Best Mattresses 2024 – Top Brands Reviewed

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

In 2024, customers can choose from thousands of options in search of the best mattress. It’s difficult to narrow them down, and there’s no single best option for everyone. To assist any overwhelmed shoppers out there, we’ve put together a list of our top picks. There’s something here for everyone, from soft memory foam to supportive luxury innerspring mattresses. Check out our roundup of the best mattresses below:

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress in 2024?

After reviewing more than 600 mattresses, our expert reviewers chose the Nectar as the best mattress. This all-foam bed offers sleepers great pressure relief and temperature regulation for a reasonable price.

Best Mattresses of 2024

Best Mattresses of 2024: Video Roundup

Compare The Best Mattresses of 2024

Nectar Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Saatva Mattress WinkBed Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Nolah Original 10" Mattress Titan Plus
Nectar Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Saatva Mattress WinkBed Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Nolah Original 10" Mattress Titan Plus
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 8/10 Soft: 6/10 Firm: 9/10
Material Foam Hybrid Innerspring Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach Combination Back Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Stomach

How We Chose Our Top Mattress List

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

For example, we test a mattress’s motion isolation by placing a glass of water on it and pressing on the layers around it. If the water moves a lot, the mattress has poor motion isolation. Edge support is tested to see how much a bed collapses and look at a pressure map of the mattress to understand where there’s built-up pressure while laying on it.

Latex mattress testing in our studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

When choosing the Best Mattresses of 2024, we’re looking for the cream of the crop, which is why every product on this list has an overall score of at least 3.5/5, with most of the beds scoring a 4/5 or above.

Best Overall — Nectar

Best Overall

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Affordable
Isolates motion
Has that slow-moving foam feel
Cons
Not good for combination sleepers
Not very supportive for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re on the hunt for a fantastic mattress at a very reasonable price, you can’t go wrong with a Nectar mattress. They now offer numerous high-quality models, but it all began with the Nectar Classic mattress. If you love lying down on your mattress and slowly sinking in, this could be the bed for you!

All-foam mattresses like the Nectar tend to be a great choice for couples because they great with motion isolation. This means that if you sleep with a partner who gets in and out of bed, or changes positions during the night, you won’t feel that motion transfer over to you. This is especially great if you’re a light sleeper, too. We had a colleague get in on one side and move around, and testers didn’t feel their movement transfer over.

What the testers say: “The Nectar mattress is great for people who love slow-moving memory foam mattresses. Average weight and lightweight sleepers should feel a good amount of comfort and support while back and side sleeping.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love about the Nectar Mattress

  • The slow-moving memory foam will absorb motion extremely well. If you’re a light sleeper, you shouldn’t notice your partner move around.
  • If you’re on a tight budget, this is a great choice. Even a king-size mattress is under $1,000 when discounted.
  • Nectar has a generous 365-night trial and lifetime warranty. This means you can test the mattress out for a full year, and if you keep it, you’re covered forever.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Mattress

  • The all-foam construction can be a bit of a double-edged sword. While it cradles and contours around your body, some people might have trouble moving around in the mattress.
  • Though it has some cooling infusions, if you’re the type of sleeper who runs extra hot, this might not be the best bed. Because you sleep more “in” the mattress, your body heat can reflect back onto you.

Other User Reviews

Nectar has exploded in popularity and its original mattress has over 50,000 reviews on Nectar’s website. On average, the mattress was rated at 4.7/5 stars. Side sleepers all mentioned that they noticed no pain in their shoulders and hips after a few nights. And some couples even mentioned the lack of motion transfer. Most of the complaints dealt with the mattress sleeping too hot.

Read our full Nectar mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nectar Mattress, check out our best memory foam mattresses for more great options.

Best Hybrid Mattress — Helix Midnight

Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Good for back sleepers
Won’t trap heat
Easy to move around on
Cons
Not firm for stomach sleepers
Not supportive for heavy side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Helix brand strives to simplify the process of buying a mattress. They invite each customer to participate in a sleep quiz on their website and will customize a hybrid mattress to meet their needs. These mattresses range from soft models all the way up to the Helix Plus, a mattress designed specifically for larger people.

When it comes to a best overall hybrid mattress, our favorite is the Helix Midnight. There’s a reason it’s Helix’s most popular model: It has a medium firmness and boasts a balance of comfort and support that suits multiple sleeping positions. We think it’s an especially comfortable bed for side sleepers, back sleepers and combination sleepers who switch positions at night.

