Best Bed-In-a-Box Mattresses in 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

If you’re looking for the best mattress online, you may be overwhelmed by looking for the best bed-in-a-box mattresses available. The number of brands, models, and types of beds to choose from can truly be staggering. Luckily, we’ve personally reviewed almost all of the best mattresses in a box and have narrowed them down to the top 10 that impressed us the most. These beds really differ in terms of price, design, and feel, so there should be something here for most bed-in-a-box shoppers.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Bed-In-a-Box Mattress?

Our expert reviewers chose the Nectar as the best bed-in-a-box mattress for its gel-infused memory foam, quality materials, and affordable price.

The Best Bed-In-a-Box Mattresses

Best Mattress In A Box 2024 Video Review

Compare the Best Bed-In-a-Box Mattresses

Nectar Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress WinkBed Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Bear Original Mattress Layla Mattress Birch Natural Mattress TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress
Nectar Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress WinkBed Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Bear Original Mattress Layla Mattress Birch Natural Mattress TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Material Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Foam Foam Hybrid Foam
Cooling -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back Back & Side Combination Back & Side Back Back & Side Combination Back & Stomach Back & Side

How We Chose Our Top Picks

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

Seeing as bed-in-a-box is such a broad category that covers a lot of mattresses, we took a closer look at the overall score, only choosing products that scored a 3.8 out of 5 or above. Of those 10 beds, seven of them scored a 4 or higher.

A man sleeps on his back on the Bear Pro Hybrid
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

To put together this roundup of the best bed-in-a-box mattresses, we considered each of our traditional mattress review factors, including support, firmness, motion isolation, company reputation, quality of materials, edge support, and, cooling. Our mattress experts hands-on tested each mattress listed above to give an informed review to guide you in your mattress journey.

Best Overall – Nectar

Best Overall

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390
Best Overall

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of The Nectar
Great for back sleepers
Good amount of edge support for an all-foam bed
After discounts, a queen-size mattress is currently priced at under $1,000
Cons of The Nectar
May trap heat

Our Expert’s Take

Out of the many bed-in-a-box mattresses we’ve reviewed, the all-foam Nectar is one of our favorites. Side sleepers should especially enjoy the thick layer of gel-infused memory foam on top that melts away pressure at the shoulders and hips. After that, a layer of soft conventional foam is a bit denser to help ease you into a layer of firm support foam at the bottom of the bed.

One of the things we really appreciate about the Nectar mattress is its affordability. If you take advantage of one of the many sales that the company runs you can purchase a queen for well under $1,000. Despite this affordability, we found the quality of the Nectar to be very impressive. We gave it scores of 4 out of 5 or higher on our durability, cooling, edge support, and motion transfer tests. 

What the testers say: “The Nectar is one of the best value mattresses I’ve ever tested. It offers great contouring and pressure relief, and felt particularly nice while side and back sleeping.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar

  • The layers of the Nectar are soft and contour the body, so if you sleep on your side, you should feel some nice pressure relief in your hips and shoulders so that you aren’t waking up with aches and pains.
  • If you sleep near the edge of your mattress, the Nectar may be a great fit for you. It’s made with a sturdy perimeter and great edge support, which helps prevent you from feeling like you’re going to roll off of the bed.
  • It’s sold at a value price and should last you between 8 and 10 years, making it one of the best mattresses for the money.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • If you weigh more than 230 lbs, this may not be a supportive enough mattress for you. You may want to opt for another mattress such as the Titan mattress. 
  • This is a soft mattress that contours the body. If you want a bouncy or responsive mattress, this one won’t be a good match for you.

Other user reviews

On the Nectar website, customers gave the Nectar Original mattress an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars. Some of the top reviews praised how the mattress is contouring and helps alleviate chronic pain. On the contrary, some users thought the mattress was too soft and not supportive enough.

Read our full Nectar mattress review. Or for other recommendations, take a look at our best mattresses of 2024.

Best Firm Bed-In-a-Box Mattress – DreamCloud

Best Firm Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Firm Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros of The DreamCloud
Luxury cooling features
Good balance of comfort and support
Works well for back sleepers
Cons of The DreamCloud
Too firm for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The DreamCloud is a hybrid bed-in-a-box mattress that would work great for fans of something firmer. Lying down on the DreamCloud, you shouldn’t feel yourself sinking in too far. This makes it very easy to move around, which is an important factor for combination sleepers.

Thanks to its firmer feel, several of our mattress testers, specifically the light- and average-weight ones, felt good while on their stomachs. That’s because it kept their hips sufficiently supported which, in turn, helped keep their spines properly aligned. If you’re worried about back pain, spinal alignment is very important to keep in mind. 

