Best Mattresses for an Adjustable Base – Adjust Your Comfort!

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

If you’ve recently purchased an adjustable base, you’re on your way to an amazing night of sleep. Now, you just have to pick a mattress for your adjustable base. But, which one is right for you?

My list of the best mattresses for adjustable bases will go over the best models to pair with your new bed. We’ve got mattresses for all shapes, sizes, and preferences, so keep reading to find the best adjustable mattress for you.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for an Adjustable Base?

Our expert reviewers chose the Helix Midnight Luxe as the best mattress for an adjustable base due to its zoned coils that are firmer toward the center of the mattress, providing extra lumbar support.

Best Mattress For Adjustable Beds: Our Top Picks

Best Mattresses for Adjustable Bases: Video Review

Compare the Best Mattresses for Adjustable Bases

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Saatva Solaire Mattress Nectar Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress WinkBed Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Bear Mattress Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Saatva Solaire Mattress Nectar Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress WinkBed Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Bear Mattress Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10 Soft: 6/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Material Hybrid Other Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Foam Foam Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Combination Combination Back & Side Back Combination Back Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side

How We Chose the Best Mattresses for Adjustable Bases

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

A wide shot of a Saatva mattress on the Lineal adjustable base
Marten testing out an adjustable bed in our sleep lab

For this roundup, we compiled a list of high-end mattresses that are all compatible with adjustable bed frames. In addition, we chose mattresses with a variety of firmness levels, designs, and prices. There’s something for every type of sleeper.

Best Mattress for Back Pain – Helix Midnight Luxe

Best Mattress for Back Pain

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Plush pillow top
Enhanced lumbar support
Cons
Not ideal for stomach sleepers
Some off-gassing

Our Expert’s Take

You may be considering an adjustable base because you need something to help with your back pain. If this is the case, consider pairing your adjustable base with a Helix Midnight Luxe mattress. This is a medium-firm hybrid mattress that is designed to promote healthy spinal alignment. Its zoned coils are firmer toward the center of the mattress and provide extra support under your lumbar area. Paired with a great adjustable base, the Helix Midnight Luxe will help you say goodbye to back pain!

What the testers say: “The combination of foam and coils on the Helix Midnight Luxe kept me supported and comfortable while back sleeping. Most sleepers should feel the same comfort and support, though stomach sleepers might want something a bit more firm.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • Its medium-firmness and balanced hybrid feel make it a good match for most side, back, and combination sleepers. 
  • The Helix Midnight Luxe is built with several cooling features including copper gel-infused memory foam and a breathable Tencel cover. Shoppers also have the option to upgrade to a GlacioTex™ Cooling cover for an additional cost. 
  • This mattress is also a good fit for couples. Its slow-moving foam comfort layer provides excellent motion isolation. And its innerspring coil layer gives the mattress a bouncy feel, making it a good choice for sex

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • Heavyweight side sleepers will compress too far into the mattress’s comfort layer for comfort. This could lead to shoulder and hip pain forming over time.
  • Fans of a slow-moving feel will likely find this mattress too bouncy and responsive. 

Other User Reviews

On the Helix website, the Helix Midnight Luxe has a 4.4/5 star rating from 5,784 user ratings. Customers who enjoyed this mattress said the Midnight Luxe helped relieve their back and shoulder pain. Some one-star reviews wrote that the mattress was too soft for their firmness preference, which is subjective depending on your body type and sleep position.

Read the full Helix Midnight Luxe mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Pain for more options!

Best Mattress for Couples – Saatva Solaire

Best Mattress for Couples

Saatva Solaire Mattress

The Saatva Solaire is a very comfortable mattress with adjustable firmness. It is a great fit for light- and medium-weight people of any sleeping position.

Clarity Score 4.4/5

Material

Other

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Couples

Saatva Solaire Mattress

The Saatva Solaire is a very comfortable mattress with adjustable firmness. It is a great fit for light- and medium-weight people of any sleeping position.

Clarity Score 4.4/5

Material

Other

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Couples

Saatva Solaire Mattress

The Saatva Solaire is a very comfortable mattress with adjustable firmness. It is a great fit for light- and medium-weight people of any sleeping position.

