Best Mattresses for the Money

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs, where we are compensated for items purchased through links from our site. See our disclosure page for details.

When it comes to online options, the best value mattress comes in many different forms. Lower pricing, impeccable construction and design and higher durability are some examples. Using these factors, over a number of months, we tested and analyzed 40 mattress models in order to find the best mattress for the money.

We found 8 models to be particularly high-quality, lower-cost options. The result is our roundup of the eight best mattresses for the money. Below, our buying guide provides everything you should know about getting a great value mattress.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for the Money?

Our expert reviewers chose the Nectar as the best mattress for the money for its versatile support for joint pain, solid motion isolation for couples, and balanced feel.

Our Picks: Best Mattresses for the Money

Video Review: Best Mattresses for the Money 2024

Compare the Best Mattresses for the Money

Nectar Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Bear Original Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Titan Plus Nolah Original 10" Mattress Emma Mattress Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress
Nectar Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Bear Original Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Titan Plus Nolah Original 10" Mattress Emma Mattress Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 9/10 Soft: 6/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Material Foam Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Foam Foam Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back Back & Side Back Back & Stomach Back & Side Back Back & Side

How We Chose the Best Mattresses for the Money

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

Mattress testing photos from the studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

For this roundup, we focused on price as an additional parameter, which is why all 10 mattresses cost less than $1,500 for a queen-size after discounts. Value goes beyond just money, though; it’s about what you’re getting for what you’re paying. When looking at our overall scores for these 10 mattresses, all of them scored at least a 3.5 out of 5, with half of them scoring a 4 or higher.

Nectar – Best Value Mattress for Couples

Best Mattress for Couples

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Couples

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390
Best Mattress for Couples

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros of the Nectar Mattress

check This mattress has a slow-moving feel. If you like mattresses that contour to your body, this could be a great option.
check The Nectar mattress isolates motion well, which is helpful for people who share a bed with a partner or a pet.
check It offers plenty of pressure relief for side sleepers who weigh less than 230 lb.

Cons of the Nectar Mattress

dash Even though it has cooling gel-infused foam, it’s not the best mattress for hot sleepers. If you tend to overheat at night, you may want to consider getting the Nectar Hybrid instead.
dash It’s not supportive enough for most stomach sleepers. In this position, you may feel your hips sink out of alignment, which can lead to lower back pain.
dash Because it’s an all-foam bed-in-a-box mattress, it has a 48-hour off-gassing period. You’ll need to let the mattress air out for two days before sleeping on it.

The Nectar is an affordable all-foam mattress that offers lots of pressure relief and body contouring. It works well for most side sleepers, because it helps cushion shoulders and hips. It is also a good option for couples, because it isolates motion well. However, the Nectar mattress isn’t supportive enough for most stomach sleepers and heavyweight people. If you tend to sleep hot at night, you may want to look for a mattress with more cooling features. Learn more in our Nectar mattress video review.

Our Expert’s Take

A good mattress for couples needs to accommodate both parties, providing enough of what each person needs based on their sleep preferences and body type. In addition to that, a good mattress for couples needs one very important thing: motion isolation. The Nectar mattress scores a 4.5 out of 5 on our motion isolation test, meaning as your partner flops around on your side of the bed, or gets in and out to grab a glass of water or use the bathroom, you’re much less likely to be disturbed by their movements on your side of the bed. 

What the testers say: “To test the Nectar’s motion isolation, I placed a glass of water in the center of the mattress and pushed it into the surrounding area. The water was barely disturbed, which indicates the mattress isolates motion well. But I didn’t stop there! I also asked my coworker, Joe, to roll around on one side of the mattress while I relaxed on the other side. When my coworker switched sleeping positions, I didn’t feel his movement come over to my side of the bed.” — Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar

  • Memory foam mattresses tend to be on the softer side, but the Nectar provides a balanced firmness. This means that back sleepers should find the mattress provides the blend of support and comfort that they need. We highly recommend the Nectar for light and average-weight sleepers, and even heavyweight sleepers should feel great on it as well. 
  • The Nectar does a great job of staying cool at night, particularly for an all-foam mattress. Foam tends to trap heat, which is bad news for people who tend to prefer a cooler sleep environment. But the Nectar felt quite cool to us as we tested it, likely thanks to the breathable cover and gel-infused foam. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • While the Nectar works quite well for heavy back sleepers, we can’t recommend it for heavyweight stomach or side sleepers. When our heavyweight testers assumed these positions, they felt either too supported (side sleeping) or not supported enough (stomach sleeping). For heavy side sleepers, we suggest a softer mattress and for heavy stomach sleepers we suggest a firmer mattress.

