Best Innerspring Mattresses of 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs, where we are compensated for items purchased through links from our site. See our disclosure page for details.

Many of us grew up sleeping on traditional innerspring mattresses and love the support, breathability, and durability that they can offer. But with so many options to choose from, it’s hard to determine the best innerspring mattress for one’s needs. To help people find the right innerspring mattress, we’ve put together a list with 10 of our favorite high-quality, supportive mattresses that stand out from others in the market.

Because most beds these days have foam in their construction, some of these beds are technically hybrids, as opposed to true innersprings. However, they all contain at least one layer of coils that provide most of the support, and you can be sure that they all have a traditional innerspring feel.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Innerspring Mattress?

Our expert reviewers chose the WinkBed as the best innerspring mattress due to its durable dual layers of coils combined with a plush pillowtop for comfort and softness.

The Best Innerspring Mattresses

Best Innerspring Mattresses Video Review

Compare the Best Innerspring Mattresses

WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Saatva Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Nectar Hybrid Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress
WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Saatva Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Nectar Hybrid Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress
Rating
Firmness Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 8/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Material Hybrid Hybrid Innerspring Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Combination Back & Side Back & Stomach Back Back & Side Back Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Side

How We Chose Our Top Picks

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

WinkBed Mattress - Construction
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab.

Sleepers love innerspring mattresses for their support and durability — two factors that contribute to a bed’s firmness and responsiveness. That’s why we mostly stuck to mattresses that scored high in both of these categories. Of the 10 beds on this list, nine received at least a 4 out of 5 in both support and durability.

Best Overall – WinkBed Original

Best Overall

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that creates an excellent balance of comfort and support. Its construction is great for back pain and also delivers an innerspring feel.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that creates an excellent balance of comfort and support. Its construction is great for back pain and also delivers an innerspring feel.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that creates an excellent balance of comfort and support. Its construction is great for back pain and also delivers an innerspring feel.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the WinkBed Original
Won’t trap heat
Offers exceptional back support
Comes in multiple firmnesses
Cons of the WinkBed Original
Might be too bouncy for some

Our Expert’s Take on Why the WinkBed Original is Best Overall

The WinkBed is a mattress that features coil-on-coil construction and a soft pillow-top. This should give the mattress an innerspring feel, and with four different firmnesses available, people of all three sleeping positions should find something to love. But regardless of which model they opt for, they’ll enjoy the benefits of zoned support: A queen size WinkBed includes more than 1,000 individually wrapped coils made from high-grade recycled steel. The steel coils, designed to vary in thickness or “gauge,” provide targeted support on the lower back. 

The bed’s gel memory foam layer, topped off by a quilted pillow top, creates a cushioning surface, all wrapped in a cover of moisture-wicking Tencel, a fiber derived from Eucalyptus. Our testers felt that the WinkBed’s unique construction and quality materials gave the WinkBed a dynamic feel that helps target back pain, in addition to making it one of the most comfortable mattresses on this list. The bed earned perfect scores in the lab for edge support, and an impressive 4 out of 5 for cooling.

What our testers say: “As far as innerspring mattresses go, the WinkBed mattress stands out. The coil system is zoned, which means it’s firmer in the middle and softer at the head and feet. This gives really good lumbar support. But you won’t feel those coils poking through thanks to a plush pillow top comfort layer.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • The WinkBed is versatile and suitable for all sleep positions, making the bed a terrific option to accommodate couples whose sleep styles aren’t necessarily in sync with each other: Back, stomach and side sleepers alike can get cozy on the WinkBed.
  • Sleepers with back pain can rest easy knowing they’re lying atop a bed with extra lumbar support, thanks to the zoned construction that provides the lower back a more robust, reinforced surface.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • Although heavyweight back sleepers may get adequate lumbar support on the WinkBed’s Luxury Firm model, sleepers who exceed 300 lb may be better off opting for the additional support of the WinkBed Plus.
  • The WinkBed has more middling motion isolation compared to some other innerspring mattresses, which can be a deal breaker for couples who sleep light.

Other Customer Reviews

Buyers have left more than 8,500 reviews of the WinkBed on its website. With an overall ranking of 4.8/5 at publishing time, reviews cite relief of back pain, improved sleep and the bed’s overall quality build in positive comments. Some negative reviews bemoaned the bed’s lack of a “hug” feeling that is associated with memory foam beds.

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses 2024 for more great options.

