Best Luxury Mattresses 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs, where we are compensated for items purchased through links from our site. See our disclosure page for details.

We spend almost a third of our lives sleeping, so it’s important to find the right mattress for you — something that’s comfortable, high-quality, and will stand the test of time. That’s why, if people have the money, investing in the best luxury mattress is a great idea. The bed ends up paying for itself, and the high-end materials and luxury touches mean that you’re sleeping in style.

We have tested hundreds of mattresses throughout the years, and we considered more than 25 different models for this roundup. Ultimately, we decided these seven models are the best luxury mattresses of 2024. Keep reading to learn more about our top picks.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Luxury Mattress?

Our team of experts chose the Helix Midnight Luxe as the best luxury mattress overall. This innerspring mattress geared toward side sleepers is a favorite of ours at Mattress Clarity, since it appeals to the most popular sleep position, and offers affordable luxury.

Best Luxury Mattresses of 2024

Best Luxury Mattress 2024: Video Roundup

Compare the Best Luxury Mattresses

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Saatva Mattress Nectar Premier Copper Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Saatva Rx Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite Mattress
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Saatva Mattress Nectar Premier Copper Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Saatva Rx Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Soft: 6/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Material Hybrid Innerspring Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- --
Sleep Position Combination Back & Stomach Back & Side Combination Back & Side Combination Back & Stomach Side

How We Tested Luxury Mattresses

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure sub scores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

How We Choose the Best Luxury Mattresses

We test for a myriad of factors, but pay special attention to a few based on the type of mattresses we’re recommending. When it came to luxury mattresses, these were three features we lent special attention to:

Durability

When choosing the Best Luxury Mattresses, we knew that these beds tend to cost more than the average mattress. So we paid special attention to the category of durability, making sure that we only selected products that would last you a good long while.

Cooling

Think about it this way: you’re splurging on a luxury mattress because you want the best sleep ever, right? Well, cooling plays an outsized part in that for most sleepers. Sinking into your luxury bed, only to wake up in a pool of sweat because it traps heat, does not make for such a high-end mattress experience. We aimed to only feature beds with well-rated cooling capabilities.

Pressure Relief

To our testers, a luxury mattress should feel like it’s giving a gentle hug, cradling the body just the right amount. If the bed’s top comfort layers don’t relieve pressure points, you can wake up feeling achy or stiff — definitely not what we’re looking for in a luxury bed. We recommend beds with excellent pressure relief, and make suggestions for softer models when we think there may be some pressure relief lacking, especially for side sleepers.

Best Luxury Mattress for Couples – Helix Midnight Luxe

Best Luxury Mattress for Couples

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$1373 - $2873

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress for Couples

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$1373 - $2873

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress for Couples

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1373 - $2873

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Great pressure relief
Sleeps cool
Great for side sleepers
Cons
Too soft for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Helix Midnight Luxe’s appeal starts at the top—a pillow top, to be exact. The ultra-soft quilted cover is made with Tencel, a eucalyptus derivative that feels cool-to-the-touch, testers said. Couples should sleep comfortably atop this bed of pressure-relieving foams and individually steel-wrapped coils, as the mattress is supportive, cooling and isolates motion well, so you shouldn’t disturb your sleeping partner at night.

What the testers say:The Helix Midnight Luxe boasts some impressive motion isolation and edge support, so couples who need their own space won’t feel precarious even on the edge of this mattress.Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • Even though it has a responsive feel, it isolates motion well. The thick comfort layer absorbs movement and prevents it from spreading through the mattress. This is great news for couples, because it means partners are less likely to wake up when their loved one switches sleeping positions.
  • It has great edge support. This means you can sleep or sit along the sides of the mattress without feeling like you’ll roll off. Couples can spread out and enjoy the full surface area of this mattress.
  • It has impressive cooling features, such as a cover made with GlacioTex Elite cooling fabric. The coils promote airflow and make the mattress more breathable.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • It costs more than many other high-end mattresses. This is one of Helix’s most luxurious models, so it comes at a higher price point.
  • Heavier stomach sleepers won’t get enough hip support on this mattress. If this is your preferred sleeping position, you may want to consider getting a firmer mattress, such as the Winkbed.