What the testers say: “During my testing, I switched between all three sleeping positions. In each one, I found that the Memory Plus foam conformed to my body nicely, while the springs kept me comfortably supported.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • People who sleep hot can add Helix’s GlacioTex™ Cooling Pillow Top to their order, which should help keep the temperature low at the top of the bed. But overall, the bed won’t trap heat thanks to the coils, which allow for airflow.
  • Helix’s Luxe models offer premium upgrades for their mattresses. Customers can add extra bells and whistles such as advanced sleep technology and a tufted pillow top.
  • The Helix mattresses are some of the best mattresses for couples. So if the Helix Midnight doesn’t work for you, each partner can take their own sleep quiz, and Helix will customize their respective side of the mattress based on their answers.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • The Helix Midnight is a classic medium-firm mattress. This means that it likely won’t be supportive enough for stomach sleepers or heavier side sleepers.
  • Though it features memory foam in its comfort layer, the coils still make it a more bouncy and responsive mattress. This is something to keep in mind if you prefer all-foam mattresses.

Other User Reviews

With 6,000 reviews on Helix’s website, the Helix Midnight has an average review score of 4.5/5 stars, which is nothing to huff at. Many were happy with the set up and how comfortable the mattress felt. Some also praised its ability to stay cool. Those that had issues found it was either too soft or that the foam layer was a bit tough to move around on. Overall, we found the bed easy to move around on, but this could change based on body types.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight mattress, check out our list of the best hybrid mattresses for more great options!

Best Affordable Luxury Mattress — Saatva

Best Affordable Luxury Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Affordable Luxury Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Affordable Luxury Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Multiple firmness options
Easy to move around on
Breathable construction
Good for those with back pain
Cons
Not ideal for fans of memory foam
Not the best for some side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

“Affordable” and “luxury” are not words that tend to go hand-in-hand. However, we feel the Saatva mattress merits this description because of its quality and price. While we wouldn’t consider this a “cheap” mattress, you get a lot of bang for your buck with this product.

Costing just under $2,000 for a queen, the price is comparable to many other hybrid mattresses on the market. That said, the Saatva delivers the luxurious, hotel-like feel that many people search for in a mattress. Its hybrid construction makes it quite durable, meaning you can rely on it maintaining its structural integrity for many years.

Plus, unlike the other mattresses on this list, the Saatva is not shipped in a box. It is never compressed, and is delivered by shipping professionals who will set it up for you and discard your old mattress at no additional cost.

What the testers say: “The Saatva mattress is a great option for people that like the innerspring/hybrid feel. It is one of the few innerspring mattresses that is direct to consumer, competing with the top brands (e.g. Beautyrest Black) at a fraction of the cost.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva Mattress

  • The Saatva has two layers of coils: a thinner layer of micro coils and sturdy supportive coils. This offers a good amount of support for back sleepers.
  • The innerspring feel makes it a great mattress for combination sleepers who need to easily switch positions while they sleep.
  • Considering its materials, construction and performance, the Saatva is a high-quality, luxury mattress that is sold for a value price.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva Mattress

  • The Saatva is an innerspring mattress, so if you’re a fan of that slow-moving memory foam, this won’t feel the same. It’ll be bouncy and responsive and won’t have that sinking feeling.
  • You should consider your weight and sleeping position when looking at the firmness options. We tested the Luxury Firm model, and this isn’t the best for lightweight side sleepers or heavier stomach sleepers.

Other User Reviews

On Saatva’s website, the Saatva Classic has an average 4.8/5 stars after just under 3,000 reviews. Many of the 4- and 5-star reviews mention how high-quality the mattress feels, but many also have praised the Saatva customer support team as well for quick and helpful answers. However, many reviews on the lower star rating spectrum mention that no matter what firmness they had, it still felt too firm.

Read our full Saatva mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Saatva mattress, check out our list of the best luxury mattresses for more great options!

Best Firm Mattress — WinkBed

Best Firm Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Traditional innerspring feel
Comes in multiple firmnesses
Doesn’t trap heat
Easy to move on
Cons
Pricey for some
Might not isolate motion well

Our Expert’s Take

Those who have enjoyed their time on a high-end hotel mattress should set their sights on the WinkBed, a hybrid mattress with a traditional innerspring feel. There are four firmness options: Soft, Luxury Firm, Firm, and Plus, all of which are luxury mattresses with supportive coils and comfortable pillow tops. Every version but the Soft ranked above a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale, so there are many different firmer mattress feels to choose from.

The Luxury Firm is a good choice for most people, and it’s the model we tested in the sleep lab as well. The sturdy, zoned coils offered really great back support for testers. Zoned coils feel firmer toward the center of the mattress and softer near the head and the foot. This is particularly helpful for back and side sleepers.

