Best Canadian Mattresses of 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

During the bed-in-a-box industry’s early days, most mattress companies only shipped within the United States. So anyone looking for the best Canadian mattress was out of luck. Luckily, several Canadian brands soon established themselves, bringing a good night’s sleep to customers in the Great White North. Eventually, many American brands followed suit and set up some of their own stores in Canada as well. These days, there are more than enough options for us to create a Canada-centric roundup of beds, but we wanted to highlight the best all-around Canada-available mattresses that we’ve had in our testing lab. Without further ado, these are the Best Canadian Mattresses of 2024!

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Canadian Mattress?

Our expert reviewers chose the Emma Hybrid Comfort as the best Canadian mattress for its firmness and supportiveness, and that it offers a versatile balance of comfort and support for many types of sleepers.

The Best Canadian Mattresses of 2024

Best Canadian Mattresses Video Review

Compare the Best Canadian Mattresses

Emma Hybrid Comfort Douglas Mattress Logan & Cove Choice Octave Vista Polysleep Mattress Silk & Snow Mattress
Emma Hybrid Comfort Douglas Mattress Logan & Cove Choice Octave Vista Polysleep Mattress Silk & Snow Mattress
Rating
Firmness Firm: 7.5/10 Soft: 6/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Material Hybrid Foam Hybrid Foam Foam Foam
Cooling -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Stomach Back & Side Combination Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach

How We Chose the Best Canadian Mattresses

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

For example, we test a mattress’s motion isolation by placing a glass of water on it and pressing on the layers around it. If the water moves a lot, the mattress has poor motion isolation. Edge support is tested to see how much a bed collapses and look at a pressure map of the mattress to understand where there’s built-up pressure while laying on it.

Mattress testing photos from the studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

Best Canadian Mattress for Heavy People – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Great for heavy people
Great mattress for sex
A great value mattress
Cons
Not great for side sleepers
Not great for lightweight sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a mattress that caters to heavier people. The German-founded company, which has since expanded to Canada, makes its Hybrid Comfort model with materials that are built for heavier people and their partners and are made to last long-term.

The Hybrid Comfort is a pretty firm mattress, coming in at a 7.5/10 on our firmness scale, but it may feel softer for sleepers who weigh over 270 lbs. The firm-feeling mattress could also be a great fit for lighter sleepers who need more support in their mattress. 

What our testers say: “Back sleeping felt like a dream on the Emma Comfort Hybrid thanks to its high-density foams and coils. Its zoning gave me some really good lumbar support, and my body felt supported on it. The mattress was too firm to allow my hips to sink in, but sleepers heavier than me shouldn’t have that problem.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • The Emma Hybrid Comfort has a high firmness (8/10) and a zoned coil system that provides support to the areas that need it most. These two factors make the mattress a solid choice for heavyweight sleepers, as it will keep them from sinking too far below the surface. 
  • The perimeter of the mattress is nice and sturdy, giving it great edge support. This means you can comfortably rest along the edges of the Emma Hybrid Comfort without fear of sagging. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • The same qualities that make this mattress good for heavyweight sleepers makes it a poor option for side sleepers. It’s too firm for shoulders and hips to sink in enough to get sufficient pressure relief. If you’re a side sleeper, consider the Brunswick Spring instead.

Other user reviews

Based on 17 reviews from the Emma website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.8 out of 5. None of the reviews are below 4 stars, so every customer is happy with their purchase. One user thinks the Emma Hybrid Comfort is firmer than advertised, but still feels great. 

Read our full review of the Emma Hybrid Comfort for more information. Also, check out our list of Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options.

