Best Pillow-Top Mattresses of 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Those who have ever spent the night in a luxury hotel have probably slept on a pillow-top mattress. It usually features supportive coils and then a plush comfort layer of padding that softens the bed and rises above the structure. True to its name, it looks like someone put a giant pillow on top of the mattress. Many different materials can be used in the pillow-top; some of the most common include cotton, wool, fiberfill, memory foam, latex, and down.

This design provides an excellent balance of comfort and support that’s usually good for all three sleeping positions (back, side, and stomach). We have tested hundreds of mattresses throughout the years, and we considered more than 25 different models for this roundup. Ultimately, we decided these 10 models are the best luxury mattresses of 2024. Keep reading to learn more about our top picks.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Pillow Top Mattress?

Our expert reviewers chose the Helix Midnight Luxe as the best pillow top mattress because of its durable materials, cooling ability, and high-end pillow top design.

The Best Pillow-Top Mattresses

Best Pillow Top Mattress: Video Roundup

Compare the Best Pillow Top Mattresses of 2024

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress WinkBed Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Saatva Mattress Helix Dusk Luxe Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress WinkBed Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Saatva Mattress Helix Dusk Luxe Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Birch Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Innerspring Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Combination Combination Back Back & Side Back & Stomach Combination Back & Side Back Back & Stomach

How We Chose The Best Pillow Top Mattresses

Pillow top mattresses are known for offering plush comfort, similar to what you might find in a high-end hotel. However, they are not all built the same. They vary in terms of firmness, durability, and overall quality.

Testing a pillow-top mattress in our sleep lab
Testing a pillow-top mattress in our sleep lab

We tested each pillow top mattress in our testing studio and only chose those that performed well with regard to edge support, pressure relief, and overall support. Also, to compile this list of the best pillow top mattresses, we chose mattresses with a variety of firmnesses, cooling features, and price points.

Helix Midnight Luxe – Best Overall

Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Side Sleepers

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Side Sleepers

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Side Sleepers

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Thick comfort layer for side sleepers
Won’t trap heat
Zoned support for back sleepers
Cons
Too soft for stomach sleepers
Pricey for some

Our Expert’s Take

The Helix Midnight Luxe has a medium-firm feel with plenty of plush comfort in its quilted pillow-top. As soon as they lie down on it, side sleepers should gently sink into the thick memory foam layers and feel a great deal of body-contouring

The Helix Midnight Luxe has the name “luxe” for a reason. It’s an upgraded version of the standard Midnight mattress from Helix. The cover is designed for cooling, and the coils allow for airflow, so it won’t trap heat. 

Speaking of those coils, they have a unique construction called “zoning.” Zoned coils mean they will feel firmer in the center of the mattress, which offers great lumbar support for both back and side sleepers, and could help with some back pain. A recent study found that using a zoned coil mattress even improved sleep quality for participants.

What the testers say: “In my experience, the Helix Midnight Luxe was a good match for side sleeping. The zoning and plush pillow-top relieved most pressure on my shoulders and hips.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • The comfort layer is very thick and contains memory foam and proprietary responsive foams. This is underneath a soft, quilted cover giving it a pillow-top feel. It should provide impressive pressure relief for side sleepers.
  • The Midnight Luxe can also work for back sleepers. It features zoned coils which should offer great support for the lumbar area of your back.
  • This mattress combines both coils and foam. The foam may offer great pressure relief, but the springy coils should make this bed fairly easy to move around on.

What to Keep In Mind About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • This is considered one of Helix’s more luxury mattresses. As such, this might be out of range for those who are shopping with a strict budget in mind.
  • This bed is one of two medium-firm options from Helix. The thick comfort layer of the mattress may not be supportive enough for most stomach sleepers.

Other User Reviews

Helix has over 5,000 published reviews on its website for the Helix Midnight Luxe. The average customer rating is 4.4/5 stars. Customers who left four and five star reviews all praise the Midnight Luxe for its plush comfort layer and cooling capabilities. But while some found cool nights of sleep, a common complaint in the reviews with three stars or less all mentioned that it did run a bit hot. The other main complaint was that the Helix Midnight Luxe was too soft and not firm enough for some.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight Luxe mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for more great options!