Other User Reviews

The Nectar mattress has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on a whopping 50,525 reviews from the company website. Many 5-star reviewers call out how well they and their partners sleep on the Nectar. Unfortunately, some people feel the mattress is far too firm. 

Read our full Nectar mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Nectar mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

DreamCloud – Best Hybrid Mattress

Best Hybrid

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Hybrid

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros of the DreamCloud Mattress

check It is a good option for back sleepers. While it is a bit firmer than average, its balance of comfort and support will keep the spine in neutral alignment.
checkYou shouldn’t be sleeping too hot on this mattress. The breathable cover, gel-infused foam, and airflow-promoting coils should prevent the mattress from trapping heat.
check You should never feel stuck in this mattress. The DreamCloud is bouncy and responsive, so you will have no trouble moving around and changing positions.
check The DreamCloud is a good value option. Hybrid mattresses can be quite pricey, but the DreamCloud is surprisingly affordable.

Cons of the DreamCloud Mattress

dashSide sleepers will want to find a softer mattress to give them the pressure relief they need. If you sleep in this position, check out our best mattresses for side sleepers.
dashFans of the slow-moving memory foam feel won’t get that feeling on the DreamCloud. If you like to slowly sink into your mattress, take a look at our best memory foam mattresses.

The DreamCloud is a hybrid mattress that offers great support for back sleepers and nice cooling for hot sleepers. Its mix of foam and coils ensures you get the right amount of support, while its breathable materials ensure you don’t sleep too hot. It is a bouncier mattress, and if you prefer more of a memory foam feel, consider the Nectar mattress. Learn more in our video review.

Our Expert’s Take

The DreamCloud is a well-constructed, reliable hybrid mattress with an affordable price tag. Five layers comprise the DreamCloud: a breathable cashmere-blend cover, a layer of gel memory foam that helps relieve pressure, a layer of transition foam, a thin layer of sturdy foam that provides foundation, and a layer of individually wrapped coils that promotes airflow and helps keep sleepers supported. This is a classic hybrid construction that accommodates a wide range of people, and we think it has great value for the price.

What the testers say: The DreamCloud mattress has two thin comfort layers, so when I rested on it, I felt more of the supportive coils underneath. Because of this, the DreamCloud feels more like a traditional innerspring mattress. It’s responsive and bouncy, which makes it easy to move around on top of.” — Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud

  • The DreamCloud is a pretty good match for back sleepers, particularly back sleepers who weigh between 130 and 230 lb. Our average-weight tester felt great when they were on their back, as the mattress sank slightly below the surface of the mattress but their spine remained aligned. 
  • Thanks to its hybrid construction and gel infusion this mattress remained pretty cool as we tested it. This is great news if you’re a hot sleeper looking for a little bit of relief without having to crank the air conditioner.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud

  • The DreamCloud has a pretty weak perimeter. We rated it a 3 out of 5 on our edge support test, because when we tried sitting and resting on the edges they sagged quite a bit under our weight. This will be an issue if you’re one of those sleepers who likes to dangle their arm off the bed. Instead, we’d recommend the Titan Plus.

Other User Reviews

The DreamCloud mattress has an average rating of 4.6 out of 5 based on 8,734 customer reviews on the company website. Most reviewers are happy and call out the DreamCloud’s outstanding comfort. Some users, however, feel that the mattress is far too firm.

Check out our full DreamCloud mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight mattress, check out our list of the Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options.

Bear Original – Best King-Size Mattress for the Money

Best King-Size Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best King-Size Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame
Best King-Size Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros of the Bear Original Mattress

check The Bear’s gel-infused memory foam can help hot sleepers stay cool throughout the night.
check It’s an affordable option. A queen-size Bear mattress is less than $1,000, even before discounts.
check Bear offers a lifetime warranty on this mattress. That means if you find any covered defects or indentations during the life of your mattress, they will replace it free of charge.

Cons of the Bear Original Mattress

dashThis bed probably isn’t a good fit for side sleepers who weigh over 230 lbs. These sleepers need a mattress that’s more supportive, like one of out top picks for the best mattresses for heavy people.
dashStomach sleepers likely won’t find this bed firm enough to keep their spine in proper alignment. Instead, check out our list of the best firm mattresses.

The Bear Original is a memory foam mattress with broad appeal. It provides good support and pressure relief for side and back sleepers who weigh less than 230 lbs and comes with plenty of cooling features. It isn’t firm enough for most sleepers who weigh more than 230 lbs, though. If you need a more supportive bed, check out the Plank Firm. Learn more in our video review.

