Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Mattress Review

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

I’m a bigger guy, and I know how difficult it can be to find a mattress. I’ve tried out mattress after mattress and few can give me the support and comfort I require. Thankfully, a few brands are starting to offer mattresses made with heavier people in mind. 

The Nolah Evolution Comfort+ is one such mattress, but how supportive is it really? Read my full Nolah Evolution Comfort+ mattress review to learn more. 

Nolah Evolution Comfort+

Great for heavy sleepers looking for a cooling, hybrid mattress.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$1499 - $3198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Nolah Evolution Comfort+

Great for heavy sleepers looking for a cooling, hybrid mattress.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$1499 - $3198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Nolah Evolution Comfort+

Great for heavy sleepers looking for a cooling, hybrid mattress.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$1499 - $3198

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Mattress Review: General Overview 

Nolah is an online brand that offers a wide range of mattresses. From the soft all-foam Nolah Original to the latex Nolah Natural, the brand has something for many types of sleepers. However, until recently, Nolah hasn’t had a model for larger sleepers. 

The Nolah Evolution Comfort+ features high-density foams, extra-supportive coils and other durable materials meant to handle up to 1000 lb. In my experience, the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ was supportive enough for me, but it might not be for everyone. 

Pros of the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Mattress 

  • The Nolah Evolution Comfort+ is a great match for heavier back and side sleepers. Its zoned construction gives back sleepers a perfect balance of comfort and support. At the same time, its plush pillow top relieves pressure on the shoulders and hips for comfy side sleeping. 
  • Hot sleepers won’t be overheating on this mattress. The cover draws heat away from your body, and cooling infusions prevent the foams from trapping heat. Add in some airflow-promoting coils, and you’ll be sleeping nice and cool on the Nolah Evolution Comfort+. 
  • It offers a pillow top feel. If you like the feel of a nice hotel mattress, you are going to get it with this mattress. You’ll lie down and really sink into the plush pillowy comfort of the Nolah Evolution Comfort+. 

Cons of the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Mattress 

  • It is too much mattress for lightweight people. If you weigh less than 130 lb, you could feel comfortable on the Nolah, but it isn’t made for you. You could save money by going with one of the brand’s other models. 
  • The Nolah Evolution Comfort+ doesn’t offer much contouring. If you’re a fan of a memory foam feel that lets you slowly sink into your mattress, this won’t be the bed for you. 
  • Heavy stomach sleepers might need more support. Even with its zoning, the Nolah might allow your hips to sink into the mattress when you are on your stomach. Consider a firmer mattress for heavy people, such as the Titan Plus. 

Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Firmness and Feel 

Now, let’s take a look at how firm the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ is and what it feels like. 

How Firm is the Nolah Evolution Comfort+? 

At Mattress Clarity, we score our mattresses from 1-10, with 1 being as soft as a cloud and 10 being hard as a rock. In my experience, the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ scored close to a 6.5/10, which is just about medium-firm. 

Lying on the mattress, the top layers offered some plush comfort while the coils and lower levels of foam held up my body. I will note that the mattress is zoned, so it felt firmer towards the center of the mattress. This made the mattress feel a bit softer or firmer, depending on my sleeping position. 

Sleeping on the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ 

I started off back sleeping on the Nolah Evolution Comfort+, and it worked like a dream. Again, I’m on the larger side, and back sleeping is often a pain for me. Specifically, when I don’t get enough support under my lumbar area, I wake up with back pain. However, this wasn’t an issue with the Nolah Evolution Comfort+. The zoning ensured that I received the perfect amount of lumbar support while the coils gave me all the support I needed. 

Side sleeping was also quite comfortable on this mattress. The plush pillow top really did its thing and relieved almost all pressure on my shoulders and hips. Also, with the zoning, the mattress felt softer under my shoulders, so I received even more relief there. 

Stomach sleeping was not as comfortable on the Nolah Evolution Comfort+. Even with the zoning, I did not get enough support under my hips. I felt them bowing into the mattress, which is always a bad sign. This can lead to lower back pain over time. 

What Does the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Feel Like? 

The Nolah Evolution Comfort+ exhibited a feel I usually expect from a hybrid with a pillow top. The coils offered a great deal of bounce, so I was able to move around with ease. At the same time, the pillow top feel gave the mattress a plush, pillowy feel right on top of the mattress. 

Sleeper WeightBack SleepersSide SleepersStomach Sleepers
Lightweight (Under 130 lb)FairFairExcellent
Average (130 – 230 lb)GoodGoodGood
Heavyweight (Over 230 lb)ExcellentExcellentFair

Is the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Good for Lightweight People (Under 130 lb)? 

