Best Mattresses for Upper and Lower Back Pain

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs, where we are compensated for items purchased through links from our site. See our disclosure page for details.

Back pain can be, well, a pain. And while there are many causes for it, sleeping on an uncomfortable and unsupportive mattress can be a large contributor. So, let’s talk about our top picks for the best mattresses for back pain relief. To create this list, we looked at a number of mattresses that feature excellent body contouring or zoned coil support.

In this article, we’ll share our top mattress recommendations for people with upper and lower back pain and explain how you can choose which mattress is the best fit for you. We’ll also explain how back pain and sleep are related and tell you what factors to look for when buying the best mattress for back pain.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for Upper and Lower Back Pain?

Our expert reviewers chose the Saatva as the best mattress for upper and lower back pain for its multiple firmness options, support, cooling features and versatility.

[Editor’s Note: The information provided should not be considered a substitute for professional advice. Please consult a medical professional or another medical expert if there are any health-related questions or if you’re experiencing severe back pain.]

The Best Mattresses for Back Pain

Best Mattress for Back Pain 2024: Video Roundup

Compare the Best Mattresses for Upper and Lower Back Pain

Saatva Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Nectar Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Titan Plus DreamCloud Original Mattress WinkBed Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress
Saatva Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Nectar Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Titan Plus DreamCloud Original Mattress WinkBed Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress
Rating
Firmness Multiple firmness options Firm: 8/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 9/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options
Material Innerspring Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Combination Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach Back Combination Back & Side Back

How We Chose the Best Mattresses for Upper and Lower Back Pain

Our team of Certified Sleep Coach Specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

Mattress testing photos from the studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

When choosing the best mattresses for back pain, we sought out beds that were durable and supportive enough to keep the spine in proper alignment. Of the 10 products on our list, seven mattresses scored a 4 out of 5 or higher in the category of support and eight mattresses scored a 4 out of 5 or higher in the category of durability.

Also, if you specifically experience lower back pain, check out our list of the best mattresses for lower back pain and sciatica.

Best Innerspring Mattress for Back Pain – Saatva

Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1095 - $2790

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$1095 - $2790

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$1095 - $2790

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Multiple firmness options available
Bouncy and responsive
Shouldn’t trap heat
Cons
Luxury firm could be too firm for some
Not great for fans of all-foam beds

Our Expert’s Take

If you deal with back pain and prefer a mattress that’s a bit more traditional, the Saatva could be right for you. It’s an innerspring mattress that features two sets of coils and a comfortable pillow top. You have multiple firmness options to choose from, but the Luxury Firm model should be the best for back pain. It boasts an excellent balance of comfort and support that should help to keep your spine in proper neutral alignment.

It does this by having two sets of coils. The top layer is a set of micro coils that can conform to your body, while the bottom layer is there for support to keep you from bottoming out. I tested the Luxury Firm model of the Saatva Classic and it has that classic innerspring feel to it. If you want that innerspring feel, the Saatva mattress fits the bill.

What the testers say: “The Saatva is one of my favorite innerspring mattresses. When I slept, I was especially impressed by its two sets of coils and zoned construction. I could really feel these materials holding my lumbar area.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva Classic

  • It comes in multiple firmness options, but the Luxury Firm is a universal mattress for most. It’s just a bit firmer than medium-firm, coming in at 7/10 on our firmness scale. But we found this to be good for people with back pain who are looking for support.
  • The double layers of coils offer really good support for the mattress. Most should find this bed to help with back pain thanks to both its firmness and its coils.
  • It’s made with very durable materials. It should last a very long time and it won’t sag over time either.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva Classic

  • Lightweight sleepers will find the Luxury Firm model too firm. It won’t offer the body contouring or pressure relief necessary for side sleeping.
  • This has more of a traditional innerspring feel. It will be bouncy and responsive and doesn’t have much of a memory foam feel. It has a plush pillow top, but it won’t offer much body contouring or pressure relief for some side sleepers.

Other User Reviews

With just under 3,000 reviews on Saatva’s website, the Saatva Classic has earned an average 4.8 star rating from customers. Looking at the positives, many were happy with the high-quality construction of the bed. It offered good support and felt very comfortable for a lot of people. Some reviews even praised the customer support team as well. For those that had issues with the Saatva classic, a majority of the reviews dealt with firmness. Regardless of the firmness option someone bought, many found the bed to be too firm.

Read our full Saatva mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Saatva mattress, check out our list of the Best Innerspring Mattresses for more great options.

Best Mattress for Heavy People with Back Pain – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Great for sex
Sold at a value
Cooling benefits
Cons
Not great for lightweight people
No classic foam feel

Our Expert’s Take

Many of the mattresses featured on this page are supportive and built with zoned coils, and the Emma Hybrid Comfort is no different. It’s a fairly firm mattress – we rank it at 8/10 on our firmness scale, and the firm feel and supportive layer of coils make it a great fit for sleepers with back pain, especially for heavier sleepers and stomach sleepers.