Other User Reviews

The Helix Midnight Luxe averaged a 4.4/5 out of nearly 6,000 reviews. Echoing a common sentiment, one reviewer writes that, “My partner and I both work physically demanding jobs and I have noticed my hip and low back pain is gone, and he seems to sleep much sounder with no complaints of pain in the morning.” Negative reviews said the mattress didn’t perform as expected given the price point.

Read our full Helix Midnight Luxe mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

Best Pillow Top Luxury Mattress – Saatva

Best Pillow Top

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1395 - $2990

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Pillow Top

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$1395 - $2990

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Pillow Top

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$1395 - $2990

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Plush quilted Euro-top
Durable, high-quality materials
Multiple firmness options available
Cons
Expensive

Our Expert’s Take

One of the highest-performing beds in our sleep lab, the Saatva embodies luxury with its two layers of supportive coils, high-density memory foam lumbar support, and quilted Euro-top. The brand’s flagship mattress is a great match for a variety sleeping positions — side, back, and stomach. Plus, the Saatva accommodates the night moves of combination sleepers. Testers enjoy the Luxury Firm feel in particular, which is one choice out of the three firmnesses available.

What the testers say:A common refrain I hear from people seeking mattress advice is ‘How to find a mattress that sleeps the same as a luxury hotel bed?’ I often suggest Saatva because it checks all the boxes of a luxury bed for a broad range of sleepers.Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva

  • It’s custom-made to your preferred firmness. While Luxury Firm is the most popular Saatva model, firm and soft mattress lovers alike can get a mattress to their preferred comfort level.
  • It’s one of the best cooling mattresses, with two layers of coils to promote airflow and a breathable cotton cover. 
  • The bed is delivered by hand, rather than inside a box, so you can enjoy your new bed right away without waiting for it to take its shape or off-gas. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • It costs more than a traditional mattress. The durable materials make it long-lasting but for a steeper upfront investment.
  • Saatva lacks a traditional slow-moving memory foam feel. If you want a bed that feels less bouncy and responsive and more like a traditional memory foam surface, you may want to consider the Nectar Hybrid instead.

Other User Reviews

The Saatva mattress earned an average customer score of 4.8/5. More than 3,000 users reviewed the mattress, and many raved about the bed’s comfort, including one reviewer who wrote that the bed is the “most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on outside a nice hotel.” Several other people praised the Saatva customer service team. A few people complained about shipping delays, though.

Read our full Saatva mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses 2024 for more great options.

Best Luxury Memory Foam Mattress – Nectar Premier Copper

Best Luxury Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced, cooling mattress.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1499 - $3298

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced, cooling mattress.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$1499 - $3298

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced, cooling mattress.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1499 - $3298

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Great for side and back sleepers
365-night sleep trial
Sleeps cooler than many memory foam beds
Cons
Not great for stomach sleepers
Not as slow-moving as other memory foam beds

Our Expert’s Take

A newer offering from Nectar, the high-end Nectar Premier Copper is the brand’s most luxurious mattress to date. A quick look at the construction shows they’ve sought out to master the design of their flagship all-foam bed. On top, there’s a cooling copper cover that’s designed to help dissipate your body heat. Inside the mattress, the top comfort layers include gel-infused memory foam that will also help keep you cool. Finally, there’s a layer of transition foam and high-density base foam to provide long-lasting support.