  • The Nolah Evolution Comfort+ will be a decent match for some lightweight back sleepers, but it might still feel too firm for some. 
  • When compared to heavyweight sleepers, lightweight side sleepers might feel more pressure on their shoulders and hips.
  • Lightweight stomach sleepers should feel plenty of support on the Nolah Evolution Comfort+. 

Is the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Good for Average Weight People (130 – 230 lb)?

  • Back sleepers in this weight range should get a good balance of comfort and support on this mattress. 
  • Average weight side sleepers who weigh closer to 230 lb will get enough pressure relief, but lighter people might not compress the top layers enough to experience true comfort. 
  • If you’re an average weight stomach sleeper, you will feel plenty of support on the Nolah Evolution Comfort+. 

Is the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Good for Heavyweight People (Over 230 lb)?

  • With its extra-supportive coils and plush pillow top, the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ is an ideal match for heavyweight back sleepers. 
  • Side sleepers over 230 lb will compress the top layers and feel very little pressure on their shoulders and hips. 
  • Heavyweight stomach sleepers might need a firmer mattress to give them enough support under their hips. 

Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Mattress Construction 

Let’s take a closer look at the design of the Nolah Evolution Comfort+

Cover 

Right on top of the mattress, the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ boasts an ArcticTex cover. This is designed to dissipate your body heat and keep you from overheating at night. 

Comfort Layers 

The Nolah Evolution Comfort+ features a number of high-density, cooling materials. First off, the cover is quilted with foam that is designed to promote airflow through the top of the mattress. Below that, you’ll find a layer of Cooling AirFoam HD. This high-density foam is meant to provide comfort for heavier weights without trapping heat. 

A close shot of the Nolah Evolution Comfort Plus's construction

Then, there is a layer of High-Resilience Foam. This partially acts as a transition layer and offers both comfort and support for heavier sleepers. And, a layer of EverAdapt Transition Foam is the true transition layer and keeps you from sinking too far into the mattress. 

An AirBreath Heat Escape Gusset also surrounds the top layers and allows heat to escape from the sides of the mattress. 

Support Layers 

The main support layer is a set of HDMax Tri-Zone Coils that are rated to support heavier weights. As the name suggests, they are also zoned, so the head, center and foot of the mattress have different firmnesses. 

This all rests on a foundation of eco-friendly foam. 

Mattress Height 

The Nolah Evolution Comfort+ is 14” tall. 

Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Mattress Size and Price Options

The following chart has the most up-to-date price information for the Nolah Evolution Comfort+.

Size DimensionsPrice
Twin 38" x 74"$1499.00
Twin XL38" x 80"$1599.00
Full53" x 75"$2299.00
Queen 60" x 80"$2499.00
King 76" x 80"$2699.00
California King72" x 84"$2699.00

Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Mattress Performance 

When I try out a mattress, I like to test it for all kinds of criteria besides just comfort and support. Let’s see how this mattress performed in my tests. 

Sleeping Hot or Cold 

In my time with the Nolah Evolution Comfort+, I slept pretty coolly. The top of the bed was cool-to-the-touch, and I felt like the top foam layers didn’t trap too much body heat. Also, I think the gusset helped trapped hot air pass out of the mattress. 

I paired the mattress with some cooling sheets, and I experienced some cool nights of sleep. 

Motion Transfer 

Motion transfer is something that couples should think about when buying a mattress. Basically, when you move around on your side of the mattress, will this disturb your partner? Will your motion transfer across the mattress? 

To test this out, I first used a glass of water. I placed it on one side of the mattress and then pressed my hands into the other areas of the mattress. The glass shook a good bit, and the water was very disturbed. This tells me that motion was transferring across the mattress.

However, I also laid down on the mattress while my coworker rolled around on the other side. The mattress did a good job of isolating their motions to the other side of the mattress. All-in-all, the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ could be a decent match for couples

Edge Support 

Edge support is also important for couples. If a mattress has strong edge support, both partners will be able to lie toward the edges without rolling off. This gives both partners much more room to move around and stretch out. 

The Nolah Evolution Comfort+ has a reinforced edge, so I felt some excellent edge support. I sat down and laid down near the edge, and I didn’t feel like I was going to pitch off the mattress. 

A man sits near the edge of the Nolah Evolution Comfort Plus

Durability 

The Nolah Evolution Comfort+ contains some high-density, durable materials, but how long will it really last? The bed’s longevity will partly depend on your weight, your partner’s weight and whether you clean and rotate your mattress on a regular basis. 

It’s hard to know exactly how many years the Nolah will last, but based on its construction and materials, I believe the bed should last for at least 10 years. 