WinkBeds – Best Plush Pillow-Top Mattress

Best Plush Pillow-Top Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Plush Pillow-Top Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Plush Pillow-Top Mattress

WinkBed Mattress

The WinkBed is a mattress that offers an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Bouncy and easy to move on
Shouldn’t trap heat
Multiple firmnesses available
Cons
Pricey for some
Won’t isolate motion well

Our Expert’s Take

The WinkBed is one of the best innerspring mattresses, and like the Saatva, offers two sets of individually wrapped coils (a 7.5″ layer and a 2.5″ layer) and several different firmness levels: Softer, Luxury Firm, Firmer, and Plus. I reviewed the Luxury firm, which has a balance of comfort and support that should appeal to all three sleeping positions. 

But if you want one of the softest pillow top mattresses, opt for the soft model. Regardless of which firmness you end up with, you’ll find a perfect balance of comfort and support. The pillow top comfort layer will add the right amount of softness while the coils offer incredible support.

I think back sleepers living with back pain might also benefit from the WinkBed. The coils are zoned, meaning they feel much firmer in the center of the bed. This could offer additional support for the lower area of your back.

What the testers say:When I was reviewing the WinkBed mattress, I liked how the pillow-top really rose above the mattress. The Luxury Firm model created a very plush sleeping surface. But if you’re on the hunt for a soft pillow top mattress, definitely opt for the soft firmness option.– Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the WinkBed Mattress

  • The WinkBed mattress is offered in multiple firmnesses, and even has a model for heavyweight sleepers. But if you’re on the hunt for a soft pillow top mattress to maximize comfort, opt for the soft model.
  • The soft model is the best for side sleepers looking for a plush pillow top mattress. The microcoils will allow for a bit more give than the firmer models, meaning this mattress can offer some good pressure relief.
  • Thanks to the classic innerspring design, this mattress is really easy to move around on. If you’re a combination sleeper, you’re unlikely to feel stuck here.

What to Keep In Mind About the WinkBed Mattress

  • Because this mattress has two sets of coils within its support layer, it won’t have that slow-moving, all-foam feel to it. If you prefer all-foam beds, I’d consider something other than the WinkBed mattress.
  • If you sleep with a partner, the WinkBed mattress won’t isolate motion very well. This means that you’ll notice your partner changing positions during the night. Something to be aware of if one, or both of you are light sleepers.

Other User Reviews

With over 8,000 reviews on WinkBed’s website, the WinkBeds mattress has earned an average 4.8/5 star rating from customer reviews. For the most part, the four and five star reviews praise the WinkBed for its support and ease of movement they have on the bed. Some even point out that they don’t have aches and pains anymore. The reviews that had three stars or less mentioned the bed’s firmness. Some had to exchange for the softer model as Luxury Firm or Firm were too firm for them.

Read our full WinkBed mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the WinkBed mattress, check out our list of the best plush mattresses for more great options!

DreamCloud – Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Back Sleepers

Best for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Hybrid construction provides nice breathability
Great for back sleepers
Quite affordable
Cons
Too firm for most side sleepers
Not enough support for heavyweight sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The DreamCloud falls right in that sweet spot of not-too-firm but not-too-soft, making it a great option for most back sleepers. Unlike stomach sleepers (who we’ll talk about later on this list), back sleepers need a little bit of give in the mattress to allow their hips to sink just below the surface, as this will provide pressure relief while still keeping the spine aligned. 

In addition to being good for back sleepers, the springiness of the DreamCloud makes moving around a breeze. If you’re someone who switches sleeping positions throughout the night—also known as a combination sleeper—you should find that the DreamCloud makes it easier to do so. Plus, the breathability of this pillow-top mattress means you likely won’t need to worry about overheating as you switch from one position to another. 

What the testers say: “On the DreamCloud, I felt best whenever I slept on my back. Because this mattress has a firmer feel, it offered plenty of lumbar support. My hips sank into the top layer slightly, but my back stayed in a neutral alignment.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud

  • Several components of the DreamCloud’s construction contribute to its ability to stay cool as you sleep on it. The cover is made of a luxuriously soft cashmere blend, which makes the surface nice and breathable, while further down in the mattress the layer of individually wrapped coils helps keep heat from getting trapped. Last, the memory foam is infused with a type of gel that helps dissipate heat. 
  • The DreamCloud comes with a very generous lifetime warranty, which covers problems resulting from normal use. 

