Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Review – Great For Back Sleepers?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

If you’re searching for a great hybrid mattress, look no further. I’m here to talk about my experience with one of the most popular hybrid mattresses out there: the Helix Midnight Luxe mattress.

This unbiased Helix Midnight Luxe mattress review will cover this bed’s firmness, feel, and everything else you need to know to decide if it’s the right pick for you.

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$1373 - $2449

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$1373 - $2449

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$1373 - $2449

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Video Review

Check out our in-depth video review to see the Helix Midnight Luxe in action.

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Overview

Helix is a mattress company that is all about options. You can choose from their standard line of hybrid mattresses or their Luxe line. They also offer a sleep quiz to match you with the Helix mattress that best suits your needs. The Luxe mattresses are the higher-end option and boast cooling covers, plush pillow tops, and advanced zoning. There are six Luxe models ranging from very soft to very firm.

The Helix Midnight Luxe is in the middle of that firmness range and offers a great balance of comfort and support. It’s their most popular model and should work for many types of sleepers.

Pros of the Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

  • It is an ideal match for back sleepers. With a firmness score of 6.5/10, it will give back sleepers a balance of comfort and support.
  • The Helix Midnight Luxe boasts a super comfy pillow top. This adds a plush feel to the top of the mattress that mimics what you might experience in a nice hotel.
  • It is a cooler sleeping mattress that will keep sleepers from overheating during the night. Its cover, foams, and coils are all designed to promote cooling and breathability.

Cons of the Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

  • The Helix Midnight Luxe isn’t firm enough for stomach sleeping. Those who sleep in this position will want to check out one of the Helix’s firmer mattresses, such as the Helix Dawn Luxe.
  • Heavier side sleepers will need something softer. Those who weigh more than 230 lb could bottom out on the mattress and feel serious pressure on their shoulders and hips. See our best mattresses for heavy people for more options.
  • It is not a great budget buy. The Helix Midnight Luxe is one of the brand’s pricier mattresses and isn’t so easy on the pocketbook.

Overall Rating

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches personally test each mattress in categories such as materials, comfort, cooling, and support. Hover over the icons to learn more about these different topics, or scroll down for a more detailed analysis on each one.

Mattress Performance Ratings

Poor
Average
Excellent

1
2
3
4
5
4.6
Overall
4.5
Support
5
Edge Support
4.5
Cooling
4.5
Motion Transfer
5
Durability
4.5
Trial Period
4.5
Warranty

Helix Midnight Luxe Firmness and Feel

As I said above, Helix offers mattresses with a variety of firmnesses. Let’s talk more about the firmness of the Helix Midnight Luxe and how that will work for different body types.

How Firm is the Helix Midnight Luxe?

The Helix Midnight Luxe has a firmness of 6.5/10, which is exactly medium-firm on our firmness scale. The plush pillow top and memory foam on top provides a good deal of comfort. Below that, the transition layers and coils provide excellent support.

The coils also feature zoning, making the mattress feel a bit firmer toward the center. Because of this, the Helix Midnight Luxe might feel firmer when you are back and stomach sleeping and softer when you are side sleeping.

If you like a medium-firm mattress, you can also look at the Helix Dusk Luxe.

Sleeping On The Helix Midnight Luxe

Back sleeping feels fantastic on the Helix Midnight Luxe. Even as a larger person, I get great support from the coils. I can feel the extra support from the zoned lumbar area. At the same time, the plush pillow top cushions my body and makes for a very comfortable night of sleep. It is one of the best mattresses for back sleepers.

Side sleeping, I am feeling some pressure on my shoulders and hips but not too much. The top layers are plush, so I don’t feel an extreme amount of pressure building up on my pressure points. If you just sleep strictly on your side, you might want to take a look at one of Helix’s softer models such as the Helix Sunset Luxe. This will provide better pressure point relief.

A wide shot of a man sleeping on his side.

The medium-firm Helix Midnight Luxe is not firm enough for me when I am stomach sleeping. Even with its zoning, it doesn’t provide enough support under my hips. Most stomach sleepers should opt for the Helix Dawn Luxe, one of their firmest models. That being said, lightweight sleepers might be okay.

What Does the Helix Midnight Luxe Feel Like?

While it contains memory foam in its construction, the Helix Midnight Luxe is a bouncier mattress overall. The transition layers and coils are responsive and make it easy to move around on and change positions on the mattress.

On top, the mattress has a plush pillow top feel, letting you sink into the material. Below that, you get a bit of that slow-moving memory foam feel. While the top is quite plush, I don’t have trouble moving around on the Helix Midnight Luxe mattress.

Sleeper WeightBack SleepersSide SleepersStomach Sleepers
Lightweight (Under 130 lb)ExcellentExcellentGood
Average (130 – 230 lb)ExcellentGoodFair
Heavyweight (Over 230 lb)GoodFairBad

Is the Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Good For Lightweight People (Under 130 lb)?

