Most Comfortable Mattresses 2022

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs, where we are compensated for items purchased through links from our site. See our disclosure page for details.

As much as we like to go into great detail about different beds, most people just want to know one thing: Is it comfortable? Well, we’ve done the work for you by choosing 10 of the most comfortable mattresses that should work for a variety of sleepers. If it’s time to replace your mattress, this is the article for you!

Our Top Picks

The most comfortable mattresses are:

How We Chose Our Products

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

We recognize that comfort is subjective and will vary from person to person, so a lot of our decision-making came down to what feels good to us. At the same time, we wanted to make sure that we picked high-quality beds, so we only choose mattresses that have an overall score of at least 3.5 out of 5. Of those, eight mattresses scored at least a 4 out of 5.

YouTube player
Best Overall

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Out of the many mattresses we have reviewed, the WinkBed is simply one of the most comfortable. It is a hybrid mattress that features supportive coils and a plush pillow top. You have a few firmness options, but the Luxury Firm model is our favorite. It offers a balance of comfort and support for multiple sleeping positions. No matter what model you choose, it will contain zoning as well. This helps keep your spine neutrally-aligned, keeping you comfortable all night long.

What Makes the WinkBed Stand Out?

  • The WinkBed is one of the best luxury mattresses.
  • This hybrid mattress is breathable and a great option for hot sleepers.
  • The WinkBed offers a responsive yet soft pillow top feel.

Read our full WinkBeds mattress review.

Most Comfortable Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Most Comfortable Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Most Comfortable Hybrid Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

If you want the best of both worlds, a hybrid mattress could be right for you. The Helix Midnight Luxe is the most comfortable hybrid mattress we have tried and offers the support of coils and the comfort of multiple layers of foam plus a pillow top. This is Helix’s most popular model and features a medium firmness that will work for many types of sleepers. Zoned coils also provide targeted support and comfort for all three sleeping positions.

What Makes the Helix Midnight Luxe Stand Out?

  • The Helix Midnight Luxe’s features a cooling cover and is a great option for hot sleepers.
  • This hybrid mattress is a luxurious, durable pick.
  • It will work for fans of pillow top mattresses.

Read the full Helix Midnight Luxe mattress review.

Best Affordable Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Affordable Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Affordable Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Nectar Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Those who are looking for an affordable, comfortable mattress should be blown away by the Nectar. With discounts, a Queen-size is currently less than $1,000. When lying down, sleepers will be greeted by a thick layer of some of the slowest-moving memory foam around. It’s designed to conform to the curves of the body and offer fantastic comfort.

What Makes the Nectar Stand Out?

  • The Nectar should feel particularly comfortable for side sleepers, who should sink into the thick memory foam layer and feel pressure relief on their shoulders and hips. Back sleepers may also get some nice contouring and support.
  • The memory foam is infused with cooling gel, so it shouldn’t trap a significant amount of heat.
  • For those who want some extra support at the bottom of the bed, Nectar also offers an adjustable base.

Read our full Nectar mattress review.

Most Comfortable Firm Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud, scored as a firm mattress on our firmness scale, is a high-quality hybrid that is sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Original Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Most Comfortable Firm Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud, scored as a firm mattress on our firmness scale, is a high-quality hybrid that is sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Original Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Most Comfortable Firm Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud, scored as a firm mattress on our firmness scale, is a high-quality hybrid that is sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Original Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

The DreamCloud’s solid 7.5/10 firmness comes from supportive coils topped with high-density foams. Together, they prevent you from sinking into the bed and offer the extra support usually required by stomach sleepers.

What Makes the DreamCloud Stand Out?

  • Back sleepers should also be comfortable on this bed, as long as they enjoy a firm mattress.
  • Being a hybrid mattress, the DreamCloud is quite breathable. The coils promote airflow, and gel infusions keep the top foam layer from trapping too much heat.
  • Thanks to the responsive coils, it should be easy to move around on the DreamCloud, making it a great mattress for sex.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review.

Best for Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best for Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best for Side Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress has three firmness options: soft, medium, and firm. Most side sleepers will prefer the soft model because it provides plenty of pressure point relief along their shoulders and hips. We also love the Signature Hybrid for its durable construction. The strong coils support the lower back and gently contour the body, and the plush pillow-top gives the mattress a luxurious quality.

What Makes the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Stand Out?

  • The mattress contains responsive TitanFlex foam, which helps people stay cool at night.
  • Heavier folks should get the support they need in the medium model.
  • There’s some impressive edge support here, so you can comfortably rest near the end of the bed.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review.

Best Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic innerspring mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. It comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic innerspring mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. It comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Stomach Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic innerspring mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. It comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Saatva Mattress Review

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review

Stomach sleepers who want a comfortable mattress should be looking for something firmer and more supportive. The Saatva Classic is going to be a great bet! The mattress comes in three firmness options, and the Firm model provides a firm sleeping surface. With two sets of coils and durable foams in the comfort layers, you should get all the support you need under your hips. They shouldn’t sink down into the mattress and cause you back pain. For stomach sleepers, support is the name of the game, and Saatva has that and then some!

