Best California King Mattresses

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

If you want the biggest mattress possible, a California king will have you sleeping like royalty.

To help you find the most regal of beds, I personally tested hundreds of mattresses and rounded up a list of of the best California kings. Keep reading to learn more about each bed’s firmness, feel, construction, price point, and more.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best California King Mattress?

The Helix Midnight Luxe is the best California king mattress, thanks to its high-quality construction and cooling features.

Best California King Mattresses: Our Top Picks

Best California King Mattress: Video Review

Compare the Best California King Mattresses

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Nectar Mattress DreamCloud Premier Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort WinkBed Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Saatva Mattress Bear Original Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Titan Plus
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Nectar Mattress DreamCloud Premier Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort WinkBed Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Saatva Mattress Bear Original Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Titan Plus
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 8/10 Multiple firmness options Soft: 6/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 9/10
Material Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Foam Innerspring Foam Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Combination Back & Side Back Back & Stomach Combination Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Back Back & Stomach

How We Chose Our Top Picks

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

Latex mattress testing in our studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

For this list of the best California king mattresses, we gathered a list of mattresses that range in terms of firmness, mattress type, and price. These mattresses are all available in a California king size and scored high during our general mattress testing.

Best Cooling California King Mattress – Helix Midnight Luxe

Best Cooling Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994
Best Cooling Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Soft and plush for side sleeping
Very durable
Has zoned support, which is helpful for back sleepers
Cons
Too soft for stomach sleeping
Could be too pricey for some people

Our Expert’s Take

Next on our royal tour, we have the Helix Midnight Luxe mattress. This mattress comes from Helix, a brand that is all about options. Helix offers mattresses that run the gamut from soft to firm, plush to supportive. One of the brand’s most popular models is the Helix Midnight Luxe, a luxurious hybrid mattress.

The Helix Midnight Luxe features a plush pillow top, multiple layers of comfortable and supportive foam, and extra-supportive, zoned coils. This luxury design creates a sleeping surface that is both supportive and comfortable. At a perfect medium-firm, the Helix Midnight Luxe is ideal for back sleepers. You will feel your hips sink into the pillow top, while the zoning provides extra lumbar support.

If you want to avoid sleeping hot, the California King Helix Midnight Luxe is the cooling mattress you are looking for. It is breathable and features an airflow-promoting Tencel cover. If you like it even colder, opt for the GlacioTex™ cooling cover.

What our testers say: “The Helix Midnight Luxe is a step up from the standard Helix Midnight in every way. The memory foam on top is much thicker and it felt very good while I rested on my back and side. Back sleepers will also enjoy the zoned coils, which really helps with lumbar support. It is a luxury mattress, but well worth it.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • The Helix Midnight Luxe has a thick comfort layer, which is great for side sleepers because it cushions joints.
  • This is a very thick mattress made with high-grade coils. We expect it to last at least a decade.
  • It has a zoned support system, which means it feels firmer toward the center and softer near the head and the foot. This helps sleepers maintain the correct spinal alignment in different sleeping positions.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • It’s not supportive enough for stomach sleepers. If you rest on your stomach, you may want to consider the Emma Hybrid Comfort.
  • This is one of Helix’s higher-end beds, so it has a bigger price tag. If you’re on a tighter budget, you may want to consider the Nectar mattress.

Other User Reviews

On the Helix website, the Midnight Luxe mattress has an average customer review score of 4.4/5. Many people said it was very easy to order the bed, and others said it had a well balanced feel. A few people left one-star reviews and said the mattress caved in toward the center.

Read the full Helix Midnight Luxe mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight Luxe mattress, check out our list of the best cooling mattresses.

Best California King Memory Foam Mattress – Nectar Classic

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Good for side sleepers
Supportive enough for back sleepers
An affordable choice
Cons
Too soft for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

When you’re on the hunt for the best California king mattress, you want to keep your feel preferences in mind. If you like to lie on your mattress and slowly sink in, memory foam is going to do the trick. And, if you want memory foam fit for a king, take a look at the Nectar Classic mattress.

The Nectar Classic is an all-foam mattress that contains gel memory foam, responsive polyfoam, and supportive coils. This design gives you the benefits of memory foam without the drawbacks. Namely, you’ll get that soft memory foam experience without getting trapped or feeling stuck.

