Best Hybrid Mattresses of 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Some people just love memory foam mattresses and some prefer innerspring mattresses. But what about folks who want a balance of both? Well, that’s what the best hybrid mattresses are all about. They feature the support coils of an innerspring bed, plus the pressure relief and comfort of foam. This gives sleepers the benefits of a nice foam mattress without some of the drawbacks, like hot sleeping. After personally testing over 600 mattresses, I’ve learned a lot about what makes a great hybrid mattress, and to help you choose the best hybrid mattress for you, I’ve put together a list of my top 10 favorites!

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Hybrid Mattress?

We chose the Nectar Hybrid as the best hybrid mattress. With the Nectar Hybrid, you get high-quality foams and coils without having to break the bank, and it’s a great fit for most people between 130 and 230 lbs.

The Best Hybrid Mattresses of 2024: Our Top 10 Picks!

Best Hybrid Mattresses of 2024: Video Roundup

Compare The Best Hybrid Mattresses

Nectar Hybrid Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress DreamCloud Premier Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Titan Plus Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid
Nectar Hybrid Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress DreamCloud Premier Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Titan Plus Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 8/10 Firm: 9/10 Multiple firmness options
Material Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back Back & Side Back Back & Stomach Combination Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Combination

How We Tested The Best Hybrid Mattresses

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 beds at our mattress lab in Austin, TX, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure sub-scores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

Latex mattress testing in our studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

How We Chose The Best Hybrid Mattresses

Durability

Sleepers usually want a hybrid bed because of the lift it provides and how long it lasts. So when choosing the Best Hybrid Mattresses, we looked at support and durability with special consideration. Of the 10 beds on this list, all of them scored at least a 4 out of 5 in both of these categories. In other words, these hybrid mattresses are the best of the best!

Pressure Relief

Different hybrid mattresses offer different levels of pushback and pressure relief. We sought out models that can adequately cradle the pressure points of side sleepers, as it is the most common sleep position, and we noted the beds that are less ideal for those who side sleep.

Breathability

When hot air has nowhere to escape from your body, you can more easily overheat at night. A lot of our top hybrid picks made the list because of their outstanding breathability. If you’re seeking a mattress with a more cooling feel, the beds in this roundup will fit the bill better than most.

Best Overall Hybrid Mattress – Nectar Hybrid

Best Overall

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Overall

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed
Best Overall

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros of the Nectar Hybrid
Great fit for back and side sleepers
Quilted cooling cover
12″ height
Cons of the Nectar Hybrid
Not great if you like bouncier mattresses
Not great for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Nectar Hybrid is made with quality materials that are sure to last. Even at a higher price point, it would still be a good value. That being said, it’s usually offered at a budget price, with a queen-size usually well under $1,500. With discounts, you can sometimes find it for under $1,000. That’s an excellent bargain for such a high-quality hybrid mattress. Adding coils to the brand’s original all-foam model, the Nectar Hybrid retains the memory foam feel of the flagship bed while bolstering its support.

What the testers say: “I found that the Nectar Hybrid sleeps cool, isolates motion well and has strong edge support. I think partners should be able to spread out across the whole bed and still feel supported. It also felt more durable than the original Nectar, as the coils should prevent sagging.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Hybrid

  • Back sleepers should really enjoy the amount of comfort they’ll get from the Nectar Hybrid. This combination of supportive coils and pressure-relieving foams will be ideal for these sleepers.
  • It offers the benefits of a hybrid mattress, with the feel of a traditional memory foam mattress. The Nectar has a thick layer of memory foam that dominates its overall feel.
  • It’s great for couples who don’t want to feel each other moving around at night. Memory foam is great at isolating motion, and the Nectar Hybrid has lots of it.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Hybrid

  • Stomach sleepers will likely need a firmer mattress than the Nectar Hybrid. We tend to recommend stomach sleepers find a mattress that is at least a 7.5/10 on the firmness scale.
  • Fans of bouncier feeling hybrid mattresses likely won’t like the classic foam feel of the Nectar Hybrid. This bed has almost no bounce, which makes it a little more difficult to move around on.

Other Customer reviews

On the Nectar site, some side sleepers felt like the mattress was too firm and didn’t allow for pressure relief, but many back sleepers loved how supportive and comfortable the Hybrid is, and some even highlighted that the mattress helped with back pain. Overall, the mattress was ranked 4.7 out of 5 by more than 55,000 reviewers.

Read our full Nectar Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for more great options.