What the testers say: “I tested the Luxury Firm version of the WinkBed, and I could feel some really strong support, which was particularly nice while back sleeping. I think those looking for a firm bed to keep their spine aligned will enjoy this sturdy bed.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What we Love About the WinkBed Mattress

  • The Luxury Firm is the line’s most popular model, and also my personal favorite. It should be supportive enough for sleepers of many sizes and comfortable for all three sleeping positions.
  • Most folks should feel well-supported by the micro-coils and pocketed coils while back-sleeping and stomach-sleeping on the Luxury Firm. Side sleepers should feel little pressure on their shoulders and hips.
  • The WinkBed shouldn’t sleep too hot, because the coils allow for so much air to pass through the mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed Mattress

  • We tested the Luxury Firm model, which should be a good fit for most sleepers. However, you should consider your weight and sleeping position when deciding what firmness to get. Lightweight people may need a softer model, while heavier people may need a firmer model.
  • This bed could be a bit pricey for some. Even when discounted, a queen-size mattress can cost roughly $1,500.

Other User Reviews

With about 8,400 reviews on the WinkBed website, the WinkBed mattress has clinched a near-perfect 4.8/5 stars average. The positive reviews are full of mentions about how it is very supportive and feels like sleeping on a mattress that might cost much more somewhere else. However, users who left lower ratings often mentioned issues with the firmness they chose. With so many firmness options available, many had to either return or exchange for a different firmness.

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the WinkBeds mattress, check out our list of the best firm mattresses for more great options!

Best Cooling Mattress — DreamCloud Original

Best Cooling Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Cooling Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Cooling Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Sleeps cool
Provides great support
Very durable
Cons
May be too firm for some
No slow-moving, memory-foam feel

Our Expert’s Take

If you sleep hot at night, you want to find a mattress with great cooling features. Innerspring mattresses are often great for cooling due to their coiled construction, which allows a lot of air to flow through the mattress.

The DreamCloud’s cooling features as a hybrid innerspring are especially impressive considering the bed’s price — a queen-size dips below $700 when deals are running. The cool-to-the-touch cover contains cooling fibers that make it quite breathable, keeping the quilted pillow-top from trapping too much heat. It also has a set of individually wrapped coils, permitting air to flow through the mattress.

Cooling is an important consideration if you sleep hot or share the bed with someone else, whether it be a partner, pet, or child. There are definitely nights when we run hot, and overheating was not an issue for mattress testers when napping on the hybrid DreamCloud.

What the testers say: “The DreamCloud lived up to its cozy name when I tested it. First off, when I was lying down, I could feel the cooling cover doing its thing. Also, sleeping on the mattress, I did not overheat or wake up sweating during the night. Again, I live in a warmer area, but the mattress was up to the task.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love about the DreamCloud

  • Based on our durability test, the DreamCloud earned a 4/5 score in this field. We determined this by cutting open the mattress and assessing its quality of construction and the materials used. We feel that this mattress should hold up well for quite a while, lasting many years if properly cared for. And, even if you do have issues with the mattress, you can rest assured knowing that it comes with a lifetime warranty.
  • If you’re shopping on a budget, you’ll find the DreamCloud occupies a very accessible price range. The bed comes in at just under $700 for a queen (at publishing time), which is excellent value considering the quality. If you’re ready to shell out a bit more for an even more cooling and durable build, check out the DreamCloud Premier Rest.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud

  • The DreamCloud is a bit firmer, clocking a 7.5/10 on our firmness scale. This firmness should work well for back and stomach sleepers, but side sleepers may feel too much pushback on bony points of contact with the mattress like their hips and shoulders.
  • The middling motion score (3/5) given by testers indicates that DreamCloud might not be the best option for couples who are sensitive to their partner’s movements. Instead, you may prefer a bed that better absorbs motion, like the Nectar.

Other User Reviews

Currently, DreamCloud averages a 4.6/5 on the company website, and as DreamCloud’s flagship mattress, that’s the average of nearly 9,000 reviews. Customers wrote that the bed “stays cool all night,” and has the “perfect amount of cushion.” Among the shorter selection of less flattering reviews though, buyers said the bed needed additional cooling features.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review. Looking for an alternative? We’ve also curated a list of the best cooling mattresses with great recommendations.

Best Mattress Without Fiberglass — Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Mattress Without Fiberglass

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Mattress Without Fiberglass

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Mattress Without Fiberglass

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5

Pros
Won’t trap heat
Easy to move around on
Responsive and bouncy
Has a plush foam comfort layer
Cons
Pricey for some
Not firm for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Fiberglass has been on a lot of minds these days. Recently, the topic of fiberglass used as a flame retardant in mattress became a hot topic of discussion. Direct exposure of fiberglass can cause health problems, so it’s no surprise that many people would prefer it not be present where they sleep. Thankfully, there are many great mattresses that don’t utilize fiberglass at all, and the Bear Elite Hybrid is one of our favorites.

If you need a great soft mattress, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress should be at the top of your list. Its Soft model has two different layers of foam; one is pressure-relieving, and the other helps ease you into the support layer. You should feel the soft foam pressing into your gaps, while the coils keep your body elevated.

