The Best Twin XL Mattresses – Which One Is The Best For You?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Twin XL mattresses aren’t just for kids’ rooms and college dorms. They work well with adjustable bases, look great in tight spaces, and when you place two of them together, they create a king size bed!

If you need help finding the best twin XL mattress, we’ve got you covered. We’ve tested over 600 mattresses in order to come up with this list, and we’ll go over our top 10 picks and tell you all of the important things you’ll need to consider when purchasing a twin XL mattress.

Our Verdict: What’s The Best Twin XL Mattress?

After testing hundreds of mattresses, we named the Emma the best Twin XL mattress. This bed offers a great balance of comfort and support, so it works for a wide variety of people. And thanks to its high-quality construction, it should last upwards of 10 years.

Best Twin XL Mattresses

Compare the Best Twin XL Mattresses

Emma Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nolah Nurture Mattress Bear Mattress Nectar Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Saatva Mattress Titan Plus Birch Mattress
Emma Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress WinkBed Mattress Nolah Nurture Mattress Bear Mattress Nectar Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Saatva Mattress Titan Plus Birch Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 9/10 Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Foam Foam Hybrid Innerspring Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back Back & Side Combination Combination Back & Side Back & Side Back Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach

How We Chose Our Top Picks

Using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing, the Mattress Clarity team has reviewed over 600 mattresses. In addition to an overall score, mattress reviewers detail important elements such as firmness, feel, edge support, motion transfer, and cooling.

Mattress testing photos from the studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

When it comes to twin XL mattresses, individual preferences range significantly. That’s why we included options for all types of people, including hot sleepers, stomach sleepers, and memory foam fans.

Editor’s Pick – Emma Mattress

Editor's Pick

Emma Mattress

Product Image

The Emma is a very popular mattress that offers fantastic pressure relief.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Editor's Pick

Emma Mattress

Product Image

The Emma is a very popular mattress that offers fantastic pressure relief.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Product Image
Editor's Pick

Emma Mattress

The Emma is a very popular mattress that offers fantastic pressure relief.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros of the Emma Mattress
Likely ideal for back and stomach sleepers
Sold at a value price
Doesn’t sleep hot
Cons of the Emma Mattress
May be too firm for most side sleepers
Lacks a responsive feel

Our Expert’s Take

With the Emma Original mattress series, you have options. This model of the mattress offers buyers the all-foam Emma Original or the Emma Original Hybrid, so you’ll have plenty of choice with this brand (we’ll focus on the all-foam mattress here though!). 

All-foam mattresses tend to trap heat, but the Emma mattress is built with proprietary materials to help keep sleepers cool at night. The foam is ventilated so that it helps promote airflow, and the foam is also infused with graphite to help dissipate heat within the body. The Emma comes in at a 7/10 on the firmness scale, which makes it slightly firmer than average.

What the testers say: “As a back sleeper, I really liked the Emma mattress’s firm support. This mattress helped me keep my back in proper alignment throughout the night. And because it has aerated foam layers, it didn’t make me feel hot!” — Elisa Regulski, Editor and Certified Sleep Science Coach

What We Love About the Emma

  • It’s comfortable and supportive for back sleepers. The Emma offers a balanced foam feel that supports back sleepers’ hips and keeps the spine aligned.
  • It’s also a potentially great fit for average-weight stomach sleepers. It’s a firmer mattress, so stomach sleepers should be able to keep their hips elevated and supported.
  • This bed features cooling features like a breathable cover and ventilated foam. This likely makes it a good fit for hot sleepers.
  • For those who are shopping with a budget in mind, the Emma mattress is sold at a great value and is cheaper than some of its competitors.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma

  • Because this is a firmer-than-average mattress, it might not be a great fit for side sleepers who want to avoid feeling pressure in their shoulders and hips.
  • The Emma mattress is an all-foam mattress, so it won’t have that bouncy innerspring feel to it, which may not be ideal for some.

Other user reviews

The Emma mattress was rated 4.7 out of 5 stars on the Emma website. Not only did folks find the mattress comfortable, but they also loved the trial period and warranty that the company offers. On the other hand, though, some customers had issues with the shipping and delivery of their mattresses, which is where some of the negative reviews come from.

Read our full Emma mattress review for more information. Or, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for more options.