Clarity Score 4.4/5

Material

Other

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Customizable mattress
Good for sex
Cons
Not budget-friendly
Not ideal for heavyweight side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

If you sleep with a partner and are looking for a mattress for your adjustable bed base, check out the Saatva Solaire. The Saatva Solaire is a high-end air mattress that lets you adjust its firmness. Each side has its own remote control, making the Solaire a good pick for couples. If you prefer a firmer mattress, and your partner prefers a softer mattress, you can each set your side to the firmness of your liking. You can also opt for the Split-Top model, which allows you and your partner to raise and lower the head areas separately. Pair the Saatva Solaire with the Saatva Lineal base for even more adjustability.

What our testers say: “Since the Saatva Solaire is adjustable, it’s a great fit for most sleepers, even couples. I did feel a bit of pressure on my hips and sides when I side-slept on this mattress though, even when putting it on the lowest setting. Overall, this is a very comfortable mattress.” -Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva Solaire

  • The Solaire’s motion isolation capabilities are top-tier. Its layer of gel-infused memory foam absorbs motion well and offers ample pressure relief. 
  • On queen size mattresses and larger, you can choose between 50 different firmness levels with a remote control. Almost all light- and average weight sleepers should find a firmness level comfortable for their preferred sleep position.
  • It’s available in Split and Upper Flex models for couples to independently raise and lower each side of the mattress with an adjustable base. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva Solaire

  • The Saatva Solaire is a high-end customizable mattress and is sold at a luxury price point that could be out shopper’s budgets. A queen size Saatva Solaire mattress costs $4,495.00 before sales and coupons. 
  • Sleepers that tend to run extra hot should keep in mind that the Solaire’s air chambers tend to trap heat. 

Other User Reviews

The Saatva Solaire has received 137 customer ratings on the Saatva website with an average score of 4.7/5 stars. Five-star reviews point out Saatva’s excellent customer service and delivery experience. Couples enjoyed the Solaire for its split adjustable firmness and positioning settings. Both positive and negative reviews mentioned how sleeping on the Solaire can take some time to get used to.

Read the full Saatva Solaire mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options!

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers – Nectar

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
365-night sleep trial
Classic foam feel
Cons
Not designed for heavy sleepers
No bounce

Our Expert’s Take

Do you sleep on your side? If so, you should check out the Nectar Classic, one of the best mattresses for side sleepers. It’s a memory foam mattress that contains many layers of pressure-relieving foam. When you lie down on your side, you should feel no discomfort around your pressure points. The Nectar Classic also works well with adjustable bases so, if you need to adjust your bed for side sleeping, it will be easy to do so with the Nectar.

What the testers say: “I’m a combination sleeper, and the Nectar proved to be a great match for me both on my side and my back. As someone who shifts positions throughout the night, I got some great pressure relief and comfort on this mattress.”– Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar

  • The Nectar’s slow-moving foam allows you to gently sink into the top of the mattress. Light- and average weight side sleepers should feel plenty of pressure relief and body contouring. 
  • All-foam mattresses are known for excellent motion isolation, and the Nectar is no exception!
  • This bed-in-a-box is sold at a great value even before sales and coupons and is frequently discounted. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • Heavier side sleepers will compress the Nectar’s comfort layers quite a bit, which can lead to some pressure forming around the shoulders and hips. 
  • Fans of a more responsive mattress probably won’t enjoy Nectar’s layers of slow-moving foam. Slow-moving mattresses are not ideal for sex because they can be difficult to move around on top of.

Other User Reviews

On the Nectar website, the original Nectar mattress has received an impressive 4.8/5 star rating from over 32,000 reviews. Many positive reviews said that the Nectar offered the right amount of comfort and support for side sleeping. For many, the Nectar also helped to alleviate their back and joint pain. Some reviewers mentioned how they found the Nectar too soft or that its foam layers trapped some heat. 

Read the full Nectar mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers for more great options!

Best Affordable Mattress – Brooklyn Bedding Signature

Best Affordable Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Affordable Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Affordable Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Multiple firmness options
Made in America
Cons
Poor motion isolation
No classic foam feel

Our Expert’s Take

Adjustable bases can be pricey and, if you still need to buy a mattress, you may not have much of a budget to work with. In this case, you should take a look at the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid, a value bed-in-a-box that gives you a lot of mattress for a lower price point. It is a hybrid mattress that contains supportive coils and pressure-relieving foam. What’s more, you can select from multiple firmness options, so you can find the perfect fit for your sleeping position. Whatever firmness you select, the Brooklyn Bedding will work with your new adjustable base.