Best Innerspring Mattress Without Memory Foam- Nolah Evolution

Best Without Memory Foam

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1499 - $3198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Without Memory Foam

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1499 - $3198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Without Memory Foam

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1499 - $3198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Nolan Evolution
Very durable
Offers a luxury sleep experience
Won’t trap heat
Cons of the Nolan Evolution
Might be too pricey for budget-minded shoppers

Our Expert’s Take

If you love hybrid mattresses but aren’t a big fan of memory foam, check out the Nolah Evolution. This bed contains proprietary Nolah AirFoamICE, a cooling material that’s infused with graphite, and helped the bed earn perfect scores (5/5) in the cooling category. For support, the Nolah Evolution has 8” of durable coils. Together, these combine to create a balanced feel

Testers felt that the bed was a great pick for combination, back and side sleepers, as well as couples, since the mattress scored exceptionally well in motion isolation (4/5) for an innerspring bed. The bed, with a soaring 15” height, is designed for heavier weights than standard memory foam mattresses, yet packs down into a tidy bed-in-the-box for easy delivery.

What our testers say: “Memory foam can be tricky to move around on. I like the Nolah Evolution because the foam used is way more responsive than traditional memory foam. I reviewed the Luxury Firm model and this worked well for me as a combination sleeper. But stomach sleepers might not get enough support here. Opf for the firm version. ” – Elisa Regulski, Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • Sleepers who tend to overheat can find relief from the uniquely cooling build of the Nolah Evolution, which features both a graphite-infused foam and a base of coils to promote airflow.
  • The Nolah Evolution stands at a strapping 15″ height, a construction robust enough to help the bed earn a perfect score in durability.
  • Nolah’s lifetime warranty puts the brand among a limited bunch that offers the highest tier of purchase coverage.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • Mattress Clarity testing data pertains to the Luxury-Firm model of the Evolution, however, we can’t offer as much feedback on the Firm model, which is recommended for heavier (230 lbs+) sleepers.
  • Although we furnish coupons that can help with the cost, the Evolution is still Nolah’s most luxurious mattress model, so the price point may be out of reach for those on tighter budgets.

Other Customer Reviews

There wasn’t a readily available way to find negative comments or comments deemed helpful by others on the Nolah Evolution. Overall though, the Evolution Hybrid is rated 4.9/5 by verified buyers. One reviewer wrote that the mattress is “cradles” while also feeling “supportively firm.”

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress review for more information. 

Best Innerspring Mattress for Back Pain- Saatva

Best Innerspring Mattress for Back Pain

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic innerspring mattress that's ideal for alleviating back pain. It comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1395 - $2990

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Back Pain

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic innerspring mattress that's ideal for alleviating back pain. It comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$1395 - $2990

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Back Pain

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic innerspring mattress that's ideal for alleviating back pain. It comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$1395 - $2990

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Saatva
Two sets of coils provide good back support
Won’t trap heat
Has multiple firmness models
Cons of the Saatva
Doesn’t have a thick comforter layer

Our Expert’s Take

The Saatva is a comfortable and supportive innerspring mattress that features dual layers of coils and a dense foam to secure the perimeter, as well as a plush, Euro-style pillow-top. The coils offer a good amount of support, while the pillow-top provides some nice pressure relief. Because of the bed’s five-layer construction, along with the different firmness levels offered, the Saatva is a great match for all body types and sleeping positions.

Testers felt nice support on their backs and stomachs, helping the bed earn 4.5 out of 5 in the mattress lab for support, and pressure-relieving comfort while side-sleeping. All in all, this balance of comfort and support makes it optimal for alleviating and preventing back pain. It provides an excellent amount of lumbar support as well, making it one of the best mattresses for lower back pain and sciatica. Plus, unlike the other mattress-in-box brands in this list, Saatva provides concierge-like service, delivering a ready-to-sleep-in mattress to your door.

What our testers say: “The Saatva mattress is really great for people who need some firm support for their back. With two sets of coils in this mattress, I felt very supported on my back. This is definitely not a mattress that’s going to sag in the middle and lose support for your back.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva

  • Saatva can ease back pain in more ways than one, from the bed’s supportive dual-coil build that features firm zoned layers to support the lumbar, to its customer service: Saatva provides complimentary white glove service technicians to set up the mattress, so the 120 lb weight of a queen-sized bed won’t fall on your achy back.
  • Sleepers who tend to drift to the perimeter of their mattress will feel supported, as Saatva has some of the best-rated edge support among innerspring mattresses.
  • Saatva’s 365-night sleep trial and lifetime warranty place the brand squarely at the top of the class when it comes to providing buyer peace of mind.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • Stomach sleepers, especially those on the lighter side, may need a firmer mattress that provides more lift in the hips to keep the spine aligned and pain-free.
  • Couples who are sensitive to their partner’s night movements may need a bed with more locked-down motion transfer compared to the more modest isolation provided by Saatva.