What our testers say: “As a larger sleeper, I felt very comfortable on the Emma Hybrid Comfort, since it’s supportive and firm. I didn’t feel as much as the zoned support as I would have liked, but it still felt great to back sleep and stomach sleep on.Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Since the Emma Hybrid Comfort is a firmer mattress, it should work well for stomach sleepers of all sizes. It’s firm enough to keep the spine in alignment in this position.
  • Combination sleepers will likely want a bouncy and responsive mattress to make it easy to switch positions throughout the night, so the Emma Hybrid Comfort makes that transition easy for those kinds of sleepers.
  • Since the Emma Comfort Hybrid is bouncy and responsive, it’s also a good fit for couples who want the best mattress for sex, since changing positions should be easy on this mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Lightweight sleepers may not feel supported on a mattress like this. It’ll likely be too firm, and won’t be supportive enough to keep the spine in alignment.
  • This mattress doesn’t have a classic, soft, typical memory foam feel, so if that’s your forte, this mattress probably won’t be a good choice.

Other user reviews

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is rated 4.7 out of 5 stars based on the 200+ reviews from the Emma site. Most customers loved the fact that the mattress is bouncy and responsive, which makes it a good fit for couples, and customers also loved its price point. The negative reviews complain about customer service.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options.

Best Pillow Top Mattress for Back Pain – Helix Midnight Luxe

Best Pillow Top Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Pillow Top Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Pillow Top Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Offers luxury features and upgrades
Zoned coils for lumbar support
Isolates motion well
Cons
Too soft for stomach sleepers
Pricey for some

Our Expert’s Take

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a cool, medium-firm, hybrid mattress. This mattress is made up of a plush pillow top, multiple proprietary foams, and individually-wrapped coils so any sleeper can feel supported and comfortable while they rest.

Those who suffer from back pain will feel relief with this mattress, as its luxurious pillow top cover should relieve pressure from the hips and fill in the lumbar region. Sleepers shouldn’t feel like they’re sinking in too far though, and the coils offer extra lumbar support. It does this with a zoned coil system. This makes the bed feel firmer in the center to provide optimal back support. Customers can test out this mattress with a 100-night sleep trial. Additionally, Helix offers a 15-year warranty, free shipping, returns, and full refunds on its mattresses.

What the testers say: “The Helix Midnight Luxe offers some of the best lumbar support I have ever experienced. I could feel the zoning pressing up into my lumbar area, which should help prevent back pain over time.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • This is considered a luxury upgrade from the base Midnight model, and it delivers on that. The multiple foam layers are thick and offer really good body contouring. The zoned coil system at the bottom offers good lumbar support for those dealing with back pain.
  • This bed already comes with a good amount of cooling components, but for those who are worried about overheating, you can always opt for a special cooling cover.
  • The Midnight is Helix’s most popular mattress, be it the base model or the Luxe model. It’s a perfect medium-firm that’s supportive, and easy to move around on all while isolating motion well.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • With “luxe” in the name, this is a rather luxurious bed. As such, it could be a bit pricey for those who are shopping for a new bed on a budget.
  • Due to its medium-firmness, this bed is likely not going to offer enough support for stomach sleepers. There’s the potential for your hips to sink too far into the mattress, which can cause back pain.

Other User Reviews

On Helix’s website, the Midnight Luxe has a respectable 4.5/5 star average out of over 5,000 reviews. Customers that were happy with the Midnight Luxe mentioned that it did help with some back and hip pain. There were a few others, however, that found they preferred the base model Midnight over the Luxe. This is because the thicker comfort layer wasn’t as responsive and was a bit too squishy to move around on. Overall, it should still be easy to move around on, but this is something worth pointing out.

Read our full review of the Helix Midnight Luxe to learn more! If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight Luxe mattress, check out our list of the Best Pillow Top Mattresses for more great options.

Best Memory Foam Mattress for Back Pain – Nectar

Best Memory Foam Mattress for Back Pain

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress for Back Pain

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress for Back Pain

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Good for joint pain
Affordable
Great for couples
Cons
Bad for most heavyweight people
Hard to move around on

Our Expert’s Take

The Nectar is the only memory foam mattress on this list, and as such it performs quite a bit differently than the other products featured here. The Nectar has a slow-moving feel that felt to me, during testing, like I was being hugged by the mattress. This stands in contrast to the other mattresses on this list, which have a bouncier feel. The memory foam construction also helps make this a great option for couples, as it isolates motion very well. 

