Nectar Mattress Review: Affordable Comfort?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Memory foam is known for its plush, slow-moving feel, and Nectar is one of the most popular foam mattresses on the market. If you need an extra boost of pressure relief, this could be a good option. 

But is this the bed of your dreams? To help you find out, I personally tested the Nectar mattress and assessed its firmness, feel, cooling features, and price point. Keep reading for my unbiased take on whether it’s right for you in this Nectar mattress review.

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$699 - $1798

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$699 - $1798

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$699 - $1798

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

How the Nectar Mattress Ranks

At Mattress Clarity, we rank mattresses based on hands-on testing in our sleep testing lab. Here’s where the Nectar mattress has ranked on some of our 2024 roundups:

Nectar Mattress Video Review

Nectar Mattress Review: Our Expert’s Take

The Nectar is one of the best bed-in-a-box mattresses, and it contains multiple layers of high-quality memory foam. This medium-firm mattress offers the quicksand-like comfort so many people associate with memory foam.

Based on my testing in our sleep lab, the Nectar is one of the most comfortable memory foam mattresses on the market. But, like all mattresses, it has its pros and cons. Let’s take a closer look:

Pros of the Nectar Mattress
Slow-moving foam feel
Good pressure relief
Good value for the money
Pressure relief, especially for side sleepers
Cons of the Nectar Mattress
Not enough support for those over 230 lb
Not very responsive or bouncy
Not ideal for most stomach sleepers

What We Love About Nectar Mattress

  • Thanks to its plush foam layers, the Nectar mattress has a slow-moving feel and offers lots of pressure relief.
  • It’s sold at a value price, and it should last between eight and 10 years. This makes it one of the best mattresses for the money.
  • Because it contours the body, it helps alleviate pain along shoulders and hips. This makes it a particularly good fit for most side sleepers. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Mattress

  • It’s not supportive enough for people who weigh more than 230 lb. 
  • Fans of responsive and bouncy mattresses won’t like the Nectar all-foam mattress. Instead, they might want to consider getting the Nectar Hybrid mattress.
  • It’s not supportive enough for stomach sleepers. In this sleeping position, people run the risk of developing or worsening lower back pain. 

Overall Rating

Our team of mattress testing experts personally test each mattress in categories such as support, cooling, motion transfer, and durability. Here’s our full breakdown of ratings:

Mattress Performance Ratings

Poor
Average
Excellent

1
2
3
4
5
4.3
Overall Score
3.5
Support
4
Cooling
4
Edge Support
4.5
Motion Transfer
4
Durability
5
Trial Period
5
Warranty

Note: Looking for a mattress with stronger support and durability? Check out our Best Mattresses That Won’t Sag.

Other user reviews

On Nectar’s site, buyers rated the Helix Midnight 4.7 out of 5 stars with over 57,000 reviews at the time of writing. Many lauded this bed for its ability to alleviate back pain, but some commented that the Nectar was too hard for their taste.

Nectar Mattress Firmness and Feel

Depending on your sleeping position or body type, the Nectar mattress could feel soft or firm. Let’s take a closer look at how it feels for different types of people.

How Firm is the Nectar Mattress?

In my experience, the Nectar feels like a 6.5/10 on our firmness scale, which is the industry standard for medium-firm. The top memory foam layer feels quite soft, and the layers get progressively firmer beneath that. Altogether, the medium-firm Nectar mattress exhibits a nice balance of comfort and support. 

Nectar Lush Firmness Scale
Nectar Mattress Review: Affordable Comfort?

It’s important to note that I am a heavier person who is 6’7”. If you are smaller than I am, you may have a different experience. Check out our chart below to learn whether the Nectar mattress will work for you.  

Sleeping on the Nectar Mattress

I felt great while back sleeping on the Nectar mattress. The memory foam layers conformed to the curves of my body, and I felt a good amount of lumbar support from the high-density base layer. 

While side sleeping, I felt a little bit of pressure along my shoulder and hip. That’s likely because I’m a heavier person, and I sank into the top layer quite a bit. Average weight and lightweight side sleepers should get the pressure relief they need on the Nectar mattress.

A man sleeps on his side on the Nectar Classic
Lead Reviewer Marten rests on the Nectar mattress during testing

I didn’t get the necessary hip support whenever I slept on my stomach. I felt my hips bow into the top layer quite a bit, which put strain along my lower back. Some lightweight stomach sleepers may get the support they need, but in general, the Nectar mattress isn’t a great match for stomach sleepers. Take a look at our list of the best firm mattresses for some better options. 

What Does the Nectar Mattress Feel Like?

The Nectar has a slow-moving feel that most people associate with memory foam. When I rested on the Nectar, I felt myself slowly sinking into the surface. The top layers conformed to the shape of my body, and I felt some nice body contouring. 

