Best Mattresses Without Fiberglass

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Recently, fiberglass has been a hot topic – specifically, fiberglass in mattresses. Some mattress manufacturers use fiberglass as an affordable flame retardant, and there are differing opinions on whether or not this is dangerous for consumers. 

If you want to stay away from fiberglass completely, you’re in luck. There are many high-quality mattresses that do not contain fiberglass anywhere in their construction. All of these mattresses have been put through our rigorous testing process, because in addition to highlighting mattresses that are fiberglass-free, I wanted to make sure the products I’m recommending meet Mattress Clarity’s high standards. I’ve put together my list of the best mattresses without fiberglass to get you started. Let’s get to it!

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress Without Fiberglass?

The Emma Hybrid Comfort earns the top spot on our list of the best mattresses without fiberglass. It’s on the firm side, which makes it a fantastic choice for many back and stomach sleepers.

The Best Mattresses Without Fiberglass

Best Mattresses Without Fiberglass: Video Roundup

How We Chose Our Products

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

For this list, we chose a group of mattresses that do not contain fiberglass. We also made sure to choose mattresses with a variety of designs, firmnesses, and price points. There should be a fiberglass-free mattress for most types of sleepers. 

Compare The Best Mattresses Without Fiberglass

Emma Hybrid Comfort Bear Original Mattress Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Helix Dawn Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Emma Hybrid Comfort Bear Original Mattress Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Helix Dawn Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Firm: 8/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10 Firm: 8/10 Soft: 6/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Foam Foam Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Stomach Back & Side Combination Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Stomach Back & Side Back Back & Stomach

Best Mattress For Heavy People- Emma Hybrid Comfort

Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Mattress for Heavy People

Emma Hybrid Comfort

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a hybrid mattress that is designed to support all weights while also promoting a cool night of sleep.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Features zoning that provides extra support
Cooling features
Great value mattress
Cons
Too firm for lightweight sleepers
Not great for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take on Why the Emma Hybrid Comfort is Best Overall

If you’re a larger person like me, you know how difficult it is to find the right mattress. And, if you’re worried about fiberglass, your pool of options is even smaller. However, the Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress will give you the support you need and does not contain fiberglass. 

The Emma Hybrid Comfort is made specifically with larger people in mind. It features high-density foams that prevent sagging in the mattress and extra-supportive coils tailored to fit bigger bodies. You’ll get all the support you require on the Emma Hybrid. 

If you sleep with a partner, the Emma Hybrid also has you covered. It is rated to support heavier weight, and its responsive design makes it a great mattress for sex

What our testers say: “The Emma Hybrid Comfort is a very supportive mattress that should work for even much heavier stomach sleepers. The zoning also provides more support toward the center of the mattress, helping to keep the hips elevated. Heavier stomach sleepers don’t want to skimp on support, and the Emma Hybrid Comfort has that in spades.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • The Emma Hybrid Comfort’s transition layer provides zoned support, which means that it props up areas of your body while letting other areas sink in and receive pressure relief. This is an especially important factor for larger sleepers.
  • This mattress is quite durable, which is why we consider it a good value mattress. The price is quite high, but you can feel comfortable in your investment knowing that, if properly cared for, this mattress can last you for many years.

What to Keep in Mind About the Emma Hybrid Comfort

  • Lightweight sleepers, especially lightweight side sleepers, will probably find this mattress too firm. Instead, look for a soft mattress that provides good pressure relief. We suggest you consider the Nolah Original.

Is There Fiberglass in the Emma Hybrid Comfort?

I reached out to a customer service representative to ask how the Emma Hybrid Comfort is constructed without fiberglass. Jimmy told me, “Our mattresses don’t have fiberglass and our team uses different materials for fire retardant such as acrylic and rayon.”

Other Customer reviews

This Emma mattress has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 262 customer reviews on the company website. Positive feedback touches on the bounciness of the mattress, how supportive it is for heavyweight sleepers, and the quality of construction. Negative feedback largely revolves around issues with customer service.

Read the full Emma Hybrid Comfort mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Emma Hybrid Comfort Mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses of 2024 for more great options!

