Best Memory Foam Mattresses of 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs, where we are compensated for items purchased through links from our site. See our disclosure page for details.

Oh, memory foam. It really is the best. From top-of-the-line TEMPUR-Pedic mattresses to more budget-conscious options, our team has slept on so many variations of these beds. The benefits of memory foam beds, from their affordability to their ability to isolate motion, are a few big reasons why we were compelled to put together a list of the absolute best memory foam mattresses. We took a lot of factors into consideration when choosing, including luxury, value, and comfort. Keep scrolling for our top nine picks, a video summary, reviews of each of our favorite foam mattresses, and a best memory foam mattress buyer’s guide!

There should be something here for everyone. And if you don’t see what you’re looking for, try taking our mattress quiz for further-tailored recommendations!

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Memory Foam Mattress?

Our team of expert reviewers chose the Nectar as the best memory foam mattress. It has a classic slow moving feel, offers contouring for pressure relief, and doesn’t trap heat.

Best Memory Foam Mattresses of 2024: Our Top 10 Picks

Video Review: Best Memory Foam Mattresses of 2024

Compare the Best Memory Foam Mattresses of 2024

Nectar Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Bear Original Mattress WinkBeds GravityLux Mattress Emma Mattress Loom & Leaf Mattress Nolah Signature 12" Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Leesa Original Mattress
Nectar Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Bear Original Mattress WinkBeds GravityLux Mattress Emma Mattress Loom & Leaf Mattress Nolah Signature 12" Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Leesa Original Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 8/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Material Foam Hybrid Foam Foam Foam Foam Foam Foam Foam
Cooling -- -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Back Back Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach Combination

Our Mattress Testing Process

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

A hand presses into memory foam
Hands-on testing in our sleep lab

How We Choose the Best Memory Foam Mattresses

Edge Support

An all-foam mattress may lack adequate edge support compared to hybrid or innerspring mattresses, but that’s no reason to write them off. Our testers found all-foam mattresses with strong edge support, allowing for full use of the mattress surface and preventing the feeling of rolling off. And if testers felt a bed had more middling edge support, we made sure to note that.

Temperature Control

Because memory foam tends to trap heat, we tried to include beds that had additional cooling capabilities in their features and construction. Hot sleepers especially need nice airflow and heat dissipation to get a comfortable sleep, and a memory foam mattress with enhanced cooling features, such as aerated foam layers or gel-infused layers, can help regulate temperature and prevent overheating. We made sure to include and note beds that exceed expectations when it comes to the typically stuffy reputation of memory foam mattresses.

Motion Isolation

One of the strengths of memory foam is its ability to isolate motion, preventing partners from disturbing each other at night. So we wanted to pick products that scored high in this category, since superior motion isolation might be the driving factor for getting a memory foam bed if you or your partner are light sleepers.

Nectar – Best Overall

Best Overall

Nectar Mattress

Offering sleepers the classic slow-sinking feeling of memory foam, the Nectar should be a good match for back sleepers, side sleepers, and couples.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Nectar Mattress

Offering sleepers the classic slow-sinking feeling of memory foam, the Nectar should be a good match for back sleepers, side sleepers, and couples.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Nectar Mattress

Offering sleepers the classic slow-sinking feeling of memory foam, the Nectar should be a good match for back sleepers, side sleepers, and couples.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Affordable
Great for couples
Low return rates during the 365-night sleep trial
Cons
Heavier sleepers may not find enough support

Our Expert’s Take

Lying on the Nectar, you get that classic memory foam feeling of slowly sinking into the bed. The comfort layer has an infusion of gel for cooling and pain relief, while the thicker support layer is made up of high-density foam. Back sleepers should experience exceptional contouring and side sleepers should feel little to no pressure on their shoulders and hips. In fact, we’ve chosen the Nectar as one of the best mattresses for hip pain. Also, if you’re prone to sleeping hot, Nectar offers two more memory foam mattresses with advanced cooling features: the Nectar Premier mattress and the Nectar Premier Copper mattress.

What the testers say: “When I tested the Nectar, the foam contoured around my joints really nicely. It felt particularly comfortable while side sleeping, but this bed is a great choice for back sleepers too.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar

  • The Nectar is very affordable. It goes for under $1,000 for a queen, which is much cheaper than many mattresses of comparable quality.
  • For light- and average-weight side and back sleepers the Nectar provides a great amount of pressure relief and support. It can cushion side sleepers’ hips and shoulders and keep back sleepers from sinking too far below the surface. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • The Nectar is a bad choice for most stomach sleepers. Stomach sleepers require a higher firmness in order to keep their hips stable and their spines aligned. 
  • While the Nectar provides enough support for many average- and lightweight sleepers, we wouldn’t recommend it for many people over 230 lb. Instead, we suggest you consider a mattress made specifically for heavyweight sleepers, like the Titan Plus Luxe

Other Customer reviews

The Nectar mattress has an average score of 4.7 out of 5 based on 50,525 reviews from the company website. Customers appreciate the pain relief that the pressure relieving Nectar provides. Some, on the other hand, found the Nectar far too firm for comfort. 