What the testers say: “The supportive nature and the plush feeling I felt while on the Brooklyn Bedding Signature made it great to sleep on. The medium firm model of the mattress has soft top layers and supportive layers underneath, offering a great balance of comfort and support.”– Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • Brooklyn Bedding owns its own factory in Arizona to cut out the middleman and pass on the savings to the customer.
  • The Medium model is the ideal firmness for combination sleepers to experience a balance of comfort and support. 
  • Its hybrid construction promotes airflow and regulates body temperature well, making it a good fit for hot sleepers. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • Its Ascension coil support layer makes the bed too bouncy to absorb motion well. This is something to consider if you share a bed with a partner.
  • You may notice some off-gassing from the Brooklyn Bedding Signature after unboxing it. This is normal for bed-in-a-box mattresses and should disappear after 48 hours. 

Other User Reviews

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature has an average 4.7/5 star rating from 10,755 reviews on the Brooklyn Bedding website. Several customers love sleeping on their Brooklyn Bedding Signature in their RV and how easy it is to assemble. Many considered it to be an upgrade from their previous mattress. Some customers who purchased the Medium firm model thought the mattress was too soft for their preferences. 

Read the full Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Cheap Mattresses for more great options!

Best Mattress for Seniors – WinkBed

Best Mattress for Seniors

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Seniors

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Seniors

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Luxurious feel
Cooling features
Cons
Poor motion isolation

Our Expert’s Take

Adjustable bases are a great investment for seniors, as they can reduce pain, improve blood flow, and much more. The WinkBed is a good mattress for seniors and will work well with an adjustable base. The WinkBed is a hybrid mattress with zoned coils, high-density foams, and a plush pillow top. The zoning provides targeted support and comfort, helping to keep seniors comfortable and properly supported in any position. Plus, the mattress is available in multiple firmnesses, so seniors can get just the right amount of comfort and support for their situation.

What the testers say: “The WinkBed offers a really nice balance of comfort and support. The zoning offered some great lumbar support, and I think this mattress should offer sleepers some nice pressure relief.”– Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • The WinkBed has three firmness options (Softer, Luxury Firm, and Firmer) to offer sleepers of almost all body types and sleep positions a comfortable and supportive mattress. 
  • Its Euro-style pillow top cushions seniors’ backs, hips, and joints. We named the WinkBed as one of the best orthopedic mattresses
  • The WinkBed is built with a reinforced edge which makes getting in and out of bed hassle-free. 

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • The Luxury Firm model of the WinkBed is not designed for heavy people. Heavyweight sleepers should take a look at the WinkBed Plus
  • The WinkBed doesn’t isolate motion well, which could be a problem for couples. 

Other User Reviews

On the WinkBed website, the mattress has a 4.8/5 star rating from 8,573 customer ratings. Reviewers praise the WinkBed for being easy to set up and going beyond their expectations for comfort. Several users also mentioned that the WinkBed helped alleviate their back and joint pain. Some reviewers found the Luxury Firm model to be too firm to receive pressure relief. 

Read the full WinkBed mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Seniors for more great options!

Best Firm Mattress – DreamCloud

Best Firm Mattress for an Adjustable Base

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Mattress for an Adjustable Base

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Firm Mattress for an Adjustable Base

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Great value
Ideal for back sleepers
Cons
Poor edge support
Some off-gassing

Our Expert’s Take

Looking for something firm to put on your adjustable base? Look no further than the DreamCloud mattress. The DreamCloud’s supportive materials create a firm sleeping surface that makes you feel like you’re sleeping on top of the mattress. This makes the DreamCloud an ideal choice for you back and stomach sleepers out there. Back sleeping you’ll feel just the right balance of comfort and support. Stomach sleeping, you’ll get plenty of support under your hips and across your body. If you like a firmer mattress, the DreamCloud fits the bill.

What the testers say: “My spine stayed aligned while sleeping on the DreamCloud, while my hips sank in and the coil layers kept me supported. There was a really good balance of comfort and support, and I loved it for back sleeping!  – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud

  • The DreamCloud feels like 7.5/10 on our firmness scale, which is firmer than average. It provides enough support for back sleepers and lighter stomach sleepers. 
  • Its layers of memory foam are all CertiPUR-US® certified. That means it has passed rigorous testing to ensure it is made without materials harmful to humans.
  • The DreamCloud mattress comes with a 365-night trial and a lifetime warranty. If your mattress gets damaged from normal use, the company will replace or repair it for free. 

