Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers: Which Is Best for You?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

For back sleepers, finding the right mattress can be a challenge. Where side sleepers tend to need a soft mattress with lots of pressure relief and stomach sleepers often require something firmer, folks who sleep on their back are stuck in the middle, and will want a bed that’s both comfortable and supportive. Fortunately, I’ve reviewed a lot of mattresses and have come up with eight standouts that should be a great match.

The 10 Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers

How We Chose Our Products

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

To identify the Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers, we’ve paid special attention to support and durability, as well as other relevant criteria. For example, eight of our 10 products scored a 4 out of 5 or above for support, while seven of them scored a 4 out of 5 or above for durability.

Be sure to consider the superlatives we’ve assigned to each mattress so you can narrow down your options. And if you’re still left searching for your next perfect bed, try taking our mattress quiz for more tailored recommendations.

 

Editor's Pick

Helix Dusk Mattress

The Helix Dusk is a medium-firm mattress that is going to be a great fit for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Dusk Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$699 - $1449

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Editor's Pick

Helix Dusk Mattress

The Helix Dusk is a medium-firm mattress that is going to be a great fit for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Dusk Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$699 - $1449

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Editor's Pick

Helix Dusk Mattress

The Helix Dusk is a medium-firm mattress that is going to be a great fit for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Dusk Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$699 - $1449

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Helix is a fascinating company in that they allow customers to customize their mattress and find the perfect fit. They even provide a sleep quiz that narrows down the choices. Back sleepers will most likely land on the Helix Dusk, a hybrid that offers the comfort of foam and the support of coils. And because the coils have plenty of room for airflow, the bed should also sleep cool.

What Makes the Helix Dusk Stand Out?

  • The Helix Dusk contains Helix Dynamic Foam and slow-moving memory foam in its top layers.
  • At the bottom of the bed, the base layer creates support with individually wrapped coils.
  • The Helix Dusk is also available in a Luxe model for a more luxury look and feel.

Read our full Helix Dusk mattress review.

Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$887 - $2296

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$887 - $2296

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$887 - $2296

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Saatva is an innerspring mattress with a pillow-top that offers the balance of comfort and support that back sleepers crave. The pillow-top allows the hips to sink in, while the two layers of coils stop them from sinking in too far. These coils are very supportive, and even heavier back sleepers should find the Saatva to be an excellent fit. The mattress also contains a memory foam layer to help with contouring, so the mattress should take the shape of the body and fill in gaps such as the lumbar area.

What Makes the Saatva Stand Out?

  • We’ve named the Saatva as one of the best innerspring mattresses for back sleepers.
  • To me, the mattress feels like a 7/10 in terms of firmness, which is in the range where back sleepers usually want to be.
  • The two layers of coils allow for a good amount of airflow, so hot sleepers should be sleeping comfortably on the Saatva.

Read our full Saatva mattress review.

Best Mattress for Heavy Back Sleepers

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a very supportive latex hybrid mattress.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1399 - $2399

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Heavy Back Sleepers

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a very supportive latex hybrid mattress.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1399 - $2399

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Heavy Back Sleepers

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a very supportive latex hybrid mattress.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1399 - $2399

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Heavier back sleepers who weigh over 230 pounds are going to need a ton of spinal support, and they just might get it on the WinkBeds EcoCloud. A layer of zoned pocketed coils at the bottom of the bed makes the mattress more supportive near the center (where you need the most spinal support) and softer at the head and the foot. There’s also some zoning in the above comfort layer of Talalay latex foam.

What Makes the WinkBeds EcoCloud Stand Out?

  • Beneath the cover, the bed has a layer of soft New Zealand wool for plushness and pressure relief.
  • The WinkBeds EcoCloud stands proud at 13” tall. The added height is another plus for heavy back sleepers.
  • The coils are firmer at the edges of the bed, giving heavier sleepers plenty of edge support.

Read our full WinkBeds EcoCloud mattress review.

Best Luxury Mattress for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1099 - $1899

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Luxury Mattress for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$1099 - $1899

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Luxury Mattress for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1099 - $1899

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

The DreamCloud is a hybrid mattress comprised of a luxurious pillow-top, memory foam, and coils, all of which work together to create a medium-firm feel and a good balance of comfort and support. While back sleeping, the hips should sink into the pillow-top, but only a bit. Meanwhile, the pillow-top and foam layers conform to the curves of the body and support the lumbar area. The pocketed coils beneath offer more support, so people should feel held up everywhere else.