The Bear Elite Hybrid does come in two other firmnesses, Medium (the one I tested) and Firm, which will provide more support for back and stomach sleepers. We’d recommend the Soft model for side sleepers.

What the testers say: “I felt very comfortable while back and side sleeping on the Bear Elite Hybrid. It has a zoned support system, which means it feels firmer toward the center and softer near the head and foot. This helps back and side sleepers maintain the correct spinal alignment throughout the night, so it’s a great choice for folks who tend to switch sleeping positions.” Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • The Bear Elite Hybrid includes Celliant fibers, which research suggests help with blood flow and muscle recovery.
  • Side sleepers should enjoy the excellent pressure relief the memory foam and plush top have to offer. The coils also make it easy to move around on if you’re a combination sleeper.
  • There’s a lot of cooling technology in this mattress, from the Celliant cover and the copper-infused foam to the breathable and sturdy coils. That just means you won’t sleep hot on this mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • The Bear Elite is Bear’s most luxurious mattress model. Because of this, it might not be the best choice for those shopping on a strict budget.
  • Because it comes in multiple firmnesses, lightweight people or side sleepers should get the soft model, while back sleepers and more average weight people should enjoy the luxury firm. Heavier people or stomach sleepers should get the firm model.

Other User Reviews

With just under 300 reviews, the Bear Elite Hybrid averages 4.4/5 stars. Many side sleepers were happy with the mattress and mentioned the soft and medium-firm models as the reason. They said they used to wake up with shoulder and hip pain, but not so much anymore. Those who rated the bed three stars or less mentioned either the persistent off-gas smell or the firmness not being what they expected.

Read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses without fiberglass for more great options!

Best Mattress for Back Sleepers — Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review
Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Stays cool
Good for back sleepers
Bouncy, responsive feel
Cons
Not great for couples

Our Expert’s Take

This hybrid mattress comes in three firmnesses: Soft, Medium, and Firm. This means you can choose the feel that’s best for your sleeping position, body type, and personal preferences. All of the models are 13.25” tall and include a combination of foam and coils. I tested the medium-firm model and felt a great balance of comfort and support while sleeping on my back.

Brooklyn Bedding is notable for offering some of the best cheap mattresses on the market. Since the company owns their own factory (a rarity in the mattress field), it’s able to cut out the middleman while making quality beds, and then pass on those savings to customers. Although the Aurora Luxe model has high-quality construction, it’s got a very competitive price point that gives it great value compared to comparable products on the market.

What the testers say: “I felt great while back sleeping on the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe. The responsive TitanFlex foam and the sturdy coils created a supportive feel that helped me maintain the proper spinal alignment. In fact, I ranked the Aurora Luxe as one of the best mattresses for back sleepers.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

  • Back sleepers and those who need a good balance of comfort and support should love the Medium model. It should allow the hips to sink in just the right amount, while the coils offer support.
  • The comfort layers are gel-infused to help it sleep cool. This will draw away body heat and keep you from overheating.
  • It’s a responsive mattress and is very easy to move around on. This makes it ideal for combination sleepers.
  • Three firmness options means that you should be able to find a version of the Aurora Luxe that accommodates you, regardless of your sleeping position and body type. In a nutshell, the soft version works best for side sleepers and lightweight sleepers; the medium version is best for back sleepers and those who are average-weight; and the firm option should work best for heavyweight sleepers and stomach sleepers.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

  • Because of its innerspring construction, it won’t isolate motion well. This is something to consider if you sleep with a partner and are a light sleeper. You’ll notice them move around or get in and out of bed. Consider looking into the best mattresses for couples if you’re looking for a mattress that isolates motion well.

Other User Reviews

Based on 3,321 reviews from the Brooklyn Bedding website, the Aurora Luxe has an average rating of 4.7/5. Many people praise the mattress for helping with their pain, be it back, shoulder, or hip pain. Regarding the one-star reviews, some people felt the mattress was not at all comfortable, with one person even saying it slept too hot, despite the company’s claims. 

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for back sleepers for more great options!

Best Mattress for Couples — Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best for Couples

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best for Couples

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best for Couples

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros
Intended for heavy people
Easy to move around on
Good for shoppers on a budget
Cons
Too firm for some
Not the best for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Several factors make the Emma Hybrid Comfort a good mattress for couples. First, and possibly most important, we found this mattress did a solid job of isolating motion. This indicates that while your partner tosses and turns on their side of the bed you will likely not be disturbed by these movements on your side.

Another important aspect of a mattress that we consider when grading a mattress for couples is edge support. When you sleep with a partner, you want to be able to maximize the use of your mattress’ surface area. We determined the perimeter of the Emma Hybrid Comfort to be very sturdy (4.5/5). So, you and your partner can confidently utilize the mattress edges without worrying much about them sagging under your weight. 