What the testers say: “I felt great while side sleeping on the Nectar Premier Copper. The thick layers of memory foam on top offered good pressure relief around my shoulders and hips.” Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Premier Copper

  • It offers a great balance of comfort and support, which makes it a great option for back and side sleepers.
  • Even though it’s an all-foam bed, it doesn’t trap a lot of body heat. The copper infusion helps pull heat away from the body.
  • It isolates motion well, which is great for couples. If you share a bed with someone, you shouldn’t feel their movements come over to your side of the bed.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Premier Copper

  • It lacks a bouncy feel. If you have mobility restrictions, or just prefer the feeling of an innerspring mattress, you may want to consider the DreamCloud.
  • Because this mattress feels softer than average, it’s not a great choice for stomach sleepers. In this sleeping position, you will likely sink out of spinal alignment, which can contribute to back pain over time.

Other User Reviews

Over 56,000 people have reviewed this mattress on Nectar’s website, and it earned an average score of 4.7/5. Some people said it was “the best bed ever,” and it helped alleviate back pain. Some people complained about the long shipping times, and a few customers said they felt like the mattress was too soft.

Read our full Nectar Premier Copper mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Memory Foam Mattresses for more great options.

Best Luxury Firm Mattress – WinkBed

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Available in four firmness levels
Great for all three sleeping positions
The coils promote airflow
Cons
Lacks a traditional memory foam feel
Pricey

Our Expert’s Take

If you’ve ever enjoyed sleeping on a hotel mattress, the WinkBed mattress should be right up your alley. It contains two layers of steel coils and a Euro-style pillow top, giving it a luxurious, innerspring mattress feel. The pillow top is soft and should provide some nice pressure relief, and the two layers of coils are very supportive and should also help with contouring. This refreshing balance of comfort and support should be a good match for all three sleeping positions. It’s likely soft enough for side sleepers and firm enough for most back and stomach sleepers.

What the testers say: “The zoning in this mattress means it felt softer around my shoulders and firmer under my lower back. This made for a super comfortable feel with tons of lumbar support.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • It’s available in four firmness levels: Softer, Luxury Firm, Firmer, and Plus (which is designed specifically for heavier people). No matter your sleeping position or body type, you should be able to find a bed that suits your needs.
  • It has a comfy tufted pillow top, which feels like what you’ll find at a five-star hotel.
  • This mattress has a traditional innerspring feel, making it a great choice for people with mobility issues. You’ll feel like you’re sleeping on top of the mattress, rather than “inside” it.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • If you want a plush memory foam bed, you should look elsewhere. The WinkBed feels quite bouncy and responsive, so you won’t “sink into” the top layers.
  • The WinkBed costs more than some other hybrid beds on the market. That said, you can often save us much as $300 with our special Mattress Clarity coupons.

Other User Reviews

WinkBed doesn’t filter the customer reviews, so when you see the impressive 4.8/5 rating, you can trust it. Over 8,400 people have reviewed the classic WinkBed mattress, and most people raved about the customer service and superb quality. Many people said they love the Luxury Firm model because it supports their spine and cushions joints. A few people said the mattress felt either too soft or too firm for their liking.

Read our full WinkBed mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Firm Mattresses for more great options.

Best Luxury Mattress for Side Sleepers – Nolah Evolution

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1499 - $3198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1499 - $3198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1499 - $3198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Available in three firmness levels
Has zoned support
Great for combination sleepers
Cons
Not good for people who want a firm mattress
Has a high price point

Our Expert’s Take

Not only does the Nolah Evolution have three different firmness options, but it also features zoned support. This is great news for side sleepers of all weights, since you can customize to the firmness that best cradles your pressure points. The bed also offers excellent lumbar support in the middle section of the mattress, helping side sleepers keep their spines aligned throughout the night.

Not sure which one to get? We recommend the Plush model for side sleepers and the Luxury Firm for combination back and side sleepers. If you weigh more than 230 lbs, or tend to also rest on your stomach, opt for the Firm model.