Read our full Nectar mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses 2024 for more great options.

Helix Midnight – Best Hybrid Memory Foam Mattress for Couples

Best Hybrid Memory Foam Mattress for Couples

Helix Midnight Mattress

Because of its support and ability to isolate motion, the Helix Midnight should be a good fit for anyone who shares a bed with a partner.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Memory Foam Mattress for Couples

Helix Midnight Mattress

Because of its support and ability to isolate motion, the Helix Midnight should be a good fit for anyone who shares a bed with a partner.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Memory Foam Mattress for Couples

Helix Midnight Mattress

Because of its support and ability to isolate motion, the Helix Midnight should be a good fit for anyone who shares a bed with a partner.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Prevents overheating
Easy to move around on
Great orthopedic mattress for pain
Cons
Stomach sleepers might find that their hips sink in too much

Our Expert’s Take

If you sleep with a partner, you want to find a mattress that works for both of you. A hybrid memory foam mattress like the Helix Midnight is a great option! The Helix Midnight is a medium-firm mattress that should be a good fit for multiple sleeping positions. Even if you and your partner sleep in different positions, the Helix Midnight will offer the comfort and support you both require. The top layer of memory foam will also help to cut down on motion transfer so you and your partner don’t disturb each other when you move around at night!

What the testers say: “The Helix Midnight has a bouncier feel than an all-memory foam bed, which makes it easy to move around on. Its medium-firm feel should appeal to most sleepers, but if one or both of you prefers a firm mattress, I’d opt for the Helix Dawn instead.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • This mattress is great for back sleepers, thanks to its middle-of-the-road balance of comfort and support. While on your back, it allows your hips to sink into the mattress a small amount, but keeps you propped up enough for your spine to remain properly aligned. 
  • The Helix Midnight has nice responsiveness, meaning it’s easy to move around on. This is an important factor if you change sleeping positions throughout the night, and makes it a great mattress for sex.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • While the Helix Midnight does utilize memory foam, it might not provide the sinking, hugging feel that memory-foam shoppers are after. That’s because this mattress includes a layer of individually-wrapped coils that adds support and bounciness, but also keeps it from feeling like an all-foam bed. 
  • Stomach sleepers will likely want something firmer than the Helix Midnight so that their hips don’t sink into the mattress. Consider the Plank Firm Luxe if you sleep on your stomach. 

Other Customer reviews

The Helix Midnight has an average score of 4.5 out of 5 based on 6,412 reviews from the company website. Customers seem to love the sleep they’re getting on the Helix, with several specifically mentioning the solid edge support. Some were unhappy that their mattress arrived dirty or even damaged. 

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

Bear Original – Best Memory Foam Mattress for Athletes

Best Memory Foam Mattress for Athletes

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress for Athletes

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress for Athletes

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
An excellent choice for back sleepers
Great motion isolation for couples
One of our favorite mattresses for back pain
Cons
Too soft for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re an active person or if you consider yourself an athlete, know that the Bear Original mattress was built just for you. The special ingredient is the Celliant fiber in the mattress’ cover. It purportedly helps sleepers’ blood circulation and recovery. Thanks to its gel-infused memory foam, this mattress also has the impressive ability to cool down hot sleepers. This is great for athletes who like nighttime workouts, but don’t want to overheat when it’s time for bed.

What the testers say: “The Bear Mattress has a classic memory foam feel. It allows you to sink into the mattress, but its firm transition layers stop you from getting stuck.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear

  • The Bear does a great job of isolating motion, thanks to its dense foam layers. This means that if you sleep with a partner they can toss and turn on their side of the bed and you’ll be less likely to feel it on your side.
  • The Bear mattress features technology that can help promote muscle recovery, making it a good choice for athletes. The mattress cover has celliant fabric woven into it, which may help encourage blood circulation and shorten rehab time for sore muscles. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear

  • Like many memory foam mattresses, the Bear doesn’t stay very cool. Its foam layers trap heat rather than allowing it to escape. If you’re interested in a memory foam mattress that does a good job of staying cool, consider the Emma

Other Customer reviews

The Bear mattress has an average rating of 4.4 out of 5 based on 10,148 reviews from the company website. Customers call out this being a great mattress for kids as well as adults. Unhappy customers complain that the mattress is too soft and retains heat.

Read our full Bear mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Athletes for more great options.