Memory foam mattresses are often a good match for side sleepers, and the Nectar Classic is no exception. It will provide nice pressure relief for the shoulders and hips while still keeping you in good alignment.

What our testers say: “The Nectar mattress is full of foam, and what I enjoy about it is how it makes pressure along my shoulders and hips disappear. It can be difficult to move around for some, but fans of memory foam should really enjoy this bed.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love about the Nectar

  • The Nectar Classic mattress has a soft memory foam comfort layer, which is great for side sleepers who need pressure relief.
  • Thanks to its high-density base layer, the Nectar Classic mattress is supportive enough for most back sleepers.
  • It’s one of the most affordable, high-quality California king mattresses.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • Stomach sleepers won’t get the hip support they need on the Nectar Classic mattress; they could develop lower back pain.

Other User Reviews

Customers rated this mattress an average score of 4.7/5 on the Nectar website. One person said this mattress significantly reduced their back pain, and others praised the excellent customer service representatives. However, some people left one-star reviews and said the mattress felt too soft. One person said they were mistakenly given a queen mattress rather than a king.

Read the full Nectar Classic mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nectar Classic mattress, check out our list of the best memory foam mattresses for more great options!

Best for Side Sleepers – DreamCloud Premier

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality, luxury mattress that should appeal to a wide range of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Bouncy and easy to move around on
Contains breathable materials
Great for average-weight back sleepers
Cons
Not ideal for memory foam fans

Our Expert’s Take

When you’re shopping for a California King, you may need a slightly larger budget to work with. If your royal purse only contains $2,000, don’t worry. The DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality California king mattress that costs less than $2,000.

The DreamCloud Premier is a hybrid mattress that contains some very high-quality materials. It features a soft, luxurious cashmere blend cover quilted with high-density foam. This creates a soft pillow top feel similar to what you might experience in a nice hotel. Below the pillow top, there are even more layers of foam over supportive coils.

This design creates a medium-firm sleeping surface that will work well for most back sleepers. The pillow top offers some nice contouring and comfort while the coils hold up your body. Average weight side sleepers could also feel some good pressure relief on the DreamCloud Premier.

What our testers say: “The DreamCloud Premier has it all: a bouncy feel, a pillow top comfort layer, and a breathable construction. I felt most comfortable while I was on my back, but it also works well for average weight side sleepers.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud Premier

  • It has a classic hybrid construction, and the coils make it easy to move around on.
  • This mattress has a breathable cover and airflow-promoting coils, so it’s a great choice for hot sleepers.
  • Thanks to its medium-firm feel, it offers plenty of lumbar support for average-weight back sleepers.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud Premier

  • Because of its hybrid construction, it lacks a slow-moving feel. If you want to gently “sink” into your mattress, you may want to consider the Nectar Classic instead.
  • This mattress has a medium-firm feel, so it may not be supportive enough for stomach sleepers.

Other User Reviews

On the DreamCloud website, the DreamCloud Premier earns a customer review score of 4.5/5 stars. One customer said the mattress was “life changing,” and others said the medium-firm feel helped alleviate back pain. Some customers, on the other hand, said the mattress wasn’t supportive enough.

Read the full DreamCloud Premier mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the DreamCloud Premier mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for side sleepers for more great options!

Best Hybrid California King Mattress – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Hybrid

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
emma comfort hybrid us airtable
Best Hybrid

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
California Kings are less than $1,700, often much less on sale
Enough bounce for combination sleepers
Plenty of cooling features
Cons
Bad for most side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

A good hybrid mattress takes advantage of the combination of materials to provide a sleep experience with wide appeal. The Emma Hybrid Comfort delivers on this expectation, and for the reasonable price of $1,649 before sales discounts are applied. We had all of our mattress testers rest on the bed, from light- to heavyweight, and all of them were able to find comfort in at least one sleeping position. 

The Hybrid Comfort is one of Emma’s newest models and, while it wasn’t developed specifically for heavy sleepers, its layers of supportive foam and sturdy coils make it a comfortable bed for people up to about 300 lbs. It’s also a bed that sleeps cool. The Hybrid Comfort’s memory foam does a good job of allowing airflow and its cover helps wick away sweat.