What the testers say: “The Nectar is one of the best bed-in-a-box mattresses, and it contains multiple layers of high-quality memory foam. This medium-firm mattress offers the quicksand-like comfort so many people associate with memory foam.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar

  • The softness of the Nectar makes it a great choice for lightweight sleepers, as it will allow them to sink below the mattress surface just enough for pressure around the hips and shoulders to be relieved. 
  • This mattress is very affordable, relative to many of the popular bed-in-a-box mattresses you can purchase online. A queen will cost you just under $1,000, and there are sometimes sales running that will make the Nectar even cheaper. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • Unless you weigh 130 lb or less, you likely won’t find this mattress comfortable on your stomach. We suggest a firmer mattress for you stomach sleepers out there, one that will keep your hips supported and your spine aligned. We suggest you take a look at the WinkBed Plus instead.

Other User Reviews

This mattress has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 50,129 reviews from the Nectar website. Customers have good things to say about the product’s effectiveness at combating back pain, however, some were unhappy to find that the Nectar was firmer than they were expecting. 

Read our Nectar mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Memory Foam Mattresses for more great options.

Best Mattress for Lower Back Pain – Nolah Evolution

Best Mattress for Lower Back Pain

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling. This makes it great for lower back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1499 - $3598

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Lower Back Pain

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling. This makes it great for lower back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1499 - $3598

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Mattress for Lower Back Pain

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling. This makes it great for lower back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1499 - $3598

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Doesn’t trap heat
Multiple firmnesses
Zoned coils for lumbar support
Cons
Luxury price tag
Not ideal for fans of traditional memory foam

Our Expert’s Take

If you find yourself with lower back pain, then the Nolah Evolution might help you get some relief. The mattress is firmer toward the center, and this zoning makes for great lumbar support. Because it’s a hybrid mattress, the Nolah Evolution has foam for pressure relief and strong coils. This construction provides the extra comfort and support that those with back pain need.

This mattress does come in a few different firmness options, and I tested the Luxury Firm model. This version has a more traditional medium-firm feel to it. The proprietary AirFoam™ is more responsive than traditional memory foam. I still found this to be nice and pressure-relieving, but it’s very easy to move around on. And thanks to the zoned coils, you really feel that lumbar support.

What the testers say: “I could really feel the zoning when I was lying on the Nolah Evolution Hybrid. It pressed up into my lower back and gave me all the support I needed there.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • The Nolah Evolution has zoned coils. This means that it feels firmer in the center of the bed, which helps provide some extra lumbar support for back sleeping. This is what should help alleviate back pain.
  • There are many cooling components built into this mattress. The foam is designed to not trap heat, and the entire mattress comes inside a very cooling, breathable cover.
  • The Luxury Firm model is ideal for those who are looking for a medium-firm feeling mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • The Nolah Evolution is the brand’s most luxurious model. As such, it comes with a luxurious price tag. This might not be the best choice for shoppers who have a strict budget in mind.
  • While the AirFoam™ is great for combination sleepers, it might not be the best for those who are looking for a more traditional memory foam feel and who prefer that sinking, slow-moving feel.

Other User Reviews

With a high average star rating of 4.9, the Nolah Evolution is just about as close to perfect for most customers. Many mentioned that it helped them get better sleep quality, and many reviews said the Nolah Evolution helped with pain. Those that had some issues all dealt with firmness. Some said they should have trusted their instincts and gone with a different firmness. With so many firmness options available, it can be hard to know which is right for you. Luckily, Nolah does offer exchanges for those who need it.

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress review to learn more. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Sciatica and Lower Back Pain for more options!

Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Pain – Titan Plus

Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Pain

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$699 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Pain

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$699 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Pain

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$699 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Great for firm mattress lovers
Shouldn’t sag over time
Good support for back sleepers
Made for heavier people
Cons
Could be too firm for some
Not ideal for side sleeping

Our Expert’s Take

Hybrid mattresses are often good choices for back pain because they have foam to cushion the lumbar region and coils to keep the spine in a neutral alignment. It’s all about that mix of comfort and support. The Titan Plus gets especially high marks in the support department, as it was designed for heavy people and is made with durable materials. 

Sleepers over 230 lb who experience back pain should be particularly comfortable on this bed and might even experience it as a softer mattress than lightweight or average-weight sleepers. This mattress is also firm enough for stomach sleepers. It will keep hips elevated, and keep strain off of the lower back.

What the testers say: “When I tried out the Titan Plus mattress, I got all the support I could ever need. It is made for heavier people, and I did not want for support while back and stomach sleeping.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About Titan Plus

  • We rated the Titan Plus a 9/10 on our firmness scale, making it one of the firmest mattresses we’ve tested. This is great for people with back pain because it should keep your back supported and keep your hips from sinking too far into the mattress.
  • The Titan Plus is designed specifically for heavyweight sleepers, and can support up to 500 lb. This is thanks to industrial coils and a thinner comfort layer.
  • It’s a great option for those who have a budget in mind. A queen size Titan Plus comes in under $1,000 when discounted around holiday season.

