Best Cheap Mattresses

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

While some higher-end bed-in-a-box mattresses can cost upwards of $3,000, there are plenty of more affordable products out there that still offer a good night’s sleep. That’s why we put together this roundup of the best affordable mattresses. We’ve found these eight beds to be some of the best cheap mattresses out there, covering a variety of price points and features for different types of shoppers. Not only do all of these mattresses have an appealing price point, they also excel in quality. Every mattress our sleep testers assess is run through a series of trials to determine their strengths and weaknesses. The products on this page represent our top choices for affordable mattresses that don’t sacrifice quality for budget.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Affordable Mattress?

Our expert reviewers chose the Emma Hybrid Comfort as the best cheap mattress for its multiple layers of foam, supportive innerspring coils, and cooling technologies. 

The Best Cheap Mattresses for Your Budget

Best Cheap Mattress Video Review:

Compare the Best Affordable Mattresses

Emma Hybrid Comfort Siena Mattress Bear Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Essential Silk & Snow Mattress Nectar Mattress Casper Original Mattress
Emma Hybrid Comfort Siena Mattress Bear Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Essential Silk & Snow Mattress Nectar Mattress Casper Original Mattress
Rating
Firmness Firm: 7.5/10 Soft: 6/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Soft: 6/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Hybrid Foam Foam Foam Hybrid Foam Foam Foam
Cooling -- -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Back

How We Chose the Best Cheap Mattresses

Our Certified Sleep Coaches at Mattress Clarity have reviewed over 600 mattresses using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing. We score our mattresses based on a few factors, including support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

For this roundup, we added price as an additional factor and only included mattresses that are at or below $2,000 with the cheapest option on this list coming in at around $370. If you’re looking for the cheapest options available with the best quality, check out our list of the best mattresses for your money. If you still can’t decide what mattress is best for you and your budget after browsing through our recommendations, try taking our mattress quiz for more personalized suggestions.

Best Affordable Firm Mattress – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Affordable Firm Mattress

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Affordable Firm Mattress

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Affordable Firm Mattress

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Good for stomach sleepers
Solid support
Great temperature regulation
Cons
Bad for side sleepers
Too firm for most lightweight people

Our Expert’s Take

The Emma is an online mattress brand hailing from Canada. The Emma Hybrid Comfort builds on their original model by offering multiple layers of foam, supportive innerspring coils, and cooling technologies that helped keep me from overheating. I tested the mattress and, while it wasn’t comfortable in every position, it definitely didn’t lack support and durability. These features also don’t inflate the price and keeps it well on the affordable end compared to most mattress brands.

What the testers say: “It will work well for fans of firm mattresses. This bed scored way higher than medium-firm on our firmness scale. If you like something firmer-than-firm, the Emma Comfort Hybrid is where it’s at.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • The Emma Hybrid Comfort is supportive for most body weights, including heavier people. It has zoned coils that offer support to the back and prevent sagging after years of use.
  • It sleeps cool. The Emma Hybrid’s materials, especially its innerspring coils, are designed to help dissipate heat and promote good airflow. I felt nice and cool, even after extended testing.
  • Fans of a more firm mattress will appreciate the 8/10 firmness score we gave the Emma Hybrid Comfort. Both back and stomach sleepers can benefit from a more firm mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Side sleepers may not get the necessary contouring needed to prevent pressure in the hips and shoulders, as the Emma Hybrid Comfort is quite firm.
  • It will likely be too firm for most lightweight people. Unless you only sleep on your stomachs, lightweight people who weigh less than 130 pounds will want to find a softer mattress.

Other User Reviews

The Emma Hybrid Comfort has 32 reviews on the company website, with an average score of 4.8 out of 5. The majority of customers praise the product’s excellent quality, however, one reviewer claims that the mattress has begun to sag after just a few months.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review. Or for other options, check out more of our Best Firm Mattresses.

