Best Mattress for Back Sleepers 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

For back sleepers, finding the right mattress can be a challenge. Where side sleepers tend to need a soft mattress with lots of pressure relief and stomach sleepers often require something firmer, folks who sleep on their back are stuck in the middle, and will want a bed that’s both comfortable and supportive. Fortunately, I’ve reviewed a lot of mattresses and have come up with ten standouts that should be a great match.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for Back Sleepers?

Our expert reviewers chose the DreamCloud Premier as the best mattress for back sleepers due to its memory foam contouring, hybrid construction, and balanced support for those who sleep on their back.

Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers

Best Mattress for Back Sleepers 2024: Our Video Roundup

Compare the Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Saatva Mattress WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Bear Original Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Luxe Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
DreamCloud Premier Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Saatva Mattress WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Bear Original Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Luxe Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Firm: 8/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Innerspring Latex Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- --
Sleep Position Back Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Combination Back & Stomach

How We Chose the Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

A man sleeps on his back on the Nolah Evolution Comfort Plus
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab.

To identify the Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers, we’ve paid special attention to support, durability, and other relevant criteria. For example, eight of our 10 products scored a 4 out of 5 or above for support, while seven of them scored a 4 out of 5 or above for durability.

Best Overall Mattress for Back Sleepers- DreamCloud Premier

Best Overall Mattress for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1169 - $2998

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Overall Mattress for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1169 - $2998

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier
Best Overall Mattress for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1169 - $2998

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros of the DreamCloud Premier
Great for heavier back sleepers
Promotes airflow
Has a hotel mattress feel
Cons of the DreamCloud Premier
Not great for stomach sleepers
Not great for fans of firm mattresses

Our Expert’s Take

The DreamCloud is a hybrid mattress comprised of a luxurious pillow-top, memory foam, and coils, all of which work together to create a medium-firm feel and a good balance of comfort and support. While back sleeping, the hips should sink into the pillow-top, but only a bit. Meanwhile, the pillow-top and foam layers conform to the curves of the body and support the lumbar area. The pocketed coils beneath offer more support, so people should feel held up everywhere else.

What the testers say: “As a heavier sleeper, the DreamCloud Premier offered me some great pressure relief. I’m a back and side combination sleeper, and I thought this mattress was a great fit for both of those sleeping positions.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud Premier

  • The DreamCloud Premier is made with a breathable cover and should allow air to pass in and escape from the mattress. This means that this mattress should be a good fit for hot sleepers.
  • The DreamCloud Premier stood up pretty well when we tested for motion isolation on this mattress. This should make it a great fit for couples who share a bed and are worried about being woken up by their partner’s movements.
  • The mattress is made of durable and high-quality materials, meaning that it should last you for years with proper care. 

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud Premier

  • When we sat near the edge of the DreamCloud Premier, it collapsed a bit around the perimeter. This is something to keep in mind if you sleep near the edge of the bed.
  • Many of the mattresses we test are perfectly medium-firm, making them too soft for stomach sleepers to feel supported. This is the case for the DreamCloud Premier, so if you’re a back sleeper who switches to their stomach, this may not be a great fit for you.

Other user reviews

The DreamCloud mattress is rated 4.5 out of 5 stars by real customers on the company’s site. Reviewers praise the fact that heavier sleepers can sleep comfortably on the mattress, even in multiple sleeping positions. Other reviewers noted that the mattress can be heavy and bulky, so it may be useful to set it up with the help of a friend.

Read our full DreamCloud Premier mattress review for more information. check out our list of Best Mattresses 2024 for more great options.

Best Mattress for Back Sleeping Couples – Helix Midnight

Best for Couples

Helix Midnight Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$936 - $1748

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Couples

Helix Midnight Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$936 - $1748

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Helix Midnight Mattress
Best for Couples

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$936 - $1748

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Helix Midnight
Contains Helix Dynamic Foam and Helix Responsive Foam
Base layers offer great support
Available in a Luxe model
Cons of the Helix Midnight
Not great for foam lovers
Not great for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Helix is a fascinating company in that it allows customers to customize their mattresses and find the perfect fit given their breadth of mattress options — 20 on our last count. They even provide a sleep quiz that narrows down the choices. But what if you need to compromise your personal preferences a bit to those of a partner you share the bed with? In that case, you’ll most likely land on the Helix Midnight, the brand’s most popular bed, according to Helix. The hybrid offers the comfort of foam and the support of coils. And because the coils have plenty of room for airflow, the bed should also sleep cool. The best perk, the Helix Midnight costs under $1,500 for a queen, and with discounts, can run even cheaper.