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud

  • While the DreamCloud is somewhat firm, we don’t recommend it for any stomach sleepers over 130 lb. It likely won’t provide enough support to keep the hips of heavier stomach sleepers from sinking below the mattress surface. Instead, consider a mattress to help keep your hips elevated and your spine aligned, like the Brentwood Home Oceano.
  • The DreamCloud transfers motion quite a bit, meaning when you sleep with a partner and they toss and turn throughout the night you’re likely to feel these movements on your side of the bed. If you’re a light sleeper, this could be a big problem. Take a look at the Nectar Premier Copper for a mattress that isolates motion very well. 

Other User Reviews

The DreamCloud has an average rating of 4.6 out of 5, based on over 7,000 reviews from the company website. Many people are impressed with the quality of the mattress despite the affordable price. Some customers complain that the mattress is too firm, and the edges do not provide enough support. 

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the DreamCloud mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for back sleepers for more great options!

Nolah Evolution Hybrid – Best Bed-in-a-Box Pillow-Top Mattress

Best Bed-In-A-Box Pillow-Top Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Bed-In-A-Box Pillow-Top Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Bed-In-A-Box Pillow-Top Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Made with high-quality, durable materials
Won’t trap heat
Thick comfort layer for pressure relief
Cons
Pricey for some
Not ideal for fans of all-foam

Our Expert’s Take

Bed-in-a-box mattresses offer convenience and easy set-up, making them an attractive option for shoppers. These days, the majority of online mattress retailers sell mattresses in a box and have even found ways to compress high-quality mattresses. 

The Nolah Evolution is a bed-in-a-box, but don’t worry, you won’t be sacrificing quality for convenience. This bed offers a luxurious pillow top, which adds a layer of softness to the top of the bed. This can be great for sleepers with pain concerns who need a bed that helps cradle sensitive joints.

The Evolution is offered in three firmnesses, and I tested the Luxury Firm option, which is a classic medium firm. It offered really great pressure relief when I rested on my side, and I felt good support on my back, too. It might be too soft for stomach sleepers, but you can always opt for the firm model if that’s your sleeping position.

What the testers say:I was amazed that such a thick, luxurious mattress could come from a box. During my tests, I was especially impressed by the Nolah Evolution Hybrid’s plush pillow-top. I tested the Luxury Firm, but I was really impressed with the amount of pressure relief I got on this bed.Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About The Nolah Evolution

  • We tested the Luxury Firm model, but it comes in different firmnesses to fit different needs. Soft is good for lightweight people or side sleepers, luxury firm works best for back sleepers, and firm is better for heavyweight sleepers or stomach sleepers.
  • Though it comes in a box, the Nolah Evolution is made with some really durable, luxurious materials. This makes it a very long lasting bed.
  • This bed has been designed to not trap heat. The coils allow for airflow, but there’s even a cooling cover, and the memory foam is designed to not trap heat.

What To Keep In Mind About The Nolah Evolution

  • This is Nolah’s more luxurious mattress model. And because of that, it costs a bit more than some of the brand’s more affordable models. This is something to keep in mind if you’re shopping on a budget.
  • While the multiple firmnesses are great, it might be confusing to know which one works best for you. Make sure you keep your bodyweight and sleeping position in mind, which I detailed above, when picking the right firmness.

Other User Reviews

With the reviews published on Nolah’s website, the Nolah Evolution has achieved an impressive average 4.9/5 stars from customer reviews. The happy customers reported a lot of comfort and support from the Nolah Evolution. Those that were unhappy with the Evolution had problems with firmness. Some mentioned that even the softest model felt too firm.

Check out our full Nolah Evolution mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nolah Evolution mattress, check out our list of the best bed-in-a-box mattresses for more great options!