Best Affordable Mattress Under $500 – Siena Original

Best Cheap Mattress Under $500

Siena Mattress

Siena Mattress -- Featured

The Siena mattress comes from Nectar, but it's sold at a value price. It's a great option for lightweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.4/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

180 Nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Cheap Mattress Under $500

Siena Mattress

Siena Mattress -- Featured

The Siena mattress comes from Nectar, but it's sold at a value price. It's a great option for lightweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.4/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

180 Nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Siena Mattress -- Featured
Best Cheap Mattress Under $500

Siena Mattress

The Siena mattress comes from Nectar, but it's sold at a value price. It's a great option for lightweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.4/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

180 Nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5

Pros
Slow-moving foam feel
Ideal for lightweight sleepers
Cons
Not designed for heavy sleepers
Poor edge support

Our Expert’s Take

We love the convenience of purchasing mattresses online. For a great deal, take a look at the Siena mattress. A discounted queen runs just under $500.

It’s an all-foam bed providing plush pressure relief for your hip and shoulder if you sleep on your side. Lightweight back sleepers should feel a good amount of body contouring, too. This mattress has a great trial period (180 nights). This means you have plenty of time to decide if this mattress works for your needs. If you keep it, it has a 10-year warranty.

What our testers say: “While I don’t think this bed is a perfect choice for some heavyweight sleepers, most average-to-lightweight sleepers should find some good pressure relief on the Siena mattress. If you’re on a budget and want memory foam, or just don’t want to drop a lot for a guest room, the Siena is a good choice!” – Elisa Regulski, Reviewer

What We Love About the Siena Original 

  • The Siena is softer than medium-firm, and sleepers should experience lots of pressure relief around their shoulders and hips.
  • This mattress has a classic slow-moving foam feel. You might find yourself sleeping “inside” the mattress rather than on top of it.
  • If you decide the Siena mattress is not a good fit for you while in its 180-night sleep trial, you can return your mattress for a full refund. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Siena Original 

  •  We don’t recommend the Siena mattress for heavyweight sleepers. Heavier people may “bottom out” and feel the support foam layer against their shoulders and hips, causing uncomfortable pressure. 
  • The Siena may absorb some heat in its memory foam layers. Particularly hot sleepers should consider burying a mattress with advanced cooling features. 

Other User Reviews

On Siena’s website, the Siena Original mattress has a 4.5/5 star rating based on 1,851 customer ratings. Many customers are impressed with its value and its ability to relieve pressure on their joints. However, heavier sleepers mentioned that the Siena mattress was too soft to provide them with adequate support. 

Read our full Siena Mattress review for more information.

Best Budget Mattress for Back Sleepers – Bear Mattress

Best Budget Mattress for Back Sleepers

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$786 - $1690

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Budget Mattress for Back Sleepers

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$786 - $1690

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Budget Mattress for Back Sleepers

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$786 - $1690

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Good for couples
Great for most back sleepers
Good for lightweight sleepers
Cons
Bad for most stomach sleepers
Bad for heavyweight sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Bear is known for its more affordable yet still comfortable and durable mattresses. The original Bear is a memory foam mattress that fits the bill with its cooling features, great pressure relief, and back sleeping benefits where lumbar support come in handy.

The Bear also has an optional cover woven with Celliant, which helps keep sleepers cool. Its balance of comfort and pressure relief should help many types of sleepers feel supported, but back sleepers will likely enjoy the feel even more.

What the testers say: “The Bear mattress offers a great balance of comfort and support, which is great news for back sleepers. When I slept on my back, I felt my hips gently sink into the top foam layer. Thanks to the high-density support foam underneath, I got plenty of lumbar support in this sleeping position.” Elisa, Editor & Product Tester

What We Love About the Bear

  • Most back sleepers should find the medium-firmness of the Bear does a fantastic job of keeping them comfortable and supported. Heavyweight back sleepers might find the Bear comfortable, though there’s a chance it will be too soft for this group. 
  • Regardless of preferred sleeping position, the Bear does a good job for all lightweight sleepers (under 130 lb), particularly lightweight back sleepers. The top comfort layer of the Bear is soft enough to provide lighter people sufficient pressure relief.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear

  • Those who want a bouncier feel may want to look elsewhere. Being an all-foam mattress, the Bear has a doughy feel that many will find comfortable, but that also can make it difficult to move around on. Combination sleepers especially may find this to be a problem, and should consider the Brooklyn Essential instead.

Other User Reviews

The Bear mattress has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5, based on 10,595 customer reviews on the company website. Many 5-star reviews call out the affordability of the Bear, stating that the mattress has great value.