Best Value Canadian Mattress – Douglas

Best Value Mattress

Douglas Mattress

An image of a queen-size Douglas mattress

The Douglas is a comfortable option for side sleepers and fans of soft mattresses.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Value Mattress

Douglas Mattress

An image of a queen-size Douglas mattress

The Douglas is a comfortable option for side sleepers and fans of soft mattresses.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
An image of a queen-size Douglas mattress
Best Value Mattress

Douglas Mattress

The Douglas is a comfortable option for side sleepers and fans of soft mattresses.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Sleeps cool
Supportive for back sleepers
Has that slow-moving feel
Cons
Not supportive for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The all-foam Douglas — also part of the Goodmorning.com family — has a medium firmness that makes it a great fit for many different sleeping positions. Its plush foams are especially good for side sleepers, as well as lightweight sleepers such as kids and teenagers. They’ll be able to experience some considerable pressure relief without sinking through the bed. Best of all, the Douglas is sold at a value price, with a Queen-size currently available for under $1,000.

What our testers say: “Affordability is key for some shoppers, and if you need a budget friendly pick, the Douglas mattress is great for that. I’m an average weight person, so I felt really comfortable on my back and side here. But heavier sleepers might need a more supportive bed than the all-foam Douglas.” – Elisa Regulski, Reviewer

What We Love About the Douglas

  • The Douglas mattress, having an all-foam construction, has a cloud-like, slow-moving feel that fans of memory foam should enjoy. The cushiony feel of the Douglas contributes to its ability to relieve pressure, particularly for lightweight and average-weight sleepers.
  • This mattress is quite affordable. A queen can be purchased for under 1,000 Canadian dollars.

What to Keep in Mind About the Douglas

  • The Douglas does not work well for heavyweight sleepers, as its soft construction does not provide the support that larger people need to keep from sinking too far below the mattress surface. 
  • Like many foam mattresses, the Douglas does not sleep cool. Its foam layers trap body heat rather than regulating temperature and dispersing heat. 

Other user reviews

The Douglas has an average score of 4.7 out of 5 based on 16,839 reviews from the company website. Common complaints seem to be that the mattress is too firm and that it starts showing signs of wear after a short time. That said, most customer reviews praise the mattress for its comfort, with one user even saying, “Since we got the Douglas mattress my average sleep time has increased to approximately 8 hours a night with hardly any awake time.”

Read our full Douglas Mattress Review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for the Money for more great options.

Best Canadian Mattress for Back Sleepers – Logan & Cove

Best for Back Sleepers

Logan & Cove Choice

An image of the Logan and Cove mattress

The Logan & Cove mattress has a luxurious design that offers both comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15 years

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5
Best for Back Sleepers

Logan & Cove Choice

An image of the Logan and Cove mattress

The Logan & Cove mattress has a luxurious design that offers both comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15 years

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5
An image of the Logan and Cove mattress
Best for Back Sleepers

Logan & Cove Choice

The Logan & Cove mattress has a luxurious design that offers both comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

15 years

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.0/5
Pros
Offers good motion isolation
Won’t trap heat
Made with durable materials
Cons
Might be pricey for some

Our Expert’s Take

The best hybrid mattresses combine the plushness of a foam bed and the support of an innerspring. The Canadian company GoodMorning.com achieves this balance through the Logan & Cove mattress. An eco-friendly Tencel cover, a silky pillow-top, and an inch of foam provides plushness and pressure relief. Beneath is a polyfoam transition layer that assists with ease of movement. Layers of high-quality foams and pocketed coils add support and durability. With a firmness of 7.5/10, this bed is ideal for most sleepers, especially those sleeping on their backs.

What our testers say: “I really enjoyed sleeping on the Logan & Cove mattress. It’s really supportive and worked well for all three sleeping positions. When I was back sleeping, I felt really good support, some decent pressure relief on my side, and my hips elevated while on my stomach.” – Elisa Regulski, Reviewer

What We Love About the Logan & Cove

  • The Logan & Cove has a hybrid construction, meaning it utilizes both memory foam and pocketed coils. These pocketed coils promote breathability, as they allow body heat to easily pass out of the mattress. This, along with the gel-infused foam, helps make the Logan & Cove a great cooling mattress.
  • This mattress has a middle-of-the-road firmness: not too firm, not too soft. This level of firmness tends to work very well for back sleepers, who do well on a mattress that allows their hips to sink just a bit below the surface, but not so far that their spine goes out of alignment.