Saatva Classic – Best Luxury Pillow-Top Mattress

Best Luxury Pillow-Top Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury Pillow-Top Mattress

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best Luxury Pillow-Top Mattress

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Won’t trap heat
Bouncy and responsive feel
Really sells the luxury experience
Made with high-quality materials
Cons
Won’t have that slow-moving memory foam feel
Luxury means a luxury price tag

Our Expert’s Take

Sleeping on any pillow top mattress adds a touch of luxury to the bedroom. But if you want to take that luxury to the next level, our testers agreed that the Saatva Classic rises to the occasion. The flagship mattress from Saatva is the epitome of luxury, and that’s owing to the caliber of the bed’s materials and construction, starting with a base of durable steel coils. A second micro-coil layer reinforces the edge, helping the bed excel in our sleep lab in the edge support category (4.5/5). The cream on top of the Saatva Classic? Its memory foam layer and cozy 3” Euro pillow top.

The Saatva Classic comes in three different firmness options. While some side sleepers may think a soft mattress is superior, if you experience back pain, we recommend meeting in the middle with Saatva’s Luxury Firm model, which rates as medium-firm per their metrics (and ours).

What the testers say:The Saatva is a bed I see as a long term investment for folks who want to bring a high-end hotel feel to their bedroom or a guest bedroom. The Luxury Firm in particular is the model best equipped to make a variety of sleepers feel like they’re living the high life.– Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About The Saatva Classic

  • This mattress really exudes luxury. It’s made with high-quality materials and gives off a luxury hotel experience. It’s a great choice if you’re looking to splurge.
  • Saatva Classic is offered in multiple firmnesses. We tested the Luxury Firm model and found it worked really well for all sleep positions. The comfort layer offered good body contouring, while the coils kept us supported.
  • The bed shouldn’t trap heat. The coils offer room for airflow, and the outer cover is organic cotton, a breathable and moisture-wicking material.

What To Keep In Mind About The Saatva Classic

  • Though we love this mattress for its luxury features, it is our best luxury choice. It’s not going to be great for those who are shopping with a strict budget in mind.
  • Memory foam mattress lovers who love to feel hugged by their bed may not like how bouncy the Saatva Classic is, and should instead look at the brand’s Loom & Leaf foam mattress.

Other User Reviews

The Saatva Classic nets an impressive 4.8 out of 5 stars among 3,300+ reviews. One reviewer wrote that Saatva lives up to the luxury appeal: “I feel like I sleep in a Five Star Luxury Hotel Bed.” Some reviewers experienced issues with Saatva’s delivery partners, who bring the bed to your home already assembled (rather than in a box). 

Check out our full Saatva Classic review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in this mattress, check out our list of the best luxury mattresses for more great options!

Helix Dusk Luxe – Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Back Pain

Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Back Pain

Helix Dusk Luxe Mattress

The Lux Estate Hybrid is a high-end, pillow-top mattress that will work for multiple sleeping positions.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Back Pain

Helix Dusk Luxe Mattress

The Lux Estate Hybrid is a high-end, pillow-top mattress that will work for multiple sleeping positions.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Back Pain

Helix Dusk Luxe Mattress

The Lux Estate Hybrid is a high-end, pillow-top mattress that will work for multiple sleeping positions.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Great for stomach sleepers
Very responsive
Fantastic edge support
Cons
Expensive
Won’t have that memory foam feel

Our Expert’s Take

The Helix Dusk Luxe provides an elevated level of support specifically designed to accommodate stomach sleepers, which consequently also lends itself to sleepers with back pain. The support system features zoned pocketed coils for added lumbar support, atop a DuraDense foam base layer. With a height of 14”, the bed is slightly taller than the standard model. Our heavier weight mattress testers who are back and side sleepers felt well supported under the robust build. 

The mattress furnishes two cover options: a standard Tencel cover or an upgrade to the GlacioTex™ cooling cover for an additional $250. You might also be happy to learn that the mattress earned a perfect score on our edge support test, meaning the perimeter is sturdy enough to lie comfortably on.

What the testers say:Typically we recommend a medium-firm mattress for sleepers with back pain. A medium-firm bed with zoned support like the Helix Dusk Luxe provides the extra support that you need, with the luxury pillow top to help you get snug.– Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About The Helix Dusk Luxe 

  • Helix Dusk Luxe scored 4.5 out of 5 or higher in every sleep lab performance category, meaning the bed boasts superior cooling, edge support, and motion isolation, which is a great feature for light sleepers who share a bed. 
  • Part of what gives this mattress fantastic durability also contributes to its strong edge support. You can sleep towards the very edge of the mattress and most likely not have to worry about feeling like you’ll roll off. 

