Helix PLUS Mattress Review – How Does It Support Heavier People?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs, where we are compensated for items purchased through links from our site. See our disclosure page for details.

Helix Sleep makes it easy for customers to find the perfect mattress. Shoppers can choose from one of Helix’s numerous models or they can take a sleep quiz, and Helix will recommend the best model for their situation.

Helix mattresses range from soft to firm, from plush to supportive. At the far end of their support spectrum is the Helix PLUS, a mattress made specifically for larger sleepers. At 6′ 7,” I’m a heavier person. I personally tested this mattress to assess its firmness, feel, support and more. My unbiased Helix PLUS mattress review help you figure out whether this bed will work for you.

Note: Here at Mattress Clarity, we define larger sleepers as anyone over 230 lb.

Helix Plus Mattress

Helix PLUS Mattress Review

The Helix PLUS is a supportive hybrid that could be a great match for heavier sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Plus Mattress

Helix PLUS Mattress Review

The Helix PLUS is a supportive hybrid that could be a great match for heavier sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Helix PLUS Mattress Review

Helix Plus Mattress

The Helix PLUS is a supportive hybrid that could be a great match for heavier sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix PLUS Mattress Review: General Overview

Most major online mattress brands now offer options for heavier sleepers. In the past, heavier people had to make do with mattresses that really couldn’t handle their extra weight, and this would lead to sore backs and joint pain and just an overall lack of healthy sleep. One of the reasons I love Helix as a brand is because there are already so many Helix models available. But Helix made sure to include heavyweight sleepers in its lineup.

With the Helix PLUS mattress, heavier sleepers should be getting all the additional support they require. Tall, supportive coils plus high-density foams will stand up to even much heavier weights. What’s more, its durable materials should ensure that the Helix PLUS doesn’t begin to sag after only a few years of use, so it should be a good investment for larger sleepers who are sick of their mattresses falling apart so quickly.

Pros of the Helix PLUS Mattress

  • The Helix PLUS is a geat option for hot sleepers who want a mattress to keep them cool at night. It already comes with a TENCEL™ cover, which is cool to the touch, breathable and moisture-wicking. But you have the option to get a GlacioTex™ Cooling Pillow Top for additional cooling. Plus, the coils at the bottom of the mattress allow for airflow.
  • This is a great bed for heavier back sleepers and stomach sleepers who require extra support. It’s a firm mattress that can support heavier weights, so it’ll keep hips elevated while stomach sleeping and offer good lumbar support for back sleepers.
  • This is great for people looking for one of the best mattresses for back pain relief. The Helix PLUS is zoned, meaning the coils are firmer towards the center of the mattress and softer at the head and foot. This helps sleepers maintain the proper spinal alignment, which can alleviate back pain.
  • It has a responsive feel. You’ll sleep “on top” of this bed, rather than “inside it.”

Cons of the Helix PLUS Mattress

  • This bed is very firm and doesn’t offer a lot of pressure relief for side sleepers. If you’re a lightweight side sleeper, this bed will feel too firm. If you’re a side sleeper who weighs more 300 lb, you might feel pressure in your shoulders and hips.
  • If you’re the type of person who loves that slow-moving, sinking feeling of an all-foam mattress, the Helix PLUS is not for you. This bed is bouncy and responsive.
  • The Helix PLUS has a higher price point, thanks to its high-quality materials. If you’re on a budget, take a look at our list of the best cheap mattresses.

Helix PLUS Mattress Review: Video Overview

Overall Rating

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches personally test each mattress in categories such as materials, comfort, cooling, and support. Hover over the icons to learn more about these different topics, or scroll down for a more detailed analysis on each one.

Mattress Performance Ratings

Poor
Average
Excellent

1
2
3
4
5
4.3
Overall Rating
5.0
Support
4.5
Edge Support
4.0
Cooling
3.0
Motion Transfer
4.5
Durability
4.5
Trial Period
4.5
Warranty

Note: Motion transfer is beneficial for those who share the bed and don’t want to be woken up by another’s movements. Looking for a mattress that better absorbs motion? Check out our Best Mattresses for Couples.

Helix PLUS Mattress Firmness and Feel

Helix says that the PLUS mattress is made for heavier sleepers, but what does it actually feel like to lie on it? Well, I tried the Helix PLUS mattress myself, and I’ll get into what that experience was like.