Other Customer Reviews

More than 3,000 reviews average 4.8/5 stars for the Saatva classic mattress. Many reviewers overwhelmingly said they experienced both instant and long-term back pain relief, and a much slimmer slice of negative feedback reported a lack of back pain relief.

Read our full Saatva mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Pain for more great options.

Best Innerspring Mattress for the Money- Brooklyn Bedding Signature

Best Innerspring Mattress for the Money

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$665 - $1599

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for the Money

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$665 - $1599

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for the Money

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$665 - $1599

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature
Comes in multiple firmnesses
Won’t trap heat
Relatively affordable
Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature
Won’t have a slow-moving foam feel

Our Expert’s Take

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid is one of the best cheap mattresses on this list. That’s because the company owns its own factory, so it’s able to pass the savings directly along to the customer. As for the mattress’ construction, it contains pocketed coils and proprietary TitanFlex Foam. Testers said that the TitanFlex foam lent a feeling similar to that of a latex mattress — the top of the mattress has a bouncy innerspring feel, adding responsiveness and ease of movement.

Performance-wise, the bed excelled for the price point in the mattress lab. Our mattress testers assigned an overall score of 4 out of 5. Bright spots included the bed’s cooling and edge support, which each netted scores of 4 out of 5. 

What our testers say: “I tested the medium-firm model of this mattress. This version of the mattress is a pretty good all-rounder. It was easy to move around on when I changed positions, I didn’t notice it running too hot, and it’s got a great bouncy feel. And to top it all off, it’s pretty affordable, too.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • You get the comfort of a plush foam top with the cooling breathability of innerspring coils at an unusually modest price point. In fact, seasonal and holiday deals often put the mattress just under $1,000.
  • Whereas some modern innerspring mattresses are more slow-moving, lovers of traditional innerspring mattresses should find the Brooklyn Signature’s bouncy feel comfortingly familiar.
  • The bed is furnished in multiple firmness levels that will ultimately suit all sleep positions. The Medium being a medium-firm feel that makes for a nice, universally comfortable sweet spot for most positions (combination, side and back sleepers).

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • The Brooklyn Bedding Signature might be too humble a build for those seeking a more luxurious mattress, with more layers and a thicker, plusher Euro-top.
  • Even at its more humble price, the bed’s 10-year warranty is less coverage than what we’d typically expect for a home purchase of this size. 

Other Customer Reviews

Most of the 11,000+ reviews (averaging 4.7 out of 5) left for the Brooklyn Bedding Signature are positive, with one reviewer saying they’d recommend the bed to anyone “looking for great value” in addition to a great bed. Negative reviews cited shipping delays, the mattress not working for their sleep position, and choosing a model that didn’t match their preferred firmness.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for the Money for more great options.

Best Innerspring Mattress for Back Sleepers- Helix Midnight

Best Innerspring Mattress for Back Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$936 - $1748

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Back Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$936 - $1748

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Back Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$936 - $1748

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Helix Midnight
Very supportive for back sleeping
Won’t trap heat
Easy to move around on
Cons of the Helix Midnight
Not firm enough for stomach sleeping

Our Expert’s Take

The hybrid construction of the Helix Midnight has an excellent balance of comfort and support that should help back sleepers keep a neutral spinal alignment. Testers said the top foam layers — including a 2” gel memory foam layer — conform to your body and let your hips sink the right amount. Meanwhile, the coils hold up your body and provide an innerspring feel, helping the bed earn a 4 out of 5 from our testers for support. 

The Helix Midnight earns its reputation as one of the best hybrid mattresses in more ways than one: edge support, cooling and motion transfer also earned top marks. However, we would suggest if you’re a larger person that you consider the Helix Plus: The bed is extra-supportive and should be able to handle heavier weights.