What the testers say: “The Helix Midnight is one of the most appealing mattresses in the Helix line, which is why I love it as a middle ground for back sleepers sharing a bed with a side sleeper. Very little motion transfers across the surface, and back and side sleepers get the pressure relief needed to stay comfortable the entire night.”  Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • Side sleeping is the most popular sleep position, so even if you’re a back sleeper, chances are you’ll share a bed with a side sleeper. The pressure relief offered by Midnight is great for side sleepers, but the supportive coils provide excellent support as well for back sleepers.
  • The Helix Midnight is very cooling. It has a layer of coils that make it great at promoting airflow, and customers get to choose between a Breathe Knit cover or GlacioTex™ Cooling Pillow Top cover. Both are breathable and should provide cooling benefits.
  • Thanks to the supportive coils, the Helix Midnight has some decent edge support. Folks who sleep near the edge of their mattress should feel supported.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • Since the mattress has a coil layer, it is more bouncy and responsive than other mattresses. It does okay at isolating motion, but if you sleep lightly and sleep with a partner, their movements might wake you up.
  • Because of the coil layer, we did hear a bit of noise when moving around on the mattress. This may be an issue for people who sleep lightly.

Other user reviews

On the Helix Midnight website, customers rated the mattress 4.5 out of 5 stars. Most customers shared the same sentiments as we did – the mattress is very comfortable. However, there were a few users who felt like the mattress was too firm for their liking and suggested that potential customers should purchase a mattress topper to go with this mattress.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

Best Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
emma comfort hybrid us airtable
Best Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros of the Emma Hybrid Comfort
Cooling benefits for hot sleepers
Sold at a value price
A great mattress for couples
Cons of the Emma Hybrid Comfort
Not supportive for lightweight sleepers
Doesn’t offer a classic foam feel

Our Expert’s Take

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress built with zoned coils and comfortable foams. We rank it at an 8/10 on our firmness scale, with a 6.5/10 being the standard for a medium firm, making the Emma Hybrid Comfort a mattress on the firmer side. Most back sleepers should feel comfortable on this mattress since the top layers of foam will allow the body to compress into it just a bit, while the coils and bottom layers will support the body.

What our testers say: “As a larger sleeper, I felt very comfortable on the Emma Hybrid Comfort, since it’s supportive and firm. Back sleeping felt great since my body felt both comfortable and supported, but fans of soft mattress may not feel the same way.Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • The Emma Hybrid Comfort is ideal for heavy people. Its zoned coil layer is perfect for weights up to 300 lbs, and its foams are high-density, so they should support heavier weights very well.
  • The Emma Hybrid’s covers and foams are meant to dissipate heat, and there is also a coil layer that helps promote airflow. This means that the mattress shouldn’t sleep hot.
  • As we’ve mentioned before on this page, most mattresses we test are medium-firm. This one is firmer than average, which may work well for sleepers who prefer a harder sleeping surface.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • This is a bouncy bed that doesn’t offer much contouring. If you prefer mattresses that allow you to sink in, you may want to consider an all-foam mattress.
  • In addition to the point above, mattresses that don’t offer contouring and pressure relief likely won’t work for back sleepers who shift to their sides. Side sleepers tend to need more joint and pressure relief than this mattress offers.

Other user reviews

On the Emma website, customers gave the Hybrid Comfort mattress an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars. Some of the more positive feedback included how bouncy and responsive it is, and how supportive it is for heavier folks. Most of the negative feedback revolved around the brand’s customer service.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Firm Mattresses for more great options.

Best Innerspring Mattress for Back Sleepers – Saatva

Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1395 - $2990

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1395 - $2990

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1395 - $2990

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Saatva
Sleeps cool
Great firmness for back sleepers
One of the best innerspring mattresses for back sleepers
Cons of the Saatva
Lacks slow-moving foam feel
Not good for lightweight sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Saatva is an innerspring mattress with a pillow-top that offers the balance of comfort and support that back sleepers crave. The pillow-top allows the hips to sink in, while the two layers of coils stop them from sinking in too far. These coils are very supportive, and even heavier back sleepers should find the Saatva to be an excellent fit. The mattress also contains a memory foam layer to help with contouring, so the mattress should take the shape of the body and fill in gaps such as the lumbar area.