What to Keep in Mind About the Logan & Cove

  • The Logan & Cove won’t be the best option for stomach sleepers, as it isn’t firm enough to keep their hips completely elevated (a necessity for stomach sleepers). 
  • The hybrid construction gives the mattress a bouncy, responsive feel. While this will be appreciated by many, if you prefer a slow-moving, doughy feel then you’ll want to consider an all-foam mattress like the Silk & Snow.

Other user reviews

The Logan & Cove has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 5,269 reviews from the company website. Some customers were unhappy to find that the mattress began to sag after just a few years. However, many more customers are very happy with the quality and construction of the Logan & Cove. 

Read our full Logan and Cove mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of the Best Mattresses for more great options.

Best Canadian Mattress for Couples – Octave Vista

Best for Couples

Octave Vista

Octave Vista mattress

The Octave Vista is a budget-friendly memory foam bed that should work well for most back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5
Best for Couples

Octave Vista

Octave Vista mattress

The Octave Vista is a budget-friendly memory foam bed that should work well for most back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5
Octave Vista mattress
Best for Couples

Octave Vista

The Octave Vista is a budget-friendly memory foam bed that should work well for most back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
/5
Pros
Good for back sleepers
Cooling cover
Affordable
Cons
Bad for most side sleepers
Poor edge support

Our Expert’s Take

The Octave Vista earned an impressive 4.5/5 on our motion isolation test, due to the dense memory foam layers that help keep motion from reverberating across the mattress surface. If you share your bed with someone, this performance factor should be of interest to you. Because the Octave Vista does a good job of isolating motion, it’s less likely that you’ll be disturbed by your partner’s tossing and turning throughout the night, making it easier for you both to get a good night’s sleep. 

What our testers say: “Memory foam does a fantastic job of isolating motion, so transfer should be minimal on this mattress. That makes it a good option for couples” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Octave Vista

  • All of our mattress testers felt good while resting on their backs, from lightweight to heavy-weight. The Octave Vista is on the high end of medium-firm, which isn’t too common for memory foam mattresses. This level of firmness works very well for back sleepers, as it allows their hips to sink below the surface enough to receive pressure relief, but not so much that their spines rest out of alignment. 
  • The Octave Vista stays quite cool, particularly for an all-foam mattress. We noticed it’s actually cool to the touch, thanks largely to its cover woven with nanofibers.

What to Keep in Mind About the Octave Vista

  • If you weigh over 200 lbs and sleep on your side, then we definitely don’t recommend this mattress for you. Our testers in this weight category felt a lot of pressure around their shoulders and hips while on their sides. 

Other user reviews

The Octave Vista has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5, based on 6,320 reviews on the company website. Two recent 5-star reviews specifically mention that the mattress does a good job of keeping couples from disturbing one another throughout the night. There are only 32 1-star reviews, but several of them call out the mattress for being too firm, which might be a problem for you if you sleep on your side.

Read our full Octave Vista mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

Best Cooling Canadian Mattress – Polysleep

Best Cooling

Polysleep Mattress

Best Canadian Mattress

This popular Canadian mattress boasts incredible cooling features and an advanced edge support system.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Cooling

Polysleep Mattress

Best Canadian Mattress

This popular Canadian mattress boasts incredible cooling features and an advanced edge support system.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Canadian Mattress
Best Cooling

Polysleep Mattress

This popular Canadian mattress boasts incredible cooling features and an advanced edge support system.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Pros
Great edge support
Sleeps cool
Ideal for back sleepers
Cons
Doesn’t have a soft feel
Won’t work for heavier sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Available in both Canada and the U.S., the Polysleep has become popular with sleepers residing in both countries. This sturdy bed feels just a bit firmer than average, which makes it ideal for back sleepers. It boasts an advanced edge support system, and it held up great on our edge support tests—no collapsing whatsoever. But our favorite feature of the Polysleep is its cooling abilities. Many all-foam beds like the Polysleep tend to trap heat, but this bed stays cooling thanks to its top layer of ventilated foam.

