Best Firm Mattresses of 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Many companies in the sleep industry advertise that their mattress is the softest and most pressure-relieving. But what about those sleepers wanting the best firm mattress? We’re here to help those prioritizing support above all else. As a result, we’ve created this review of our top picks for the best firm mattresses, all of which have been tested by a number of our reviewers, ensuring that we get the most comprehensive idea of how they perform for specific body types and sleep preferences.

While a couple of beds on this list aren’t technically firm on the firmness scale (8/10 and up), all 10 beds are firmer than average where average is 6/10. So, they have an “on-top-of” feel and offer the support stomach sleepers and some back sleepers need.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Firm Mattress?

Our expert reviewers chose the Plank as the best firm mattress due to the fact that it’s one of the firmest on the market coming in at a 8/10 on our firmness scale and provides excellent support for some sleep types, especially stomach sleepers.

Best Firm Mattresses of 2024: Our Experts Picks

Best Firm Mattress Video Review

Compare the Best Firm Mattresses

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Saatva Mattress WinkBed Mattress Helix Dawn Mattress Bear Original Mattress Titan Plus Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Emma Hybrid Comfort Saatva Mattress WinkBed Mattress Helix Dawn Mattress Bear Original Mattress Titan Plus Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Firm: 8/10 Firm: 8/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 9/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Foam Hybrid Innerspring Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Combination Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Back Back & Stomach

How We Chose the Best Firm Mattresses

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

For our roundup of the best firm mattress, our first parameter was that all products need multiple firmness options or above-average firmness. An effective firm mattress has lots of support and durability, so we chose beds scoring high in both categories. Of the 10 products on this list, eight of them scored a 4/5 or higher in these two areas.

Best Overall Firm Mattress – Plank Firm

Best Overall

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

plank firm airtable

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

plank firm airtable

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
plank firm airtable
Best Overall

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
High-quality value mattresses for a low price
Great for some back sleepers
Available in a luxury hybrid version
Cons
Not great for side sleepers
Not great for back sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re tired of firm mattresses still not being firm enough, then the Plank Firm from Brooklyn Bedding could be a great fit for you. The Plank is one of the best extra-firm mattresses on the market, and it provides a flat sleeping surface.

This flippable mattress has a firm side (an 8/10 on the firmness scale) and an ultra-firm side (a 9/10 on the firmness scale). When I slept on the firm side of the mattress, I could really feel the 2″ layer of memory foam. This material contoured my body slightly, but I still felt supported thanks to the 6″ high-density foam layer in the middle. The ultra-firm side doesn’t have a thick layer of memory foam at the top, which made it feel particularly firm.

What our testers say: “I found the extra-firm side of the Plank Firm to be a bit too firm for back-sleeping, but the firm side was a much better fit because it’s a touch softer. I think stomach sleeping should be great on either side of the mattress, thanks to the bouncy firm foam feel of the mattress.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Plank Firm

  • The Plank Firm has a nifty flippable design—one side has a traditional firm feel and the other side has an extra-firm feel. In a nutshell, this basically means that the Plank Firm is two mattresses in one. Talk about bang for your buck. 
  • Some customers complain that mattresses marketed as ‘firm’ aren’t actually as firm as they need them to be. Having tested it, we can confidently say that the plank is firm. In fact, it’s one of the firmest that we’ve tried in our years of testing mattresses.

What to Keep in Mind About the Plank Firm

  • In most cases we wouldn’t recommend a firm mattress for side sleepers, and the Plank is no exception. It simply doesn’t have enough give to allow your hips and shoulders to sink comfortably into the mattress surface—a necessity for side sleepers hoping to get good pressure relief.
  • The Plank did not stay cool as we tested it, likely because its all-foam construction absorbs and traps body heat rather than dispersing it.

Other user reviews

Based on 2,720 reviews on the company website, the Plank Firm has an average rating of 4.8/5. Many customers seemed skeptical over the advertised firmness of the mattress but were pleasantly surprised to find that it met their standards. Some, however, claim that it’s too firm and even causes back pain. 