What the testers say: “During my testing I found the DreamCloud to have a really supportive and bouncy feel. While back sleeping, I could feel it keeping my spine in a nice, straight line. I’d particularly recommend this bed to back sleepers who prefer a firmer feel.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud

  • The DreamCloud is a firmer-than-average mattress, and firmer than many of its competitors. It makes a great mattress for back sleepers since it offers a nice balance of comfort and support.
  • The DreamCloud is a good cooling mattress. The foam layers are infused with gel, and the coil layer helps to promote airflow. These elements should help keep the mattress from overheating and should make the mattress a good fit for hot sleepers.
  • If you’re a combination sleeper who shifts around a lot, or you’re someone who sleeps with a partner and you’re looking for a good mattress for sex, the DreamCloud should be a great fit since it’s bouncy, responsive, and easy to move around on.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud

  • As mentioned, the DreamCloud is bouncy and responsive. This makes it a poor fit for anyone looking for a slow-moving mattress that makes you feel like you’re sinking into it.
  • Side and stomach sleepers who are heavier may not feel properly supported on this mattress. Heavy back sleepers may feel the proper support, on the other hand.

Other user reviews

Most DreamCloud mattress customers didn’t have any complaints about the mattress on the company website and even rated it 4.6 out of 5 stars. The few negative reviews came from some customers who thought that the mattress was heavy, making it difficult to set up.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review. Or for other options, take a look at our best firm mattresses

Best Luxury Bed-In-a-Box – Nolah Evolution

Best Luxury Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Luxury Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of The Nolah Evolution
Absorbs movement well, so it’s great for couples
Lightweight sleepers should be comfortable in all positions
Zoned construction and a balanced feel
Cons of The Nolah Evolution
May not be best for cheap mattress shoppers

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re looking for more than a simple construction, try a luxury bed-in-box: the Nolah Evolution. This model excels in durability and cooling. With 8” coils and an Edge Support System, this high-quality bed could last you over 10 years. To prevent folks from overheating, the Nolah Evolution has a cover that dissipates heat, graphite-infused memory foam, and a heat escape gusset.

These luxury cooling features really impressed us, as evidenced by the perfect score we gave the Nola Evolution on our temperature regulation test. We rested on the mattress for extended periods of time and not one of us ever felt uncomfortably warm. If we had to describe the feel of the Nolah Evolution in a way that most people would understand, it reminds us of a mattress that you’d find in a luxury hotel. 

What the testers say: “The moment I lay down on the Nolah Evolution I could feel that it was a high-quality mattress. Its cover and top layer are quilted with cooling materials, which offer plush comfort without trapping heat. Sleepers will want to note that all this luxury comes with a higher price tag.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • The Nolah Evolution is a great cooling mattress since it’s made with coils that promote airflow and its foam layers are infused with graphite. For hot sleepers, this mattress should help keep them from overheating at night.
  • The Nolah Evolution is made with high-quality and durable foams and coils, so we expect this to be a long-term investment. If its cared for properly, we expect it to last for a decade.
  • This mattress is bouncy and responsive, making it a good choice for partners who may want to find the best mattress for sex, or sleepers who just generally move around and change positions a lot during the night.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • The Nolah is one of the more luxurious mattresses we’ve added to this roundup. It’s made with high-quality materials, meaning it comes at a higher price tag. If you want a more basic version of this mattress, try the Nolah mattress instead.
  • Like many bed-in-a-box mattresses, there was an off-gassing scent on the mattress when it was unboxed. After about a day or two of airing out though, the smell dissipated.

Other user reviews

The Nolah Evolution seems to be a fan favorite on the Nolah website, as it’s rated 4.9 out of 5 stars. Customers raved about the luxury feel of the materials, the high quality, and the overall comfort. Customers also loved that the customer service team was helpful and supportive during the purchase process.

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress reviewOr for other options, check out our recommendations for the best luxury mattresses.

Best Cooling Bed-In-a-Box Mattress – WinkBed

Best Cooling Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
WinkBed
Best Cooling Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of The WinkBed
Great for hot sleepers
Features the look and feel of a hotel mattress
Four different firmness levels
Cons of The WinkBed
Doesn’t have the best motion isolation

Our Expert’s Take

If you sleep hot, you’ll want a bed that’s designed with cooling in mind. In comes the WinkBed. With this mattress’s cooling Tencel cover, gel-infused foam, and airflow promoting coils, even the hottest of sleepers shouldn’t overheat. This bed comes in four firmness options, with the fourth option, Plus, being designed specifically for heavier sleepers. This means sleepers of all sizes and preferences should find a WinkBed model that suits their needs.

When we tested the Luxury Firm version of the WinkBed we spent a lot of time assessing its ability to regulate temperature. One of the primary ways we do this is by having all of our testers rest on the bed for long stretches of time while measuring any noticeable fluctuations in their temperatures. Ultimately, we awarded the WinkBed a 4 out of 5 on our cooling test, as it kept all of us at a comfortable temperature throughout our tests. 

