Tuft & Needle Mattress Review

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs, where we are compensated for items purchased through links from our site. See our disclosure page for details.

Whenever you are looking for a new mattress, your budget should always be a consideration. You want to make sure that your new bed is comfortable, but you also don’t want to break the bank.

There are a number of “value” mattresses out there, and one of the most popular is the all-foam Tuft & Needle. To learn more, read my unbiased Tuft & Needle mattress review!

Tuft & Needle Mattress

tuft and needle orig e1624483781206

The Tuft & Needle is a great value mattress that is also extremely comfortable.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$645 - $1295

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Tuft & Needle Mattress

tuft and needle orig e1624483781206

The Tuft & Needle is a great value mattress that is also extremely comfortable.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$645 - $1295

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
tuft and needle orig e1624483781206

Tuft & Needle Mattress

The Tuft & Needle is a great value mattress that is also extremely comfortable.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$645 - $1295

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Tuft & Needle Mattress Review: Video Overview

Overall Rating

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches personally test each mattress in categories such as materials, comfort, cooling, and support. Hover over the icons to learn more about these different topics, or scroll down for a more detailed analysis on each one.

Mattress Performance Ratings

Poor
Average
Excellent

1
2
3
4
5
3.6
Overall Rating
3.5
Support
3
Edge Support
4
Cooling
4
Motion Transfer
3
Durability
4
Trial Period
4
Warranty

Note: Looking for a mattress with stronger support and durability? Check out our Best Mattresses That Won’t Sag.

Note: Looking for a mattress with stronger support and durability? Check out our Best Mattresses That Won’t Sag.

Tuft & Needle Mattress Overview

Right now, Tuft & Needle offers three mattresses: the Tuft & Needle Original, the Tuft & Needle Mint, and the Tuft & Needle Hybrid. They have had a great deal of success online with all three mattresses, but it all began with that Original mattress. That’s what I’ll be covering today, although you’re welcome to head over to our full reviews of the Mint and Hybrid for more info on those beds.

The Tuft & Needle Original is a streamlined mattress with two foam layers. While it looks simple at first, there’s actually quite a bit going on inside the bed’s construction. I’ll get into that in a bit. First, let’s go over some of the main pros and cons of the Tuft & Needle.

Pros of the Tuft & Needle Mattress

  • The Tuft & Needle Original is ideal for shoppers that don’t want to break the bank when shopping for a new mattress. A queen size mattress costs $895.00 before discounts and sales!
  • It offers a balance of comfort and support to light- and average weight combination sleepers.
  • Its affordability and value make it a good mattress for a guest room.

Cons of the Tuft & Needle Mattress

  • Although this is an all-foam mattress, it does not have a slow-moving memory foam feel.
  • The Tuft & Needle is not designed for heavy sleepers. People who weigh over 230 lb should look for a mattress for heavy people to provide them better overall support.
  • Most stomach sleepers will require more support under their hips to maintain spinal alignment.

Tuft & Needle Mattress Firmness and Feel

One of the first things I consider when reviewing a mattress is its firmness and feel. Let’s discuss how firm the Tuft & Needle mattress is and what it feels like to sleep on it.

How Firm Is the Tuft & Needle?

The Tuft & Needle has a firmness of 6.5/10. That’s the industry standard for medium-firm. The top layer of Adaptive Foam is pretty soft, but when you press into the mattress, you should get some firmness from the support layer.

As I’ll discuss below, the Tuft & Needle might feel softer or firmer depending on your weight. Lightweight sleepers might not press in so far, so the Tuft & Needle will probably feel softer to them. At the same time, heavyweight sleepers might press farther into the Tuft & Needle and find it to be a firmer mattress overall.

Sleeping on the Tuft & Needle Mattress

When I was back-sleeping, the Tuft & Needle provides the necessary balance of comfort and support; my hips sink in just the right amount, and the Adaptive Foam provides a good amount of contouring.

Side-sleeping on the Tuft & Needle, I experienced some good pressure relief on my shoulders and hips. I sank into the top layer of Adaptive Foam and feel very little pressure in those areas.

Tuft And Needle Mattress - Side Sleeping

However, the Tuft & Needle really isn’t supportive enough for stomach-sleeping. I could use some more support under my hips when in this position. Stomach sleepers will probably want to seek out a firmer mattress to give them the necessary support. See our best mattresses for stomach sleepers for some more supportive mattress options.

What Does the Tuft & Needle Feel Like?

Overall, the Tuft & Needle has a balanced foam feel that’s both soft and responsive. Lying down on the Tuft & Needle mattress, you will sink in a bit, but should have no trouble moving around or changing positions.

Sleeper WeightBack SleepersSide SleepersStomach Sleepers
Lightweight (Under 130 lb)ExcellentExcellentExcellent
Average (130 – 230 lb)ExcellentGoodBad
Heavyweight (Over 230 lb)BadBadBad

Is the Tuft & Needle Mattress Good For Lightweight People (Under 130 lb)?