What our testers say: “Back sleeping on the Helix Midnight is a dream. The memory foam top conformed to my body and the coils kept me supported. This is a rather simple mattress, so if you’re looking for bells and whistles, you can always go for the Luxe or Elite models. But as is, the standard Midnight is just fine, too.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • Although back sleepers tend to have the luxury of the most options when it comes to finding a bed that fits, Helix Midnight is exceptionally well suited to back sleepers with its supportive coils and plush but not-too-smushy surface that provides ample. pressure relief.
  • Helix will send customers who aren’t happy with their mattress firmness a complimentary mattress topper, an elegant solution that won’t void your sleep trial but keeps you from potentially having to return your mattress if the feel isn’t just right.
  • Put head-to-head against comparably cooling beds, Helix Midnight is a fantastic value for the build, often falling under $1,200 when sales events are live.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • While Helix Midnight can accommodate most light and average-weight side sleepers, if you share your mattress with a stomach sleeping partner, you may need to consider a bed that offers more support.
  • Those who are sensitive to sounds should be aware that testers say the Helix Midnight is a little noisier than some other innerspring beds.

Other Customer Reviews

Helix customers give the bed a 4.5/5 rating overall, leaving more than 6,500 reviews. One reviewer wrote that the Midnight worked as an excellent guest bed: “Bought it as a guest bed for a variety of sleepers. Everyone has stated that it was extremely comfortable,” wrote verified buyer Bonnie R. Negative reviewers found that the bed wasn’t to their preferred firmness.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers for more great options.

Best Innerspring Mattress for Couples- Nectar Hybrid

Best Innerspring Mattress for Couples

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$749 - $1998

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Innerspring Mattress for Couples

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$749 - $1998

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed
Best Innerspring Mattress for Couples

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$749 - $1998

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros of the Nectar Hybrid
One of the most affordable hybrid mattresses
Excellent motion isolation for couples
Cooling properties keep you crisp
Cons of the Nectar Hybrid
Less responsive than some innersprings

Our Expert’s Take

Per its name, the Nectar Hybrid is technically a hybrid mattress with somewhat of an innerspring feel. But its layer of springs results in some nice responsiveness, making it easy for couples to switch positions during sex. At the same time, its layer of slower-moving memory foam up top helps isolate motion so that you won’t wake up your partner if you toss and turn at night. Pair that with the mattress’ excellent cooling capabilities and you have a bed that’s the perfect match for lovebirds.

Plus, the bed’s scores out of the mattress lab reflect the bed’s hype. Multiple testers felt that each layer of the hybrid mattress dissipated heat, including the bed’s quilted cooling cover designed for breathability, earning the bed a near-perfect score (4.5/5) in the cooling category. The individually wrapped coil construction helped Nectar Hybrid earn 4.5 out of 5 for edge support.

What our testers say: “Even with coils at the bottom, the memory foam in the Nectar Hybrid is thick enough to absorb a good amount of motion transfer. When I test mattresses, I have a colleague get in and move around, and I never once noticed them change positions. So couples who want an innerspring should enjoy this bed.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Hybrid

  • The Nectar Hybrid is an excellent compromise bed for a split household of sorts: If one partner loves an innerspring and one loves memory foam, this hybrid mattress has a slow-moving memory foam feel on top, but with a sprinkling of a bouncy feeling underneath.
  • Even at its regular retail price ($1,100 for a queen), this is a bang for the buck mattress. Better yet, sales events run frequently, making the bed even more affordable — as of publishing time, you could get the Nectar Hybrid for as little as $799, for example.
  • Testers found that lighter sleepers could get comfortable regardless of sleep position on the Nectar Hybrid, and the bed performed similarly well for medium-sized sleepers (with the exception of stomach sleepers).

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Hybrid

  • Medium-weight (130 – 230 lb) stomach sleepers and heavier sleepers of all sleep position preferences may need a more supportive mattress build, with a firmness of at least 7.5/10 to prevent hip sinkage.
  • Although the coils add some degree of give-and-take, innerspring enthusiasts might find Nectar Hybrid’s bounciness to be lacking. 

Other Customer Reviews

One of Nectar’s newer beds, the Hybrid has 2,000 reviews compared to the staggering 50,000+ of the Nectar Original. Reviews of the Hybrid are largely positive, averaging 4.5/5 stars. One reviewer, echoing similar feedback, wrote, “There is no motion transfer,” and the bed is “so comfortable.” Negative reviews complained about poor customer service and some exacerbated pain points.

Read our full Nectar Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

Best Cooling Innerspring Mattress- Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Cooling Innerspring Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Price Range

$1893 - $3920

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Cooling Innerspring Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1893 - $3920

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Cooling Innerspring Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1893 - $3920

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros of the Bear Elite Hybrid
Has many cooling infusions
Easy to move around on
Has a bouncy feel
Cons of the Bear Elite Hybrid
Not ideal for budget-minded shoppers

Our Expert’s Take

This luxury mattress from Bear feels supportive, comfy, and cooling. The cover is made out of phase change material, which feels cool to the touch and helps lower body temperature. To make things even cooler, its comfort layer contains copper. This material helps dissipate body heat, so you shouldn’t wake up feeling sweaty. Below, a zoned comfort foam layer enhances airflow through divots in the material. Altogether, the cooling build helped Bear Elite earn 4.5 out of 5 in the cooling category. 