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • Considering how firm this mattress is, if you’re a side sleeper, you’ll likely face a lot of shoulder and hip pain on this mattress. I would recommend something much softer than the Titan Plus for side sleepers.
  • Given the firm feel to this bed, you’re going to sleep more “on top” of the bed, rather than “inside” of it. If you’re a fan of a memory foam mattress, or prefer thicker memory foam comfort layers in a mattress, this might not be the best choice.

Other User Reviews

Out of around 2,400 reviews on Titan’s website, the Titan Plus has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars. For those that loved the mattress, they praised how truly firm it was. Customers felt supported while they slept. However, from three stars and below, many mentioned that over time, they noticed a depression in the middle of the bed develop.

Read our full Titan Plus mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Titan Plus mattress, check out our list of the Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options.

Best Firm Mattress for Back Pain – DreamCloud

Best Firm Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$839 - $1669

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$839 - $1669

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Firm Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$839 - $1669

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Bouncy and responsive
Good for hot sleepers
Competitively priced
Cons
Not the best for side sleepers
Could be too firm for lightweight sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

While medium-firm mattresses are usually best for back pain, some people just need something firmer. The DreamCloud is one of the firmest mattresses on this list and should be a great fit for those who need more support. A stretch of supportive, individually-wrapped coils sits at the bottom, and there’s some good contouring right on top from multiple layers of foam.

The reason the DreamCloud should help out with back pain is the fact that it’s on the firmer end. Firm mattresses offer more support for most average weight sleepers in the lumbar area thanks to study coils. So, if you’re a fan of a firmer mattress and dealing with some back pain, this is a great option for back and stomach sleepers.

What the testers say: “While the DreamCloud was a firmer mattress, I still liked it for back sleeping. The multiple layers of foam and the set of individually-wrapped coils provided an excellent amount of lumbar support.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud

  • The combination of a memory foam comfort layer and sturdy, supportive coils make this a great option for back sleepers who are facing some back pain. It should provide some pain relief by keeping you supported and not letting your hips sink too far into the mattress.
  • It’s built with many different cooling components. The coils alone allow for airflow, but the outer cashmere cover is very breathable. You shouldn’t sleep hot with this mattress.
  • The coils make it very springy and responsive. This is great for those who are looking for a mattress that’s easy to move around on and don’t want to feel trapped by memory foam.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud

  • Because of how firm this mattress is, it might not be the best choice for side sleepers. The top comfort layer isn’t very thick, so it won’t offer as much pressure relief or protection from pressure build up as other beds.
  • Sleepers who may be closer to, or over, 300 lb may need an extra firm mattress or a mattress that’s designed to handle heavier weights.

Other User Reviews

The DreamCloud mattress has an average 4.7/5 star rating out of about 12,000 reviews. Many people praise it for the comfortable feeling it offers. Many even left reviews saying the mattress they purchased wasn’t the first DreamCloud they had bought. But those that had problems with it all dealt with firmness. Some found it to be firmer than expected. While firmness is subjective, this mattress does tend to fall on the firmer end of the spectrum.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the DreamCloud mattress, check out our list of the Best Firm Mattresses for more great options.

Best Medium-Firm Mattress for Back Pain – WinkBed

Best Medium-Firm Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Medium-Firm Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Medium-Firm Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Zoned coils for lumbar support
Doesn’t trap heat
Classic innerspring feel
Cons
Pricey for some
Not the best for body contouring

Our Expert’s Take

Sleepers who struggle with back pain should be looking for a few things in a mattress. They’ll want something that’s durable, close to medium-firm and supports proper, neutral spinal alignment. Well, there’s a reason I’m highlighting WinkBed. It fits all these criteria! In addition to its individually wrapped coils for zoned lumbar support, the WinkBed boasts optimal comfort and pressure relief from its gel-infused pillow top.

This classic innerspring mattress is bouncy and responsive, making it easy to move around on. Though we love the Luxury Firm model at Mattress Clarity, which is around that medium-firm range, if not a bit firmer, the WinkBed mattress is also available in different firmness options. Regardless of which firmness you pick, this is a great option for helping with back pain.

What the testers say: “The Luxury Firm model of the WinkBed offered an excellent balance of comfort and support. And, due to its zoning, I experienced extra lumbar support. Its medium firmness and zoning let me know it should be good for those with back pain.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Winkbed

  • The Luxury Firm model is just a touch firmer than medium-firm, but it’s still a good option for those looking for a medium-firm mattress. But if you need something softer or firmer, WinkBed does offer this in different firmness options.
  • The zoned coil system makes the mattress firmer in the center of the mattress. This means that it can adequately support the lumbar area of your back, which is what helps with back pain.
  • It won’t trap heat. The coils in the support system allow for a lot of airflow, and the outer cover is made with Tencel, which is both breathable and moisture-wicking.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • Due to the coils, this bed might not be the best for couples who are light sleepers. It doesn’t handle motion transfer well, meaning you will feel your partner move around or get in and out of bed.
  • This might not be the best mattress for people who are shopping on a strict budget. Even after a discount, a queen WinkBed mattress is about $1,500.

