Best Mattresses 2022 – Top Brands Reviewed

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

In 2022, there are thousands of beds for customers to choose from if they’re looking for the best mattress. And considering that there’s no single best option for everyone, it’s difficult to narrow them all down. To assist any overwhelmed shoppers out there, we’ve put together a list of our top picks. There’s something here for everyone, from soft memory foam to supportive luxury innerspring mattresses. Check out our roundup of the best mattresses below:

Our Top Picks

The top 10 mattresses of 2022 are:

How We Chose Our Products

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

When choosing the Best Mattresses of 2022, we’re looking for the cream of the crop, which is why every product on this list has an overall score of at least a 3.5 out of 5, with eight of the 10 beds scoring a 4 or above.

Best Mattresses Comparison

Mattress Best For Price (Queen-Size) Current Deal Firmness Type
Nectar Editor’s Pick $899.00 Get $100 off + $499 in accessories Medium-Firm Foam
Helix Midnight Best Hybrid $1199.00 Up to $400 off plus two free Dream pillows Medium-Firm Hybrid
Saatva Best Cooling $1695.00 Get up to $450 off Multiple Options Innerspring
DreamCloud Premier Best for Heavy People $1599.00 Get $200 off + $499 in accessories Medium-Firm Hybrid
WinkBed Best Firm Mattress $1799.00 Get $300 off any mattress size Multiple Options Hybrid
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Best Affordable $1249.00 30% off sitewide with code MEMORIAL30 Multiple Options Hybrid
Puffy Lux Hybrid Best for Side Sleepers $1799.00 Get $750 Off Any Mattress Medium-Firm Hybrid
Leesa Best Memory Foam $1199.00 Get up to $700 off mattresses + 2 free pillows Medium-Firm Foam
Nolah Best Bed-in-a-Box $1149.00 Up to $700 Off Mattresses + 2 Free Pillows Medium-Firm Foam
Casper Best for Back Pain $1495.00 Save up to $170 - Limited Time Medium-Firm Foam

Best Mattress 2022: Video Roundup

 

Editor’s Pick

Editor’s Pick

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor’s Pick

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor’s Pick

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

If you’re looking for one of the best mattresses out there, it’s always a good idea to start with Nectar. They sell extremely comfortable memory foam mattresses, and our favorite is the original Nectar Memory Foam mattress. Our editor’s pick features multiple layers of soft foam and offers that slow-moving feel so many sleepers love. Lying down on the Nectar mattress, you will slowly sink in and feel the pressure melt away. Shoppers looking for a comfy night’s sleep should definitely consider the Nectar.

What Makes The Nectar Stand Out?

  • The Nectar offers great pressure and is one of the best mattresses for side sleepers.
  • Cooling materials keep the Nectar mattress from sleeping too hot.
  • It is an affordable option and one of the best mattresses for the money.

Read the full Nectar mattress review.

Best Hybrid Mattress

Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix is all about making the mattress-buying process easier. They invite each customer to participate in a sleep quiz on their website and will customize a hybrid mattress to meet their needs. You can also select from one of the soft models all the way up to the Helix Plus, their mattress designed for larger people. To get you started, we recommend the Helix Midnight, their most popular model. It has a great balance of comfort and support and will be good fit for multiple sleeping positions.

What Makes the Helix Stand Out?

  • The Helix mattresses are some of the best mattresses for couples. Each partner can take their own sleep quiz, and Helix will customize their respective side of the mattress based on their answers.
  • Helix’s Luxe models offer premium upgrades for their mattresses. Customers can add extra bells and whistles such as advanced sleep technology and a tufted pillow-top.
  • People who sleep hot can add Helix’s Ultra Cool Cover to their order, which should help keep the temperature low at the top of the bed.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review.

Best Cooling Mattress

Best Cooling Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

If you sleep hot at night, you want to find a mattress with great cooling features. Innerspring mattresses are often great with cooling, and the Saatva Classic is no exception. Its organic cotton cover makes the top of the mattress breathable, keeping the pillow top from trapping too much heat. It also not one but two sets of coils, allowing massive amounts of air to flow through the mattress. Hot sleepers looking for a cool night’s sleep should take a look at the Saatva.

What Makes The Saatva Stand Out?

  • The Saatva is zoned, making it a great mattress for combination sleepers.
  • It is a high-quality, luxury mattress that is sold for a value price.
  • The Saatva is responsive, so you should be able to move around easily.

Read the full Saatva mattress review.