Best Medium-Firm Hybrid Mattress – Helix Midnight

Best Medium-Firm Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers and budget shoppers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Medium-Firm Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers and budget shoppers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Medium-Firm Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers and budget shoppers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Helix Midnight
Great pressure relief
One of the best orthopedic mattresses
Great for hot sleepers
Cons of the Helix Midnight
Stomach sleepers may not be supported enough
Heavier side sleepers may not get enough support

Our Expert’s Take

The Helix Midnight is a high-quality hybrid mattress that won’t break the bank. It features soft, comfortable memory, bouncy Helix Responsive Foam and high-grade, supportive coils. The Midnight is the brand’s most popular model, as its medium firmness makes it a good match for many types of sleepers, especially back and side sleepers, and luckily, lightweight sleepers of all types should love this mattress.

What our testers say: “I love this mattress for lightweight sleepers, most average-weight back and side sleepers, and heavier back sleepers under 230 lb. However, I recommend heavier sleepers and stomach sleepers find a model with more support. The Midnight also has fantastic motion isolation, meaning it’s a great option for couples, who aren’t likely to feel each other’s movements from the other side of the bed.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight 

  • The top layer of memory foam isolates motion very well, so movements will stay isolated to the side of the bed they occur on. This makes it great for couples who don’t want to feel each other moving around throughout the night.
  • Average weight back and side sleepers should really enjoy this mattress. It has a medium-firm feel that offers the right balance of comfort and support for these sleepers.
  • It won’t trap heat. The Helix Midnight has a layer of airflow-promoting coils, and for a fee, you can add a GlacioTex™ Cooling Pillow Top, which is made with fibers that draw away body heat.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight 

  • It won’t be great for sleepers who enjoy the classic, slow-moving feel of memory foam mattresses. This bed has a bouncier, more buoyant feel.
  • It’s not the most quiet mattress. After years of use, the coils in the Helix Midnight might cause some noise and squeaks when you move on this mattress.
  • Stomach sleepers who weigh more than about 130 lbs will need a firmer mattress. Stomach sleepers need a firm bed to prevent their hips from sinking out of alignment with their upper body.

Other Customer reviews

Over 6,000 customers from the Helix site ranked the mattress 4.5 out of 5 stars and loved how comfortable the Midnight felt. However, some couples complained that the mattress lacked great motion support.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Medium-Firm Mattresses for more great options.

Best Hybrid Mattress for Combination Sleepers – DreamCloud Premier

Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality hybrid mattress that boasts a plush luxury feel.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality hybrid mattress that boasts a plush luxury feel.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier
Best Mattress for Combination Sleepers

DreamCloud Premier Mattress

DreamCloud Premier is a high-quality hybrid mattress that boasts a plush luxury feel.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros of the DreamCloud Premier
Back sleepers should feel contouring and support
A luxury look and feel
Euro top for pressure relief for side sleepers
Cons of the DreamCloud Premier
May be too soft for stomach sleepers
Not great for extra-soft or extra-firm mattress lovers

Our Expert’s Take

The DreamCloud Premier is a medium-firm hybrid mattress that caters to a wide range of sleepers and sleeping positions, especially back and side sleepers. It’s constructed with a cashmere cover, multiple plush comfort layers and individually wrapped coils designed to fit sleepers of many different weights. It’s a well-balanced mattress, which is why we chose it as the best hybrid mattress for combination sleepers.

What the testers say: “Because of its medium-firm construction, I don’t recommend the DreamCloud Premier to heavy sleepers over 230 lb or average-weight stomach sleepers. However, sleepers of all other body types and sleeping positions should find the comfort and support they need. I found this bed to be cooling and overall durable.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud Premier

  • It’s great for people who sleep hot at night. The coils in the mattress promote airflow, and the cashmere blend cover is very breathable.
  • Back sleepers who need support and comfort will really like this mattress. This hybrid bed has a medium-firm feel, which provides the right amount of support for back sleeping.
  • It will feel great for side sleepers, who need pressure relief for their sides and hips. The upper layers of memory foam and soft foam will contour around joints nicely.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud Premier

  • It’s not right for lovers of a classic feeling memory foam mattress. This bed has a bouncier, hybrid feel—it’s not going to feel like a TEMPUR-Pedic.
  • Those who don’t love a medium-firm feel and want something very soft or very firm won’t be happy here. This bed is very middle-of-the-road in terms of firmness and feel.
  • Stomach sleepers should look elsewhere. This bed is not firm enough for these sleepers, who need a bed that is at least a 7.5/10 on the firmness scale.

Other Customer reviews

On the DreamCloud site, over 10,000 reviewers ranked the mattress at 4.5 out of 5 stars, and many buyers loved the fact that the DreamCloud Premier helped ease some of the back pain they dealt with, but others complained that the mattress was either too soft or too firm, and didn’t have great edge support.