Read our full Plank Firm mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for more great options.

Best Firm Mattress for Couples – Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Firm Mattress for Couples

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Firm Mattress for Couples

Emma Hybrid Comfort

emma comfort hybrid us airtable

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
emma comfort hybrid us airtable
Best Firm Mattress for Couples

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Pros
Long-lasting
Cooling features
365-night trial and 10-year warranty
Cons
Most side sleepers will want more pressure relief
Lightweight sleepers will want more pressure relief

Our Expert’s Take

The Hybrid Comfort — dreamed up by Emma — is a hybrid mattress made with quality foams and pocketed coils. What we love about this mattress is that it was made with couples and heavy sleepers in mind. With an 8/10 firmness, the bed’s support and durability are primary focuses.

With its superior edge support, couples should be able to make full use of the mattress surface. The individually-wrapped coils in the support layer ensure that each partner is properly supported.

What our testers say: “The Emma Hybrid Comfort is on the firmer side, but with that said, I should note that I weigh 270 lbs., and if you’re heavier than me, you could compress the top layers more than I did and find the mattress to be a bit softer. I’m a back sleeper, so when laying on the Emma, I could feel the coils holding my body up and the zoning gave me lumbar support.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • The Emma Hybrid Comfort has some great, sturdy edges. That might sound like a strange thing to care about but think about how often you find yourself either sitting or lying along the perimeter of the bed. Good edge support ensures that the mattress will remain composed under your weight rather than sagging.
  • This mattress offers great support, which is important for all types of sleepers, but especially those who weigh 230 lb or more. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • The Emma Hybrid Comfort is designed with supporting heavier weights in mind, which makes it a good fit for some couples (as its high scores in support and motion transfer indicate) but that doesn’t necessarily mean it will be a good fit for couples. Remember, you need to keep both parties’ sleep preferences in mind while shopping. The perfect firmness level for you might be too firm for your partner. In instances where your needs differ drastically, we recommend a customizable, split mattress like the Saatva Solaire so that you can both have your needs met.

Other user reviews

The Emma mattress has an average score of 4.7/5 based on 262 customer reviews from the company website. The positive reviews praise the balance of comfort and support that the mattress provides, while the negative reviews largely focus on what they describe as very bad customer service.

Read our full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

Best Firm Innerspring Mattress – Saatva

Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Innerspring Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Innerspring

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Durable materials
Great airflow
Gives a hotel mattress feel
Cons
Not great for soft mattress lovers
Not great for lightweight side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Saatva is available in three different firmnesses. For purposes of this roundup, we have to recommend the Firm model. It features memory foam, a cushy pillow-top, and two sets of coils. The construction gives this mattress a supportive and traditional innerspring feel.

In addition, the mattress is zoned so that it feels firmer toward the center. The result is a firm mattress that’s excellent for stomach sleeping and back sleeping.

What our testers say: “As a back sleeper, I experienced a nice balance of comfort and support and my hips sank right into the pillow-top. On the comfort levels, the coils were comfortable and supportive to sleep on, and offered me some contouring. I also got some great lumbar support, and I think it’s one of the best mattresses for lower back pain.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva

  • The Saatva’s hybrid construction gives it a nice bounciness that makes it quite easy to move around on. This is an essential factor for combination sleepers, who switch sleeping positions throughout the night. Rather than making it difficult to get from your back to your side to your stomach, the Saatva almost makes it feel like it’s propelling you from one position to the next. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva

  • Like the Titan Plus, the Saatva mattress didn’t impress us with its ability to isolate motion. In fact, what makes the Saatva so good for combination sleepers is also what leads to the prevalence of motion transfer in the mattress. If you sleep with a partner and this is a concern of yours, we again suggest that you check out the Bear mattress.