What the testers say: “The two layers of coils in the Saatva gave me some really great support, and I got some nice, plush comfort from the pillow-top layer. This mattress gives me the feeling that I’m sleeping “on it” rather than in it.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva

  • The Saatva comes in multiple firmness options, but for back sleepers, we recommend the Luxury Firm version. Your hips should sink into the mattress, and the coil layers should hold your body up properly.
  • The Saatva has zoned construction, so it should feel firmer or softer depending on your sleeping position. Even if you’re a back sleeper who shifts into other sleeping positions, you should feel comfortable on the Saatva.
  • We rank the Saatva as one of the best orthopedic mattresses. Its plush foams and dual coils make it comfortable yet supportive, and it helps keep the spine in neutral alignment and relieves pressure on the joints.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • If you love a super soft, plush-feeling mattress, this one isn’t for you. Even the softest model of the mattresses isn’t as soft as its competitors.
  • The Saatva is bouncy and responsive, so if you prefer a memory foam mattress, this won’t be a good fit.

Other user reviews

Users seem to love the Saatva mattress, as it’s rated 4.8 out of 5 stars on the Saatva website. The top reviews raved about how great the brand’s customer support team was, as well as the luxury feel of the product. Some users even went as far as claiming that they have improved sleep quality since purchasing the mattress.

Read our full Saatva mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Innerspring Mattresses for more great options.

Best Mattress for Heavy Back Sleepers – WinkBeds EcoCloud

Best Mattress for Heavy Back Sleepers

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

winkbed ecocloud e1622116270355

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a very supportive latex hybrid mattress.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1399 - $2399

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Heavy Back Sleepers

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

winkbed ecocloud e1622116270355

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a very supportive latex hybrid mattress.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1399 - $2399

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
winkbed ecocloud e1622116270355
Best Mattress for Heavy Back Sleepers

WinkBeds EcoCloud Mattress

The WinkBeds EcoCloud is a very supportive latex hybrid mattress.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Latex

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1399 - $2399

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the WinkBeds EcoCloud
Stands at 13” tall
Great edge support
Great for pressure relief
Cons of the WinkBeds EcoCloud
Expensive
Not great for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Heavier back sleepers who weigh over 230 pounds are going to need a ton of spinal support, and they just might get it on the WinkBeds EcoCloud. A layer of zoned pocketed coils at the bottom of the bed makes the mattress more supportive near the center (where you need the most spinal support) and softer at the head and the foot. There’s also some zoning in the above comfort layer of Talalay latex foam.

What the testers say: “The all-natural latex in the WinkBed EcoCloud makes it a really bouncy mattress, and sleeping on it made me feel like I was on top of it instead of inside it.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBeds EcoCloud

  • It’s an eco-friendly mattress, meaning that the foam layer is made from latex foam instead of memory foam. This, in combination with the breathable coils, makes it a great cooling mattress for hot sleepers.
  • Latex is a much more durable material than regular foam, so the WinkBeds EcoCloud should be a durable and long-lasting mattress.
  • Back sleepers need a balance of comfort and support, 

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBeds EcoCloud

  • Much like many of the other mattresses on this page, the WinkBeds EcoCloud is perfectly medium-firm. This means that if you prefer a mattress that is very soft or very firm, this may not be a great fit for you.
  • Since it’s a latex mattress and made with other high-quality materials, the WinkBeds EcoCloud is not a cheap mattress and may be too expensive for shoppers on a budget.

Other user reviews

The WinkBeds EcoCloud mattress has a pretty high rating on the company’s site, averaging a 4.8 rating out of 5 stars. Some of the most positive reviews praised the mattress for being extremely comfortable and lacking an off-gassing smell, unlike some of its competitors. However, some of the less positive reviews say that since the mattress is bouncy, they are disturbed by their partner’s movements at night.

Read our full WinkBeds EcoCloud mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options.

