purchase of the Bear Star Hybrid comes with a lifetime warranty. 
  • This mattress accommodates combination sleepers in several areas. First, it’s very responsive, which means that you shouldn’t have much trouble switching from one position to another on this mattress. Also, the Star Hybrid supports a wide range of sleeping positions. So, regardless of which  position you occupy you should feel comfortable.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Star Hybrid

  • The Bear Star Hybrid is another mattress that doesn’t isolate motion well. Couples, especially those consisting of light sleepers, will likely want something that does a better job of this. We suggest you consider the Nectar.

Other User Reviews

The Bear Star Hybrid has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 3,312 reviews from the company website. A handful of reviewers call the mattress the most comfortable they’ve ever slept on. However, 26 customers rated the mattress 1 star out of 5. One user was unhappy with the Bear Star Hybrid’s edge support.

Read our full Bear Star Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses in a Box for other great options. 

Nolah Evolution – Best Luxury Mattress

Best Luxury Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Luxury Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Zoned support makes it great for back pain relief
Back and side sleepers will like it
Lifetime warranty and a 120-night sleep trial
Cons
Budget shoppers will want to consider a cheaper mattress.

Our Expert’s Take

If you want to feel like royalty on your new Queen, try the Nolah Evolution. It’s a luxury mattress specializing in durability and cooling. Its ArcticTex cover is literally cool-to-the-touch, and its foam is infused with graphite for heat dissipation. A special heat escape gusset takes the cooling an extra step further. With a 15” height and 8” coils, you should rest assured knowing this bed could last you over a decade.

What the testers say: “The moment I lay down on the Nolah Evolution, I could feel it was a high-quality bed. Its cover felt cool to the touch, and I sank in gently while still getting really solid support. If you have the budget for it, this bed offers a truly luxurious feel.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • Like the Birch, the Nolah Evolution earned a perfect score on our cooling test. The mattress employs many of the temperature regulating technologies used by other companies, such as graphite infusions, breathable coils, and a cooling cover. Where the Nolah Evolution stands out is with the heat escape gusset, which provides a channel specifically designed to help heat leave the mattress. 
  • This is a very high-quality, durable mattress. It’s quite expensive, but your money will go a long way, as the Nolah Evolution can easily last for upwards of ten years if properly cared for. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • We found the edges of the Nolah Evolution sagged under our weight a bit as we were testing the mattress. This can be a problem if you sleep towards the perimeter of the mattress, or even rely on the edges to support your weight as you get in and out of bed.

Other User Reviews

Based on 875 reviews from the Nolah website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.9 out of 5. One customer who claims to be a senior says that the mattress helped them sleep very well after having back surgery.

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Luxury Mattresses for more great options.

Birch – Best Organic Mattress

Best Organic Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Organic Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Good for combination sleepers, back sleepers and stomach sleepers
Excellent choice for hot sleepers
Really strong edge support
Cons
Expensive

Our Expert’s Take

An organic queen-size mattress is going to be a great match for any eco-conscious sleepers out there. These beds tend to be made with natural materials that don’t harm the environment. In the case of the hybrid Birch, that means a comfort layer of responsive Talalay latex, as well as organic cotton and wool. These materials are GREENGUARD Gold and GOTS certified, meaning they’re devoid of polyurethane foams and other harmful chemicals.

What the testers say: “If eco-friendliness is top-of-mind in your mattress buying journey, the Birch is one of the best options out there. It’s has a number of certifications that show it is produced in an environmentally-conscious way. But you’ll want to note those are costly for the manufacturer, so this bed doesn’t come cheap.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch

  • We awarded the Birch a perfect score on our cooling test. Organic mattress materials, like the ones used in the Birch, tend to do a very good job of regulating temperature. On top of these organic materials, the Birch has a bottom layer of individually wrapped coils and a top layer of aerated latex, both of which provide great breathability. 
  • Back sleepers of all body types should find the Birch supportive and comfortable. All of our mattress testers felt the medium-firm feel of the Birch did a great job of allowing them to sink into the mattress just enough to receive optimal pressure relief.

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch

  • Side sleepers, unless you weigh 130 lb or less, will want a softer mattress. Unlike back sleepers, if you sleep on your side you want to sink quite deep into the mattress, as your shoulders and hips need a lot of cushioning in order to prevent achiness. Consider the Helix Midnight instead.