Other user reviews

Based on 2,983 customer reviews on the Saatva website, this mattress has an average score of 4.8/5. While not every review focuses on the firm version of the Saatva, there seems to be consensus among the positive reviews that the customer service and overall quality of the mattress are fantastic. That said, some people have had problems with the mattress sagging after a short period of time.

Read our full Saatva mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Innerspring Mattresses for more great options.

Best Firm Mattress for Stomach Sleepers – WinkBed

Best Firm Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

WinkBed

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
WinkBed
Best Firm Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Multiple firmness options
The firm model is great for stomach sleepers
Cooling features
Cons
Could be pricey for some people
Not good for couples

Our Expert’s Take

If you sleep on your stomach, you’ll need a mattress that can support your hips and keep your back in the proper alignment. The “Firmer” model of the WinkBeds mattress does just that. Plus, this mattress has zoned support. This means the bed feels firmer in the center of the mattress and softer near the head and foot, which helps sleepers maintain the correct posture throughout the night.

The WinkBeds mattress has a tufted pillow top that’s similar to what you’ll find in luxury hotels. And because it contains durable support coils, this mattress is super supportive and should last at least a decade. Even though it’s not the cheapest mattress on the market, you should find that it’s worth the investment.

What our testers say: “The zoning in the WinkBed gave me great lumbar support, and the zoning makes this one of the best orthopedic mattresses and best mattresses for lower back pain and sciatica. I also had an easy time moving around on the WinkBed, thanks to its bouncy and responsive innerspring feel.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed

  • The WinkBed provides wonderful, zoned support across its entire surface, which is great news for people with back pain. Basically, the mattress is constructed in a way that accounts for the shape of the human body, providing different levels of support to different areas. The result is phenomenal spinal alignment, which is necessary in mitigating, or even preventing, back pain.
  • This is a very durable mattress that will likely maintain its structural integrity for many years, if properly cared for. So, while it may be a bit pricey you can feel good knowing that your money will go a long way with the WinkBed.
  • The “Firmer” model offers plenty of hip support for stomach sleepers. If you rest in this position, you shouldn’t feel your back craning out of alignment.

What to Keep in Mind About the WinkBed

  • The WinkBed’s motion isolation is nothing to write home about. During our test, we found movements reverberated from one side of the bed to the other—enough to disturb a light sleeper. Consider the Bear mattress if you’re after a mattress that excels in this field.
  • The WinkBed has a bouncy, responsive feel that might be unappealing if you’re after something with a memory-foam feel.

Other user reviews

Based on 8,419 reviews on the company website, the WinkBed earned an average score of 4.8/5. Positive reviews mention the pain relief that the WinkBed provides, as well as the luxurious sleep that the mattress offers. Negative reviews point out that the firmness they selected ended up being either too firm or too soft for them. 

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options.

Best Firm Hybrid Mattress – Helix Dawn

Best Firm Hybrid Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress Review

The Helix Dawn is one of the company's firmest models. Because of this, it should be a supportive option for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Firm Hybrid Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress Review

The Helix Dawn is one of the company's firmest models. Because of this, it should be a supportive option for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Helix Dawn Mattress Review
Best Firm Hybrid Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress

The Helix Dawn is one of the company's firmest models. Because of this, it should be a supportive option for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Helix offers Luxe upgrades for mattresses
Both sides of the mattress can be customized
Its hybrid construction makes the mattress breathable and durable
Cons
Not great if you want a soft mattress
Not great for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

As a brand, Helix focuses on customization and flexibility, and they created the Helix Dawn as their firmest model (7.5/10 on the firmness scale). This bed has a hybrid composition of Helix Dynamic Foam, Helix Responsive Foam and individually wrapped coils, all of which work together to provide a responsive and supportive feel.

Stomach sleepers will enjoy how this mattress elevates their hips and keeps their spine aligned. This makes Helix one of the best hybrid mattresses on the market.