What our testers say: “When I tested the Polysleep, I was impressed with how well it kept me cool over time. I spent time laying on this mattress on my side, back and stomach and in each position, I didn’t notice any heat buildup.” – Elisa Regulski, Reviewer

What We Love About the Polysleep

  • The Polysleep has a reinforced, sturdy border that results in very strong edge support. This is great news if you tend to sleep towards the edge of the bed, as it means it won’t sag under your weight. It’s also important for seniors who rely on the edge of the mattress to support themselves as they get in and out of bed. 
  • The foam used in the Polysleep has good responsiveness, so moving around and changing sleep positions on the mattress shouldn’t be a problem. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Polysleep

  • Heavyweight stomach sleepers will want to consider a firmer mattress than the Polysleep. If you fit this description, something like the Emma Hybrid Comfort will do a much better job of keeping your hips propped up and your spine aligned.

Other user reviews

Based on 1,184 reviews from the Polysleep website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5. Many of the reviews seem to be of the Polysleep pillow rather than the mattress, so it’s somewhat difficult to get a read on how people feel. However, the reviews that are of the mattress largely rave about its comfort.

Check our our full Polysleep mattress review or head to our Best Cooling Mattress roundup for more cooling options.

Best Canadian Memory Foam Mattress – Silk & Snow

Best Memory Foam

Silk & Snow Mattress

Silk & Snow Mattress

The Silk & Snow mattress is an all-foam bed with a gel-infused comfort layer. It works well for side sleepers who need pressure relief and couples who like beds with great motion isolation.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Memory Foam

Silk & Snow Mattress

Silk & Snow Mattress

The Silk & Snow mattress is an all-foam bed with a gel-infused comfort layer. It works well for side sleepers who need pressure relief and couples who like beds with great motion isolation.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Silk & Snow Mattress
Best Memory Foam

Silk & Snow Mattress

The Silk & Snow mattress is an all-foam bed with a gel-infused comfort layer. It works well for side sleepers who need pressure relief and couples who like beds with great motion isolation.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Pros
Good for hot sleepers
Offered in hybrid or organic models
Has that classic slow-moving feel
Cons
Not bouncy

Our Expert’s Take

Memory foam is famous for its close contouring, which provides a hug-like feel and unmatched pressure relief. The Silk & Snow is a fantastic memory foam option. As sleepers lie down, they’ll be treated to a comfort layer of premium 4 lb memory foam — a slow-moving material with a ton of pressure relief for the shoulders and hips. Anyone with pain points or wanting some deep sinkage should enjoy this. A thick piece of high-density foam adds durability and solid lumbar support. Perhaps best part is that all foam is CertiPUR-US certified.

What our testers say: “The classic Silk & Snow mattress has that true all-foam feel. It’s slow-moving and conforms to your body. I really liked it for side sleeping because I felt no pressure on my hips and shoulders. I’m a combination sleeper though, and I will admit that it can be a little tricky to change positions here.” – Elisa Regulski, Reviewer

What We Love About the Silk & Snow

  • Budget-shoppers will appreciate the Silk & Snow’s affordable price. A queen can be purchased for just over 1,000 Canadian dollars, before sales. 
  • The Silk & Snow earned a perfect score on our motion isolation test, thanks to its all-foam construction which keeps movements from reverberating across the mattress surface. This is great for couples, as it will help keep one another’s movements from becoming a disturbance. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Silk & Snow

  • This mattress does not have supportive edges. This will be a problem if you often sit or sleep towards the perimeter of the mattress, as it will sag uncomfortably under your weight. 
  • Our tests indicated that the Silk & Snow is not very durable. This may be a problem in the long-term as the mattress might begin to sag after several years. 

