Best RV Mattress

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Finding the best RV mattress can allow you to go on a cross-country adventure without sacrificing comfort. Many bed-in-a-box brands have begun creating mattresses specifically for this purpose, and some of them have already-existing products that will fit easily into a motorhome. We’ll go over all of these different types of best RV mattresses and more in the following roundup. So put the keys in the ignition and let’s get rolling!

Our Verdict: What’s the Best RV Mattress?

Our expert reviewers chose the Dreamfoam Essential as the best RV mattress for its cooling and contouring features as well as its variety of sizes and heights to fit your space.

Best RV Mattress: Our Top Picks

Compare the Best RV Mattresses

Dreamfoam Essential RV Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Bear Mattress Nectar Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Original 6" MobilePlush RV Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe RV Mattress Saatva Mattress Tochta Utopia
Dreamfoam Essential RV Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Helix Midnight Mattress Bear Mattress Nectar Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Original 6" MobilePlush RV Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe RV Mattress Saatva Mattress Tochta Utopia
Rating
Coming Soon
Firmness Medium-firm: 7/10 Firm: 8/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Soft: 5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options --
Material Foam Foam Hybrid Foam Foam Hybrid Foam Hybrid Innerspring Foam
Cooling -- -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Back Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side

How We Chose Our Top Picks

Our team of sleep specialists has reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

Latex mattress testing in our studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

For this roundup, we focused on mattresses that either come in specific RV sizes or offer smaller sizes that will fit an RV. In addition, we chose mattresses that are not extremely thick, as thick mattresses will not work well in an RV.

Best Overall – Dreamfoam Essential

Best Overall

Dreamfoam Essential RV Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Dreamfoam Essential RV Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Dreamfoam Essential RV Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

The all-foam Dreamfoam Essential has been so successful in the bedroom that Brooklyn Bedding is now taking it on the road. Sleepers can expect all of the mattress’ cooling and contouring features, but in a wider variety of sizes specifically designed for RVs. Short Queen, RV King, RV Bunk — the list goes on and on and on.

What the testers say: “Reviewing the Dreamfoam Essential, I loved how it came in different thicknesses and sizes to give me options. I reviewed the 12″ model, and it had a very good balance of comfort and support for back sleeping.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Dreamfoam Essential

  • Has a comfy memory foam feel
  • Boasts cooling foams to prevent overheating
  • A good fit for back sleepers and side sleepers

Cons of the Dreamfoam Essential

  • May be too soft for stomach sleepers
  • Not a very deluxe mattress
  • Not supportive enough for heavy people

Read our full Dreamfoam Essential mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Dreamfoam Essential mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses of 2024 for more great options!

Best RV Mattress For Heavy People – Plank Firm

Best for Heavy People

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Heavy People

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Heavy People

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

Heavy people over 230 lb tend to need a firm and supportive mattress so they can stay elevated and keep their spines in a neutral alignment. This is even more important on the road, where they may be contending with a smaller space and the motion of a vehicle. We think the all-foam Plank Firm might be the answer for these folks, as it was designed by Brooklyn Bedding to be an exceptionally firm and stable mattress.

What the testers say: “As a heavier person, I usually require a firmer, more supportive mattress. The Plank Firm is definitely one of the firmest mattresses I have ever reviewed and kept me supported while back and stomach sleeping.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Plank Firm

  • It is flippable with two firmnesses
  • Comes with an optional cooling panel
  • A durable, long-lasting mattress

Cons of the Plank Firm

  • Not for fans of soft mattresses
  • Too firm for side sleeping

Read our full Plank Firm mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Plank mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options!

Best RV Mattress For Couples – Helix Midnight

Best for Couples

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Couples

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Couples

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a road-tripping couple, you’ll want to make sure your RV has a bed that’s able to isolate motion well and keep you from disturbing one another. We think the medium-firm Helix Midnight more than fits the bill. It’s a hybrid mattress, meaning it has a construction of several different materials. A layer of individually wrapped coils at the bottom of the bed creates plenty of support, while a comfort layer of Memory Plus foam up top works to contour the body and minimize movement. This allows lovebirds to move around without waking each other up.