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud

  • Although the DreamCloud is a firm mattress, it collapsed quite a bit when we sat on the edge. Overall, its edge support isn’t the best.
  • Its individually wrapped coils give the DreamCloud a bouncy feel, but it also transfers motion easily across the bed’s surface. 

Other User Reviews

The DreamCloud Hybrid is rated 4.6/5 stars by over 8,600 customers on the DreamCloud website. Several five-star reviews mentioned that the DreamCloud is the perfect balance of comfort and support. Users also praised its craftsmanship and DreamCloud’s customer service. Reviewers found the DreamCloud to be too firm for side sleeping. 

Read the full DreamCloud mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Firm Mattresses for other options!

Best Queen Mattress – Nolah Original

Best Queen Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Queen Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Queen Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
Good for side sleepers
Affordable
Cons
Some off-gassing
Too soft for stomach sleeping

Our Expert’s Take

If you have a queen size adjustable base, you’ll want a high-quality queen size mattress to go along with it. The Nolah Original is one of our favorite queen size mattresses that will also team with an adjustable base. It is an all-foam mattress that contains Nolah’s proprietary AirFoam. This material offers the benefits of memory foam without the drawbacks. It provides nice comfort but does not trap heat or make you feel stuck the way memory foam is known to do. The Nolah will have you sleeping like a queen on your new adjustable base.

What our testers say: “The Nolah stands out amongst most bed-in-a-box mattresses, thanks to its responsive foam—its proprietary AirFoam. It’s cooling, and its great for pressure relief, which makes it great for side sleeping.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah

  • The Nolah has a balanced foam feel, so it is pressure-relieving while also being responsive. 
  • Its breathable Tencel cover helps promote airflow through its proprietary AirFoam comfort layers. Hot sleepers looking for an all-foam mattress should consider buying the original Nolah mattress. 
  • Nolah’s foam layers do an excellent job of reducing motion transfer. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah

  • The Nolah is not designed for heavy people. Sleepers who weigh over 230 lb won’t find enough support from the mattress’s comfort layers. 
  • This bed-in-a-box mattress may come with a slight chemical odor after opening it. This is called off-gassing and should dissipate after 48 hours. 

Other User Reviews

The Nolah mattress has an average rating of 4.9 out of 5, based on 1,305 reviews from the company website. Clearly, most people have good things to say. Reviewers praise the mattress for its quality and affordable price point.

Read the full Nolah mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Queen Size Mattresses for other great options!

Best Split King Mattress – Bear Original

Best Split King Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Split King Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Split King Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
CertiPUR-US Certified foam
Cooling features
Cons
Not supportive for stomach sleepers
No bouncy innerspring feel

Our Expert’s Take

Split king adjustable bases are great for couples because each partner can raise or lower their side to their heart’s content. However, you’ll need a nice split king mattress like the Bear Original to go along with your adjustable base. The Bear Original is an all-foam mattress that features cooling gel memory foam and supportive base foam. With a medium firmness, the Bear Original is also a good match for combination sleepers. If you and your partner sleep in different positions, the Bear Original will work for both of you. With the split king Bear mattress and an adjustable base, you and your partner will both be getting just what you need.

What the testers say: “The comfortable and supportive Bear allowed me sink right into the top layer when I back slept on it. I got a nice amount of lumbar support and spinal support, and most sleepers should get a similar feeling.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Original

  • Shoppers have the option to upgrade to Bear’s Celliant-infused mattress cover. Celliant technology keeps sleepers cool by regulating body temperature and has been shown to improve muscle recovery in some studies. 
  • The Bear mattress has a classic slow-moving memory foam feel. It provides sleepers with ample pressure relief while still being easy to move around on. 
  • All of the Bear mattress’s foams are CertiPUR-US Certified and eco-friendly. It’s also low in Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs), which means you shouldn’t notice any off-gassing out of the box. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Original

  • Its medium-firmness and soft comfort layer is ideal for most back and side sleepers, but not for the majority of stomach sleepers. 
  • The Bear mattress does not have as much bounce as an innerspring or hybrid mattress, so it’s not the best mattress for sex. 

Other User Reviews

The Bear Original mattress has an average customer rating of 4.4/5 stars from over 10,000 ratings on the Bear website. Many positive reviews mention how the Bear mattress helped sleepers with their back pain. And sleepers were impressed how the Bear mattress does not retain heat like other all-foam mattresses. Some negative reviews said the mattress didn’t meet their firmness preferences, which are subjective based on your body type and sleep position.

