10 Best Firm Mattresses of 2022

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Many companies in the sleep industry advertise that their mattress is the softest and has the best pressure relief. But what about those sleepers out there who are looking for the best firm mattress — one with a ton of support? If that sounds like you, you can stop looking, because we’ve got our picks for the best firm mattresses. These 10 beds are all firmer than average, offering the support that stomach sleepers and some back sleepers really need. That being said, we’ve included a wide variety of beds so that there’s something here for everyone.

Best Firm Mattresses of 2022: Our Top 10 Picks!

How We Chose Our Products

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

For our roundup of the Best Firm Mattresses, our first parameter was that each product either had to have multiple firmness options or score at least a 7 out of 10 on our mattress firmness scale. The GhostBed, Brooklyn Bedding Plank, and Awara all came in at an 8, making them the firmest beds here. Also, an effective firm mattress tends to have a lot of support and durability, so we specifically chose beds that scored high in both of those categories. Of the 10 products on this list, eight of them scored a 4 out of 5 or higher in these two areas.

Video Review: Best Firm Mattresses

Editor's Pick

Helix Dawn Mattress

The Helix Dawn is one of the company's firmest models. Because of this, it should be a supportive option for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Dawn Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$699 - $1449

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Editor's Pick

Helix Dawn Mattress

The Helix Dawn is one of the company's firmest models. Because of this, it should be a supportive option for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Dawn Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$699 - $1449

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Editor's Pick

Helix Dawn Mattress

The Helix Dawn is one of the company's firmest models. Because of this, it should be a supportive option for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Dawn Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$699 - $1449

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5

One of the most notable things about Helix is that the company focuses on customization and flexibility. Customers can take a sleep quiz where they answer questions regarding sleeping position, firmness preferences, and sleeping temperature. Helix will then send a mattress specifically based on these answers. Those looking for a firmer mattress will likely be guided toward the hybrid Helix Dawn, one of the brand’s firmest models. Along with the Helix Twilight, it should both be a good match for stomach sleepers.

What Makes the Helix Dawn Stand Out?

  • The company offers Luxe upgrades for all of their mattresses, adding features such as a quilted pillow-top, zoned coils, and a breathable Tencel cover.
  • Both sides of the mattress can be customized, making it one of the best mattresses for couples with different sleeping preferences.
  • Hot sleepers should appreciate the hybrid construction’s breathable latex-foam alternative, plus the coils leave plenty of room for airflow.

Read our full Helix Dawn mattress review.

Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$912 - $2396

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$912 - $2396

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$912 - $2396

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Saatva is available in three different firmnesses. For purposes of this roundup, we’re of course going to recommend the Firm model. It features memory foam, a pillow-top above that, and — most importantly — two sets of coils that give the bed a traditional innerspring feel. In addition, the mattress is zoned so that it feels firmer toward the center. All of this gives the Firm model excellent support for stomach- and back-sleeping.

What Makes the Saatva Stand Out?

  • The mattress features some very durable materials, so it should stay in good shape for a number of years.
  • Hot sleepers should be comfortable on the Saatva, thanks to the airflow-promoting coils.
  • The Saatva boasts a luxury look and feel that should please those looking for something on the higher end, similar to a hotel bed.

Read our full Saatva mattress review.

Best Medium-Firm Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Medium-Firm Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Medium-Firm Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1149 - $2049

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

The majority of these mattresses are significantly firmer than average, but what about those people who want something just a little firmer-than-average? Well, that’s where the WinkBed mattress comes in. It scored a 7 out of 10 on our firmness scale and is the best medium-firm mattress on our list. This makes the WinkBed a fantastic fit for back sleepers and side sleepers, who should find the blend of comfort and support they need to keep the body relaxed and properly aligned.

What Makes the WinkBeds Stand Out?

  • The WinkBed comes in multiple firmness options. So if you want something firmer or softer, you should be able to find a good fit.
  • The mattress has a pillow-top feel, providing good pressure relief on those trouble areas while still allowing sleepers to move around.
  • The WinkBed features a breathable cover and coils for airflow, meaning it shouldn’t sleep particularly hot.

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review.