What our testers say: “I started out back sleeping on the Emma Hybrid Comfort. Because I weigh more than 270 lb, my weight was enough to compress the top layers of the mattress just a bit. I personally felt comfortable in this position, but back sleepers who like their hips to sink in more or simply prefer a softer feel will want to look elsewhere. ” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • It’s made with high-quality materials, and it’s sold at a low price. For about $1,600, you can get a mattress that will last at least 10 years.
  • It has a bouncy and responsive feel, which is great for people who switch sleeping positions throughout the night.
  • It’s a cooling mattress with a breathable cover and airflow-promoting coils.

Cons of the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • It might be too firm for some average-weight people. This mattress works particularly well for people who weigh more than 230 lbs.

Other User Reviews

On the Emma mattress website, the Hybrid Comfort mattress has an overall customer review score of 4.8/5. Many back and side sleepers said they got the comfort and support they needed. One person left a three-star review and complained that the packaging was ripped whenever the mattress arrived.

Read the full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Emma, check out our list of the best hybrid mattresses for more great options.

Best California King Mattress for Back Pain – The WinkBed

Best Mattress for Back Pain

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Pain

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
WinkBed
Best Mattress for Back Pain

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Has a bouncy, traditional feel
Won’t trap heat
Comes in multiple firmnesses
Cons
Might be pricey for some

Our Expert’s Take

If you struggle with back pain, whether you know it or not, your mattress might be to blame. Choosing a California king mattress such as the WinkBed could help prevent and alleviate back pain.

The WinkBed features a comfortable pillow top over supportive zoned coils. The WinkBed’s hybrid construction and zoning both work to support your lumbar area and keep your spine neutrally aligned.

Depending on your sleeping position, you can also choose from one of three firmness options. Side sleepers with back pain should opt for the Softer model, back sleepers the Luxury Firm, and stomach sleepers the Firmer model. The WinkBed has something for back pain sufferers of all stripes.

What our testes say: “Beds that feature zoned coils are great for back pain, and the WinkBed is one of the best out there. Zoned coils mean the bed will feel much firmer in the center, which provides lumbar support. I really felt it when testing the WinkBed and it really helps support my back.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • It has a classic innerspring construction, which makes it particularly durable. It’s also very easy to move around on top of this mattress.
  • The cover is breathable, and the coils promote airflow. This makes the WinkBed mattress a great option for people who sleep hot at night.
  • Because it’s available in four firmness levels, it works for a variety of people. Take a look at our WinkBed Plus review if you’re looking for a particularly supportive mattress.

Cons of the WinkBed

  • A California king WinkBed mattress costs over $2,000 at regular price, which could be out of some people’s price ranges. Take a look at the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid if you are on a bit of a budget.

Other User Reviews

On the WinkBed website, you’ll find many favorable reviews. Many customers said the mattress helped alleviate pain, and others said it was a great value. It’s important to note, though, that WinkBed does not publish any reviews lower than five stars.

Read the full WinkBed mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the WinkBed mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for back pain for more great options!

Best California King Mattress in a Box – Nolah Original

Best Bed In A Box

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

Nolah Original 10

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Bed In A Box

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

Nolah Original 10

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Nolah Original 10
Best Bed In A Box

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
Good for side sleepers
Won’t trap heat
Comes with a lifetime warranty
Cons
Not supportive enough for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Did you know that royal comfort can come in a box? With the click of a button, you can have a high-quality online mattress delivered right to your doorstep – a mattress like the Nolah Original.

The Nolah Original is an all-foam mattress that offers the benefits of memory foam with few of the drawbacks. Lying on the Nolah, you will sink into its soft surface, but you should not feel like you are stuck in the mattress. This is because the bed’s proprietary Airfoam, which is soft but responsive as well.

The Airfoam is also designed to be more breathable than memory foam and should not trap body heat. Hot sleepers should be sleeping comfortably on the cooling Nolah Original mattress. That’s a lot of mattress to come out of one box!