Other User Reviews

On the WinkBeds website, customers have sent in reviews and out of 8,000+, the WinkBed mattress has an average star rating of 4.8/5. Many customers are happy with the mattress as it helps with some back pain and it feels very comfortable. Most of the reviews that had complaints dealt with firmness. Many side sleepers found the mattress to be too firm, even with soft firmness. This mattress is closer to a traditional innerspring, so if you’re a side sleeper, I would suggest looking for something else.

Read our full WinkBed mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the WinkBed mattress, check out our list of the Best Medium-Firm Mattresses for more great options.

Best Soft Mattress for Back Pain – Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Soft Mattress for Back Pain

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Price Range

$1893 - $3920

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Soft Mattress for Back Pain

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1893 - $3920

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Soft Mattress for Back Pain

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1893 - $3920

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Multiple firmnesses available
Good for back and side sleepers
Doesn’t trap heat
Cons
Pricey for some
Soft & Medium models not supportive for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Medium-firm mattresses can help alleviate back pain, as they provide a great balance of comfort and support. If you’re really seeking a plush feel, the Bear Elite Hybrid could be the solution. Though we tested the medium-firm option, the soft model will be great for fans of plush mattresses. It has a memory foam comfort layer and a quilted cover that’s incredibly comfortable and cushioning. 

Still, if you deal with back pain, you’ll need a bed that’s supportive enough to help keep your spine in a straight line. The Bear Elite Hybrid strikes this balance nicely due to its supportive coils. Overall, this hybrid mattress has a luxurious, soft feel that should provide sleepers with a very comfortable experience.

What the testers say: “The Bear Elite Hybrid has a hand-quilted cover that feels soft and luxurious. The exterior is made with phase change material, and it felt cool to the touch when I was reviewing.” Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Many mattresses are offered in different firmness models these days. The Bear Elite is a really good option for people who prefer a soft, luxurious mattress. But the other firmnesses can fit different needs.
  • This mattress was designed to not trap heat. The coils promote a lot of airflow within the bottom of the mattress. And the outer cover is made with something called phase change material, which stays cool to the touch.
  • The foam and the coils work well together for combination sleepers. It’s easy to move around on, but people can get the comfort and support that they need.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • This is Bear’s most luxurious mattress. And as such, it does come with a luxury price tag. This is something to keep in mind if you are shopping on a budget.
  • You’ll need to consider your weight and sleeping position when selecting the firmness model. The soft model is best for side sleepers and lightweight people. The medium-firm is better for back sleepers and average-weight sleepers, while the firm will work better for heavier-weight sleepers and most stomach sleepers.

Other User Reviews

The Bear Elite Hybrid has earned an average 4.4 out of 5 star average after about 300 reviews. Many reviews praised both the soft and medium-firm options as being great for side sleepers. Some even noted that it helped with aches and pains as well. When it comes to reviews that had three stars or less, the most common complaint was a persistent chemical or plastic smell after unboxing or the firmness not meeting their expectations.

Check out our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress, check out our list of the Best Soft Mattresses for more great options.

Best Mattress for Seniors with Back Pain – Brooklyn Bedding Signature

Best Mattress for Seniors with Back Pain

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers and seniors.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$498 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Seniors with Back Pain

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers and seniors.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$498 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Mattress for Seniors with Back Pain

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers and seniors.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$498 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Multiple firmness options available
Doesn’t trap heat
Easy to move on
Affordable
Cons
Doesn’t isolate motion well
Doesn’t have a slow-moving feel
Simple features

Our Expert’s Take

Seniors who experience back pain are going to need a balance of comfort and support. Their bed should have a bit of plushness, but they won’t want to sink too far into it. They may find what they’re looking for in the hybrid construction of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature. 

The mattress provides some softness in the top comfort layers while also giving elderly sleepers a slight lift from a 6” support layer of individually wrapped ascension coils. But depending on preference, this mattress does have a few firmness options available. I tested the Medium model, and this should be a great pick for most seniors who are back and side sleepers.

What the testers say: “The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Medium model provided me with both comfort and support. I believe many types of people who deal with back pain could fine relief on this mattress.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • This bed offers a really good balance of comfort and support. With this in mind, back and side sleepers should find pain-free sleep on the medium-firm model.
  • The bouncy feel makes it very easy to move around on. Seniors who don’t want to feel trapped by an all-foam bed should enjoy this mattress.
  • Brooklyn Bedding owns its own factory, and because of this, the brand’s mattresses are very affordable. And if you shop around holidays, you’ll often be able to save big thanks to discounts.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • It’s a rather simple mattress in design. It may not have a lot of luxurious features for those who are looking to elevate their mattress.
  • This mattress does not isolate motion very well. While it’s easy to move on, if you sleep with a partner, you’ll notice your partner shifting around during the night.