Sleeper WeightBack SleepersSide SleepersStomach Sleepers
Lightweight (Under 130 lb)ExcellentGoodExcellent
Average (130 – 230 lb)ExcellentExcellentBad
Heavyweight (Over 230 lb)GoodBadBad
If you weigh more than 230 lb, take a look at our list of the best mattresses for heavy people. These beds are quite supportive and won’t sag as the years go on. 

Nectar Mattress Construction

A foam mattress is opened to show its construction.
Nectar mattress construction in our mattress testing lab

Now, I will open up the Nectar mattress and look at its materials. I’ll discuss each layer and any standout features.

Cover

The Nectar’s Cooling Cover is made of polyethylene. This is a breathable material that helps keep the top of the mattress cool to the touch.

Comfort Layers

On top of the Nectar mattress, there’s a 3″ layer of gel foam. It’s not very responsive and it takes a few moments to reform after I apply pressure. The gel infusion helps offsets the heat-trapping properties of the memory foam.

Below that, there’s a firmer, higher density 2″ layer of Soft Conventional Foam. It acts as a transition layer and eases sleepers down to the support layer beneath. It also dynamically adjusts to movement, making it easier to move around the mattress.

Support Layer

On the bottom of the Nectar, there’s a 7″ layer of high-density base foam. This material offers more lumbar support and makes the mattress quite durable.

I recommend pairing the Nectar with the extremely supportive Nectar Adjustable Base.

Mattress Height

The Nectar is 12″ tall, which is about average for an all-foam mattress.

Nectar Mattress Size Options and Price

So, how much does the Nectar cost? Check out the following chart to see the most up-to-date size and price information.

Note: The chart reflects prices before discounts.

SizeDimensionsPrice
Twin38” x 75”$699.00
Twin XL38” x 80”$899.00
Full54” x 75”$949.00
Queen60” x 80”$1099.00
King76” x 80”$1399.00
California King72” x 84”$1399.00

If you want a more luxurious bed, check out our Nectar Premier Copper mattress review

Nectar Mattress Performance

I put the Nectar mattress through several tests to assess its cooling capabilities, motion transfer and edge support. Keep reading to see how the Nectar mattress performed!

Sleeping Hot or Cold
4.5 out of 5

The Nectar is an all-foam mattress, so it does trap a bit of heat. That said, the Nectar has a cooling cover and gel-infused memory foam, which helps prevent the mattress from getting too hot.
When I slept on the Nectar, I didn’t feel particularly hot. But if you tend to run hot, you might not want to choose the Nectar mattress. Take a look at our list of the best cooling mattresses for some better options.

Motion Transfer
4.5 out of 5

Nectar Mattress - Motion Transfer
Testing the Nectar for motion isolation in our sleep lab

Looking for one of the best mattresses for couples? The Nectar might fit the bill. This mattress isolates motion well, which means you shouldn’t wake up if your partner or pet moves around next to you. 

To test the Nectar’s motion isolation, I placed a glass of water in the center of the mattress and pushed it into the surrounding area. The water was barely disturbed, which indicates the mattress isolates motion well. But I didn’t stop there! I also asked my coworker, Joe, to roll around on one side of the mattress while I relaxed on the other side. When my coworker switched sleeping positions, I didn’t feel his movement come over to my side of the bed. 

Edge Support
4 out of 5

The Nectar mattress has good edge support. When I sat along the side of the Nectar mattress, it didn’t collapse very much. I also felt quite secure when I rested near the edge of the mattress. This is great news for couples because it means each person can enjoy more of the surface area of the mattress.

Nectar Classic Mattress - Edge Support
Testing the Nectar in the mattress testing lab

Durability
4 out of 5

The Nectar is an all-foam mattress, which means it doesn’t contain coils or extra-durable materials such as latex. However, this mattress does have a high-density base layer, which aids in durability. Based on its construction, I estimate the Nectar mattress will last between eight and 10 years

Off-gassing

The Nectar is a bed-in-a-box mattress, so customers can expect some mattress off-gassing. When I opened the Nectar, there was a slight chemical emanating from the mattress. It’s nothing to worry about, though–-the smell faded away after 48 hours. 

Noise

Because the Nectar is an all-foam mattress, it didn’t make any noise when I rolled around or changed positions. It absorbed the majority of sound, and the only squeaks or creaks came from the bed frame.

Sex

Couples who need the best mattress for sex are going to want a more responsive mattress that makes it easy to move around. Sexual partners might feel trapped by the Nectar as they try to reposition.

Nectar Company Policies

Looking to purchase a Nectar mattress? I’ll walk you through Nectar’s company policies. It’s important to understand the fine print before clicking “add to cart.”