Best Value Mattress Without Fiberglass – Bear Original

Best Value Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Value Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Value Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Good for couples
Provides great support for a foam mattress
Lifetime warranty
Cons
Not very durable
Bad for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re looking for the best cheap mattress without fiberglass, it might be difficult. Many cheaper mattress brands use fiberglass to keep costs low. However, with the Bear Original (our second Bear mattress on this list), you get a great value and no fiberglass. 

While you will sink into the mattress enough to receive pressure relief, the firm transition layers in the Bear will help keep you from feeling stuck in the mattress. This means that the Bear isn’t as hard to move around on as some all-foam mattresses are. 

And, last but certainly not least, the Bear mattress comes in at just under $1,000 for a queen. There’s nothing like a product that does everything you need it to at a reasonable price. 

What our testers say: “Side sleepers will also have a great experience on the original Bear. They will feel great pressure relief on their hips and shoulders.” Joe Auer, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Original

  • Like many memory foam mattresses, the Bear does a great job at isolating motion. What this means is that as your partner tosses and turns on their side of the bed you’ll be less likely to feel it on your side. Naturally, this is an important factor for many couples.
  • As I mentioned above, the Bear mattress is quite affordable, especially considering its quality and the fact that it comes with a lifetime warranty. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Original

  • Based on our testing, we gave the Bear a mediocre score of 3 out of 5 for durability. This doesn’t necessarily mean that the mattress will not hold up over time, but if not properly cared for you may notice some sagging after several years. If durability is very important to you then we suggest you consider a hybrid mattress.
  • If you’re a stomach sleeper or a heavyweight person then you’ll likely prefer a firmer mattress than the Bear. The Titan Plus or the Plank Firm will provide much more support and likely be a better fit for you.

Is There Fiberglass in the Bear Original?

When asked what is used in the Bear Original in place of fiberglass, BG (a customer service rep) told me, “We use a fiberglass-free, fire-retardant sock made of hydrated silica, rayon, polyester and cotton.”

Other Customer reviews

The Bear mattress has an average score of 4.5 out of 5 based on 10,153 user reviews from the company website. While many praise it for its comfort (with some even saying they’ve purchased multiple), there are some unhappy customers who point out that the mattress sags after a fairly short time.

Read the full Bear mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Bear Mattress, check out our list of the best mattress for the money for more great options!

Best Mattress For Back Sleepers Without Fiberglass- Helix Midnight Luxe

Best for Back Sleepers

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Back Sleepers

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Back Sleepers

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Fantastic edge support
Very durable
Good for couples
Cons
Expensive
Not great for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Back sleeping on the Helix Midnight Luxe, you will feel the right balance of comfort and support. Your hips will sink into a soft pillow top while two sets of coils keep your spine properly supported. Add in some zoning for extra lumbar support, and the Helix Midnight Luxe offers everything back sleepers should be looking for.

In addition to being great for back sleepers, this mattress excelled in every one of our performance tests. This means it has great support, durability, cooling, motion isolation, and edge support. It’s very rare for a mattress to impress us in each of these fields. 

The Helix Midnight Luxe is on the expensive side, but for the quality we think this mattress is well worth the price. 

What our testers say: “Back sleeping feels fantastic on the Helix Midnight Luxe. Even as a larger person, I get great support from the coils. I can feel the extra support from the zoned lumbar area. At the same time, the plush pillow top cushions my body and makes for a very comfortable night of sleep. It is one of the best mattresses for back sleepers.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

Why We Love the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • Many hybrid mattresses do a poor job of isolating motion. The Helix Midnight Luxe, on the other hand, does a great job of keeping motion waves from spreading from one side of the mattress to the other. This makes it a great option for couples.
  • This mattress has fantastic edge support. So, if you like to sleep close to the border of the bed you shouldn’t feel any sagging under your weight on the Helix Midnight Luxe. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • As I mentioned above, this mattress is on the expensive side. A queen will cost you over $2,000 before sales. If you’re interested in a mattress with similar features for a lower price, check out the non-Luxe version of the mattress, the Helix Midnight.

Is There Fiberglass in the Helix Midnight Luxe?