The bed is supported by individually encased pocketed spring coils for responsiveness and additional coils around the perimeter for edge support, earning the bed 4.5 out of 5 for edge support. Testers with back pain also appreciate any type of mattress — including the Bear Elite Hybrid — with zoned support, which means the bed feels firmer in the center, promoting the proper spinal alignment.

What our testers say: “The Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is great for hot sleepers out there. There are times when I run hot, and I didn’t feel any hot spots forming here. The coils are great for airflow, and it’s full of other cooling infusions. These do run up the price, but sometimes it’s worth it for a cool night of sleep.” – Elisa Regulski, Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Bear Elite Hybrid boasts a nice amount of bounce for sex, a feature typically sought out in the best mattresses for sex since every square inch of the mattress responds with you, rather than slowing you down.
  • Bear Elite Hybrid makes bold claims about its proprietary cooling materials that are backed by its score (4.5/5) in the mattress lab. 
  • Many sleep styles (stomach, back and side sleepers) are suited to the Bear Elite Hybrid, including sleepers who tend to drift to their bed’s perimeter, thanks to top-notch edge support.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Heavier (>230 lb) stomach sleepers may find that their hips sink too far into the Bear Elite Hybrid’s top comfort lower, throwing the spine out of its preferred state of neutral alignment.
  • You’ll have to pay a premium to sleep on Bear’s most luxurious mattress, putting the bed out of some budgets. If you’re willing to sacrifice some of the bounce of a bed with coils, the brand’s Bear Original mattress is a solid, more affordable all-foam alternative with some of the same cooling materials.

Other Customer Reviews

The Bear Elite Hybrid has 2,898 5-star reviews among 3,705 on our last inspection, averaging 4.6/5 overall. One reviewer wrote that the bed has the “perfect firmness” and “really does make you feel cooler when you sleep.” Negative reviews cited the off-gassing smell when their mattress arrived, and some customer service issues.

Read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

Best Firm Innerspring Mattress- Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Firm Innerspring Mattress

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Innerspring Mattress

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Innerspring Mattress

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$725 - $1489

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros of the Emma Hybrid Comfort
Firm enough for stomach sleepers
Easy to move around on
Won’t trap heat
Cons of the Emma Hybrid Comfort
Might be too firm for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a mattress that works well for heavy people, and generally speaking, heavier people tend to need firmer mattresses and Emma keeps that in mind. This mattress comes in at an 8/10 on our firmness scale but may feel closer to an 8.5/10 for sleepers who weigh under 250 lbs. This makes it an excellent mattress for lightweight and average-weight stomach sleepers, and overall a great mattress for anyone looking for a firm feel.

The Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress incorporates layers aimed at pressure relief and bounce, including memory foam and a high-resiliency foam — but don’t worry, as we said, testers didn’t find that the foam significantly softens the bed’s feel. The zoned coil support helped the bed earn an excellent edge support score of 4.5 out of 5, and cooling and motion transfer each fetched 4 out of 5, thanks to the bed’s excellent airflow, cooling cover, and heat-dissipating foams. 

What our testers say: The Emma Hybrid Comfort is supportive enough for heavier people. Its zoned coils are up to the challenge and should handle weights in excess of 300 lb. Also, its high-density foams shouldn’t sag under this weight.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Finicky about finding that just-right firmness? Emma gives you a full 365 days to test the bed, which exceeds most brands’ 120-night sleep trials.
  • The bed has a nice balanced feel: Whereas some hybrids feel more like a true innerspring or a true memory foam bed, on the Emma Hybrid Comfort, you get a balance of contour from the foam comfort layers, and the support and bounce of the coil base.
  • Thanks to frequent sales events, the Emma Hybrid Comfort is one of the most affordable firm hybrid options on the market, often falling well under $1,000. 
  • If you tend to overheat at night, the Emma Hybrid’s build dissipates heat from top to bottom with its moisture-wicking cover and custom foams. The coil layer also helps heat escape. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • If you’re the type of person who bruises when a butterfly lands on you, you may need a bed with more pressure relief. Side sleepers in particular should heed that warning since the shoulders and hips will dig into the mattress. 
  • Although you get a robust sleep trial, the 10-year warranty coverage for the Emma Hybrid Comfort is a bit underwhelming. 