What the testers say: “I tested the WinkBed in the Luxury Firm version (it also comes in Softer, Firmer and Plus, for heavy people). This version had a balanced feel that felt great while back sleeping. But whatever firmness you choose, it’ll sleep cool thanks to its airflow-promoting coils and cooling Tencel cover.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • The WinkBed is a bouncy and responsive mattress that’s easy to move around on. That makes it a great fit for combination sleepers who toss around a lot at night, or couples looking for the best mattress for sex.
  • This bed has some nice cooling benefits, thanks to its breathable Tencel cover and individually wrapped coils that allow for some additional airflow. 
  • The WinkBed has zoned support, which means that no matter what position you sleep in at night, you should feel properly supported on this mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • The WinkBed doesn’t have the best motion isolation, so if you’re someone who wakes up from your partner’s movements at night, this may not be a great fit for you.
  • If you’re looking for a plush and conforming mattress, this may not be a great fit. The WinkBed is a mattress that will make you feel like you’re sleeping “on it” rather than “in it.”

Other user reviews

The WinkBed was rated 4.8 out of 5 stars on the WinkBed website, with many customers praising the mattress for being both supportive and comfortable. There weren’t many negative reviews of the mattress, but some customers did feel that the mattress was firmer than they expected. 

Read our full WinkBed mattress review. Or for other options, check out the best cooling mattresses

Best Customizable Bed-In-a-Box Mattress – Helix Midnight

Best Customizable Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Customizable Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom
Best Customizable Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of The Helix Midnight
Luxe upgrades available for an additional fee
Excellent match for back sleepers and side sleepers
Great for couples
Cons of The Helix Midnight
Could make some noise after years of use

Our Expert’s Take

With Helix, customers can select from one of the company’s numerous bed-in-a-box mattresses. These range in terms of firmness, feel, and sleep temperature. The brand even goes one step further in helping people find the ideal mattress: a sleep quiz. Shoppers will answer questions regarding their weight, sleeping position, and firmness preferences, and then Helix will use that data to select the correct mattress for that customer. Personally, we’re a big fan of the hybrid Helix Midnight, which uses Memory Plus Foam, Helix Responsive Foam and a layer of individually wrapped coils to create a mixture of comfort and support.

We especially appreciate the Helix Midnight for its above-average performance across the board. It earned a 4 out of 5 or above on every one of our unique mattress tests, indicating good cooling capabilities, strong edge support, good durability, and more. Plus, it performed well or better for almost all of the sleeping positions and body types that we had testing the mattress. 

What the testers say: “The Helix Midnight is Helix’s middle-of-the-road offering, meaning it has a balanced feel and a medium-firmness level. I found it really comfortable for side sleeping and back sleeping, but I’d recommend stomach sleepers go with something firmer.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • The Helix Midnight is a mattress that has some nice cooling features. It features a breathable cover and the coil layer helps to promote airflow. This is something that hot sleepers may want to keep in mind.
  • This mattress has a great balance of comfort and support. Its Memory Plus foam layers contour the body while still adding a bit of bounce to the mattress, and the study coils add a layer of support.
  • While the mattress does have a bit of bounce, especially since there is a full layer of coils, the Helix Midnight helps keep motion transfer limited. This means that if you sleep with a partner, their movements shouldn’t wake you up at night.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • The Helix Midnight has a coil layer, which did make some noise when we moved around on this mattress. Though the squeaks we heard weren’t extremely loud, they could be distracting if you’re a light sleeper.
  • Even though this mattress is slightly firmer than a medium-firm mattress, most stomach sleepers won’t feel properly supported on it and will need something firmer

Other user reviews

The Helix Midnight mattress was rated 4.5 out of 5 stars by customers on the Helix website. Reviewers loved how comfortable they felt on the mattress, and some even went as far as to claim that the mattress helped to alleviate some chronic back pain. 

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review of several of the brand’s beds. Or for other options, check out the best customizable mattresses

Best Value Bed-In-a-Box – Brooklyn Signature Hybrid

Best Value Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Value Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Value Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid
Great for combination sleepers
Gel-infused foam for cooling and coils for airflow
Durable and should last between 7-10 years
Cons of The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid
Doesn’t have the best edge support

Our Expert’s Take

A quality bed-in-a-box is convenient, but it doesn’t have to be expensive. Brooklyn Bedding uses their own factory to construct their mattresses, lowering the overall cost. The Signature Hybrid comes in three different firmness options (Soft, Medium, and Firm), so you can choose the option that best suits your needs. Its sturdy hybrid makeup of foam and coils is great for those who like to sleep “on top of” their mattress.