Linaya, a customer service representative from Helix, gave me some information on how the Helix mattresses are free of fiberglass: “The flame retardant yarn that is used is Rayon, a derivative of cellulose (bamboo fiber). We use a chemical free Rayon barrier that is in the form of a small foam layer. Rayon fiber is a manufactured fiber composed of 100% regenerated cellulose.”

Other Customer reviews

This mattress has an average rating of 4.4 out of 5 based on 5,588 reviews from the Helix website. Among the 5-star reviews, there are quite a few that mention the mattress being very helpful for back pain, especially for those who sleep on their back. One of the most common complaints is that the Helix MIdnight Luxe arrived damaged.

Read the full Helix Midnight Luxe mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight Luxe, check out our list of the best mattress for back sleepers for more great options!

Best Hybrid Mattress Without Fiberglass- Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Multiple firmness options
Balanced foam feel
Good durability
Cons
On the expensive side
Not great for heavyweight sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Buying a hybrid mattress is a great way to get the best of both worlds. Hybrid mattresses offer the comfort of foam and the support of coils. If you want all the benefits of a hybrid mattress without fiberglass, take a look at the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress. 

The Bear Elite Hybrid is Bear’s most luxurious mattress. It contains high-density memory foam, zoned comfort foam, and comes in multiple firmness options. We reviewed the Luxury Firm model and found it to be a great choice for combination sleepers. 

And, like many hybrid mattresses, the Bear Elite Hybrid is a great option for hot sleepers. Phase change material keeps the mattress feeling cool to the touch, and copper infusions prevent the foams from trapping heat. 

What our testers say: “Mattress Clarity’s firmness scale ranges from one to ten, with 6.5/10 representing medium-firm. That also happens to be what the Bear Elite Hybrid Luxury Firm model feels like. It creates a great balance of comfort and support, thanks to the strong coils and soft foam.” Elisa, Editor & Mattress Tester

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Once again, we love a mattress with multiple firmness options. Just about every type of sleeper will be able to find a version of the Bear that accommodates them. 
  • The Bear is constructed with cooling features that help regulate temperature and keep the mattress nice and cool as you lie on it. The phase change material in the cover can help lower body temperature, while the copper-infused foam can help to absorb and dissipate heat.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Like the WinkBed, this mattress is on the pricier side. If a more affordable mattress is what you’re after, then consider the Nolah Original.
  • The Bear has a bouncy, responsive feel. If you’re more interested in a mattress that provides a hugging feeling, then you’ll want to instead look into an all-foam mattress.

Is There Fiberglass in the Bear Elite Hybrid?

I again reached out to Bear to see if there was anything unique to the Bear Elite Hybrid’s fiberglass-free construction, but BG told me “The Elite uses the same [fire-retardant] sock [as the Bear Original].” BG

Other Customer reviews

The Bear Elite Hybrid has an average rating of 4.4 out of 5 based on 285 customer reviews on the company website. Users praise the multiple firmness options and the cooling features of the Bear. Unhappy customers complain that their mattresses did not expand correctly upon unboxing and were difficult to sleep comfortably on. 

Read the full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress, check out our list of the Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options!

Best Firm Mattress Without Fiberglass – Helix Dawn

Best Firm Mattress Without Fiberglass

Helix Dawn Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress Review

The Helix Dawn is one of the company's firmest models. Because of this, it should be a supportive option for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Firm Mattress Without Fiberglass

Helix Dawn Mattress

Helix Dawn Mattress Review

The Helix Dawn is one of the company's firmest models. Because of this, it should be a supportive option for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Helix Dawn Mattress Review
Best Firm Mattress Without Fiberglass

Helix Dawn Mattress

The Helix Dawn is one of the company's firmest models. Because of this, it should be a supportive option for stomach sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Good option for hot sleepers
Good for back sleepers who prefer a firm mattress
Has good bounce, so you won’t sink in too far
Cons
Not great for side sleepers
Some won’t enjoy the firm feel

Our Expert’s Take

If you have no idea what type of mattress is right for you, Helix is a great place to start. The brand offers a line of hybrid mattresses that range from very soft to very firm. And, no matter what model you choose, it will be free of fiberglass. 