Best Cooling Twin XL Mattress – Helix Midnight

Best Cooling Twin XL Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Twin XL Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Twin XL Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Helix Midnight
Made with long-lasting materials
Great for combination sleepers
Offers both comfort and support
Cons of the Helix Midnight
Lacks a slow-moving feel
Not great for heavier people
Not great for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Helix is all about making the mattress buying experience painless and easy. They sell over fifteen different kinds of mattresses, and they even have a simple mattress quiz that matches sleepers to their ideal bed. Here at Mattress Clarity, we love the Helix Midnight. This hybrid mattress has a medium-firm feel, making it a great choice for back and side sleepers. It doesn’t trap body heat, and it’s made out of durable materials.

Helix can also be a great choice for couples with different mattress preferences. Simply take the quiz and order the twin XL mattress that works for each person. That way, both people get the comfort and support they need.

What the testers say: “The Helix Midnight is the brand’s most popular mattress and is right in the middle in terms of its firmness and feel. This makes it a good middle-of-the-road match for many different types of sleepers. I felt great whenever I rested on my back and side!” — Marten, Lead Mattress and Sleep Product Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • The Helix Midnight has a breathable cover and a layer of coils that offer some cooling benefits for hot sleepers.
  • The Helix Midnight is made with Memory Plus Foam. This contouring material provides a comfortable bounce and with the addition of the supportive coils.
  • The Memory Plus foam minimizes motion transfer, so if you sleep with a partner who moves around at night, you’ve got a better shot at undisturbed sleep.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • Since the Midnight is a hybrid mattress, the coils may lead to some creaking and squeaking when you move around on it. This is something to keep in mind if you sleep lightly.
  • While the Midnight does rank at 7/10 on our firmness scale, it might not fully meet the support needs of most stomach sleepers.

Other user reviews

The Helix Midnight mattress was rated 4.5 out of 5 stars on the Helix website. Reviewers praised how comfortable they felt on the mattress, and what’s more, some reviewers even claimed that sleeping on the mattress helped alleviate some chronic pain they had been living with.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review for more information. Or, check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

Best Hybrid Twin XL Mattress – WinkBeds

Best Hybrid Twin XL Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Twin XL Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Twin XL Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the WinkBed
Feels supportive and works well for heavier people
Has a luxurious design
Has many cooling features
Cons of the WinkBed
Doesn’t isolate motion well
Lacks a slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re looking for a luxury hybrid mattress, the WinkBed might be the way to go. Standing at 14” tall, this bed has several impressive features. The Tencel cover helps keep the mattress cool to the touch, and the gel-infused foam helps pull heat away from the body. This bed has a responsive feel, and it’s one of the best pillow-top mattresses on the market.

We particularly love the Luxury Firm model. It’s more supportive than most beds, so it’s a great choice for heavier back and side sleepers. Lightweight stomach sleepers should also feel supported on this mattress.

What the testers say: “Hybrid beds are great because they last a long time and promote airflow. When I tested the WinkBed, I was impressed by its overall support. I felt great whenever I rested on my back and side!” — Marten, Lead Mattress and Sleep Product Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • You can easily switch positions on the WinkBed due to the mattress’s responsiveness, making it suitable for combination sleepers.
  • A breathable Tencel cover and individually wrapped coils promote airflow, making it a great option for hot sleepers.
  • The responsive and bouncy design of the WinkBed makes it an excellent choice for couples looking for one of the best mattresses for sex.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • WinkBed’s responsive nature comes at the cost of motion isolation, potentially affecting light sleepers who are easily woken up by their partner’s movement at night.
  • Edge support isn’t the best on the WinkBed, so if you sleep near the edge of your bed, you may feel like you’re going to roll off.

Other user reviews

The WinkBed mattress received a 4.5 out of 5 star rating from users on the WinkBeds website. Customers loved how comfortable and supported they felt on the mattress, though it is important to note that some reviewers found the mattress to be too firm.

Read our full Winkbed mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options.