What the testers say: “While side sleeping on this bed, I felt the Euro top comfort layer cushion my pressure points, while the Eco Support coils provided a good amount of support. And thanks to this bed’s zoned support, I felt a neutral spinal alignment, which is the key to alleviating and preventing back pain.” Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • It has zoned support, which is great for people with back pain. Zoned support means it feels firmer in the center and softer near the head and the foot. This design may help sleepers maintain the correct spinal alignment throughout the night.
  • There are three different firmness options. We tested the Luxury Firm model and found it works well for most back and side sleepers. But if you need more pressure relief, you should opt for the Plush model. Combination stomach sleepers should choose the Firm model.
  • It has a comfy tufted pillow top, which feels like what you’ll find at luxury hotels.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • Because it has so many high-quality features, this mattress has a higher price point. If you want a more affordable option, you may want to consider the DreamCloud Premier.
  • It doesn’t have the best edge support. When you sit or rest near the side of the bed, you may feel like you’ll roll off. This could be a drawback for couples, because it forces sleepers to rest closer to the center of the bed.

Other User Reviews

Nolah’s website highlights numerous five-star reviews from satisfied customers. Many people praised Nolah’s exceptional customer service, and several customers said this mattress helped them stay cool throughout the night. It’s important to note, however, that Nolah hasn’t published any reviews that have anything less than a perfect score.

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Pain for more great options.

Best Luxury Mattress for Back Pain – Saatva Rx

Best for Back Pain

Saatva Rx Mattress

Saatva Rx mattress

The Saatva Rx mattress is a luxury bed with zoned support and foam-encased pocketed coils to help keep your spine in a healthy alignment.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1995 - $4390

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best for Back Pain

Saatva Rx Mattress

Saatva Rx mattress

The Saatva Rx mattress is a luxury bed with zoned support and foam-encased pocketed coils to help keep your spine in a healthy alignment.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$1995 - $4390

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Saatva Rx mattress
Best for Back Pain

Saatva Rx Mattress

The Saatva Rx mattress is a luxury bed with zoned support and foam-encased pocketed coils to help keep your spine in a healthy alignment.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$1995 - $4390

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Pros
Plush quilted Euro-top
Durable, high-quality materials
Multiple firmness options available
Cons
Expensive

Our Expert’s Take

Like Saatva’s flagship mattress before it, the Saatva Rx performed astonishingly well in our Austin, TX sleep lab: The bed scored a 4/5 or higher in every performance-related category. And per the name, Saatva wanted to make it clear that the Saatva Rx is built to be a prescription for sleepers who suffer from achy backs, starting with a breathable organic cotton cover, quilted for extra support in the lower back area, and treated to prevent bacteria, mold, and mildew. Inside, there’s a layer of gel-infused memory foam that pulls heat away as you sleep and adds support and durability. Beneath that, high-density foam layers surround a thin layer of flexible micro-coils, which provide both support and comfort, relieving pressure points. The support layers include a Therapeutic Support Core made of pocketed coils topped with graphite-infused foam. Testers felt that the coils offered excellent pressure relief, and the firmer coils around the edge added fantastic edge support. At the bottom, there’s a stable base layer to ground the robust 15″ bed.

What the testers say: “The Saatva Rx is truly a first of its kind, luxury mattress designed especially to alleviate back and joint pain, and the bed’s build really delivers, impressing testers in all sleep positions. This bed is a big investment, but if it can save you money from needing massages or sessions with a chiropractor, it’s a worthwhile addition to your bedroom.Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva Rx

  • Not only is the Saatva Rx a mattress uniquely designed to address back and joint pain, but the bed’s breathable build lends itself to cooling hot sleepers. Testers gave the bed 4/5 for its ability to keep them feeling crisp and refreshed after napping on the bed.
  • The bed saves your back in more ways than one: Because the Rx is delivered by hand by Saatva representatives, you won’t have to lug your old mattress to the curb, or wait for your bed to unfurl and off-gas like most traditional direct-to-consumer online mattress orders.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva Rx

  • Even by Saatva standards, the Rx is expensive, with a sticker price that’s $1,000 more than the Saatva Classic ($2,095 for a queen without deals). Still, to echo what our tester Marten says, we think the investment could be worthwhile if back pain is disruptive enough to drive up your budget in other ways.
  • Saatva Rx lacks a traditional slow-moving memory foam feel, so lovers of that style of bed who suffer from back pain may want to check out the memory foam options on our best mattress for back pain roundup.