Read the full DreamCloud Premier mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Combination Sleepers for more great options.

Best Soft Hybrid Mattress – Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Soft Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

The Bear Elite Hybrid is designed for recovery and comes in a variety of firmnesses. The Soft version is great for side sleepers and those with joint pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Soft Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

The Bear Elite Hybrid is designed for recovery and comes in a variety of firmnesses. The Soft version is great for side sleepers and those with joint pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Soft Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Elite Hybrid is designed for recovery and comes in a variety of firmnesses. The Soft version is great for side sleepers and those with joint pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros of the Bear Elite Hybrid
Relieves pressure on the shoulders and hips
Celliant material helps with recovery for athletes
A lifetime warranty and a 120-night trial
Cons of the Bear Elite Hybrid
Comes with a higher price tag
Not great for heavier stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Memory foam mattresses are known for providing a soft feel, but what if you’re looking for support as well? You might want to consider the Bear Elite Hybrid. It contains supportive coils with a soft foam comfort layer on top. Also, there are three firmness options (Soft, Medium and Firm), so shoppers can select the model that suits their body type and sleeping position. If you are a side sleeper, we recommend the Soft model. It is one of the best soft mattresses we have tried.

What the testers say: “I felt comfortable while back and side sleeping on the Bear Elite Hybrid.  The mattress has a zoned support system, which means it feels firmer toward the center and softer near the head and foot. This helps back and side sleepers maintain the correct spinal alignment throughout the night, so it’s a great choice for folks who tend to switch sleeping positions.” Elisa Regulski, Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Back sleepers of all sizes should enjoy the amount of support they get from the Bear Elite Hybrid. We gave it a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale, which is the sweet spot for almost all back sleepers.
  • It’s great for hot sleepers who need cooling benefits. The Bear Elite Hybrid’s cover uses phase change material, a high-tech fabric that draws away body heat, and copper-infused memory foam, which is both cooling and anti-microbial.
  • Combination sleepers will enjoy this bed because it’s easy to move around on, and they won’t feel stuck in one position.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • It’s not ideal for shoppers on a budget. The Bear Elite Hybrid has a number of luxurious features that drive up its price tag.
  • This bed doesn’t have the best motion isolation, so you may feel your partner’s movements throughout the night. Couples who don’t want to wake each other throughout the night should look elsewhere.

Other Customer reviews

Bear customers were happy that the Bear Elite Hybrid comes in multiple firmness options since it allowed them to find a mattress that catered to their specific needs. However, there were still a few reviews on Bear’s site where customers complained about not feeling comfortable and supported on their mattresses.

Read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Soft Mattresses for more great options.

Best Hybrid Mattress for Couples – WinkBed

Best for Couples

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a hybrid mattress that has an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Couples

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a hybrid mattress that has an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Couples

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a hybrid mattress that has an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the WinkBed
Great for combination sleepers
It should last between 7–10 years
A Plus model for heavier sleepers is also available
Cons of the WinkBed
Doesn’t have the best motion transfer
Expensive

Our Expert’s Take

If you and your partner are looking for a hybrid mattress with quality construction, look no further than the WinkBed. It provides an excellent balance of comfort and support and has the sturdy feel that couples need. One of the best things about the WinkBed mattress is that you can choose from four different firmness levels. This allows a wide range of couples to find a bed that’s best suited for their body type, personal preference and sleep position.

What the testers say: “I found that this bed suits sleepers of most body types because of the multiple firmness options offered. Its Tencel cooling cover, gel-infused foam and breathable coils promote a great deal of cooling for hot sleepers. Because of its hybrid construction, it doesn’t have the best motion transfer. I would suggest another model for couples who are lightweight sleepers.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • It’s a great choice for sleepers who need lots of support during the night. The WinkBed has a very sturdy coil support system that won’t sag over time. And heavier people can opt for the Plus version, which has even more support.
  • Hot sleepers will love this mattress. Its Euro pillow top is made with gel-infused foam to help dissipate body heat.
  • It helps with back pain. The bed’s individually wrapped coils have zoned support, which means they are firmer at the hips and softer at the shoulders to help keep your spine in proper alignment.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • This bed doesn’t have the best motion isolation, so you may feel your partner’s movements during the night. Couples who are worried about disturbing each other during the night should look elsewhere.
  • The WinkBed is a luxury mattress, and comes with a higher price tag. It’s not right for people who are shopping on a tight budget.

Other Customer reviews

Some WinkBed customers complained that their mattress was either too soft or too firm, but many customers loved how the WinkBed mattress helped relieve them of some back pain. Overall, the 8,000+ reviewers ranked the mattress at 4.8 out of 5.