Best Twin XL Mattress for Kids – Nolah Nurture

Best Twin XL Mattress For Kids

Nolah Nurture Mattress

Nolah Nurture - Featured

The Nolah Nurture mattress is specifically designed with growing children in mind. This two-sided hybrid mattress has two firmness levels, and it's made from durable materials.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 Nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Twin XL Mattress For Kids

Nolah Nurture Mattress

Nolah Nurture - Featured

The Nolah Nurture mattress is specifically designed with growing children in mind. This two-sided hybrid mattress has two firmness levels, and it's made from durable materials.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 Nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Nolah Nurture - Featured
Best Twin XL Mattress For Kids

Nolah Nurture Mattress

The Nolah Nurture mattress is specifically designed with growing children in mind. This two-sided hybrid mattress has two firmness levels, and it's made from durable materials.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 Nights

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros of the Nolah Nurture
Provides good support
Has responsive feel
Has a flippable design
Cons of the Nolah Nurture
Costs more than other mattresses
Likely won’t work for kids over the age of 14

Our Expert’s Take

Twin XL mattresses work well in kids’ rooms because they don’t take up much space and can still give the child some extra room as they grow. The Nolah Nurture mattress was designed with growing children in mind. This bed has a flippable design. The soft side works well for kids under the age of 10, and the firm side works well for older children.

This mattress has a high-quality hybrid construction, so it should last at least 10 years. Parents will definitely get their money’s worth with the Nolah Nurture.

What the testers say: “The Nolah Nurture was designed to adapt with your child as they grow. I was impressed by the mattress’ high-quality construction. I could tell that this mattress is built to last.” — Elisa Regulski, Editor and Certified Sleep Science Coach

What We Love About the Nolah Nurture

  • The Nolah Nurture features eco-friendly and organic materials, making it an environmentally conscious choice.
  • The Nolah Nurture provides excellent support and should stay supportive throughout the years as your child grows.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Nurture

  • The Nolah Nurture’s edge support isn’t the best, so if you sleep near the bed’s perimeter you might feel it collapsing.

Other user reviews

Parents left rave reviews about the Nolah Nurture and even gave it a 4.9 out of 5 star ranking on the Nolah website. They loved that the mattress was eco-friendly and safe for their kids, and said that the mattress was extremely soft and comfortable.

Read our full Nolah Nurture mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Kids for more great options.

Best Twin XL Mattress for Adjustable Bed – Bear

Best Twin XL Mattress for Adjustable Bed

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Twin XL Mattress for Adjustable Bed

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Twin XL Mattress for Adjustable Bed

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Bear
Offers great pressure relief
Has a classic medium-firm feel
Contains high-quality materials
Cons of the Bear
Not great for stomach sleepers
Lacks a responsive feel

Our Expert’s Take

If you place two twin XL mattresses together, you’ll get a king-size bed! But if you want to kick up the luxury up a notch, pair your twin XL mattresses with two adjustable bases. This allows couples to completely customize their sleeping experience.

If this sounds like a great option for you, opt for a Bear mattress. Not only does the all-foam construction of this mattress help with back pain — but it also pairs well with the Bear adjustable base. This unique product allows sleepers to adjust the height of the head and foot of the bed, which works well for folks with acid reflux and obstructive sleep apnea.

What the testers say: “When I tested the Bear mattress, I was impressed by its overall support. The strong base layer helped keep my spine in a neutral alignment, and the comfort layers cushioned my pressure points. Plus — the cover really is cool-to-the-touch!” — Marten, Lead Mattress and Sleep Product Reviewer.

What We Love About the Bear Original

  • The Bear is a medium-firm mattress, which means that it should offer a balance of comfort and support for back sleepers.
  • The Bear has a thick comfort layer that cushions the joints and offers pressure relief, which can make it a great fit for side sleepers.
  • The Bear is made with gel-infused memory foam that helps with cooling, which should help keep hot sleepers from overheating while they sleep.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Original

  • The Bear is likely too soft for stomach sleepers. The hips and spine might not get the proper support and instead sink too deeply into this mattress.
  • Since the Bear comes in at a 6.5/10 on our firmness scale, it’s a perfectly medium firm mattress. This is something to keep in mind if you prefer a firmer feel.
  • As an all-foam mattress, the Bear Original lacks the responsiveness of hybrid mattresses.

Other user reviews

Users rated the Bear mattress 4.5 out of 5 stars on the company website. People who slept on their backs and sides tended to find the mattress very comfortable, while stomach sleepers thought the opposite, and didn’t find the mattress firm or supportive enough.

Read our full Bear mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Adjustable Bases for more great adjustable products.