  • The Helix Midnight Luxe is a great match for lightweight back sleepers, because it offers a good balance of comfort and support.
  • It also works well for lightweight side sleepers, because the thick foam layers cushion joints.
  • It’s a good match for lightweight stomach sleepers, but some people may need a bit more hip support in order to maintain the proper spinal alignment.

Is the Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Good For Average Weight People (130 – 230 lb)?

  • It’s a great match for average weight back sleepers, thanks to its plush comfort layer and supportive coils.
  • Side sleepers who weigh less than 200 lb should get plenty of pressure relief on this mattress.
  • Stomach sleepers who weigh closer to 130 lb could feel supported on the Helix Midnight Luxe, but heavier people will need a firmer mattress.

Is the Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Good For Heavyweight People (Over 230 lb)?

  • Heavy back sleepers who weigh less than 300 lb should get enough support on this mattress.
  • It’s not the best match for heavyweight side sleepers. People who weigh more than 230 lb will compress the comfort layers a bit, which can put pressure on shoulders and hips.
  • It’s not a good match for heavyweight stomach sleepers. People in this category will sink out of alignment, which could cause lower back pain. For some better options, take a look at our list of the best mattresses for heavy people.
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score
4.6 / 5.0

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Construction

Now, let’s see exactly what is going on inside the Helix Midnight Luxe. I’ll be talking about each layer of the mattress and what its function is.

Cover

When you buy a Helix Midnight Luxe, you have a choice of two covers. You can opt for the soft cover made with Tencel fabric. This material is also hypoallergenic and breathable, promoting airflow through the top of the mattress. If you find yourself sleeping hot, you can choose the GlacioTex™ Cooling Cover. This cover is cool to the touch and is designed to draw heat away from your body.

Comfort Layer

One of the standout features of the Helix Midnight Luxe is its plush quilted pillow top. This is the bed’s main comfort layer. The top cover is quilted with soft foam that helps create the cloudlike look and feel of the mattress.

Also in the top layers, you’ll find a layer of Helix Responsive Foam. This material is proprietary to Helix and is both soft and responsive. It is also designed to have a medium-firm feel.

Beneath that, you have a layer of Copper Gel Memory Foam. The copper gel infusion is meant to prevent the memory foam from trapping too much heat. It also has a medium firmness.

A close shot of the Helix Midnight Luxe's construction

Below that, there is a layer of Memory Plus Foam. This material has a slow-moving feel specific to memory foam mattresses, and it’s pressure-relieving.

Support Layer

The main support layer of the Helix Midnight Luxe is individually-wrapped coils. These hold up the body while keeping the spine neutrally aligned. They’re zoned, so the center row of coils is firmer than the coils near the head and foot of the mattress. This helps provide extra support for the lower back, preventing back pain and helping even more with spinal alignment.

The coil layer rests on a layer of DuraDense foam. This high-density foam helps support the coils and prevents them from digging into your box spring or bed frame.

Mattress Height

The Helix Midnight Luxe is 14” tall.

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Size Options and Price

Look at the following chart for all sizes and price information for the Helix Midnight Luxe.

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin38" x 75"$1373.90
Twin XL38" x 80"$1449.00
Full54" x 75"$1749.00
Queen60" x 80"$2049.00
King76" x 80"$2449.00
California King72" x 84"$2449.00
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score
4.6 / 5.0

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Performance

I ran the Helix Midnight Luxe through a number of tests. Keep reading to see how it performed!

Sleeping Hot or Cold

The Helix Midnight Luxe sleeps super cool. Hybrid mattresses are breathable, and the Midnight Luxe is no exception. The top layers and coils leave a lot of room for airflow. I tried out the model with the cooling cover, and it helps keep me from overheating at night.

Motion Transfer

Motion transfer is always important for couples to think about. If your mattress cuts down on motion transfer, you and your partner can move around without disturbing one another.

The Helix Midnight Luxe features excellent motion isolation. I laid down on one side of the mattress while my coworker moved around on the other side. I didn’t feel those movements on my side of the mattress. This makes the Helix Midnight Luxe a great mattress for couples.

Edge Support

If you sleep with a partner, you also want to think about edge support. If your mattress has good edge support, you and your partner will be able to use the full surface area of the mattress.

The Helix Midnight Luxe has great edge support, and I feel secure sitting near the edge of the mattress. When I lie down, I don’t feel like I am going to fall off the mattress.

A man sits on the edge of the Helix Midnight Luxe

This is another great perk for couples.

Durability

The Helix Midnight Luxe features some high-density foam and other high-quality materials such as individually-wrapped coils. It is hard to gauge how long a mattress will last. Based on its construction, the Helix Midnight Luxe should last for at least 10 years. This depends on your weight and how often you use the mattress, but the Helix Midnight Luxe is a durable option.

Off-gassing

When I unboxed the Helix Midnight Luxe, there was a slight chemical smell. This is completely normal when unboxing bed-in-a-box mattresses, and the smell did dissipate after 48 hours. I recommend opening a window and waiting to sleep on the Helix Midnight mattress until this amount of time has passed.