For fans of firm mattresses, I recommend the Helix Dawn mattress. The Helix Dawn is the firmest model in the Helix line and scored a 7.5/10 during our tests. This is a whole point firmer than 6.5, which is the industry standard for medium-firm. 

With its firm, supportive feel, the Helix Dawn is a great choice for stomach sleepers. Lying down on the Helix Dawn, you will feel support under your hips and across your entire body. 

What our testers say: “We found the Helix Dawn to be an excellent match for stomach sleeping. The firm, supportive nature of this mattress helped ensure that our hips stayed elevated and properly aligned with the spine.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Dawn

  • Because the Helix Dawn is on the firmer side it’s a good option for back and stomach sleepers, particularly heavyweight back sleepers and lightweight stomach sleepers, who tend to do best on a mattress that’s has some softness, but not so much that it will allow their hips to sink deep into the mattress.
  • The hybrid construction of the Helix Dawn includes a layer of coils that allows for good breathability, which helps keep the mattress cool as you sleep on it.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Dawn

  • This mattress probably won’t be soft enough for most side sleepers. If you’re a side sleeper, seek out a softer mattress that provides cushioning around your hips and shoulders, such as the Helix Midnight.

Is There Fiberglass in the Helix Dawn?

I contacted Helix customer service to ask what is used in place of fiberglass in the Helix Dawn and Felix told me, “I do not have the specific information as to what is used to avoid fiberglass being used. I can confirm that fiberglass is not used in the production of any of our mattresses.”

Other Customer reviews

Baes on 1,233 customer reviews from the Helix website, this mattress has an average rating of 4.4 out of 5. Happy customers rave about the Helix Dawn having the perfect level of firmness—firm enough to support them but soft enough to provide comfort. Some users with back pain said this bed didn’t meet their needs, though. 

Read the full Helix Dawn mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Dawn Mattress, check out our list of the best firm mattresses.

Best Mattress For Stomach Sleepers Without Fiberglass- Plank Firm Mattress

Best for Stomach Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Stomach Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Stomach Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Flippable, with a different firmness on each side
Great edge support
Good for stomach sleepers
Cons
Bad for side sleepers
Bad for couples
Doesn’t stay very cool

Our Expert’s Take

One of the firmest mattresses we’ve ever tested, the Plank Firm may sound unappealing to some. However, this level of firmness is a great match for many types of people, particularly heavyweight sleepers and stomach sleepers. 

One side of the Plank Firm comes in at an 8/10 on our firmness scale, and the other side ranks at a 9/10. This is a great value add, as the Plank Firm is basically two mattresses in one. You’ll get to try out both sides and select the one that works best for you. Though, if you’re a stomach sleeper, we think you’ll be happiest on the firmer side. 

In addition to the flippability, one of our favorite aspects of the Plank Firm is its sturdy perimeter. Sleeping on the edge of this mattress won’t be a problem, as the sides didn’t sag under even our heaviest mattress tester. This is also important for seniors, as they often use the edges of the bed to support themselves as they get in and out. 

What our testers say: “The [9/10] side of the mattress proved to be a great match for stomach sleeping. It is incredibly supportive and kept my hips fully elevated and aligned with my spine. This makes it one of the best mattresses for stomach sleeping.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

Why We Love the Plank Firm

  • We can’t overstate how much we appreciate a flippable mattress. Determining which firmness will work best for you can be difficult and even stressful. With a product like the Plank Firm you get two firmness in one. This may help ease your purchase anxiety a little bit.
  • Testing the Plank Firm on our stomachs felt fantastic. The firm support kept our hips nice and elevated, which is very important if you’re hoping to avoid back pain.

What to Keep in Mind About the Plank Firm

  • The same firmness that works wonders for stomach sleepers can make it a real challenge for side sleepers to sleep comfortably. Where stomach sleepers will want their hips to stay elevated, side sleepers need a mattress with enough give to allow their hips and shoulders to sink below the surface. We’d suggest the Bear Original if you primarily sleep on your side. 

Is There Fiberglass in the Plank Firm?

