Best Queen-Size Mattresses of 2022: Which Is Right for You?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Whether you’re looking to upgrade your current bed or you need a new bed for you and your partner, it’s probably going to require a little extra space. But with so many options out there, how can you ensure you pick the best queen-size mattress Lucky for you, we’ve tested hundreds of beds and compiled a list of our favorites. Along with the 10 best queen-size mattresses, we included options for just about every sleeping position, body type, and personal preference.

The Best Queen-Size Mattresses

How We Chose Our Products

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

In terms of queen-size mattresses, the first thing that often comes to mind is support, because chances are the mattress is going to hold at least one adult. Durability is always a concern; queen-size mattresses are a bit pricier when it comes to size, so we want to make sure the mattresses we feature are going to be good long-term investments. Lastly, we considered the mattress trial period to give you plenty of time to figure out which queen is best for you. That’s why, for this roundup, we only included beds that scored at least a 3 out of 5 for these categories. Of our 10 selections, six scored at least a 4 out of 5 for support and for durability. All mattresses featured scored at least a 4/5 in terms of the quality of trial periods.

If you need more information about mattress shopping, scroll down to our buyer’s guide section below.

Video Review: Best Queen Mattress 2022

Editor's Pick

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor's Pick

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor's Pick

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Here at Mattress Clarity, we especially love the WinkBed mattress. This bed comes in four different firmness levels: Softer, Luxury-Firm, Firmer, and Plus. This means that regardless of your sleeping position or body type, you should be able to find a firmness level that suits your needs. We think the WinkBed makes an excellent queen mattress because of its impressive durability and edge support. With its strong individually-wrapped coils, this mattress has a lifespan between 7-10 years.

What Makes WinkBeds Stand Out?

  • Because of its great edge support and cooling features, we think this mattress is ideal for couples.
  • We think this bed is one of the best mattresses for back pain.
  • The WinkBed comes with a generous 120-night trial and lifetime warranty.

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review.

Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

When looking for a queen-size mattress, we recommend a hybrid bed, known to provide a combination of comfort and support. The Helix Midnight is an excellent option, is due in part to its comfy proprietary foam, along with the sturdiness provided by the strong individually-wrapped coils. we think this construction should match back sleepers especially, but also many side sleepers. The soft comfort layers should create fantastic pressure relief and contouring, especially along shoulders and hips.

What Makes the Helix Midnight Stand Out?

  • When you visit the Helix website, you’ll see an interactive quiz that matches you to your ideal mattress.
  • It has quality materials, making this mattress especially durable.
  • With excellent motion isolation, cooling, and edge support, the Helix Midnight is a solid choice for couples.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review.

Best Firm Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

The DreamCloud scored a 7.5/10 on our firmness scale, which means it is firmer than average. We love this mattress for stomach sleepers, especially since it can be so hard to find a mattress that properly supports them. The DreamCloud is firm enough so it should prevent stomach sleepers’ hips from sinking and promote good spinal alignment. Back sleepers who like a firmer feel should also enjoy the balance of comfort and sturdiness. With a construction that mimics an innerspring feel, the DreamCloud is also bouncy and responsive, making it ideal for combination sleepers who like to switch positions through the night.

What Makes the DreamCloud Stand Out?

  • The DreamCloud is complete with great cooling features. Made with a breathable cashmere-blend cover, gel-infused memory foam, and individually wrapped coils, this mattress should help you stay cool all night long.
  • The cover is quilted with memory foam, providing some pressure relief at the top of the mattress.
  • Because it’s so responsive, we’ve included the DreamCloud as one of the best mattresses for sex.

Check out our full DreamCloud mattress review.

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar mattresses work exceptionally well for those who like slow-moving memory foam.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar mattresses work exceptionally well for those who like slow-moving memory foam.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar mattresses work exceptionally well for those who like slow-moving memory foam.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nectar has that classic, slow-moving memory foam feel that many people love. While it does have a traditional medium-firm construction, the top layers feel especially plush. That means you should get loads of pressure relief on this mattress. Smaller back and side sleepers will especially love the Nectar memory foam bed. For people who weigh less than 200 lb, this mattress should provide a great balance of comfort and support.

What Makes the Nectar Mattress Stand Out?

  • Nectar includes a generous 365-night trial and a lifetime warranty.
  • This mattress works well for lightweight and average-weight back and side sleepers.
  • The Nectar is priced a great value. Check out our Nectar coupons!

To learn more, read our full Nectar memory foam mattress review.