What our testers say: “The firm nature of this mattress kept my spine well supported and aligned when sleeping on my back but it didn’t offer much pressure relief though. On my side, my hip and shoulder felt jammed up, and I wasn’t too comfortable in this position, but for sleeping on my stomach, I thought this was a great fit.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Dawn

  • We love that Helix mattresses are upgradeable. The Helix Dawn, for example, can be upgraded to the Helix Dawn Luxe or Helix Dawn Elite, which provide more robust cooling features and zoned support (great for heavy people). That said, the standard model of the Helix Dawn is great in its own right and is more affordable than the Luxe and Elite versions.
  • The Helix Dawn scored a 4/5 on all our seven performance tests, which measure such factors as edge support, motion transfer, and cooling. This indicates a well-rounded mattress that didn’t blow us away on any metric but performs very well across the board. 
  • Its hybrid construction gives the mattress a balance feel. The coils also promote airflow, which helps sleepers stay cool during the night.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Dawn

  • While most would consider the Helix Dawn to be a very firm mattress, we understand that there are some people out there who would consider it too soft. It comes in at a 7.5/10 on our firmness scale—if you want something a little bit stiffer than that (which might especially be true for heavyweight stomach sleepers) we suggest you check out the Plank Firm instead.

Other user reviews

This mattress has an average score of 4.4/5 based on 1,232 reviews from the Helix website. Users respond well to the support the mattress provides, stating that the construction allows them to sink in all the right places. Negative reviews point out that the Helix Dawn begins to lose its structural integrity, and even fall apart, soon after unboxing. 

Read our full Helix Dawn mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options.

Best Medium-Firm Mattress – Bear

Best Medium-Firm Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Medium-Firm Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Bear Original mattress sits on a bed frame
Best Medium-Firm Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Celliant can help keep you cool
Great motion isolation
Great price point
Cons
Customers don’t love the refund process
Not great for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

For a memory foam mattress, the Bear is truly unique. For one, it’s firmer and more supportive than your typical all-foam bed. This means it offers some responsiveness, as well as a blend of comfort and support that’s a good fit for back sleepers.

The Bear also has a cover made of something called Celliant — a material that research suggests assists with blood flow and circulation. For that reason, the Bear is a popular choice among athletes and those with an active lifestyle.

What our testers say: “I sank comfortably into this mattress and felt great lumbar support. It’s all foam, so it helped with proper spinal alignment, and the top foam layer also conformed to the shape of my body when I slept on my back.” Marten, Lead Reviewer 

What We Love About the Bear

  • We’ve mentioned it several times in this article, but the Bear mattress is very good at isolating motion. Its all-foam construction creates a mattress surface that doesn’t bounce with each movement, so when you toss and turn on your side of the bed your partner likely won’t feel it on theirs.
  • The Bear is quite affordable, coming in at under $1,000 for a queen. For a mattress of this quality, it’s hard to beat that price point. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear

  • This mattress is on the softer side of firm. For this reason, we can’t recommend it for stomach sleepers, especially heavyweight stomach sleepers. Instead, you’ll want to seek out a mattress that will do a better job of propping your hips up, thereby keeping your spine properly aligned. If this sounds like you, consider the Plank Firm.
  • Because of its all-foam construction, the Bear isn’t all that bouncy. This might make it difficult for you to change sleeping positions, and also means it isn’t the best mattress for sex.

Other user reviews

The Bear mattress has an average rating of 4.4/5 based on 10,132 customer reviews from the company website. Some positive reviews point out the medium firmness of the mattress providing the perfect balance of comfort and support. Negative reviews point out that the Bear mattress sleeps hotter than they would like. 

Learn more in our full Bear mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Medium-Firm Mattresses for more great options.