Best Extra Firm Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Mattress

The Plank is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Plank Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$699 - $1598

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Extra Firm Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Mattress

The Plank is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Plank Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$699 - $1598

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Extra Firm Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Mattress

The Plank is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Plank Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$699 - $1598

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

There are firm mattresses, and then there are extremely firm mattresses. The Brooklyn Bedding Plank is definitely the latter. It’s a flippable mattress with both a Firm side (an 8 out of 10 on the firmness scale) and an ultra-firm side (a 9 out of 10 on the firmness scale). This is absolutely the firmest mattress I’ve ever slept on. That makes the Brooklyn Bedding Plank one of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers, who tend to need more support. No matter their size or body type, they’re unlikely to feel their hips bowing into the bed’s layers.

What Makes the Brooklyn Bedding Plank Stand Out?

  • Brooklyn Bedding owns its own factory, allowing them to cut out the middleman and sell their high-quality value mattresses for a lower price.
  • Back sleepers who prefer a firmer mattress could find what they’re looking for on both sides of the Plank.
  • Brooklyn also offers the Plank Hybrid mattress, with coils in the support layer.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Plank mattress review.

Best Firm Mattress for Back Pain

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$899 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Mattress for Back Pain

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$899 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Mattress for Back Pain

DreamCloud Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$899 - $1499

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Back pain can really disrupt your life. Sometimes, this discomfort is exacerbated by an uncomfortable mattress. If you’re searching for a firm bed that will also help ease the pain, check out the DreamCloud. It creates both comfort and support, plus there’s a tufted pillow-top and a soft cover made of a cashmere-blend material.

What Makes the DreamCloud Stand Out?

  • This hybrid mattress is made with high-quality materials, so it’s especially durable.
  • The soft memory foam layer creates much-needed pressure relief, and the individually wrapped coils provide support.
  • As a brand, DreamCloud has impressive customer service terms, such as a one-year sleep trial period and a lifetime warranty.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review.

Best Firm Mattress for Side Sleepers

Layla Mattress

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Layla Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$749 - $1249

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Mattress for Side Sleepers

Layla Mattress

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Layla Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$749 - $1249

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Mattress for Side Sleepers

Layla Mattress

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Layla Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$749 - $1249

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

While firm mattresses are a fantastic option for stomach sleepers and back sleepers, they usually aren’t the best mattresses for side sleepers. But the Layla features both a soft side and a firm side. This gives you two firmnesses in one mattress! Side sleepers should be most comfortable on the soft side, finding the right amount of pressure relief on their shoulders and hips. As for the firm side, a thin layer of copper-infused memory foam stretches over more supportive layers. This gives comfort to stomach sleepers without causing them to sink in too far.

What Makes the Layla Stand Out?

  • Back sleepers could be comfortable on both the soft and the firm side.
  • The mattress boasts cooling Thermogel in its cover and copper infusions in the memory foam, making it a good option for hot sleepers.
  • It’s a great bed for couples, as the foam has excellent motion isolation. You’re unlikely to feel your partner’s movements at night.

Read our full Layla mattress review.

Best Eco-Friendly Firm Mattress

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Birch Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$1349 - $2099

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Eco-Friendly Firm Mattress

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Birch Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$1349 - $2099

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Eco-Friendly Firm Mattress

Birch Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Birch Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1349 - $2099

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Birch — dreamed up by Helix — is a latex hybrid mattress made with eco-friendly materials such as Talalay latex and organic cotton, as well as individually wrapped coils. This construction makes it naturally cooling, so you won’t have to sweat through your sleep. The Birch is also one of the firmer mattresses we’ve tried. The Talalay latex is a dense material that has very little give and, together with the coils, creates an enormous amount of support.

What Makes the Birch by Helix Stand Out?

  • The other upside of Talalay latex is its excellent durability. That means the Birch will stay firm and supportive for many years to come.
  • The mattress is a great choice for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and anyone else who’s looking for extra support from their mattress.
  • If you want something a little less firm, the mattress is available with an optional pillow-top.

Read our full Birch by Helix mattress review.