Lastly, the Emma Hybrid Comfort has good responsiveness. During sex, this factor will make it easier to move around on the mattress and change positions.

What the testers say: “Thankfully, I didn’t see any serious motion transfer on the Emma Hybrid Comfort. I placed a glass of water on one side of the mattress and then pushed into the other side. I saw very little disturbance in the water. I also lay on one side of the mattress while my coworker moved around on the opposite side. I was not disturbed whatsoever, so this should be a good mattress for couples.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Comfort Hybrid

  • The Emma Hybrid Comfort includes a moisture-wicking comfort, which helps with breathability. This means that it won’t trap heat and you shouldn’t sleep too hot.
  • Stomach sleepers should enjoy the flat sleeping surface and the responsiveness the memory foam and coils have to offer.
  • There’s a lot of cooling technology in this mattress, from the moisture-wicking cover and AIRGOCELL® foam to the breathable and sturdy coils.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Comfort Hybrid

  • This mattress is great for heavier people, but due to the nature of the sturdy materials, it might be too firm for average to lightweight sleepers.
  • This also isn’t the best mattress for side sleepers. There’s the potential for pressure to build up in your shoulders and hips, which could cause pain.

Other User Reviews

Because the mattress is relatively new, there are currently no customer reviews on the Emma website.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for couples for more great options.

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers — Nolah

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Pros
Has a balanced foam feel
Easy to move around on
Uses durable, high-quality materials
Cons
Not ideal for stomach sleepers
Not supportive for heavier sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Side sleepers will usually find that they are most compatible with a soft, often all-foam mattress. When you sleep with your hips and shoulders pressed into the bed it’s very important that the surface of your mattress has enough give to allow them to sink in rather than getting jammed up. This will help ease some of the pressure felt in these sensitive areas. The Nolah is one such mattress that does just that, making it a fantastic choice for side sleepers.

This bed has more of what we refer to as a “balanced foam feel.” This means that the bed is made out of foam, but testers found that it’s very easy to move around on. This makes it a great choice for combination sleepers who move around frequently during the night, in addition to side sleepers.

What the testers say: “The Nolah mattress has a balanced foam feel. The brand’s Airfoam is really plush and pressure-relieving, and when laying on it I could feel my body sink into, but not so much that it was difficult to move around on.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Original

  • The Nolah mattress offers a balance of comfort and support for back sleepers and combination sleepers.
  • Side sleepers will get great pressure relief from the Nolah mattress.
  • Nolah prides itself on using durable, long-lasting materials. So this bed should last several years and shouldn’t sag over time.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Original

  • This mattress is only 10″ tall, so it might not be supportive enough for heavier sleepers. This is because heavier bodies will compress the foam layers a bit more than lightweight and average weight sleepers.
  • This bed is medium-firm, which is great for back and side sleepers, but it won’t be supportive enough for stomach sleepers who need firmer beds to elevate their hips.

Other User Reviews

With 1,300 reviews on Nolah’s website, the Nolah Original has earned an average 4.7/5 stars. Many were happy that an all-foam bed didn’t trap heat, thanks to Nolah’s propriety foam. And those that were unimpressed with the mattress found it to be a bit too soft for their liking.

Read our full Nolah mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nectar Hybrid mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for side sleepers for more great options! 

Best Mattress for Heavy People — Titan Plus

Best Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Pros
Great edge support
Cooling
Good for stomach sleepers
Cons
Bad for side sleepers
Poor motion isolation

Our Expert’s Take

For heavier sleepers over 230 lbs, there are certain criteria that a mattress needs to meet so that you can sleep comfortably and feel supported. Most heavier sleepers will need a mattress that’s firmer than average, and if you’re a stomach sleeper, you’ll want something even firmer so that your hips can be supported, and your spine can be aligned properly while you sleep.

If these criteria apply to you, the Titan Plus will probably be a great fit. It’s one of the firmest mattresses on the market, and it’s a hybrid, so it’s built with responsive foams in the comfort layer and supportive coils in the support layer.

The Titan Plus ranks at a 9/10 on our firmness scale for heavy sleepers, but if you’re a lighter person trying out the Titan Plus, you may rank this mattress at closer to an 8.5/10. Because it’s so firm, we found the most comfort while sleeping on our backs and our stomachs.