Other Customer Reviews

There were only 34 reviews at publishing time to evaluate, but multiple Emma customers left feedback that the bed is firm but comfortable. There were no 1- or 2-star reviews, but reviews that slanted more negatively cited issues with delivery and shipping.

Read our Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review. For more recommendations, check out our Best Firm Mattresses roundup.

Best Innerspring Mattress for Heavy People- Titan Plus Luxe

Best Innerspring Mattress for Heavy People

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

Titan Luxe Hybrid Mattress Review

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$899 - $1998

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Innerspring Mattress for Heavy People

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

Titan Luxe Hybrid Mattress Review

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$899 - $1998

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Titan Luxe Hybrid Mattress Review
Best Innerspring Mattress for Heavy People

Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan Plus Luxe mattress is designed with heavier-weight sleepers in mind, creating a pleasant sleep experience for several types of heavyweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$899 - $1998

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros of the Titan Plus Luxe
Supportive for heavy people
Won’t trap heat
Bouncy and responsive
Cons of the Titan Plus Luxe
Too firm for lightweight people

Our Expert’s Take

The Titan Plus is one of the few mattresses on the market that caters to larger sleepers, and the Titan Plus Luxe is the softer version of the mattress. The Titan Plus Luxe is durable, supportive, and provides body contouring for sleepers, especially heavier back and side sleepers. The mattress ranks at a 6.5/10 on our firmness scale which makes it a medium firm mattress, perfect for heavy sleepers looking for a balance of comfort and pressure relief.

The Titan Plus Luxe mattress comes with a soft cover featuring 1” of gel memory foam for pressure relief and cooling properties, with an option to upgrade to a cooler GlacioTex cover. The bed earned 4.5 out of 5 for its cool-to-the-touch feel. Its main comfort layer consists of 2” of TitanFlex Foam, providing medium-firm support, targeted pressure relief, and motion transfer absorption. Supported by 8” of TitanCaliber coils for extra support and a high-density foam base for structure, helping the bed earn a near-perfect 4.5 out of 5 for overall support.

What our testers say: “I’m a fairly big and tall guy, so sleeping on beds meant for my body type, like the Titan Plus Luxe, feels really good. This bed is a perfect blend of comfort and support, with some plush comfort on top that offers pressure relief for side sleeping. Then you’ve got sturdy, supportive coils at the bottom for back sleeping, too.” – Marten Carlson, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus Luxe

  • The Titan Plus Luxe is a breath of fresh air in an arena where finding the right mattress can be a sore subject for larger sleepers. This bed is one of the few models you’ll find designed with the extra support heavier sleepers need in mind. 
  • The hybrid bed’s memory foam is infused with cooling gel to keep body heat at bay, and is impressively edge-supporting, ensuring that heavy sleepers who stray from the center feel supported all through the night.
  • The bed is from Brooklyn Bedding, which owns its mattress factory, eliminating some of the middleman retail costs, and cutting the price of the mattress. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus Luxe

  • The firmer Titan Plus, also from Brooklyn Bedding, may be the better option for stomach sleepers. 
  • Like the Emma Hybrid Comfort, the Titan Plus Luxe’s 10-year warranty coverage falls behind many other premium hybrids, like Saatva and DreamCloud. 

Other Customer Reviews

Over 1,800 reviews of the Tital Plus Luxe average 4.7/5. Verified buyer Shannon L. wrote that he’s “never owned a better bed” and that at 260 lbs himself, the Titan Plus Luxe is “big man certified.” There were no 1- or 2-star reviews, and 3-star reviews often cited poor edge support.

Read our Titan Plus Luxe mattress review. For more recommendations, check out our best mattresses for heavy people.

Best Innerspring Mattress for Side Sleepers- Puffy Lux Hybrid

Best Innerspring Mattress for Side Sleepers

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$2249 - $4798

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Innerspring Mattress for Side Sleepers

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$2249 - $4798

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Innerspring Mattress for Side Sleepers

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$2249 - $4798

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Pros of the Puffy Lux Hybrid
Offers motion isolation
Thick comfort layer for pressure relief
Won’t trap heat
Cons of the Puffy Lux Hybrid
Might be pricey for some

Our Expert’s Take

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a hybrid type of mattress that should balance the responsive feel of an innerspring with the plush feel of a mattress that’s ideal for side sleepers. The pocketed coils allow for support and mobility, while the soft foam layers should offer excellent cushioning for the shoulders and hips. We also believe that it’s a great match for back sleepers and those with shoulder and hip pain. Testers felt that the body-contouring abilities of the mattress should allow pressure relief in both areas.