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a single sleeper or a couple looking for a big bed that won’t break the bank, you’ll want to check out the Bear Original. Even for a king-size mattress, you are likely going to spend less than you would on other online mattresses. King-size mattresses are usually great for couples, and the Bear Original is no exception. It is, of course, large enough for couples, but it also isolates motion well. We tested the mattress out with two of our reviewers. One rolled around on the other side while the other tried to sleep. They reported they felt no disturbances. It is also a cooling mattress, thanks to its gel memory foam and breathable cover, so couples should not overheat on this king-size bed. However, if you are a larger couple and need more support, the Bear Original might not be up to the task. Consider the Titan Luxe, a mattress made just for heavier people.

What the testers say: “When I tested the Bear mattress, I felt a great balance of comfort and support. This bed has a medium-firm feel, which is great for back and side sleepers. It also isolates motion well—great news for couples. But, as a larger person, I still could have used a bit more support.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Original

  • The Bear Original has that memory foam feel that many people love. When we rested on the Bear, the mattress let us slowly sink in, and it was a very comfortable experience.
  • The cooling cover and cooling infusions prevent the mattress from trapping too much body heat. We personally did not sleep too hot on the Bear.
  • It is good for both back and side sleepers. It scored a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale and provided a good balance of comfort and support for back sleeping. At the same time, we got enough pressure relief while side sleeping.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Original

  • Stomach sleepers will need a firmer mattress. The Bear is a medium-firm mattress and will not be firm enough for most stomach sleepers. The Emma mattress will be a better choice for average-weight stomach sleepers, and the Titan Plus will work for heavier stomach sleepers.
  • Memory foam is great, but it doesn’t make it very easy to move around. Lying on the Bear Original, you might feel stuck and have trouble changing positions.
  • If you are a larger person and sleep on your side, you might “bottom out” on the Bear Original. Our heavier testers felt more pressure on their shoulders and hips and needed something with a thicker comfort layer. The Titan Plus Luxe will give you better pressure relief.

Other User Reviews

According to the Bear website, the mattress scored an average of 4.4/5 with customers. Those who liked the mattress said it worked well for their teenagers and overnight guests. Customers who didn’t score it so high complained specifically about edge support and said the mattress trapped a bit of heat.

Read our full Bear mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Bear Original mattress, check out our list of the Best King Size Mattresses for more great options.

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid – Best Value Mattress for Back Sleepers

Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

check The Brooklyn Bedding Signature is a budget-friendly mattress. It’s a good fit for shoppers looking for an affordable, versatile bed.
check Combination sleepers will find it easy to change positions on this bed. Thanks to its bouncy coil construction, the Signature offers a very responsive surface.
check Back and side sleepers under 230 lbs can expect great pressure relief and support on this bed.

Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress

dashThis bed doesn’t provide much motion isolation. If you’re looking for a mattress that will absorb more motion, check out our list of the best mattresses for couples.
dashThe Brooklyn Bedding Signature isn’t a luxury mattress. If you want something that’s got more bells and whistles, check out our list of the best luxury mattresses.

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature is an affordable, no-frills bed with a medium-firm feel that should work for a wide variety of sleepers. While it’s made with durable materials and should last up to 10 years, it isn’t the most luxurious option. If you’re looking for a premium bed, check out the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe. Learn more in our video review.

Our Expert’s Take

As I mentioned above, Brooklyn Bedding sells great value mattresses. If you aren’t a heavy person and sleep on your back, forgo the Titan Plus and try the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid. As the name suggests, it is a hybrid mattress. It features Supreme Response Comfort Foam, Variflex Transition Foam and Ascension Indivually-Encased coils. You also have firmness options, and if you sleep on your back, the Medium model will be the way to go. When I slept on my back on the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid, my hips sank in just the right amount and I felt good support overall. If anything, I wish the mattress had offered some memory foam contouring. This is not a negative per se, but fans of memory foam will want to look elsewhere.

