DreamCloud Mattress Review – Dreamier Than It Looks?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Hybrid mattresses are all the rage these days because they offer soft comfort and strong support. I am a big fan of hybrid mattresses, they aren’t always the most affordable options. Shoppers can expect to spend up to $2,000 for a quality hybrid mattress.

That is why I was excited when I heard about the DreamCloud mattress, a luxury hybrid sold for a value price. To find out if there is truly a high-quality hybrid mattress out there that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg, read on for our full unbiased DreamCloud mattress review.

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$839 - $2178

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$839 - $2178

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$839 - $2178

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

DreamCloud Mattress Video Review

To find out if the DreamCloud is truly as dreamy as it sounds, make sure to watch our in-depth video review. I tried the mattress out for myself and discussed exactly what it feels like to sleep on it.

DreamCloud Mattress Review: General Overview

The DreamCloud mattress is a budget-friendly mattress that features high-quality materials such as a cashmere-blend cover, gel-infused memory foam and individually-wrapped coils. This medium-firm hybrid mattress offers a nice balance of comfort, support and bounce.

DreamCloud offers three mattresses: the DreamCloud Premier Rest, the DreamCloud Premier, and the original DreamCloud, which I’m talking about here. I enjoyed my experience with the DreamCloud mattress, but I think it is going to be a better fit for certain types of sleepers:

Pros of the DreamCloud Mattress

  • It’s great for back sleepers. This mattress has a medium-firm feel and offers a good balance of comfort and support, which is exactly what back sleepers need. 
  • The mattress feels breathable and cool, thanks to its breathable cover, airflow-promoting coils and gel-infused memory foam.
  • It has a bouncy and responsive feel, thanks to the strong coils. This makes it easy for sleepers to move around on top of the mattress and switch sleeping positions. 
  • For a hybrid mattress, it’s sold at a great price. After discounts, the DreamCloud mattress costs about $600 less than other options on the market.

Cons of the DreamCloud Mattress

  • It doesn’t offer enough pressure relief for most side sleepers. 
  • Heavier people won’t get the ideal amount of pressure relief and support.
  • It lacks a slow-moving feel. If this is what you’re looking for, consider getting one of the best memory foam mattresses

Overall Ratings

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches personally test each mattress in categories such as materials, comfort, cooling, and support. Hover over the icons to learn more about these different topics, or scroll down for a more detailed analysis on each one.

Mattress Performance Ratings

Poor
Average
Excellent

1
2
3
4
5
4
Overall Rating
4
Support
4
Cooling
3
Edge Support
3
Motion Isolation
4
Durability
5
Trial Period
5
Warranty

Note: Motion transfer is beneficial for those who share the bed and don’t want to be woken up by another’s movements. Looking for a mattress that better absorbs motion? Check out our Best Mattresses for Couples.

DreamCloud Mattress Firmness and Feel

When I test mattresses, I first examine their firmness and feel. Let’s break down how firm the DreamCloud is, what it feels like and how it works for different types of people. 

How Firm is the DreamCloud Mattress

In my experience, the DreamCloud mattress feels like 7.5/10 on our firmness scale, which is firmer than average. There is a touch of plushness on top of the mattress. Beneath that, the mattress is quite firm.

As I’ll discuss below, the DreamCloud mattress might feel firmer or softer depending on your body weight. Very lightweight sleepers might only feel the pillow top, so it could feel softer to them; larger sleepers could sink in and mostly feel the support layers, and it could feel firmer to them.

RELATED: Best Pillow Top Mattress

Sleeping on the DreamCloud Mattress

On the DreamCloud, I felt best whenever I slept on my back. Because this mattress has a firmer feel, it offered plenty of lumbar support. My hips sank into the top layer slightly, but my back stayed in a neutral alignment.

DreamCloud Mattress - Side Sleeping

While side sleeping, I felt some significant pressure on my shoulder and hip because I pressed through the top layer and sank into the firmer support layer underneath. It’s important to note that I’m a heavier person who is 6’ 7”. Lightweight side sleepers may not sink as far into the mattress and could feel more pressure relief. 

When I slept on my stomach, the DreamCloud mattress didn’t offer very much hip support. I felt my spine craning out of alignment, which caused some lower back pain. Lightweight stomach sleepers should get the proper amount of support on the DreamCloud mattress. 

What Does the DreamCloud Mattress Feel Like?

The DreamCloud mattress has two thin comfort layers, so when I rested on it, I felt more of the supportive coils underneath. Because of this, the DreamCloud feels more like a traditional innerspring mattress. It’s responsive and bouncy, which makes it easy to move around on top of. 

DreamCloud Mattress Feel
Sleeper WeightBack SleepersSide SleepersStomach Sleepers
Lightweight (Under 130 lb)FairFairExcellent
Average (130 – 230 lb)ExcellentFairGood
Heavyweight (Over 230 lb)FairBadBad

Is the DreamCloud Mattress Good For Lightweight People (Under 130 lb)?