What To Keep In Mind About The Helix Dusk Luxe

  • The Helix Dusk Luxe is one of the brand’s pricier beds, but if you don’t require the cooling features, you may be content with a more modestly priced mattress. 

Other User Reviews

Verified buyer Elizabeth S. left one of Helix Dusk Luxe’s 5-star reviews — there are 869 among 1243 total. She wrote: “Exactly what my husband needs in a mattress. Very supportive and has relieved the back pain he was experiencing with our old mattress.” The bed averages 4.5 out of 5 stars in total, and some negative reviews said some sleepers had better luck on Helix Midnight alleviating back pain. 

Read our full Helix Dusk Luxe review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in this mattress, check out our list of the best luxury mattresses for more great options!

Bear Elite Hybrid – Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Muscle Recovery

Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Muscle Recovery

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Muscle Recovery

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Muscle Recovery

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
Promotes muscle recovery
Doesn’t trap heat
Bouncy and responsive feel
Cons
Might have an off-gas smell
Not ideal for all-foam fans

Our Expert’s Take

Bear mattresses are designed with active people in mind, and they all feature this fantastic material called Celliant. Research suggests that this material can helps sleepers with blood circulation and muscle recovery. Celliant is also an especially cooling material, as we’ve found in our mattress lab. 

The brand’s highest-end mattress, the Bear Elite Hybrid, has all these cooling and recovery benefits plus a plush pillow top. You’ll get great pressure relief and will wake up feeling recovered on the Bear Elite Hybrid.

The Bear Elite Hybrid is offered in three firmness models, and we tested the medium-firm model. This offered a really great balance of comfort and support and it was nice and springy. It still offered good pressure relief for side sleeping. But if you prefer something softer or firmer, those options are available.

What the testers say:When I was reviewing the Bear Elite Hybrid, I was a fan of its plush pillow top. Even for a medium-firm bed, it was still nice and plush because of that pillow top. It also offered nice pressure relief, but the mattress also didn’t skimp on support thanks to the coils at the bottom.” Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About The Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Bear uses a special material called Celliant, which is designed to help promote blood flow and muscle recovery. This makes this mattress a great option for those who live quite active lifestyles and want a bed to help them recover after strenuous activity.
  • Even if you’re not an athlete or someone who is active frequently, the Beat Elite Hybrid is a mattress that blends both comfort and support. It’s bouncy and responsive, making it easy to move around on. But the plush pillow top offers exceptional comfort.
  • The medium-firm option is a great choice for most back and side sleepers. But if you prefer something softer or firmer, those options are available.

What To Keep In Mind About The Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Even with a plush pillow top, this is a hybrid bed. Meaning the support layer of this mattress is made up of coils. It won’t isolate motion very well and it’ll be very bouncy.
  • The Elite Hybrid is truly elite, and with that comes a higher price tag than some other models offered by Bear or other brands. It’s not the best mattress to consider if you’re shopping with a budget in mind.

Other User Reviews

With hundreds of reviews published on Bear’s website, the Bear Elite Hybrid has earned a 4.3/5 star rating from customers. Many of the four and five-star reviews mentioned that the Bear Elite Hybrid offers really good support while still being comfortable enough. However, those that left three stars and lower all deal with firmness and some people either find the firmness they chose to be too soft or too firm.

Read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress, check out our list of the best mattresses for athletes for more great options!