What the testers say: “The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress is great for people who want to save some money. Not only is this mattress comfy and supportive—it’s affordable, too. I like that it comes in multiple firmness levels, but even the firmest model was not supportive enough for heavier people.” — Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • Like the WinkBed and a few other mattresses on this list, the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid comes in multiple firmness levels. No matter what position you sleep in, you should get what you need with the Brooklyn Bedding. We reviewed the Medium model and loved it for back sleeping.
  • It is bouncy, responsive and makes it easy to change positions. We had no trouble rolling around on this mattress, and we never felt stuck. You may experience this with a memory foam mattress, but not the Brooklyn Bedding.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • You’re not going to get much contouring with this mattress. While it features foam, it doesn’t offer that memory foam feel. If you like to slowly sink into your mattress, take a look at the Bear Original listed above.
  • It is a simple mattress and doesn’t have some of the high-end materials found in the WinkBed or other more luxurious mattresses. It has a simpler, streamlined design overall.

Other User Reviews

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid earned a 4.7/5 rating. Customers wrote on the Brooklyn Bedding website that the brand offers excellent customer service. Others said the mattress was a good mattress for the price. However, some said the bed was not as firm or soft as they expected.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers for more great options.

Titan Plus – Best Value Mattress for Heavy People

Best Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
titan featured image
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Pros of the Titan Plus Mattress

check It works well for people who weigh 230 – 500 lb, thanks to its supportive feel.
check This mattress has great edge support.
check The Titan Plus mattress is breathable and cool, so it works well for hot sleepers.

Cons of the Titan Plus Mattress

dashLightweight people likely won’t get enough pressure relief on this mattress.
dashIt’s too firm for many side sleepers, who will likely need more cushioning along their shoulders and hips. If you want a mattress that’s more plush, you may want to consider getting the Titan Plus Luxe instead.

The Titan Plus mattress works well for many heavyweight back and stomach sleepers. It’s quite firm, coming in at 9/10 on our firmness scale. This means that many side sleepers won’t get the pressure relief they need along their shoulders and hips. Watch our Titan Plus mattress review video to learn more.

Our Expert’s Take

Heavy people over 230 lb often have a difficult time finding the right bed because they require more support and durable materials. But they’re in luck—Brooklyn Bedding has designed a mattress just for them.

Dubbed the Titan Plus, it’s made with highly durable materials that can easily hold up heavy people while also providing them with comfort. Its comfort layer is made with a more supportive and responsive version of memory foam called TitanFlex foam, and the base of the bed has a super-thick layer of 6″ TitanCaliber coils. Also, Brooklyn Bedding owns its own factory, so the brand is able to price its mattresses competitively. Compared to the other mattresses for heavy people we have reviewed, the Titan Plus is more affordable.

However, just note that the Titan Plus is a firmer mattress. We rated it at a 9/10, which is much firmer than average. This means heavier side sleepers will want to opt for the Titan Plus Luxe, the softer version of this mattress.

What the testers say: “As a heavier person, I love the Titan Plus’s supportive coil system. It gives me the right amount of lumbar support when I’m back sleeping, and it prevents me from ‘bottoming out.’ However, I am mostly a side sleeper, and I didn’t get enough pressure relief in this position. I preferred the Titan Plus Luxe for side sleeping.” — Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus

  • It is made specifically with larger people in mind. Larger people require more support, and the Titan Plus contains extra-supportive materials such as TitanFlex foam and TitanCaliber coils.
  • It is a firm mattress that is a good option for heavier stomach sleepers. When you’re on your stomach, you need a firm mattress to support your hips. Our larger testers got all the support they needed when stomach sleeping on the Titan Plus.

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • This mattress is not made with lightweight or average-weight people in mind. Our testers who weighed less than 200 lb thought it was too firm. If you are not a larger person, consider the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Plus, one of the brand’s other affordable models.
  • Heavyweight side sleepers won’t get enough pressure relief on the Titan Plus. You need more softness when you are side sleeping so that you feel less pressure on your shoulders and hips. Heavy side sleepers should check out the Titan Plus Luxe, the softer version of this mattress.

Other User Reviews

If you look at the Titan website, you’ll see that customers gave the mattress an average score of 4.7/5. Many customers who said they were on the heavier side said it gave them more support than their previous mattresses. Still, some customers noted that the mattress was softer than they expected, and others had issues with edge support.

Learn more in our full Titan Plus review. We also have other options on our roundup of the Best Mattresses for Heavy People, just in case you want to explore other options.

Nolah – Best Value Mattress for Back Pain

Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

Nolah Original 10

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

Nolah Original 10

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Nolah Original 10
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Pros of the Nolah Mattress

check It offers lots of pressure relief, which can be helpful for side sleepers who have back or hip pain.
check It’s sold at a budget-friendly price, and it should last at least seven years.
check The breathable comfort layer contains AirFoam, which is cooler than traditional memory foam.