The slower-moving foams also keep motion transfer in check, earning the bed 4.5 out of 5 for its excellent motion isolation — something you won’t typically see in a spring mattress of yore. The Puffy Lux Hybrid backs its reputation as one of the best cooling mattresses in the mattress lab with its cooling score of 4.5 out of 5. Testers also love Puffy’s cloud-like cover, which is soft, hypoallergenic, and resistant to stains.

What our testers say: “As a back and side combo sleeper, hybrid mattresses can sometimes put too much pressure on my shoulders and hips. But luckily the Puffy Lux Hybrid has a super thick comfort layer to really cushion and cradle my joints.” – Elisa Regulski, Reviewer

What We Love About the Puffy Lux Hybrid

  • If you need extra bounce for bedroom intimacy, Puffy Lux Hybrid has you covered with its coils. However, you won’t entirely lose the slower-moving foam feel that side sleepers do well on, thanks to the bed’s top comfort layers.
  • Puffy Lux Hybrid offers excellent pressure relief for side sleepers, which is key as side sleeping can pressure your bedside hip while also straining the opposite hip.
  • Defying the prevailing wisdom on most beds with an innerspring layer, the Puffy Lux Hybrid excels at isolating motion across the bed’s surface

What to Keep in Mind About the Puffy Lux Hybrid

  • Mattress testers felt like the edges collapsed sustainably on the Puffy Lux Hybrid, making the bed a riskier bet for side sleepers who tend to sleep near their bed’s edge. 
  • In lieu of a significant sales event, the sticker price of Puffy Luxe Hybrid is one of the highest among hybrids. 

Other Customer Reviews

The Puffy Lux Hybrid has an impressive perfect 5/5 stars from more than 12,000 reviews. One reviewer, an “almost exclusively side sleeper” suffering from leg and hip pain, wrote “I am happy to report that now my pain is virtually gone.” There were some complaints about delayed delivery.

Read our full Puffy Lux Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers for more great options.

What Is An Innerspring Mattress?

You can read our in-depth guide on what is an innerspring mattresses for more information, but in the simplest terms, an innerspring mattress is a bed with coil springs inside. The springs lend support and help distribute your weight evenly. The best part: modern innerspring mattresses, also known as hybrid beds, are topped with layers of padding for extra cushioning. You can think of a hybrid mattress as like buying an innerspring bed that includes a built-in plush foam mattress topper.

Benefits of an Innerspring Mattress

Again, while not all of these mattresses are true innerspring mattresses — especially since most mattress companies include foam in the construction — they all still have that traditional innerspring feel. Here are some of the benefits of innerspring mattresses, including the mattresses listed in our article:

Innerspring Mattress Pros

  • More breathable. One of the great things about innersprings is that they allow for air to flow through the mattress. All-foam mattresses are more densely packed with material and don’t have that space. If someone is a hot sleeper, an innerspring mattress could be worth considering.
  • More supportive. Coils also offer more support than what someone might find in an all-foam mattress. Their design allows the bed to handle more weight than base foams. If someone is a larger person or simply needs some extra support, an innerspring mattress should be a good option to consider.
  • More durable. Coils add a level of durability to the mattress as well. They shouldn’t sag the way some foams are known to do. Also, they should offer longer-lasting support. While someone might spend some more money up front, an innerspring mattress could be a good long-term investment and a good option for those looking for a mattress that won’t sag.

What People Should Look for When Buying an Innerspring Mattress

As we mentioned, there are a lot of pros and cons of an innerspring mattress. Once you decide that an innerspring mattress is the best fit for your needs, there are a few additional things to consider when looking at quality to ensure you’re getting the best innerspring mattress that will last you a long time. We’ll go over coil count & gauge as well as coil types so you can narrow down what mattress works best for your needs.

Top Layer

Not all innerspring mattresses are made equal. There’s a wide range of materials that can be used to add comfort to the springs, and that makes the feel of the mattress quite different. For example, an innerspring with a thin layer of latex on top will feel much different from one with a very thick layer of memory foam.

As a result, it’s beneficial to understand the differences between the different types of comfort layers. It’s also worth knowing the difference between poly foam, memory foam, and latex foam, so that way you can decide which type of top layer best suits you.