What Makes the DreamCloud Premier Stand Out?

  • Along with the pillow-top, a soft-to-the-touch cashmere cover gives the DreamCloud Premier that hotel mattress feel.
  • The pocketed coils are very supportive and should hold up back sleepers of many sizes, even heavier sleepers.
  • The coils promote airflow throughout the mattress, so people shouldn’t be overheating on the DreamCloud.

Read our full DreamCloud Premier mattress review.

Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Hybrid Mattress

The Aurora mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$999 - $2498

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Hybrid Mattress

The Aurora mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$999 - $2498

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Hybrid Mattress

The Aurora mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$999 - $2498

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

If you’re looking for a value hybrid mattress, Brooklyn Bedding is always a good place to start. They own their own factory, so they cut out the middleman and pass the saving on to you, the customer. Their most popular model is the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora, a hybrid that features supportive coils and proprietary comfort foams on top. The mattress comes in three different firmnesses, and back sleepers will likely be most comfortable on the Medium model. They should feel their hips sink into the top layers while the coils hold up their body.

What Makes the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Stand Out?

  • The Aurora has a plush innerspring feel that’s oh so comfortable.
  • It’s also an especially great mattress for side sleepers.
  • It features cooling infusions and coils should keep the mattress from trapping too much heat.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Aurora mattress review.

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

If you love that slow-moving memory foam feel, then Nectar might be the mattress of your dreams. This mattress provides tons of body contouring and has a medium-firm feel, making it great for back and side sleepers.

The top layer contains gel foam, a cooling material that helps dissipate body heat. At the bottom, you’ll find a layer of high-density support foam. This prevents sleepers from bottoming out, and it provides the lumbar support back sleepers need.

The Nectar mattress isolates motion well, so it’s a great choice for couples. It’s also one of the best mattresses for the money! You can’t go wrong with this classic, memory foam mattress.

What Makes Nectar Stand Out?

  • It has a lovely, slow-moving feel.
  • The gel-infused foam helps dissipate body heat.
  • The mattress isolates motion well.

Read our full Nectar mattress review.

Best For Couples

Cocoon Mattress

The Cocoon by Sealy is a comfortable mattress that is also a great value. 

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Cocoon Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Best For Couples

Cocoon Mattress

The Cocoon by Sealy is a comfortable mattress that is also a great value. 

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Cocoon Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Best For Couples

Cocoon Mattress

The Cocoon by Sealy is a comfortable mattress that is also a great value. 

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Cocoon Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5

The Cocoon Chill is an all-foam mattress with some advanced cooling materials. The cover features Phase Change Material that works to draw heat away from your body. This helps the mattress stay cool to the touch.

And because the Cocoon Chill mattress is made entirely out of foam, it also isolates motion well! This is great news for couples, because if one person switches sleeping positions during the night, the other person won’t feel that movement on their side of the bed.

To make things even better, the Cocoon Chill mattress has excellent edge support. This means if you rest near the side of the bed, you’ll feel very secure.

What Makes Cocoon Chill Stand Out?

  • The mattress feels firmer than average, making it great for back and stomach sleepers.
  • The cover feels cool to the touch.
  • It isolates motion well and has great edge support.

Read our full Cocoon Chill mattress review.

Best Mattress That Won’t Sag

Purple Mattress

Purple is an innovative mattress that is a great fit for all three sleeping positions and doesn’t sleep hot.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Purple Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress That Won’t Sag

Purple Mattress

Purple is an innovative mattress that is a great fit for all three sleeping positions and doesn’t sleep hot.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Purple Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress That Won’t Sag

Purple Mattress

Purple is an innovative mattress that is a great fit for all three sleeping positions and doesn’t sleep hot.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Purple Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Nobody wants their mattress to fold like a taco. If you’re especially worried about your mattress sagging, check out Purple. The original model contains the company’s proprietary gel grid and a thick layer of high-density base foam. The Purple mattress has a unique feel – squishy at first and firm when you apply pressure. Because of this, it is incredibly supportive and durable.

The hyperelastic gel polymer grid adapts to each person’s body weight and provides support where people need it most. This mattress works well for back sleepers of all body types, because it creates both comfort and support.