Other User Reviews

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature has an impressive 10,000 reviews on Brooklyn Bedding’s website. From all these reviews, the Signature has achieved an average 4.7 star rating out of 5. There are a good number of reviews that praise the Signature for its ability to help with aches and pains. Those that had issues with it were with the firmness. This can often be the case when multiple firmnesses are available, so you should consider your weight and sleeping position when looking at firmness options.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Seniors for more great options.

Recommendations for Heavyweight Sleepers (Over 230 lb)

It’s always important to consider one’s size and weight when searching for a mattress; customers want to make sure that their new mattress will properly support heavier weights.

This is even more important when discussing mattresses for back pain, as larger people require even more support under their lumbar area so that they don’t get out of alignment. Out of these 10 mattresses, three stand out among the rest for heavier sleepers.

  • Helix: Although we recommended the Helix Midnight Luxe, heavier sleepers should seek out the Helix Plus, the brand’s bed designed specifically with larger people in mind. It has that medium firmness that those with back pain should be searching for, but is also incredibly supportive and offers the necessary lumbar support.
  • Saatva: This is also a fantastic match because it features a nice balance of comfort and support. Heavier back sleepers should receive excellent lumbar support, with the mattress conforming to the curves of their body. As for heavier side sleepers, their hips should sink in the right amount, and the memory foam should press up to fill in their gaps and keep the spine in proper neutral alignment.
  • WinkBed: With its supportive coils and plush top, heavier people should also find the WinkBed to be a good fit. Specifically, they should consider the WinkBed Plus, which has high-density Body Impression-Proof foam and even more support in its coils.

How Does Your Sleeping Position Affect Back Pain? 

The way you position your body at night also impacts your back pain. Different positions put extra strain on your muscles and joints.

Stomach-Sleeping

Stomach sleepers put the most strain on the lower back area, as well as the neck. The more lofted their pillow is, the worse this lumbar strain becomes. They should use a thin pillow and a more firm mattress that won’t cause sinkage. Check out our lists for the best mattresses for stomach sleepers and the best pillows for stomach sleepers to ensure you’re getting proper support.

Side-Sleeping

Side Sleeper With Hip Pain

Side sleepers put the most pressure on the shoulders and hips. A medium to medium-firm mattress with a contouring comfort layer topped on a supportive base layer provides the match of comfort and support they need to keep their spine aligned. If a mattress is too soft or too firm, the spine will not stay aligned and back pain can worsen. This can also lead to neck and shoulder pain.

Back-Sleeping

Sleeper With Back Pain

Back-sleeping is generally the most recommended option because you have the best chance of keeping your spine aligned correctly.

However, a mattress that’s too soft will cause the hips to sink in too far, while a mattress that’s too firm won’t support the natural curvature of the spine in the lumbar area. A medium-firm to firm mattress is typically the most comfortable for back sleepers.

Best Type of Mattress for Back Pain

So how can you find the best type of mattress to alleviate your back pain? Certain mattresses are better suited for people with back pain than others.

  • Memory foam mattresses are great for sleepers with back pain. The material does a nice job of evenly distributing body weight across the surface to prevent pain in the pressure points, especially for side sleepers.
  • Hybrid mattresses are ideal for people with back pain. Combining a supportive coil layer with a contouring comfort layer on top gives a nice balance that back pain sufferers need.
  • Latex mattresses have nice contouring abilities without causing too much sinkage, making them a good match for people with back pain.
  • Innerspring mattresses are not ideal for back pain sufferers since they’re made with mostly coils. This type of construction makes for a more firm and bouncy bed, rather than one that’s contouring and relieves pressure. Outfitting an innerspring mattress with a foam or latex mattress topper to provide a soft, cushiony layer can help.

RELATED: Best Mattress Toppers for Back Pain

What Should Someone Look for in a Mattress to Relieve Back Pain?

So, now that we know what back pain is and what causes it, how can a mattress deal with this pressing issue? And for those looking for a mattress to alleviate and prevent back pain, what should they consider?

Lower Back Lumbar Support

Lumbar Support

For pain sufferers, the lower back area must be properly supported. One 2005 study, which was published in The Journal of the Canadian Chiropractic Foundation, found that good lumbar support “limit[s] unfavorable compressive and shearing forces acting on the lumbar spine.”

Mattresses such as the Level Sleep have a special system to ensure the lumbar area has extra support. You can also check out some of our best orthopedic mattresses.

Mattress Comfort Layer Thickness

Comfort Layer Thickness

Along with lumbar support, people should think about just how thick the mattress’ comfort layer is. While a thick comfort layer can feel great at first, it might not give the proper support; there’s the chance of sinking too far into the mattress.

The Harvard Medical School says, “You might also sink in so deeply that your joints twist and become painful during the night.” That said, it’s important to consider one’s sleeping position when taking comfort layer thickness into account. For side sleepers, a thicker comfort layer could be a better match.