Best Firm Mattress for Heavy People – Titan Plus

Best Firm Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Firm Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
titan featured image
Best Firm Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Pros
Comes in many sizes
Cooling benefits
Back sleepers should feel supported
Cons
Most average sleepers will think it’s too firm
Lightweight sleepers will find this mattress to be way too firm

Our Expert’s Take

Brooklyn Bedding has a variety of models for all types of sleepers, from the extravagant Aurora Luxe to the more streamlined design of their Signature Hybrid mattress. The Titan Plus caters to heavy people, with features such as industrial-strength coils and responsive TitanFlex foam. These features make it one of the firmest beds around, clocking in at a 9/10 on our mattress firmness scale.

What our testers say: “I got plenty of spinal support on the Titan Plus, but my hips didn’t sink in enough for pressure relief. If you’re not a fan of firm mattresses, I think the Titan may not be the best choice, since this one is fairly firm for me as a heavier sleeper, and would probably feel even firmer for someone lighter than me.” Marten, Lead Reviewer 

What We Love About the Titan Plus

  • Because the Titan Plus was designed specifically for heavyweight people it offers plenty of support across the mattress surface (including the perimeter). The level of support, in addition to the 9/10 firmness rating, helps ensure that larger sleepers won’t sink uncomfortably into the mattress surface.
  • We were impressed with the cooling ability of this mattress, which boasts a breathable coil layer as well as gel infusions to help promote airflow. If you sleep hot, you should find the Titan Plus relieves this problem to some extent.

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • The Titan Plus, like many hybrid mattresses, doesn’t do a good job of isolating motion. What this means for you is that if you share your bed with a partner or pet, you’re likely to feel their movements as they toss and turn throughout the night. This is bad news for light sleepers. If good motion isolation is important to you, we suggest you check out the Bear.

Other user reviews

The Titan Plus has an average rating of 4.7/5 based on 2,475 reviews on the company website. Some users appreciate how truly firm the mattress is, while those who were unhappy with the product point out that it didn’t help as much with their back pain as they expected it to.

Learn more in our full Titan Plus mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options.

Best Firm Cooling MattressNolah Evolution

Best Cooling Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Cooling Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Three firmness options
High quality materials
Graphite infused
Cons
Expensive

Our Expert’s Take

The Nolah Evolution comes in three different firmness levels, but for this roundup, we’ll focus on the firm model. It’s a luxury mattress equipped with zoned construction, which makes it firmer in the center. It also features supportive coils, which gives it a firm feel overall.

This mattress is topped with memory foam layers that contain heat dissipation materials like graphite, and it also has an AirBreath heat escape gusset that helps cool the comfort layers.

What our testers say: “The Nolah is one of the more luxurious mattresses that I’ve tested, and the mattress materials really felt cool to the touch. The mattress is infused with graphite, so along with feeling cool, I also got some great pressure relief!”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • The Nolah Evolution earned a perfect score on our cooling test. All the usual suspects are present here—graphite infused foam to help dissipate heat, an innerspring system that promotes airflow, and a breathable cover. What the Nolah Evolution has that sets it apart from other cooling mattresses is a gusset that provides a channel specifically for heat to escape. This addition takes it over the top and earns it a place amongst the best cooling mattresses we’ve ever tested.
  • This mattress is impressively constructed, as reflected by the perfect score it earned on our durability test. If properly cared for, you can expect it to last for upwards of ten years.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • The Nolah Evolution is quite expensive. While we think the quality of the product justifies the high price, we also think there are plenty of other great mattresses out there that can be purchased for cheaper. For some of our favorite options, check out the best affordable mattress page.

Other user reviews

The Nolah Evolution has an average rating of 4.9/5, based on 810 user reviews from the company website. Positive reviews reflect the cooling capabilities that we also highlighted in our review of the mattress, while some negative reviews point out that the mattress is quite high, making it difficult to get in and out of bed.