  • The DreamCloud mattress is a decent choice for lightweight back sleepers, but many people in this category will think this bed is too firm. A medium-firm mattress may offer a better balance of comfort and support.
  • Lightweight side sleepers won’t get enough pressure relief on the DreamCloud mattress. Even though this bed has a tufted pillow top, it still feels quite firm.
  • Lightweight stomach sleepers won’t compress the comfort layer too much, so they should feel very supported on the DreamCloud mattress.

Is the DreamCloud Mattress Good For Average Weight People (130 – 230 lb)?

  • Thanks to its firm feel, average weight back sleepers should get the lumbar support they need on the DreamCloud.
  • Side sleepers who weigh closer to 130 lb should get the pressure relief they need. But heavier people will sink into the comfort layer quite a bit, which can make the mattress feel firm and uncomfortable.
  • Average weight stomach sleepers who weigh less than 170 lb should get the proper hip support on this mattress. Heavier people may feel their hips sinking out of alignment, which can cause back pain.

Is the DreamCloud Mattress Good For Heavyweight People (Over 230 lb)?

  • The DreamCloud mattress could be a decent choice for people who weight around 230 lb, but heavier people won’t get enough lumbar support and could develop back pain.
  • It’s not a good choice for heavyweight side sleepers, because it doesn’t offer enough pressure relief. People in this category will likely feel pain and pressure along their shoulders and hips.
  • It’s also not a good match for heavyweight stomach sleepers. People who weigh more than 230 lb won’t get the hip support they need in order to maintain the proper spinal alignment, which means they will likely develop lower back pain. Check out our list of the best mattresses for heavy people for better options.

DreamCloud Mattress Construction

DreamCloud mattress construction breakdown

Cover

On top, the DreamCloud features a smooth, comfy cashmere-blend cover. It’s breathable and soft to the touch. It’s even tufted and quilted with some foam to give the top of the mattress a bit of that pillow top look and feel.

Comfort Layers

Technically, the foam found in the cover is the first comfort layer. Beneath that, there is a layer of soft memory foam that offers some pressure relief and comfort. It’s infused with gel to prevent the material from trapping too much heat (a common occurrence with memory foam). Below that, there is a firmer foam transition layer that helps prevent sleepers from sinking too far into the mattress.

Support Layer

Individually-wrapped coils act as the DreamCloud’s main support system; they are quite supportive and allow for air to flow through the main body of the mattress. The coils rest on a thin layer of high-density foam.

Mattress Height

The DreamCloud mattress is 12″ tall.

DreamCloud Mattress Size Options and Price

So, how much does the DreamCloud cost? Check out the following chart to see the most up-to-date size and price information.

Note: The chart reflects prices before discounts.

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin38" x 75"$839.00
Twin XL38" x 80"$1089.00
Full54" x 75"$1199.00
Queen60" x 80"$1332.00
King76" x 80"$1669.00
California King72" x 84"$1669.00

Also, make sure to check out the DreamCloud Premier, the brand’s more luxury mattress, and don’t forget to use our DreamCloud coupons:

DreamCloud Original Mattress
DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score
4 / 5.0

DreamCloud Mattress Performance

We ran the DreamCloud through a gauntlet of tests regarding cooling, motion transfer and durability—let’s see how the mattress fared!

Sleeping Hot or Cold

When I slept on the DreamCloud, I felt quite cool because the mattress features a few temperature-regulating materials. The cashmere-blend cover is breathable and allows air to pass through the top of the mattress, and the gel-infused memory foam helps dissipate body heat.

The individually-wrapped coils in the support layer also allow for air to pass through the mattress so that it isn’t one big block of heat. Overall, the DreamCloud is a good option for hot sleepers. 

Motion Transfer

If you share a bed with a partner, you may want to keep motion transfer in mind; a mattress that cuts down on motion transfer between the two partners should ensure each sleeper won’t disturb the other when they move around.

DreamCloud Mattress - Motion Transfer
Testing for motion isolation in the sleep testing lab

The DreamCloud mattress does not isolate this motion particularly well. When I placed a glass of water in the center of the mattress and pushed it into the surrounding area, I saw some disturbance in the water. I also rested on one side of the mattress while my colleague moved around on the other side. I felt the motion transfer over to my side of the mattress, so if you’re shopping for one of the best mattresses for couples, you may want to look elsewhere. 

Edge Support

The DreamCloud doesn’t have the best edge support. When I sat near the edge of the bed, the sides collapsed quite a bit. I felt like I might roll off the side of the mattress whenever I rested near the edge. 

DreamCloud Mattress - Edge Support

Durability

Because the DreamCloud mattress contains durable and high-quality materials, it shouldn’t sag as the years go on. I expect this bed to last between six and eight years

Off-gassing

When opening up a bed-in-a-box mattress, it is normal to notice a slight chemical smell. In the biz, we call this mattress off-gassing, and we did notice this with the DreamCloud mattress. However, this smell went away after we let the DreamCloud mattress air out for 48 hours.

Noise

I didn’t hear any squeaking sounds when I moved around on top of the DreamCloud mattress. The individually-wrapped coils are the only things that could potentially make noise, so it’s possible the mattress could squeak after a few years of use. 