WinkBeds GravityLux – Best Memory Foam Mattress for Combo Sleepers

Best Memory Foam Mattress for Combination Sleepers

WinkBeds GravityLux Mattress

The WinkBeds GravityLux is a very comfortable all-foam mattress. It should be a good match for back, side, and combo sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress for Combination Sleepers

WinkBeds GravityLux Mattress

The WinkBeds GravityLux is a very comfortable all-foam mattress. It should be a good match for back, side, and combo sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress for Combination Sleepers

WinkBeds GravityLux Mattress

The WinkBeds GravityLux is a very comfortable all-foam mattress. It should be a good match for back, side, and combo sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Comes in three different firmness models
More breathable than other memory foam beds
Zoned support makes it comfortable in all sleeping positions
Cons
Expensive

Our Expert’s Take

The WinkBeds GravityLux features a zoned construction where the center is firmer than the rest of the mattress. This makes it feel softer when side-sleeping, and firmer when back-sleeping and stomach-sleeping. It also contains a proprietary AirCell memory foam that’s more responsive than standard memory foam, so it should be easy for combination sleepers to move around at night.

What the testers say: “Finding a great bed for combination sleepers can be tricky since they need a mattress that’s comfortable in multiple sleeping positions. The GravityLux has zoned support, which means its softer at the shoulders and firmer in the middle— this makes it comfortable for side, back, and stomach sleepers alike.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBeds GravityLux

  • We were impressed with the GravityLux’s cooling ability, especially considering its all-foam construction. The foam is infused with cooling gel, and the cover is made of Tencel fabric, both of which make things a little bit more breathable. 
  • This mattress is available in three different firmnesses. In general, we suggest the soft version if you’re a side sleeper, the medium version if you’re a back sleeper, and the firm version if you’re a stomach sleeper. That said, your body type and sleep preferences may make finding the appropriate firmness a little more complicated. 

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBeds GravityLux

  • The GravityLux has very weak edge support. Even a small amount of weight along the mattress perimeter causes it to sag. If you rely on the edge of your bed for sleeping or sitting, then we suggest the Helix Midnight Luxe.

Other Customer reviews

Based on 256 reviews from the WinkBed website, the GravityLux has an average rating of 4.8 out of 5. Two of the most recent positive reviewers call out that the mattress helped immensely with their back pain. There really aren’t any completely negative reviews, though there are some that rate it a 3 out of 5 or a 4 out of 5, indicating that some customers aren’t as over the moon.

Read our full WinkBeds GravityLux mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers for more great options.

Emma – Best Cooling Memory Foam Mattress

Best Cooling Memory Foam Mattress

Emma Mattress

Product Image

The Emma is a very popular mattress that offers fantastic pressure relief.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Cooling Memory Foam Mattress

Emma Mattress

Product Image

The Emma is a very popular mattress that offers fantastic pressure relief.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Product Image
Best Cooling Memory Foam Mattress

Emma Mattress

The Emma is a very popular mattress that offers fantastic pressure relief.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Great for back sleepers
Cooling features
Good price for the value
Cons
Too firm for most side sleepers
Lacks a responsive feel

Our Expert’s Take

One of the best perks of the Emma mattress is that it comes in different options! Though we’ll be focusing on the all-foam Emma Original, we wanted to point out that the Emma also comes in a Hybrid version, so foam lovers who want a more responsive feel can still find their perfect Emma mattress.

The Emma is slightly firmer than average, and though it’s all foam, it’s equipped with features to help keep sleepers cool at night. The foam in the Emma mattress is made with proprietary materials and is infused with graphite to help dissipate body heat. The Emma also helps with cooling since it’s ventilated, which helps promote airflow throughout the mattress and prevents overheating.

What the testers say: “I’m a back sleeper, and the Emma mattress gave me great support. My spine stayed in alignment through the night, and the aerated foam layers kept me really cool throughout the night!”Elisa Regulski, Editor and Certified Sleep Science Coach

What We Love About the Emma

  • The Emma has a unique feature that makes it one of the few all-foam mattresses that’s great at staying cool. The thickest foam layer is ventilated, so it allows heat to escape instead of trapping it. 
  • This is a great mattress for couples, and not just because it can help mitigate the effects of all that body heat. The Emma isolates motion very well, so as your partner flips and flops around or gets in and out of bed for a glass of water you’ll be less likely to feel those movements on your side of the bed.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma

  • The Emma does not provide much support, and that goes for the entire surface of the mattress. The edges sag under just a little bit of weight, and our heavier mattress testers sunk uncomfortably far into the mattress.
  • Despite this mattress having great qualities for couples, it’s not the best mattress for sex. The dense foam makes it a bit difficult to move from one position to another. If this is a dealbreaker for you, we suggest the hybrid version of the Emma.

Other Customer reviews

Based on 65,032 reviews from the Emma website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5. Many users are thrilled with the Emma’s ability to keep them cool throughout the night. Some, however, have had very negative experiences with the delivery process and the Emma customer-service team. 