Read the full Bear Original mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Split King Mattresses for more great options!

Best Cooling Mattress – Leesa Sapira Hybrid

Best Cooling Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress

The Leesa Sapira Hybrid is a supportive hybrid mattress that is a good fit for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress

The Leesa Sapira Hybrid is a supportive hybrid mattress that is a good fit for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress

The Leesa Sapira Hybrid is a supportive hybrid mattress that is a good fit for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Ideal for back sleepers
Excellent edge support
Cons
Not budget-friendly
Poor motion isolation

Our Expert’s Take

Are you worried about sleeping hot on your adjustable base? Consider a cooling mattress like the Leesa Sapira Hybrid. As the name suggests, it is a hybrid mattress that contains pocketed coils and multiple foam layers. The top layer is ventilated to promote airflow through the top of the mattress, and the coils allow for air to pass through the bottom of the mattress. With this design, the Leesa Sapira Hybrid won’t trap heat and will keep you nice and cool all night long.

What the testers say: “The Leesa Sapira Hybrid should be a great match for back sleeping. I enjoyed plenty of spinal support along with a touch of pressure relief. On the other hand, I experienced a bit of pressure while side-sleeping, but it wasn’t super uncomfortable.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Leesa Sapira Hybrid

  • This mattress’s materials and construction details maximize air ventilation and regulate body temperature. 
  • The Leesa Sapira Hybrid has a balanced foam feel that offers sleepers both gentle pressure relief and ample support. 
  • It comes with a 10-year limited warranty that covers any workmanship defects that would cause the mattress to break down prematurely. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Leesa Sapira Hybrid

  • The Leesa Sapira Hybrid may be out of some shoppers’ budgets. A queen size Sapria Hybrid costs $1,999.00 before sales and coupons. 
  • Fans of a slow-moving feel will probably find the Leesa Sapira Hybrid too bouncy and responsive. 

Other User Reviews

On the Leesa website, the Sapira Hybrid mattress has a 4.4/5 star rating based on 2,208 customer ratings. Many reviewers were pleased with how cool and comfortable the Sapira Hybrid is, even if they lived in a warmer climate. Some found the Sapira Hybrid mattress to be too firm, but some of these reviewers found that adding a mattress topper made the bed more comfortable. 

Read the full Leesa Sapira Hybrid review. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options!

Best Hybrid Mattress – Puffy Lux Hybrid

Best Hybrid Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Hybrid Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Hybrid Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Pros
Plush foam feel
Great for side sleepers
Cons
Not designed for heavy sleepers
Some off-gassing

Our Expert’s Take

If you want a hybrid mattress to put on your adjustable base, the Puffy Lux Hybrid might be just what you are looking for. The Puffy Lux Hybrid provides the support of Contour-Adapt Coils as well as Puffy’s proprietary cooling foams. The coils offer support for back sleeping, while the top layers of foam offer plush cushioning for side sleeping. In addition, with its hybrid design and cooling foams, the Puffy Lux Hybrid will not trap heat and should keep hot sleepers from overheating.

What the testers say: “As a combination sleeper, I enjoyed the Puffy Lux Hybrid. It’s soft, so it’s perfect enough to cushion the body while side sleeping, and could even be helpful for those with sleep apnea.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Puffy Lux Hybrid

  • The Puffy Lux Hybrid features three layers of pressure-relieving foam which are all CertiPUR-US® certified.
  • This mattress has a balanced foam feel. Its top foam layers have a slow-moving feel but its transition foam and coil support system make it easy to move around on. 
  • All Puffy mattresses are sold with a limited lifetime warranty. Puffy will either repair or replace your mattress if workmanship defects are present for the lifespan of your mattress at no cost. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Puffy Lux Hybrid

  • We noticed that the Puffy Lux Hybrid doesn’t have the best edge support. When you sit or lie near the edge, you may feel the mattress collapse beneath you.
  • The majority of stomach sleepers will not find enough support from the Puffy Lux Hybrid’s comfort layers. 

Other User Reviews

According to the Puffy website, the Puffy Lux Hybrid has received over 12,000 five-star reviews from real satisfied customers. These five-star reviews mention how easy the Puffy Lux Hybrid is to assemble and how it perfectly balances soft comfort and support. 