Sex

Couples looking for a good mattress for sex usually want to pick something bouncy and responsive; this will make it easier for them to move around and reposition on the mattress. The DreamCloud mattress fits the bill for sure, and sexual partners should find it to be a great match.

DreamCloud Company Policies

Company policies are always an important factor in the decision-making process. DreamCloud’s policies are unique, so be sure you review them before you purchase a DreamCloud mattress.

Warranty

The DreamCloud mattress comes with the security of a lifetime warranty.This means that if your mattress gets damaged from normal use, the company will replace or repair it for free. 

Sleep Trial

The DreamCloud offers a 365-day trial, nearly quadrupling the industry standard. 

Return Policy

If you realize that the DreamCloud is not the best fit, you can return the mattress within the 365-day trial period. Customers who are not 100% satisfied will receive a full refund.

Common DreamCloud Mattress Complaints

Many DreamCloud customers have no complaints. However, because the mattress features five layers of memory foam and coils, the DreamCloud is heavier than average. Some people said it was difficult to move the mattress and set it up in their bedroom. The good news is that customers have the option to purchase Premium In-Home Setup for about $200. 

How Does DreamCloud Mattress Compare to Others?

Is everyone ready to do some comparison shopping? Let’s see how the DreamCloud compares to related mattresses:

DreamCloud vs DreamCloud Premier

Product
Firmness
Price
Score
DreamCloud Original Mattress
Firm: 7.5/10
$839 - $2178
4.0/5
DreamCloud Premier Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
$1169 - $2998
4.1/5
Product
DreamCloud Original Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 7.5/10
Price
$839 - $2178
Score
4.0/5
Product
DreamCloud Premier Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Price
$1169 - $2998
Score
4.1/5

The DreamCloud Premier is more luxurious than the baseline model, so it comes at a higher price point. The Premier mattress has a plush feel, making it a better choice for most side sleepers. If you want a firmer mattress that costs less, the original DreamCloud mattress is the way to go. 

A man side sleeps on the DreamCloud Premier Rest
Who Should Choose the DreamCloud Mattress? Who Should Choose the DreamCloud Premier Mattress? 
People who want to save moneyThose who want a more luxurious mattress
Fans of firm mattressesFans of plush mattresses
Stomach sleepersSide sleepers

Make sure to read our DreamCloud vs DreamCloud Premier Mattress comparison for more info.

DreamCloud vs Saatva

Product
Firmness
Price
Score
DreamCloud Original Mattress
Firm: 7.5/10
$839 - $2178
4.0/5
Saatva Mattress
Multiple firmness options
$1395 - $2990
4.3/5
Product
DreamCloud Original Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 7.5/10
Price
$839 - $2178
Score
4.0/5
Product
Saatva Mattress
Firmness
Multiple firmness options
Price
$1395 - $2990
Score
4.3/5

The DreamCloud and Saatva mattress are somewhat similar in that they feature coils in their designs and some plusher layers right on top. However, the DreamCloud mattress has one set of individually-wrapped coils, while the Saatva features two sets of coils. The Saatva mattress is also available in multiple firmness levels: Plush Soft, Luxury Firm and Firm. If you want more options, the Saatva might be the best choice. 

man sleeping on his back on the Saatva mattress
Who Should Choose the DreamCloud Mattress? Who Should Choose the Saatva Mattress? 
People who want to save moneyThose who want firmness options
Back and stomach sleepersPeople looking for a high-end mattress
Those who want a bed-in-a-box mattressPeople who want a mattress that does not come inside a box

Read our full DreamCloud vs Saatva mattress comparison to learn more.

The Takeaway

The DreamCloud mattress is a firm bed that works well for most back sleepers. It has a hybrid construction, which gives it a balanced feel. And unlike many hybrid beds on the market, the DreamCloud is sold at a budget-friendly price.

Though there are many things to love about the DreamCloud mattress, it’s not a great match for most heavyweight people. If you weigh more than 230 lb, you may need a mattress that offers more pressure relief. Take a look at our list of the best mattresses for heavy people for some options.

DreamCloud Mattress FAQs

Is DreamCloud a good mattress?

The DreamCloud is a good mattress, but it is a better fit for certain types of sleepers. Hot sleepers, back sleepers and fans of responsive mattresses should like the DreamCloud. Heavyweight people may not get the lumbar support they need, however.

Is DreamCloud good for side sleepers?

The DreamCloud mattress is a good fit for lightweight side sleepers, but medium weight and heavyweight side sleepers might think it is too firm.

Do you need a box spring with the DreamCloud mattress?

The DreamCloud mattress does not require a box spring.

How long do I need to wait before I can sleep on my DreamCloud mattress?

You can sleep on your DreamCloud 24 hours after you have unrolled it.

How thick is the DreamCloud mattress?

The DreamCloud mattress is 12″ tall.

Do DreamCloud mattresses sag?

The materials and construction of this mattress are high-quality, meaning that this mattress should be long-lasting and it won’t sag. You should expect this mattress to last between six and eight years.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.