Best Mattress for Back Pain – Nolah Evolution

Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1499 - $3198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1499 - $3198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$1499 - $3198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Nolah Evolution
Great for side and back sleepers
Solid edge support
Sleeps cool
A great fit for several sleeping positions.
Cons of the Nolah Evolution
Not great for side sleepers
Expensive

Our Expert’s Take

The Nolah Evolution is a hybrid mattress that features a unique zoned construction, meaning the middle part of the mattress is firmer and more supportive, while the shoulder area is softer. This makes the bed an especially excellent fit for back sleepers, as it offers extra lumbar support. That applies doubly to anyone who struggles with lower back pain.

What the testers say: “I sleep both on my side and on my back, and the Nolah Evolution is the perfect mattress for those positions. It’s a high-quality mattress, and it offers a nice balance of comfort and support. It also is a great fit for hot sleepers, since it has lots of cooling features.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • The Nolah Evolution is made with coils that promote airflow, and its foam layers are infused with graphite. This helps with cooling and makes the mattress a good fit for sleepers who tend to overheat at night.
  • We expect the Nolah Evolution to be a long-term investment thanks to its high-quality foams and coils. With proper care, we expect this mattress to last at least a decade.
  • Partners who want the best mattress for sex typically will want a mattress that is bouncy and responsive. This makes the Nolah Evolution a good fit.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • The Nolah Evolution is a luxurious mattress made with high-quality materials, so it comes at a luxurious price tag. If you’re looking for a less expensive mattress with similar features, try the original Nolah mattress instead.
  • We noticed some off-gassing with the Nolah Evolution mattress, which is common for bed-in-a-box mattresses. After about a day or two of airing out the mattress, the smell should dissipate.

Other user reviews

The Nolah Evolution is one of the most highly rated mattresses on the Nolah site, with an average rating of 4.9 out of 5 stars, giving it an almost perfect score. Some of the best reviews praised the luxury feel of the mattress, as well as the high-quality materials, and many reviewers also praised the comfort of the mattress. What’s even better is that customers also seemed to love the brand’s customer service team.

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Pain for more great options.

Best Cooling Mattress for Back Sleepers – Bear

Best Cooling Mattress for Back Sleepers

Bear Original Mattress

bear original new airtable

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress for Back Sleepers

Bear Original Mattress

bear original new airtable

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
bear original new airtable
Best Cooling Mattress for Back Sleepers

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Bear
Cooling
Durable
Pressure relieving
Cons of the Bear
Not great for heavier side sleepers
Not great for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

There’s so much to love about the Bear mattress — it’s designed to support muscle recovery, pressure relief, and has cooling features. Back sleepers will especially love the firmness of this mattress, which feels like a 6.5/10 on our firmness scale. The supportive foam layers help keep the back in the proper alignment all night long.

Hot sleepers should appreciate Bear’s Celliant cover that helps with cooling. It also may help improve blood flow and muscle recovery, making this a great mattress for athletes.

What the testers say: “The Bear was super comfortable and allowed me to sink right into the top layer when I was on my back. I got some great lumbar support and spinal support, and I think most sleepers will get a similar feeling on this mattress.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear

  • It’s a good balance of comfort and support, which is one of the major reasons why we highlight it as one of the best mattresses for back sleepers.
  • Though the Bear mattress is an all-foam mattress, it shouldn’t sleep hot. It’s made with a celliant cover that helps with cooling, and the foams within the mattress are infused with graphite.
  • Because it’s an all-foam mattress, the Bear mattress is great at isolating motion. This makes it a great fit for couples who disturb each other throughout the night with their movements.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear

  • As we’ve mentioned before, this mattress, like others on this list isn’t firm enough for stomach sleepers. Check out our list of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers if you sleep on your stomach as well as your back.
  • If you want a bouncy, innerspring mattress feel, try another mattress on this mattress, such as the Helix Dusk.

Other user reviews

On the Bear website, real customers who reviewed the mattress gave it a 4.5 out of 5 star rating. Back sleepers in particular tended to find this mattress comfortable, along with side sleepers, and the highest ratings seemed to come from them. Some users complained that this mattress doesn’t work well for stomach sleeping, though.

Read our full Bear mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers – Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$165 - $2665

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$165 - $2665

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review
Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$165 - $2665

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe
Great mattress for side sleepers
Cooling features
Plus innerspring feel
Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe
Not great for stomach sleepers
Not great for heavy people

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re looking for a value mattress, Brooklyn Bedding is always a good place to start. They own their own factory, so they cut out the middleman and pass the saving on to you, the customer. Their most popular model is the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora, a hybrid that features supportive coils and proprietary comfort foams on top. The mattress comes in three different firmnesses, and back sleepers will likely be most comfortable on the Medium model. They should feel their hips sink into the top layers while the coils hold up their body.