Noise

The Helix Midnight Luxe doesn’t make any noise when I move around on it. It is a hybrid mattress, so the coils might start to squeak after many years of use. This is something to keep in mind if you are looking at a hybrid mattress.

Sex

If you want one of the best mattresses for sex, a bouncier mattress is usually a better choice. The Helix Midnight Luxe is a responsive mattress and makes it easy to move around. It’s a great mattress for sex.

Company Policies

Let’s take a closer look at Helix Sleep’s fine print.

Warranty Info

The Helix Midnight Luxe comes with a generous 15-year warranty. Warranties serve as promises to the customer that the company will replace any defective or damaged mattress. Different companies have different warranty conditions, so it’s crucial to read the fine print for more information about your coverage.

With regard to Helix, the brand will cover manufacturing defects in the mattress. In addition, if the materials start to prematurely sag or split, Helix will replace the damaged part or the entire mattress.

However, the warranty is void if you don’t use the correct foundation for the mattress, mistreat the mattress, or take off its cover.

Sleep Trial

The Helix Midnight Luxe comes with a 100-night sleep trial period, which you can use to decide if the mattress is right for you. The brand just asks that you try the mattress for at least 30 days before deciding to return it. Between the 30 day and 100 day mark, you can return your mattress for a full refund.

Return Policy

Helix offers free shipping and returns with all of its mattresses. If the mattress doesn’t work for you during the 100-night sleep trial, you can speak with a Helix representative. They will coordinate a mattress pickup with no charge to you.

How Does The Helix Midnight Luxe Compare To Other Mattresses?

It’s always a good idea to do some comparison shopping when you’re looking for a new mattress. I want to discuss how the Helix Midnight Luxe compares to similar mattresses.

Helix Midnight Luxe vs Helix Midnight

Product
Firmness
Score
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.6/5
Helix Midnight Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
4.1/5
Product
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.6/5
Product
Helix Midnight Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
4.1/5

At first glance, the Helix Midnight Luxe and Helix Midnight have a number of similarities. They’re both hybrid mattresses that feature memory foam in their comfort layer. They’re also medium-firm mattresses balancing comfort and support.

Helix Midnight Mattress - Construction

The main difference between the Midnight Luxe and Midnight can be found right on top. The Midnight Luxe has an added pillow top, but the Midnight only has foam layers. This gives the Midnight Luxe a plusher feel and makes it feel softer. Also, the Luxe version comes with an optional cooling cover, and the standard Midnight only features a breathable Tencel cover.

While they both include individually-wrapped coils, the Helix Midnight Luxe’s coils are zoned. The center of the Midnight Luxe mattress is firmer, but the standard Midnight’s isn’t.

The Helix Midnight Luxe has a number of extra features, and this means it does cost more. A queen size Midnight Luxe costs almost $1,000 more than a standard Helix Midnight.

Who Should Choose the Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress? Who Should Choose the Helix Midnight Mattress? 
Back sleepers who need more supportThose who like more of a balanced foam feel
Hot sleepersThose who want to save money
Those who want something more deluxe

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review

Helix Midnight Luxe vs DreamCloud Premier

Product
Firmness
Score
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.6/5
A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier
DreamCloud Premier Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.1/5
Product
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.6/5
A wide shot of the DreamCloud Premier
Product
DreamCloud Premier Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.1/5

The DreamCloud Premier is very similar to the Helix Midnight Luxe in construction and feel. Like the Helix Midnight Luxe, the DreamCloud Premier contains coils, multiple layers of foam, as well as a plush pillow top. It also scored a 6.5/10 on our firmness

However, the DreamCloud Premier does not feature zoning like the Helix Midnight Luxe. Because of this, it doesn’t offer as much lumbar support. In addition, the DreamCloud Premier doesn’t contain as many breathable materials, so it may sleep hotter than the Helix Midnight Luxe.

But, with its zoning and additional cooling materials, the Helix Midnight Luxe is going to cost more than the DreamCloud Premier.

Who Should Choose the Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress? Who Should Choose the DreamCloud Premier?
People with back painThose who want to save money
Hot sleepers

Read our full DreamCloud Premier mattress review

The Takeaway

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a high-end hybrid mattress with a medium-firm feel. It works well for most back and side sleepers, but stomach sleepers who weigh more than 130 lb will need a more supportive mattress.

FAQs

How much does a Helix Midnight Luxe mattress cost?

A Helix Midnight Luxe mattress ranges in price from $1,199 for a twin to $2,499 for a California king.

How thick is the Helix Midnight Luxe mattress?

The Helix Midnight Luxe is 14” thick.

What’s the difference between Helix and Helix Luxe?

The Helix Luxe mattresses feature an additional pillow top as well as an optional pillow top, but the Helix mattresses do not. Also, the Helix Luxe mattresses have a zoned support layer, but the standard Helix mattresses do not.

Does the Helix Midnight Luxe sag?

As a hybrid and luxury mattress, the Helix Midnight Luxe should last you at least 10 years. Its high-quality foams and strong coils should prevent any premature sagging.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.