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid – Best Hybrid Pillow-Top Mattress

Best Hybrid Pillow-Top Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$665 - $1599

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Pillow-Top Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$665 - $1599

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Hybrid Pillow-Top Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$665 - $1599

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Shouldn’t trap heat
Durable
Multiple firmness options
Cons
Lacks a memory foam feel
Pricey for some with pillow-top addition

Our Expert’s Take

Standing at 12” tall, the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid is an excellent value hybrid bed that comes with the addition of an optional plush pillow-top for $300 extra. Given that the best luxury pillow toppers typically cost the same (if not more), you get great value and a pillow top that’s hand-sewn into your mattress. Whether or not you get the upgraded Cloud Pillow Top for added luxury, the bed’s surface has a cool-to-the-touch feel thanks to GlacioTex cover, which uses heat-dissipating fibers, the brand says.The Signature Hybrid rounds out its build with bouncy foam and a layer to prevent sinking too deep, and supportive coils that add airflow — another aspect of the build that makes the bed a great pick for hot sleepers. You can choose among Soft, Medium, and Firm mattress models of the Signature Hybrid.

What the testers say: “The hybrid design of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid provides the ideal balance of comfort and support, making the bed an especially good fit for side and back sleeping. Plus, with the optional pillow-top, you can get that luxury hotel bed feel.” Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • Hybrid mattresses like the Brooklyn Bedding Signature promote airflow within the mattress, so it shouldn’t trap a lot of heat.
  • The coils give this bed a really springy feel, which is easy to move around on. If you’re a combination sleeper and change positions frequently during the night, this is a great choice to consider.
  • You can choose your preferred firmness. But regardless of what you choose, the coils at the bottom will prevent you from bottoming out, so it offers good support, too.

What To Keep In Mind About The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • The Brooklyn Bedding Signature is one of the best value hybrids available, but the pillow-top addition raises the price tag a decent amount ($300). 
  • People who like to feel swaddled by the memory foam may not like the bouncier feel of a hybrid mattress like the Brooklyn Bedding Signature. The Nectar Hybrid may be a better choice, which offers the support of coils with a slower-moving memory foam feel on top.

Other User Reviews

Upon our last inspection, the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid had nearly 11,000 reviews, with an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars. One 5-star reviewer said they “love the pillow top,” including one reviewer who said that the pillow-top is “like sleeping on a cloud.” Negative reviews reported some customer service issues, and trouble finding the right mattress firmness.

Read the full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Signature Hybrid mattress, check out our list of the best hybrid mattresses for more great options!

Birch – Best Organic Pillow-Top Mattress

Best Organic Pillow-Top Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

25-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Pillow-Top Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

25-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Organic Pillow-Top Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

25-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Uses certified organic materials
Bouncy and responsive
Good for back and stomach sleepers
Cons
Won’t have that foam feel
Too firm for side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Birch mattress from Helix is a latex hybrid that contains Talalay latex, which is softer and less dense (though admittedly less durable) than Dunlop latex. But Birch prides itself on using 100% certified organic materials. You can opt for the optional pillow-top and get three more inches of Talalay, as well as some fluffy wool batting, This will offer some added pressure relief that should offer plush comfort to the majority of side sleepers.

All the materials are certified organic, meaning that Birch sources these materials that are grown or harvested in ethical, responsible and sustainable ways. And none of the plant-based materials are grown with harmful chemicals. This makes this mattress a great pillow top choice for eco-conscious shoppers.

What the testers say: “When I spent time with the Birch mattress, I was a fan of its durable, eco-friendly materials. And, it didn’t skimp on support. I felt great on my back and stomach.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About The Birch Mattress

  • Birch uses certified organic and materials in this mattress. Some people prefer to use natural and organic materials, and having it in your mattress is a huge plus, too.
  • The Birch mattress works really well for back and stomach sleepers. It’s a bit firmer than medium-firm, but can offer a good amount of comfort and support for both sleeping positions.
  • Thanks to the use of latex and coils, this mattress is very easy to move around on. This is great for combination sleepers who tend to move around during the night.

What To Keep In Mind About The Birch Mattress

  • Though we love it for its bouncy feel, this isn’t the mattress for those who are looking for that slow-moving, sinking feeling of an all foam bed.
  • It’ll likely be too firm for some side sleepers. If you are predominantly a side sleeper, look for something softer or with a memory foam comfort layer.

Other User Reviews

The review section on Birch’s website includes all the products the brand sells, and in total there are over 4,000 reviews, which give Birch as a brand an average of 4.6/5 stars. The reviews about the Birch mattress mention the great support it offers and that people are happy with the safe, organic materials that are used. Those that left low star reviews mention the firmness and how it was too firm, or how the latex foam isn’t as contouring and pressure relieving as they needed it to be.