What the testers say: “I think the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe is a great fit for back sleepers. Its foam is responsive and the coils are sturdy, which makes this mattress very supportive and helps keep the spine in alignment.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

  • The Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe is made with cooling materials including a breathable cover and gel-infused foams. This makes it a great choice for people who tend to sleep hot at night.
  • We listed it as a great choice for back sleepers since it does a great job of balancing comfort and support.
  • It’s bouncy and responsive, so for folks who need to change positions easily throughout the night, this should be a great fit. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

  • Heavy people probably won’t be supported enough on this mattress. If you weigh more than 230 lbs, you may want to opt for other Brooklyn Bedding mattresses, such as the Titan.
  • Much like other bed-in-a-box mattresses, the Aurora Luxe does have some initial chemical smells when it’s first unboxed, otherwise known as an off-gassing smell. This odor should dissipate within 24-48 hours, though.

Other user reviews

The Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe seems to be liked by customers, as it’s rated 4.7 out of 5 stars on the company website. Some of the top reviews praised how comfortable the mattress is and said that it kept them from tossing and turning throughout the night. The few negative reviews mostly stated that the mattress wasn’t comfortable enough. 

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options.

Best Mattress That Won’t Sag – Plank Firm Luxe

Best Mattress That Won’t Sag

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Luxe Mattress

Plank Hybrid Coupon

The Plank Firm Luxe by Brooklyn Bedding is a flippable mattress that has two firmness options: firm and extra firm. This is one of the firmest mattresses we've ever tested and could be a good fit for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress That Won’t Sag

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Luxe Mattress

Plank Hybrid Coupon

The Plank Firm Luxe by Brooklyn Bedding is a flippable mattress that has two firmness options: firm and extra firm. This is one of the firmest mattresses we've ever tested and could be a good fit for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Plank Hybrid Coupon
Best Mattress That Won’t Sag

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Luxe Mattress

The Plank Firm Luxe by Brooklyn Bedding is a flippable mattress that has two firmness options: firm and extra firm. This is one of the firmest mattresses we've ever tested and could be a good fit for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 Nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Plank Firm Luxe
Durable
Bouncy and responsive feel
Supportive coils
Cons of the Plank Firm Luxe
Not great for side sleepers
May be too firm for some

Our Expert’s Take

Nobody wants their mattress to fold like a taco. If you’re especially worried about your mattress sagging, check out the Plank Firm Luxe.

As the name suggests, the Firm Luxe is an extra firm mattress that is flippable. The softer side of the mattress ranks at an 8/10 on our firmness scale, while the firmer side ranks at a 9/10. The extra firm build of the mattress helps it with durability, making this a mattress that will last years without sagging.

The Plank Firm Luxe mattress is backed by a 10-year warranty, and we expect it to last at least that long.

What the testers say: “Both sides of the Plank Firm Luxe felt great for back and stomach sleeping, and kept my spine aligned in these positions. Side sleeping didn’t feel the best though, on either side of the mattress.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Plank Firm Luxe

  • The Plank Firm Luxe is a flippable mattress, meaning that you get two firmness options in one mattress. 
  • If you’re a lover of firm mattresses, this one is for you. The Plank Firm Luxe is an extremely firm mattress. It’s an 8/10 on our firmness scale on the soft side and a 9/10 on the firm side.
  • There is an optional GlacioTex cooling cover for the Plank Firm Luxe, so hot sleepers should stay cool on this mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Plank Firm Luxe

  • If you’re a fan of soft mattresses, or even medium firm mattresses, this won’t be a good fit for you. This mattress is one of the firmest mattresses on the market.
  • If you like to be hugged by your mattress, again, this won’t be a good fit. The Plank won’t give you a contouring feel at all.

Other user reviews

On the company site, the Plank was rated 4.7 out of 5 stars by real customers. Many customers raved about the fact that the mattress was firm but could be flipped for either a softer or firmer feel. On the contrary, some of the less positive reviews were that the mattress was too firm, making it uncomfortable.