What Makes the Saatva Stand Out?

Read our full Saatva mattress review.

Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress

The Leesa Sapira Hybrid is a supportive hybrid mattress that is a good fit for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress

The Leesa Sapira Hybrid is a supportive hybrid mattress that is a good fit for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Sleepers

Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress

The Leesa Sapira Hybrid is a supportive hybrid mattress that is a good fit for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Leesa Sapira Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

Back sleepers who want to sleep comfortably should find a mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. The Leesa Sapira Hybrid is a great option for back sleepers as it offers the soft comfort of memory foam and polyfoam and the support of pocketed coils. Back sleeping on the Leesa Sapira Hybrid, you should feel your hips sink in just the right amount, while the coils hold up your body. The soft foam should also contour to your body, making for a very comfortable night’s sleep!

What Makes the Leesa Sapira Hybrid Stand Out?

  • The Leesa Sapira Hybrid is responsive and makes it easy to change positions at night.
  • The bed is very breathable and a great cooling option for hot sleepers.
  • The Leesa Sapira Hybrid is a higher-end mattress that should be a durable, long-term investment.

Read the full Leesa Sapira Hybrid mattress review.

Most Comfortable Memory Foam Mattress

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read Bear Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Most Comfortable Memory Foam Mattress

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read Bear Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Most Comfortable Memory Foam Mattress

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read Bear Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

When most people think of comfort, memory foam mattresses often come to mind. If you want an extremely comfortable memory foam mattress, take a look at the Bear Original mattress. The Bear features three layers including gel-infused memory foam, transition foam, and base foam. The top layer of memory foam offers excellent pressure relief and some of that slow-moving feel. At the same time, the mattress does not have the drawbacks of memory foam. It is responsive enough so that you can move around and cooling features ensure you don’t overheat.

What Makes The Bear Original Mattress Stand Out?

  • The Bear Original is an amazing mattresses for athletes.
  • The mattress is a solid value pick.
  • The Bear is a good mattress for side sleepers and back sleepers.

Read the full Bear Original mattress review.

Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling. Its construction is especially recommended for sleepers with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling. Its construction is especially recommended for sleepers with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling. Its construction is especially recommended for sleepers with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

If you deal with back pain, you could find it very difficult to sleep. However, a mattress like the Nolah Evolution Hybrid could do the trick! The Nolah Evolution Hybrid boasts multiple layers of proprietary foam over supportive coils. The coils are zoned, meaning they are firmer toward the center of the mattress. The zoning provides extra lumbar support, which can help prevent and alleviate back pain. The mattress also has a general balance of comfort and support, which can help keep the spine aligned. Lumbar support and spinal alignment are so important for dealing with back pain, and the Nolah Evolution Hybrid promotes both!

What Makes the Nolah Evolution Stand Out?

  • The Nolah Evolution Hybrid features multiple advanced cooling features, making it a great option for hot sleepers.
  • Side sleepers should experience great pressure relief because of the soft comfort layers.
  • The Nolah Evolution Hybrid is a great luxury mattress.

Read our full Nolah Evolution mattress review.

Best Mattress for Cooling

Awara Premier Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Awara Premier Laxtex Mattress is a step above the original Awara. With a pillow top, this eco-friendly hybrid mattress will give you a supportive night of sleep.

Read Awara Premier Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 Nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Cooling

Awara Premier Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Awara Premier Laxtex Mattress is a step above the original Awara. With a pillow top, this eco-friendly hybrid mattress will give you a supportive night of sleep.

Read Awara Premier Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 Nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Cooling

Awara Premier Latex Hybrid Mattress

The Awara Premier Laxtex Mattress is a step above the original Awara. With a pillow top, this eco-friendly hybrid mattress will give you a supportive night of sleep.

Read Awara Premier Latex Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Latex

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 Nights

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Staying cool can ensure you sleep comfortably through the night. If you sleep hot, the Awara Premier is going to be a great choice. The Awara Premier is a latex hybrid mattress that features a number of breathable materials. An organic cotton cover, paired with a layer of New Zealand wool, allows for air to flow through the top of the mattress. Dunlop latex found in the comfort layer is much more breathable than memory foam and helps dissipate heat. The Awara Premier will be keeping you cool in so many ways!

What Makes the Awara Premier Stand Out?

  • The Awara Premier is an organic mattress and a good choice for eco-friendly shoppers.
  • This a bouncy mattress that makes it easy to move around.
  • Side sleepers should get great pressure relief from the Awara Premier.

Read the full Awara Premier mattress review.

Not seeing what you’re looking for? Take our mattress quiz for the most personalized mattress recommendations.

