Polysleep Origin Mattress Review

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

If you’re looking for a great value mattress, Polysleep is a great place to start. And, if you want the most affordable option possible, you’ve got to check out the Polysleep Origin mattress. 

In my Polysleep Origin mattress review, I will discuss its construction, my experience with it and how much of a value it really is. 

Polysleep Origin Mattress

The Polysleep Origin is a value all-foam mattress that offers some good support and motion isolation.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$845 - $1295

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Polysleep Origin Mattress

The Polysleep Origin is a value all-foam mattress that offers some good support and motion isolation.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$845 - $1295

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Polysleep Origin Mattress

The Polysleep Origin is a value all-foam mattress that offers some good support and motion isolation.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$845 - $1295

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Polysleep Origin Mattress Review: General Review

Polysleep is a Canadian mattress brand that offers some comfortable and affordable bed-in-a-box mattresses. The brand offers all-foam models like the Polysleep flagship model and hybrids like the Zephyr. For you bargain shoppers out there, Polysleep also has the Polysleep Origin. It is Polysleep’s most streamlined mattress and its price is hard to beat. 

While there is a lot to like about the Polysleep Origin mattress, it will be a better fit for some types of sleepers and not as good a fit for others. 

Pros of the Polysleep Origin Mattress

  • Good support for back sleepers
  • Responsive and easy to move around on
  • A good deal 

Cons of the Polysleep Origin Mattress

  • Not good for heavy people
  • Too firm for side sleeping 
  • Not for fans of soft mattresses

Overall Rating

Our team of Certified Sleep Science Coaches personally test each mattress in categories such as materials, comfort, cooling, and support. Hover over the icons to learn more about these different topics, or scroll down for a more detailed analysis on each one.

Mattress Performance Ratings

Poor
Average
Excellent

1
2
3
4
5
4.1
Overall Rating
4
Support
4.5
Edge Support
3.5
Cooling
4
Motion Transfer
4
Durability
4
Trial Period
4.5
Warranty

Note: Looking for a mattress that sleeps cooler? Check out our Best Cooling Mattresses for options with cooling features and great airflow.

Polysleep Origin Firmness and Feel

Let’s take a look at the Polysleep Origin’s firmness and feel and how it works for different sleeping positions. 

How Firm Is The Polysleep Origin Mattress

On a scale of 1-10, the Polysleep Origin scored a 7.5, which is firmer than average. While it features soft foam layers on top, these layers are not too thick. When I lay down, I mostly felt the firm support of the base foam. 

Sleeping On The Polysleep Origin

Back sleeping on the Polysleep Origin was very comfortable for me. While it is a firmer mattress, my weight still compressed the top layers so that I felt a bit of contouring. And, the mattress was supportive enough to hold up my 270 lb. 

A man sleeps on his back on the Polysleep Origin

Side sleeping, the mattress was too firm for me. I pressed through the top foam layers and felt the firmness of the support layer on my shoulder and hip. Side sleepers will want a softer mattress. 

Stomach sleeping, the mattress offered me decent support. I didn’t feel my hips sink too far into the mattress, but I have felt better support on some hybrid and innerspring mattresses. Strict stomach sleepers will want something firmer than the Polysleep Origin. 

What Does The Polysleep Origin Feel Like?

The Polysleep Origin has a balanced foam feel that will let you sink in just a bit. You get a soft foam feel right on top, but you will have no trouble moving around. 

A man presses his hand into the Polysleep Origin mattress
Sleeper WeightBack SleepersSide SleepersStomach Sleepers
Lightweight (Under 130 lb)GoodFairGood
Average (130 – 230 lb)ExcellentBadGood
Heavyweight (Over 230 lb)FairBadFair

Polysleep Origin Mattress Construction

Now, let’s pull back the cover of the Polysleep Origin and see what is inside. 

Cover

The Polysleep Origin features a thin, breathable cover. It allows for air to flow through the top of the mattress. 

Comfort Layers

The Polysleep Origin’s top layer contains a proprietary open-cell viscoelastic foam. This is designed to provide pressure relief, and its open-cell design is meant to keep it from trapping heat. 

Below that there is a layer of transition foam that offers a bit more pressure relief and keeps you from sinking too far into the mattress. 

Support Layer

The mattress boasts thick, dense Polysleep foam in its support layer. This is firmer and is designed to support your body. 

Mattress Height

The Polysleep Origin is 10” tall. 

Polysleep Origin Mattress Size Options and Price

The following chart will give you the most up-to-date size and pricing info.

Size DimensionsPrice
Twin39” x 75”$845.00
Twin XL39” x 80”$895.00
Full54” x 75”$920.00
Queen60” x 80”$995.00
King 76” x 80”$1295.00
California King72" x 84"$1125.00

Polysleep Origin Mattress Performance

I tested the Polysleep Origin to see how cooling, supportive and durable it really is. Read on to see how it scored. 