  • Lightweight back sleepers will find enough support and plenty of pressure relief on the Tuft & Needle mattress.
  • Lightweight side sleepers don’t compress much into a mattress’s comfort layer. So these sleepers should feel comfortable and supported on the Tuft & Needle.
  • Even lighter stomach sleepers might even get enough support under their hips. I actually found it to be one of the best mattresses for teenagers and best mattresses for kids.

Is the Tuft & Needle Mattress Good For Average Weight People (130 – 230 lb)?

  • Average weight back sleepers who aren’t over 200 lbs should feel a great balance of comfort and support on the Tuft & Needle. That being said, those who are heavier might need a more supportive mattress.
  • Side-sleeping, average weight people who are on the lighter end of this spectrum should get enough pressure relief. But if they’re heavier, they could feel some serious pressure on their shoulders and hips.
  • Stomach-sleeping, the majority of average-weight people are going to want a firmer, more supportive mattress.

Is the Tuft & Needle Mattress Good For Heavyweight People (Over 230 lb)?

  • The Tuft & Needle is not supportive enough to support heavyweight back sleepers.
  • Side-sleeping, heavyweight sleepers will probably feel too much pressure on their shoulders and hips, and might want something with a thicker comfort layer.
  • This bed won’t be a good match for heavyweight stomach sleepers. Sleepers who weigh over 230 lb should look at our list of best mattresses for heavy people.

Tuft & Needle Mattress Construction

Now, let’s peel back the cover of the Tuft & Needle and see exactly what’s inside! I’ll look at each layer and explain exactly what it does for the mattress’ performance.

Cover

The Tuft & Needle features a thin cover that is also soft and breathable. It should let plenty of air pass through the top of the mattress. For an additional $50, you can also add antimicrobial protection.

Comfort Layer

The Tuft & Needle features one comfort layer of Adaptive Foam, a material proprietary to Tuft & Needle. It’s soft, responsive, and features graphite and ceramic gel infusions that are intended to help with heat dissipation and to keep you from overheating at night.

Tuft And Needle - Construction And Foam Layers

Support Layer

The Tuft & Needle boasts a thick piece of base foam in its support layer. It has an open-celled construction, which means it’s more breathable than many other types of mattress foam.

If you need more support, the mattress also pairs well with the Tuft & Needle Adjustable Frame.

Mattress Height

The Tuft & Needle mattress is 10″ thick.

Tuft & Needle Mattress Size Options and Price

If you want to see the most up-to-date size and pricing information for the Tuft & Needle, check out the following chart:

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin39" × 75"$645.00
Twin XL39" x 80"$695.00
Full 54" x 75"$795.00
Queen60" x 80"$895.00
King76" x 80"$1295.00
California King72" x 84"$1295.00

See Tuft & Needle mattress coupons.

Tuft & Needle Mattress
Tuft & Needle Mattress

The Tuft & Needle is a great value mattress that is also extremely comfortable.

Clarity Score
3.6 / 5.0

Tuft & Needle Mattress Performance

We wanted to know exactly how well the Tuft & Needle mattress performs with regard to cooling, motion transfer, and edge support. So, I put it to the test!

Sleeping Hot or Cold

While the Tuft & Needle does contain cooling infusions, it might not be the coolest-sleeping mattress. Because it’s an all-foam mattress, it might trap some body heat and cause you to warm up during the night. I personally didn’t feel hot while sleeping on the Tuft & Needle, but I didn’t feel cool either.

Motion Transfer

The Tuft & Needle handles motion transfer extremely well. The Adaptive Foam isolates motion to each side of the mattress so, if you want a good mattress for couples, the Tuft & Needle might be a good choice.

Edge Support

The Tuft & Needle does not feature the best edge support. When I sit and lie down near its edge, I felt like I might fall off. If you want to sleep toward the edge of your mattress for any reason, you might want to look elsewhere.

Tuft And Needle - Edge Support

Durability

The Tuft & Needle is a simpler value mattress and does not feature the most durable materials. Considering its more streamlined design, I could see the Tuft & Needle lasting for around five years.

Off-gassing

The Tuft & Needle is a bed in a box mattress and, yes, there was some off-gassing when I unboxed it. Off-gassing refers to the slight chemical smell emitted when compressed mattresses are unrolled. It’s completely normal and usually dissipates within 48 hours.

Noise

The Tuft & Needle is an all-foam mattress, so I don’t notice any significant noise when I move around and change positions.

Sex

If you want the best mattress for sex, it’s a good idea to find something bouncy and responsive. Based on this, I think the Tuft & Needle should be a good pick for amorous activities. It’s responsive and should make it easy to move around during those intimate moments.

Company Policies

Before you buy the Tuft & Needle mattress, you might want to take a close look at the fine print. I’ll break down the most important policies to understand below.

Warranty

The Tuft & Needle mattress comes with a 10-year limited mattress warranty. The mattress company will repair or replace your bed if it has any manufacturing defects that are covered by the warranty such as premature indentation and sagging or tears in the fabric cover. Make sure you keep your receipt in case you need to file a claim later!

Sleep Trial

Tuft & Needle offers a 100-night sleep trial period. This allows you to sleep on your mattress for 100 nights so you can decide if it’s the right mattress for you.