Other User Reviews

The Saatva Rx mattress earned an average customer score of 4.8/5. More than 3,000 users reviewed the mattress, and many raved about the bed’s comfort, including one reviewer who wrote that the bed is the “most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on outside a nice hotel.” Several other people praised the Saatva customer service team. A few people complained about shipping delays, though.

Read our full Saatva Rx mattress review for more information.

Best Luxury Hybrid Mattress – Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Luxury Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Price Range

$1893 - $3920

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Luxury Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1893 - $3920

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Luxury Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1893 - $3920

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5

Pros
Top quality materials from top to bottom
Designed with cooling in mind
Available in three firmness options
Cons
Not supportive enough for heavier people
Doesn’t isolate motion very well

Our Expert’s Take

Hybrid mattresses are often more high-quality choices, as the combination of foams and coils prevents sagging and helps the mattress last longer. The Bear Elite Hybrid is Bear’s latest model, and it uses a number of high-end materials. It has a hand-quilted cover which uses phase change material, a cooling fabric that helps draw heat away from the body. It also uses copper-infused memory foam, which is both cooling and antimicrobial. Finally, it has a zoned support system, which means it’s designed to be softer at the head and foot and firmer at the center.

What the testers say: “While lying on this mattress, I felt the strong support coils create a responsive feel, which made it easy to move around on top of this bed. You shouldn’t feel “stuck inside” this mattress.” – Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • It has a balanced hybrid feel. You’ll gently sink into the top layers, but get plenty of springy support from the coils at the bottom.
  • It sleeps cool at night. The coils promote airflow, and the copper-infused memory foam helps dissipate heat.
  • It has zoned support, which helps sleepers maintain the proper spinal alignment. This means it works for most back, side and stomach sleepers.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • It’s probably not supportive enough for heavyweight people. Folks who weigh more than 230 lbs will likely sink through the top layer and feel more of the coils underneath. This could be uncomfortable, so if you’re a heavier person, you may want to consider getting one of the best mattresses for heavy people.
  • It doesn’t isolate motion very well, which could be a problem for couples who are easily woken up at night. It’s very possible that partners will feel their loved one move around next to them during the night

Other User Reviews

On Bear’s website, the Elite Hybrid mattress earns an average customer review score of 4.5/5. Many people said it soothed their back pain and helped them sleep cool at night. There are a few one-star reviews that state the mattress wasn’t supportive enough and caused lower back pain.

Read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options.

Best Luxury Cooling Mattress – Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite

Best Luxury Cooling Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Mattress Review

The Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite is an affordable luxury mattress that is great for hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$1249 - $2899

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Best Luxury Cooling Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Mattress Review

The Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite is an affordable luxury mattress that is great for hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1249 - $2899

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Mattress Review
Best Luxury Cooling Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite Mattress

The Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite is an affordable luxury mattress that is great for hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1249 - $2899

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5

Pros
Coil system promotes airflow and gives plenty of support
Medium-firm feel is great for all sleeping positions
Is a great value
Cons
Lacks a slow-moving feel
Not great for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The cooling begins almost right away on the hybrid Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite, as it’s topped by a woven cover made with a moisture-wicking cooling panel. Underneath, there’s comfort foam, gel-infused memory foam, max density gel memory foam and high-density transition foam. All of these features together make the Sedona Elite a breathable bed that keeps a low temperature.