What the testers say: “Firmness is always a bit subjective, and that’s especially true for beds that are designed with heavier people in mind. I ranked this mattress a 9/10 on our firmness scale, which is extremely firm. For reference, the industry standard for average firmness is 6.5/10. That said, folks who weigh somewhere between 300 and 500 lb could find that the mattress feels a bit softer. They’re more likely to press into the foam layers of the mattress and feel more pressure relief.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus

  • This is one of the best mattresses for heavyweight stomach sleepers we’ve ever tested. Martin, our designated heavyweight tester, said, “It’s a great choice for heavyweight stomach sleepers. Because this mattress feels particularly firm, it helps promote the proper spinal alignment–this helps stomach sleepers avoid lower back pain”. 
  • We tested the Titan Plus for temperature regulation and gave it an impressive score of 4.5/5. The cover is infused with cooling gel, and the coils system helps promote breathability. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • As is often the case, the factors that make this mattress great for heavyweight people also makes it a poor choice for lightweight people. It’s too firm to a lighter sleeper’s hips and shoulders to receive adequate pressure relief.
  • We gave the Titan Plus a score of 3/5 on our motion isolation test. Basically, we found that when one of our sleep testers rested on one side of the bed, they were easily disturbed by another sleep tester’s movements on the other side. This is bad news for couples, especially those consisting of light sleepers. 

Other User Reviews

Based on 2,618 reviews on the Titan website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.7/5. If you’re after a very firm mattress, you’ll be happy to hear that many 5-star reviews mention that the Titan Plus is, in fact, very firm. One notable 1-star review comes from a person who claims to have slept on the mattress for 12 months, and that it has gotten significantly softer over time. While it is common for mattresses to get softer over time, it’s worth keeping this comment in mind.

Read our full Titan Plus mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Titan Plus mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for heavy people for more great options!

Still Not Sure Which Mattress to Buy?

If people really don’t know what they want, they should take a hard look at Helix, because the company offers fully customized mattresses. All consumers have to do is fill out a series of questions. The folks at Helix will then make a customized mattress based on the customer’s answers. If someone sleeps with a partner with different sleeping preferences, they can implement different firmnesses and feels on each side of the bed.

DreamCloud Mattress - Motion Transfer
Testing for motion isolation in the sleep testing lab

How to Find the Right Mattress for You

We know it can be overwhelming to find the perfect mattress, so we’ve broken down some of the top factors to consider when shopping for a new mattress. Keep reading to find additional guidance on selecting the best mattress for your sleeping position, budget, firmness preference, and more!

Factors We Consider For The Best Mattresses

  • best purchasing valueValue: There are multiple ways to assess the value of a mattress. If the company spends a lot on marketing, the product can be priced higher than it’s worth. Also, a product will have poor value without the incorporation of high-quality materials.
  • Feel:  Feel is always subjective. Some people love memory foam while others can’t stand it. Rather than saying one type of feel is better than another, we assess the feel and describe it in detail. Then, we try to help mattress shoppers make a decision based on their needs and preferences.
  • Firmness: Firmness is also a subjective measure. One person might think a mattress is firmer than average, while someone else might think the same exact mattress is softer than average.
  • mattress motion isolation transferMotion Isolation:  If someone sleeps with a partner, then motion isolation should be a consideration. If someone’s partner shifts around in bed, will they feel the movement? Some mattresses are great at isolating motion, while others are not.
  • Company Reputation: All companies should treat their customers well. We recommend reviewing a company’s trial period, return policy, and customer service quality. We’ve seen some companies fail to honor their return policy or make it difficult to return their product. We want to help customers avoid brands like that, so we try to ensure everyone buys a product from a company they can trust.
  • matching company's claimsMatching Marketing Claims To Reality: Mattress companies are known for making big claims about their products. In some cases, the claims are true, and in others they’re exaggerations. We try to assess how accurate these claims are.
  • Quality Of The Materials: There are some objective factors one can assess about a mattress’s material quality. Durability, for example, is directly affected by the density of the foams used in the mattress.  That’s why we conduct a full analysis of each material used in every mattress.
  • Sleeping Hot: This is a huge factor for a lot of people. We take extra time to assess this aspect of the mattress and give extra points to companies that manufacture beds with cooling in mind.
  • Transparency: In some cases, we understand why a company may not share every detail about some of its products, but we do favor companies who are 100% transparent. Providing all the details of the mattress gives consumers confidence in their purchasing decisions.
  • Return Rate: No company publicly discloses their return rate. We do privately prod companies so they provide this statistic. Having a low return rate is a great way to know that customers are loving the product.
  • Mattress Size: You want to make sure the company offers the right mattress sizes to fit your bed and bedroom. We suggest reading our mattress size guide to find out which is right for you. If you’re a fan of King mattresses, make sure to check our best king-size mattresses roundup.

Mattress Types to Consider

There are several different types of mattresses out there. Some appeal to a wider range of sleepers than others do, so it’s important to know what you’re looking for.