Read our full Bear mattress review. Or for other options, check out more of our Best Medium-Firm Mattresses.

Best Affordable Memory Foam Mattress – Nolah Original

Best Affordable Memory Foam Mattress

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$899 - $1798

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Affordable Memory Foam Mattress

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$899 - $1798

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Affordable Memory Foam Mattress

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$899 - $1798

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
Good for combo sleepers
Can help with hip pain
Durable
Cons
Too soft for stomach sleepers and heavyweight people

Our Expert’s Take

The Nolah Original Mattress uses a proprietary type of memory foam called AirFoam, which the company claims offers good responsiveness, excellent pressure relief, and cooling properties. We put that to the test to see if the Nolah was truly an affordable option with useful features.

We rated the Nolah Original mattress at a 6/10, which is on the softer side. This is great for side sleepers who need a bit of cushioning on their hips and shoulders. But I also felt great on my back. I’d recommend it for lighter-weight and average-weight back sleepers. Overall, the Nolah stands out as a quality memory foam mattress that comes in at a lower price point, especially when compared to in-store mattresses of similar quality.

What the testers say: “Overall, the Nolah Original has a balanced foam feel. The AirFoam is soft and pressure-relieving, but also quite responsive. It lets us sink in a bit, and at the same time, we have no trouble moving around.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah

  • The Nolah is one of the softest mattresses we’ve tested, which should be appealing to most side sleepers. While you’re on your side, you want your hips and shoulder to sink into the mattress so that they’re comfy and cushioned. This can only be achieved if the mattress is soft enough to allow you to sink below its surface. 
  • The Nolah mattress is quite sturdy—it earned a 4 out of 5 on our durability test. This is not always true of all-foam mattresses, especially affordable ones. Good durability means you can be confident in the bed’s ability to withstand wear over many years.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah

  • Stomach sleepers may prefer a more firm mattress, like the Emma Hybrid mentioned above. Unlike side sleepers, stomach sleepers need a mattress that will prevent their hips and shoulders from sinking below the surface. Too much sinkage can cause your spine to rest in an awkward position that may lead to back pain. 
  • Similar to stomach sleepers, heavyweight people (over 230 lb) usually sleep better on a firmer mattress. If you fall into this category, a soft mattress may not be able to prevent you from sinking uncomfortably far below the surface.

Other User Reviews

The Nolah has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on over 1,000 reviews logged on the company website. One very happy user compared the Nolah to a cloud, and the majority of customers seem to have similar sentiments.

Read our full Nolah Original review. Or for other options, check out more of our Best Medium-Firm Mattresses.

Best Affordable Hybrid Mattress – Brooklyn Bedding Essential

Best Budget Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Essential

One of Brooklyn Bedding's most affordable mattresses, the Essential has a balanced, medium-firm feel.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5
Best Budget Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Essential

One of Brooklyn Bedding's most affordable mattresses, the Essential has a balanced, medium-firm feel.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5
Best Budget Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Essential

One of Brooklyn Bedding's most affordable mattresses, the Essential has a balanced, medium-firm feel.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.7/5
Pros
Good balance of comfort and support
Responsive
Great for most back sleepers
Cons
Bad for heavyweight people
Thin comfort layer

Our Expert’s Take

When it comes to value, Brooklyn Bedding is always a good place to start because the company owns its factory. They sell their mattresses direct-to-consumer and can price them particularly low. Out of their ever-growing line of products, the Essential is one of their most affordable, with a streamlined construction with foam woven into the cover, a transition foam layer, and a support layer of Ascension X coils. The top layer of foam is especially soft, but the coils add support and responsiveness, allowing sleepers to easily move around at night.

What the testers say: “The Brooklyn Essential felt similar to most hybrid mattresses I have tried. It had a bit of that soft foam feel right on top, but the coils lent a good amount of bounce too. I did sink in a little when I lay down, but I never felt like I was stuck. Overall, it was very easy to move around and change positions.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Essential

  • This is the second hybrid mattress on our list, and like the Emma Hybrid Comfort it has a great blend of comfort and support. However, the Brooklyn Bedding Essential is not as firm as the Emma Hybrid Comfort. It’s more on the medium-firm side, which is great news for back sleepers.
  • The hybrid construction of the Brooklyn Bedding Essential gives it a good amount of bounce. This is an important factor for combination sleepers, who tend to have an easier time switching sleeping positions on a springy mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Essential

  • If you want a firm mattress, this isn’t for you. We rated this mattress a 6.5/10 on our firmness scale, which lands it in the medium-firm zone. Since the Essential is fairly soft, it may not be supportive for heavier sleepers or stomach sleepers. Consider the firmer hybrid on this list, the Emma Hybrid Comfort, instead.