Best Mattress For Back Pain

Casper Original Mattress

The Casper mattress boasts a balanced feel, great for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress For Back Pain

Casper Original Mattress

The Casper mattress boasts a balanced feel, great for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress For Back Pain

Casper Original Mattress

The Casper mattress boasts a balanced feel, great for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Many people know Casper because they pioneered the bed-in-a-box industry, but that’s not the only reason why we love them. Their original mattress has many special features that help people with back pain. Casper’s most notable feature is its zoned support system. The mattress feels softer under your shoulders and firmer under your hips, waist, and lower back. This helps you maintain the proper spinal alignment throughout the night, which especially benefits those with lower back pain.

What Makes the Casper Mattress Stand Out?

  • It’s one of the best soft mattresses out there.
  • The mattress contains AirScape foam; this material has tiny pores throughout, which promotes breathability and airflow.
  • Thanks to its AirScape foam, this mattress has a responsive foam feel, so it’s easy to move around on this mattress.

To learn more, read our full Casper mattress review.

Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

If you’re specifically in the market for a traditional innerspring mattress, we recommend the Saatva Classic. Made with strong coils and a luxurious pillow top, this bed feels both comfortable and supportive. The Saatva Classic comes in three different firmness levels, so it’s easy to find the right bed for you. Back and side sleepers typically prefer the Luxury Firm model, while stomach sleepers feel more supported on the Firm option. Those who need additional pressure relief should opt for the Plush Soft version.

What Makes the Saatva Stand Out?

  • The Saatva mattress feels bouncy and responsive, so it should be quite easy to move around on top of this bed. You shouldn’t “sink” into the layers like you might in a memory foam mattress.
  • It’s one of the best innerspring mattresses and one of the best orthopedic mattresses on the market.
  • This bed doesn’t arrive compressed inside a cardboard box, so you don’t need to wait for it to off-gas and expand.

Read our full Saatva mattress review.

Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Don’t want to break the bank? The Brooklyn Bedding Signature offers fantastic comfort and support, all at a low price. This hybrid mattress comes in three firmness levels: soft, medium, and firm. Side and back sleepers should be happy with either the soft or medium mattress, while stomach sleepers will find the most support on the firm bed. And because of its versatile nature, the Brooklyn Bedding Signature works well for combination sleepers.

What Makes the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Stand Out?

  • Its hybrid construction gives it a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale (medium-firm), making it one of the best mattresses for back pain.
  • Its pillow top feel should create ample pressure relief, and the strong coils should help you stay supported throughout the night.
  • It makes our roundup for the best mattresses under $1,000.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress review.

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Leesa Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Leesa Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Leesa Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

It’s ideal for side sleepers to get plenty of contouring around the shoulders and hips, since these are areas where they put the most pressure on at night. For side sleepers under 300 lb, the Leesa provides this necessity and more. Its memory foam layer allows for some great pressure relief, while its bouncier proprietary foam should prevent sleepers from sinking too far into the mattress. Because of its medium-firm construction, we recommend this bed for back sleepers as well, and its great motion isolation and responsiveness make it good for sex. With a high-density foam base and a height of 10″, the Leesa should be able to support side sleepers longer than the average foam mattress.

What Makes the Leesa Stand Out?

  • The Leesa’s proprietary LSA200 foam gives the mattress some bounce, so combination sleepers should have an easier time moving around on this all-foam mattress.
  • Leesa donates one mattress for every 10 sold
  • Its proprietary foam is also designed to be more breathable than most foams, so the Leesa should be a cooler bed than other all-foam options.

Read our full Leesa mattress review.

Best Soft Mattress

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Soft Mattress

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Soft Mattress

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

Prefer a soft mattress? Then the Puffy Lux Hybrid could be the bed of your dreams. Because they’re made with slow-moving memory foam, Puffy mattresses should feel like you’re “sleeping on a cloud.” It also comes in at a 6/10 on our firmness scale, which is slightly softer than medium-firm. This construction works especially well for back and side sleepers. There’s also a luxury element to this bed; when compared to the original Puffy, the Lux Hybrid mattress some extra bells and whistles for added comfort.

What Makes the Puffy Lux Hybrid Stand Out?

  • Its Cooling Cloud foam is infused with gel to help dissipate heat, making this a great option for hot sleepers.
  • For extra pressure point relief, this mattress has a layer of Plush Dual Cloud Foam.
  • Plus, this mattress contains strong coils, which gives the bed some additional edge support and durability.

Need more information? Check out our Puffy Lux Hybrid mattress review.

Best Queen Mattress In A Box

Bear Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Bear Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Queen Mattress In A Box

Bear Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Bear Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Queen Mattress In A Box

Bear Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Bear Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Bear Hybrid is a quality Queen mattress in a box that has a lengthy 365-night trial period, a lifetime warranty, and free shipping. The Bear Hybrid is measured at a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale, making it a medium-firm mattress. The hybrid combination of its strong coils and its quality foam support layer, along with the mattress’s 14″ thickness, makes this bed extremely durable. This construction should be ideal for lightweight and average-weight back and side sleepers. Even heavy back sleepers can benefit from the mattress’s comfort and support.