Read our full WinkBed mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

Best Firm Hybrid Mattress – Nolah Evolution

Best Luxury Hybrid Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Hybrid Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Luxury Hybrid Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Nolah Evolution
Great temperature regulation
Very good for lightweight sleepers
Extremely durable
Cons of the Nolah Evolution
Poor edge support
Not great for heavyweight people

Our Expert’s Take

We don’t just use price to determine whether a mattress is luxurious. Typically, it’s the quality of materials, added features, and durability that lead us to make this distinction. The Nolah Evolution has all these things in spades. All our testers felt that the Nolah Evolution provided that 5-star-hotel feel, even if it didn’t entirely work with their body type or preferred sleeping position. 

What the testers say: “When combined with its bouncy eco support coils, the Nolah Evolution’s plush pillow top creates a balanced hybrid feel. It’s easy to move around on, and sleepers shouldn’t feel like they are sinking too far into the mattress. Because of these features, we named it one of the most comfortable mattresses.” Elisa Regulski, Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • We mentioned temperature regulation in the pros section above, but it’s worth expanding on. We test a lot of mattresses, and most of them fall somewhere between a 3 and 4.5 out of 5 when it comes to cooling. The Nolah Evolution impressed us so much that we awarded it a perfect score on this test, making it one of the best cooling mattresses we’ve ever slept on.
  • One of the most important things to look for in a luxury mattress is durability. You wouldn’t want to spend all that money only to need a new mattress in five years. Based on our assessment, we feel confident that the Nolah Evolution should be able to last for ten years if properly cared for. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • Unfortunately, the edge support on this mattress didn’t impress us very much. When we sat and rested along the edge of the Nolah Evolution, we felt it sagging under our weight. This was especially true for our heavyweight mattress tester. If you tend to sleep towards the edge of the bed, you might consider the WinkBed instead. 

Other Customer reviews

The Nolah Evolution has an average rating of 4.9 out of 5, based on 900 reviews on the company website. Most customers are very vocal about how pleased they are with the quality of the mattress. However, one recent review claims that the mattress is a bit too firm; that said, the customer still gave the Nolah Evolution 3 out of 5 stars.

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Luxury Mattresses for more great options.

Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers – Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. It's also great for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. It's also great for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review
Best Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. It's also great for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe
Durable and should last 7–10 years
Designed to keep you cool at night
One of the best mattresses under $2,000
Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe
Not ideal if you prefer a slow-moving memory foam feel
Not good for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe mattress has a medium firmness level, so it’s a great option for back sleepers. It starts with foam layers, supported below by 8 of individually wrapped coils. This construction gives the bed a bouncy and responsive feel, preventing the feeling of getting sucked into the mattress.

What the testers say: “Back sleepers under 300 lb, lightweight side sleepers and average-weight stomach sleepers should enjoy the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe. While I wasn’t thrilled with its motion isolation or edge support, this mattress impressed us with its cooling abilities and durability.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

  • Sufferers of back pain should feel some relief after laying on the Aurora Luxe. This bed’s support layer uses zoned coils that are firmer at the hips and softer at the shoulders.
  • Hot sleepers who need some cooling benefits will enjoy the cooling cover, cooling infusions and airflow from the Aurora Luxe.
  • Couples who love a bouncy and responsive mattress will appreciate the Aurora Luxe. It’s easy to move around and switch positions on this mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

  • Stomach sleepers who weigh more than 230 lbs will need a firmer mattress than the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe. We’d steer these sleepers to a bed designed with heavier people in mind.
  • It won’t work for those looking for superior edge support. The Aurora Luxe has fairly decent edge support, but the mattress may collapse a bit if you’re moving around too much while sitting on the edge.

Other Customer reviews

On the Brooklyn Bedding site, some users complained that although their mattress felt cool to the touch, they still felt like they were overheating after a few hours of sleeping. However, most users praised how comfortable and plush the mattress felt. Overall, the Aurora Luxe was ranked 4.7 out of 5 stars by over 3,000 users.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers for more great options.

Best Value Hybrid Mattress – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Value

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma CliMax is a supportive, high-quality option that should be responsive enough for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Value

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma CliMax is a supportive, high-quality option that should be responsive enough for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Value

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma CliMax is a supportive, high-quality option that should be responsive enough for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros of the Emma Hybrid Comfort
Designed for heavier sleepers
Good motion isolation
Sold at a good value
Cons of the Emma Hybrid Comfort
Side sleepers may not get enough pressure relief
Lightweight sleepers may not get enough support

Our Expert’s Take on Why the Emma Hybrid Comfort is Best Overall

Combination sleepers change sleeping positions throughout the night, so it’s important they find a responsive (or bouncy) mattress. This allows them to sleep on top of the mattress rather than sinking into it so that they can move around easier. We love the Emma CliMax Hybrid for these sleepers; its responsive foam and springy coils should be great for ease of movement. With sales, a queen can also often be purchased for well under $1,000.