Cons of the Nolah Mattress

dash Back sleepers who weigh more than 230 lb may not get enough lumbar support.
dash It’s not supportive enough for most stomach sleepers.
dash It lacks a bouncy and responsive feel. If that’s what you’re looking for, you may want to get the Nolah Evolution Hybrid mattress instead.

The Nolah Original is an all-foam mattress that feels softer than average. It contains proprietary AirFoam, which is more breathable than traditional memory foam. For this reason, it works well for hot sleepers. This mattress offers plenty of pressure relief for many side sleepers, but it may not be supportive enough for some back and stomach sleepers. Watch our Nolah mattress review video.

Our Expert’s Take

If you experience back pain, the last thing you need is a mattress that worsens your discomfort. Luckily, the Nolah is an all-foam mattress with a mix of comfort and support; this is ideal for sleepers with back pain. Its high-density foam base layer is durable and helps the spine stay in proper alignment. The Nolah’s signature AirFoam comfort layer is also more responsive than traditional memory foam. This can be great for back pain, since the AirFoam offers pressure relief and allows sleepers to sink comfortably into the mattress without getting stuck. While stomach sleeping is not the best for those with back pain, if you must sleep in this position, the Nolah will be too soft for you. Choose one of the firmer mattresses on this list, such as the Emma.

What the testers say: “When I tested the Nolah mattress, I immediately noticed its superior comfort and support. If you’re a back or side sleeper, the Nolah mattress will help you maintain the proper spinal alignment. However, while it is an all-foam mattress, it doesn’t have a memory foam feel. I personally like to slowly sink into may mattress, and I didn’t get this feeling with the Nolah.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah

  • The mattress is a good option for side sleepers. It is a soft mattress, and its AirFoam offers great pressure relief. When we tested the Nolah, we felt very little pressure on our shoulders and hips.
  • It offers soft pressure relief, but you shouldn’t feel stuck. The AirFoam found in the Nolah is a responsive alternative to memory foam. When our testers rested on the mattress, they didn’t have trouble moving around or changing positions.
  • If you’re living with pain issues, the Nolah could be a good match. It provides pressure relief for those of you with joint pain and enough support for those with back pain.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah

  • It is not firm enough for stomach sleeping. If you sleep in this position, you should opt for a firmer mattress, such as the Emma found further down this list.
  • The Nolah is not designed with larger people in mind. If you weigh over 230 lb, the Nolah will not be supportive enough for you. Take a look at the Titan Plus mentioned above.

Other User Reviews

On the Nolah website, customers were generally pleased with the Nolah Original mattress. Like with the Titan Plus, they scored it a 4.7/5. Like us, they liked its balance of comfort and support. While it is a soft mattress, some customers said it was just too soft and others had trouble sitting near the edge without falling off.

Read our full Nolah mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Nolah mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Back Pain for more great options.

Emma – Best Firm Mattress for the Money

Best Firm Mattress for the Money

Emma Mattress

Product Image

The Emma is a very popular mattress that offers fantastic pressure relief.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type kids
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Mattress for the Money

Emma Mattress

Product Image

The Emma is a very popular mattress that offers fantastic pressure relief.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type kids
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Product Image
Best Firm Mattress for the Money

Emma Mattress

The Emma is a very popular mattress that offers fantastic pressure relief.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type kids
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros of the Emma Original Mattress

checkThe Emma Original mattress offers good lumbar support for back sleepers, thanks to this mattress being a bit firmer than average.
checkIt utilizes ventilated foam and a breathable cover to help hot sleepers stay cool while they sleep.
checkThe Emma Original mattress is a great choice for budget minded shoppers. It can be discounted up to 50% during seasonal discounts.

Cons of the Emma Original Mattress

dashThis mattress is too firm for side sleepers. It doesn’t have much body contouring, so it won’t provide enough pressure relief, so check out our list of the best mattresses for side sleepers.
dashBecause this is an all foam bed, it won’t have a bouncy and responsive feel, which some may want in their mattress. Be sure to look at our list of the best hybrid mattresses if you want something with coils.

The Emma Mattress is a good, affordable pick for fans of firm memory foam mattresses. Because this mattress is so firm, it works really well for back sleepers who want lumbar support, and stomach sleepers. The breathable materials and responsive feel to this mattress means it won’t trap a lot of heat, making it ideal for hot sleepers, too. Learn more in our video review.