What Makes the Bear Hybrid Stand Out?

  • All of the foam within the mattress is CertiPUR-US certified, so the Bear Hybrid materials are more eco-friendly than conventional foams.
  • With fantastic edge support, solid motion isolation, and great cooling abilities, the Bear Hybrid is an especially good choice for couples.
  • Famously, the Bear Hybrid has a Celliant cover. This signature feature is specifically designed for athletes, since the Celliant technology has been said to assist with both blood circulation and recovery.

Check out our full Bear Hybrid mattress review.

Who Should Get a Queen-Size Mattress?

We understand it can be difficult to decide which size mattress to get. Before making this big purchase, take a moment to consider whether a queen-size bed will meet your needs.

Couples

Queen-size mattresses can work well for couples, but like most things, they aren’t one-size-fits-all. Small and average-size couples can share a queen mattress easily. But if both people are tall, a queen-size bed may not provide enough room.

RELATED: Best Mattresses for the Big and Tall

People With Larger Bedrooms

When shopping for a new bed, it’s also important to consider the aesthetic and size of your bedroom. Because queen mattresses are about six inches wider and longer than full-size beds, they work well in larger rooms. However, if you have an especially spacious bedroom, you might need a king-size bed to make the room feel balanced and centered.

People Who Need More Space

Eager to spread out on the bed and luxuriate in its comfort? Then a queen-size mattress could be the best fit for you. These mattresses are much larger than twins and fulls, so you can easily stretch your legs and take up space.

What Size Is a Queen Mattress?

Most queen-size mattresses measure 60” x 80”, which is about six inches bigger than full-size beds. However, there are many different kinds of queen beds out there. Keep reading to learn more about the variations.

best queen-size mattresses

What Is a Split Queen Mattress?

Split queen mattresses contain two beds that measure 30” x 80”. When placed together, these beds fill the same space as a regular queen mattress.

Split queen mattresses work well for couples who have different preferences. With these, you can easily get a firm mattress on one side and a softer mattress on the other. If you pair them with an adjustable base, you can even raise and lower each side of the bed!

What Is a Short Queen Mattress?

Short queen mattresses are still 60” wide, but they are 6” shorter. They’re often called RV mattresses, because they fit inside mobile homes quite easily.

Mattress Dimensions
Queen 60″ x 80″
Split Queen 30″ x 80″ (x 2)
Short Queen 60″ x 74″

How to Choose the Best Queen Mattress

Because there are so many different kinds of beds out there, it’s important to do some research before clicking ‘add to cart.’ Below, we’ve outlined the main factors to consider when choosing a queen-size mattress.

Firmness

Beds range from super soft to extremely firm, and each kind works well for different people. At Mattress Clarity, we rank firmness on a 1-10 scale. Most mattresses come in at a 6.5/10, or medium-firm.

The type of firmness you’ll need depends on several factors including body type, sleeping position, and personal preference. Generally, back and side sleepers find comfort and support on medium-firm mattresses. Heavier people, however, might need something firmer. Stomach sleepers also need firmer mattresses because they help people maintain the proper spinal alignment.

Feel

Whether you like to gently sink into a memory foam mattress or you prefer to rest on top of a bouncy innerspring bed, there’s something out there that will work for you. Make sure to evaluate what type of feel you like before springing for a brand new mattress.

Sleeping Position

Yes, the position you sleep in can greatly affect which bed you should get! Most side sleepers need a bed with a thick comfort layer. That way, they can get the much-needed cushioning along their shoulders and hips.

Sleeping Positions For Comfortable Mattress

Back sleepers tend to prefer medium-firm mattresses because they create both comfort and support. Stomach sleepers, however, will need a firmer bed to ensure they maintain the correct spinal alignment.

Cooling Features

Some materials, like high-density memory foam, have the tendency to trap heat. If you already struggle with staying cool at night, you’ll want to keep this top-of-mind.

Thankfully, many companies have developed special foams that promote airflow and breathability. If you really love the classic foam feel, look for materials filled with gel, graphite, and copper. These infusions help pull heat away from the body and keep you cool.

Latex foam feels naturally breathable, so that’s always a great choice for hot sleepers. Innerspring mattresses also tend to sleep cool at night because the coils allow plenty of room for airflow.

Budget

And of course, you’ll want to know your budget before you start shopping for a new mattress. If you want extra bells and whistles like zoned support and cooling foams, you might need to pay a bit more. However, there are many baseline beds that are sold at value prices. GhostBed and Brooklyn Bedding are two of our favorite affordable mattresses.