What the testers say: “I tested the Helix Midnight to see how well it isolated motion to each side of the mattress. I saw very little disturbances during my tests. This lets me know that it should be a good choice for couples.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Helix Midnight

  • A comfortable mattress for back sleepers and side sleepers.
  • Features many cooling materials
  • Boasts great edge support

Cons of the Helix Midnight

  • Too soft for stomach sleepers
  • Doesn’t have a memory foam feel

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Helix Midnight mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options!

Best Cheap RV Mattress – Bear

Best Cheap Mattress

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cheap Mattress

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cheap Mattress

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

Bear has made a name for itself in the mattress industry for its beds that cater to athletes. While traveling and camping aren’t exactly sports, they’re still part of an active lifestyle, so it only makes sense that the Bear Original, a bed made with materials that help with muscle recovery would make our list of the best RV mattresses. The Bear comes with a breathable Tencel cover, gel-infused foam, and an optional celliant cover that helps with recovery. Best of all, even before discounts, a Queen is just under $1,000, making the Bear one of the best-value RV mattresses out there.

What the testers say: “The Bear mattress offers a great balance of comfort and support, which is great news for back sleepers, and when I rested on my side, I felt great pressure relief along my hips and shoulders.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Bear

  • Features contouring memory foam
  • Gel infusions help with cooling
  • A breathable cover promotes airflow

Cons of the Bear

  • Stomach sleepers will need more support
  • Heavy sleepers will need more support

Check out our Bear mattress review. If you aren’t interested in the Bear mattress, check out our list of the Best Cheap Mattresses for more great options!

Best RV Mattress for Side Sleepers – Nectar

Best for Side Sleepers

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Side Sleepers

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Side Sleepers

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

Even if they’re in an RV that’s barreling down the highway (especially if they’re in an RV that’s barreling down the highway), side sleepers tend to need a mattress that offers a lot of pressure relief. Luckily, the all-foam Nectar is available in Twin and Twin XL sizes that should fit in many motorhomes. While the bed is medium firm, its comfort layer is made of slow-moving memory foam, which cradles the hips and shoulders — the parts of the body where side sleepers put the most pressure.

What the testers say: “Side sleeping on the Nectar mattress, the memory foam relieved most pressure on my shoulders and hips. However, I weigh 270 lb, and those who weigh less than me are going to experience even better pressure relief.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Nectar

  • Features gel infusions to promote cooling
  • Offers a balance of comfort and support for back sleepers
  • A good mattress for couples

Cons of the Nectar

  • Not very easy to move around on
  • Stomach sleepers need something firmer
  • Not built for heavy people

Read our full Nectar mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Nectar mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers for more great options!

Best RV Mattress For Back Sleepers – DreamCloud

Best for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best for Back Sleepers

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Our Expert’s Take

The DreamCloud is a luxury hybrid that feels similar to a mattress you’d sleep on in a high-end hotel. And because it’s available in Twin and Twin XL sizes, you can bring its luxury to the wilderness and the wide-open highway. Overall, we think it’s a perfect match for traveling back sleepers, who should feel lifted up by the mattress’ support layer of individually wrapped coils. But they’ll also get some contouring and pressure relief up top from a comfort layer of soft memory foam.

What the testers say: “While the DreamCloud is a firmer mattress, it is still an excellent choice for back sleeping. When I lay on my back, I felt my hips sink down into the pillow top while the coils supported my body.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the DreamCloud

  • Has a luxurious cashmere pillow top
  • Contains cooling features
  • A transition layer prevents bottoming out

Cons of the DreamCloud

  • Too firm for side sleeping
  • Heavy people may need more support
  • It is a heavier bed

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the DreamCloud mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers for more great options!

Best Short Queen RV Mattress – PlushBeds MobilePlush

Best Short Queen

Original 6" MobilePlush RV Mattress

PlushBeds' RV mattress is made of cushy memory foam with a ton of environmentally friendly certifications.

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 5/10

Warranty

20-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Short Queen

Original 6" MobilePlush RV Mattress

PlushBeds' RV mattress is made of cushy memory foam with a ton of environmentally friendly certifications.

Material

Foam

Warranty

20-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Short Queen

Original 6" MobilePlush RV Mattress

PlushBeds' RV mattress is made of cushy memory foam with a ton of environmentally friendly certifications.