Read our full Birch mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Birch mattress, check out our list of the best organic mattresses for more great options!

What Is a Pillow-Top Mattress?

Pillow-top mattresses provide a pillow-like look and feel to the top of a mattress. Often, pillow-tops are sewn onto the top of the mattress rather than inside of the mattress (unless you’ve got a Euro-Top). They’re great for pressure-relief and contouring and are often made of foam or fiber.

Pillow-Top Mattresses for Heavyweight Sleepers – Over 230 lb

Anyone considering a pillow-top mattress should definitely keep their size and weight in mind because a mattress that works for a lighter person might not be the best mattress for a heavy person. The following pillow-top mattresses should all be a good fit for heavier people, as they all feature supportive coils.

First off, the Saatva HD is made specifically for larger sleepers. It features very high-grade coils and an extra layer of zoned latex, and it is a good match for all three sleeping positions. While the Saatva mattress is not as supportive as the Saatva HD, heavier people might find it to be a better match when side-sleeping.

The WinkBeds innerspring mattress comes in four models with different firmnesses, and the WinkBeds Plus is their mattress made just for larger people. Like the Saatva HD, the WinkBed features extra supportive coils, as well as some zoning, so it should also work for heavier combination sleepers.

One mattress to note that’s not on this list is the Avocado mattress. With the added pillow-top should be a good match for heavier back and side sleepers. The coils and latex hold up the body while back-sleeping, but the plush pillow-top helps relieves pressure while side-sleeping.

Finally, the Bear Star Hybrid is extra-thick, making it a good match for heavier sleepers.

Best Pillow Top Mattress
Example of a pillow-top mattress

Pillow-Top vs Euro-Top Mattresses

CategoryPillow-Top MattressEuro-Top Mattress
MaterialFoam or fiberFoam or fiber (typically thicker than pillow-top materials)
ConstructionSewn directly on top of the mattress coverStitched underneath the mattress cover
FeelSoft and pillow-likeFirmer around the edges and cushioning towards the center
Best ForContouring and pressure-reliefDurability and edge support

A pillow-top and euro-top are both top padding layers on a mattress, though the way they are added to the mattress differs. A pillow-top is sewn directly on top of the mattress cover. When it sits on the mattress, there’s a slight gap around the edges and it looks like you’ve laid a large pillow across the surface of the mattress.

A euro-top, on the other hand, is stitched underneath the mattress cover, so the edges line up and it looks more like part of the mattress. Both pillow-tops and euro-tops use the same materials in their construction.

Pillow-tops and euros have different feels because of the different attachment styles. A pillow-top generally feels softer than a euro-top mattress and does a nice job of offering contouring and pressure relief. Euro-tops are generally more durable since they’re attached underneath the cover.

euro top vs pillow top mattress comparison

Who Should Choose A Pillow-Top Mattress?

Pillow-top mattresses are fantastic, but they aren’t for everyone. Here are a few types of people who should consider a pillow-top mattress.

  • Those who need a balance of comfort and support: Anyone who wants a mattress that’s both comfortable and supportive should set their sights on a pillow-top mattress. Most of these beds contain coils that will offer solid support, with the pillow-top offering just a bit of plush comfort without letting sleepers sink in too far.
  • Combination sleepers: With their balance of comfort and support, pillow-top mattresses should work for combination sleepers who switch positions at night. The coils should provide enough support for stomach- and back-sleeping, and the pillow-top should offer pressure relief for side sleepers.
  • Fans of hotel mattresses: The majority of mattresses one finds in a luxury hotel are pillow-top mattresses, so those who want to sleep in style every night should consider a pillow-top.
  • Those who like to sleep on top of their mattress: Pillow-tops provide a soft and plush comfort layer without letting sleepers sink in too far. Anyone who likes to sleep atop the mattress and wants to move around easily is going to like a pillow-top.

Who Should Not Choose a Pillow-Top Mattress?

  • Hot sleepers: If you sleep particularly hot, you may find that the pillow-top foam or fiber material traps heat.
  • Back pain: If you’re living with or frequently wake up with back pain, you might not find enough support in a soft pillow top mattress. Instead, check out our list of the best mattresses for back pain.