What our testers say: “Bed-in-a-box mattresses are super convenient these days, and Nolah’s stands out amongst many of them. The foam is proprietary, called AirFoam, and won’t trap heat. It also feels much more responsive than traditional foam. I liked it for side sleeping because it offered a lot of pressure relief.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Original

  • It’s softer than average, which makes it a nice choice for many side sleepers. The plush foam layers will help cushion joints and alleviate pain.
  • Even though it’s an all-foam mattress, the proprietary AirFoam helps dissipate body heat and keep sleepers cool.
  • It has some impressive customer service terms, such as a lifetime warranty and 120-night sleep trial period.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Original

  • It’s not supportive enough for stomach sleepers. If you rest on your stomach, you may want to consider getting a firm mattress that’s at least a 7.5/10 on our firmness scale.
  • It lacks a bouncy and responsive feel. If this is what you’re looking for, you may want to consider the WinkBed instead.

Other User Reviews

On Nolah’s website, you’ll see dozens of five-star reviews. One customer said this bed “lives up to the hype,” and other people said it offers excellent pressure relief. Because Nolah doesn’t publish reviews with less than five stars, I am unable to point out any negative customer feedback.

Read the full Nolah Original mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nolah Original mattress, check out our list of the best bed in a box mattresses for more great options!

Best California King for Back Sleepers – Saatva Classic

Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Bouncy and easy to move on
Very supportive
Won’t trap heat
Cons
Too firm for heavier side sleepers
Doesn’t have a memory foam feel

Our Expert’s Take

When it comes to back sleeping, it’s all about balance. You need a mattress that is comfortable and will hug your curves, allowing your hips to sink in. At the same time, you need support to ensure you don’t sink in too far. The Saatva Classic strikes this balance perfectly.

The Saatva Classic is an innerspring mattress with a high-end design. It features not one but two sets of coils. It also boasts a zoned construction, pillow top, and is available in three firmnesses.

Back sleepers should prefer the Luxury Firm Saatva Classic model. It offers the best balance of comfort and support and works to keep you in perfect neutral spinal alignment. You will experience good lumbar support while the plush pillow top relieves pressure and conforms to your body.

What our testers say: “Saatva is great for its versatility, but the Luxury Firm model really fits most people’s needs, but especially back sleepers. This bed is slightly firmer than average, which wasn’t super great for me when I was side sleeping, but with two sets of coils, back sleepers won’t bottom out.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva Classic

  • It has a classic innerspring construction with a tufted pillow top. This makes the mattress very durable and easy to move around on.
  • It’s available in three firmness levels: Plush Soft, Luxury Firm, and Firm. The Luxury Firm and Firm models offer ample lumbar support for back sleepers.
  • Thanks to its breathable organic cotton cover and thick coils, the Saatva mattress doesn’t trap body heat.

What to Keep in Mind about the Saatva Classic

  • The Luxury Firm and Firm models may be too firm for side sleepers. If you tend to rest on your side, you may want to get the Plush Soft model.
  • It lacks a slow-moving feel. If this is what you’re looking for, you may want to consider the Nectar Classic.

Other User Reviews

On Saatva’s website, the Saatva Classic mattress has an average customer review score of 4.8/5 stars. Many people said the mattress is high-quality and comfortable. Some people left one-star reviews, and they were mostly about delayed shipping times.

Read the full Saatva Classic mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Saatva mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for back sleepers for more great options!

Best California King Mattress for Couples – Bear Original

Best Mattress for Couples

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Couples

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame
Best Mattress for Couples

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Isolates motion well
Good for side sleepers
Has a slow-moving feel
Cons
Not very easy to move around on
Not supportive enough for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

If you sleep with a partner, a California king mattress could be just what the doctor ordered. A California king will give you and your partner more room to stretch out and move around. However, if you want a California king that is even better for couples, take a look at the Bear Original mattress.

The Bear Original is a memory foam mattress that will help cut down on motion transfer between partners. Memory foam can absorb the motion you and your partner make at night, ensuring you don’t disturb one another. You should be sleeping soundly on the Bear Original, even if your partner is jumping around on the other side.

Overheating is another issue that couples deal with. However, while it is an all-foam mattress, the Bear Original sleeps quite cool. With a breathable cover and cooling, gel-infused top layer, you and your partner shouldn’t feel like you’re sleeping in an oven.