What our tester says: “After testing, I think the Emma Hybrid Comfort should work well for those wanting firm support. So, it should appeal primarily to combination back and stomach sleepers (especially those of an average or heavy weight). Even those weighing over 300 lb should like the Emma Hybrid Comfort.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Couples will love the Emma Hybrid, as it has strong motion isolation and can be great for certain sexual activities. Couples won’t feel disturbed by each other’s movements, but should still be able to move around with ease.
  • It’s a great value. The Emma Hybrid is built with great materials for a lower price than some of its competitors, and with coupon codes, customers may even be able to pay even lower prices.
  • Sleepers who weigh more than 230 lbs will do great on the Emma Hybrid Comfort, since the mattress is meant to support more weight. In fact, it’s specifically designed with heavier folks in mind to keep them supported.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • People under 130 lbs and side sleepers may find the mattress too firm. We gave the Emma Climax an 8/10 on the firmness scale, and these sleepers need something closer to a 6.5.
  • The Emma only has a 10-year warranty, so it won’t work for those looking for a mattress with a lifetime warranty.

Other Customer reviews

While most Emma customers say they liked the firm support of the mattress and that it slept cool, there were a few customers who complained about the customer service and had some hiccups when getting their mattresses delivered.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Affordable Mattresses for more great options.

Best Hybrid Mattress for Heavyweight Sleepers – Titan Plus

Best Hybrid Mattress for Heavyweight Sleepers

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Hybrid Mattress for Heavyweight Sleepers

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Hybrid Mattress for Heavyweight Sleepers

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros of the Titan Plus
Strong, sturdy support
It scored a 4/5 in support, edge support, and durability
Very responsive
Cons of the Titan Plus
Heavyweight side sleepers may not get good pressure relief
Too firm for some

Our Expert’s Take

When you’re shopping for a new mattress, you should always think about your weight. If you are a person over 250 lb, you might need more support. The Titan Plus mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a mattress made specifically with heavier bodies in mind. Proprietary TitanCaliber Coils are designed to support weights over 250 lbs, and the high-density foams are comfortable while still preventing body indentations. If you want a hybrid mattress, and you’re worried about getting enough support, take a look at the Titan Plus.

What the testers say: “Gel-infused foams, breathable coils and an optional cooling cover kept me from overheating in my testing. Of course, this bed is known for its support and durability. But considering its firmness, I was astonished at how good the motion transfer was for its construction.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus

  • It’s ideal for people over 250 lbs who are looking for a mattress specifically catered to their body type. The Titan Plus was designed with heavier people in mind, and has the added support they need.
  • Stomach sleepers over 250 lbs will likely enjoy the firmness of the Titan Plus. These sleepers will be able to rest easy knowing the mattress will prevent their hips from sinking too far into it.
  • In general, firm mattress lovers should love the Titan Plus. This bed’s firm feel should please even the choosiest of firm mattress lovers.

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • Side sleepers over 250 lbs may not get enough pressure relief on the Titan Plus. These sleepers will likely need a softer mattress to prevent pain from developing around their shoulders or hips.
  • Sleepers who prefer a softer, plusher feel likely won’t enjoy the Titan Plus. As mentioned above, this bed is very firm, and won’t work for sleepers who don’t enjoy that feel.

Other Customer reviews

Customers on the Titan website enjoy how supportive and firm the Titan Plus is, and some customers praised how long the mattress has lasted them. Out of over 2,000 reviews, the mattress was ranked at 4.7 out of 5.

Read the full Titan Plus mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options.

Best Hybrid Mattress for Hot Sleepers – Leesa Sapira Chill

Best Mattress for Hot Sleepers

Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid

The Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid is true to its name and offers some of the best cooling materials out there.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Best Mattress for Hot Sleepers

Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid

The Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid is true to its name and offers some of the best cooling materials out there.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Best Mattress for Hot Sleepers

Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid

The Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid is true to its name and offers some of the best cooling materials out there.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Pros
Cooling features
Plush pillow-top
Multiple firmness options
Cons
Not a classic foam feel
Expensive

Our Expert’s Take

The Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid’s name says it all. It’s a mattress that features pocketed coils, multiple layers of foam, and some great cooling features. It’s got gel-infused layers, a cooling cover, and the coil layer helps to promote airflow. It’s also medium-firm and cushions the spine nicely, making it a perfect fit for back sleepers.