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

20-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Our Expert’s Take

If you travel or camp in an RV, there’s a good chance that you love nature and might be interested in an organic mattress like the PlushBeds MobilePlush. This memory foam bed has a laundry list of green-minded credentials, from a fiberglass-free eco fire barrier to foams that are CertiPUR-US and GreenGuard Gold-certified. It comes in several RV sizes, including the compact yet spacious Short Queen. However, if you find that the dimensions you ordered don’t fit your vehicle, PlushBeds will send you the correct size free of charge.

What the testers say: “When I tried the PlushBeds MobilePlush I was impressed by its memory foam feel and organic materials. Its not every day you get that slow-moving feel and eco-friendly design in one mattress.” – Elisa, Reviewer

Pros of the PlushBeds MobilePlush

  • Features hypoallergenic materials
  • Open-celled foams help it sleep cool
  • Made in the USA

Cons of the PlushBeds MobilePlush

  • Not a tall, supportive mattress
  • Not built for heavy people

Full review coming soon! If you aren’t interested in the PlushBeds MobilePlush mattress, check out our list of the Best Queen Size Mattresses for more great options!

Best Hybrid RV Mattress – Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

Best Hybrid

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe RV Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe RV Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review
Best Hybrid

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe RV Mattress

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

Brooklyn Bedding has become a major player in the mattress industry, with the Aurora Luxe being their most popular model. And it’s now available in several RV sizes, including Short Queen, RV King, and RV Bunk. Structurally, it’s a hybrid mattress with supportive coils at the bottom and patented CopperFlex foam up top. This layer creates a responsive kind of contouring, allowing you to move around easily while still getting some pressure relief. This makes the mattress a good fit for back sleepers who need a slight lift and combination sleepers who need to switch positions at night.

What the testers say: “The Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe is easily one of my favorite hybrid mattresses. When I tried the mattress for myself, I experienced fantastic cooling and comfort.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Aurora Luxe

  • Available in three different firmnesses
  • Features cooling Phase Change Material
  • Should be a durable, long-lasting mattress

Cons of the Aurora Luxe

  • Lacks a memory foam feel
  • Stomach sleepers need more firmness
  • Heavier people should look elsewhere

Read our full Aurora Luxe mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Aurora Luxe mattress, check out our list of the Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options!

Best RV Mattress for Stomach Sleepers – Saatva

Best for Stomach Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Stomach Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

Saatva Mattress Review

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Saatva Mattress Review
Best for Stomach Sleepers

Saatva Mattress

The Saatva is an organic mattress that is both comfortable and supportive. This mattress comes in multiple firmness options to fit a variety of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Innerspring

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

Of all the sleeping positions, stomach sleepers often have the most difficult time finding a supportive-enough mattress. That doesn’t change in an RV. Fortunately, the Saatva — a luxury hybrid mattress with an innerspring feel — is available in both Twin and Twin XL, two sizes that fit easily into a motorized home. At the bottom of the bed is a dual layer of coils. First, a set of thick, high-grade coils creates a substantial amount of support for stomach sleepers. Then, a set of smaller microcoils offers some contouring.

What the testers say: “The Firm model of the Saatva mattress offers great support for stomach sleeping. With a zoned construction and firm design, it held up my hips and entire body so that I did not feel out of alignment.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Saatva

  • Has a plush pillow top
  • Comes in multiple firmnesses
  • Boasts great edge support

Saatva Highlights

  • Not available in RV sizes
  • Lacks real contouring

Read our full Saatva mattress review to learn more. If you aren’t interested in the Saatva mattress, check out our list of the Best Mattresses for Stomach Sleepers for more great options!

Best Memory Foam RV Mattress – Tochta Utopia

Best Memory Foam

Tochta Utopia

The foam in this mattress is designed to be both soft and firm at the same time, making it comfortable for back sleepers and side sleepers alike.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
/5
Best Memory Foam

Tochta Utopia

The foam in this mattress is designed to be both soft and firm at the same time, making it comfortable for back sleepers and side sleepers alike.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
/5
Best Memory Foam

Tochta Utopia

The foam in this mattress is designed to be both soft and firm at the same time, making it comfortable for back sleepers and side sleepers alike.

Clarity Score 4.5/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
/5

Our Expert’s Take

Like many RV mattresses, the Tochta Utopia is made with memory foam, but with a little bit of a twist. It’s meant to be both soft and firm at the same time, creating an optimal blend of comfort and support that’s ideal for both back sleepers and side sleepers. The mattress accomplishes this with gel beads that alter their structure depending on the amount of weight being applied, conforming to each individual’s body.