Other User Reviews

Based on 548 customer reviews on the Brooklyn Bedding website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.8 out of 5. Users rave about the quality of the hybrid construction and the great night of sleep that the Brooklyn Bedding Essential provides.

For more information, read our full Brooklyn Bedding Essential Mattress Review. For more hybrid options, see our roundup of the Best Hybrid Mattresses.

Best Budget Cooling Mattress – Cocoon Chill Memory Foam

Best Affordable Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The notable cooling features of this bed include a Phase Change Material that's cool to the touch.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Affordable Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The notable cooling features of this bed include a Phase Change Material that's cool to the touch.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Affordable Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The notable cooling features of this bed include a Phase Change Material that's cool to the touch.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Sleeps cool
Great edge support
Good for stomach sleepers
Cons
Too firm for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Cocoon Chill is a memory foam mattress that boasts excellent cooling features like Phase Change Material. This makes the top of the mattress feel cool to the touch! While it does have memory foam in its construction, it has more of a responsive foam feel instead of a soft foam feel.

What the testers say: “Like its name suggests, the Cocoon Chill is great at dissipating heat. The cover is made out of a soft phase change material, which makes the mattress feel cool to the touch. Oftentimes, all-foam mattresses can overheat, but you likely won’t have to worry about the Cocoon Chill getting hot at night.” Elisa, Editor & Product Tester

What We Love About the Cocoon Chill

  • The Cocoon Chill impressed us with its ability to keep us cool. This is especially notable because it’s an all-foam bed, and all-foam beds tend to trap heat and do a so-so job of regulating temperature. The cover of the Cocoon Chill is made with phase change material, which is legitimately cool to the touch. 
  • Another surprising quality, considering the all-foam nature of the Cocoon Chill, is its great edge support. As we sat and lied on the perimeter of the mattress it barely sank under our weight, even when our larger staff members tested it. This is great news for those who like to utilize every inch of their bed’s surface.

What to Keep in Mind About the Cocoon Chill

  • This mattress doesn’t allow you to sink into the mattress as other foam mattresses do, instead you’ll feel like you’re sleeping on top of it instead. While not necessarily a bad thing, it might be an issue for memory-foam lovers who enjoy feeling like they’re being hugged by their mattress.

Other User Reviews

The Cocoon Chill has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5, based on 8,444 on the company website. Only 51 of the over 8,000 reviewers gave the mattress 1 star, but these customers claim that the mattress is uncomfortable and breaks down after some time. That said, the vast majority of shoppers have nothing but good things to say about the Cocoon.

Read our full Cocoon Chill mattress review. Or for other recommendations, see our list of the Best Cooling Mattresses

Best Affordable Mattress for Side Sleepers – Silk & Snow Mattress

Best Affordable Mattress for Side Sleepers

Silk & Snow Mattress

Silk & Snow Mattress

The Silk & Snow mattress is an all-foam bed with a gel-infused comfort layer. It works well for side sleepers who need pressure relief and couples who like beds with great motion isolation.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$600 - $900

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Affordable Mattress for Side Sleepers

Silk & Snow Mattress

Silk & Snow Mattress

The Silk & Snow mattress is an all-foam bed with a gel-infused comfort layer. It works well for side sleepers who need pressure relief and couples who like beds with great motion isolation.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$600 - $900

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Silk & Snow Mattress
Best Affordable Mattress for Side Sleepers

Silk & Snow Mattress

The Silk & Snow mattress is an all-foam bed with a gel-infused comfort layer. It works well for side sleepers who need pressure relief and couples who like beds with great motion isolation.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$600 - $900

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Pros
Great for couples
Good for side sleepers
Stays cool
Cons
Bad edge support
Not very durable

Our Expert’s Take

We rated the Silk & Snow at a 6.5/10 which is a medium-firm feel. It’s got a great balance of comfort and support for many sleeper types, but side sleepers may especially enjoy its pressure relief. It may not be quite supportive enough to suit stomach sleepers who sometimes need more firmness to get the support they need. Our best firm mattresses is a good list if that’s more your taste.