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

Best Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers – Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

Best Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Great lumbar support
Good for hot sleepers
Customizable firmness options
Cons
Not the best motion isolation
Shorter warranty coverage

Our Expert’s Take

The idea of a mattress that’s both affordable and firm might seem, well, kind of shady — is the brand compromising comfort for affordability by shipping you a thin layer of foam? After all, that would feel firm. Fortunately, the answer is “No” when it comes to the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid, which is available in a Firm model (as well as Soft and Medium).

The firm model offers ample lumbar support for back sleepers, and it’s made with durable coils and memory foam that should last at least a decade. Plus, this hybrid mattress is made at Brooklyn Bedding’s owned-and-operated Arizona factory, allowing the brand to pass manufacturing savings onto the customer.

Layers of bouncy foam give you that firm give-and-take, and coils add support and airflow. Testers gave the bed an overall 4/5 score for its firm support. 

What our testers say: “The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress provides me with a nice balance of comfort and support, especially when sleeping on my back. My hips sink into the top foam layers but don’t sink in too far. The firm option is an excellent choice for back and stomach sleepers looking for a durable, affordable hybrid bed.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid’s construction includes temperature-regulating materials, such as an optional cooling cover, and individually-wrapped coils. As a result, the hybrid bed does a good job of temperature regulation and dissipating heat, earning a high score from testers in the cooling category (4/5).
  • Although some hybrid beds have more of a slow-moving memory foam feel, sleepers who love the feel of a bouncy innerspring mattress should enjoy the responsiveness of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid. 
  • The firm model of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature offers plenty of lumbar support, which makes it a great option for most back sleepers.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • The 10-year warranty on the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid is not as generous as most comparable beds.
  • The bed’s mediocre motion transfer score (3/5) could be a concern for couples, especially if one or both people is easily awoken by their partner’s night moves.

Other user reviews

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid has an average score of 4.6/5 based on nearly 11,000 user reviews on the company website. Verified buyer Stephan G. wrote that after breaking in the firm model of the mattress, the feel was “perfect”: “It was a little too hard at first, but it has broken in very nicely and feels perfect now,” he wrote, adding “For this level of quality, I would say that this mattress is very affordable.” Some of the less glowing reviews ultimately found the firm model to be overly rigid. 

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers for more great options.

Best Firm Organic Mattress – Birch Natural

Best Organic Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Organic Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Features durable latex
Pressure relief and support
Highly cooling build
Cons
May be too firm for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Organic materials can lend themselves to a firm mattress feel, and the Birch is a great example. Testers found that the use of natural, open-cell, bouncy latex provided a nice amount of pushback, but with plenty of pressure relief. The bed is topped by a breathable cotton cover and sits on a wool base, with individually wrapped coils made from high-quality steel providing the main support layer.

All the materials are GOTS (Global Organic Textile Standard) Certified, i.e., third-party verified to be sustainably produced and free from synthetic foams. The quality and breathability of the construction helped the bed earn perfect scores from testers for overall support and cooling. 

What our testers say: “I love a good organic mattress, and Birch is a top pick for firm mattress lovers. It was supportive and kept my hips and body aligned, and the latex is a stand-out material for its durability and how it adds firmness without any shortage of pressure relief.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch Natural

  • The Birch impressed testers with its edge support, earning 4.5/5 for its well-reinforced perimeter. This is a great trait for couples who share the bed and therefore can’t hog the middle to themselves.
  • The hybrid bed is overall one of the top performers in the mattress lab, thanks in large part to its Talalay latex layer, which adds support, durability, and breathability. 
  • Latex is a highly durable material, so environmentally conscious consumers won’t have to worry about prematurely sending their bed to a landfill. You should get at least a decade of use out of this bed.

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch Natural

  • This mattress does a less-than-average job of isolating motion. As we’ve mentioned, this is a very important factor for couples, particularly if one or both parties are easily disturbed. 
  • Conscientiousness comes at a cost — although Birch isn’t the priciest mattress ever, its organic materials do make it slightly pricier than some comparable hybrids.