Brooklyn Bedding often runs generous sales for their mattresses. For example, we’ve often seen the queen-size Signature Hybrid go for as little as $999. We don’t often come across a mattress of this well rounded that’s so affordable. On our performance tests, the Signature Hybrid only earned less than a 4 out of 5 on one category (motion transfer), so the reasonable price is not at all indicative of its quality. 

What the testers say: “The Brooklyn Signature is one of the few beds I’ve tested that offers a luxury feel for a value price. And it comes in three firmness levels, so any type of sleeper can find a model that works for them.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid comes in three firmness choices: Soft, Medium, and Firm, so no matter what your sleeping position is, you should be able to find a mattress that suits your needs.
  • If you’re a hot sleeper, the Signature Hybrid helps with cooling thanks to its gel-infused foams that help dissipate heat and the coils that help promote airflow.
  • If you are a combination that moves around a lot throughout the night, the Signature Hybrid may be a good fit for you since it’s a mattress that’s easy to move around on.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • As mentioned, the Signature Hybrid is very easy to move around on. Because of this, it’s not the best at isolating motion, so if you sleep with a partner who moves around a lot, you may be awoken by their movements.
  • This mattress doesn’t have the best edge support. If you’re someone who sleeps near the edge of your mattress, you might feel like you’re going to roll off of it.

Other user reviews

Customers on the Brooklyn Bedding site gave the Signature Hybrid mattress an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars. The best reviews raved about the mattress being soft, supportive, and easy to set up. Some of the less positive reviews called the mattress too soft and unsupportive. 

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress reviewOr for other options, check out our best mattresses for the money.

Best Bed-In-a-Box Mattress For Side Sleepers – Bear Original

Best Bed-In-a-Box Mattress For Side Sleepers

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Bed-In-a-Box Mattress For Side Sleepers

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame
Best Bed-In-a-Box Mattress For Side Sleepers

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of The Bear Original
Great for back sleepers as well as side sleepers
Should sleep cool
Celliant cover may assist with blood flow and recovery
Cons of The Bear Original
Not supportive enough for heavy people

Our Expert’s Take

At a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale, the all-foam Bear should be an excellent fit for most side sleepers. While they’ll get the pressure relief they need around the shoulders and hips from a top layer of memory foam, a firmer transition layer and support layer will keep them from sinking too far into the bed. That means the spine has a good chance of staying properly aligned.

We should say, our heavyweight mattress tester felt a bit uncomfortable when he tested the Bear on his side. It was too soft to keep him from sinking deep below the mattress surface, causing some pain around his shoulders and hips. That said, our light- and average-weight testers felt great while they were on their side. The firmness was just right for them to receive good pressure relief while their spines remained aligned. 

What the testers say: “I found the Bear to be a great match for side sleeping because it let me sink in just enough, while still keeping me supported. I also liked that it didn’t trap heat, which tells me that it’ll be a good match for hot sleepers.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Original

  • Though we love the Bear for side sleepers, it’s also great for back sleepers. It is soft and plush but also features some sturdy support so that the hips and spine stay aligned in this sleeping position.
  • Lightweight sleepers and average-weight sleepers who sleep on their sides should especially enjoy the Bear. It offers some great pressure relief, so sleepers shouldn’t wake up with pain in the hips or shoulders.
  • The Bear is a mattress that sleeps cool. It has gel infused within the foam layers which keeps heat from being trapped and helps hot sleepers stay cool at night.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Original

  • We recommend this mattress for back and side sleepers, but stomach sleepers likely won’t get the same comfort on the Bear. If you’re a stomach sleeper, you’ll likely want to opt for something firmer than the Bear.
  • The Bear is an all-foam mattress with a classic foam feel. If you’re a fan of bouncier and more responsive mattresses, try a hybrid mattress, like the Bear Elite Hybrid.

Other user reviews

On the Bear website, customers gave the Bear Original mattress an average rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars. The customer reviews matched our professional reviews – most side and back sleepers praised how comfortable and supportive the mattress felt for them, while many of the complaints were from stomach sleepers who did not feel properly supported on the mattress.

Read our full Bear Original mattress review. Or for other options, check out our best mattresses for side sleepers.

Best Soft Bed-In-a-Box Mattress – Layla

Best Soft Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

Layla Mattress

mattress gal 2

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Soft Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

Layla Mattress

mattress gal 2

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
mattress gal 2
Best Soft Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

Layla Mattress

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of The Layla
Soft side is great for side sleepers
Firm side is good for back and stomach sleeping
Anti-microbial and cooling
Cons of The Layla
Sleepers looking for a medium-firm mattress may not find comfort

Our Expert’s Take

The Layla is one of the most popular bed-in-a-box mattresses and for good reason – it features an innovative flippable design. While most old-school innerspring mattresses are flippable, the Layla is different in that it’s memory foam, with a different firmness on each side. The soft side is softer than average and features a thick layer of copper-infused memory foam,  a material that relieves pressure extremely well and is a great mattress for side sleepers.