The Purple mattress is backed by a 10-year warranty, and we expect it to last at least that long. It’s also one of the best mattresses for the money!

What Makes Purple Stand Out?

  • It contains a proprietary gel polymer grid, which adapts to each person’s body type and provides the right amount of support.
  • It’s super durable and should last at least a decade.
  • It has a bouncy and responsive feel.

Read our full Purple mattress review.

Best Cooling Mattress for Back Sleepers

Layla Hybrid Mattress

The Layla Hybrid mattress is a flippable mattress that should be a great match for all three sleeping positions.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Layla Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress for Back Sleepers

Layla Hybrid Mattress

The Layla Hybrid mattress is a flippable mattress that should be a great match for all three sleeping positions.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Layla Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress for Back Sleepers

Layla Hybrid Mattress

The Layla Hybrid mattress is a flippable mattress that should be a great match for all three sleeping positions.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Layla Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.3/5
Watch Our Video Review

There’s so much to love about the Layla Hybrid mattress – it’s flippable, supportive, and cooling. Back sleepers will especially love the firm side of this mattress, which feels like a 7.5/10 on our firmness scale. The supportive coils and firm foam helps keep the back in the proper alignment all night long.

Hot sleepers appreciate Layla’s copper-infused memory foam. This material helps dissipate body heat and keep the mattress clean! And because this mattress contains coils for support, there’s extra room for air to flow through the mattress. If you’re looking for breathability, the Layla Hybrid will deliver.

What Makes Layla Stand Out?

  • It’s flippable, with a firm and a soft side.
  • The copper-infused memory foam keeps the mattress cool.
  • The coils promote airflow and make the mattress especially durable.

Read our full Layla Hybrid mattress review.

Best Mattress for Lower Back Pain

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$995 - $1945

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Lower Back Pain

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$995 - $1945

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Lower Back Pain

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$995 - $1945

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper’s features a unique zoned construction, meaning the middle part of the mattress is firmer and more supportive, while the shoulder area is softer. This makes the bed an especially excellent fit for back sleepers, as it offers extra lumbar support. That applies doubly to anyone who struggles with lower back pain.

What Makes the Casper Stand Out?

  • The smart construction makes the mattress a great fit for several sleeping positions. Side sleepers and combination sleepers should also be comfortable on the Casper.
  • When considering that it’s an all-foam bed, the Casper has solid edge support.
  • A breathable cover and layer of open-celled Airscape foam help this mattress sleep cool.

Read our full Casper mattress review.

What People Should Think About When Buying a Mattress for Back-Sleeping

Qualities Of Best Mattresses For Back Sleepers

Mattress Firmness

At Mattress Clarity, we always rate firmness on a scale of 1 to 10. Back sleepers will want to find something in the medium-firm range of 6.5 to 7. If the mattress is too soft, they might not get the support they need, and their hips could sink in too far (potentially leading to lower back pain). If the mattress is too firm, they won’t sink in far enough and get the contouring that they need.

Let’s dig into that a little further. Dr. Daniel Davids, a DPT and Mattress Clarity Expert Network Member, explains that we actually require natural motion while we sleep, which can be unhealthily reduced by a too-soft bed. Unlike standing, walking, or other upright activities, Davids says actions like lying down and sleeping allow our muscles to be in a relatively off position. Because our muscles provide stability to our joints when they’re relaxed, our joints also relax. However, he says that if we maintain a position for too long that pushes the limits of our joint range, we may wake up with pain or stiffness.

Likewise, a mattress that’s too stiff puts undue pressure on certain areas of our body with “bony prominences” — areas where the bone isn’t as covered with soft tissue (muscle and fat), says Davids. This issue can even lead to skin breakdown as we see with seniors and bedsores.

Comfort Layer Thickness

When consumers are looking at the design of the mattress, they should pay close attention to the thickness of the comfort layer. While a thick comfort layer can be nice for those who sleep on their side, back sleepers won’t want it to be too thick. A comfort layer between 2″ and 4″ should allow them to sink into the mattress just enough while still getting enough support for their back and cushioning in their lumbar area.

Your Weight

As with any mattress purchase, people will want to consider their overall size and weight. A mattress that’s supportive enough for a lighter-weight sleeper might not support a heavier sleeper. Likewise, a larger person might think a mattress is perfect for back-sleeping, while a lighter person could possibly find it too firm. Consumers should definitely keep their size in mind when attempting to find that perfect balance between comfort and support.