Best Mattress for Heavy People

Best Mattress for Heavy People

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5
Read DreamCloud Premier Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

The DreamCloud Premier is a luxury hybrid mattress that layers a plush pillow-top onto a system of supportive coils to give sleepers the best of both worlds. These durable materials create a sleeping surface that offers unmatched support, balancing out by the contouring comfort most sleepers need. This design makes the DreamCloud Premier one of the best mattresses for heavy people. It even has taller-than-usual coils to handle extra weight.

What Makes the DreamCloud Premier Stand Out?

  • It’s firm and supportive enough to keep back sleepers in a neutral spine alignment, while still being plush enough to hug side sleepers in the hips and shoulders.
  • It’s a good option for people who sleep hot. The bed has been designed with gel-infused foams and airflow-promoting coils to give sleepers a cool night’s rest.
  • DreamCloud offers other models such as the DreamCloud Premier Rest.

Read our full DreamCloud Premier mattress review.

Best Firm Mattress

Best Firm Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Those who have enjoyed their time on a high-end hotel mattress should set their sights on the WinkBed, a hybrid mattress with a traditional innerspring feel. There are four firmness options: Soft, Luxury Firm, Firm, and Plus, all of which are luxury mattresses with supportive coils and comfortable pillow-tops.

What Makes the WinkBed Stand Out?

  • The Luxury Firm — the line’s most popular model and my personal favorite — contains two layers of coils that should be supportive enough for sleepers of many sizes and comfortable for all three sleeping positions.
  • Back-sleeping and stomach-sleeping on the Luxury Firm, most folks should feel well-supported by the micro-coils and pocketed coils. Side-sleeping, the majority of people should feel little pressure on their shoulders and hips.
  • The WinkBed shouldn’t sleep too hot because the coils allow for so much air to pass through the mattress.

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review.

Best Affordable Mattress

Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

The Brooklyn Bedding mattresses are notable for offering some of the best values on the market. Since the company owns their own factory (a rarity in the mattress field), it’s able to cut out the middleman while making quality beds, then pass on those savings to customers.

What Makes the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Stand Out?

  • This hybrid mattress comes in three firmnesses: Soft, Medium, and Firm.
  • Back sleepers and those who need a good balance of comfort and support should love the Medium model. It will allow their hips to sink in just the right amount while the coils hold up their body.
  • The comfort layer — made from a responsive proprietary material called TitanFlex foam — has an infusion of TitaniumGel to help it sleep cool.

Read our Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress review.

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5

If you’re a side sleeper, you’ll want something that will relieve pressure on your shoulders and hips. With that in mind, we’d definitely recommend the Puffy Lux Hybrid — a 12″ mattress that features three plush comfort layers and a coiled support layer at the bottom. The comfort layers, in particular, will provide an exceptional amount of pressure relief for your hips and shoulders.

What Makes the Puffy Lux Hybrid Stand Out?

  • Puffy’s foam layers start with a gel-infused foam, a dual cloud foam to prevent you from sinking in too far, and a climate comfort foam that will help keep you cool.
  • The foam layers will allow you to sink in, while the support of the coils let you still move around comfortably.
  • This mattress should also be a great pick for hot sleepers. The gel infusion helps with heat dissipation, and the climate foam will wick away moisture to keep you cool and comfortable throughout the night.

Read our full Puffy Lux Hybrid mattress review.

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Leesa Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Leesa Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Leesa Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

If you like to sink into your mattress and feel it contour to your body, a memory foam mattress could be just right for you. One of our favorite memory foam mattresses is the Leesa Original mattress. It gives you the soft benefits of memory foam without the drawbacks. In its comfort layer, the Leesa features a memory foam alternative that is more responsive and cooling than standard memory foam. This means you’ll get the pressure relief you need, but you won’t be sleeping hot or getting stuck.

What Makes The Leesa Original Stand Out?

  • The Leesa Original is a great memory foam mattress that doesn’t cost too much.
  • It is one of the best soft mattresses on the market.
  • The Leesa offers a balance of comfort and support for back sleepers.

Read the full Leesa Original mattress review.

Best Bed-in-a-Box

Best Bed-in-a-Box

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Nolah Original 10" Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Bed-in-a-Box

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Nolah Original 10" Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Bed-in-a-Box

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Nolah Original 10" Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

In the past, you had to go to a store and deal with bossy salespeople if you wanted to buy a mattress. Today, you can get a great mattress delivered to your door in a cardboard box! The Nolah Original is one of the best bed-in-a-box mattresses we have tried. It takes the hassle out of the buying experience and offers great comfort and support for many types of sleepers. After giving the mattress 48 hours to expand and off-gas, your Nolah Original will be good to go!

What Makes The Nolah Original Mattress Stand Out?