How Firm Is the Helix PLUS?

On our firmness scale, I put the Helix PLUS at a 7.5/10, firmer-than-average. The top foam layers of the mattress are slightly soft, but they are high-density and not particularly easy to press into. Beneath the comfort layer, the coils add even more support and firmness to the mattress. I will note that I’m only 250 lb, and much heavier sleepers in the 300 to 500 lb weight range might actually feel like the Helix PLUS is softer as their weight will compress these layers more.

Sleeping on the Helix PLUS

Lying down on my back on the Helix PLUS, the mattress offered me an exceptional balance of comfort and support. My hips sank into the memory foam and Dynamic Foam and I felt both layers conforming to the rest of my body. Underneath that, the coils held up my body and provided great overall support.

Helix PLUS Mattress - Back Sleeping

Moving to my side, the Helix PLUS was a bit too firm for me, and I felt some significant pressure on my shoulders and hips. Again, this mattress is made for larger sleepers, and I might just not be heavy enough to activate the high-density comfort material.

RELATED: Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Stomach sleeping, the Helix PLUS mattress was a fantastic, supportive match. My hips did not bow into the mattress in the least and the firmer-than-average mattress supported my body completely. It could be a good mattress for stomach sleeping.

What Does the Helix PLUS Feel Like?

The Helix PLUS is a hybrid mattress with a somewhat balanced feel. The top of the mattress features two layers of memory foam, but they are of a much higher density and don’t move super slowly. I do get just a bit of that slow-moving memory foam feel right on top, but with the Helix Dynamic Foam and coils, the mattress is quite responsive. With the Helix PLUS, it feels more like I am sleeping on top of the mattress, and it is not too difficult to switch positions.

Sleeper WeightBack SleepersSide SleepersStomach Sleepers
Lightweight (under 130 lb)GoodBadExcellent
Average weight (130 – 230 lb)GoodFairExcellent
Heavyweight (over 230 lb)ExcellentFairGood

Is the Helix PLUS Good For Lightweight Sleepers (Under 130 lb)?

  • Lightweight back sleepers should enjoy excellent back support because of the zoned coils.
  • This mattress is too firm for lightweight side sleepers, so this isn’t a great match. Lightweight side sleepers will feel a lot of pressure along their shoulders and hips.
  • It’s a good match for lightweight stomach sleepers, because the supportive layers will help keep hips elevated.

Is the Helix PLUS Good for Average-Weight Sleepers (130 lb–230 lb)?

  • Average weight back sleepers should enjoy the Helix PLUS. They will experience good contouring and support, while their hips are allowed to sink in just a bit.
  • Average weight side sleepers who weigh between 130 and 175 lb might feel some pressure along their shoulders and hips. But heavier people should sink into the high-density foams and feel more cushioning.
  • Because of how firm this bed is, average weight stomach sleepers should feel supported and comfortable.

Is the Helix PLUS Good for Heavyweight Sleepers (Over 230 lb)?

  • Thanks to the zoned coils, heavyweight back sleepers should get all the support and contouring they require.
  • Side sleepers who weigh between 230 and 300 lb should feel nice pressure relief on the Helix PLUS, but heavier may feel some pain along their shoulders and hips.
  • Stomach sleepers who weigh less than 300 lb should feel supported on the Helix PLUS.

Helix PLUS Mattress Construction

Let’s break down just what makes up the Helix PLUS mattress. We will look at each layer one by one, discuss how they work and how they affect the overall performance of the mattress.

Cover

The cover of this mattress is produced with Ultra Breathable TENCEL™ fabric that allows a significant amount of air to pass through the top of the Helix PLUS. TENCEL™ is also moisture-wicking and cool-to-the-touch, so it’s a great choice for hot sleepers.

I reviewed this version of the Helix PLUS, but you also have the option to swap this cover for a GlacioTex™ Pillow Top for an additional fee. This material is a special kind of polyester that can pull body heat away from you to keep you cool while you sleep.

Comfort Layers

Right on top of the Helix PLUS, there is a 1″ layer of Ultra Dense Helix Responsive Foam. It has that slow-moving memory foam feel, but it still feels supportive. Below that, there is a layer of Helix Dynamic Foam, which is a bouncy, latex-like foam that adds some real response to the top of the mattress. 