Our Expert’s Take

Emma is another producer of good value mattresses, and one of our favorites is the firm Emma Original. The Emma Original scored 7/10 on our firmness scale, with a 6.5/10 being the standard for medium-firm. When we were testing the Emma, it felt especially comfortable for back sleeping, as it offered a balance of comfort and support. Our lightweight testers also got enough support for stomach sleeping on this firmer mattress. And, the Emma feels responsive, and though it’s all-foam, you shouldn’t get the feeling that you’re sinking really far into it. Keep in mind that this firmer mattress will be too firm for most side sleepers. Side sleepers will need something on the softer end to relieve the pressure on their shoulders and hips. We recommend the Nolah Original listed above.

What the testers say: “As a back sleeper, I felt really great support from the Emma. My spine stayed properly aligned throughout the whole night, and the aerated foam layers were great to help keep cool.” —  Elisa, Editor 

What We Love About the Emma

  • It has a balance of comfort and support for back sleeping. You’ll feel your hips sink in the right amount while the mattress gives you the support where you need it.
  • Average-weight stomach sleepers will get enough support on the Emma mattress. It is firmer than average and will keep your hips elevated in this position.
  • It is an all-foam mattress, but you shouldn’t sleep hot. It contains proprietary cooling foams such as Cloud Comfort foam and ParticleCool Premium foam. We slept coolly on the Emma and did not wake up hot and sweaty.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma

  • It is too firm for most side sleepers. Side sleepers require softer mattresses to relieve pressure on their shoulders and hips. The Nolah is a softer mattress and will be a better match for side sleepers.
  • If you like a bouncy, innerspring mattress, you’re not going to like the all-foam Emma mattress. It has more of a balanced foam feel and, while responsive, it doesn’t equal the bounce you’ll get with a mattress like the WinkBed.

Other User Reviews

That 4.7 score is back again. On the Emma website, users were pleased with the trial period, warranty and value. Still, some customers complained that the mattress looked “cheap” and others thought the delivery process could have been easier.

Read our full Emma mattress review for more information. If you aren’t interested in the Emma mattress, check out our list of the Best Firm Mattresses for more great options.

Cocoon Chill Hybrid – Best Cooling Mattress for the Money

Best Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

cocoon hybrid product lifestyle

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive hybrid mattress made specifically with hot sleepers in mind.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

cocoon hybrid product lifestyle

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive hybrid mattress made specifically with hot sleepers in mind.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
cocoon hybrid product lifestyle
Best Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive hybrid mattress made specifically with hot sleepers in mind.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros of the Cocoon Chill Mattress

check Even though it’s made with coils, the Cocoon Chill’s memory foam layers create a slow-moving and cushioning feel.
check Like its name suggests, this bed sleeps cool. Thanks to its cooling cover and breathable construction, sleepers shouldn’t have to worry about overheating.
check Back sleepers who weigh less than 300 lbs should feel cushioned and supported on this bed.

Cons of the Cocoon Chill Mattress

dashThis bed doesn’t offer the best edge support. Instead, check out our list of the best mattresses for couples.
dashStomach sleepers likely won’t get enough support to maintain proper spinal alignment on the Cocoon Chill. For this group, we recommend checking out our list of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers.

The Cocoon Chill by Sealy is a great option for most back and side sleepers looking for a cool night’s sleep. Thanks to its breathable construction, slow-moving memory foam, and good motion isolation, this is a comfortable bed with pretty broad appeal. It probably isn’t your best bet when it comes to responsiveness, though. If you’re looking for a bouncier bed that still sleeps cool, check out the Emma Hybrid Comfort. Learn more in our video review.

Our Expert’s Take

When a company puts “Chill” in the name of one of their mattresses they’re setting expectations pretty high for the temperature regulating abilities of the product. Thankfully, through our tests, we did find the Cocoon Chill to be pretty darn good at staying cool. The Hybrid construction helped keep our body heat from being trapped inside the comfort layers, and the cover is made with phase change material, which is legitimately cool to the touch.

What the testers say: This mattress is designed with cooling in mind. It shouldn’t trap heat thanks to its cooling cover and coils, which allow for plenty of airflow through the mattress. It should be one of the best cooling mattresses out there.” — Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Cocoon Chill Hybrid

  • Despite the hybrid construction, the Cocoon Chill Hybrid has a slow-moving feel that will appeal to memory-foam lovers. You’ll receive a good amount of pressure relief and contouring from the top comfort layers, and may almost feel as though you’re being “hugged” by the mattress. 
  • The Cocoon Chill Hybrid has a medium-firm feel that works great for back sleepers. While our testers assumed the back-sleeping position they felt that their hips were supported, but still sunk into the mattress enough to feel cushioned.