What the testers say: The Leesa Sapira Chill is great for relieving pressure, which makes it a great fit for multiple types of sleepers, especially back and side sleepers. I felt really supported sleeping in both of these positions.Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid 

  • Since the Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid is a medium-firm mattress, it should also work well for side sleepers. The hips and shoulders should be cushioned for some great pressure relief in this position.
  • Couples who want a bouncy and responsive mattress will love that this option is easy to move around and change positions on.

What to Keep in Mind About the Sapira Hybrid

  • Stomach sleepers and heavier sleepers will probably prefer a mattress on the firmer side that will keep their hips and spine supported.
  • This isn’t a great fit for sleepers who want a cheap mattress or are shopping on a budget since this mattress costs just over $2,000 for a Queen.

Other Customer reviews

On the Leesa website, this mattress is rated at 4.4 out of 5 based on over 1,900 reviews from real customers. Many users complimented that this mattress is medium-firm and is great for a variety of sleepers, though some folks claim that the mattress gave them back pain.

Read our full Leesa Sapira Chill Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or, check out our roundup of the Best Cooling Mattresses for more options.

Other Hybrid Mattresses We Like

While these mattresses didn’t make our top 10 recommendations, these mattresses are still a great option for people who are looking for a hybrid mattress. If the mattresses above didn’t fit your needs, check out our recommendations below.

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
A wide shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid on a modern bed

Nectar Hybrid Mattress

The Nectar Classic Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive mattress that should work well for hot sleepers and back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
Back sleepers should get the comfort and support they need on this mattress.
Hot sleepers shouldn’t overheat on the Nectar Classic Hybrid.
Fans of a memory foam feel will love the Nectar Classic Hybrid.
Cons
Stomach sleepers won’t get the hip support they need, which can cause lower back pain.
Fans of bouncier mattresses should look elsewhere.
It may not be firm enough for some people. The Nectar Classic Hybrid has a classic medium-firm feel.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive hybrid mattress made specifically with hot sleepers in mind.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive hybrid mattress made specifically with hot sleepers in mind.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive hybrid mattress made specifically with hot sleepers in mind.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Hot sleepers who need a mattress that sleeps cool
Folks who enjoy a bit of a memory foam feel
Cons
Side sleepers who prefer an extra-soft feeling
Folks who are looking for a cheap mattress

Casper Hybrid Mattress

The Casper Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support and should be a good choice for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Hybrid Mattress

The Casper Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support and should be a good choice for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review

Casper Hybrid Mattress

The Casper Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support and should be a good choice for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.7/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Back sleepers who are looking for a balance of comfort and support
Hot sleepers who are looking for a mattress that sleeps cool
Cons
Heavier side sleepers, who might find that the mattress feels too firm
Folks who like a slow-moving memory foam feel

What is a Hybrid Mattress?

In the mattress world, you’ve got all-foam mattresses and innerspring mattresses. Hybrid mattresses are the middle ground between those two models, blending some type of foam and coils. The foam makes up the comfort layer while the coils act as the support layer.

The interior of a hybrid mattress
Testing a hybrid mattress in the Mattress Clarity Sleep Lab

Here at Mattress Clarity, the most common types of hybrid mattresses we’ve reviewed use traditional memory foam or latex foam in the comfort layers, and all of them feature coils in the support layer. We’ll break these two layers down in more detail below, but let’s go over some pros and cons about hybrid mattresses.

Pros
They’re very durable because of the mix of materials.
They tend to be good for hot sleepers because coils allow for airflow.
You likely won’t feel very trapped, making them easy to move around on.
Cons
The coils may begin to squeak loudly after a number of years.
They tend to cost more than all-foam beds.
With a lot of materials, they’re often very heavy, which makes set up somewhat difficult.

What is Coil Count and Coil Gauge   

Coil count and coil gauge are what makes up the innerspring portion of a hybrid mattress and not all hybrid beds are constructed the same way, we go into full detail about coils in our full coil guide article. But let’s briefly break down four types of coil constructions you’ll see in product descriptions to give you a better understanding.

  • Pocketed Coils– Also known as encased coils, pocketed coils are wrapped in some kind of textile. Because of this, pocketed coils are better at reducing motion transfer. If you sleep with a partner and wake up easily from disturbances, pocketed coils in combination with a memory foam comfort layer absorb a good amount of motion.
A cut out innerspring mattress showing its inner layers
Inspecting innerspring coils in our Mattress Clarity sleep lab
  • Open Coils– These are the traditional style of coils. They aren’t encased in anything, and rest just under the comfort layer and behind the cover. You’ll be able to feel these coils through the cover most of the time. This type of coil is fairly standard, and doesn’t offer contouring or motion absorption like other types.
  • Offset Coils– Offset coils are the more common coil type we see in mattresses these days. They have an hourglass shape to them and will provide a good amount of contouring. They also are better at not making any noise while you shift around on them.
  • Continuous Coils- Continuous coils are made from a single wire that’s been constructed into a spring system. These types of coils are interlinked, and provide a stable foundation for mattresses. This type of coil is also considered the most durable coil type.