Best Cooling Firm Mattress

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Leesa Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$849 - $1399

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Firm Mattress

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Leesa Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$849 - $1399

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Firm Mattress

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Leesa Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$849 - $1399

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Are you a back sleeper who sleeps hot? Then you’ll want a cooling firm mattress, like the Leesa Original. This all-foam mattress offers a great balance of comfort and support, and should help keep sleepers’ spines in a neutral alignment, which helps prevent and reduce pain. The Leesa is also nice and cooling, thanks to a breathable twill cover and aerated foam comfort layers.

What Makes the Leesa Original Stand Out?

  • It’s made with a number of cooling materials, which makes it a great choice for hot sleepers.
  • It has a balanced, firm foam feel that’s great for back sleepers in particular.
  • It comes at an affordable price.

Learn more in our full Leesa mattress review.

Best Luxury Firm Mattress

Awara Mattress

The Awara is a firmer latex hybrid mattress that could be a good pick for back and stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Awara Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Limited lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1398 - $2198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Firm Mattress

Awara Mattress

The Awara is a firmer latex hybrid mattress that could be a good pick for back and stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Awara Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Limited lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$1398 - $2198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Firm Mattress

Awara Mattress

The Awara is a firmer latex hybrid mattress that could be a good pick for back and stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
Read Awara Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Limited lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1398 - $2198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Awara mattress is a latex hybrid built with a ton of luxurious materials, from organic New Zealand wool to rich organic cotton to a cozy tufted cover. But the real star here is the Dunlop latex. At 4″ thick, it pairs with a support layer of pocketed coils to make the Awara especially dense and firm. It clocked in at an 8 out of 10 on our mattress firmness scale.

What Makes the Awara Stand Out?

  • Dunlop latex is an all-natural material that’s both organic and eco-friendly, without any harmful chemicals used.
  • It should be a supportive option for back sleepers and stomach sleepers. It also won’t sag too quickly and should be able to handler heavier weights.
  • The latex is extremely breathable and the coils allow for a good amount of airflow. This makes it an excellent pick for hot sleepers.

Read our full Awara mattress review.

Best Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$995 - $1945

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$995 - $1945

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$995 - $1945

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Casper Original consistently ranks as one of our favorite mattresses for back sleepers. Why? Because it’s designed with zoned support, which means it’s softer at the head and foot and firmer at the center. This design helps support a straight spinal alignment, and should prevent back pain. The bed also has a balanced, medium-firm feel, which is ideal for back sleeping.

What Makes the Casper Original Stand Out?

  • It has a zoned support system that is designed to keep spines in a healthy alignment.
  • It has a slightly bouncy, responsive feel that prevents you from feeling stuck in the mattress.
  • It’s a nice choice for couples thanks to its motion isolation and strong edge support.

Learn more in our full Casper mattress review.

Heavyweight Sleepers – Over 230 lb

Firmness really is subjective. That means a mattress that feels firm to me might not feel the same to someone else. This is especially true when we think about larger sleepers, as they have more support needs and may find these mattresses to be firmer or softer than we did. The following firm mattresses should work for heavier people.

  • Big Fig: While we didn’t include it on this roundup, the Big Fig mattress is made specifically for larger people. It’s a very firm bed that offers the support larger stomach sleepers need. Much larger back sleepers should also find this to be a fantastic match.
  • Plank by Brooklyn Bedding: This mattress is the absolute firmest one we’ve slept on. Both sides are supportive, and the firm side is a fantastic fit for heavier stomach sleepers. The less firm side should be a better option for much heavier back sleepers.
  • Awara: This latex hybrid mattress definitely provides me with the support heavier people need. It’s a particularly good choice for heavier back sleepers and stomach sleepers.
  • Helix: The Helix is excellent because they will customize a mattress to meet sleepers’ specific needs. They even make the Helix Plus mattress for larger people.

How to Choose a Firm Mattress

When you’re shopping for a firm mattress, there are a few important considerations to keep in mind, from the mattress constructions to your own needs and preferences. Let’s dive into each of these factors in detail!

Mattress Firmness Scale

Most people who talk about mattresses score their firmness on a scale of 1 to 10, with 1 being the softest and 10 being the firmest. The majority of mattresses tend to fall between a 6–8 out of 10 with a medium to medium-firm firmness feel.

Anything in the 8–10 range (or sometimes the 7–10 range) can be considered a firm or extra-firm mattress. Most extra-firm mattresses you see (such as the Plank mattress) are usually a 9 out of 10.