The Silk & Snow has a classic memory foam feel. You’ll sink into its foam layers and feel good body contouring on your joints. This is ideal for most side sleepers.

What the testers say: “The Silk & Snow has a stereotypical memory foam feel. You’ll gently sink into its foam layers and feel lots of body contouring around your shoulders and hips. This is great news for people who like to rest ‘inside’ the mattress rather than on top.” Elisa, Editor & Product Tester

What We Love About the Silk & Snow

  • The Silk & Snow earned a perfect score of 5 out of 5 on our motion isolation test. If you sleep with a partner then this is an important factor for you to consider. A mattress with great motion isolation, like the Silk & Snow, will help keep your partner’s movements from disturbing your side of the bed and disrupting your sleep. 
  • The comfort layer of the Silk & Snow is made with cooling memory foam, which is infused with gel. While the temperature regulating technology that mattress companies advertise doesn’t always work, we found the Silk & Snow to keep us pretty cool as we tested it.

What to Keep in Mind About the Silk & Snow

  • Due to its slow-moving and cushioned memory foam feel, the Silk & Snow is not as bouncy and responsive as the Brooklyn Bedding Essential. If you like to switch sleeping positions throughout the night or you want a mattress that’s great for sex, this one might not be for you.

Other User Reviews

Based on 1,560 reviews on the Silk & Snow website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.6 out of 5. One user describes it as, “firm and yet soft at the same time”, which we believe to be an apt description, as we consider it very comfortable and supportive.

Read our full Silk & Snow review. Or for other options, check out more of our Best Medium-Firm Mattresses.

Best Cheap Medium-Firm Mattress – Nectar

Best Medium-Firm Affordable Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Medium-Firm Affordable Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Medium-Firm Affordable Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$599 - $1538

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Good for joint pain
Great pressure relief
Good for couples
Cons
Not very supportive
Bad for most heavyweight people

Our Expert’s Take

A medium-firm mattress is likely to have a good balance of comfort and support that should appeal to a lot of different sleepers. The Nectar embodies this beautifully with its flagship bed — an all-foam mattress with a thick layer of gel-infused memory foam up top. After that, the mattress gets progressively firmer toward the bottom with a transition layer of soft conventional foam and a support layer of high-density foam. This construction should bode well for side sleepers and back sleepers, who should get some decent pressure relief from the gel memory foam without feeling like they’re getting swallowed up by the bed.

What the testers say: “The Nectar has a slow-moving feel that most people associate with memory foam. When I rested on the Nectar, I felt myself slowly sinking into the surface. The top layers conformed to the shape of my body, and I felt some nice body contouring.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar

  • Nectar offers a 365-night sleep trial, so you have plenty of time to decide if this mattress is a good fit for you.
  • The Nectar has plush foam layers that provide great pressure relief. This can help those with joint pain rest more comfortably. 
  • Like several mattresses on this list, the Nectar has a medium-firm construction that works very well for back sleepers. It allows their hips to sink below the surface, but not so much that their spines are thrown out of alignment.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • We don’t recommend the Nectar for most stomach sleepers, as it’s not firm enough to provide adequate support. That said, if you’re a lightweight stomach sleeper then you might find that this mattress works quite well for you.

Other User Reviews

The Nectar mattress has over 50,000 reviews on the company website, and their average rating comes out to 4.7 out of 5. One of the most enthusiastic review headlines reads, “[This mattress] SAVED MY LIFE!” However, there are some negative reviews that state the mattress traps heat and begins to sag after a short period of time.

Read our full Nectar mattress review. Or for other options, check out our Best Medium-Firm Mattresses.

Pros and Cons of a Cheap Mattress

There are upsides and there are downsides to cheap mattresses. If you aren’t sure a cheap mattress is right for you, take a look at the pros and cons.

Pros

Cons

Cheap mattresses are better for your budget and can save you some money.

Cheap mattresses may wear and tear faster over time, meaning they need to be replaced more often.

Depending on the level of firmness you like, a cheaper option may be better for you as cheap mattresses might be firmer than more expensive ones.