Other user reviews

The Silk & Snow has an average rating of 4.6 out of 5 based on 1,546 reviews from the company website. Customers call out the value of the product, claiming it’s very good for the affordable price. Some, on the other hand, say that their mattress began to lose its structural integrity shortly after purchase, and that the customer service wasn’t very good.  

Read our full Silk & Snow mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Memory Foam Mattresses for more great options.

Where to Buy a Mattress in Canada

While the endless options can be a bit overwhelming, it’s not so bad once you learn which general method is best for you. There are two primary ways to buy a mattress: at the store, and in the digital world.

In-Store

Mattress Store: With a mattress store, you have an expert salesperson to help you make an informed decision. What’s more is that unlike online mattresses, you’re able to test out the mattress for yourself. These mattresses do tend to be more expensive, but we think the biggest advantage here is that mattress stores provide a more personalized experience.

Department Store: Department stores are located pretty much anywhere, and they can be a great place to buy a mattress when you’re already looking for household items to buy. It is important to note that not all department stores sell mattresses, so we recommend calling ahead of time to make sure they’re in stock.

Furniture Store: If you need a one-stop shop for all of your furniture needs, including a Canadian mattress, then head over to a furniture store where you can purchase many different pieces of furniture at once. While the salesperson might not know much about mattresses specifically, it can be a great place to go if you’ve already done your research.

RELATED: The Best Place to Buy a Mattress

Online

There are so many different mattress brands and models available for purchase, and you can view them all from your couch. Here at Mattress Clarity, we try to make this process as simple as possible for you, from writing mattress reviews outlining the pros and cons of popular models to roundups comparing different brands.

Perhaps the biggest drawback when it comes to purchasing a mattress online is that you aren’t able to test the mattress out in person. That’s why we recommend selecting a mattress from a company offering generous warranties and sleep trials. This way, you’ll have ample time to determine whether or not it’s the right choice for you.

Purchasing a mattress online can be beneficial in terms of financials, too. Because you’re cutting out the middleman, you shouldn’t have to pay as much. And with so many discounts and sales year-round, you should be able to find an amazing cheap mattress.

Types of Mattresses Available in Canada

All of the mattress materials discussed above (foam, hybrid, innerspring, and latex mattresses) among many others are available in Canada, just as they are in the U.S. Unfortunately, not every American mattress brand delivers products to Canada, but we’ve compiled a list of many brands that do.

Companies Shipping to Canada

Of course, the following companies were featured in this article and naturally deliver mattresses to Canada: Polysleep, Casper, GhostBed, Puffy, Silk & Snow, Endy, Hush, Zephyr, Novosbed, Douglas, and Full Moon. Below is a list of a few other companies to check out when searching for the best Canadian mattress.

Canadian Mattress Shopping Guidelines

Selecting the Right Mattress

Getting a new mattress is a lot like buying a shirt. There are different styles meant for different purposes, body types, and environments, so it’s never a one-size-fits-all situation. That’s why we’ve created this buyer’s guide; we want to help you make the most informed decision possible. Here are some factors to consider when choosing the Canadian mattress of your dreams:

Firmness Level: Mattresses can be soft, firm, and anywhere in between, with an industry standard average of 6.5 out of 10. Each mattress’ firmness is dictated by its construction (memory foam, latex, and so on). As you might have guessed, different firmness levels are suited for different types of sleepers.

RELATED: Firm vs Soft Mattresses 

Different Sleeping Positions

Sleeping Position: The most common types of sleeping positions are side sleeping, back sleeping, and stomach sleeping. As a general rule, side sleepers are going to want a softer mattress for optimal contouring and pressure relief. Stomach sleepers should like much firmer mattresses for additional support, and back sleepers are somewhere in between. It’s important to buy a mattress with a firmness that complements your sleeping position because the construction is crucial for maintaining proper spinal alignment.