What the testers say: “This hybrid mattress has a woven cover made with a panel that felt cool the moment I touched it. While I rested on this bed, I didn’t feel myself overheat. I’d definitely recommend this mattress to hot sleepers.” Marten, Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite

  • It’s one of the best cooling mattresses, thanks to its cooling cover and heat-dissipating gel-infused memory foam.
  • For a luxury mattress, the Sedona Elite is a great value. Brooklyn Bedding owns their own factory, which means they can slash prices and pass the savings along to the customer.
  • It has a classic medium-firm feel, which offers a great balance of comfort and support. This mattress works well for most back and side sleepers.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite

  • It has a balanced hybrid feel, which may not work well for people who want lots of body contouring. If you like to “sink” into your mattress, you may want to consider the Nectar Premier Copper.
  • It’s probably too soft for stomach sleepers. In this sleeping position, you may not get the necessary support you need in the hip area.

Other User Reviews

On Brooklyn Bedding’s website, the Sedona Elite mattress has an average customer review score of 4.8/5. Many people said this mattress helped alleviate their back pain, and others said it is great for side sleeping. A few customers said the bed started sinking after only a few weeks.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

Other Luxury Mattresses We Like

While these mattresses didn’t make our top recommendations, they are still a great option for people who are looking for a luxury mattress.

DreamCloud Premier Rest

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier rest mattress on a bed frame

The DreamCloud Premier Rest is a luxury mattress option that sleeps cool and is a particularly good option for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

DreamCloud Premier Rest

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier rest mattress on a bed frame

The DreamCloud Premier Rest is a luxury mattress option that sleeps cool and is a particularly good option for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier rest mattress on a bed frame

DreamCloud Premier Rest

The DreamCloud Premier Rest is a luxury mattress option that sleeps cool and is a particularly good option for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
It works well for side sleepers because it offers plenty of pressure relief for shoulders and hips.
It has a luxurious, high-end feel.
Cons
Because it’s a luxurious mattress, it has a higher price point.
It’s not supportive enough for stomach sleepers.

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Designed for heavier sleepers
Good motion isolation
Cons
Side sleepers may not get enough pressure relief
Lightweight sleepers may not get enough support

Lux Hybrid

The Lux Estate Hybrid combines durable steel coils, cushioning memory foam, and advanced cooling technology, resulting in one of the finest and most luxurious hybrid mattresses.

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 4.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Lux Hybrid

The Lux Estate Hybrid combines durable steel coils, cushioning memory foam, and advanced cooling technology, resulting in one of the finest and most luxurious hybrid mattresses.

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 4.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Lux Hybrid

The Lux Estate Hybrid combines durable steel coils, cushioning memory foam, and advanced cooling technology, resulting in one of the finest and most luxurious hybrid mattresses.

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Soft: 4.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
Made with high-quality materials
Really sells the luxury experience
Shouldn’t trap heat
Cons
Luxury means luxury price tag
Won’t have that memory foam feel
Might be hard to move on

What Makes a Mattress Luxurious 

Want to feel like you’re relaxing at a five-star resort? Here are a few things to look for if you want a luxurious mattress. 

Durable Materials

Luxury mattresses contain long-lasting materials, which help justify the higher price tags. For example, the Nectar Premier Copper features a cooling cover that’s infused with copper. This not only helps dissipate body heat—it’s also antimicrobial. And the TEMPUR-Pedic LUXE-Breeze mattress contains proprietary TEMPUR material, which feels particularly pressure relieving and plush. 

Organic Materials

Many high-end mattresses, such as the Saatva Solaire, also contain certified organic materials. These eco-friendly materials have many benefits: They’re often hypoallergenic, temperature-regulating and durable. 

Cooling Features

If you tend to get too hot and sweaty at night, you may want to upgrade to a luxury mattress with cooling features. The Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite, for example, has a moisture-wicking cooling panel and a layer of gel-infused memory foam. And because this mattress contains breathable support coils, it sleeps much cooler than most budget-friendly beds. 