Body Type

Keep in mind that firmness is subjective. That’s why when we evaluate mattresses, we use Joe and Marten’s perspectives to show how firmness changes based on your body type. For context, Joe is smaller and Marten is larger.

 

Casper's Firmness - 6/10 for Joe and 7/10 for Marten

Heavier people put more pressure on a mattress, sinking further into the layers and usually feeling the more firm base layer. Those who are around 200+ lb typically experience a firmness around 1 to 1.5 points higher than average weight people.

To rest comfortably on a mattress, heavy people should look for firmer mattresses with a dense comfort layer on top to avoid sinking into the mattress. See our best mattresses for heavy people to learn more.

Mattress Type

Innerspring mattresses are some of the firmest mattress types since they are made with layers of coils. Some innersprings are more bouncy than others, but their surfaces are usually pretty firm. See our best innerspring mattresses to learn more.

Foam mattresses are some of the softest mattresses. Memory foam, gel foam, foam blend, and poly foam mattresses are all generally the most soft, though some of these beds are more dense than others and can lean toward the medium-firm side. See our best memory foam mattresses to learn more.

Latex mattresses have a similar feel to foam beds, except that they’re more bouncy and breathable. These beds can range from soft to very firm depending on the indentation load deflection (ILD) ratings, a measurement similar to density. See your best latex mattresses to learn more.

Hybrid mattresses combine materials, using an innerspring base layer with a comfort layer of top made of varying materials like foam, latex, or wool. With so many combinations, these beds can fall anywhere on the firmness spectrum, though they tend to be medium to medium-firm. See our best hybrid mattresses to learn more.

Benefits of a Firm Mattress

  • Firm mattresses tend to support a neutral spine alignment and have great edge support.
  • Firm mattresses isolate motion well. This is good news for couples who don’t want to feel their partner moving around on the other side of the bed.
  • You won’t sink in too far. If you like sleeping on the bed rather than in the bed, this will appeal to you.
  • Firm beds are better at supporting heavyweight people, allowing them to sleep comfortably.

Downsides to a Firm Mattress

  • Firm mattresses are less pressure-relieving. Without a soft, contouring surface, you may get pain in the shoulders, hips, and other pressure areas.
  • It takes a more particular sleeper to be comfortable on a firm mattress. Most sleepers like a soft to medium mattress.
  • Firm mattresses take longer to fully break in and adjust to. You may need to use up more of your sleep trial period to determine if it’s the right type of bed for you.

RELATED: Firm vs Soft Mattress

Who Should Get a Firm Mattress?

  • Stomach sleepers: Those who sleep primarily on their stomachs should consider a firm mattress. They want to ensure that they’re getting enough support on their hips because, if not, they can bow into the mattress and cause the spine to get out of neutral alignment.Firm Mattress Is Good For Stomach Sleepers
  • Back sleepers: Those who need the best mattress for back sleepers will also want something firmer, but not extremely firm. The bed should let their hips sink in just a bit and, at the same time, provide enough support to prevent them from dropping into the mattress.Back Sleeper on a firm mattress
  • People who like to sleep on top of their mattress: For those who prefer not to sink into their mattress, a firm mattress is a particularly safe bet. Firmer mattresses usually don’t have the “give” that one finds on softer mattresses and, because of this, most should be sleeping on top of the mattress as opposed to “in” it.sleeping on a firm mattress
  • Hot sleepers. When someone sleeps “on top” of a mattress, they have less of a chance of sleeping hot. In contrast, if someone sinks into a softer mattress (especially something with memory foam), they could feel themselves start to heat up. That’s because memory foam can trap heat and direct it back at sleepers. Check out our best cooling mattress guide for more recommendations.

Who Shouldn’t Get a Firm Mattress?

  • Side sleepers: In general, firm mattresses are not the best match for side sleepers because they usually require a mattress that will provide pressure relief for their shoulders and hips. Firm mattresses are not exceptional when it comes to pressure relief, so side sleepers should look for something softer. Check out the best mattresses for side sleepers.
  • Those who like to sink into their mattresses: Those who like to sink into their mattress and feel enveloped by it might not find a firm mattress to be an excellent choice. They’ll want to look for something softer — perhaps a mattress that contains memory foam.