What Should you Consider When Shopping for a Hybrid Mattress

Sleeping Position

Sleeping Positions For Comfortable Mattress

Consider your sleeping position and what specific needs you need to meet. 

  • Side sleepers need a good amount of pressure relief for shoulders and hips, so softer hybrids, or hybrids with thick comfort layers work best here. 
  • Back sleepers do well with medium-firm mattresses. Back sleepers who weigh less than 230 lbs might need thick comfort layers, but back sleepers who weigh more should look at thick comfort layers. The coils will support all back sleepers from bottoming out.
  • Stomach sleepers should look for thin comfort layers or a firm mattress. This will keep their hips elevated, and prevent them from dipping too low and out of alignment.
  • Combination sleepers need beds that are easy to move around on and can support whatever sleeping position they find themselves in during the night.

Temperature Control

Sleeping Temperature

Hybrids are great mattresses for hot sleepers because the coils allow for airflow, but you need to know what else to look for that will keep you cool.

  • Cover: All beds come with covers but be on the lookout for cotton, bamboo, or Tencel covers as these are great options due to their breathability.
  • Cooling infusions: This is usually seen in the comfort layer of hybrids with memory foam. These come in the form of a gel, graphite, or copper bead infusion, which pulls body heat away from you.
  • Organic materials: Latex, wool, organic cotton are all great options for hot sleepers because they’re naturally breathable and won’t retain heat.

Price

Price Graphic

Budget is top of mind for almost all mattress shoppers. Hybrids range from around $1,000 to $2,000 for a queen. Hybrids will almost always cost more than all-foam mattresses because of two main reasons: materials and design.

Hybrids feature steel coils, which is more expensive to produce than memory foam. That alone will make even simpler hybrids cost more than foam mattresses. But with hybrids, the designs start to get more elaborate, which takes more materials  (and by extension, more effort) to create.

The bright side is that while you might be paying more for hybrids, they should last you around 8  years as coils are also very durable. When you break down the cost per year, the price tag can seem much more reasonable. Some hybrids are good for budget minded shoppers, and can cost less than $1,000, but shoppers will have to compromise on not having some extra features.

Firmness

Mattress Firmness Test

Mattresses come in all firmness levels, hybrids included. Here at Mattress Clarity, we rate a mattress’s firmness during our testing on a scale from one to 10, with one being soft like a cloud, and 10 being like hard concrete.

Most hybrid mattresses we’ve tested fall in the medium-firm category, or a 6.5/10 on our scale. Medium-firm is great for a variety of sleepers because it is comfortable but supportive. But some companies will offer hybrids in varying firmnesses, just to make sure everyone is accounted for. For more information, be sure to check out our full firmness guide!

Durability

Mattress Durability

A high-quality hybrid mattress can last you around seven to 10 years. Especially luxurious hybrids can last more than 10 years. Be sure to also check the length of the warranty. This can give you a good idea of how long companies expect mattresses to last, and will show you how long they’ll cover defects for. 

What Makes a Quality Hybrid Mattress

Now that we’ve discussed what hybrid mattresses are, let’s take a look at some important considerations you should look for in the best hybrid mattresses. Hybrid mattresses use a variety of materials that you’ll find in two sections: the comfort layer and the support layer. Coil gauge and coil counts also play a factor in the quality of a hybrid mattress, we’ll break each of these qualities down and discuss the difference and importance of materials and coils in hybrid mattresses.

Comfort Layers

The most common material for the comfort layer is foam. Some beds are made with traditional memory foam while others use latex foam. These comfort layers will have different feels based on the foam used. To be considered a hybrid mattress, the comfort layer needs to be at least 2” thick.

Memory Foam Mattress Construction And Layers
Inside of a hybrid mattress tested in the Mattress Clarity sleep lab

Memory foam has that slow-moving, sinking feel to it. It provides body contouring and pressure relief. But because this foam is significantly thinner than that of an all-foam bed, it’s much easier to move around on while still getting the pressure relieving benefits. Foam has a tendency to trap heat, but most foam comfort layers include some kind of cooling feature, like a gel-infusion, perforations in the foam, or a combination of both to keep sleepers cool.

Latex foam is much more responsive, and is quick to spring back into place, unlike memory foam. There are two main types of latex foam: Talalay and Dunlop. Talalay latex is more common for comfort layers, as it’s much softer than Dunlop, though there are some latex mattresses that use Dunlop in the comfort layer. Because of its responsiveness, latex is better for those who like to sleep “on” their bed, rather than “in” that slow-moving memory foam.