What to Keep in Mind About the Cocoon Chill Hybrid

  • While the memory-foam feel of the mattress will appeal to many, it does result in a lack of responsiveness. Poor responsiveness means the mattress is somewhat hard to move around on, which can be a problem for those who like to switch sleeping positions often throughout the night.

Other User Reviews

The Cocoon Chill has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 8,448 customer reviews on the company website. Happy shoppers praise the cooling comfort of the Cocoon Chill Hybrid, though some found it too soft.

Read our full Cocoon Chill Hybrid mattress review. Or you can see our roundup of the Best Cooling Mattresses for other choices.

Getting the Most for Your Money – Watch Out for Deals and Sales

Mattress retailers are known for having sales at fairly predictable times of the year. A good portion of the sales also fall around holiday times such as Presidents’ Day, the Fourth of July, and Black Friday. If someone is looking to purchase a mattress in a store or online, they should take a look at when the standard mattress sales are happening and consider purchasing then.

Keep an eye out for bundles because many retailers offer pillows, sheet sets, and even foundations with the purchase of your mattress. If you’re in need of a full bedroom set, then factor this kind of deal into your decision-making process.

What Type of Mattress Is the Best Value?

If you’re trying to decide which type of mattress is the best value, consider how much it costs and how long it will last. Here’s a breakdown of a few different types of beds and how they might meet this criteria.

Innerspring

Innerspring mattresses are known for offering great support and bounce. The average innerspring mattress costs approximately $1,000. This can vary greatly depending on the company and the materials they use, but $1,000 is a realistic median price. A decent innerspring mattress featuring coils should last for an average duration of eight years. This changes based on the quality and durability of the coils used. A poor innerspring mattress’ coils may sag after a few years, which can cause discomfort for sleepers.

A cut out innerspring mattress showing its inner layers

Memory Foam

These types of mattresses are all about offering soft comfort and pressure relief. The average memory foam mattress costs around $1,000, but shoppers can find some online mattresses for under $500. These lower-priced beds often sag quickly, and sleepers can notice body indentations. Regardless of cost, a quality memory foam mattress should last for around 10 years before it needs to be replaced.

Memory Foam Mattress Construction

Latex

Latex is known for its durability and eco-friendliness. While latex mattresses do cost more (around $2,000 on average), they shouldn’t sag too quickly and should last for between 12 and 15 years. These are some of the most long-lasting options out there.

Latex Mattress Construction And Layers

Hybrid

A hybrid mattress is a mix of the mattresses mentioned above. It features coils in the support layer and then memory foam, latex, or some other type of foam in the comfort layer. The average price for a hybrid is around $2,000, but shoppers can find a decent hybrid for around $1,500. The SweetNight mattress is one example of a more affordable option. A well-built hybrid should last for around 10 years.

A side shot of the Leesa Original Hybrid with the cover pulled back

Increasing Value – Consider Mattress Durability

The phrase “people get what they pay for” is especially true when it comes to mattresses. The range in durability from bed to bed can be substantial depending on the materials used in the construction. If someone saves $300 on a mattress, but it wears out in five years, are they really getting a good value?

Compare that to a mattress costing $300 more but wearing out after 10 to 12 years. Most would argue the second bed is the better long-term deal. Before purchasing, you consider how long you want the mattress and then read reviews to make sure you know how long it lasts.

Different materials affect the life of your mattress. For example, some types of foam sag over time, while others are more responsive. Latex mattresses, while more expensive, will last longer than most memory foam mattresses. Some beds incorporate “sag-proof” foam to fight the long-term aging of a mattress. You may be paying more for certain materials up front, but the mattress will pay for itself in its extra years of use.

How to Make a Mattress Last – Further Tips

Once someone has purchased a mattress, there are several steps people can take to ensure they get to use it for a long time. Keep reading to learn how to make your mattress last longer.

Buy a Mattress Protector

It may seem like more money, but a mattress protector could add years to a mattress because it protects against stains and messes. Many warranties require people to use one.

A close shot of a hand pulling the end of a white mattress protector

Ensure the Mattress is Supported

The majority of mattresses require a box spring, foundation, or bed to ensure your mattress wears evenly. Some warranties may be voided if people don’t use the correct foundation, so there are multiple reasons why people should strongly consider their foundation.

Don’t Bounce on the Bed

If you have kids, they may enjoy jumping on the bed. This can damage the mattress, especially if it has coils.

Keep Food out of the Bed

It may be nice to eat a few cookies in bed, but those crumbs could attract bugs. If someone is going to eat on their mattress, they should change their sheets at least once a week.