Mattress Firmness Test

Firmness

The overall firmness of a mattress comes into play when thinking about back pain (but also depends on one’s sleep position). Doctors once recommended that pain sufferers opt for a firm mattress.

But that’s since changed, and medical professionals recommend a medium-firm mattress. A 2015 study from the journal Sleep Health found that “a mattress that is subjectively identified as a medium-firm mattress and is custom-inflated (self-adjusted) is optimal for promoting sleep comfort, quality, and spinal alignment.

Consider Size And Weight When Mattress Shopping

Weight

Anyone who’s considered a larger person should take this into account when choosing a mattress for back pain. One’s weight can affect how firm a mattress feels, as well as much support it can offer. It might be necessary to choose a mattress that would feel firm to a lighter person. Also, there’s a risk of “bottoming out” on a mattress, so a thick comfort layer might not be ideal.

Mattress Durability

Durability

After finding that perfect medium-firm mattress with just the right amount of comfort, people still want to know that the bed will handle back pain for a good duration of time.

Density

You’ll want to pay particular attention to the density of foams and the quality of other materials such as coils and pillow tops. If the mattress begins to sag, this could make the back pain even worse.

What Is Back Pain?

Most of us know when our back is giving us issues, but what’s happening here behind the scenes?

According to the National Institute of Arthritis And Musculoskeletal And Skin Diseases, back pain is “one of the most common medical problems in the U.S.; it can range from a dull, constant ache to a sudden, sharp pain that makes it hard to move.”

Surveys from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke found that about 80 percent of Americans will struggle with back pain at some point in their lifetimes. This potentially helps explain why back pain is the fifth most common reason people go to the doctor.

At the same time, many pain sufferers do not see a doctor because of pride, money issues, or other reasons. The Mayo Clinic describes back pain symptoms as:

  • Muscle ache
  • Shooting or stabbing pain
  • Pain that radiates down the leg
  • Pain that worsens with bending, lifting, standing, or walking
  • Pain that improves with reclining

The Mayo Clinic also defines two types of back pain: acute and chronic. Acute back pain occurs when symptoms last between a few days and a few weeks. If the symptoms last for over 12 weeks, this is considered chronic back pain.

Types of Back Pain

There are two main types of back pain, acute back pain, and chronic back pain.

Acute back pain is sharp and intense back pain that usually comes from some sort of back trauma like a fall or an injured muscle. Chronic back pain is consistent back pain that lasts more than three months. Sometimes chronic back pain can be related to injury or trauma, but it’s usually not easy to pinpoint where the pain stems from.

Back pain can also affect the different areas of your back in different ways.

Lower back pain is the most common type of back pain. Lower back pain is often associated with strains in the muscles around your spine, and many times, that strain can happen when you’re asleep. If your spine isn’t properly aligned at night, and you aren’t sleeping on a supportive mattress, you may feel an ache in your lower back.

Pain in the middle back isn’t as common as lower back pain and can sometimes be caused by an undiagnosed medical problem, but sometimes, you may feel sore in your mid back due to poor posture and lack of support and cushion on your body when you sleep.

Again, upper back pain can be a sign of a health condition, in which case you should visit your doctor, but if you are experiencing this type of pain when you sleep, you want to ensure that you’re sleeping on a pillow with the right loft for you.

What Causes Back Pain?

Lower Back Pain From An Unfit Mattress

Just as the symptoms of back pain can vary, there are numerous reasons someone might be feeling back pain. Here are some of the most common.

  • Strain: If someone works a job that requires him/her to lift especially heavy objects, the repetition of this action can potentially lead to muscle and ligament strain. Also, simply lifting a heavy object without using the legs can potentially cause immediate strain in the lower back area. If someone is in poor physical shape, it increases the likelihood of pulling a muscle.
  • Ruptured or herniated discs: The Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons says, “A disc begins to herniate when its jelly-like nucleus pushes against its outer ring due to wear and tear or a sudden injury. This pressure against the outer ring may cause lower back pain and, if the pressure continues, the jelly-like nucleus may push through the disk’s outer ring or cause the ring to bulge. This puts pressure on the spinal cord and nearby nerve roots. In addition, the disk material releases chemical irritants that contribute to nerve inflammation.”
  • Arthritis or scoliosis: Arthritis can have a direct impact on the lower back area in multiple ways. Arthritis, for instance, can lead to spinal stenosis, wherein the spaces in the spine narrow and begin to put pressure on the nerves. Scoliosis, on the other hand, is an unnatural curvature of the spine. This can affect posture, stretching muscles, and pinching nerves, thereby causing back pain issues. Make sure to check out our best mattresses for arthritis.
  • Serious injury: Car accidents, sports-related injuries, and workplace falls can all lead to pulled muscles, pinched nerves, and herniated discs. These are all associated with back pain and are very common occurrences in America.
  • Sciatica: The sciatic nerve goes through the buttocks and down the back of the leg. If this nerve is compressed, people could potentially experience back pain or numbness in the leg.