Return Policy

If you want to return the Tuft & Needle mattress within your 100-night trial period, you can initiate a return through Tuft & Needle and receive a full refund for your purchase. Although, if you ordered a Tuft & Needle mattress and had it delivered to Alaska or Hawaii, Tuft & Needle does not refund the original shipping fees.

Common Tuft & Needle Mattress Complaints

When it comes to Tuft & Needle, one of the most common complaints I saw is people saying the mattress is too firm and not comfortable enough. The Tuft & Needle is a medium-firm mattress around a 6.5/10, and is best for lightweight to average-weight sleepers who won’t put as much pressure on the bed. For those seeking a more plush memory foam mattress, you may want to refer to our list of the best soft mattresses or the best memory foam mattresses.

Another complaint I saw about the Tuft & Needle mattress is that it traps sleeper’s body heat in the mattress and sleeps too hot. As I mentioned, the Tuft & Needle isn’t designed to offer an exceptionally cool night’s sleep. If this is a concern, you may want to see our list of the best cooling mattresses for hot sleepers.

How Does the Tuft & Needle Compare to Other Mattresses?

Interested in a little comparison-shopping? Let’s talk about how the Tuft & Needle compares to other relevant bed-in-a-box mattresses.

Tuft & Needle vs Casper

Product
Firmness
Score
tuft and needle orig e1624483781206
Tuft & Needle Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
3.6/5
casper original hero
Casper Original Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
3.7/5
tuft and needle orig e1624483781206
Product
Tuft & Needle Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
3.6/5
casper original hero
Product
Casper Original Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
3.7/5

The Casper mattress is one of the Tuft & Needle’s biggest competitors. While it’s also an all-foam mattress, its construction is slightly different. In its second layer, the Casper features a Zoned Support system. This is a layer of memory foam that’s firmer toward the center and softer toward the head and foot of the mattress. It’s intended to make the mattress feel firmer when you’re back- and stomach-sleeping and softer when you’re side-sleeping.

Casper Mattress - Construction And Foam Layers

Overall, these are both mattresses with a balanced foam feel, and they make it easy to move around at night. However, I thought the Casper was firmer than the Tuft & Needle mattress and felt more supportive while I was back-sleeping.

The Tuft & Needle is also more affordable than the Casper mattress. This isn’t surprising, considering that the Tuft & Needle is designed to be more of a streamlined value mattress.

Who Should Choose the Tuft & Needle Mattress? Who Should Choose the Casper Mattress? 
Lightweight sleepers, children, and teenagersBack sleepers
Those who want to save moneyThose looking for more support

Read our full Tuft & Needle Vs Casper comparison.

Tuft & Needle vs Nectar

Product
Firmness
Score
tuft and needle orig e1624483781206
Tuft & Needle Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
3.6/5
nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390
Nectar Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.3/5
tuft and needle orig e1624483781206
Product
Tuft & Needle Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
3.6/5
nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390
Product
Nectar Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.3/5

If you’re taking a look at the Tuft & Needle, you might want to know how it compares to another popular all-foam mattress like the Nectar. The Nectar mattress features three layers: gel memory foam over hi-core memory foam over a base layer. The memory foam gives it a different feel than the Tuft & Needle; it exhibits that classic memory-foam feel while the Tuft & Needle has more of a balanced foam feel.

Nectar Mattress - Construction And Foam Layers

In terms of firmness, the Tuft & Needle and Nectar are basically the same. When it comes to price, the Tuft & Needle is the more affordable mattress.

Who Should Choose the Tuft & Needle Mattress? Who Should Choose the Nectar Mattress? 
Those with mobility issuesSide sleepers
Budget shoppersThose looking for a traditional slow-moving, memory-foam feel

Read our full Tuft & Needle Vs Nectar comparison.

The Takeaway

The Tuft & Needle Original is an all-foam mattress that offers a balance of comfort and support to light- and average weight combination sleepers. Its medium-firmness is ideal for lightweight sleepers in any position and for keeping as a guest room mattress. This mattress is not a good fit for heavyweight sleepers or for shoppers looking for luxurious features.

FAQs

Are the Tuft & Needle mattresses any good?

I have tried all the Tuft & Needle mattresses and can say they are, in fact, good! The Tuft and Needle Original mattress will be a good pick for lightweight people and those who want to spend less money on their mattress purchase. The Tuft & Needle Mint will be a great choice if you need something thicker and softer. The Tuft & Needle Hybrid will work for larger people and those who need more support overall.

Does the Tuft & Needle need a box spring?

No, the Tuft & Needle does not require a box spring. You can use a box spring with the mattress, but it is not really necessary.

Where are the Tuft & Needle mattresses made?

All the Tuft & Needle mattresses are made in the USA.

Is Tuft & Needle non-toxic?

The Tuft & Needle mattresses are indeed non-toxic. Three independent certification boards have certified the brand’s mattresses.

Can you flip a Tuft & Needle mattress?

No, you cannot flip a Tuft & Needle mattress. It should only lie with the support layer on the bottom and the comfort layer on top. Flipping the mattress will not give you the comfort or support you require.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.