Other User Reviews

Based on 4,177 reviews from the Birch website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.6 out of 5. One happy customer claims they, “…sleep much longer since getting the Birch”. However, one of the negative reviews calls out the company for having poor customer support that did not address the user’s problems.

Read our full Birch mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Organic Mattresses for more great options.

Pros and Cons of a Queen Size Mattress

Take a look at our handy chart to learn whether a queen size mattress is best for you.

ProsCons
More affordable than a king or California kingCosts more than twins and double beds
Works well for average height couplesMay not be big enough for taller couples
Great for large and mid-size bedroomsDoesn’t work for small bedrooms

Who is a Queen Size Mattress Good For?

There are many different factors to consider when looking to find the right mattress size for you. We’ll breakdown a couple of the most important deciding factors below to help you find the right mattress size for your needs.

Couples

Queen size mattresses work well for couples because they don’t take up an entire bedroom, but they still allow each person to spread out and relax. When shared, queen size beds give each person 60” of length and 40” of width.

People with Larger Bedrooms

You could also benefit from a queen size bed if you have a larger bedroom. If you place a twin or full size bed into a big room, the space won’t feel balanced. Instead, center a queen size bed in your bedroom and place nightstands on both sides. This will help create a cozy space that you’ll look forward to relaxing in every night.

People who Need More Space

Sometimes, you just want to spread out and luxuriate on your bed. We get it! If that’s the case, you could benefit from a queen size mattress. Queen size beds also work well for growing teenagers and those who like to snuggle next to their pets.

How to Choose the Best Queen Mattress

With so many different mattresses to choose from, it can feel daunting to narrow the search. Here’s a quick overview of the main things you should consider when buying a new bed.

Mattress Firmness

First things first – firmness! This plays a huge role in how comfortable a bed will feel. Our firmness scale ranges from 1-10, with 6.5/10 representing medium-firm. The ideal firmness level depends greatly on your sleeping position and body type, so it’s not one-size-fits-all.

Consider Your Sleeping Position 

Your sleeping position is another important factor to consider. Stomach sleepers, for example, need firm mattresses that can keep their hips aligned. Side sleepers will need something that can cushion pressure points and prevent joint pain. If you’re a back sleeper, you’ll want to look for a medium-firm mattress that can keep your back in the proper position throughout the night.

A woman sleeps on her side

Mattress Feel

This boils down to personal preference. Some people love the quicksand quality of memory foam, while others prefer to sleep on a responsive innerspring mattress. Can’t decide? You may want to consider getting a hybrid mattress that has a balanced feel; it’s the best of both worlds. 

Cooling Features

Tend to sleep hot at night? Fortunately, many mattresses have built-in cooling features. Covers made with phase change material feel cool-to-the-touch, and innersprings promote airflow. If you love that slow-moving memory foam feel, look for a foam mattress that’s infused with gel, copper, or graphite.

Budget

Mattress prices run the gamut, but generally, you get what you pay for. Luxurious mattresses tend to have higher price tags, but they also last longer than most budget-friendly beds. If you need help finding a value mattress, take a look at our list of the best mattresses for the money.

Motion Isolation 

Motion transfer is particularly important for couples. If you’re a light sleeper who shares a bed with a partner, you could wake up whenever your loved one switches sleeping positions. All-foam mattresses tend to isolate motion well, though many hybrid beds have thick comfort layers that cut down on motion transfer. Take a look at our list of the best mattresses for couples for some options. 

Edge Support

If you share a bed with a partner, you’ll want to make sure your bed has great edge support. If the mattress caves in whenever you rest near the side, you won’t be able to enjoy your queen size mattress to the fullest. Look for a mattress that has a reinforced edge, like the WinkBed, for the most support.  

A man sits near the edge of the Nolah Signature Hybrid.

Different Sizes of Queen Mattresses

Though rare, there are a few different kinds of queen size mattresses. We’ll go over each type, one by one. 

Split Queen

Split queen mattresses contain two smaller beds that each measure 30” x 80.” When placed together, they take up the same amount of space as a regular queen size bed. Split queen beds work well for couples who have different mattress preferences. 

Short Queen

Short queen mattresses have the same width as a typical queen bed, but they are six inches shorter, which comes in at 60” x 74”.