Sleeping Hot or Cold

The Polysleep Origin has a breathable cover and breathable foam in its top layer. That being said, it is not the coolest mattress I have slept on. Lying down, I did feel like I was warming up a bit. I would recommend pairing this with a cooling mattress cover or sheets. And, if you sleep particularly hot, look at one of our best cooling mattresses

Motion Transfer

Motion transfer happens when your partner rolls around on their side of the mattress, and you feel it on your side of the mattress. 

The Polysleep Origin does a good job of isolating motion to each side of the mattress. During my tests, I saw the comfort foams absorbing most motion, not allowing it to pass to the other side of the mattress. Because of this, the Polysleep Origin could be a good mattress for couples

Edge Support

The Polysleep Origin’s edge support should also be enticing to couples. When I was sitting and lying down near the edge of the mattress, it did not collapse under my weight. This means you and your partner should be able to use every square inch of this mattress, even the very edge. 

A man sits near the edge of the Polysleep Origin mattress

Durability

The Polysleep Origin is a streamlined, budget mattress without coils. Usually, this would mean a mattress wouldn’t last too long, but the Polysleep features some high-density foams. Based on its materials, I would say the Polysleep Origin should last for at least seven years. 

Off-gassing

The Polysleep Origin is a bed-in-a-box mattress, so you should expect some off-gassing when you unpack it. When I opened the Polysleep’s box and peeled off the plastic, I noticed that familiar chemical smell. 

This is normal, however, and it did not last long with the Polysleep. After about two days, the smell was gone. 

Noise

The Polysleep Origin made no noise when I rolled around on top and changed positions. It doesn’t contain coils, so it shouldn’t make noise, even after you’ve had it for many years. 

Sex

The Polysleep Origin is a responsive mattress that makes it easy to move around on top of. Because of this, it should be a good mattress for sex. Partners will be able to change positions without feeling trapped in the mattress. 

Polysleep Company Policies

Now, let’s take a look at Polysleep’s fine print. 

Warranty

You get a 10-year warranty with your Polysleep Origin mattress. 

Sleep Trial

Polysleep offers a 100-night sleep trial with their mattresses. 

Return Policy

The Polysleep mattresses all come with free shipping and returns. 

Common Polysleep Complaints

Most of the Polysleep complaints center around the sleep trial and mattress returns. Some customers have found the return language confusing and have had issues with the mattress pickup. 

How Does The Polysleep Origin Compare To Others?

Ready to do a little comparison shopping. Let’s see how the Polysleep Origin stacks up against other competitors. 

Polysleep Origin vs Nectar

Product
Firmness
Score
Polysleep Origin Mattress
Firm: 7.5/10
4.1/5
Nectar Mattress
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
4.3/5
Product
Polysleep Origin Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 7.5/10
Score
4.1/5
Product
Nectar Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Score
4.3/5

When it comes to all-foam mattresses, you can’t ignore the popularity of the Nectar. The Nectar is an all-foam memory foam mattress that provides a comfortable, slow-moving feel. It is taller than the Polysleep mattress, softer and has more cooling features. But, the Polysleep Origin and Nectar are very close in terms of price. 

A cross-section shot of the Nectar Classic Hybrid

Who Should Choose The Polysleep Origin?

  • Fans of firmer mattresses
  • Those who like a responsive feel 

Who Should Choose The Nectar? 

  • Fans of softer mattresses
  • Those who like a memory foam feel 

Polysleep Origin vs Polysleep

Product
Firmness
Score
Polysleep Origin Mattress
Firm: 7.5/10
4.1/5
Best Canadian Mattress
Polysleep Mattress
Medium-firm: 7/10
3.8/5
Product
Polysleep Origin Mattress
Firmness
Firm: 7.5/10
Score
4.1/5
Best Canadian Mattress
Product
Polysleep Mattress
Firmness
Medium-firm: 7/10
Score
3.8/5

So, how does the Polysleep Origin compare to the flagship model? The main differences are going to be firmness and price. The Polysleep mattress is a bit softer than the Polysleep Origin. But, this additional comfort gives it a higher price point. In addition, it has a more durable construction, so it should be a better long-term investment. 

A cross-section of the Polysleep mattress

Who Should Choose The Polysleep?

  • Those who want to save money
  • Those who want something firmer 

Who Should Choose The Polysleep Origin? 

  • Those who want something longer-lasting
  • Those who need more comfort 

Final Thoughts

Overall, the Polysleep Origin is a great value mattress that should offer good support for back sleeping. In addition, its responsive design makes moving around very easy. 

However, I don’t think it will be supportive enough for heavy people, and it will be too firm for side sleepers and fans of soft mattresses. 

Polysleep Origin Mattress FAQs

Is the Polysleep Origin a good mattress?

Yes, the Polysleep Origin is a good mattress. It is especially good for back sleepers, fans of bouncy mattresses and those who want a good deal. However, if you are a heavy person, side sleeper or want a long-term investment, I would look elsewhere. 

Can you flip the Polysleep Origin mattress?

No, you cannot flip this mattress. It is designed for the support layer to go on the bottom and for the comfort layers to go on top. 

How long will the Polysleep Origin mattress last?

Based on its construction, I would say the Polysleep Origin mattress should last for around seven years. 

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.