Helix PLUS Mattress Construction and Layers

Support Layer

The support layer of the Helix PLUS contains tall coils that are individually wrapped and made to handle heavier weights. They are also firmer toward the edge of the mattress to help provide more edge support for heavier people. The coils rest on a layer of Helix’s DuraDense Foam that is durable and helps support the rest of the mattress.

Mattress Height

The Helix PLUS is 13.5″ tall and is a substantial hybrid mattress.

Helix PLUS Mattress Size Options and Price

Check out the chart below to find the most up to date size and pricing information for the Helix PLUS:

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin38" x 75"$811.30
Twin XL38" x 80"$949.00
Full54" x 75"$1149.00
Queen60" x 80"$1199.00
King76" x 80"$2049.00
California King72" x 84"$2049.00

Also, those who don’t need a mattress for heavy people should consider one of the other Helix mattresses. Make sure to read our Helix mattress review for the full scoop.

Helix PLUS Mattress Performance

I tested the Helix Plus mattress’s cooling features, motion transfer and more. Keep reading to see how the Helix PLUS performed during my rigorous tests:

Sleeping Hot or Cold

The Helix PLUS mattress is designed to sleep cool and boasts many features that should help with heat dissipation. The TENCEL™ cover is designed to promote airflow through the top of the mattress. The tall coils also allow for a good deal of air to pass through the mattress, and this makes for a cooling mattress.

Motion Transfer

To test out how well the Helix PLUS handles motion transfer, I first placed a glass of water in the center of the mattress. Then, I pressed into the other areas of the mattress surface and did note some disturbance in the water. When I tested this with my colleague, Danny, I did feel some of Danny’s movements transfer to my side of the mattress. Keeping this all in mind, those who need the best mattress for couples should be aware that there could be some motion transfer between sleeping partners.

Edge Support

The Helix PLUS is a supportive mattress and even features firmer coils toward the edge of the bed. Because of this, I felt quite secure sitting near the edge of the mattress, and lying down near the edge, I didn’t feel like I was going to roll out of bed and onto the floor.

Helix PLUS Mattress - Edge Support

Durability

As I’ve mentioned a few times, the Helix PLUS is a mattress designed for larger people and features high-density foams and supportive coils. Both of these materials are very durable and shouldn’t sag or break down when faced with the weight of heavier sleepers. The mattress should stand up to at least seven years of use before owners start to see indentations or sagging. See our top picks for the best mattress that won’t sag for more information.

Off-gassing

The Helix PLUS is a bed-in-a-box mattress, and like other online mattresses, it comes shipped in a cardboard box. When I opened the box, took out the rolled-up mattress and cut away all the plastic, there was an initial chemical smell. However, I placed the Helix PLUS in the bedroom, opened the window, and gave it 48 hours to air out. I didn’t notice any chemical smell after this.

Noise

While the Helix PLUS does feature coils, it is not a particularly noisy or squeaky mattress. I was able to move around quite easily with no sound. I will note that the mattress might become noisier as it gets older and the coils begin to weaken.

Sex

Couples who are looking for a good mattress for sex usually want to shoot for something that is bouncy and makes it easy to move around. The Helix PLUS is a responsive mattress and shouldn’t make it difficult for partners to reposition and find a rhythm during those intimate evenings.

Helix PLUS Mattress Review

Helix Company Policies

Always review the fine print before deciding on a mattress. Company policies may have a big role in your purchasing decision.

Warranty

Each Helix PLUS mattress is covered by a 15-year limited warranty. This limited warranty gives you specific legal rights and covers all manufacturing defects. Learn more about the warranty on Helix’s website.

Sleep Trial

You will have plenty of time to decide if the Helix PLUS mattress is the right fit for you, as the mattress comes with the security of a 100-night sleep trial.

Return Policy

All Helix mattresses require a 30-day break-in period to allow your body to adjust to the mattress. If you aren’t completely satisfied with the Helix PLUS mattress, you can return it for a full refund within the 100-night sleep trial, after reaching the 30-day break-in period.

How Does the Helix PLUS Compare to Other Mattresses?