What our testers say: “Couples usually want a mattress that lets both get out of bed or change positions without bothering the other. With a California King Bear mattress, that definitely won’t be a problem. Being an all-foam bed, it will absorb motion and you won’t notice anything. I like it for side sleeping, but back sleepers will get good body contouring, too.” – Joe Auer, Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Mattress

  • Thanks to its all-foam construction, the Bear mattress isolates motion well. This is great news for couples, because it means that people shouldn’t feel their partners moving during the night.
  • The plush foam layers offer plenty of pressure relief for side sleepers.
  • It has a slow-moving memory foam feel that many people love.

Cons of the Bear

  • Because of its slow-moving feel, it’s not very easy to move around on top of this mattress.
  • It’s not supportive enough for stomach sleepers. If you rest in this sleeping position, you may want to consider getting the firm model of the Saatva Classic.

Other User Reviews

The Bear Original mattress has earned an average customer review score of 4.5/5. On the Bear website, many customers raved about its plush feel and high-quality construction. Some people, on the other hand, left one star reviews and said the mattress felt too soft.

Read the full Bear Original mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Bear Original mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for couples for more great options!

Best Affordable California King Mattress – Brooklyn Bedding Signature

Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Affordable Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Available in many firmness levels
Won’t trap heat
Easy to move around on
Cons
Lacks many luxury features

Our Expert’s Take

One of the drawbacks of California king mattresses is that they cost more than smaller models. However, you can still get a comfortable, spacious California King without breaking the bank. That’s what Brooklyn Bedding is known for. They own their own factory and are able to price their bed-in-a-box mattresses very competitively.

The brand’s most popular model is the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress. This hybrid mattress contains high-density memory foam and a transition layer of proprietary VariFlex foam. Depending on your firmness preference, these layers might be thicker or thinner, giving you the exact comfort and support you desire.

I’m a big fan of the Medium model as it is a good match for multiple sleeping positions. It scored a 6.5/10 during my firmness tests, which is ideal for combination sleepers. Add in some good bounce, and you can move around with ease!

What our testers say: “Brooklyn Bedding makes a lot of mattresses, but they own their own factory, which helps customers save. The Brooklyn Bedding Signature is a great pick for a lot of people, as it has multiple firmnesses. I tested the medium and it worked really well on my side thanks to the thick foam. But it’s still easy to move around on with coils at the bottom” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • It’s available in three firmness levels: Soft, Medium, and Firm. This means it works for a variety of people.
  • Thanks to the breathable coils, this mattress won’t trap body heat.
  • It’s sold at a great price, especially after factoring in Mattress Clarity discounts.

Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

Other User Reviews

On the Brooklyn Bedding website, the Signature Hybrid mattress has earned an average customer review score of 4.7/5. Many people praised its motion isolation and price point. Some people who left one-star reviews said the mattress started to sag after a few years of use.

Read the full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding mattress, check out our list of the best cheap mattresses for more great options!

Best California King for Heavyweight People – Titan Plus

Best for Heavy People

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best for Heavy People

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
titan featured image
Best for Heavy People

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Good temperature regulation
Great for heavyweight stomach sleepers
Reliable edge support
Cons
Bad for lightweight sleepers
Poor motion isolation

Our Expert’s Take

If you only have $1,500 to spend on your new mattress, it may be difficult to find a quality California king for sleepers over 230 lbs. However, the Titan Plus retails for less than $1,500 for a California King and still features durable and supportive materials. Keep an eye out for sales and you may even be able to purchase it for less than $1,200.

The Titan Plus was designed specifically for heavy people. In fact, when our heavyweight tester rested on the mattress, he felt comfortable in every sleeping position. This is largely thanks to the support layers, which are made of 8” industrial coils as well as high-density memory foam. 

What our testers say: “The Titan Plus felt very supportive whenever I rested on my back. In fact, some sleepers might find that this mattress feels too supportive in this position. Because it’s very firm, my hips didn’t sink in much at all. That said, I did experience plenty of spinal support.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus

  • The Titan Plus earned a 4.5/5 on our edge support test, which is where we measure the strength of the mattress perimeter. When our testers rested along the edge, they noticed little to no sagging under their weight—this is even true of our heavyweight mattress tester. 
  • The firmness of the Titan Plus not only makes it a good fit for heavyweight people but also stomach sleepers. When Marten, our heavyweight tester, rested on his stomach he felt particularly well supported. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • Our lightweight mattress tasters found the Titan Plus to be uncomfortable pretty much across the board. Even our testers who fall between 130 and 230 lbs found the mattress to be too firm for them. Of the products on this list, we’d recommend that these types of people consider the DreamCloud Premier.