Additional Bells and Whistles

If you really want to rest in the lap of luxury, you may want to consider getting a smart bed like the Saatva Solaire. Instead of a support layer made of base foam or innersprings, this mattress has adjustable air chambers. With the convenient remote, you can easily customize the firmness level on each side of the bed. Want even more customizable comfort? Pair your luxury mattress with one of the best adjustable bases. 

Pros and Cons of a Luxury Mattress

Still wondering if you should splurge on a luxury mattress? Our pros and cons list may help you make the best decision. 

Who Should Get a Luxury Mattress

  • People who want a long-lasting mattress. Luxury mattresses tend to last longer than budget-friendly beds. We expect all of the mattresses on this list to have a lifespan of a decade or more, while baseline mattresses typically only last between seven and 10 years. 
  • Those who want a particularly comfortable sleeping experience. Run-of-the-mill mattresses don’t offer the same level of comfort that luxury mattresses do. If you want a five-star sleeping experience, you may want to consider getting a high-end bed. 
  • Couples with different firmness preferences. Many luxury mattresses, like the Saatva Solaire, are customizable and allow couples to adjust each side of the bed. This is particularly helpful for couples who can’t agree on the type of bed they want.
  • Hot sleepers. Luxury mattresses contain the most effective cooling materials, such as phase change material and gel-infused memory foam. 

Who Should Avoid a Luxury Mattress

  • Shoppers with tight budgets. Luxury mattresses have much higher price tags. You can expect to pay between $500 and $2,000 more for a high-end mattress. 
  • Young children and teenagers. Because kids will eventually move out of the house, it may not be worthwhile to buy them a pricey mattress. 

What to Look for When Buying a Luxury Mattress

Mattresses are very subjective. What feels comfortable for one person may give another person back pain. If you’re in the market for a luxurious mattress, here are a few things to consider:

Consider the Mattress Type

There are four types of mattresses: all-foam, innerspring, hybrid and latex. All have the ability to have components that make it Luxury, Let’s take a closer look at each one.

  • All-foam mattresses only contain, you guessed it, foam. They typically have thick layers of high-density base foam in the support layer, which helps sleepers maintain the proper spinal alignment. Comfort layers range from brand to brand. Some, like the TEMPUR-Pedic LUXE Breeze and the Nectar Premier Copper, have proprietary materials that you won’t find anywhere else. Other brands contain classic memory foam. Most all-foam beds have a slow-moving feel that allow sleepers to gently “sink” into the mattress. 
  • Innerspring mattresses used to be the standard, but they aren’t as common these days. These mattresses have thick layers of innerspring coils at the bottom and a thin tufted pillow top above. They feel bouncy and responsive, but they don’t offer a lot of pressure relief or body contouring. 
  • Hybrid mattresses offer the best of both worlds. The support layer contains innerspring coils, and the comfort layer contains either memory foam or latex. Hybrid mattresses tend to feel balanced—a good mix of pressure relief and support. 
  • Latex mattresses often fall within the hybrid mattress category. They tend to have coils at the bottom and thick layers of latex foam on top. Unlike memory foam, latex foam feels responsive and firm. Latex foam is also more breathable than memory foam, making it a good choice for many hot sleepers. 

Sleeping Position Considerations

You’ll also want to consider your sleeping position when shopping for a luxurious mattress. Here’s a brief breakdown of what different sleepers need:

  • Back sleepers typically need medium-firm mattresses that can support the lower back and cushion the hips. Although, heavier back sleepers may need a bit more lumbar support and might want to consider getting a firmer mattress. 
  • Side sleepers unintentionally put a lot of pressure on their shoulders and hips. For this reason, they may tend to benefit from softer mattresses that can cushion these pressure points.
  • Stomach sleepers usually need firm mattresses. If a bed feels too soft, stomach sleepers may feel their hips sink out of spinal alignment, which can potentially lead to back pain over time. 