Read our full Emma mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

Saatva Loom & LeafBest Memory Foam Mattress for Back Pain

Best for Back Pain

Loom & Leaf Mattress

Loom & Leaf is a perfect choice for those looking for a luxury memory foam feel but don't want to sleep hot.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Back Pain

Loom & Leaf Mattress

Loom & Leaf is a perfect choice for those looking for a luxury memory foam feel but don't want to sleep hot.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Back Pain

Loom & Leaf Mattress

Loom & Leaf is a perfect choice for those looking for a luxury memory foam feel but don't want to sleep hot.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Isolates motion very well
Cooling features
Durable build
Cons
May feel too slow-moving even for memory foam lovers
Pricier pick

Our Expert’s Take

In the core of the Saatza Loom & Leaf mattress is the so-named “Spinal Zone Gel,” a panel that adds temperature regulation and spinal support, making the bed one of the best memory foam mattresses for those with back pain. That’s especially an important consideration if you’re getting an all-foam mattress rather than a hybrid: In lieu of zoned support and dense foams, you may find your spine slumping, exacerbating aches and pains. And beneath the Loom & Leaf’s gel foam is a 2” layer of denser memory foam that contours to your body, all atop a base of polyfoam.

Altogether, the durable layers of foam earned Loom & Leaf solid scores for overall support (4.5/5), edge support (4.5/5), and motion transfer (5/5). A cotton cover tops off the Loom & Leaf — its breathability helped the bed earn a solid 4/5 cooling score from mattress testers.

What our testers say: “As a heavier person I really enjoyed side-sleeping on the Loom & Leaf mattress. The firm foams kept my spine aligned. My only recommendation would be for heavier stomach and back sleepers to get the Firm model, rather than the Relaxed Firm that we tested in the mattress lab, for added hip support.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Loom & Leaf

  • The Loom & Leaf is furnished in multiple firmnesses, Relaxed Firm and Firm, which makes it a viable bed for all sleepers with back pain — side sleepers should enjoy the pressure relief of the Relaxed Firm, while back and stomach sleepers get enough support on the Firm model.
  • This mattress uses very slow-moving foams, so motion doesn’t transfer across the sleep surface. Testers said that if you have a partner who tends to make frequent position changes or bathroom breaks, you won’t feel their movements.

What to Keep in Mind About the Loom & Leaf

  • Saatva is a luxury mattress brand that doesn’t furnish a humble bed (like, say the Costo-exclusive Casper Select). Of course we think the investment is worthwhile, but know that any Saatva mattress, including the Loom & Leaf, is a steep investment that may be beyond some budgets.

Other Customer reviews

The Loom & Leaf mattress had an impressive 4.9 out of 5 rating based on 595 reviews from the company website when we last inspected. The overwhelming positive reviews cite Saatva’s customer service, and multiple customers said the bed solved their back pain, including this purchaser: “I had to switch out my previous purchase for a memory foam bed (Loom & Leaf), which was a fantastic choice! I have lots of back issues and this bed solved my ‘waking up every day in pain’ issue.”

Read our full Saatva Loom and Leaf mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Pain for more great options.

Nolah Signature – Best Memory Foam Alternative

Best Memory Foam Alternative

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Memory Foam Alternative

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Memory Foam Alternative

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
Great motion isolation
Durable enough to last 7-10 years
A good choice for side sleepers
Cons
Stomach sleepers will need a firmer option

Our Expert’s Take

The Nolah Signature mattress uses a proprietary foam called AirFoam that has some unique properties to help with pressure relief and to help keep you cool at night. While the top layers of the Nolah Signature still offer the slow-moving feel of memory foam, the AirFoam is balanced enough to allow you to move around freely on the mattress without sinking into it.

What the testers say: “During my testing, I found the Nolah Signature to be easy to move around on, which made switching positions easy. I’d recommend this bed to those who like memory foam, but don’t want to feel stuck in their mattress.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Signature

  • Unlike the Emma, the Nolah Signature is very responsive. This means it’s a great all-foam option for sex.
  • We consider this one of the best mattresses for side sleepers. As we tested, we all felt fantastic on our sides. The Airfoam relieved a ton of pressure in our hips and our shoulders.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Signature

  • The edge support on the Nolah Signature is quite weak. Seniors who may have trouble getting in and out of bed will want something with a stronger, more reliable perimeter. We suggest checking out our list of the best mattresses for seniors

Other Customer reviews

The Nolah Signature has an average rating of 4.9 out of 5 based on 440 reviews from the company website. Many 5-star reviews point out that the mattress works wonders for back pain. However, some side sleepers say that they don’t receive enough pressure relief on the Nolah.

Read our full Nolah Signature mattress review for more information. 

