Endy Mattress Review: Great for Back Sleepers?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs, where we are compensated for items purchased through links from our site. See our disclosure page for details.

If you are searching for a high-quality all-foam mattress that won’t break the bank, don’t touch that dial. The Endy mattress could give you all the comfort you require without putting a strain on your wallet. 

But, is the Endy mattress really right for you? My unbiased Endy mattress review will cover its construction, firmness and everything else you need to know. 

Endy Mattress

Endy Mattress Feel

Endy is a memory foam mattress that is made and shipped out of Canada. Endy is a very comfortable mattress that a lot of people are going to like.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$675 - $995

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5

Endy Mattress

Endy Mattress Feel

Endy is a memory foam mattress that is made and shipped out of Canada. Endy is a very comfortable mattress that a lot of people are going to like.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$675 - $995

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Endy Mattress Feel

Endy Mattress

Endy is a memory foam mattress that is made and shipped out of Canada. Endy is a very comfortable mattress that a lot of people are going to like.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$675 - $995

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5

Endy Mattress Video Review

Endy Mattress Overview

The Endy is one of Canada’s most popular mattresses and for good reason. It is a streamlined all-foam mattress that is comfortable, supportive and does not cost an arm and a leg. As I will discuss below, it features proprietary Endy foam, a great alternative to memory foam.

There is a lot to love about the Endy mattress, but your sleeping preferences will determine if this is a good match for you.

Pros of the Endy Mattress

  • It is a fantastic medium-firm mattress. This gives the Endy a good balance of comfort and support, so it will work for multiple sleeping positions. If you move around and change positions at night, you might want to give Endy a shot.
  • The Endy is an especially good fit for light- and medium-weight side sleepers. While it is medium-firm, the top layer of foam will offer excellent pressure relief. If you are in this weight range, you’ll feel very little pressure on your shoulders and hips.
  • Back sleepers will also get what they need on the Endy. Its top foam layer will let your hips sink in while the firmer base layer ensures that you get enough support.
  • It gives you a lot of bang for your buck. Compared to many other bed-in-a-box mattresses on the market, the Endy is much more affordable. If you want a nice mattress, but money is tight, the Endy could be a smart buy.

Cons of the Endy Mattress

  • Stomach sleepers will need a firmer mattress overall. If you sleep on your stomach, you could feel your hips sinking down into the mattress, causing back pain over time.
  • It is not soft enough for heavier side sleepers. If you weigh over 270 lb and sleep on your side, you run the risk of bottoming out on this mattress and feeling some serious pressure on your shoulders and hips.
  • Fans of very soft or very firm mattresses won’t be big fans of this mattress. The Endy is medium-firm, so if you like a mattress on either end of the firmness spectrum, this isn’t going to be the bed for you.

RELATED: Best Canadian Mattress

Overall Rating

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches personally test each mattress in categories such as materials, comfort, cooling, and support. Hover over the icons to learn more about these different topics, or scroll down for a more detailed analysis on each one.

Mattress Performance Ratings

Poor
Average
Excellent

1
2
3
4
5
4
Overall Rating
4
Support
3.8
Edge Support
4
Cooling
4
Motion Transfer
4
Durability
4
Trial Period
4
Warranty

Endy Mattress Firmness and Feel

You should always consider firmness and feel when you are shopping for a new mattress. This will help you determine if it will work for your preferred sleeping positions.

How Firm Is The Endy Mattress?

On our firmness scale, the Endy mattress scores a 6.5/10. This is the industry standard for medium-firm. The top layer of Endy foam is very soft but, as I push further into the mattress, I get more firmness from the transition and support layers.

Sleeping On The Endy Mattress

When I was lying on my back, the Endy was properly supportive. My hips sunk into the Endy foam, but they were then stopped by the transition and support layers. The Endy Foam also conformed to the shape of my body. All-in-all, it was a good match for me when back sleeping.

Moving to my side, I felt some good pressure relief on my shoulders and hips. The Endy foam contoured to those pressure points so that I felt no real pressure build-up.

A man sleeps on his side on the Endy mattress

I felt decent support while stomach sleeping on the Endy, but it’s not the best mattress for stomach sleepers. If you just sleep on your stomach, you should look for something firmer and more supportive.