Kalen, the customer service rep I spoke to about the Plank Firm, said, “We utilize a hydrated silica fiber sock as our flame-retardant material. It is important to clarify that this material does not contain fiberglass and is completely safe, non-toxic, and free from any harmful sprays.”

Other Customer reviews

The Plank Firm has an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 2,822 user reviews from the company website. Stomach sleepers praise the mattress for providing a comfortable sleep surface and helping with their back pain. Like the Titan Plus, though, some customers found even this mattress too soft. 

Read the full Plank Firm mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Plank Firm, check out our list of the Best mattress for stomach sleepers for more great options!

Best Mattress Without Fiberglass for Side Sleepers- Nolah Original

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Mattress for Side Sleepers

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
One of the best soft mattresses on the market
Great pressure relief
Should ease hip and shoulder pain
Cons
Too soft for stomach sleepers
Not enough support for heavyweight sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Side sleepers searching for a fiberglass-free mattress will want one that has a soft feel. A softer mattress will allow your shoulders and hips to sink below the surface and receive the pressure relief they need while on your side. The Bear Original fits the bill here, particularly for light- and average-weight side sleepers.

The Nolah Original is an all-foam mattress that contains the brand’s proprietary AirFoam. This is a foam with all the benefits of memory foam and none of the drawbacks. First off, it is soft and pressure-relieving but, unlike memory foam, it will not make you sleep hot. 

Second, AirFoam is more responsive than standard memory foam. You should be able to move around and change positions easily on the Nolah Original. 

What our testers say: “Nolah is a very comfortable mattress made with proprietary foam and Avena foam. It’s a bit softer than average, so I think it’s a great fit for side sleepers. Sold only online, its a strong value and has a unique donation proposition that I think will resonate with a lot of mattress shoppers.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Original

  • As we mentioned above, the Nolah Original is a great mattress for side sleepers. Its softness allows your hips and shoulders to sink into the mattress and get the pressure relief that these sensitive areas need in order to remain pain-free.
  • Unlike some soft mattresses, the Nolah is quite responsive. Good responsiveness makes it easy to move around and change sleeping positions and makes it a good mattress for sex. 
  • The Nolah mattress is quite affordable. A queen can often be purchased for just over $1,000.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Original

  • The Nolah doesn’t provide great support. Heavyweight sleepers and stomach sleepers should seek out a firmer mattress that will do a better job of keeping them on top of the surface rather than in it. Consider the firm version of the WinkBed instead.
  • When we unboxed the mattress, there was some off-gassing, which resulted in a slight chemical odor that dissipated within a couple of days. Though harmless, this smell can be off-putting for some.

Is There Fiberglass in the Nolah Original?

Doug from Nolah assured me that there is no fiberglass in the Nolah’s construction. Specifically, he said, “We have not used any fire retardant chemicals to meet federal fire safety regulations. Instead, Nolah foam and foam hybrid mattresses use a proprietary silica based fire-retardant rayon blend that prevents heat and fire from igniting the mattress. This is what we use instead of fiberglass that some companies use for their mattresses.”

Other Customer reviews

The Nolah has an average score of 4.9 out of 5 based on 1,295 user reviews from the company website. Some reviews claim that the mattress helped reduce aches and pains while others say that it worsened shoulder and back pain. No mattress is one-size-fits-all, so make sure you do plenty of research to ensure you’re purchasing a product that accommodates your specific needs.

Read the full Nolah Original mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Nolah mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for side sleepers for more great options!

Best Mattress For Combo Sleepers- Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

Best Mattress for Combo Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Combo Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Mattress for Combo Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Multiple firmnesses
Good cooling
Affordable
Cons
Bad motion isolation
No deluxe features

Our Expert’s Take

Do you toss and turn at night and sleep in different positions? If so, I’ve got some news for you – you’re a combo sleeper. Thankfully, there are mattresses built for people just like you – mattresses like the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid. 

The Signature Hybrid is an affordable hybrid mattress that contains high-quality materials such as individually wrapped coils, gel-infused foam, and a soft-to-the-touch quilted cover. And to boot, it is totally fiberglass-free. 