Brooklyn Bedding Plank – Best Firm Memory Foam Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Has a balanced foam feel
Great for light and average-weight sleepers
Great for some back sleepers
Cons
Stomach sleepers will need more support
Not great for larger side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Brooklyn Bedding Plank is a not-so-standard memory foam mattress. Why? Because it’s flippable. One side of the mattress is slightly more plush, and the other side is ultra-firm (Measuring 9/10 on our firmness scale). Both sides are swaddled in a breathable cover, and you have the option to add an even more cooling panel — an excellent option for hot sleepers since the bed netted a so-so 3.5/5 cooling score from testers in the mattress lab. A dense foam core supports both sides.

The Plank is also under $1,332 without coupons, but can sometimes run as low as $750 with coupons, making it a great value mattress.

What the testers say: “Both sides of the Plank are super firm and supportive, even for heavier sleepers, making it a great memory foam option for firm mattress lovers. Lightweight side sleepers might have a little trouble however getting enough pressure relief on their shoulders, even on the softer side, which measures a 6.5/10 firmness.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Plank

  • This mattress is great for particular sleepers, as it accommodates two different firmness preferences. If you usually love an ultra-firm mattress but are feeling sore after a marathon, for instance, being able to use the Plank’s soft side is an excellent perk.
  • Thanks to its firm build, the Plank has excellent overall support and edge support. Both categories scored a perfect 5/5 in the mattress lab with testers.
  • The cooling cover, which can be added at check-out, is an excellent accessory for hotter sleepers.

What to Keep in Mind About the Plank

  • The hard give-and-take and responsiveness of the Plank means it also lacks motion isolation. Consider the Plank Firm Luxe for a bed that better isolates movement across the surface.
  • Side sleepers might wake up sore after sleeping on the Plank. Even the softer side is quite firm, especially for lightweight sleepers.

Other Customer reviews

The Plank has an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 3,188 reviews from the company website. As indicated by the high score, customers don’t have too many bad things to say about the Plank. Many of them call out the great support and comfort that the Plank provides. Some dissatisfied customers alternatively found the bed too firm or not firm enough.

Read our full Plank mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Firm Mattresses for more great options.

Leesa – Best Memory Foam Mattress for Back Sleepers

Best Memory Foam Mattress for Back Sleepers

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress for Back Sleepers

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress for Back Sleepers

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Great for couples
Great for hot sleepers
Good motion isolation
Cons
Stomach sleepers likely won’t feel enough support on this mattress
Doesn’t offer the typical slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

The Leesa is a mattress that has a balanced feel, offering both comfort and support. This is what makes it a good fit for back sleepers. The top layers of foam – Leesa’s LSA200 foam, are contouring, and allow the hips and spine to sink into the mattress comfortably, and the support layer underneath does just what it’s supposed to, offer support to the spine preventing it from sinking too deeply into the mattress.

What our testers say: “I really enjoyed back sleeping on the Leesa. The mattress offered a balance of support and comfort, and my back sank into the top layers of the mattress while still being supported by the layers underneath.”  – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Leesa

  • This mattress works well for back sleepers of any size, thanks to its middle-of-the-road firmness, comfortable foam layers, and supportive construction. 
  • The Leesa is quite affordable, considering its quality. A queen can usually be purchased for just over $1,000.

What to Keep in Mind About the Leesa

  • If you’re a hot sleeper, the Leesa may not be for you. It doesn’t do a great job of staying cool at night because its foam layers tend to trap body heat. 
  • Stomach sleepers, particularly heavyweight stomach sleepers, will likely want a firmer mattress. The Plank Firm Luxe will provide the firmness you need to keep your hips from sinking into the mattress at all.

Other Customer reviews

Based on 19,980 reviews from the Leesa website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.5 out of 5. Many customers excitedly share that the Leesa provides them with the best sleep they’ve ever had. That said, there are some unhappy customers who complain that the Leesa doesn’t provide enough support and even caused them back pain. 

Read our full Leesa mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers for more great options.

Other Memory Foam Mattresses We Like

While these mattresses didn’t make our top recommendations, these mattresses are still a great option for people who are looking for a true memory foam mattress. If the mattresses above didn’t fit your needs, check out our recommendations below.