Different Mattress Types

Innerspring Mattresses

Innerspring mattresses are the most traditional mattress type and are still popular, although many bed-in-a-box companies don’t offer them. These beds are built with a coil construction, making them firmer and bouncier. Because they’re so responsive to movement, innerspring mattresses are great for combination sleepers who switch sleeping positions. These beds are also ideal for shoppers on a budget.

While it’s rare to find a true innerspring mattress, many hybrid beds (such as Saatva and the WinkBed) heavily feature coils in their construction. In this case, they might be described as a hybrid mattress with a traditional innerspring feel.

See our list of the best innerspring mattresses.

Memory Foam Mattresses

Memory foam mattresses are popular with bed-in-a-box companies. There are many benefits to the material, including its soothing, pressure-relieving comfort, motion isolation, and wide pricing range. Many people believe memory foam mattresses will make you sleep hot, but newer models have innovated aerated foams for better airflow. Some come with gel or copper infusions to keep you cool.

See our list of the best memory foam mattresses.

Mattress testing the Helix in he studio
Marten tests the Nectar memory foam mattress in our studio

Latex Mattress

Latex mattresses are similar to memory foam mattresses, except they’re bouncier, more sustainable, and more expensive. These beds offer great pressure relief and have natural cooling properties. Latex beds suit eco-friendly shoppers, people who sleep with pain, and those looking for a luxurious mattress.

See our list of the best latex mattresses

Hybrid Mattresses

Hybrid mattresses use a combination of any of the materials listed above, including coils, foam, and latex. Often, these mattresses offer the best of both (or several!) worlds, making for a comfortable, supportive, and more cooling bed. Hybrid mattresses are a good fit for most types of sleepers, seeing as the materials and construction have such a wide range of possibilities.

See our list of the best hybrid mattresses.

Airbeds

Not to be confused with air mattresses, airbeds are luxurious mattresses built with air chambers that you can manually adjust. You can change the firmness of the bed for your comfort. Airbeds are great for couples with different preferences, seniors, or anyone looking for a luxurious sleep experience.

One of our favorite airbeds we’ve tested is the Saatva Solaire. Check out our full Saatva Solaire mattress review to learn more.

Factor in Your Sleeping Position

Knowing your primary sleeping position can come in handy when looking for a mattress. We’ll highlight what you should know about each sleeping position, including what to look for and watch out for in a mattress.

Side Sleepers

Side sleepers put a lot of pressure on their shoulders, hips, and knees while they sleep. It’s important for them to have a pressure-relieving mattress that evenly distributes body weight. Memory foam mattresses are a good choice for side sleepers.

Side sleepers generally want a mattress on the softer end of the spectrum, as a soft bed is more likely to relieve pressure on the shoulders and hips. At the same time, they don’t want something too soft, as this might not keep their spine neutrally aligned.

See our list of the best mattresses for side sleepers.

A man sleeps on his side on the Big Fig mattress
Our Lead Reviewer Marten side sleeps while testing a bed

Stomach Sleepers

Stomach sleepers put a lot of pressure on their lower back, especially if they sleep with a thicker pillow. These folks do best on a firmer mattress that prevents excessive sinkage and lifts the hips for proper spinal alignment.

Weight will also factor into what type of mattress works best for you as a stomach sleeper. For example, stomach sleepers who weigh less than 130 lbs may want something medium-firm, but stomach sleepers who weigh more than 230 lbs will likely feel comfortable on a firm or extra-firm mattress.

See our list of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers.

Back Sleepers

Back sleepers need a mattress that balances comfort and support. While the mattress should keep your hips from sinking too far, it should provide enough support to keep your spine in proper alignment. Generally, this means finding a medium-firm bed with a thin (2″ to 4″) comfort layer on top.

How much you weigh is also an important factor when choosing the right mattress for sleeping on your back. Sleepers who weigh more than 230 lbs will want to find a very supportive, firm bed, while those under 230 lbs should probably opt for something medium-firm.

See our list of the best mattresses for back sleepers.

Combination Sleepers

If you switch positions during the night, you’re a combination sleeper. You should find a bed responsive to your body movements because this will make it easier for you to move around at night. Hybrid and innerspring beds are made with coils, so they tend to be more responsive mattresses, but some memory foam beds can still provide bounce.

While the bounciness of a responsive bed is an upside for combination sleepers, it can mean the bed is more likely to transfer motion disturbances across the surface. If you sleep with a partner, pay attention to the bed’s motion isolation. Hybrid beds that combine coils and a layer (or layers) of memory foam are a good option for getting the best of both worlds.

See our list of the best mattresses for combination sleepers.

Mattress Firmness Considerations

We recommend that shoppers stay away from a mattress that is super-soft or super-firm. The mattress firmness scale is measured on a scale of 1 to 10, with 1 being the softest and 10 being the most firm. Most sleepers will be comfortable and supported on a medium to firm mattress around a 5–8 on the scale.

mattress firmness options on a scale of 1 to 10

How to Factor in Your Weight and Sleeping Position

There are two main things to consider when choosing the right mattress firmness for your needs: weight and sleeping position.