Also, understand that the thickness of the comfort layer matters a lot, too. If the mattress has a thick layer of memory foam, then it’s more of a hybrid mattress and will feel more like a memory foam mattress, which tends to have a different feel than an innerspring mattresses.

Coil Count and Gauge

If someone is in a store or on a website, they’ll hear a lot of talk about how an innerspring mattress has a certain number of coils, a certain gauge, etc. Here’s a quick overview of what these mattress coils terms actually mean:

  • Coil count refers to the number of coils used in the mattress. Depending on the size of the mattress, there can be as few as 200 or as many as 2,000.
  • Coil gauge is a measure of how thick the metal wires are in a given mattress. The lower the number, the thicker the wire.

These types of stats have the potential to be pretty misleading for a variety of reasons.

For example, many people think more coils equals a better quality mattress. However, there can be a higher coil count with coils made of lower-quality steel. There are many different factors that go into the quality of the innerspring unit, so I would definitely recommend being a little cautious when using this rationale.

An innerspring mattress can be made more or less firm in a number of ways, and a lot of it depends on what’s in the top layer. Therefore, a blanket statement like “thicker gauge means firmer mattress” isn’t always true, because it depends on a few other factors as well.

Types of Coils

People will also probably hear a lot about the type of coil being used in a mattress’ construction. There are differences between the

The type of coil matters more or less, depending on the rest of the components in a mattress. So I would take statements like “it has pocket coils, so it’s better” with a grain of salt. For example, if there’s a thick layer of memory foam on top of the mattress, the fact that the innerspring unit has pocket coils doesn’t really matter as much, because the memory foam does the contouring.

Overall, the type of coil does matter, but its importance is dependent on the rest of the mattress. Here are a few quick overviews of of the coil types you might hear about while researching mattresses:

Pocketed Coils

Pocketed coils are individually wrapped, meaning each coil is housed in its own fabric casing, and the casings are then sewn or glued together to create a continuous layer of coils. While these are typically more expensive, they do provide more contour, as each coils is able to move independently of the others.

Another plus of each coil moving independently is motion isolation. If you sleep with a partner, their movements are more likely to only affect their side of the bed on pocketed coils. With other coil types there’s a chance you’ll experience more disruption from your partner’s movements.

Open coils

Open Coils represent the most affordable and oldest innerspring design. In this system, there are numerous coils held together by a wire frame. Essentially, they are pocketed coils without the individual wrappings, so you likely won’t experience the same motion isolation or contouring.

Offset coils 

Offset Coils feature an hourglass shape and offer better contouring than open coils. This design might also help provide more support for heavyweight people, as well as limit the amount of noise the the coils make.

Continuous coils

Continuous Coils consist of one metal wire that runs throughout the mattress to create rows of coils. You’ll often find this type of coil system in inexpensive mattresses. While inexpensive, though, continuous coils tend to be very durable. On the negative side, they don’t usually do a great job at isolating motion, and, in our experience, they are somewhat noisy.

Overall

Here’s a summary of our top picks for the best innerspring mattresses:

MattressBest For
WinkBedsBest Overall
Nolah EvolutionBest Innerspring Mattress without Memory Foam
SaatvaBest Innerspring Mattress for Back Pain
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Innerspring Mattress for the Money
Helix MidnightBest Innerspring Mattress for Back Sleepers
Nectar HybridBest Innerspring Mattress for Couples
Bear Elite HybridBest Cooling Innerspring Mattress
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Firm Innerspring Mattress 
Titan Plus LuxeBest Innerspring Mattress for Heavy People
Puffy Lux HybridBest Innerspring Mattress for Side Sleepers

Best Innerspring Mattress FAQs

Are innerspring mattresses good?

It all comes down to personal preference. An innerspring mattress is an especially great option for those who sleep hot or want a more supportive mattress. The coils inside the mattress allow for more air flow while providing a strong support system. Additionally, innerspring mattresses tend to be quite durable, especially when compared to some all-foam mattresses that can sag over time if constructed with lower quality materials.

Does an innerspring mattress need a box spring?

Typically, yes, an innerspring mattress will need a box spring. When you move around on an innerspring mattress, you put strain on the coils. A box spring provides additional support and absorbs some of the shock, helping the mattress last longer. However, not all spring mattresses require a box spring, so be sure to check with the manufacturer if you are not sure.

How long does an innerspring mattress last?

A quality innerspring mattress should easily last seven to 10 years, although many of them may last longer.

Can an innerspring mattress be rolled up?

No. Unlike some other mattress types, an innerspring mattress should not be rolled up, as doing so can damage the springs and compromise the bed’s structure.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.