As with the Saatva (which we’ll discuss further down the list), you have multiple firmness options with the Signature Hybrid. Combo sleepers will want to opt for the Luxury Firm as it provides a nice medium firmness for all three sleeping positions. You’ll get the support you need while back and stomach sleeping and the comfort you need while side sleeping. 

What our testers say: “The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid hybrid offers a plush and innerspring feel. Thanks to the multiple foam layers, there is a bit of a pillow top feel. There’s a good bounce to it, which makes it an especially good fit for combination sleepers and those preferring a “springy” sleeping surface.” ” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Signature Hybrid

  • The Signature Hybrid comes in multiple firmness options. We reviewed the Medium model specifically, which works very well for back sleepers and average-weight combination sleepers, thanks to its middle-of-the-road firmness that combines equal amounts of comfort and support.
  • The WinkBed earned a good score on our edge support test. Strong edge support means the perimeter of the bed will do a great job supporting your weight, even as you sit or lie on it. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Signature Hybrid

  • The Signature Hybrid doesn’t provide a lot in the way of motion isolation. If you sleep with a partner and one or both of you are light sleepers, then you may find that your movements disturb one another on this mattress. If this is an issue for you, consider the Puffy Lux Hybrid instead.

Is There Fiberglass in the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid?

I spoke with Kalen again about the Brooklyn Signature Hybrid. They said, “All of our mattresses use the same fire retardant I mentioned earlier – a hydrated silica fiber sock.” Like the Plank, this fiber sock is used in place of fiberglass.

Other Customer reviews

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid has an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 10,429 reviews from the company website. Happy customers praise the comfort of the affordable mattress, with some saying it helped with their joint pain. However, some say that the quality of construction is poor, and the mattress deteriorates faster than expected.

Read the full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid, check out our list of the best mattress for combination sleepers for more great options!

Best Latex Mattress Without Fiberglass- Birch Natural

Best Latex Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Latex Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Latex Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Multiple cooling features
Good for combo sleepers
Good durability
Cons
Not good for couples
Too soft for heavyweight stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

If you are looking for a latex mattress without fiberglass, I recommend the Birch Natural. Instead of fiberglass, it features organic wool. This acts as a natural fire retardant and also gives the top of the mattress a plush feel. 

In addition, the Birch contains Talalay latex, organic cotton, and individually-wrapped coils. These create a firm, supportive sleeping surface that will work for both larger people, back sleepers, and stomach sleepers. 

But, you can also add a plush Birch topper to the mattress. This will make the mattress feel softer and offer more pressure relief for you side sleepers out there. 

What our testers say: “The Birch has a feel that you find with most latex mattresses — very bouncy. The combination of latex and coils make the mattress extremely responsive, so it’s easy to move around. You should sleep on top of the mattress without sinking in too far.” Joe, Founder & Mattress Tester

What We Love About the Birch

  • The Birch sleeps real cool. First off, the hybrid construction promotes breathability, so your body heat shouldn’t get trapped in the mattress layers. On top of that, the wool and latex in the comfort layers add even more breathability on top of the layer of coils.
  • Based on our assessment of the construction, the Birch is very durable. It isn’t the most affordable mattress, but at least you’ll know that with proper care the Birch will last you for upwards of ten years.

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch

  • This mattress likely won’t be soft enough for most side sleepers. As we’ve discussed, a soft mattress is needed for side sleepers to get good pressure relief around their shoulders and hips. 
  • Once again, we’re talking about motion isolation. This mattress may make it difficult for you to sleep soundly when sharing the bed with a restless partner. If you sleep with a partner take a look at our best mattresses for couples to find a great motion isolation mattress.

Is There Fiberglass in the Birch Natural?

Felix, the same person I spoke to about the Helix Dawn, told me that, “Our mission is to build Birch products with materials sourced from nature. We use 4 elements: 100% GOTS Certified Organic Wool, Natural Talalay Latex, Organic Cotton, and USA Manufactured Steel.” Fiberglass is nowhere to be found in the Birch Natural.