Things to Consider When Shopping for a Comfortable Mattress

Just because a company or store advertises that a mattress is extremely comfortable, that doesn’t mean it’s going to work for all types of sleepers. Prospective customers should consider the following when looking for a comfortable mattress:

Sleeping Position

Sleeping Positions For Comfortable Mattress

It might be tempting to find the softest mattress, but this also might not work for someone’s specific sleeping position. For example:

  • Back sleepers might want to look for a medium-firm mattress with an excellent balance of comfort and support.
  • Side sleepers should think about a softer mattress with good pressure relief. They’ll want to ensure they don’t feel pressure on their shoulders and hips because this can lead to pain and extreme discomfort.
  • For those who sleep on their stomach, a firmer mattress might actually be most comfortable. If the mattress is too soft, their hips could bow into the layers, and they could feel some significant back pain.

Also, make sure to read about the best mattresses for lower back pain and sciatica.

Size and Weight

Consider Size And Weight When Mattress ShoppingIf someone’s looking for a comfortable mattress, they’ll definitely want to consider their size and weight. For someone on the smaller side, a mattress like the Saatva might feel too firm, as the sleeper might not be heavy enough to activate the comfort layers.

If you’re a larger person, you also want to make sure your mattress is nice and durable. If not, it could start to sag under your weight, and it won’t feel quite so comfortable anymore. You should definitely take a close look at the mattress warranty to see exactly what is covered if your mattress does start to sag. Also, when buying a mattress, ask yourself, “Do you need a box spring?” You want to make sure your mattress is properly supported.

Finally, here are three comfortable mattresses that should work for heavy people:

  • Helix is a brand known for customizing mattresses to fit customers’ specific needs. After taking a sleep quiz on the company’s website, people of all sizes will get a personalized recommendation. Heavier people can also choose the Helix Plus, a mattress made just for larger people.
  • The Layla is a flippable mattress that offers two firmnesses. The soft side should work for heavier side sleepers and the firm side should be better for back-sleeping.
  • The Nectar features that slow-moving memory foam feel and, while it feels a bit firm at first, it slowly starts to soften up. Heavier people should feel fantastic contouring when they’re back-sleeping and good pressure relief when they’re side-sleeping.

RELATED: Best Customizable Mattress 2022

Mattress Materials

Comfortable Mattress Materials

What type of mattress is going to be most comfortable? Speaking purely in terms of comfort, memory foam mattresses are usually at the top of the list. This material lets sleepers sink in, and it relieves pressure on points such as the shoulders and hips. Latex can be very comfortable as well, and it also features better bounce.

In general, innerspring mattresses offer the least amount of soft comfort. Pillow-tops can help, but with all other factors put aside, an innerspring mattress can rarely compete with memory foam in terms of pure comfort.

A Partner’s Needs

Considering A Partner's Sleeping NeedsIf a person sleeps with a partner, they want to make sure their mattress is comfortable for both of them, especially if they each have different sleeping preferences. For instance, if someone sleeps on their side and is a heavier person, their idea of comfort might differ from that of a lighter-weight back sleeper.

When it comes to selecting a mattress for both partners, compromise is the name of the game. Find a mattress that can offer both partners a bit of the comfort they’re looking for.

Temperature Needs

Sleep Temperature Of A Comfortable MattressWhen it comes to keeping hot sleepers cool, innerspring mattresses are going to be the better bet. Memory foam is known to capture body heat and redirect it back at sleepers, which can cause them to feel hot at night.

That being said, many foam mattress producers often add other features (such as cooling covers and breathable foams) to help combat this issue. In the end, pay close attention to what the mattress has to offer in terms of cooling features.

Summary

Here’s a summary of our top picks for the most comfortable mattresses:

Mattress Superlative
WinkBeds Best Overall
Helix Midnight Luxe Most Comfortable Hybrid Mattress
Nectar Best Affordable Mattress
DreamCloud Most Comfortable Firm Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Best Mattress for Side Sleepers
Saatva Best Mattress for Stomach Sleepers
Leesa Sapira Hybrid Best Mattress for Back Sleepers
Bear Original Most Comfortable Memory Foam Mattress
Nolah Evolution Best Mattress for Back Pain
Awara Premier Best Mattress for Cooling

Featured image: Ana Blazic Pavlovic/Shutterstock

FAQs

What is the most comfortable mattress for people with back pain?

The Nolah Evolution mattress, with zoned support system, should be a great option for people with back pain. The additional lumbar support from the zoned coils combined with the pressure-reliving foam makes it a great pick!

What is the most comfortable mattress for side sleepers?

Side sleepers of many sizes should consider the Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress. Its soft model offers excellent pressure relief along the shoulders and hips.

What is the most comfortable mattress for back sleepers?

Back sleepers want to find a mattress with a good balance of comfort and support. This often means choosing a mattress with coils somewhere in its construction.

The Leesa Sapira Hybrid is a hybrid mattress, meaning back sleepers get support from its coil construction and comfort from its foam layers.

Gravatar for Marten Carlson

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.