TEMPUR-LuxeBreeze

The TEMPUR-LUXEbreeze is Tempur's coolest offering and a fantastic option for hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

90 Nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

TEMPUR-LuxeBreeze

The TEMPUR-LUXEbreeze is Tempur's coolest offering and a fantastic option for hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

90 Nights

Price Range

$$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

TEMPUR-LuxeBreeze

The TEMPUR-LUXEbreeze is Tempur's coolest offering and a fantastic option for hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

90 Nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
SmartClimate Cover helps regulate heat making this a great option for hot sleepers
Motion Isolation was exceptional making this a great mattress for couples
Side Sleepers should feel the perfect amount of support to keep their bodies in good alignment
Cons
Stomach sleepers might find this mattress to not give enough support under their hips
A more luxury mattress so shoppers on a budget should avoid this model
Those with mobility issues might want to find a different mattress to fit their needs

Casper Original Mattress

casper original hero

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Original Mattress

casper original hero

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
casper original hero

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Good option for back sleepers due to the zone support system
Balanced foam allows sleepers to move around at night, making this a good mattress for couples
Cons
Heavy people wont get the pressure relief they need from this mattress
Not firm enough for stomach sleepers

What We Test When Reviewing a Memory Foam Mattress

  • Firmness: We approximate the bed’s level of firmness based on the experiences of multiple testers with varying body weights. We also test both sides of flippable beds.
  • Motion isolation: We test for a bed’s motion isolation abilities in both an objective and more subjective way. The more objective measure is our water glass test, where we observe the level of disturbance in glass of water when pressing into the foam. And in a measure more reflective of real-life scenario, we have testers share the bed and rate the level of the disturbance they feel as the other tester gets in and out of bed and switches positions.
  • Pressure relief: On each of the memory foam mattresses, our senior editors and sleep science coaches tested different sleeping positions. These testers also boast an array of body types, helping us collect a comprehensive understanding of a mattress’s pressure relief potential.
  • Cooling: A nap test is our most important measure of a bed’s cooling capabilities. We want to see how the tester feels when they wake up from having snuggled into a memory foam bed. Testers use the same pillow and blankets for consistency. We also assess the bed’s cover for feel and breathability.

What You Should Consider When Choosing a Memory Foam Mattress

  • Motion Isolation: As we noted before, superior motion isolation tends to be one of the most appealing aspects of an all-foam bed. Couples looking to make a joint purchase should especially pay attention to how well-regarded the bed’s motion isolation is.
  • Contouring: When it comes to contouring, foams are certainly not created equal. Would you want to sleep on a mattress made from pool noodle foam, for instance? We didn’t think so. For most folks, sleep position will largely determine how much contouring you need in a memory foam mattress. Side sleepers, in particular, should seek beds that boast more contouring foams, since otherwise you run the risk of soreness or numbness on the side of your body that touches the sleep surface.
  • Edge Support: Hybrid beds typically have better edge support, so if edge support is an especially important factor to you, perhaps opt for a bed with reinforced coils on the edge. That said, memory foam brands have improved their ability to make a robust perimeter, especially beds with dense, durable foams, like latex.
  • Bed-in-a-Box Delivery: New mattress buyers often especially enjoy the ease with which you can buy a memory foam mattress online, since most of them arrive rolled up in a box. That way, if you’re halfway into a move and need to leave some floor space free, you can leave your mattress packed tight for a little while. When you’re ready to set up the bed too, you can scoot the box close to its final destination before unboxing for quick and easy placement on the frame — no awkward navigating through door frames required.

What Does Memory Foam Feel Like?

If someone pushes their hand into memory foam and then quickly removes it, the foam takes several seconds to return to its initial form.

Lying on a memory foam mattress, people will feel that they’re slowly sinking into the surface. There’s almost no bounce at all, and it’s harder to move around and switch positions in bed. Some people absolutely love this feel, while others don’t like it at all.

Memory foam is known for the pressure-relieving qualities that come with the sinking and slow-moving feel of these types of mattresses, so if you’re shopping for a mattress for joint pain, memory foam could be a great option for you!

Who Should Buy a Memory Foam Mattress?

  • Side sleepers and/or people who want extra pressure relief.
  • People who like the feeling of slowly sinking into their mattress.
  • People who want a mattress that makes no noise.
  • People with pain in their hips, shoulders, or back. Memory foam tends to conform to the curves of the body, meaning it promotes solid spinal alignment. It can also be some of the best material for addressing lower back pain and sciatica.
  • People looking for a mattress with an adjustable bed frame.

Who Shouldn’t Buy a Memory Foam Mattress?

  • People who want a bouncy sleeping surface. If you like your mattress to have more give-and-take, consider a hybrid. The innerspring core adds bounciness, making switching positions more seamless.
  • People who like the feeling of sleeping on top of their mattress rather than slowly sinking into it.
  • People who are concerned about sleeping hot. See our list of the Best Cooling Mattresses for some of the most breathable mattresses out there.

What Are the Different Types of Memory Foam?