High-quality mattresses made from decent materials may be harder to find for lower prices.

What to Look For When Buying a Cheap Mattress

Think a cheap mattress is right for you? Don’t buy the first low-cost mattress you come across. Take your time, think of the following, and make sure your mattress is still a worthy investment.

Quality

The quality of your mattress will depend greatly on the type of material the mattress is made from and the quality of the materials used. Most good-quality memory foam, innerspring, and hybrid mattresses should last between 7 and 10 years, while latex mattresses should last between 12 and 15 years, but lower-quality materials may cause mattresses to sag sooner than that and cause discomfort while sleeping. To avoid this, try to aim for well-built mattresses in the $1,000 to $2,000 range if possible.

Durability

To get the most for your money, you need a durable mattress, so it needs to be made well. This means making sure that your mattress materials are high-quality, but also be sure to look for mattresses that are designed well with layers that are built to last long-term.

Firmness

No matter how much you spend on a mattress, you want it to be comfortable, and much of your comfort will come from the firmness of your mattress. You can check out our walkthrough on which firmness level is best for you to get a feel for what to look for in a mattress.

Edge Support

Being able to use the entire surface of your mattress ensures that you get the most value out of it. However, some mattresses sink in around the edges. If you find a mattress in your price range, be sure to check that it has decent edge support so that it lasts longer.

Typically, hybrid mattresses tend to have better edge support since the combination of springs and foam tends to be a bit sturdier than other mattress types. Some hybrid mattresses even have a reinforced perimeter to further support around the edges, so it’s great to be aware of features like this when you’re shopping for a mattress.

How Mattress Cost is Determined

In addition to the quality of materials used, other factors that influence the price of your mattress include:

Mattress Features

Some mattresses are naturally going to be more expensive because they are more high-end and have features like temperature and firmness control, lighting, systems to track sleep, and other technological features. Custom-made mattresses can also include several features that would add to the overall cost of a mattress. In general, custom-made mattresses will hardly ever be cheap.

Mattress Brand

High-end name brands can have higher costs due to their demand and position in the mattress market. Two similarly made mattresses with similar features and materials may have two different price points because one brand is more popular than the other.

Mattress Construction

As mentioned above, mattress materials help influence the overall cost of a mattress, but other factors including extra support and comfort layers, quilting, and other design features can make a mattress more costly. Also, whether or not materials are organic and hypoallergenic can influence the price. Bed-in-a-box and machine-constructed mattresses tend to cost less than hand-constructed mattresses.

The interior of a hybrid mattress
Testing the materials of a hybrid mattress in our sleep lab

Additional costs

Finally, make sure you keep in mind any additional costs you may incur, such as shipping and a box spring or bed foundation when deciding on your mattress budget.

 How to Save Money on a Mattress

Save Money On Your Mattress
  • Consider what type of mattress you want.
  • Get a smaller mattress size if you can.
  • Shop online instead of in stores.

The first two bullet points are already covered in the previous section. To save money on a new mattress, it’s important to consider what type and size of mattress you need. Shoppers on a budget should shy away from luxury mattresses like airbeds or any smart mattresses with advanced technology. Also, keep in mind that twins, twin XLs, and full-size mattresses will be cheaper than larger sizes like queens, kings, California kings, and split king mattresses.

Finding Coupons

Around President’s Day, the Fourth of July, Amazon Prime Day, Labor Day, Veteran’s Day, Black Friday, Cyber Monday, and Christmas, there are a ton of great deals to watch out for. Check out our overview of some of the best holidays and sale periods to buy mattresses below.

Best Holidays for Mattress Sales

Holiday

Date

Presidents’ Day

Third Monday in February

Memorial Day

Last Monday in May

Independence Day

July 4th

Labor Day

First Monday in September

Veterans Day

November 11th

Best Mattress Sales to Buy a Cheap Mattress

Sale

Date

Details

Winter White Sales

January

Winter white sales are typically held throughout January, as many big box stores and online retailers discount home accessories to get rid of inventory. The sale dates differ from retailer to retailer, so be sure to keep an eye out for deals throughout the month.

Amazon Prime Day

Varies

Amazon Prime Day (which has evolved to be a two-day event) is held at different times each year. During Prime Day sales, consumers can find great discounts from well-known online mattress companies (including some of the ones listed in this best cheap mattress roundup)!