  • The Nolah Original offers great pressure relief for side sleepers.
  • It is one of the best mattresses for hip pain.
  • The Nolah Original is a comfortable foam mattress that doesn’t cost too much.

Read the full Nolah Original mattress review.

Best Mattress for Back Pain

Best Mattress for Back Pain

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Casper contains a proprietary Zoned Support system. The transition layer is firmer toward the center and softer at the head and foot. This means the Casper will feel firmer when sleepers are on their back or stomach, and softer when they’re on their side. Those with back pain should get the extra lumbar support they require. In addition, the Casper has a balanced foam feel. You’ll experience the soft, slow response of memory foam feel while also getting the faster response of latex.

What Makes the Casper Stand Out?

  • With its Zoned Support, the Casper should be an excellent choice for combination sleepers. The mattress lets sleepers sink in just a bit, but it should be very easy to move around and change positions during the night.
  • It’s also going to be an ideal match for couples who sleep in different positions. One partner can easily sleep on their side while the other sleeps on their stomach.
  • The Casper contains open-celled foams that make it breathable and a fantastic option for hotter sleepers.

Read our full Casper mattress review.

If People Just Aren’t Sure

If people really don’t know what they want, they should take a hard look at Helix, because the company offers people the opportunity to get a fully customized mattress. All consumers have to do is fill out a series of questions. The folks at Helix will then make a mattress that’s customized based on the customer’s answers. If someone sleeps with a partner, they can even customize each side of the mattress separately.

Factors We Consider

  • best purchasing valueValue: There are multiple ways to assess the value of a mattress. If the company spends a ton on overhead and marketing, then the product’s probably going to be priced higher than it could be otherwise. If the materials aren’t durable, then the product won’t last long and it won’t be a good value. We also assess the company’s business model, then look at the price being charged so we can make an evaluation of the overall value of the mattress.
  • mattress material feelFeel: Feel is always going to be subjective. Some people, for example, love memory foam while others can’t stand it. Rather than saying one type of feel is better than another, we assess the feel, describe it in detail and try to point mattress shoppers in the right direction.
  • mattress firmnessFirmness: Firmness is also a subjective measure. We’ll give our take on what we think the firmness is and demonstrate it via video. However, take our observations with a grain of salt. One person might think a mattress is firmer than average, while someone else might think the same exact mattress is softer than average.
  • mattress motion isolation transferMotion Isolation: If someone sleeps with a partner, then motion isolation should be an important factor to consider. This simply means that if someone’s partner shifts around in bed, will they feel the movement? Some mattresses are great at isolating motion, while others are not.
  • mattress company reputationCompany Reputation: It’s important that a company treat its customers well. We take a look at things like the company’s trial period, return policy, and overall customer service. We’ve seen some companies do things like not honor their return policy or make it as hard as possible to return their product. We want to help customers avoid brands like that, so we do a deep dive into this area to make sure everyone buys a product from a company they can trust.
  • matching company's claimsMatching Marketing Claims To Reality: Mattress companies are known for making big claims about their product. In some cases, the claims are true, and in others, they’re big exaggerations. We try to do our best to assess how accurate the claims made by the companies truly are.
  • Quality Of The Materials: There are some objective factors one can assess about the quality of the materials used in each mattress. Durability, for example, is directly affected by the density of the foams used in the mattress.  We conduct a full analysis of the quality of the individual materials used in each mattress.
  • Sleeping Hot: This is a huge factor for a lot of people. We take extra time to assess this aspect of the mattress and give extra points to companies that manufacture beds with cooling in mind.
  • Transparency: In some cases, we understand why a company might not want to be provide the entire story about its products, but we do greatly favor companies who are 100% transparent. Providing all the details of the mattress assures consumers that they can know exactly what’s in their mattress.
  • Return Rate: No company ever publicly discloses their return rate. We try to prod the company, however, to privately give us this statistic so we can make sure it’s at a reasonably low level. Having a low return rate is of course a great way to know that customers are loving the product.
  • Mattress Size: You want to make sure that the company offers the right mattress sizes to fit your bed and bedroom. We suggest reading our mattress size guide to find out which is right for you. If you’re a fan of king mattresses, make sure to check our best king-size mattresses roundup.

Why Should You Trust Our Reviews?

To put together this best mattresses roundup list, we spent time actually lying down on each mattress, performing hands-on testing, and evaluating the factors above to determine which would be the best fit for each ranking (see our Methodology description at the top of this article).