  • Standard Memory Foam: This refers to memory foam that doesn’t feature additional formulations or infusions. The density can range between 2.5 and 7 lb. Standard memory foam will have a slower response and is more likely to trap heat than specialty memory foam.
  • Gel Memory Foam: One of the big innovations in the sleep industry has been to infuse gel beads into memory foam. The gel will ideally act as a conductor to draw heat away, which helps make for a cooler sleeping surface. Some studies show that this can be a fairly effective way to prevent the foam from overheating, but the effect may be limited.
  • Plant-Based Memory Foam: Some memory foam has a portion of it replaced with bio-based foam (typically from soy). This makes the foam a little more “green,” even if it is only 25 to 30% plant-based.
  • Copper-Infused Memory Foam: Copper is a natural heat conductor and features excellent moisture-wicking capabilities. It will help draw heat and moisture away from sleepers and allow them to sleep cooler at night. In addition, it’s anti-microbial and will help keep the mattress free of mold, mildew, and odors.
  • Open-Celled Memory Foam: Some memory foam is more “open-celled,” which means its chemical nature has been altered to be more breathable.
  • Fast-Response Memory Foam: Some mattress companies have recently developed memory foam that’s faster to respond than standard memory foam. This prevents the feeling of getting stuck which some sleepers often complain about.
Nectar Classic Mattress - Edge Support
Testing the Nectar in the mattress testing lab

Memory Foam Density Level and Firmness

When reading memory foam mattress reviews, customers will come across density levels quite a bit. Typically, I have found (and studies show) that the higher the density, the following is true:

  • More materials go into a higher-density foam, so you should almost always expect to pay more for it. High-density foams will usually be higher than 4 lb. A medium density will be in the 3.5 to 4 lb. range, and low-density will be anything 3 lb. or less.
  • Generally, the higher the density, the longer the mattress will last.
  • The higher the density of the foam, the less motion transfer one will experience. Those who sleep with a partner should consider a mattress with high-density memory foam.
  • More density means more support. Higher-density foam does a better job of contouring the body so, if someone has back pain, they will want a higher-density memory foam mattress.

One last thing to consider regarding density is Indentation Load Deflection (ILD), the measure of how firm the memory foam is in a mattress. More specifically, it’s a measure of how much weight or force must be put on the memory foam to compress it by 25%. The higher the number, the more weight has to be applied to compress that memory foam. So in a nutshell, the higher the ILD, the firmer the memory foam. A mattress with an ILD of 10–12 is going to be softer than one that has an ILD of 18–20.

RELATED: Best Mattress for Neck and Shoulder Pain

Simmons Foam Mattress - Construction
Testing the construction of a foam mattress in our lab

How Much Memory Foam Should Be in a Mattress?

Some mattresses will have just an inch or two of memory foam, while others will have four to six inches. Customers should take note of how much of this material is actually in the mattresses they’re considering.

Sleep PositionHow Much Memory Foam Do You Need?
Stomach sleepers1 to 2 inches
Back sleepers2 to 3 inches
Side sleepers3 to 5 inches
  • Stomach sleepers don’t need quite as much pressure relief and need to prevent their hips from sinking in too far. For this reason, they’ll only want one or two inches of memory foam in their mattress.
  • Back sleepers will want their hips to sink in a little bit so that the foam can conform to the curves of the body and their lumbar area can be properly supported. Two or three inches of memory foam should do the trick.
  • Side sleepers usually need more pressure relief, which means they need more “comfort” material, especially if they’re a heavier sleeper. Three to five inches of memory foam should give them the best sleeping experience.

What Makes a Memory Foam Mattress More or Less Expensive?

Thicker layers of memory foamThinner layers of memory foam
High-density foamLower-density foam
Has cooling featuresDoes not use cooling technology
Uses coils for the support layerUses poly foam for the support layer
  • If the mattress contains a thick layer of memory foam on top, then the mattress will more than likely be more expensive due to the extra materials used in its construction.
  • If the memory foam used in the mattress is higher-density, that typically means the mattress will be more expensive, but also more durable.
  • If the memory foam has been chemically formulated to sleep cool or be more breathable, the mattress will probably be more expensive. Cooling features to keep an eye out for that may make a mattress more expensive include Phase Change Material, copper infusions, and gel infusions.
  • If the mattress uses coils as the support system instead of poly foam, it will probably be more expensive. However, foam hybrid constructions like this can be more long-lasting than an all-foam construction.

How Do You Keep Memory Foam Mattresses from Sleeping Hot?

Using plant-based foam has been shown to be very effective, as has a laminating layer of gel onto the foam. Companies can also use “open-celled” foam, which is a type of foam that allows more air to pass freely through it.

When it comes to gel, mattress companies really turn on the marketing machine. They will charge customers thousands of dollars more for certain types of gels that aren’t actually more effective (though they do sound amazing). One material to keep an eye out for that really does help with cooling is Phase Change Material. At a very basic level, Phase Change Material absorbs body heat throughout the night, pulling it away from you and storing it until you cool off. At this point, it will release the heat to help regulate your body temperature. The Nectar Premier Copper is one of my favorite memory foam mattresses that features this material.