Other user reviews

The Birch Natural has an average rating of 4.6/5, based on more than 4,000 customer reviews from the company website. Verified buyer Michele L. bought a second Birch after loving the first: “We bought the first one for our vacation home and we slept so well we had to buy another for our main house. I love that it is organic and non-toxic (so hard to find), I love that it is reasonably priced, I love how easy it is to order online, how quickly it is delivered and that it comes in a box!” Some side sleepers found the bed to be too firm.

Read our full Birch Mattress Review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Organic & Non-Toxic Mattresses for more great options.

How is Mattress Firmness Determined

When you’re shopping for a firm mattress, there are a few important considerations to keep in mind, from the mattress construction to your own needs and preferences. First, we’ll talk through how we determine a mattresses firmness and rate it on our mattress firmness scale.

Mattress Firmness Scale

Most people who talk about mattresses score their firmness on a scale of 1 to 10, with 1 being the softest and 10 being the firmest. The majority of mattresses tend to fall between 6–8/10 with a medium to medium-firm firmness.

mattress firmness options on a scale of 1 to 10

Anything in the 8–10 range (or sometimes the 7–10 range) can be considered a firm or extra-firm mattress. Most extra-firm mattresses you see (such as the Plank mattress) are a 9/10.

What are the Pros and Cons of a Firm Mattress?

Benefits of a Firm Mattress

  • Firm mattresses often support a neutral spine alignment and have great edge support.
  • Firm mattresses isolate motion well. This is great for couples who want to avoid feeling their partner moving around on the bed.
  • You won’t sink in too far. If you like sleeping on the bed rather than in the bed, this will appeal to you.
  • Firm beds are better at supporting heavyweight people, allowing them to sleep comfortably.

Downsides to a Firm Mattress

  • Firm mattresses are less pressure-relieving. Without a soft, contouring surface, you may develop pain in the shoulders, hips, and other pressure areas.
  • It takes a more particular sleeper to be comfortable on a firm mattress. Most sleepers like a soft to medium mattress.
  • Firm mattresses take longer to fully break in and adjust to. You may need to use more of your sleep trial period to determine if it’s the right type of bed for you.

Who Should Get a Firm Mattress?

  • Stomach sleepers: Those who sleep primarily on their stomachs should consider a firm mattress. They want to ensure that they’re getting enough support on their hips because, if not, they can bow into the mattress and cause the spine to get out of neutral alignment.
  • Back sleepers: Those who need the best mattress for back sleepers will also want something firmer, but not extremely firm. The bed should let their hips sink in just a bit while having enough support to prevent excessive sinkage.
  • People who like to sleep on top of their mattress: For those who prefer not to sink into their mattress, a firm mattress is a safe bet. Firmer mattresses don’t have the “give” that one finds on softer mattresses, so most should be sleeping on top of the mattress as opposed to “in” it.
  • Hot sleepers. When someone sleeps “on top” of a mattress, they have less of a chance of sleeping hot. In contrast, if someone sinks into a softer mattress (especially something with memory foam), they could feel overheated. That’s because memory foam can trap heat and direct it back at sleepers. Check out our best cooling mattress guide for more recommendations.

Who Shouldn’t Get a Firm Mattress?

  • Side sleepers: In general, firm mattresses aren’t the best for side sleepers because they require a mattress that provides pressure relief for their shoulders and hips. Firm mattresses are not exceptional when it comes to pressure relief, so side sleepers should look for something softer. That being said, every now and then, a firm mattress can work for side sleepers. For example, take the Layla, which we mentioned in this article. Check out the best mattresses for side sleepers.
  • Those who like to sink into their mattresses: These folks might not like a firm mattress. They’ll want to look for something softer, such as a mattress containing memory foam.

What Mattress Types are the Firmest?

Innerspring mattresses are some of the firmest mattress types since they are made with layers of coils. Some innersprings are bouncier than others, but their surfaces are usually pretty firm. See our best innerspring mattresses to learn more.