Body Type: Overall, we recommend that the lighter the person, the softer the mattress should be. An ultra-firm mattress likely won’t give a lightweight sleeper the pressure relief needed because they don’t weigh enough to sink into the comfort layer. However, it’s important to consider your sleeping position, along with your body type. A lightweight side sleeper is going to need a softer mattress than a lightweight stomach sleeper. Be sure to check out our full reviews of the featured Canadian mattresses to determine if the firmness level and construction is right for you.

RELATED: Choosing a Mattress for Your Body Type

Materials: There are endless options in terms of mattress materials because companies are always coming up with new technology. Some mattresses use one of more material, some more of another material, and some combine materials for a balanced feel. Here are some of the most popular constructions out there:

  • Foam mattresses come in many forms (memory foam, latex foam, gel-infused foam) and are best known for their contouring and pressure-relieving properties. The foams often come in different densities depending on the layers, which can comfort or support the sleeper. We don’t recommend this type of mattress for sleepers who want a firmer or bouncier feel.
  • Innerspring mattresses are what you probably think of as a traditional mattress. This mattress’ most distinctive feature is one or more layers of strong coils, typically padded with a thinner foam layer. This results in a responsive and incredibly durable mattress.
  • Hybrid mattresses, in true Goldilocks fashion, are a great middle ground for someone who is looking for properties of foam and innerspring mattresses. This is because their construction contains both foam and coils, and this combination strikes a great balance of comfort and support.
  • Latex mattresses might be a bit pricier than some other mattress types, but they’re hard to compete with in terms of quality of materials and sustainability. Natural latex mattresses are even resistant to mold, mildew, bacteria, and dust mites, making them a great hypoallergenic option.

Company Policies

Now that you know what mattress is best for you, it’s time to consider the purchasing process. Canadian companies vary in the warranties, sleep trials, and shipping methods offered.

Warranties: If your mattress is damaged and the company you originally purchased it from provides a warranty, you might be able to have your mattress covered. It’s important to pay attention to the fine print, because different companies have varying warranty policies. If your mattress is damaged after the warranty period has expired, you won’t be eligible for an exchange. We recommend that you look for a lengthy warranty to preserve your financial investment.

RELATED: Understanding Your Mattress Warranty

Sleep Trials: The allotted time you have to test your mattress is called a sleep trial period, and just like warranties, these vary from company to company. A longer sleep trial is better because it gives you more time to determine whether the mattress fits your personal preferences, whether it’s comfortable, whether you sleep well on it, and so on.

Shipping & Returns: Of course, the first step is making sure the company you’re purchasing from ships mattresses to your province. If the shipping and return dates or fees are important to you, make sure you compare each company policy. Like warranties and sleep trials, all companies are different, and so if you need your mattress in a certain amount of time, then shipping policy is something you’ll want to watch out for.

How to Find the Best Deals

Let’s face it, buying a mattress isn’t cheap. But it’s also one of the most important investments to make. Here we’ll cover how to scope out deals and discounts for quality mattresses.

Utilize Our Reviews

At our mattress lab, we’ve tested well over 150 mattresses so we can help you achieve a better night’s sleep. Scattered throughout this article, you’ll see links to more in-depth reviews of each mattress model. We provide a scoring method that ranks relevant categories: cooling, motion isolation, durability, and so on. We recommend you take advantage of these review pages, because they should offer you all of the information you’ll need to make a well-informed decision.

Check Out Coupons

At Mattress Clarity, we not only want you to purchase the best mattress for your needs, but also want you to have the best price. This is why it’s crucial for us to update our discount coupons. Many mattress companies reach out to us with exclusive deals for our readers. We recommend you take advantage of them!

Accessories for Canadian Mattresses

We do love testing mattresses and writing reviews for our audience, but did you know we also write about accessories? While finding the perfect Canadian mattress for you, it’s so important to also consider all the necessary extras. The list of mattress accessories extends well beyond our list here, but here are some of the products we think are especially worth considering:

Pillows

They come in all shapes, sizes, and materials, all of which are important considerations when preparing for the best night’s sleep. We use pillows all of the time, but we often think past their purpose. Besides incomparable comfort, pillows help promote proper spinal alignment, which can prevent back pain. Choosing the right pillow for your sleep position is crucial. Side sleepers require a higher lofted pillow, stomach sleepers need a lower loft, and back sleepers are often somewhere in between.