Some brands will include other materials such as cotton or wool in the comfort layer, but these rarely make up the entire layer itself.

Support Layers

The only thing you’ll see in the support layer is steel coils. This gives hybrid beds a bouncy, responsive feel and makes beds easy to move around on. Some hybrid beds can handle motion transfer better than others, but because of the coils, they won’t absorb motion as much as all-foam beds do.

Hybrid Mattresses vs Other Mattress Types

Hybrid vs Memory Foam 

When it comes to comparing memory foam vs hybrid mattresses, the differences are pretty clear. Aside from the construction differences, hybrids and foam mattresses will have different feels. Memory foam is a common comfort layer material for hybrid mattresses. However, because there’s not so much of it, and with coils in the support layer, hybrids will feel more responsive and bouncy.

High-quality foam beds might only last you five to seven years, while hybrids, thanks to the coils, will last anywhere from seven to 10, if not more depending on the bells and whistles. They’ll cost more than all-foam beds because of this, but being so durable means hybrids are  beds that will last.

Finally, if you’re a sleeper who wakes up easily, all-foam beds might be the better choice for you. Because they don’t feature coils, they’re naturally much quieter than hybrid mattresses. You also won’t notice someone getting in and out of bed or changing positions during the night. There are some hybrids that can handle motion transfer and isolation better than others, but overall, all-foam beds just do it better.

Hybrid vs Innerspring

Hybrid mattresses are, for lack of a better term, upgraded or modern versions of the traditional innerspring mattress. The biggest difference in the hybrid mattress vs innerspring mattress face off is the comfort layer.

Innersprings

To be considered a hybrid mattress, the comfort layer must be at least 2” tall, if not more. Innerspring mattresses will have no more than 2” of a comfort layer. Some innerspring mattresses might not even use foam as a barrier between the coils and the outer cover. Because of this, innersprings are much firmer, bouncier  and more responsive than hybrids.

Hybrid vs Latex

Just like mattresses that are made entirely out of memory foam, there are beds made entirely out of latex foam. These will typically feature Talalay and Dunlop latex. Talalay latex is softer and plush and typically seen in the top layers. Dunlop is more natural and very dense, making it good for support layers.

Both hybrids and latex mattresses will feel responsive, but the lack of coils will give latex mattresses a more dense feeling. While they’ll still be easy to move around on, latex beds will be quieter and won’t have the same bounce that coils give to hybrids.

Overall

MattressBest for
Nectar HybridBest Overall
Helix MidnightBest Medium-Firm Hybrid Mattress
DreamCloud Premier Best Hybrid Mattress for Combination Sleepers
Bear Elite HybridBest Soft Hybrid Mattress
WinkBedBest Hybrid Mattress for Couples
Nolah EvolutionBest Luxury Hybrid Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora LuxeBest Hybrid Mattress for Back Sleepers
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Value Hybrid Mattress
Titan PlusBest Hybrid Mattress for Heavyweight Sleepers
Leesa Sapira ChillBest Cooling Hybrid Mattress

Best Hybrid Mattress FAQs

What is the best hybrid mattress for side sleepers?

The Casper Hybrid mattress should be a fantastic option for side sleepers, who need adequate contouring at the shoulders and hips. This bed is softer than average and it features a zoned construction that helps with this necessary pressure relief.

Are hybrid mattresses any good?

While it does depend on what people are looking for, hybrid mattresses can be a fantastic option for many types of sleepers. Side sleepers, back sleepers, and stomach sleepers should be able to find a model that works for them. Additionally, combination sleepers, hot sleepers, and couples often enjoy the features of a hybrid bed.

Are hybrid mattresses better than memory foam mattresses?

There are pros and cons to each material. Hybrid mattresses are superior in the level of support, breathability, and durability. On the other hand, memory foam mattresses are generally best for pressure relief and affordability.

How long do hybrid beds last?

Most hybrids are durable and should last you six to seven years. However, a high-quality hybrid mattress can last up to 10 years. The way we care for a mattress also plays a part in determining how long a mattress lasts. By using a mattress protector, keeping the surface clean and free of stains, and paying attention to any cleaning tips provided by mattress companies can help prolong the life of a mattress.

Do you need a box spring with a hybrid mattress?

Most hybrid mattresses do not require a box spring and can rest on any flat frame or foundation. Still, it’s always a good idea to check the mattress brand’s website to see if they recommend purchasing a box spring with your new mattress. Additionally, some company warranties may not cover mattresses without the use of a foundation or box spring.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.