Foam mattresses are some of the softest mattresses. Memory foam, gel foam, foam blend, and polyfoam mattresses are examples of this. Some of these beds are denser than others and can lean toward the medium-firm side. See our best memory foam mattresses to learn more.

mattress construction testing
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

Latex mattresses have a similar feel to foam beds, but they’re bouncier and more breathable. These beds can range from soft to firm depending on the indentation load deflection (ILD) ratings, a measurement similar to density. See our best latex mattresses to learn more.

Hybrid mattresses combine materials, using an innerspring base layer with a comfort layer or top made of materials like foam, latex, or wool. These beds can fall anywhere on the firmness spectrum, though they tend to be medium to medium-firm. See our best hybrid mattresses to learn more.

How to Make a Mattress Firmer

If you’re unhappy with your mattress’ current feel, there are some steps you can take to make your soft mattress firmer instead of buying a new mattress. Below we will talk through a few different options to consider:

Check the Sleep Trial

If you are not happy with the way your mattress fells, we suggest looking into its sleep trial period, you can often return it and buy a firmer one. That being said, there are other options well outline as well if you’re outside of your mattresses sleep trial period to avoid enduring another large cost by purchasing another mattress.

Add Plywood

Adding a piece of plywood between the mattress and the foundation can give the mattress a firmer feel. It adds an additional layer of support and helps prevent the mattress from sagging.

Replace the Box Spring

Box springs can lose their support over time, so replacing your box spring with a newer, stronger foundation can create a firmer mattress feel. Box springs can last up to 10 years, so if you’ve had yours longer than that, consider getting a new one.

Get a Firmer Mattress Topper

Purchasing a firm mattress topper, such as the Avocado Mattress Topper, can add a new feel to your bed and provide additional support.

Flip Your Mattress

While not all mattresses are meant to be flipped, older mattresses and some innerspring mattresses should be flipped. The springs can wear out over time when someone sleeps in the same spot each night, so flipping your mattress can more evenly spread the wear and help prevent sagging.

Flipping The Layla Mattress
Flipping a mattress in our sleep lab

Overall

In the end, a firm mattress can be a great fit for stomach sleepers, back sleepers, larger sleepers, and those who want extra support. As a reminder, here are our top picks for the best firm mattresses:

MattressBest For
Plank FirmBest Overall
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Firm Mattress for Couples
SaatvaBest Firm Innerspring Mattress
WinkBedsBest Firm for Stomach Sleepers
Helix DawnBest Firm Hybrid Mattress
BearBest Medium-Firm Mattress
Titan PlusBest Firm Mattress for Heavy People
Nolah EvolutionBest Firm Cooling Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Firm Mattress for Back Sleepers
Birch NaturalBest Firm Organic Mattress

Best Firm Mattress FAQs

Is an extra-firm mattress better for your back?

Those who sleep on their back or deal with back pain usually want to find a mattress that is approximately medium-firm. If a mattress is too firm, it could push the hips out of the bed and the spine out of proper neutral alignment. This could lead to significant issues with back pain.

Do firm mattresses get softer?

All mattresses, no matter how firm, will get softer over time. Materials such as memory foam and even coils will start to weaken after they’ve been in use for a few years. Some materials, such as latex foam, won’t soften quite as quickly, however.

What firmness is best for back pain?

In general, medical professionals recommend medium-firm mattresses (about a 6.5/10 on the industry firmness scale) for back pain. These mattresses often have a nice balance of comfort and support and fit a wider variety of sleepers. However, it’s important that you utilize sleep trials offered by companies or even consult a medical professional so you can make the best decision for your own needs.

What mattress firmness is best for side sleepers?

Side sleepers need soft or medium-firm mattresses in order to get the cushioning they need. Typically, mattresses that fall within the 5.5-6.5/10 firmness range work well for side sleepers. If a mattress is firmer than 6.5/10, side sleepers might feel some pain along their shoulders and hips.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.