This flippability of this mattress makes it not only good for fans of a soft mattress, but fans of a firm mattress as well. Why would this be a benefit? Well, you might put on weight or switch to a new, dedicated sleeping position in the future, requiring a firmer mattress in the future. And if this ends up happening, you’ll simply be able to flip your Layla to the firm side instead of having to buy a whole new mattress. 

What the testers say: “The Layla is one of the few flippable bed-in-a-box mattresses on the market today. The soft side feels great for side sleeping, while the firm side is a good match for most back and stomach sleepers. However, if you’re after a medium feel, you’ll want to look elsewhere.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Layla

  • The Layla is a flippable mattress, meaning that users who want to choose between having a firm mattress or a soft mattress have the choice to sleep on either side. This also means that with proper care, the Layla can be a long-lasting mattress, making it a great value mattress.
  • The Layla is infused with copper and Thermogel, meaning that it shouldn’t trap heat the way typical memory foam mattresses do. It’s important to note though, that it’ll likely still be a hotter mattress than an innerspring mattress that allows for more airflow.
  • The soft side of the mattress is softer than average, we rated it at a 6/10 on our firmness scale, and the firm side is firmer than average, as we rated it. at a 8/10. The average medium firm mattress would be a 6.5/10.

What to Keep in Mind About the Layla

  • Some stomach sleepers might find the Layla comfortable, but heavier stomach sleepers may have a hard time feeling supported on the Layla, even on the firm side.
  • Since the soft side of the Layla is softer than average, some sleepers might feel as though they are sinking too far into their mattresses when they lay on it.

Other user reviews

The Layla mattress was given an average rating of 4.4 out of 5 stars on the Layla website. Many of the customers praised the unique flippable feature of the Layla and considered it a balanced mattress that offers both comfort and support. Some customers did complain that the mattress was too soft though, and that the softer side of the mattress started to sag after a few months of use. 

Read our full Layla mattress review. Or for other options, check out our best soft mattresses.

Best Bed-In-a-Box Mattress for Heavy Sleepers – Birch Natural

Best Bed-In-a-Box Mattress For Heavy Sleepers

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

The Birch mattress is a natural and organic mattress with customizable features that is great for many types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Bed-In-a-Box Mattress For Heavy Sleepers

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

The Birch mattress is a natural and organic mattress with customizable features that is great for many types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Bed-In-a-Box Mattress For Heavy Sleepers

Birch Natural Mattress

The Birch mattress is a natural and organic mattress with customizable features that is great for many types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of The Birch
One of the best mattresses for sex
Option to add a 3″ topper if you want a softer bed
Aerated latex, breathable wool and coils make it sleep cool
Cons of The Birch
Not ideal for those looking for plush softness

Our Expert’s Take

The Birch Natural mattress is an eco-friendly mattress made of natural, chemical-free latex, organic cotton, and wool. Underneath those layers, the mattress features a layer of individually wrapped coils. The Birch is a firm mattress, which makes it a great option for heavy sleepers who need to feel supported while they rest.

The Birch Natural is particularly great for heavy back sleepers. Our larger mattress testers felt phenomenal while they were on their backs. The Birch Natural also feels fairly nice for heavyweight stomach sleepers, but it’s likely too firm for heavyweight side sleepers. 

What the testers say: “As a heavy sleeper myself, I know how important it is to have a sturdy bed that won’t start to sag after a few years. I found the Birch to be really supportive, and its made with a number of high-quality materials that should stand the test of time.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch

  • The Birch is made with all-natural materials such as cotton, wool, and Talalay latex. It’s an eco-friendly mattress, and what’s more, it’s also flame-resistant.
  • Since the foam layers in the Birch are made of latex rather than traditional foam, it’ll trap less heat than some of the other mattresses in this roundup. That, in addition to the coil layer that promotes airflow, makes for a fairly cool mattress.
  • The Talalay latex in the Birch makes it a bouncy and responsive mattress, making it one of the best mattresses for sex.

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch

  • Since the Birch is so bouncy, it won’t isolate motion as well as some other mattresses. If you sleep with a partner who moves around often throughout the night, you may feel their movements on this mattress.
  • This isn’t a mattress that’ll give you a slow-moving feel as if you’re sleeping “in it,” but instead, you’ll feel like you’re sleeping on it.

Other user reviews

The Birch mattress is rated at 4.7 out of 5 stars on the Birch site currently, with most reviewers praising the eco-friendly materials, how comfortable it is, and how easy it is to set up. On the contrary, many reviewers felt like the latex layer of the mattress was thinner than they expected.

Read our full Birch mattress review. Or for other options, check out our best mattresses for heavy people.