What Does The Endy Mattress Feel Like?

Overall, the Endy mattress features a balanced foam feel. Endy foam is more responsive than standard memory foam and makes it easier to move around. I sunk in a bit while lying on the Endy, but I never felt stuck.

Sleeper WeightBack SleepersSide SleepersStomach Sleepers
Lightweight (Under 130 lb)ExcellentExcellentFair
Average (130 – 230 lb)ExcellentGoodFair
Heavyweight (Over 230 lb)FairBadBad

Is the Endy Mattress Good for Lightweight People (Under 130 lb)?

  • The Endy will be a good match for back sleepers in this weight range, because it both supportive and comfortable.
  • Lightweight side sleepers will get plenty of pressure relief on the Endy mattress.
  • Most lightweight stomach sleepers will need more lumbar support.

Is the Endy Mattress Good for Average Weight People (130 lb – 230 lb)?

  • Average weight back sleepers should love sleeping on the Endy mattress, because it has a perfect medium firmness.
  • Side sleepers who are closer to 130 lb should get good pressure relief on the Endy mattress, but if you are closer to 230 lb, you could sink too far into the mattress and bottom out.
  • Stomach sleeping, those who weigh close to 130 lb could get enough support on the Endy mattress, but if you are heavier, you will want to choose a firmer mattress.

Is the Endy Mattress Good for Heavyweight People (Over 230 lb)?

  • If you weigh closer to 230 lb, the Endy will be supportive enough for back sleeping, but those who are heavier should take a look at my best mattresses for heavy people for some other options.
  • If you are heavier and sleep on your side, you probably won’t get the best pressure relief on the Endy.
  • Heavyweight stomach sleepers should choose a firmer mattress, as this bed won’t be supportive enough.

Endy Mattress Construction

Let’s unzip the Endy mattress and see exactly what materials are inside.

Cover

The Endy features a micro-quilted cover that is soft and breathable. You can also completely remove it from the mattress for easy cleaning.

Comfort Layers

Endy features its proprietary Endy foam in its top comfort layer. This material is designed to be more breathable and responsive than traditional memory foam mattresses. Memory foam is known for trapping heat and making it harder to move around and change positions, but this shouldn’t be an issue with the Endy.

Below that, there is a layer of transitional polyfoam that acts as a buffer between the comfort layer and the support layer underneath. This layer will prevent you from “bottoming out” and hitting the firmer support layer below.

A wide cross-section shot of the Endy mattress

Support Layer

The Endy features thick base foam in its support layer. This dense and durable material is designed to support your body and to keep you in good spinal alignment. Staying in good alignment can ease and prevent back pain issues.

Mattress Height

The Endy mattress is 10” tall.

Endy Mattress Size Options and Price

Take a look at our chart for the most up-to-date Endy pricing information.

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin39" x 75"$675.00
Twin XL39" x 80"$745.00
Full54" x 75"$820.00
Queen60" x 80"$895.00
King76" x 80"$995.00
California King72" x 84"$995.00
Endy Mattress
Endy Mattress

Endy is a memory foam mattress that is made and shipped out of Canada. Endy is a very comfortable mattress that a lot of people are going to like.

Clarity Score
4 / 5.0

Endy Mattress Performance

I put the Endy mattress through a number of tests. Let’s see how it did!

Sleeping Hot Or Cold

If you’re looking for great cooling properties, all-foam mattresses aren’t always the best option. They don’t have coils to promote airflow, and their comfort layers can trap heat.

This applies to the Endy mattress. While it features more breathable foams and a breathable cover as well, it still traps heat. I felt myself overheating a bit. If you aren’t someone who sleeps very hot, you shouldn’t have an issue. If you sleep particularly hot, the Endy might not work well for you.

Motion Transfer

If you sleep with a partner, you want to find a mattress that handles motion transfer well. If your partner moves around on the other side of the mattress, you don’t want it to disturb you on your side.

During my tests, the Endy performed quite well. I did not see too much motion transfer across the mattress, so it should be a good mattress for couples.

Edge Support

If you share your bed with a partner, you also want a mattress with good edge support. This will allow you and your partner to sleep all the way toward the edge of the mattress without rolling off.