Read our full Plank Firm Luxe mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses That Won’t Sag for more great options.

Best Eco-Friendly Mattress for Back Sleepers – Birch Natural

Best Eco-Friendly Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Eco-Friendly Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Eco-Friendly Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Birch Natural
The cover feels cool to the touch
Highly durable materials
Great firmness for back sleepers
Cons of the Birch Natural
Not great for side sleepers
Not great for heavy people
Less robust motion isolation

Our Expert’s Take

The Birch Natural is a hybrid mattress with a delightfully cooling, eco-friendly build. The cover features a soft, stretchy, breathable organic cotton that helps keep you cool. In tandem with the breathable coil base, these materials helped the bed earn a perfect cooling score (5/5) in the sleep lab. Underneath the cover, there’s a layer of wool, which ups the softness and breathability factor while also acting as a fiberglass alternative flame retardant.

Aerated Talalay latex adds pressure relief and a responsive feel, helping you feel more on top of the mattress, rather than sunken in. You have the option to include a mattress topper for an extra 3” of comfort, adding pressure relief back sleepers’ shoulders and hips. The support layer consists of individually wrapped coils resting on a wool batting base, offering enough support and durability to help Birch Natural earn another perfect score in the sleep lab for overall support.

What our testers say: “I felt well-supported on the Birch Natural on my back, and it should be great for side sleepers too. I love that you can unbox and hit the hay right away on the Birch Natural too, since the use of natural materials pretty much eliminates any chemical off-gassing smell standard with other bed-in-a-box mattresses.Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch Natural

  • As its mattress lab scores indicate, the Birch Natural sleeps exceptionally cool, making it an excellent fit for hot sleepers. Testers said the bed is one of the most breathable mattresses they’ve tried.
  • Some mattresses collapse when you sit near or on the edge of them. That’s not the case with this one. The Birch Natural has some nice edge support, so you should feel supported if you sleep near the perimeter.
  • The Birch Natural should last you quite a while — between 7-10 years — thanks to its use of eco-friendly but durable materials like latex.

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch Natural

  • If you prefer soft or medium-firm mattresses, this one won’t be a good fit. It’s firmer than average, and we rank it 7/10 on our firmness scale.
  • If you sleep with a partner and their movements wake you up at night, the Birch Natural might be a poor choice. Bouncy latex and coils don’t isolate motion as well as memory foam beds, so disturbances from movement are more likely.

Other user reviews

On the Birch Natural page, customers gave the mattress an average rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars. Customers love the bed’s use of organic materials, lack of unboxing odor, and cool feel. There are no 1- or 2-star reviews, and a few 3-star reviews were from customers who didn’t think find the mattress to feel as they expected.

Read our full Birch Natural mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Organic & Non-Toxic Mattresses for more great options.

Important Considerations When Shopping for The Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Qualities Of Best Mattresses For Back Sleepers

Mattress Firmness

At Mattress Clarity, we always rate firmness on a scale of 1 to 10. Back sleepers will want to find something in the medium-firm range of 6.5 to 7. If the mattress is too soft, they might not get the support they need, and their hips could sink in too far (potentially leading to lower back pain). If the mattress is too firm, they won’t sink in far enough and get the contouring that they need.

Let’s dig into that a little further. Dr. Daniel Davids, a DPT and Mattress Clarity Expert Network Member, explains that we actually require natural motion while we sleep, which can be unhealthily reduced by a too-soft bed. Unlike standing, walking, or other upright activities, Davids says actions like lying down and sleeping allow our muscles to be in a relatively off position. Because our muscles provide stability to our joints when they’re relaxed, our joints also relax. However, he says that if we maintain a position for too long that pushes the limits of our joint range, we may wake up with pain or stiffness.

Likewise, a mattress that’s too stiff puts undue pressure on certain areas of our body with “bony prominences” — areas where the bone isn’t as covered with soft tissue (muscle and fat), says Davids. This issue can even lead to skin breakdown as we see with seniors and bedsores.

Comfort Layer Thickness

When consumers are looking at the design of the mattress, they should pay close attention to the thickness of the comfort layer. While a thick comfort layer can be nice for those who sleep on their side, back sleepers won’t want it to be too thick. A comfort layer between 2″ and 4″ should allow them to sink into the mattress just enough while still getting enough support for their back and cushioning in their lumbar area.