Best Memory Foam Bed-In-a-Box Mattress – Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-Cloud

Best Memory Foam Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress

tempur cloud airtable

The Tempur-Cloud promises to provide the soft comfort consumers have come to expect from Tempur-Pedic mattresses, but for a more affordable price.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

90 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress

tempur cloud airtable

The Tempur-Cloud promises to provide the soft comfort consumers have come to expect from Tempur-Pedic mattresses, but for a more affordable price.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

90 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
tempur cloud airtable
Best Memory Foam Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

TEMPUR-Cloud Mattress

The Tempur-Cloud promises to provide the soft comfort consumers have come to expect from Tempur-Pedic mattresses, but for a more affordable price.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

90 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of The TEMPUR-Cloud
One of the cheapest TEMPUR beds
Softens after a few weeks of use
A very supportive mattress
Cons of The TEMPUR-Cloud
Doesn’t offer any bounce

Our Expert’s Take

What makes the TEMPUR-Cloud such a great all-foam mattress? Well, that would be the proprietary foam layers made of high-density TEMPUR foam. This foam is designed to conform to your body and let you sink in while giving a slow-moving feel.

We appreciate that the TEMPUR-Cloud provides the typical memory-foam feel that many shoppers seek out in a mattress. When we tested it, we sank comfortably into the mattress as it conformed to our bodies’ curves, providing great pressure relief around sensitive areas. We’d describe it as cloud-like, which makes sense given its name. 

What the testers say: “The TEMPUR-Cloud has a classic memory foam feel that gave me lots of contouring and pressure relief. I thought it felt really comfortable while side and back sleeping. Overall I’d recommend it as a great option for anyone who loves memory foam.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the TEMPUR-Cloud

  • If you’re a side sleeper, you should get some nice pressure relief from the TEMPUR-Cloud. The plush foams in this mattress offer some nice contouring benefits, so you shouldn’t feel pain in your shoulders or neck after sleeping on this mattress.
  • The Tempur-Pedic brand is the original memory foam brand, so as with most of their mattresses, you’ll get a plush, typical slow-moving foam feel.
  • The TEMPUR-Cloud mattress is one of the more reasonably priced mattresses from the Tempur-Pedic brand.

What to Keep in Mind About the TEMPUR-Cloud

  • The TEMPUR-Cloud probably won’t be suited for stomach sleepers since it’s soft and plush, and stomach sleepers tend to want a firmer feel.
  • People who have mobility issues may want to try a bouncier and more responsive feeling mattress, as they may feel like they’re going to get stuck in this one.

Other user reviews

On the Tempur-Pedic website, customers rated the TEMPUR-Cloud mattress 4.6 out of 5 stars. Most customers loved that this mattress offers the soft, plush, typical, and well-known Tempur material, but also had the option to add the brand’s hybrid technology to the mattress. Others who left reviews thought that the mattress was too soft and unsupportive, especially for people who live with back pain.

Read our full TEMPUR-Cloud mattress review. Or for other options, check out our best memory foam mattresses

What Is a Bed-In-a-Box Mattress? 

A bed-in-a-box is exactly what it sounds like: a bed that arrives on your doorstep in a box!

The internet has made mattress shopping very convenient, with a plethora of brands out on the market. Many brands these days will also offer quizzes if they have more than one model. Quizzes can help curate the mattress to the consumer to give them the best option for their situations.

bestpillowever pillow review box

The bed-in-a-box used to be just all-foam mattresses that were compressed into a cardboard box, but these days even mattresses with coils can be packaged up and shipped to your door. From there it’s as simple as removing the packaging and letting the bed expand. Most expand rather quickly, but it’s best to wait about 24-48 hours to let the bed come to its shape completely and off-gas any chemical smell that happened as a result of the compression process.

It’s also a common misconception that bed-in-a-box mattresses are less durable than those you can pick up in a brick-and-mortar. High-quality beds-in-a-box can last just as long as one that has never been compressed!

Who Should Get a Bed-In-A-Box?Who Shouldn’t Get a Bed-In-a-Box?
Budget shoppersPeople who need a bed right away
People who like to compare many modelsAnyone who prefers to try before they buy
People looking for a convenient shopping experiencePeople who live alone (the box is often very heavy)
Anyone who has specific needs looking for customization or firmness options People who don’t want to have to return a mattress to an online only company

It is worth pointing out that some online only brands don’t compress mattresses. One such company is Saatva, which we’ve reviewed before.

While buying a mattress online is incredibly convenient, they aren’t going to be for every type of shopper. One of the hardest parts about buying an online mattress is the inability to try it out before you buy it. 

Luckily, almost every single online mattress retailer has a sleep trial. These trial periods are, at a minimum, around 100 days. This gives you plenty of time to determine if you made the right choice. Most brands will also recommend giving a new mattress around 30 days before making any return or exchange decisions.