Warranty
5 out of 5

Rest assured knowing that your new Nectar mattress comes with a forever warranty. This means the company will repair or replace your mattress if it has any construction, quality or material defects.

Sleep Trial
5 out of 5

With a 365-night trial, you’ll have enough time to decide if the Nectar mattress is the right fit for you.

Return Policy
5 out of 5

If you decide that you don’t love your Nectar mattress, you may return it for a full refund within the first year. Please note: You won’t be refunded any fees for shipping, Premium In-Home Setup or state-based recycling.

RELATED: Best Online Mattress

Common Nectar Mattress Complaints

Every company has its weaknesses, and I found it important to acknowledge some of the Nectar’s less favorable customer reviews.

Some people said the Nectar mattress was too soft to support their spine, which exacerbated their back pain. If you’re a heavier person, you may not get enough lumbar support on the mattress. Take a look at our list of the best mattresses for back pain for some good options. 

Other customers complained about the Nectar mattress trapping body heat. Even though this mattress has some cooling features, it may not be a good fit for those who tend to run hot. If you fall in this category, you may want to consider the Nectar Premier Copper or Nectar Hybrid instead. 

How Does Nectar Mattress Compare to Others?

Let’s see how the Nectar compares to some of its main competitors. You can compare Nectar to more mattresses by checking out our mattress comparison page and finding popular comparisons such as Nectar vs Brooklyn Bedding.

Nectar vs Purple

Product
Firmness
Price
Score
Nectar Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
$699 - $1798
4.3/5
Purple Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
$999 - $2198
4.1/5
Product
Nectar Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Price
$699 - $1798
Score
4.3/5
Product
Purple Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Price
$999 - $2198
Score
4.1/5

The main difference between the Nectar and Purple mattresses can be found in their comfort layers. The Nectar features soft memory foam, and the Purple features a hyper-elastic gel polymer grid.

A cross section shot of the Purple mattress's construction.
The Purple mattress’ grid

This gel grid feels both squishy and firm, and there’s nothing else quite like it. In general, the Purple mattress works best for heavier people because they will compress the grid enough to feel its pressure-relieving qualities. 

Who Should Choose the Nectar Mattress? Who Should Choose the Purple Mattress? 
Lightweight sleepersHeavyweight sleepers
Side sleepersCombination sleepers
Those who prefer the classic slow-moving memory foam feelThose who want a more durable mattress

Read our full Nectar vs Purple mattress comparison for more information.

Nectar vs Casper

Product
Firmness
Price
Score
Nectar Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
$699 - $1798
4.3/5
Casper Original Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
$895 - $1695
3.7/5
Product
Nectar Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Price
$699 - $1798
Score
4.3/5
Product
Casper Original Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Price
$895 - $1695
Score
3.7/5

The Nectar and Casper are both all-foam mattresses, but they’re different in a few ways. The Nectar has memory foam right on top, and the Casper features a more responsive polyfoam. Because of this, the Nectar has a slow-moving foam feel, and the Casper has a balanced foam feel.

A man sleeps on his side on the Casper mattress
Testing contouring in our sleep lab

Also, the Casper features a Zoned Support system while the Nectar doesn’t. This makes the Casper feel firmer when people are back and stomach sleeping and softer when they are side sleeping.

Who Should Choose the Nectar Mattress? Who Should Choose the Casper Mattress? 
Lightweight and average weight side sleepersBack sleepers
CouplesCombination sleepers
Those who prefer a traditional memory foam feelThose who prefer more of a balanced foam feel

Read our full Nectar vs Casper mattress comparison to learn more.

Final Thoughts

The Nectar mattress is great for people who love slow-moving memory foam mattresses. Average weight and lightweight sleepers should feel a good amount of comfort and support while back and side sleeping. Heavier people, and most stomach sleepers, won’t get the necessary hip support. 

Looking for a mattress with a bit more overall support? Check out our best medium-firm mattresses and best firm mattresses for some options.

Nectar Mattress FAQs

Is Nectar a good mattress?

The Nectar is a good mattress, but it may not work well for everyone. The Nectar mattress works well for most side sleepers and couples, but it’s not a great option for heavy people and stomach sleepers.

How long do Nectar mattresses last?

The Nectar mattress should last between eight and ten years, which is pretty standard for all-foam mattresses. It has a high-density base layer that should prevent the mattress from sagging.

Do you need a box spring with the Nectar mattress?

The Nectar mattress does not require a box spring.

Is Nectar or Purple better?

Neither mattress is better, but they are better for different types of people. The Nectar is better for side sleepers, fans of memory foam and lightweight sleepers; the Purple is better for combination sleepers, larger people and those who want something more durable.

Does Nectar take your old mattress?

If you opt for Nectar’s Premium In-Home Setup, the company  will deliver your mattress, set it up in your bedroom and take away your old mattress. This service costs $199.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.