Other Customer reviews

The Birch mattress has an average score of 4.6 out of 5, based on 4,161 reviews left on the company website. Customers praise the Birch’s sturdiness and its organic construction. Some, however, complained that it’s lumpy and causes back pain.

Read the full Birch Natural mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Birch Natural Mattress, check out our list of best organic mattresses for more great options!

Why Do Mattresses Have Fiberglass?

Mattresses contain materials that can be extremely flammable, so it is required that every mattress features some sort of fire retardant. While higher-end mattresses feature fire retardants like organic wool, this can be more expensive. Fiberglass is a cheaper alternative and still works to slow the spread of fire. 

Is it Safe to Sleep on a Fiberglass Mattress

If your mattress does have fiberglass, it is most likely found in the fire sock. This lays between the outer cover and inner foams and coils of your mattress. If you do not open your mattress or cut into it, you will rarely interact with fiberglass. 

If the fiberglass does escape your mattress, it may make your skin itchy or your eyes red. If inhaled, fiberglass can affect your breathing and exacerbate asthma

How to Look for Fiberglass in a Mattress

The easiest way to tell if your current mattress contains fiberglass is by looking at the tag. Mattress manufacturers are legally required to disclose any materials that their products contain, so if there is fiberglass in your mattress it will be listed on the tag as ‘glass fiber’. If you’re shopping for a new mattress and want to make sure that the mattress you’re interested in is fiberglass-free, simply reach out to a customer service representative and ask.

What To Consider When Buying A Mattress Without Fiberglass

When you’re shopping for a mattress without fiberglass, keep this list handy. It will steer you right and help you find the right mattress for you. 

Read The Fineprint

If you’ve found a mattress that you really like, make sure the mattress doesn’t really have fiberglass in it. Most brands don’t advertise “fiberglass”  in red letters on the homepage. Look at the specific mattress materials and, when in doubt, use the brand’s chat feature and ask a rep directly! 

Firmness

Whether you’re looking for a mattress with or without fiberglass, firmness is key. You want to find a mattress that offers the right firmness for your sleeping situation. Do you sleep on your back? Consider a medium-firm mattress. Are you a side sleeper? A soft mattress will be the better bet. And, stomach sleepers should find something firmer. 

Feel

What do you like your mattress to feel like? If you like to slowly sink into your mattress, a memory foam mattress might be in order. If you have mobility issues or simply like a bouncy mattress, consider something with coils, latex, or both. 

Cooling

If you sleep hot at night, your mattress might be to blame. Choose a mattress that is breathable and won’t trap heat. Innerspring, latex, and hybrid mattresses are always a safe bet. And, if you want something with memory foam, make sure that it features some sort of infusions to keep the mattress cool at night. 

Durability

If you’re staying away from cheap mattresses with fiberglass, your new mattress might be more of an investment. Research the mattress to see what types of materials it features. Does it feature high-density foam and high-grade coils or low-density foam that will sag after only a few years? Make sure that you’re getting the most bang for your buck. 

RELATED: Best Mattresses That Won’t Sag

Summary

Again, here are the best mattresses without fiberglass.

MattressBest For
Emma Hybrid ComfortBest Mattress for Heavy People
Bear OriginalBest Value Mattress
Helix Midnight LuxeBest Mattress for Back Sleepers
Bear Elite HybridBest Hybrid Mattress
Helix DawnBest Firm Mattress Without Fiberglass
Plank FirmBest Mattress for Stomach Sleepers
Nolah OriginalBest Mattress for Side Sleepers
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Mattress for Combo Sleepers
Birch NaturalBest Latex Mattress

Best Mattress Without Fiberglass FAQ’s

What is fiberglass?

Fiberglass is a combination of plastic and glass fibers. It is often used in building materials, airplanes, and roofing.

Do all mattresses have fiberglass?

No, not all mattresses have fiberglass. Some contain fiberglass as a fire retardant, but many use wool or other natural material instead.

Is it safe to sleep on a mattress with fiberglass?

Some experts say that, as long as the fiberglass stays inside your mattress, you are safe. However, some people complain about itchy eyes and skin irritation when sleeping on a mattress with fiberglass. In addition, if ingested or breathed in, fiberglass can be dangerous.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.