Pressure Relief 

The amount of pressure relief you need depends greatly on your sleeping position and body type. Lightweight side sleepers may need more pressure relief because they typically don’t compress the comfort layer very much. Heavyweight stomach sleepers may not need as much pressure relief in order to maintain the correct spinal alignment. Again, though, it depends on your sleeping preferences. If you find that your current mattress doesn’t cushion your joints enough, you may want to consider getting one of the best mattress toppers

Spinal Alignment 

Spinal alignment is an important thing to consider when getting a new mattress, and again, it depends greatly on your body type and sleeping position. For example, stomach sleepers may need firm mattresses in order to keep their spines in the correct position. Side sleepers need softer beds that cushion their shoulders and hips. Finding the best pillow for your sleeping position can also help promote the proper spinal alignment. 

A man sleeps on his side.

Cooling Features

If you tend to overheat at night, you’ll likely want to find a mattress that can help you stay cool. Many all-foam beds tend to trap body heat, but that doesn’t mean you have to avoid memory foam beds altogether. Some all-foam beds, like the Nectar Premier Copper, contain cooling infusions and breathable materials. Hybrid mattresses, like the Brooklyn Bedding Sedona Elite, contain coils that promote airflow. 

A man sleeps on his back on the Nectar Premier Copper

Special Features 

Some luxury mattresses feature special elements that you won’t find in basic beds. For instance, the Saatva Solaire contains two adjustable air chambers that allow sleepers to customize the firmness of each side of the bed. This can be particularly beneficial for couples with different mattress preferences. 

Company Policies 

Before pulling out your wallet, it’s a smart idea to read the company policies. All of the mattresses on this list come with generous sleep trial periods, but I recommend reading the warranty’s fine print before making a purchasing decision. Some mattresses companies will void the warranty if the bed is not paired with a supportive bed frame or base. 

How to Save Money on a Mattress

Luxury mattresses are an investment, but fortunately, there are a few ways you can save some money. Most mattress companies offer deals throughout the year but here at Mattress Clarity, we also offer coupons and insights on some of the major mattress sale holidays!

  • Coupons– Mattress Clarity coupons can slash prices. Make sure to click our links in this article to take full advantage of our deals. 
  • Best Holidays for Mattress Sales – Mattress companies have great deals around federal holidays like Memorial Day and President’s Day, but some of the best mattress sales happen around Black Friday. Sometimes, it’s worth waiting until November in order to get the best price on a new mattress.

Summary

Before we turn down for the night, here’s a recap of our best luxury mattresses:

Mattress Best For
SaatvaBest Overall
Helix Midnight LuxeBest Mattress for Couples
Nectar Premier CopperBest Luxury Memory Foam Mattress
WinkBedBest Luxury Firm Mattress
Bear Elite HybridBest Luxury Hybrid Mattress
Nolah EvolutionBest Luxury Mattress for Side Sleepers
Brooklyn Bedding Sedona EliteBest Cooling Mattress

FAQs

What mattresses and firmness levels do luxury hotels use?

Luxury hotels typically employ a hybrid or innerspring mattress design with a medium firmness, as to appeal to a wide variety of sleepers. Of the beds on this list, the WinkBed and DreamCloud Premier are most similar to what you’d find in a luxury hotel.

How much does a luxury mattress cost?

It’s going to largely depend on the brand and what kinds of sales are being offered, but to give you a ballpark range, the mattresses on this list cost between $1,799 and $3,399 for a queen-size before discounts.

What luxury mattress is the best for back pain?

While recommendations are always going to be somewhat subjective when it comes to mattresses, we found the Nolah Evolution to be the best luxury mattress for back pain.

What is the most expensive mattress?

A company called Hastens created a mattress called the Grand Vivdus. It’s priced at $400,000.

Can you negotiate mattress prices?

Unfortunately, you are unable to negotiate the price of a mattress when purchasing online. However, two-thirds of people who shop for a mattress in-store make an effort to negotiate. Before you jump to the register to pay, give negotiation a shot!

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.