Off-Gassing Memory Foam Mattresses

New memory foam mattresses typically give off a chemical smell when they’re unboxed. This is called “mattress off-gassing.” It’s not a concern for the long term, but the smell can potentially last as long as a week, depending on the mattress brand. With some mattresses, the smell is very faint and completely goes away within 24 hours. Either way, just place the bed in a well-ventilated room or open a window so it has time to off-gas.

Memory Foam vs Other Mattress Types

Memory Foam vs Innerspring Mattresses

memory foam vs innerspring
  • Memory foam generally provides better pressure relief than spring mattresses, and it also conforms better to the curves of the body, potentially helping to promote better spinal alignment. This can make memory foam significantly better for people with pain issues.
  • Spring mattresses do tend to sleep cooler because the coils can promote airflow through the mattress, while the chemical nature of memory foam makes those mattresses potentially trap heat more easily.
  • Spring mattresses have more bounce overall. Depending on personal preference, this could be positive or negative.

RELATED: Memory Foam vs Innerspring Mattresses

Memory Foam vs Latex Mattresses

memory foam vs latex
  • Memory foam will have better pressure relief than latex mattresses do, and it will also be better at conforming to the curves of the body.
  • In general, latex mattresses will sleep cooler than memory foam because of the more open-celled chemical makeup of latex.
  • Latex mattresses will be much bouncier than memory foam mattresses.
  • Memory foam is slow-reacting and akin to quicksand, while Latex is immediately responsive.

RELATED: Memory Foam vs Latex Mattresses

Memory Foam vs Hybrid Mattresses

Memory Foam vs Hybrid
  • Because they combine a foam comfort layer (or layers) with support coils rather than polyfoam, hybrid mattresses should be more expensive on average. Coils tend to be pricier to manufacture than polyfoam.
  • Hybrid mattresses should have a little more bounce than standard memory foam mattresses.
  • Hybrid mattresses will be a little bit more breathable because the coils leave so much space for air to flow.

RELATED: Memory Foam vs Hybrid Mattresses

Summary

Here’s a summary of our top picks for the best memory foam mattresses:

MattressSuperlativePrice (Queen)
NectarBest Overall$1099.00
Helix MidnightBest Hybrid Memory Foam Mattress for Couples$1373.80
Bear OriginalBest Memory Foam Mattress for Athletes$998.00
WinkBeds GravityLuxBest Memory Foam Mattress for Combination Sleepers$1799.00
EmmaBest Cooling Memory Foam Mattress$1399.00
Saatva Loom & LeafBest Memory Foam Mattress for Back Pain$2395.00
Nolah SignatureBest Alternative Memory Foam Mattress$1799.00
Brooklyn Bedding PlankBest Firm Memory Foam Mattress$1332.00
LeesaBest Memory Foam Mattress for Back Sleepers$1299.00

FAQs

What are the benefits of memory foam mattresses?

When it comes to pros, memory foam mattresses are very comfortable and can relieve pressure especially well since the foam contours the body. They can also help relieve hip and back pain. This may be especially beneficial for side sleepers. Memory foam mattresses may also be beneficial for couples or for people who toss and turn often in their sleep since there is little motion transfer in foam mattresses.

What are some of the issues with memory foam mattresses?

When it comes to cons, memory foam mattresses are sometimes known for sleeping hot since the material doesn’t always allow for a lot of airflow. The fact that memory foam contours the body also may make you feel like you’re sinking in the mattress and may make it more difficult to change positions at night.

What is the best inexpensive memory foam mattress?

Those who are seeking an inexpensive memory foam mattress should consider the Nectar and Dreamfoam Essential mattresses. The Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that costs between about $800.00 and $1300.00 for a Queen-size. Dreamfoam offers their Essential mattress for just under $500.00 for a Queen. If you’re after some of the benefits of a memory foam mattress without having to spend too much money, you could also consider a memory foam mattress topper.

What is the best memory foam mattress for side sleepers?

Side sleepers are going to want to find a mattress that is softer-than-average. We recommend the Layla and, to talk about a mattress that isn’t on this list, the Amerisleep AS4. Both mattresses are softer-than-average and should relieve most pressure on the shoulders and hips. The Layla and Amerisleep AS4 also performed very well on our pressure map test.

Are memory foam mattresses good for your back?

Like anything else, it depends on the sleeper and the mattress. But in general, a memory foam mattress that’s close to medium-firm and conforms to the shape of the sleeper’s body should be good for your back. The Leesa is an example of such a bed.

Does a memory foam mattress need a box spring?

The answer is more complex than you think. On one hand, a memory foam mattress is firm enough to lie flat on a floor or any other type of level surface. On the other hand, a box spring provides additional support, and you may also enjoy the extra height it provides. However, you only want to use one if you have a metal bed frame. If you have a platform bed, wooden slats, or adjustable bed as your sleep foundation, you shouldn’t use a box spring.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.