For example, we test the motion isolation of each mattress by placing a glass of water on it and pressing on the layers around it. If the water moves a lot, we know that the mattress does not have great motion isolation. We also test the edge support to see how much the bed collapses and look at a pressure map of the mattress to understand where there’s built-up pressure while laying on it.

Rather than simply saying “this mattress is great” or “this mattress is terrible,” we recognize that this is a fairly subjective process. As a result, we simply try to point people in the right direction by categorizing each mattress and saying what type of sleeper might like it.

How to Find the Right Mattress for You

Mattress Type

There are several different types of mattresses out there, and they vary quite a bit. Some appeal to a wider range of sleepers than others do, so it’s important to know the differences.

Different Mattress Types

Innerspring Mattresses

Innerspring mattresses are the most traditional mattress type and are still fairly popular, although many bed-in-a-box companies don’t offer them. These beds are built with a coil construction, making them more firm and bouncy. Because they’re so responsive to movement, innerspring mattresses are a great choice for combination sleepers who move around during the night. Innersprings are also a good choice for shoppers on a budget.

Note: While it’s rare these days to find a true innerspring mattress, many hybrid beds (such as Saatva and the WinkBed) heavily feature coils in their construction. In this case, they might be described as a hybrid mattress with a traditional innerspring feel.

See our list of the best innerspring mattresses.

Memory Foam Mattresses

Memory foam mattresses are very popular with bed-in-a-box companies. There are many benefits to the material, including its soothing, pressure-relieving comfort, motion isolation, and wide pricing range. Many people believe memory foam mattresses will make you sleep hot, but newer models have innovated their foams to make them more aerated for better airflow. Some even come with gel or copper infusions to help keep you cool.

See our list of the best memory foam mattresses.

Latex Mattress

Latex mattresses are somewhat similar to memory foam mattresses, except that they’re more bouncy, sustainable, and expensive. These beds offer great pressure relief and have naturally cooling properties. Latex beds also make a good fit for eco-friendly shoppers, people who sleep with pain, and those looking for a more luxurious mattress.

See our list of the best latex mattresses.

Hybrid Mattresses

Hybrid mattresses use a combination of any of the materials listed above, including coils, foam, and latex. Often, these mattresses offer the best of both (or several!) worlds, making for a comfortable, supportive, and more cooling bed. Hybrid mattresses are a good fit for most types of sleepers, seeing as the materials and construction have such a wide range of possibilities.

See our list of the best hybrid mattresses.

Airbeds

Not to be confused with air mattresses, airbeds are luxurious mattresses built with air chambers that you can manually adjust to your preferences. This means you can change the firmness of the bed for your comfort. Airbeds are great for couples with different preferences, seniors, or anyone looking for a luxurious sleep experience.

One of our favorite airbeds we’ve tested is the Saatva Solaire. Check out our full Saatva Solaire mattress review to learn more about this airbed.

Sleeping Position

You may not pay much attention to how you sleep at night, but knowing your primary sleeping position can come in handy when looking for a mattress. We’ll highlight what you should know about each sleeping position, including what to look for and watch out for in a mattress.

Side Sleepers

Side sleepers put a lot of pressure on their shoulders, hips, and knees while they sleep. That’s why it’s important for them to have a pressure-relieving mattress that evenly distributes body weight. Oftentimes, memory foam mattresses are a good choice for side sleepers.

Side sleepers also generally want a mattress on the softer end of the spectrum, as a soft bed is more likely to relieve pressure on the shoulders and hips. At the same time, they don’t want something too soft, as this might not keep their spine neutrally aligned.

See our list of the best mattresses for side sleepers.

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach sleepers put a lot of pressure on their lower back, especially if they sleep with a thicker pillow. They usually do best on a firmer mattress that won’t allow them to sink in as much and cause strain on the spine.

See our list of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers.

Back Sleepers

Back sleepers need a mattress that carefully balances comfort and support. Generally, this means a medium-firm bed with a thin comfort layer on top.

See our list of the best mattresses for back sleepers.

Combination Sleepers

If you switch positions during the night, you’re what’s known as a combination sleeper. People in this category should find a mattress that’s responsive to their body movements. They should also pay attention to how well the bed isolates motion, especially if they sleep with a partner and don’t want to disturb them with their movements.

See our list of the best mattresses for combination sleepers.

Mattress Firmness

We recommend that shoppers stay away from a mattress that is super-soft or super-firm. The mattress firmness scale is measured on a scale of 1 to 10, with 1 being the softest and 10 being the most firm. Most sleepers will be most comfortable and well-supported on a medium to medium-firm mattress around a 5–8 on the scale.