Having a trial period can often benefit you more than trying a bed out for a few minutes in-store. However, should you end up needing to return your mattress, many brands will offer full refunds, and even come pick up the mattress for you. 

Many online mattresses are covered by warranties, and you should look for 10 years as a minimum. These cover manufacturing defects for the most part, but some may have restrictions or be limited warranties. Limited warranties mean things like accidental damage, cosmetic damage, or general wear and tear are not covered. Be sure to thoroughly read the brand’s warranty policy before clicking “check out.”

What Are the Pros of a Mattress in a Box?

Price

One of the primary reasons we recommend a bed-in-a-box mattress is the price. When you shop at a brick-and-mortar mattress store, the company needs to charge a premium in order to pay for their location (or locations) across the country. A bed in a box, on the other hand, ships directly to the customer, often resulting in a lower cost for comparable quality.

Convenience

Moving a mattress is a pain in the neck. Believe us, at our testing facility we’ve moved hundreds of them. Having the mattress arrive compressed in a relatively small box makes it so much easier to lug between rooms or up and down the stairs. Still though, the boxes tend to be heavy, so you should have someone available to help you move it if you feel you’ll be unable to alone.

Easy Delivery

No negotiating delivery costs with a tricky salesman — the cost of bed-in-a-box delivery is usually built into the price of the mattress itself. And there are even some companies that offer complimentary white glove delivery, which means the delivery person will set up your new mattress for you and remove the old one.

What Are the Cons of a Mattress in a Box?

Off-Gassing

Something that’s specific to bed-in-a-box mattresses is off-gassing. When a mattress gets compressed, the chemical used in its construction get trapped. Once the box is open, these chemicals are slowly released. While not harmful, this can often result in an unpleasant odor that will usually dissipate after a couple of days.

Support

Something we’ve noticed with cheaper bed-in-a-box mattresses is that they will sometimes be unsupportive. This tends to only affect memory foam mattresses, as hybrid mattresses have a layer of springs that provide great stability. If you’re worried about this, do plenty of research on the mattress you intend to buy. You can usually glean the quality of the mattress by utilizing expert reviews as well as customer reviews.

Can’t Try Before You Buy

The biggest problem that some people have with bed-in-a-box mattresses is the fact that you can’t try a product before you buy it. However, most companies provide generous trial periods where you’re able to sleep on the mattress for an extended period of time and return it at little to no cost to you if you’re unhappy with it.

What to Consider When Buying a Bed in a Box

Firmness

Online mattresses come in all firmness levels. We commonly test medium-firm mattresses here at Mattress Clarity. One way we help people navigate firmness in the online marketplace is giving beds a score from one to 10.

A hand presses into memory foam

Medium-firm mattresses have an industry standard rating of 6.5/10. Sleeping position and body type are the two most important considerations when looking at firmness. Heavier individuals often need more support, and should go for firm mattresses, while lightweight sleepers should go for soft. We’ll break down sleeping positions a little further down.

Feel

As mentioned, all types of mattresses can be compressed into a box and shipped to your door. All-foam beds will often feel soft, and have that slow-moving memory foam quality to them. If you prefer bouncy, responsive mattresses, consider a hybrid mattress or a bed that features latex foam.

Sleeping Position

Different Sleeping Positions

Each sleeping position needs something different from its mattress. Back sleepers do best on a medium-firm bed that offers a good balance of comfort and support. Hybrid mattresses with memory foam in its comfort layer work especially well here.

Side sleepers will want beds that provide exceptional pressure relief for the pressure points in their hips and shoulders. All-foam beds or hybrid mattresses with very thick memory foam comfort layers to make the bed softer are good places to start.

Finally, stomach sleepers want firm mattresses to keep their hips elevated. If a bed is too soft, their hips will dip into the mattress, which can put a lot of strain on the lower back, which will cause back pain.

Cooling Features

When beds-in-a-box first hit the market, they were all-foam, and didn’t feature many cooling features. This made some shoppers wary of bed-in-a-box mattresses, as they tended to trap heat. Companies saw this issue, and invested in a number of new and high-tech features to keep these mattresses sleeping cool.  

Look for things like breathable covers that feature bamboo, Tencel, or cotton. Also look for gel infusions for memory foam. This pulls away heat from your body. Hybrid mattresses are good for hot sleepers, as the coils allow for a lot of airflow.

Budget

Bed-in-a-box mattresses come in a range of prices, from affordable to high-end. Mattresses are an investment, but it is important to consider what works best for your budget. The trade off for affordability often comes in the form of a simpler mattress design without many features. Some of the more affordable mattresses don’t last as long either. But you can always save big with some mattress coupons, and many brands these days offer financing options.