Types of Queen-Size Mattresses

Now, let’s take a moment to learn more about the different materials found in queen-size mattresses. Knowing the difference between the different kinds of foams, springs, and constructions will help you find the bed of your dreams.

Memory Foam

Memory foam mattresses typically feel soft and slow-moving. When you press your hand into this material, it takes a long time for it to snap back into place. Because sleepers tend to sink deeply into memory foam, however, it can trap heat easily. If you already struggle with this, look for something that’s ventilated or infused with cooling materials.

Latex

Unlike memory foam, latex feels responsive and bouncy. This soft foam material is a great choice for those who want an eco-friendly mattress. Plus, it doesn’t trap heat easily! Latex foam is naturally breathable, and because you won’t sink as deeply into it, you’re less likely to wake up feeling hot and stuffy.

Hybrid

Hybrid mattresses contain at least two different kinds of materials. Most of the time, they feature strong coils and either memory foam or latex. These beds feel bouncy, but they still have pressure-relieving comfort layers at the top.

Innerspring

Innerspring mattresses sometimes fall into the hybrid category, but they also contain a pillow top. If you prefer traditional mattresses, then this is the way to go. You’ll get lots of support and bounce from the coils at the bottom, but still feel some nice plush comfort along your shoulders and hips.

Airbed

Airbeds, also known as air mattresses, are great short-term sleeping solutions. They’re easy to compress and fold, so you can store them in a hallway closet or attic. When you fill them up with air, you have a comfy place to rest your head.

Airbeds are some of the best mattresses for camping, and they work well for guest bedrooms. But because they don’t provide as much support as a traditional mattress, we don’t recommend sleeping on them for an extended period of time.

Queen vs. Full Mattress

Trying to decide between a queen and full-size mattress? We’re here to help.

Full beds typically measure 54” x 74”, while queen-size mattresses are 60” x 80”. Because of the extra space, queen-size beds work better for couples.

Full Mattress Graphic

However, full beds cost less than queens, so they’re great budget-friendly choices. If you have a smaller bedroom and sleep alone, a full-size bed might be the best option.

Queen vs. King Mattress

Queen mattresses cost less than king beds, and they’re still big enough to accommodate most couples. They’re great options for people who have average size bedrooms.

If you have a bigger room, you might want to get a king-size bed. These beds are 16” wider than queens, so you’ll have more room to spread out. Take a look at our picks of the best king-size mattresses for some great options.

King Mattress Graphic

Summary

Once again, here are our top picks for the best queen-size mattresses.

Mattress Best For
WinkBed Editor’s Pick
Helix Midnight Best Queen Pillow Top Mattress
DreamCloud Best Firm Mattress
Nectar Best Memory Foam Mattress
Casper Best For Back Pain
Saatva Best Innerspring Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Best Affordable Mattress
Leesa Best Mattress For Side Sleepers
Puffy Lux Hybrid Best Soft Mattress
Bear Hybrid Best Bed-In-A-Box

FAQs

To make things even easier, we’ve answered some of the most frequently asked questions below.

What is the average cost of a queen-size mattress?

Queen-size mattresses range in price and quality. You can find some affordable beds on Amazon for less than $500, but they may not last very long. Sometimes, it's better to spring for a luxurious mattress because they have longer lifespans.

Is a queen mattress good for couples?

Queens are some of the best mattresses for couples. However, if you’re especially tall, you might need one of the best king-size mattresses.

How big is a queen mattress?

Most queen-size mattresses measure 60" x 80".

How much does a queen mattress weigh?

Because queen-size mattresses are much larger than twins and fulls, they also weigh more. Most queen beds weigh between 120 and 160lbs.

Can a queen mattress fit on a full bed frame?

Yes, technically you can place a queen-size mattress on a full bed frame. But because full mattresses are narrower than queens, you won't be able to utilize the full surface area of your queen bed.

How much bigger is a king mattress than a queen?

King-size mattresses are 16" wider than queen beds. However, both king and queen-size beds are 80" long.

Gravatar for Elisa Regulski

Elisa Regulski

Elisa the Editor of Mattress Clarity, where she analyzes sleep products and appears in review videos. She earned a M.A in Mass Communication from Texas State University and a B.F.A in acting from Oklahoma City University. In addition to writing about sleep health, Elisa is passionate about reviewing music. Her articles about the Austin City Limits Music Festival have appeared in Glide Magazine and Speakers In Code. When she isn’t writing, Elisa can be heard singing with national party band, Saved By The ‘90s. She also performs with Austin-based arts collective, New Manifest Theatre Company.