IDLE Sleep Hybrid Firmness Scale

Another factor is body weight. Heavy people need a firmer mattress since they will apply more pressure to the surface, though depending on your sleeping position, you may still want to look for a mattress with a high-density comfort layer on top.

See some our guides to help you explore which mattress firmness level is best for you and see our top picks in those categories:

Budget

Shopping within your price range can be another way to narrow down your mattress options. Similar to our philosophy on mattress firmness, we suggest avoiding mattresses at the absolute lowest and highest end of the spectrum. The cheapest mattresses (around $100–$200) will give you what you pay for (not much) and the most expensive mattresses can reach a point of diminishing returns.

See our lists of the best mattresses for your budget: 

Finding the Best Mattress Company

While the Internet is one of the best places to buy a mattress, it isn’t always clear which companies are the best. Some shoppers may want to start their search by narrowing down to the best companies. There are a lot of mattress brands out there, and after a while, they can all start to look the same.

First off, read our piece on how to buy a mattress online. Also, here are a few factors you can look out for to distinguish between what makes one mattress company better than another.

  • Trial Period and Return Policy: Finding a mattress company with a generous trial period and return policy is important, especially when you’re shopping online without actually getting to see the bed. Most companies should offer at least a 100-day, risk-free trial period with free returns.
  • Warranty: Warranties cover manufacturing defects and are a standard part of a mattress purchase. The most popular terms we’ve seen are 10-year, 20-year, and lifetime limited warranties. Anything less than a 5-year mattress warranty is something to be skeptical of.
  • Shipping and Delivery: Free shipping and delivery is standard for a mattress company, though some may charge a small fee. Some of the best mattress companies also offer free white glove delivery, meaning they will set the mattress up for you for no extra cost.
  • Pricing: You will want to make sure you’re shopping from a company with decently priced mattresses. Look for comparable models from different brands to see if you’re being charged fairly for the materials included in the mattress.

Summary

Below is a summary of our top picks for the best mattresses of 2022. And if you want more tailored recommendations, be sure to check out our mattress quiz!

Mattress Best For
Nectar Editor’s Pick
Helix Midnight Best Hybrid Mattress
Saatva Best Cooling Mattress
DreamCloud Premier Best Mattress for Heavy People
WinkBeds Best Firm Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Best Affordable Mattress
Puffy Lux Hybrid Best Mattress for Side Sleepers
Leesa Original Best Memory Foam Mattress
Nolah Original Best Bed-in-a-Box
Casper Best Mattress for Back Pain

FAQ

What's the most comfortable mattress?

Comfort is extremely subjective, but the Nectar and Casper are two of the most comfortable mattresses I have reviewed. These are softer-than-average beds that let sleepers sink in. Those looking for a very comfortable mattress should also consider the Saatva.

What's the best type of mattress?

This really depends on someone’s sleeping preferences. Someone who likes to sink into their mattress and desires good pressure relief should consider a memory foam mattress. Those who need more support and like a more traditional feel should like an innerspring mattress, and people who want to steer clear of chemicals will appreciate a latex mattress.

What's the best time to buy a mattress?

The best time to buy a mattress is usually around holidays. In the weeks surrounding Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and other holidays, mattress brands slash their prices and offer some of the best deals of the year.

What are the best mattresses for back pain?

People who struggle with back pain are going to want to find a mattress that is a bit firmer-than-average. The mattress should not be too soft and should also provide solid lumbar support. The Saatva mattress is supportive and also features a memory foam layer that provides extra lumbar support. The Casper features a zoned construction that offers excellent lumbar support. The WinkBeds also features coils and zoned construction and could be fantastic for those who deal with back pain.

What's the best mattress for side sleepers?

Side sleepers should be looking for a softer mattress that can relieve pressure on the shoulders and hips. The Puffy Lux Hybrid, for example, relieves pressure quite well and should be an exceptional option for light- and medium-weight side sleepers.

What are the best mattresses for the money?

When looking for a value mattress, customers want to consider durability and affordability. Make sure the mattress will stand up to many years of use without breaking the bank. In general, the Brooklyn Bedding mattresses are some of the best for the money. Brooklyn Bedding owns their own factory, so they are able to pass these savings on to the customers. They have numerous options such as the Signature, Bowery, and Aurora.

Featured image: ImageFlow/shutterstock

Gravatar for Marten Carlson

Marten Carlson

Marten is Senior Editor at Mattress Clarity. He covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films. He has directed genre short films and features. His newest film, Starlets, recently premiered at the River Town Film Festival in Clinton, NJ. He also stars in the upcoming thriller, Sour Bear. His next film, At The Hop, is a hot rod actioner with a horror twist.