Your Weight

As with any mattress purchase, people will want to consider their overall size and weight. A mattress that’s supportive enough for a lighter-weight sleeper might not support a heavier sleeper. Likewise, a larger person might think a mattress is perfect for back-sleeping, while a lighter person could possibly find it too firm. Consumers should definitely keep their size in mind when attempting to find that perfect balance between comfort and support.

RELATED: Best Mattress For Lower Back Pain And Sciatica

Best Mattress Types for Back Sleepers

man sleeping on his back with a cat beside him

There are a few major types of mattresses, and they all offer benefits and drawbacks when it comes to back-sleeping. Let’s discuss exactly how each one can be a good and poor fit.

Memory Foam 

Memory foam mattresses are good for back sleepers in that they provide excellent contouring and really fill all the gaps (such as the lumbar area) that naturally occur when you rest on your back. They can also be extremely soft, however, and sometimes don’t offer the best support for back-sleeping. If a shopper wants a memory foam mattress for back-sleeping, they should find something where the comfort layer isn’t too thick. They’ll want a bed that will allow their hips to sink in just the right amount while the mattress supports the rest of their body.

Innerspring

A mattress with high-grade coils can indeed be a good match for back-sleeping, but it really comes down to the overall firmness and what’s in the comfort layer. If an innerspring mattress is too firm, it can push the hips out of the mattress and cause back pain. That’s why innerspring mattresses with a pillow-top are often a good fit for back-sleeping. The pillow-top adds some softness and allows those hips to sink in just a bit. If shoppers want an innerspring mattress for back-sleeping, they just need to make sure it is truly medium-firm.

Hybrid

Hybrid mattresses provide the soft comfort of foam and the support of coils, both of which help back sleepers rest comfortably. However, there are still a few things to look out for. First off, make sure the comfort layer is the right thickness. If it’s a thick layer of memory foam, your spine might get out of alignment while you’re sleeping. If it’s just a thin layer of a firmer foam, the mattress might push the hips out of the mattress.

Latex

Latex mattresses are known for being eco-friendly, but how do they work for back-sleeping? First off, latex is a denser material that can sometimes be on the firmer side. If it’s too dense, it might not let sleepers’ hips sink in the right amount. So, back sleepers want to make sure there’s some give in place. Latex mattresses can also be good for back-sleeping because they’re highly durable. While they do cost more, they’re a better long-term investment and are less likely to sag.

Sleep Accessories for Back-Sleeping

For back sleepers, getting a good night’s rest doesn’t stop with finding a mattress. There are also some accessories that can help ensure comfort and support.

First off, a pillow can really help with back-sleeping if it’s a proper fit. Back sleepers should look for something that isn’t too thick and isn’t too thin. A pillow with a medium loft will keep the head, neck, and spine neutrally aligned. These can come in many types, including latex and memory foam. There are also some pillows made specifically to support the neck. Make sure to take a look at our best pillows for back sleepers for more information.

Mattress toppers can also be a great accessory for back sleepers, especially if their current mattress is too firm. A 2″ or 3″ mattress topper can add just a bit of comfort to the top of the mattress, providing some more contouring and allowing the hips to sink in. There are also zoned mattress toppers that can provide some more lumbar support for back sleepers.

Overall

Here’s a recap of our top picks for the best mattresses for back sleepers:

MattressBest For
DreamCloud PremierBest Overall
Helix MidnightBest Mattress for Couples
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Firm Mattress
SaatvaBest Innerspring Mattress
WinkBeds EcoCloudBest Mattress for Heavy Back Sleepers
Nolah EvolutionBest Mattress for Back Pain
BearBest Cooling Mattress for Back Sleepers
Brooklyn Bedding AuroraBest Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers
Plank Firm LuxeBest Mattress That Won’t Sag
Birch NaturalBest Eco-Friendly Mattress for Back Sleepers

Best Mattress for Back Sleepers FAQs

What mattress firmness is best for back sleepers?

Medium-firm mattresses are great for back sleepers since it supports proper spinal alignment while cushioning the shoulders and hips.

Are foam mattresses good for back sleepers?

Memory foam is great for back sleepers since it cradles the body in some of the heavier places while also cushioning the spine.

Which thickness is best for back sleepers?

We recommend sleepers have mattresses at least 10″ thick, regardless of your sleep position.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.