Best Memory Foam Twin XL Mattress – Nectar

Best Memory Foam Twin XL Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Twin XL Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Twin XL Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Nectar Mattress
Great for side sleepers
Helps dissipate body heat
Has a slow-moving feel
Cons of the Nectar Mattress
Not great for stomach sleepers
Lacks a bouncy, responsive feel

Our Expert’s Take

Nectar has a lovely, slow-moving feel that you can really sink into. This makes it a great choice for side sleepers because the soft foam can offer plenty of pressure relief for shoulders and hips.

Even though it’s made entirely out of foam, this bed doesn’t trap a lot of body heat. That’s because it contains gel, a material known for helping sleepers stay cool at night. It has a classic medium-firm feel, so it works for lightweight and average-weight combination sleepers.

What the testers say: “If you love to sink into your mattress, the Nectar is a great choice. The slow-moving foam cushions joints and alleviates pressure. I felt great when I rested on my side because the comfort layers padded my shoulder and hip.” — Marten, Lead Mattress and Sleep Product Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar

  • The Nectar is a foam mattress, and memory foam layers offer pressure relief, which can be a huge benefit for side sleepers.
  • The Nectar offers some really solid edge support, preventing sagging towards the mattress’s perimeter.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar

  • Softer mattresses might not offer enough support for heavier people, so heavy sleepers might want something firmer.
  • Stomach sleepers also might want something firmer. Since the Nectar is on the softer side, it may not support the hips and spine of most stomach sleepers.

Other user reviews

The Nectar is rated 4.7 out of 5 stars on the company website. Reviewers claim that the mattress cradles their body, and offers some relief to chronic pain. Others felt like the mattress was too soft though, making it feel unsupportive.

Read our full Nectar mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Memory Foam Mattresses for more great options.

Best Value Twin XL Mattress – Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

Best Value Twin XL Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Value Twin XL Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Value Twin XL Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid
Has a supportive hybrid feel with a plush pillow-top
It’s sold at a cheaper price
Available in three firmness levels
Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid
Doesn’t isolate motion well
Lacks a slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress is a classic. With a tufted pillow-top and sturdy set of coils, this bed is great for folks who want to feel comfy and supported. This mattress is available in soft, medium, and firm, so it suits a variety of preferences.

Best of all, the Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress is sold at a great price. Brooklyn Bedding owns their own factory, so they can cut out the middleman and pass the savings on to you.

What the testers say: “The Brooklyn Bedding Signature is a no-frills mattress that gives you everything you need. I felt great while back and side sleeping, and I didn’t overheat. The best thing about this mattress, though, is its price.” — Marten, Lead Mattress and Sleep Product Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid comes in three firmness options: Soft, Medium, and Firm, so this mattress should suit most sleepers, regardless of their size and sleeping position.
  • The Signature Hybrid has some great cooling features like gel-infused foam and coil layers to promote airflow, which is great news for hot sleepers.
  • The Signature Hybrid’s bounce and responsiveness is a great option for couples looking for a mattress that’s easy to move around and change positions on.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • Since the mattress is responsive and bouncy, that might affect motion isolation, so if you sleep with a partner, you may feel them moving around at night.
  • Edge support might not be the best, so keep that in mind if you tend to sleep near the mattress’s edge.

Other user reviews

On the Brooklyn Bedding site, the Signature Hybrid mattress is rated at 4.7 out of 5 stars by real customers. Many reviewers loved how soft and supportive the mattress felt, while some others thought the mattress was too soft for their liking. 

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for the Money for more great options.

Best Twin XL Mattress for Adults – Saatva

Best Mattress for Adults

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Adults

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Mattress for Adults

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of Saatva
Doesn’t trap body heat
Available in three different firmness levels
Has a responsive innerspring feel
Cons of Saatva
Costs more than other hybrid mattresses
Lacks a slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

The Saatva Classic mattress has a traditional innerspring feel with a plush pillow-top. You’ll feel cushy comfort from the top layer and get ample lumbar support from the springy coils. Because the innersprings create room for airflow, this mattress doesn’t trap body heat! Saatva also has some of the best customer service terms in the industry. These beds are never compressed into cardboard boxes, and you can even get them delivered straight to your bedroom.

This mattress is available in three different firmness levels: Plush Soft, Luxury Firm, and Firm. No matter your sleeping position or body type, you should be able to find a bed that works for you.