What the testers say: “I really liked the memory foam feel of the Tochta Utopia. Lying down, it contoured to the shape of my body. This made it very nice for both back and side sleeping.” – Elisa, Reviewer

Pros of the Tochta Utopia

  • Contains high-density foam
  • Gel beads wick away moisture
  • Made in the USA

Cons of the Tochta Utopia

  • Not the most responsive mattress
  • May still trap a bit of heat

Full review coming soon! If you aren’t interested in the Tochta mattress, check out our list of the Best Memory Foam Mattresses for more great options!

What Exactly Is an RV Mattress?

To put it bluntly, an RV mattress is any mattress that can fit inside an RV. This can be an already-existing mattress that’s available in RV-compatible sizes (more on that in a bit) or a mattress that was created specifically with RVs in mind.

What Size Is an RV Mattress?

Of the traditional mattress sizes, both Twin and Twin XL should fit into most RV bed frames. So any mattress that’s available in those sizes might be a good fit for your motorized home.

But there are many additional mattress sizes out there created specifically for the unique dimensions of an RV bed frame, including Short Queen, RV Bunk, and RV King. Here’s a rundown of all of them:

SizeMeasurements
Twin38″ x 75″
Twin XL38″ x 80″
RV Bunk28” x 75”

 

30” x 75”

30” x 80”

34” x 75”

35” x 79”

RV Full53” x 75”

 

54” x 75”

55” x 75

Three-Quarter48” x 75”

 

48” x 80”

RV Short Queen60” x 74”

 

60” x 75”

RV Queen60″ x 80″
RV Short King72″ x 75″
RV King72″ x 80″
Eastern King76″ x 80″
RV California King72″ x 84″

It’s important to note that not every mattress (including some of the ones on this list) are going to be available in all of these sizes. Before you make a purchase, learn what size bed frame is already in your RV. If you’re not sure, take its measurements so you can decide which sizes will fit.

Differences Between RV Mattresses and Traditional Mattresses

This section is a bit of a misnomer since many traditional mattresses are RV mattresses. But if we’re talking about mattresses specifically designed for RVs versus mattresses that will fit in an RV (again, anything that comes in Twin and Twin XL sizes), there are a few key differences:

  • Size: We’ve already mentioned how any RV mattress is going to come in a variety of RV-specific sizes. That being said, many traditional mattresses are now being manufactured in RV sizes.
  • Thickness: Because of the limited amount of space, RV mattresses tend to be a little thinner/shorter than traditional mattresses. Most RV mattresses are going to be between 4” and 8” thick, although if you’re putting a traditional mattress inside an RV, it will likely be thicker.
  • Price: While there are of course exceptions, RV mattresses are generally going to be cheaper than traditional mattresses because there are less materials involved in the production.

Types of RV Mattresses

Whether you’re putting a traditional mattress in your RV or purchasing an RV-specific mattress, they come in many different styles and constructions. Here are some of the most common types of beds and who they might be good for.

RV Innerspring Mattresses

The term “innerspring mattress” is interesting since it’s rare to find a true innerspring mattress these days. Most beds that contain a foundation of springs still have a decent bit of foam up top. But there are a good number of beds with an innerspring feel, such as the Saatva and the WinkBed. These mattresses are usually firm, springy, and supportive, and tend to be a good match for back sleepers, stomach sleepers, and combination sleepers. They’re also a good fit for heavy sleepers over 230 lb who need more support.

RV Foam Mattresses

Many mattresses are made entirely of foam. Memory foam is an especially popular material, and usually appeals to side sleepers because of its slow-sinking feeling that relieves pressure on the shoulders and hips. Then again, it’s also possible for an all-foam bed to be firm and supportive, which tends to be a better fit for back sleepers.

RV Hybrid Mattresses

A kind of middle ground between innerspring and foam mattresses, hybrid mattresses are made from a combination of different materials. The most common blend is a layer of pocketed coils on the bottom of the mattress for support and some kind of foam up top for pressure relief and contouring, with maybe some denser transitional foam in the middle. Hybrid mattresses tend to have a good blend of comfort and support, making them natural choices for side sleepers and back sleepers. Because of their versatility, there are also a decent number of models that are good for combination sleepers and stomach sleepers, too.