How to Make a Mattress Firmer

If you’re unhappy with your mattress’ current feel, there are some steps you can take to make your soft mattress firmer:

  • Check the sleep trial. With most mattresses, if it’s still within its sleep trial, you can return it and buy a firmer one.
  • Add plywood. Adding a piece of plywood between the mattress and the foundation can give the mattress a firmer feel. It also adds an additional layer of support and helps prevent the mattress from sagging.
  • Replace the box spring. Box springs can lose their support over time, so replacing your box spring with a newer, stronger foundation can create a firmer mattress feel. Box springs can last up to 10 years, so if you’ve had yours longer than that, consider getting a new one.
  • Get a firmer mattress topper. Purchasing a firm mattress topper, such as the Avocado Mattress Topper, can add a new feel to your bed and provide additional support.
  • Flip your mattress. While not all mattresses are meant to be flipped, older mattresses and some innerspring mattresses typically should be flipped. The springs can wear out over time when someone sleeps in the same spot each night, so flipping your mattress can more evenly spread the wear and help prevent sagging.

Overall

In the end, a firm mattress can be a great fit for stomach sleepers, back sleepers, larger sleepers, and those who just want some extra support. As a reminder, here are our top picks for the best firm mattresses:

Mattress Best For
Helix Editor’s Pick
Saatva Best Innerspring Mattress
WinkBed Best Medium Firm Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Plank Best Extra Firm Mattress
DreamCloud Best Firm Mattress for Back Pain
Layla Best Firm Mattress for Side Sleepers
Birch Best Eco-Friendly Firm Mattress
Leesa Original Best Cooling Firm Mattress
Awara Best Luxury Firm Mattress
Casper Original Best Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers

FAQs

Is an extra-firm mattress better for your back?

Those who sleep on their back or deal with back pain usually want to find a mattress that is approximately medium-firm. If a mattress is too firm, it could push the hips out of the bed and the spine out of proper neutral alignment. This could lead to significant issues with back pain.

Is a firm mattress good?

It really depends on what people are looking for. For instance, a firmer mattress might not be good for side-sleeping because it won't offer enough pressure relief. It could be good for people who require more support, such as back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and larger people.

Do firm mattresses get softer?

All mattresses, no matter how firm, will get softer over time. Materials such as memory foam and even coils will start to weaken after they've been in use for a few years. Some materials, such as latex foam, won't soften quite as quickly, however.

Can a firm mattress cause back pain?

While we wish we could get a straight answer, whether or not a firm mattress causes back pain is entirely dependent on your sleeping position and body type. If you do have a mattress that fits your individual needs, chances are it's not going to cause back pain. Stomach sleepers often need a firmer mattress to lift up the hips and keep the spine in neutral alignment. Side sleepers and lightweight sleepers, however, will likely find that a firm mattress doesn't provide enough cushion to sink into. This can result in back pain overtime.

What firmness is best for back pain?

In general, medical professionals recommend medium-firm mattresses (about a 6.5/10 on the industry firmness scale) for back pain. These mattresses often have a nice balance of comfort and support and fit a wider variety of sleepers. However, it's important that you utilize sleep trials offered by companies or even consult a medical professional so you can make the best decision for your own needs.

Can a mattress be too firm?

Just as a mattress can be too soft, a mattress can also be too firm. One of the best indicators of excessive firmness is a tense feeling in your body, or more obviously pain. That's why it's so important to consider your sleeping position and body type when selecting a mattress. For example, it's very likely a mattress made for stomach sleepers is going to be way too firm for a side sleeper!

What mattress firmness is best for stomach sleepers?

We would recommend a 7/10 or 8/10 on the firmness scale for most stomach sleepers. It's crucial these sleepers have enough support to lift the hips into alignment, and enough cushioning to prevent too much pressure build-up.

Gravatar for Marten Carlson

Marten Carlson

Marten is Senior Editor at Mattress Clarity. He covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films. He has directed genre short films and features. His newest film, Starlets, recently premiered at the River Town Film Festival in Clinton, NJ. He also stars in the upcoming thriller, Sour Bear. His next film, At The Hop, is a hot rod actioner with a horror twist.