Other User Reviews

The Titan Plus has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 2,639 customer reviews on the company website. There are 21 5-star reviews that mention the mattress being a good match for heavyweight people. However, there are several 4-star reviews that note the mattress might be a little bit too firm for heavyweight side sleepers. 

Read the full Titan Plus mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Titan Plus mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for heavy people for more options.

Who Should Buy a California King Mattress?

Is a California king mattress right for you? Here are a few of the types of sleepers who should consider a California king.

twin xl vs. California king mattress size comparison
  • People with a more spacious bedroom. Let’s face it – California king size mattresses are big and take up quite a bit of space. If you have a large master bedroom with more space to play with, a California king is a great choice. Keep in mind that California king mattresses are 84” long, so your bedroom should be long enough to fit it.
  • Taller people. I’m 6’7”, and I personally sleep on a California king mattress. Even a regular king mattress is not long enough for someone of my height. It’s no fun to have your feet hanging off the end of the bed, and a California king gives you the most length possible.
  • Couples. If you sleep with a partner, California king mattresses are a great option. You get 72” of width, which is much wider than a 60” queen. That’s a lot of room for two sleepers to lie next to one another. Also, if you or your partner are on the taller side, a California king will offer the necessary space.

California King vs King Mattress

If you’ve narrowed down your decision to a king mattress, you’ll now have to decide between a standard king or a California king bed. A standard king mattress is 76” wide and 80” long, while a California king mattress is 72” wide and 84” long. Basically, a standard king size bed is wider, and a California king mattress is longer.

Because standard King and California king mattresses are usually the same price, choosing between them really comes down to your size, your partner’s size, and the size of your bedroom. If you and your partner are heavier weight, a standard king will be the better option. That extra 4” of width will give you and your partner more space horizontally.

However, if you and your partner are slimmer and taller, a California king size will be the better choice. You won’t need as much width, and that extra 4” of length could offer some clutch leg room.

You also want to keep the size of your bedroom in mind. Standard and California king mattresses are some of the largest mattresses out there, and you want to make sure your bedroom can accommodate them. If you have a wider bedroom that isn’t too long, a standard California king will fit your space better. If your bedroom is longer but not too wide, a California king could be the better choice.

RELATED: California King vs King 

California King vs Queen

Queen mattresses are extremely popular, but they are smaller than California king mattresses. A standard queen mattress is 60” wide and 80” long. Compared to a 72” x 84” California king, a queen mattress is both slimmer and shorter. However, queen mattresses do cost less than California king mattresses.

Queen mattresses are going to be better if you have a smaller bedroom. If your bedroom isn’t too long or wide, a queen mattress could fit those smaller confines. A California king mattress will be a better fit if you have more space to work with. A huge master bedroom might just look better when it contains a larger California king mattress.

Queen mattresses will work for smaller couples, but larger, taller couples should choose a California king. If you are a smaller couple, you can save money by going with a queen mattress.\

Summary

One last time, here are our best California king mattresses:

MattressBest For:
Helix Midnight LuxeBest Cooling California King Mattress
Nectar ClassicBest California King Memory Foam Mattress
DreamCloud PremierBest California King for Side Sleepers
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Hybrid California King Mattress
WinkBedBest California King Mattress for Back Pain
Nolah OriginalBest California King Mattress in a Box
Saatva ClassicBest California King for Back Sleepers
Bear OriginalBest California King for Couples
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Affordable California King Mattress
Titan PlusBest California King for Heavy People

Best California King Mattress FAQs

Will a California king fit a king frame?

No, a California king mattress will not fit on a king bed frame. A California king mattress will be too long for a king bed frame and will also be too narrow. This will leave some unwanted space between the frame and the mattress.

How much does a California king mattress weigh?

California king mattresses can weigh as little as 130 lb or as much as 180 lb.

Is a California king bigger than a king?

While a California king mattress is 4” longer than a king mattress, it is 4” narrower.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.