RELATED: Best Mattress For Lower Back Pain And Sciatica

Choose the Right Type of Mattress for Back-Sleeping

Mattresses For Back Sleepers

There are a few major types of mattresses, and they all offer benefits and drawbacks when it comes to back-sleeping. Let’s discuss exactly how each one can be a good and poor fit.

Memory Foam 

Memory foam mattresses are extremely popular right now, and for good reason. They offer superior pressure relief and comfort, and are usually a big hit with side sleepers. They’re also good for back sleepers in that they provide excellent contouring and really fill all the gaps (such as the lumbar area). They can also be extremely soft, however, and sometimes don’t offer the best support for back-sleeping.

If a shopper wants a memory foam mattress for back-sleeping, they should find something where the comfort layer isn’t too thick. They’ll want a bed that will allow their hips to sink in just the right amount while the mattress supports the rest of their body. Memory foam can be great for back-sleeping, as long as there’s not too much of it!

Innerspring

Traditional innerspring mattresses are one of the oldest types of beds and are known for their excellent breathability and support. A mattress with high-grade coils can indeed be a good match for back-sleeping, but it really comes down to the overall firmness and what’s in the comfort layer.

If an innerspring mattress is too firm, it can really push the hips out of the mattress and cause back pain. That’s why innerspring mattresses with a pillow-top are often a good fit for back-sleeping. The pillow-top adds some softness and allows those hips to sink in just a bit. If shoppers want an innerspring mattress for back-sleeping, they just need to make sure it is truly medium-firm.

Hybrid

When it comes to back-sleeping, hybrid mattresses are hard to beat. This is because they provide the soft comfort of foam and the support of coils. However, there are still a few things to look out for. First off, make sure the comfort layer is the right thickness. If it’s a thick layer of memory foam, your spine might get out of alignment while you’re sleeping. If it’s just a thin layer of a firmer foam, the mattress might push the hips out of the mattress.

Latex

Latex mattresses are known for being eco-friendly, but how do they work for back-sleeping? First off, latex is a denser material that can sometimes be on the firmer side. If it’s too dense, it might not let sleepers’ hips sink in the right amount. So, back sleepers want to make sure there’s some give in place. Latex mattresses can also be good for back-sleeping because they’re highly durable. While they do cost more, they’re a better long-term investment and are less likely to sag.

RELATED: GhostBed vs Purple

Sleep Accessories for Back-Sleeping

For back sleepers, getting a good night’s rest doesn’t stop with finding a mattress. There are also some accessories that can help ensure comfort and support.

First off, a pillow can really help with back-sleeping if it’s a proper fit. Back sleepers should look for something that isn’t too thick and isn’t too thin. A pillow with a medium loft will keep the head, neck, and spine neutrally aligned. These can come in many types, including latex and memory foam. There are also some pillows made specifically to support the neck. Make sure to take a look at our best pillows for back sleepers for more information.

Mattress toppers can also be a great accessory for back sleepers, especially if their current mattress is too firm. A 2″ or 3″ mattress topper can add just a bit of comfort to the top of the mattress, providing some more contouring and allowing the hips to sink in. There are also zoned mattress toppers that can provide some more lumbar support for back sleepers.

Overall

Here’s a recap of our top picks for the best mattresses for back sleepers:

Mattress Best For
Helix Dusk Editor’s Pick
Saatva Best Innerspring Mattress
WinkBeds EcoCloud Best Mattress for Heavy Back Sleepers
DreamCloud Premier Best Luxury Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers
Nectar Best Memory Foam Mattress
Cocoon Chill Best Mattress For Couples
Purple Best Mattress That Won’t Sag
Layla Hybrid Best Cooling Mattress for Back Sleepers
Casper Best Mattress for Lower Back Pain
Gravatar for Joe Auer

Joe Auer

Joe Auer is the editor of Mattress Clarity. He mainly focuses on mattress reviews and oversees the content across the site.

He likes things simple and take a straightforward, objective approach to his reviews. Joe has personally tested nearly 250 mattresses and always recommends people do their research before buying a new bed. He has been testing mattresses for over 5 years now, so he knows a thing or two when it comes to mattress selection. He has been cited as an authority in the industry by a number of large publications.

Joe has an undergraduate degree from Wake Forest University and an MBA from Columbia University.