What the testers say: “The Saatva mattress is great for a variety of people, and it’s made with high-quality materials. When I tested this mattress, I could tell that it will last at least a decade. This bed also has great edge support!” — Marten, Lead Mattress and Sleep Product Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva

  • The zoned construction in the Saatva provides different firmness levels based on sleeping position, which can work out perfectly for combination sleepers who shift through the night.
  • The Saatva offers multiple firmness options: Plush Soft, Luxury Firm, and Firm, and the Luxury Firm specifically offers great support for back sleepers.
  • The soft foams and supportive coils can help with spinal alignment and alleviate pressure points in the joints for side sleepers.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • The Plush Soft option might still be a bit too firm for people who prefer very soft mattresses.
  • Limited Support for Lighter Side Sleepers: Some lightweight side sleepers might feel pressure on hips and shoulders.

Other user reviews

Customers on the Saatva site tended to leave generally positive reviews about the mattress, giving it an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 stars. Reviewers loved the high-quality materials, and some users said that the mattress helped improve their sleep. Most negative reviews came from issues with shipping and delivery.

Read our full Saatva mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses 2024 for more great options.

Best Twin XL Mattress for Heavy People – Titan Plus

Best Twin XL Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Twin XL Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Twin XL Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros of the Titan Plus Mattress
Great for stomach sleepers
Provides plenty of support
Affordable
Cons of the Titan Plus Mattress
Bad for couples
Too firm for lightweight sleepers
Bad for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

It’s important for heavyweight sleepers (over 230 lb) to seek out a mattress that provides plenty of support. The Titan Plus excels here, which is no surprise, as it was designed specifically for heavyweight sleepers. The mattress scored a 4.5 out of 5 on our support test, and we rated it a 9 out of 10 on our firmness scale. Both factors contribute to the compatibility of the Titan Plus with heavyweight people.

In addition to being a great option for people with larger body types, the Titan Plus also excels for stomach sleepers. Because it is so firm, this mattress can help keep stomach sleepers’ hips propped up, thereby keeping their spines aligned. Also, the Titan Plus is quite affordable, coming in at just $799 for a twin XL before sales. 

What the testers say: “The Titan Plus mattress is a firm bed that works well for heavyweight back and stomach sleepers. It could cause joint pain for heavyweight side sleepers, so if you fall in this category, you may want to get the softer Titan Plus Luxe instead.” — Marten, Lead Mattress and Sleep Product Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus

  • The Titan Plus has a hybrid construction, meaning it utilizes both memory foam and industrial coils in its build. This blend of materials provides the level of support that heavyweight sleepers need to get a good night’s sleep.
  • In addition to providing support, the hybrid construction also helps with temperature regulation. We gave the Titan Plus a 4.5 out of 5 on our cooling test, largely because the coil layer allows warm air to pass through the mattress rather than trapping it inside. 
  • The Titan Plus is budget friendly, especially when compared to other hybrid mattresses designed to suit heavyweight people. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • We gave the Titan Plus a 3 out of 5 on our motion isolation test. This means when we rested on the mattress, we were disturbed by movements of the other mattress testers on the opposite side of the bed. This is bad news for couples, especially if one or both members of the couple are restless sleepers. 
  • The Titan Plus is far too firm for side sleepers. Instead consider a mattress that may do a better job of relieving pressure around your shoulders and hips. The Nectar is a good choice. 

Other user reviews

Based on 2,554 customer reviews from the Titan website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5. Unsurprisingly, many of the positive reviews revolve around the support that the Titan Plus provides heavyweight sleepers. Only five of the reviews rated the mattress 1 out of 5 stars; the two most notable of which state that the mattress is too soft, despite the company’s claims.

Read our full Titan Plus mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options.

Best Twin XL Mattress for Back Sleepers – Birch Natural

Best For Back Sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best For Back Sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best For Back Sleepers

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Birch Mattress
Constructed with eco-friendly materials
Good for combo sleepers
Fantastic temperature regulation
Cons of the Birch Mattress
Bad for couples
Too firm for most side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

When grading the compatibility of a mattress with each sleeping position, we make sure to test it using a wide range of body types. For example, a mattress might work well for a lightweight back sleeper but perform worse for average- and heavyweight back sleepers. In the case of the Birch Natural, back sleepers of all shapes and sizes should receive exceptional support and comfort. 