What Increases Your Chances of Experiencing Back Pain?

There are also a plethora of factors that could make it more likely for someone to develop back pain.

  • Age: As we grow older, we have a significantly higher chance of dealing with back pain; aging can cause degeneration of spinal discs so they aren’t as effective at absorbing shock. It’s also possible to develop Spondylolisthesis, where one vertebra moves into another vertebra.
  • Lack of exercise: If we don’t exercise, our bodies can become susceptible to back pain. Also, if our back muscles are weak, the back pain can potentially become more severe. Many studies have shown that exercise can help alleviate back pain. One 2012 study from Informed Health Online found that exercise can prevent a recurrence of acute back pain in 1 out of 3 people.
  • High body weight: For those that are overweight, back pain becomes more likely. One 2016 study, which was published in the journal Medicine, found that “higher BMI and waist-hip ratio were associated with high-intensity low back pain and/or high disability.”
  • Depression and/or anxiety: According to the Anxiety and Depression Association of America, people with these disorders are more likely to struggle with back pain than people who don’t experience anxiety and/or depression.
  • Smoking: The Mayo Clinic states that smoking cigarettes cuts down on blood flow to the lower back area and reduces the nutrients that are delivered to the spine. For those with acute back pain, nicotine can slow the healing process.

Sleeping Tips for People with Back Pain

If you don’t address your back pain in some way, it could continue to worsen over time with increased stress on the joints and spine. That being said, here are some actionable steps you can take to improve your sleeping situation if you deal with back pain.

  1. Purchase a more comfortable and supportive mattress: Of course, our first recommendation is that you check out the mattresses we’ve listed as being the best for people looking for spine support and back pain relief.
  2. Top off your current mattress with a mattress topper: A pressure-relieving mattress topper could be just the relief you need to keep your spine aligned when you sleep. Check out our list of Best Mattress Toppers for Back Pain for more information.
  3. Change up your sleeping position: Sleeping on your back is the best way to keep your spine in a neutral position. If you’re a stomach or side sleeper, you may want to consider switching up your position.
  4. Use pillows for support: Using a pillow with the right amount of loft is important for keeping the cervical spine in alignment (the part at the base of your neck). If you sleep on your stomach, make sure you’re sleeping on a thin pillow. Back and side sleepers need a medium to thick pillow. Stomach sleepers may also benefit by placing a thin pillow under the pelvis region to support the lumbar region of the spine. Side sleepers can be more comfortable with a pillow between the knees.
  5. Speak with a doctor or medical professional: If your back pain is causing severe discomfort and becoming a hindrance to your sleep, it’s always best to consult an expert for medical advice.

RELATED: Best Pillows for Every Type of Sleeper

Summary

MattressBest For
SaatvaBest Innerspring Mattress
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Mattress for Heavy People with Back Pain
Helix Midnight LuxeBest Pillow Top Mattress
NectarBest Memory Foam Mattress for Back Pain
Nolah EvolutionBest Mattress for Lower Back Pain
Titan PlusBest Hybrid Mattress for Back Pain
DreamCloud Luxury HybridBest Firm Mattress
WinkBedsBest Medium-Firm Mattress
Bear Elite HybridBest Soft Mattress for Back Pain
Brooklyn Bedding SignatureBest Mattress for Seniors with Back Pain

If you’re still searching for your next best mattress, try checking out our other guides or take our mattress quiz for personalized recommendations.

Best Mattress for Back Pain FAQs

Should you sleep on a firm or soft mattress if you have back pain?

firm mattress can certainly be good for back pain. But keep in mind that firmness has more to do with feel than it does foundation or support. There are also soft mattresses that can be good for back pain, as long as they’re supportive enough. It’s all about what you prefer as a sleeper.

Are hybrid mattresses good for back pain?

In general, we believe that a hybrid mattress tends to be the best for back pain. The coils at the bottom give the sleeper a lot of support and help keep the spine in a neutral alignment, while the foams up top create pressure relief.

What is the best mattress topper for back pain?

Your first stop should, naturally, be our roundup of the best mattress toppers for back pain. From there, you’ll want to hone in on your individual sleep preferences and what specific kind of back pain you experience. Overall, we’d say that the best mattress topper for back pain (in general) is the Saatva.

What mattresses are not good for back pain?

Anything that doesn’t offer the proper level of comfort and support. If you feel the mattress sagging or think you might be sinking in too much, then it probably isn’t going to help your back pain. While you want it soft enough to feel comfortable and pressure-relieving, you also want to feel a slight lift.

Is memory foam good for your back?

Memory foam mattresses can be a good option for back pain, but there are a few things to keep in mind to sleep better. First, make sure that the mattress is still in that medium-firm range; if the mattress is extremely soft, it might not offer quite enough support.

[Editor’s Note: The information provided should not be considered a substitute for professional advice. Please consult a medical professional or another medical expert if you have health-related questions.]

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.