Flip Your Mattress Regularly

While many online mattresses aren’t flippable, there are still some mattresses that benefit from regular flipping. This cuts down on the wear and body indentation that can affect sleeping surfaces.

Flipping The Layla Mattress

Spot-Clean Messes Immediately

Accidents do happen, and if someone does make a mess, they should carefully clean it at once. Take a look at your mattress’s materials and use gentle or mild cleaners. Learn more about cleaning your mattress in this in-depth article.

Where to Purchase Your Mattress

sale tag; discount tag

Many people now buy their mattresses online rather than going to a brick and-mortar physical location. That’s because online shopping offers greater convenience, and many brick-and-mortar mattress stores can be confusing when it comes to models, pricing, and firmness scales.

While people can’t try out an online mattress the way they can in a mattress store, brands often include generous sleep trials. These allow people to try out the mattress for a few months (100 days is a common trial length) and return it if they’re unhappy.

Many online mattresses are more affordable than their in-store counterparts. This is because they have less overhead and cut out the middlemen, passing savings directly to the consumer. Some companies own their own factories, allowing them to keep prices even lower. There are even a few hidden-gem companies out there that spend very little on marketing. They pass on the savings to the customer in the form of a lower price.

Some companies make their mattresses overseas, which allows them to cut down on costs and pass the savings directly on to the consumer.

Trial Periods and Warranties

Most mattress companies (both online and brick-and-mortar) offer warranties, and most online mattresses come with a sleep trial. While these can be helpful and save money, make sure to have a firm understanding of the fine print. Some warranties are voided without the proper foundation or care and some trial periods don’t include free shipping. If people don’t enjoy the product, they may have to pay to return it.

Shipping and Taxes

If consumers purchase online, they should see if they need to pay extra for shipping or not. A lot of new companies offer free shipping, but not all. While people may think they’re getting a great deal, it never feels good to get hit with unexpected shipping costs during the checkout process. Depending on where people live, they may have to pay additional sales taxes.

People should keep a lookout for companies offering “White Glove Delivery.” With this option, movers will bring the mattress to a person’s door, set it up, and take away the trash. This is a convenient option, especially if you’re dealing with a heavy mattress or if your bedroom isn’t on the first floor.

These extra costs shouldn’t make or break someone’s decision, but it’s an added bonus if you don’t have to pay them.

Summary

Here’s an overview of our top picks for the best mattresses for the money:

MattressBest For
NectarBest Value Mattress for Couples
DreamCloudBest Hybrid Mattress for the Money
Bear OriginalBest King-Size Mattress for the Money
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Mattress for Back Sleepers
Titan PlusBest Mattress for Heavy People
NolahBest Mattress for Back Pain
EmmaBest Firm Mattress for the Money
Cocoon Chill HybridBest Cooling Mattress for the Money

Best Mattress for the Money FAQs

Which is the best value mattress for heavyweight sleepers?

If you’re a heavier person over 230 lb, you want to make sure you get a mattress that can handle your weight. Out of this list, the Titan Plus stands above the rest. Because it was made specifically for heavy people, this bed feels super supportive. If you prefer something on the softer side, take a look at the Titan Plus Luxe.

Can you sleep on a mattress right out of the box?

The surface of a new bed-in-a-box mattress may not be suitable for sleeping on right away. It often takes about 48 hours for the bed to fully off-gas and expand. We also recommend keeping the mattress in a well-ventilated room. This will help clear away that chemical smell more quickly.

How much should a value mattress cost?

That all depends on how you define value. If you’re just looking at price, an inexpensive mattress is usually any bed that’s $1,500 or less. You can even go lower than $500, but keep in mind that cheap mattresses may not last as long.

Who makes the best affordable mattress?

While we love all of the featured mattresses on this list, we have to shout out Brooklyn Bedding. This brand owns its own factory and offers many mattresses that cost less than the competition. Brooklyn Bedding has something for many types of sleepers as well, including larger people.

What is the best king-size mattress for the money?

The Bear Original is the best king-size mattress on the market. It is sold for a value price, and it offers great features for couples. It will cut down on motion transfer, and its cooling materials will keep sleeping partners from overheating at night. For more selections, check out our roundup of the best king-size mattresses.

What is the best mattress topper for the money?

The Helix Plush is one of our favorite cheap mattress toppers. It has a soft and luxurious pillow-top that adjusts the feel of a mattress. Also, its bamboo cover cools hot sleepers. For more mattress toppers, see our roundup of the best mattress toppers.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.