First, your weight determines how much your body will compress the mattress materials when you lie down. Heavier sleepers will put more pressure on those materials, so a firmer bed will typically work better for them than it would for a lightweight sleeper. But that’s where your sleeping position comes in.

As we mentioned earlier, your sleeping position will also impact how much support or contouring you need from a mattress. For example, average-weight side sleepers will tend to want a softer bed than average-weight back sleepers. As always, personal preferences for firmness can vary, but we put together a general overview of which firmness levels tend to work well for each type of sleeper.

Sleeper WeightBack SleepersSide SleepersStomach Sleepers
Lightweight (Under 130 lb)Medium-FirmSoft to MediumMedium-Firm
Average (130 – 230 lb)Medium-Firm to FirmMedium-FirmMedium-Firm to Firm
Heavyweight (Over 230 lb)Firm to Extra-FirmMedium-Firm to FirmFirm to Extra-Firm

See some our guides to help you explore which mattress firmness level is best for you and see our top picks in those categories:

Consider Your Budget

Shopping within your price range can be another way to narrow down your mattress options. Avoid mattresses at the absolute lowest and highest ends of the spectrum. The cheapest mattresses (around $100–$200) will give you what you pay for (not much) and the most expensive mattresses can reach a point of diminishing returns.

How to Save Money on Your Mattress

Keep an eye out for discounts, especially around holidays. Some popular mattress sale holidays include President’s Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, and Black Friday. Even if you’re not shopping near a major holiday, though, many brands offer sales throughout the year that can help make your favorite mattress a lot more affordable.

See our lists of the best mattresses for your budget: 

Finding the Best Mattress Company

While the Internet is one of the best places to buy a mattress, it isn’t always clear which companies are the best. Some shoppers may want to start their search by narrowing down the best companies.

First off, read our piece on how to buy a mattress online. Also, here are a few factors you can look out for to distinguish between what makes one mattress company better than another.

  • Trial Period and Return Policy: Finding a mattress company with a generous trial period and return policy is important, especially when you’re shopping online without actually getting to see the bed. Most companies should offer at least a 100-day, risk-free trial period with free returns.
  • Warranty: Warranties cover manufacturing defects and are a standard part of a mattress purchase. The most popular terms we’ve seen are 10-year, 20-year, and lifetime limited warranties. Anything less than a 5-year mattress warranty is something to be skeptical of.
  • Shipping and Delivery: Free shipping and delivery is standard for a mattress company, though some may charge a small fee. Some of the best mattress companies also offer free white glove delivery, meaning they will set the mattress up for you for no extra cost.
  • Pricing:  Make sure you’re shopping from a company with decently priced mattresses. Look for comparable models from different brands to see if you’re being charged fairly for the materials included in the mattress.

Summary

Below is a summary of our top picks for the best mattresses of 2024. And if you want more tailored recommendations, be sure to check out our mattress quiz!

MattressBest For
NectarBest Overall
Helix MidnightBest Hybrid Mattress
SaatvaBest Affordable Luxury Mattress
WinkBedsBest Firm Mattress
DreamCloud OriginalBest Cooling Mattress
Bear Elite HybridBest Mattress Without Fiberglass
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora LuxeBest Mattress for Back Sleepers
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Mattress for Heavy People
NolahBest Mattress for Side Sleepers
Titan PlusBest Mattress for Heavy People

Best Mattress FAQs

What’s the most comfortable mattress?

Comfort is extremely subjective, but the Nectar is one of the most comfortable mattresses I have reviewed. It’s a softer-than-average bed that lets sleepers sink in. Those looking for a very comfortable mattress should also consider the Saatva.

What’s the best type of mattress?

This really depends on someone’s sleeping preferences. Someone who likes to sink into their mattress and desires good pressure relief should consider a memory foam mattress. Those who need more support and like a more traditional feel should like an innerspring mattress, and people who want to steer clear of chemicals will appreciate a latex mattress.

What’s the best mattress for side sleepers?

Side sleepers should be looking for a softer mattress that can relieve pressure on the shoulders and hips. The Puffy Lux Hybrid, for example, relieves pressure quite well and should be an exceptional option for lightweight and medium-weight side sleepers.

What are the best mattresses for the money?

When looking for a value mattress, customers want to consider durability and affordability. Make sure the mattress will stand up to many years of use without breaking the bank. In general, the Brooklyn Bedding mattresses are some of the best for the money. Brooklyn Bedding owns their own factory, so they are able to pass these savings on to the customers. They have numerous options such as the SignatureBowery, and Aurora.

 

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.