Olympic Queen 

Olympic queen mattresses are six inches wider than typical queens, coming in at 66” x 80.”

Mattress TypeDimensions
Queen60” x 80”
Split Queen30” x 80” (x2)
Short Queen60” x 74”
Olympic Queen66” x 80”

Best Materials for a Queen Size Mattress

Wondering what your new bed should be made out of? Keep reading to learn more about the most popular mattress materials. 

Memory Foam Mattress

Memory foam has a slow-moving feel that sleepers can gently sink into. This material offers lots of body contouring, but it has a tendency to trap heat. 

Latex Mattresses

Latex looks a lot like memory foam, but it’s much more responsive and supportive. It’s also a breathable material, so it works well for hot sleepers. Latex foam is more sustainable than other mattress materials, which is good news for eco-conscious shoppers.

Hybrid Mattresses

Hybrid mattresses contain both coils and foam, though the specific types of foam vary. Latex hybrid mattresses tend to feel bouncy and supportive, while memory foam hybrid mattresses offer more body contouring. Hybrid beds tend to sleep cooler than all-foam models, because the coils promote airflow. Hybrid mattresses are also more durable, but they usually have a higher price tag.

Innerspring Mattresses

Innerspring and hybrid mattresses look similar, but they aren’t quite the same. Innerspring mattresses have thin comfort layers, typically consisting of only a thin pillow top. This makes innerspring mattresses feel firm and supportive, which is great for many back and stomach sleepers.

Queen Mattress vs Other Mattress Sizes

Still unsure if a queen is right for you? Let’s compare queen size beds to other mattress sizes. 

Queen vs King

King size mattresses are 16” wider than queen size beds, which makes them great for couples who want to spread out and relax on their bed. Because king size mattresses are so large, however, they don’t work well in every space. If you’re considering a king vs a queen size mattress it is important to consider measuring your bedroom to ensure it will fit your space.

Queen vs Twin XL 

Twin XL mattresses are much thinner than queens, measuring 38” x 80.” Because they are so narrow, twin XLs work best for young kids and teenagers. You’ll often find twin XLs in dorm rooms because they easily fit inside small spaces.  

Queen vs Full 

Full mattresses are shorter and thinner than queens, coming in at 54” x 74.” Full mattresses are popular among single adults because they offer plenty of room for relaxing, but they don’t take up the entire room. Some smaller couples sleep comfortably on full size mattresses, but taller people tend to prefer the extra space a queen size bed has to offer.

Summary

Once again, here are our top picks for the best queen-size mattresses.

MattressBest For
DreamCloudBest Overall
Helix Midnight Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers
NectarBest Memory Foam Mattress
WinkBedBest Hybrid Mattress
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Mattress for Heavy People
SaatvaBest Innerspring Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding SignatureBest Affordable Mattress
Bear Star HybridBest Mattress in a Box
Nolah EvolutionBest Luxury
BirchBest Organic Mattress

Best Queen-Size Mattress FAQs

What is the average cost of a queen-size mattress?

Queen-size mattresses range in price and quality. You can find affordable beds on Amazon for less than $500, but they may not last long. Sometimes, it’s better to spring for a luxurious mattress because they have longer lifespans.

Is a queen mattress good for couples?

Queens are some of the best mattresses for couples. However, if you’re tall, you might need one of the best king-size mattresses.

How big is a queen mattress?

Most queen-size mattresses measure 60″ x 80″.

How much does a queen mattress weigh?

Because queen-size mattresses are larger than twins and fulls, they also weigh more. Most queen beds weigh between 120 and 160 lbs.

Can a queen mattress fit on a full bed frame?

Yes, you can place a queen-size mattress on a full bed frame. But because full mattresses are narrower than queens, you won’t be able to utilize the full surface area of your queen bed.

How much bigger is a king mattress than a queen?

King-size mattresses are 16″ wider than queen beds. However, both king and queen-size beds are 80″ long.

Elisa Regulski

Elisa is the Editor of Mattress Clarity, where she analyzes sleep products and appears in review videos. A certified sleep science coach, Elisa's sleep tips have appeared in Readers Digest, Homes and Gardens, and 21 Oak. She earned a M.A in Mass Communication from Texas State University and a B.F.A in acting from Oklahoma City University.