Black Friday

The day after Thanksgiving

Black Friday is one of the most well-known shopping holidays. Consumers can find discounts both in-store and online, and deals often last for several days as they blend in with Cyber Monday.

Cyber Monday

The Monday after Thanksgiving

Traditionally known as the best day to get discounts online, Cyber Monday has evolved to be Cyber weekend, often encompassing the weekend after Black Friday as well.

New Year’s Eve

December 31st

Mattresses are frequently on sale during the post-holiday season, specifically as a New Year’s Eve event. This could be an ideal time to buy if you’re looking for a good deal.

How to Make an Affordable Mattress More Comfortable

Not ready to buy a new mattress just yet? Here are some easy and cost effective ways to make your current bed feel more comfortable. 

Use a Mattress Topper

Mattress toppers can help revitalize your bed – without breaking the bank. Memory foam mattress toppers offer additional pressure relief, while latex toppers make your bed feel more breathable and cool. Take a look at our list of the best mattress toppers for some options. 

Rotate and Flip Your Mattress

To ensure your mattress remains supportive and comfortable, we recommend rotating it every three to six months. This helps prevent the mattress from sagging, and it can extend the lifespan of your bed. 

If you have a flippable mattress, you can also turn the mattress upside down and experience a renewed sense of comfort and support. It’s important to thoroughly understand your mattress’s construction before flipping it, however. There aren’t many flippable mattresses on the market these days. 

Flipping The Layla Mattress

If you turn over a mattress that is not designed to be flipped, you won’t feel comfortable at all. Most mattresses contain support layers at the bottom and comfort layers on top. If you rest directly on the support layer, you could develop joint pain. 

If you’re looking for a flippable mattress, check out Layla. This bed has a soft and a firm side, which allows sleepers to customize their level of support.

Try a Mattress Pad

Mattress pads protect against spills and stains, which extends the life of your mattress and offers some peace of mind. For even more cozy comfort, opt for a heated mattress pad that can soothe muscle tension and keep you warm.

Summary

Mattress

Superlative

Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Firm Mattress
Siena OriginalBest Affordable Mattress Under $500
Bear MattressBest for Back Sleepers
Nolah OriginalBest Memory Foam Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding EssentialBest Affordable Hybrid Mattress
Cocoon Chill Memory FoamBest Cooling
Silk & SnowBest for Side Sleepers
NectarBest Medium-Firm Mattress

Still, searching for your perfect mattress? Take our mattress finder quiz to receive tailored recommendations!

Featured image: Tekkol/Shutterstock

FAQ

What is the best affordable King-size mattress?

If you’re going solely off price, the Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam is going to be your best bet. It’s a quality bed that’s currently priced under $600 for a King. If you want something slightly more durable, opt for the Dreamfoam Chill, which is currently around $700 for a King. And you can always check out our roundup of the best King-size mattresses for more choices.

Where can I buy a cheap Twin mattress?

While you can always go to a brick-and-mortar store, shopping online is going to be your best bet for both discounts and convenience. Checking out our roundup of the best Twin mattresses is a great place to start.

Where can you buy a cheap air mattress?

An air mattress is a super-affordable way to add an extra bed to a guest room. And not to sound like a broken record, but we once again recommend looking online. You’ll often find discounts not available in stores, especially around the holidays. Check out our best air mattresses for some more tailored recommendations.

How do you make a cheap mattress more comfortable?

There are several ways. The most effective method is to add a mattress topper. Some toppers soften a mattress and others make it firmer — it all just depends on what you want. Take a look at our list of best mattress toppers for some suggestions. Also, if your mattress is beginning to sag over time, you can rotate it or add a sturdy sleep foundation beneath, such as a box spring or even a simple piece of plywood.

How much is a cheap Queen mattress?

All of the mattresses in this roundup are priced as Queens, so this should give you a fairly good range. The least expensive is the Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam (currently about $369 for a Queen-size) and the most expensive is the Tuft & Needle Hybrid (currently about $1,695 for a Queen-size). It’s worth noting that hybrids tend to be more expensive, and every bed here except for the Tuft & Needle is under $1,500, which would be considered affordable for a Queen. If you’re looking for more Queen options, see our best Queen-size mattresses of 2024.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.