Motion Isolation 

This is a big consideration for most couples and light sleepers. Beds with all foam construction tend to absorb motion transfer. This means that if you do sleep with a partner, they likely won’t feel you change positions or get in and out of bed. Some hybrid mattresses can handle motion isolation well if their comfort layer is thick enough.

motion isolation test
Our team testing motion isolation on the Bear Mattress.

RELATED: Best Mattresses for Couples

How to Set Up a Mattress In a Box

Setting up a mattress in a box is easy, though you may want to ask a partner, friend, or family member to help out.

First, lay your box on the floor and get out the mattress. Grab a pair of scissors to cut the outer bag and unroll your mattress.

Then, flatten it on your bed frame or foundation. Gently cut the inner bag on the seal and the mattress will instantly start expanding. Be careful! You don’t want to cut through the mattress and damage your brand new bed. Wait for it to off-gas and expand, and then you’ll be ready to enjoy your new mattress.

A Warning About Off-Gassing

Most bed-in-a-box mattresses come to your front step compressed into a cardboard box. When you remove all the packaging, you may notice a slight chemical smell to the mattress. This isn’t anything harmful and is often a result of the compression and packaging process.

However, you’ll often see that you need to let a bed “off-gas” as it expands. Because of this, some bed-in-a-box mattresses aren’t ready to use, even after letting them expand. If you have a sensitive sense of smell, it’s best to let the bed off-gas and let the smell dissipate. This typically takes anywhere from 24-48 hours, and it can help to let the bed do so in a well ventilated area.

Buying the Right Foundation

There are several types of bed frames and foundations that you can use for your new mattress. The best foundation is all up to personal preference Some foundation types include:

  • Box spring: A wooden or metal frame structure wrapped in a fabric cover that rests underneath your mattress.
  • Platform bed: A headboard connected to a foundation of wooden slats that rest beneath your mattress.
  • Bed frame: Metal or wooden slats that hold and support your mattress. Bed frames usually have rails on the sides of your mattress for support too.
  • Adjustable frame: An adjustable frame is a bed frame that can be raised or lowered at the head of the mattress to help adjust your sleeping position and the angle that you sleep in.

Final Thoughts

Here’s a recap of the best bed-in-a-box mattresses we recommend:

MattressBest For
NectarBest Overall
DreamCloudBest Firm Bed-In-a-Box Mattress
Nolah EvolutionBest Luxury Mattress in a Box
WinkBedBest Cooling Bed-In-a-Box Mattress
Helix MidnightBest Customizable Bed-In-a-Box Mattress
Brooklyn Signature HybridBest Value Bed-In-a-Box Mattress
Bear OriginalBest Bed-In-a-Box Mattress for Side Sleepers
LaylaBest Soft Bed-In-a-Box Mattress
Birch NaturalBest Bed-In-a-Box Mattress for Heavy Sleepers
Tempur-Pedic TEMPUR-CloudBest Memory Foam Bed-In-a-Box Mattress

Bed-In-a-Box FAQs

What is a bed-in-a-box?

Put simply, a bed-in-a-box is a mattress that comes shipped to people’s doors in a cardboard box. Through advancements in technology, mattress producers are able to vacuum seal mattresses, shrinking them down enough to fit into a box.

Can you re-roll a bed-in-a-box?

It’s not recommended to re-roll a bed in a box. Solid memory foam mattresses can be compressed and re-rolled, though it could cause damage to the mattress. It’s also difficult and may require special materials to compress the memory foam.

What is the best bed-in-a-box?

The best bed-in-a-box mattress depends on your needs and sleeping preferences. If you want a soft mattress, check out the Puffy. Looking for something customizable? Try Helix. If you’re a side sleeper, the Nectar might be for you.

Where can you buy a bed-in-a-box?

You can buy a bed-in-a-box from the comfort of your own home! If you’re ready to buy, you can click on your preferred mattress above and be brought right to the page to buy online.

Are bed-in-a-box mattresses any good?

There are many great bed-in-a-box mattresses out there that feature some high-end materials. Years ago, bed-in-a-box mattresses weren’t the best, but now some of the best mattresses are on the market come shipped in a box. Of course, the quality of a bed-in-a-box mattress depends on the brand, but there are numerous comfortable and supportive options out there.

Where can you try a bed-in-a-box?

Most bed-in-a-box mattresses cannot be tried before they are delivered. However, most have a trial period, so you can return the mattress if you don’t like it within that amount of time.

How do you return a bed-in-a-box?

Each brand has a different return process so it’s best to check with them. However, all of the ones we’ve listed offer free returns and refunds if within the trial period.

How long do bed-in-a-box mattresses last?

This really depends on the mattress and the components and materials they feature: a low-density memory foam mattress might only last for two or three years, but a higher-end hybrid mattress with high-density memory foam in the comfort layer could last for between seven and nine years.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.