We’re highlighting the Birch Natural as a wonderful choice for back sleepers, but it also stands out for being an eco-friendly mattress. It’s constructed without the use of harmful chemicals, and sustainable methods are utilized in the manufacturing process. All of this makes it a great option for environmentally conscious shoppers.

What the testers say: “The Birch mattress is one of the best organic mattresses I’ve ever reviewed. Most back sleepers and average weight stomach sleepers will find a balance of comfort of support on its responsive latex comfort layer. Its hybrid construction and pocketed coils give it a bouncy feel, which may not work for couples, or fans of a slow-moving memory foam feel.” — Marten, Lead Mattress and Sleep Product Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch Natural

  • The Birch Natural is very durable, thanks to its high-quality materials and expert construction. You should find that the mattress will last you for 8 to 10 years if properly cared for, which means it’s a great investment. 
  • If you sleep hot at night, you’ll likely be happy to know that this mattress sleeps very cool at night. The comfort layers of the Birch feature acerated latex and wool, both of which are very breathable. Plus, the support layer of coils helps keep warm air from becoming trapped in the mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch Natural

  • As is the case with most mattresses that utilize latex, the Birch Natural is on the expensive side. A queen will cost you over $2,000 before sales.
  • Most side sleepers will find that the Birch Natural is too firm to provide needed pressure relief. Something closer to the soft end of the firmness scale will be more appropriate. Consider the Nectar mattress if you’re a dedicated side sleeper.

Other user reviews

The Birch Natural has an average rating of 4.6 out of 5 based on 4,307 reviews from the company website. 3,093 of the reviews rated the Birch 5 out of 5. These happy customers appreciate the organic nature of the mattress, as well as how comfortable it is. Some of the negative reviews revolve around bad experiences with customer service. 

Read our full Birch mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers for more great options.

Twin XL Mattress Dimensions

Twin XL mattresses typically measure 38” x 80,” though they’re occasionally 39” long. No matter the exact dimensions, twin XL mattresses are about 5” longer than traditional twin beds. Thanks to the extra length, twin XLs work well for single people who are over 6 ft tall.

Twin XL vs Twin

Often referred to as a single bed, twin mattresses are 38”–39” wide and 74”–75” long. They’re typically used by children or adults living in small spaces.

Twin XL mattresses, often called extended twins or extra-long twins, are about 5” longer than average twin beds. College students often sleep on twin XLs because they offer more resting space, but still fit in the confines of a dorm room.

RELATED: Twin vs. Twin XL Beds: What’s the Difference?

Twin XL vs Full

Full mattresses aren’t quite as long as twin XLs, but they are wider. Often called double beds, full mattresses usually measure 54” x 75.” Even though they’re technically large enough for two people, most couples prefer to rest on a queen- or king-size mattress. Full mattresses only give each person about 27” of space, and if the bed has poor edge support, couples may not be able to rest that close to the side of the mattress. Check out our list of the best full mattresses to find the best one for your sleep needs.

full vs twin xl mattress size comparison graphic

Twin XLs work well for adults who live in small spaces. The extra five inches of length provide plenty of room for tall people, but because the bed is still quite narrow, it won’t take up an entire bedroom.

RELATED: Full vs. Twin Beds: What’s the Difference?

Who Should Get a Twin XL Mattress?

These versatile beds work well for a variety of people. Let’s take a closer look at who might want to get a twin XL mattress.

  • Single Adults: Even folks taller than six feet should have plenty of room on an extended twin.
  • People Living In Small Spaces: Twin XLs provide plenty of length, but they are narrow enough to fit inside a small bedroom. If you don’t want your mattress to take up your entire space, this could be a good option.
  • Kids: Not only are they compact — twin XLs are much more affordable than fulls and queens.
  • Couples With Different Mattress Preferences: If you and your partner can’t agree on a mattress, you can purchase two twin XLs and place them together to create a king-size bed. Pair it with two adjustable bases, and you’ll be resting in the lap of luxury!
  • People With Tight Budgets: Even the most luxurious twin XLs don’t cost as much as a king or queen.
  • Those Looking For a Guest Room Mattress: Twin XL mattresses work well for guest rooms because they don’t take up the entire space. You can still use the spare room even when you don’t have company visiting!
  • College students living in dorms: Dorm rooms aren’t exactly spacious, but most college students would feel squished on a traditional twin bed. Twin XLs provide some much-needed length, without taking up the entire room. And if you really want to make your dorm bed comfy, check out our list of the best mattress toppers for college dorm beds.