There are now quite a few online mattresses that are designed specifically with larger people in mind. Let’s see how the Helix PLUS stacks up when compared to some of its competitors. Make sure to also check out our mattress comparison page for more Helix mattress comparisons like Helix vs. Casper and Helix vs. Leesa.

Helix PLUS vs. Big Fig

Product
Firmness
Score
Helix PLUS Mattress Review
Helix Plus Mattress
Firm: 7.5/10
4.3/5
Big Fig Mattress
Firm: 8/10
4.6/5
Helix PLUS Mattress Review
Product
Helix Plus Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 7.5/10
Score
4.3/5
Product
Big Fig Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 8/10
Score
4.6/5

The Big Fig is another popular mattress that is designed with larger sleepers in mind. In a lot of ways, these two mattresses are the same because they both feature high-density foams on top and supportive coils on the bottom.

That said, there are some differences in firmness and feel–the Helix PLUS has a firmness rating of 7.5/10, but the Big Fig feel closer to an 8/10. The Helix PLUS has a balanced hybrid feel that lets sleepers sink in just a bit. There is soft memory foam on top, so sleepers will get a little of that classic memory foam feel. The Big Fig has more of a pillow top feel and doesn’t sleepers sink in quite so far.

Between the two mattresses, the Helix PLUS should be the better choice for heavier side sleepers and those who prefer a bit of that memory foam feel. The Big Fig will be a better option for much heavier people, larger stomach sleepers, and those who like to sleep more on top of their mattress.

Who Should Get The Helix PLUS?Who Should Get The Big Fig?
Heavyweight people who want a softer mattressHeavyweight people who want a firmer mattress
Fans of a balanced foam feelFans of a pillow top feel

Read more information about the Big Fig mattress with our full review.

Helix PLUS vs. Brooklyn Bedding Titan

Product
Firmness
Score
Helix PLUS Mattress Review
Helix Plus Mattress
Firm: 7.5/10
4.3/5
Titan Plus
Firm: 9/10
4.2/5
Helix PLUS Mattress Review
Product
Helix Plus Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 7.5/10
Score
4.3/5
Product
Titan Plus
Firmness
Firm: 9/10
Score
4.2/5

The Brooklyn Bedding Titan was also created to appeal to heavier people. It contains high-density memory foam as well as responsive proprietary foam and supportive coils. The Helix PLUS and Brooklyn Bedding Titan mattresses really are quite similar in terms of their design and overall feel.

That said, the Titan is firmer than the Helix PLUS; it feels like a 9/10 and the Helix PLUS feels like a 7.5/10. They both don’t let sleepers sink in too far, but the Titan still feels significantly firmer.

The main difference between the two mattresses is the price. The Titan comes from Brooklyn Bedding, a producer of affordable value mattresses, and it has a lower price point.

Who Should Get The Helix PLUS?Who Should Get The Brooklyn Bedding Titan?
Fans of softer mattressesHeavyweight stomach sleepers
Heavyweight side sleepersPeople who want to save money

Read more about the Brooklyn Bedding Titan mattress with our full review.

The Takeaway

The Helix PLUS mattress is a great option for heavyweight individuals who weigh more than 230 lb. The coils are tall, sturdy and supportive and are designed to handle heavier bodies. The zoned coils also make it a great option for those with back pain who need some additional lumbar support. Hot sleepers shouldn’t worry about overheating on this bed either.

Helix PLUS FAQs

Is the Helix PLUS mattress any good?

The Helix PLUS mattress is definitely a good mattress. It features high-density foams and supportive coils, making it a durable option for heavier sleepers. It should be able to handle heavier weights and should be a good long-term investment.

Is the Helix PLUS mattress good for heavy people?

The Helix PLUS mattress is a solid choice for heavy people. It is designed to support heavier weights and its durable, high-density foams shouldn’t sag too quickly. Larger back sleepers, stomach sleepers and much heavier side sleepers will like what they find with the Helix PLUS.

How firm is the Helix PLUS mattress?

On our firmness scale, the Helix PLUS translated to a 7.5/10 rating, resulting in a firmer-than-average feel. Lighter sleepers might feel like the mattress is even firmer and much heavier sleepers might think the mattress is softer.

Does the Helix PLUS mattress sleep hot?

The Helix PLUS mattress should not sleep too hot. It features a breathable cover and coils that allow for a good amount of airflow.

Marten Carlson

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.