Read the full Puffy Lux Hybrid mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options!

Types of Adjustable Bed Mattresses

So, what type of mattress should you use with your adjustable base? The good news is that you can use pretty much any type of mattress with an adjustable base. Still, let’s go through the different types of mattresses and how they fare on adjustable bases.

Memory foam mattresses are a great match for adjustable bases because they are so flexible. Without coils, they are able to stay flush against the adjustable base while you raise and lower it. Just make sure that your memory foam mattress features durable, high-density foam. Low-quality memory foam mattresses might start to lose their shape if you use an adjustable base.

A man tests out the Zero Gravity function of the Saatva Lineal Base

Hybrid mattresses can also work well with adjustable bases, but pay attention to what type of coils are in the mattress. Mosthybrid mattresses feature pocketed coils that are flexible and work with adjustablebeds. However, if the coils are continuous style, they won’t be as flexible and could warp and damage the mattress when paired with an adjustable base.

This is why innerspring mattresses aren’t the best for adjustable bases. They are rarely as flexible as memory foam or hybrid mattresses and may not bend as easily. That being said, some innerspring mattresses are compatible with adjustable bases. Just do your research before buying.

Finally, latex mattresses are a great addition to any adjustable base. Latex is a flexible material that is also very durable. You can adjust the mattress easily, but it will keep its shape for many years to come.

Can Any Mattress Be Adjustable?

The majority of mattresses can be adjustable, but do your research before you buy. In general, memory foam, latex, and hybrid mattresses are adjustable, but it is always a good idea to buy your adjustable base and mattress from the same company. This should ensure that the mattress can adjust without damaging the mattress or putting strain on the adjustable base.

If you have an older mattress, especially an innerspring model, it may not work well with an adjustable base. Again, do your research to see if your mattress is compatible with an adjustable base.

How To Keep Split King Adjustable Mattresses Together

Split king adjustable mattresses are fantastic as they let both you and your partner control your side of the bed. But, you may notice one major issue with your split king mattresses – the two sides slide apart at night.

However, there are a few quick tricks to keep your split king adjustable mattresses together. First off, you want to make sure the two sides of the base are securely connected. Take a look at the connectors that you received with your adjustable base. These metal pieces hold the two sides of the base together and, if these are loose or improperly placed, your two sides of the base may separate.

You also want to prevent the mattresses from slipping and moving around on the adjustable base. To do this, try using velcro strips to connect the two mattresses together. You can also put non-slip tape on the base itself, which can keep your mattresses from moving apart.

Finally, consider buying a fitted frame. Most adjustable bases are designed to fit inside a frame, and this can keep both your adjustable bases and mattresses together.

Summary

One more time, here are our best mattresses for an adjustable base.

MattressBest For:
Helix Midnight LuxeBest Mattress for Back Pain
Saatva SolaireBest Mattress for Couples
Nectar ClassicBest Mattress for Side Sleepers
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Affordable Mattress for an Adjustable Base
WinkBedBest Mattress for Seniors
DreamCloudBest Firm Mattress for an Adjustable Base
Nolah OriginalBest Queen Mattress for an Adjustable Base
Bear OriginalBest Split King Mattress for an Adjustable Base
Leesa Sapira HybridBest Cooling Mattress for an Adjustable Base
Puffy Lux HybridBest Hybrid Mattress for an Adjustable Base

Mattresses for Adjustable Bases FAQs

Do you need a special mattress for an adjustable bed?

You do not need a special mattress for an adjustable base. Most modern bed-in-a-box mattresses are designed to work with adjustable bases. However, some thicker innerspring mattresses are not made for adjustable bases. If you are unsure, research your mattress to ensure it will pair with an adjustable base.

Are adjustable mattresses worth it?

An adjustable base and mattress cost more than a standard bed set, but they can be a boon to those who struggle with pain and circulation issues. An adjustable mattress and base can increase bloodflow and ease pain on the joints and back.

Are all mattresses adjustable?

Not all mattresses are adjustable, but the majority of modern online mattresses are. Most newer all-foam and hybrid mattresses will work well with an adjustable base, but some thicker innerspring mattresses will not. Always read up on your new mattress to see if you can use it on an adjustable base.

Can you flip an adjustable mattress?

You can flip some all-foam adjustable mattresses such as the Layla or the Zenhaven. However, most hybrid and innerspring adjustable mattresses are not flippable.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.