RV Latex Mattresses

Latex foam is an environmentally friendly alternative that’s bouncier and more responsive than memory foam. These mattresses can derive their foam from either Talalay or Dunlop latex, and tend to be a good fit for combination sleepers, who need a responsive bed so they can easily switch positions at night. And because latex is naturally cooling, a latex mattress is also a good fit for hot sleepers.

RV Air Mattresses

Although we didn’t include any in this roundup, air mattresses are compatible with RV bed frames, as long as they have the right dimensions. However, they’re going to be less durable than a non-inflatable RV mattress.

Types of RVs

Oftentimes, the type of RV you have will dictate the size of mattress you can get. While there are of course exceptions to every rule, here are some of the most common types of motorhomes you’ll see.

Motorhomes 

This is what most people think of when they hear the word “RV.” It describes a vehicle where the driver’s seat and passenger seat are connected to the interior. They’re divided into three classes, each of which has a different size. Class A motorhomes are the largest and can usually accommodate any of the RV mattress sizes we’ve discussed. The next largest size is Class B, which usually has bunk beds or bed frames with RV Bunk sizes. Finally, there’s Class C, which doesn’t always have room for a new mattress. Instead, many of them are equipped with pull-out couches.

Pop-Up Trailers

These are separate vehicles towed behind a truck or car, and are often used for camping. They usually come with mattresses already installed that you can’t remove, so you might be better off going with a mattress topper if you’re looking to customize your sleeping experience.

Travel Trailers

These are a lot longer than pop-up trailers, but also tend to be narrower. They usually come with pull-out couches that can be customized with a mattress topper. But it’s rare that you’ll be able to bring in a new RV mattress.

Caring For Your RV Mattress

With any mattress, you should look at the care instructions for specifics on how to best maintain your mattress. But here are some general tips to help your RV bed last as long as possible.

  • Use a dehumidifier: RVs can get pretty stuffy, especially when they’re not in use. So if you’re planning on keeping the mattress in there at all times, consider using a dehumidifier to keep the materials fresh and dry.
  • Crack a window: As long as it’s safe to do so, keeping the windows open can allow fresh air into the RV and keep your RV mattress from accumulating mold.
  • Store thoughtfully: If you only use your RV seasonally, consider keeping your RV mattress indoors, or at least placing it on some kind of elevated platform inside the vehicle. This will also help it last longer and keep humidity and mold at bay.

Summary

MattressSuperlative
Dreamfoam EssentialBest Overall
Plank FirmBest for Heavy people
Helix MidnightBest for Couples
BearBest Cheap Mattress
NectarBest for Side Sleepers
DreamCloudBest for Back Sleepers
PlushBeds MobilePlushBest Short Queen
Aurora LuxeBest Hybrid
SaatvaBest for Stomach Sleepers
Tochta UtopiaBest Memory Foam

Best RV Mattress FAQs

Can you use a mattress topper on an RV mattress?

Yes! A mattress topper is a great way to extend the life of your RV mattress. Just make sure you have the right size. Many mattress toppers are even available in RV-specific dimensions.

Can you use an RV mattress in all RVs?

No. Some RVs come with mattresses already installed that are unmovable. See our buying guide above for specific details, and make sure you know what kind of motorhome you have and what it can accommodate before making a purchase.

How can I make my RV mattress more comfortable?

Your best bet is to add a mattress topper, which can make your mattress feel softer or firmer. You can also try rotating your mattress or adding bedding that fits your sleep preferences.

Dan Caffrey

Dan is a Performance Editor and Certified Sleep Coach at Mattress Clarity, where he writes and edits mattress roundups to give readers the most up-to-date information on sleep products. In 2020, Dan earned his MFA In Playwriting from UT Austin, and his plays have been seen around the country in Chicago, Austin, Washington D.C., and elsewhere. He's also a pop-culture fanatic, having written for publications such as The A.V. Club, Consequence, Pitchfork, and Vox. He co-hosts two popular horror podcasts on the Bloody Disgusting Podcast Network — The Losers' Club: A Stephen King Podcast and Halloweenies: A Horror Franchise Podcast. When he's not catching up on the latest King novel, you can find Dan in and around Brooklyn walking his dog Hank, seeing a play with his wife, and going to way too many concerts.