In my experience, the Endy does not have the best edge support. Sitting and lying down near the edge, I do feel like I am going to roll off.

A man sits near the edge of the Endy mattress

Durability

Looking at the Endy’s materials and construction, the mattress should be a decently durable mattress. I would say the mattress should last for at least seven years. To help your mattress last longer, read our mattress maintenance guide.

Off-gassing

When you unbox a bed-in-a-box mattress, you will probably experience some off-gassing. Basically, new mattresses will emit a slight chemical smell after you unbox and unwrap them.

This happened when I unboxed the Endy mattress, but the smell did dissipate after about 48 hours. I would recommend placing the Endy mattress in a ventilated room and give it enough time to expand and off-gas.

Noise

The Endy made no noise when I moved around on it. If you change positions at night, you should not hear any squeaking or creaking.

Sex

The Endy mattress is responsive and should make it easy for sexual partners to move around. That being said, if you want something with even more bounce, take a look at a hybrid mattress.

Company Policies

Let’s take a closer look at Endy’s fine print.

Warranty Info

You can register and pay for an extended 15-year warranty, but the Endy automatically comes with a 10-year warranty. This covers defects in the zipper, cover and foam. If an indentation deeper than one inch forms, the brand may also replace your mattress. However, normal wear and tear or damage done by you will not be covered.

Sleep Trial

Endy offers a 100-night sleep trial. This gives you a full 100 nights to decide whether or not the mattress is right for you. However, you can only use this 100-night trial once per product.

Return Policy

The Endy mattress comes with free returns. If, during the 100-night trial, you decide you want to return the mattress, you can make an appointment with Endy. They will send movers to pick up your mattress and, after the pickup is complete, they will process a return of your payment.

Common Endy Mattress Complaints

Some Endy customers complained that the mattress caused hip and back pain. Others complained the mattress was too firm, and some said it was difficult to navigate the return process.

How Does The Endy Compare To Others?

Ready to do some comparison shopping? Let’s see how the Endy compares to its competitors.

Endy vs Casper

Product
Firmness
Score
Endy Mattress Feel
Endy Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.0/5
casper original hero
Casper Original Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
3.7/5
Endy Mattress Feel
Product
Endy Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.0/5
casper original hero
Product
Casper Original Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
3.7/5

The Casper Original mattress is one of the most popular bed-in-a-box mattresses and is a major competitor for the Endy. They are both all-foam mattresses, but they are different in a number of ways.

First off, they have a different number of layers; the Casper has four layers while the Endy only has three. That extra layer in the Casper features Zoned Support, which makes the Casper firmer in the center and softer toward the top and bottom.

The Endy has no such zoned construction and has a more uniform feel throughout the mattress. You will get more out of the Casper, but it does cost more than the Endy.

Who Should Choose the Endy Mattress? Who Should Choose the Casper Mattress?
Shoppers on a tighter budgetLarger people
Shoppers on a tighter budget
Lightweight sleepers
Side sleepers
Back sleepers

See the full Endy vs Casper comparison here.

Endy vs Nectar

Product
Firmness
Score
Endy Mattress Feel
Endy Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.0/5
Nectar Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.3/5
Endy Mattress Feel
Product
Endy Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.0/5
Product
Nectar Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.3/5

The Nectar is another extremely popular all-foam mattress. It features slow-moving memory foam right on top, giving it a slightly different feel than the Endy.

While it has the same firmness, I experienced better pressure relief on the Nectar mattress. The slow-moving foam on top felt much more comfortable on my shoulders and hips. However, the Nectar will cost more than the Endy mattress.

Who Should Choose the Endy Mattress? Who Should Choose the Nectar Mattress?
Fans of a balanced foam feel Fans of a memory foam feel
Budget shoppersSide sleepers

Endy Mattress FAQs

Is the Endy mattress any good?

The Endy mattress is good, but it is going to work better for certain types of sleepers. Back sleepers who want to save money will love it. However, it might not work for heavier side sleepers, stomach sleepers, or fans of very soft or very firm mattresses.

Can you flip the Endy mattress?

No, you cannot flip the Endy mattress. It is designed to rest with the base foam on the bottom and the cover on top.

How long will the Endy mattress last?

The Endy mattress should last for at least 7 years. It could last longer depending on your size and weight.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.