Types of Twin XL Mattresses

With so many different types of mattresses, it can be difficult to determine which one is best for you. But not to worry! We’ll detail the differences between the most common types of mattresses.

Memory Foam

Memory foam mattresses usually have a slow-moving feel. When you press your hand into the top comfort layer, you’re likely to see the indentation last a few seconds. This is great for side sleepers, because memory foam helps absorb pain along pressure points. Hot sleepers, on the other hand, might find that memory foam mattresses trap body heat, causing them to sweat at night. If you love that quicksand sort of feeling but worry about overheating, look for a bed that’s infused with cooling gel, copper, or graphite.

A hand presses into memory foam
Testing a memory foam mattress in our sleep lab

Hybrid

Hybrid mattresses contain both memory foam and coils, giving them a balanced feel. These mattresses feel more responsive than all-foam beds, but they’re not quite as bouncy as traditional innerspring mattresses. Hybrid beds are great for hot sleepers because the coils create room for airflow. They also tend to last longer than memory foam mattresses, but some of them have a higher price tag.

A side shot of the Leesa Original Hybrid with the cover pulled back
Testing a hybrid mattress in our sleep lab

Innerspring

Innerspring mattresses are very similar to hybrids, but they don’t have as much cushioning on top. These beds usually have a tufted pillow-top above the coil support system, but not much else. For that reason, innerspring mattresses can work well for back and stomach sleepers. On innerspring beds, side sleepers might not get enough pressure relief and may benefit from a mattress topper.

A cut out innerspring mattress showing its inner layers
Testing an innerspring mattress in our sleep lab

Latex

If you’re looking for something cooling, responsive, and eco-friendly, consider getting a latex mattress. When you apply pressure to latex foam, you’ll see the material quickly bounce back into place. Plus, latex is naturally breathable, so you don’t have to worry about sleeping hot at night. Latex mattresses tend to last longer than traditional hybrids, so they’re a great investment. Check out our list of the best latex mattresses for some ideas.

Latex Mattress Construction And Layers
Testing a latex mattress in our sleep lab

How Much Does a Twin XL Mattress Cost?

Twin XL mattresses cost much less than their full and queen-size counterparts, but the exact pricing varies from brand to brand. If you’re looking for an especially affordable option, consider Brooklyn Bedding. Their signature mattress only costs $799.00 for a Twin XL. If you want something more luxurious, opt for Saatva’s Twin XL mattress for $1395.00.

Summary

Need a refresher? Here’s a recap of the best Twin XL mattresses.

MattressSuperlative
Emma Mattress Editor’s Pick
Helix MidnightBest Cooling Twin XL Mattress
WinkBedBest Hybrid Twin XL Mattress
Nolah NurtureBest Twin XL Mattress For Kids
BearBest Twin XL Mattress for Adjustable Bed
NectarBest Memory Foam Twin XL Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Value Twin XL Mattress
SaatvaBest Twin XL Mattress for Adults
Titan PlusBest Twin XL Mattress for Heavyweight People
Birch NaturalBest for Back Sleepers

Twin XL Mattress FAQs

Still have questions? We won’t leave you hanging. Check out our FAQ section below.

What is a good twin XL mattress to buy?

There are so many great Twin XL mattresses on the market. Here at Mattress Clarity, we particularly love Helix and Nectar.

Which is better: twin or twin XL?

This ultimately depends on what you need from a mattress! Kids and teens can fit comfortably on a twin-size mattress, but adults typically need a bit more room. Most of the time, twin XL mattresses only cost a little bit more than twins. If you’re a taller person, you should consider buying the XL.

Will king sheets fit two twin XL mattresses?

Yes! When you place two twin XL mattresses together, they are the same dimensions of a king-size bed – about 76” x 80”

Elisa Regulski

Elisa is the Editor of Mattress Clarity, where she analyzes sleep products and appears in review videos. A certified sleep science coach, Elisa's sleep tips have appeared in Readers Digest, Homes and Gardens, and 21 Oak. She earned a M.A in Mass Communication from Texas State University and a B.F.A in acting from Oklahoma City University.