Off-gassing 

When you unbox an online mattress, you’ll likely smell a chemical scent. This is caused by off-gassing, when the mattress lets out trapped gasses. This is normal with bed-in-a-box mattresses, and I experienced it with the Nolah Evolution Comfort+. I opened my windows to really let the mattress breathe, and this smell went away after a few days.

Noise 

The mattress made no noise when I rolled around on it and changed positions. However, hybrid mattresses like the Nolah might start to make noise after several years. 

Sex 

The Nolah Evolution Comfort+ should be a good mattress for sex. It is bouncy and will make it easy to move around during those intimate moments. 

Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Company Policies

Let’s see what the fine print looks like for the Nolah Evolution Comfort+. 

Warranty 

The mattress comes with a lifetime warranty. For the first two years, the brand will replace any defective mattress with a brand new one. Between the three and 10-year marks, the brand will repair your mattress for a $99 shipping fee. After this, until the 25-year mark, you will pay a 50% replacement fee and, after 25 years, a 60% replacement fee if any defects are found. 

Sleep Trial 

You get a 120-night sleep trial with the Nolah Evolution Comfort+. If, after 30 nights, you don’t like your mattress, you can return the mattress for a full refund.

You can also opt to remove the sleep trial when you purchase the mattress. This will save you $100.

Return Policy 

If you do have to return your mattress during the trial period, the brand will arrange to pick it up. However, you will pay a $99 fee for the return. 

Common Nolah Mattress Complaints 

Most of the Nolah mattress complaints I came across had to do with the warranty. Some customers had trouble initiating returns but, looking at the Better Business Bureau, the brand handled most of these issues right away. 

How Does the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Compare to Others? 

Let’s see how the Nolah stacks up against other mattresses for heavy people. 

Nolah Evolution Comfort+ vs Titan Plus 

Product
Firmness
Score
Nolah Evolution Comfort+
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.6/5
Titan Plus
Firm: 9/10
4.2/5
Product
Nolah Evolution Comfort+
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.6/5
Product
Titan Plus
Firmness
Firm: 9/10
Score
4.2/5

The Titan Plus is another mattress made specifically with larger people in mind. It features TitanCore coils and TitanFlex foam, which are both designed to sustain heavier weights. 

Compared to the Nolah Evolution Comfort+, it is much firmer, and scored a 9/10 on our firmness scale. Also, while you can add a cooling cover, it still lacks some of the cooling materials you find in the Nolah Evolution Comfort+. But, while the Titan Plus is not as soft or cooling as the Nolah Evolution Comfort+, it does cost less. 

Who Should Get the Nolah Evolution Comfort+? 

  • Hot sleepers
  • Side and back sleepers 

Who Should Get the Titan Plus?

  • Stomach sleepers 
  • Value shoppers 

Nolan Evolution Comfort+ vs Big Fig

Product
Firmness
Score
Nolah Evolution Comfort+
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.6/5
Big Fig Mattress
Firm: 8/10
4.6/5
Product
Nolah Evolution Comfort+
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.6/5
Product
Big Fig Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 8/10
Score
4.6/5

The Big Fig is another extremely popular, supportive mattress that is made for larger sleepers. It features multiple layers of high-density polyfoam as well as durable latex. These materials are designed not to sag under heavier weights. 

On our firmness scale, the Big Fig scored an 8/10, making it firmer than the Nolah Evolution Comfort+. The Big Fig doesn’t feature a pillow top like the Nolah, and it also has a bouncier feel. And, finally, the Big Fig costs a bit less than the Nolah Evolution Comfort+.

Who Should Get the Nolah Evolution Comfort+? 

  • Heavier side sleepers
  • Fans of a pillow top feel 

Who Should Get the Big Fig? 

  • Heavy stomach sleepers 
  • Those who want to save money

The Takeaway

Overall, the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ is a great fit for heavyweight back and side sleepers, hot sleepers and fans of a pillow top feel. However, heavyweight stomach sleepers, lightweight people and memory foam fans will want to keep looking.

Overall Rating

Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Mattress
4.6 Overall
Summary
The Nolah Evolution Comfort+ is an extra-supportive mattress that is ideal for hot sleepers as well as larger back and side sleepers.
Support
Edge Support
Cooling
Motion Transfer
Durability
Trial Period
Warranty

Nolah Evolution Comfort+ Mattress FAQs

Is the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ mattress worth it?

In my experience, the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ is worth it for heavier side, back sleepers and those who overheat. It also offers a plush, comfy pillow top feel. But, it might not be worth it if you are on the lighter side or need more support for stomach sleeping.

Can you flip the Nolah Evolution Comfort+?

No, you cannot flip this mattress. It is meant to rest with the base layers on the bottom and the plush pillow top on top.

How long will the Nolah Evolution Comfort+ last?

The durable Nolah Evolution Comfort+ should easily last for 10 years.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.