What To Look For

When shopping for a pillow-top mattress, there are a few factors you will want to keep in mind. We’ll review the main factors below.

Materials

The materials used in the pillow-top mattress you sleep on can largely affect the feel. Here are the different effects they’ll have on the bed.

  • Latex pillow-tops are good for cooling and creating a responsive feel.
  • Natural materials like cotton and wool are good for cooling.
  • Memory foam pillow-tops provide nice motion isolation and pressure relief.
  • Fiberfill or low-density foams will make the mattress more affordable, but not as high-quality.

Firmness

Pillow-tops are usually added to innerspring mattresses with the purpose of softening. Generally, pillow-top mattresses have a more plush feel, which isn’t going to appeal to every sleeper. If you’re looking for an extra-firm mattress, a pillow-top may not be right for you.

Temperature Regulation

If you’re already a hot sleeper, you’ll want to pay extra-close attention to how well a mattress regulates your body temperature. Adding a pillow-top to an innerspring coil system can make the bed naturally retain more heat than a plain innerspring mattress would, though not as much as an all-foam mattress might.

A cut out innerspring mattress showing its inner layers
Inspecting innerspring coils in our sleep lab

Look out for cooling features like a thin, breathable cover, natural materials like cotton or wool that are moisture-wicking, or materials like latex that are naturally more cooling.

Price

Pillow-top mattresses can be more pricey, so you should make sure you set your expectations for how much you may be spending beforehand. If you create a budget before shopping, that can also help you narrow down your options.

Summary

MattressBest For
Helix Midnight LuxeBest Overall
WinkBedsBest Plush Pillow-Top Mattress
DreamCloud Best Pillow-Top Mattress for Back Sleepers
Nolah Evolution HybridBest Bed-In-A-Box Pillow-Top Mattress
Saatva ClassicBest Luxury Pillow-Top Mattress
Helix Dusk LuxeBest Pillow-Top Mattress for Back Pain
Bear Elite HybridBest Pillow-Top Mattress for Muscle Recovery
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Hybrid Pillow-Top Mattress
BirchBest Organic Pillow-Top Mattress

In the end, one of these pillow-top mattresses should be an exceptional match for combination sleepers and those who need a balance of comfort and support. Don’t hesitate to leave any questions on our YouTube video if an individual recommendation is needed.

Best Pillow-Top Mattresses FAQs

Are pillow-top mattresses better than memory foam mattresses?

One type of mattress really isn’t better than the other, and it really depends on someone’s preferences. For instance, those who sleep in numerous positions or need more support are going to find that a pillow-top mattress is a better fit. On the other hand, those who need more pressure relief or like to really sink into their mattress are going to prefer a memory foam mattress.

How long will pillow-top mattresses last?

This depends on the exact mattress and the types of materials it contains – if a mattress features low-density foam in its pillow-top, it might not last as long as something with higher-density foam. Also, it depends on the size of the owner – a larger person could put more strain on the mattress and cause it to break down more quickly. That being said, most pillow-top innerspring mattresses should last for between seven and ten years.

What’s the difference between a pillow-top mattress and a hybrid mattress?

The term “hybrid mattress” refers to a broader range of beds made from any combination of materials — primarily foams and coils. The term “pillow-top mattress” is more specific, referring to a bed that has a pillow-top to soften the more supportive coils below. It can still contain foams, latex, or any other materials you might find in a hybrid bed. To put it more succinctly, most pillow-top mattresses are hybrids, but not all hybrid mattresses are pillow-tops.

How can I clean a pillow-top mattress?

If possible, you want to treat a stain as quickly as you can. Pour a bit of liquid detergent onto a sponge or soft washcloth, then gently rub the area that’s been dirtied. Afterward, let it dry on its own. If you want to give the pillow-top mattress a more thorough deep-clean, you can use a vacuum with a bristle accessory to suck up any loose dirt or dust particles, then use a steam cleaner or some white vinegar to treat the stains.

Can you flip a pillow-top mattress?

We recommend refraining from flipping a mattress unless specified by the manufacturer. If you want to extend the lifespan of a mattress, rotate the bed head to foot (180 degrees).

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.