A man sleeps on his side with the Polysleep pillow.

RELATED: Three Ways Your Pillow Affects Your Health

Protectors

What should you look for in a mattress protector? Whether you want to extend the lifespan of your mattress or simply protect it from messes, mattress protectors are a fantastic and overall affordable investment. Often, these protectors are waterproof, prevent allergens, provide temperature control, fight bed bugs, and give additional comfort.

Pads and Toppers

It’s easy to get pads and toppers confused, as they’re both intended to improve the overall comfort of a mattress. A mattress pad can help achieve a softer feel, and can be a good alternative to mattress protectors if you’re looking for a waterproof cover to protect your mattress. Mattress toppers, on the other hand, are much thicker versions of mattress pads. They adjust the firmness and feel of your mattress, and often sit on top of the surface (mattress pads are normally held down with straps). The bottom line is mattress pads are meant for added cushioning whereas mattress toppers can change the entire feel of your mattress.

RELATED: Mattress Pads vs Mattress Toppers 

Best forBest for
Best Mattress for Heavy PeopleEmma Hybrid Comfort
Best Value MattressDouglas
Best for Back Sleepers  Logan & Cove
Best Mattress for CouplesOctave Vista
Best Cooling Mattress Polysleep
Best Memory Foam MattressSilk & Snow

Best Canadian Mattress FAQs

Do all mattress companies ship to Canada?

The short answer is no. But there are still plenty of options. Several American mattress brands have begun shipping to Canada, including Purple, Amerisleep, Helix, Nest, and Brooklyn Bedding. And some of them on this list — namely Casper, GhostBed, and Puffy — have even expanded their operations northward.

What mattress is best for your back in Canada?

Back sleepers are going to want a mattress that offers a blend of comfort and support — something that can offer you pressure relief while still giving you a slight lift and keeping the spine in a neutral alignment. Of the options on this roundup, we prefer the Polysleep, Casper, GhostBed, and Puffy for back-sleeping.

What is the best foam mattress in Canada?

While we recognize that the term “best” is highly subjective, we’re partial to the foam mattresses produced by Polylseep, mainly for their proprietary support frame that helps prevent sagging.

What’s the best mattress in Canada?

There is no best mattress for everyone because we all have different body types, sleeping tendencies, and overall preferences. With that said, we love the Polysleep as a well-rounded mattress boasting a firmer feel. With a generous trial and warranty, impressive cooling features, and great spinal support, there’s a lot to offer for a value price. We recommend you thoroughly read our roundup, as well as our full Polysleep mattress review so you can determine if this mattress is truly the right fit for you.

How much do mattresses cost in Canada?

While it all depends on the materials and features of the mattress, we would say a Queen-size mattress lasting at least 10 years should cost between $1,150 and $1,950 CAD. If you’re looking for something a bit more budget-friendly but still pretty durable, a mattress between $750 CAD and $1,150 CAD should do just fine. Luxury mattresses, of course, normally cost upwards of $2,000 CAD.

Dan Caffrey

Dan is a Performance Editor and Certified Sleep Coach at Mattress Clarity, where he writes and edits mattress roundups to give readers the most up-to-date information on sleep products. In 2020, Dan earned his MFA In Playwriting from UT Austin, and his plays have been seen around the country in Chicago, Austin, Washington D.C., and elsewhere. He's also a pop-culture fanatic, having written for publications such as The A.V. Club, Consequence, Pitchfork, and Vox. He co-hosts two popular horror podcasts on the Bloody Disgusting Podcast Network — The Losers' Club: A Stephen King Podcast and Halloweenies: A Horror Franchise Podcast. When he's not catching up on the latest King novel, you can find Dan in and around Brooklyn walking his dog Hank, seeing a play with his wife, and going to way too many concerts.