Best Floor Mattresses 2022

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

There are a number of reasons to invest in one of the best floor mattresses. Some value the aesthetic of a floor mattress, while others like to save money by not purchasing a frame or foundation. Traditional mattresses can be placed on the ground to serve as floor mattresses. There are also rollable and foldable mattresses; these are thinner and serve as stellar options for hosting guests, camping, or even napping. After much research and analysis, our team at Sleepopolis created a roundup for our readers, so you can determine what is truly the best floor mattress for your needs.

Best Floor Mattress: Our Top 10 Picks

How We Chose These Beds

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

In order to choose the Best Floor Mattresses, we needed to define what a floor mattress is. We considered many different sleeping surfaces that can be used for sleeping temporarily, or even permanently, on the floor. Many bed-in-a-box brands designed their mattresses to work without a frame, so we included traditional mattresses in this roundup. We couldn’t forget to include tri-fold mats, futons, and roll-up surfaces as well; these are thinner, more temporary sleeping surfaces.

Regardless of the type of floor mattress, we paid close attention to quality materials. Sleeping on the floor can make a bed feel firmer, so it’s important to have a balance of supportive features, as well as plush pressure relief.

Affordability was a large focus when creating this roundup. We wanted traditional mattresses, roll-up mattresses, and foldable mattresses that come at a reasonable price point. For many, floor mattresses are a temporary option or secondary option, and aren’t used as a primary sleeping surface.

Best Floor Mattress for Adults

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Floor Mattress for Adults

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Floor Mattress for Adults

WinkBed Mattress

Winkbeds has a mattress that is an excellent balance of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
Read WinkBed Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

The WinkBed makes an excellent bed-in-a-box floor mattress for adults because it comes in four firmnesses: Softer, Luxury Firm, Firmer, and Plus (for heavier sleepers). With this in mind, adults should be able to find a model that provides the best comfort and support for their needs. Depending on your sleeping position and body type, you can select your ideal mattress.

Why We Love the WinkBed

  • It’s cooling Tencel cover, gel-infused foam, and breathable coils make it great for hot sleepers.
  • The WinkBed is one of the best orthopedic mattresses out there.
  • The plush Euro-top and multiple foam layers make it one of the most comfortable beds we’ve reviewed.

Read our full WinkBed review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses of 2022 for more great options.

Best Floor Mattress for Guests

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Floor Mattress for Guests

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Floor Mattress for Guests

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Helix Midnight is a solid bed-in-a-box floor mattress for guests because it’s incredibly well-rounded and versatile. The balance of comfort and support provided by its medium-firm construction makes it great for lightweight sleepers, most average-weight sleepers, and some heavier back sleepers. With such a wide range of accommodated sleepers, your guests should be more than satisfied with this bed.

Why We Love the Helix Midnight

  • Because it has low motion transfer, couples shouldn’t wake up from their partner’s movements at night.
  • It has incredible edge support, making this a durable option.
  • With a balanced foam feel, combination sleepers should be able to change positions at night without getting stuck in the material.

Read our full Helix Midnight review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for a Guest Room for more great options.

Best Foam Floor Mattress

Tuft & Needle Mattress

The Tuft & Needle is a great value mattress that is also extremely comfortable.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Tuft & Needle Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Foam Floor Mattress

Tuft & Needle Mattress

The Tuft & Needle is a great value mattress that is also extremely comfortable.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Tuft & Needle Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Foam Floor Mattress

Tuft & Needle Mattress

The Tuft & Needle is a great value mattress that is also extremely comfortable.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Tuft & Needle Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping minus HI and AK

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

The Tuft & Needle is a bed-in-a-box that includes a thick and durable piece of base foam for its support layer. Also, the foam is ventilated, which might help prevent the absorption of moisture while the bed rests on the floor. Its comfort layer foams are also incredibly well-made. Unlike most foam, Tuft & Needle’s comfort layer foam is responsive and gel-infused for heat dissipation.

Why We Love the Tuft & Needle

  • For a traditional mattress, it’s set at an excellent value. Before sales and discounts, you can find a Queen for under $1,000.
  • Combination sleepers and those with mobility issues should enjoy the Tuft & Needle’s bouncier nature.
  • Tuft & Needle uses non-toxic foams that are GREENGUARD Gold and CertiPUR-US certified.

Read our full Tuft & Needle review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Memory Foam Mattresses for more great options.

Best Cooling Floor Mattress

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Nolah Signature 12" Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Cooling Floor Mattress

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Nolah Signature 12" Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Cooling Floor Mattress

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Nolah Signature 12" Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Sleeping on the floor is generally more cooling than using a base or foundation. If you still find yourself waking up sweaty, opt for one of the best cooling bed-in-a-box mattresses: the Nolah Signature. All-foam beds are known to trap heat, but that’s not the case with this model. The Nolah Signature is topped with a breathable cotton and Tencel cover. Beneath is Nolah’s signature AirFoam, specially designed for cooling.

Why We Love the Nolah Signature

  • It’s one of the best mattresses for hip pain and back pain.
  • Couples should love the Nolah Signature because of its low motion transfer, durability, and cooling properties.
  • Its plush and contouring AirFoam provides significant pressure relief for side sleepers.

Read our full Nolah Signature review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

Best Floor Mattress for Back Pain

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Original Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Floor Mattress for Back Pain

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Original Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Floor Mattress for Back Pain

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Original Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

If you want to ensure that you receive enough support for back pain without the help of a foundation, then you’ll love the DreamCloud. This bed-in-a-box appears on our roundup for the best mattresses for back pain, and rightfully so. Its individually wrapped coils provide firm support to keep the spine in proper alignment, while the Euro-top cover and memory foam cover give pressure relief around the hips and lumbar region.

Why We Love the DreamCloud

  • It’s sold for a value price when compared to other traditional mattresses. The DreamCloud goes for $1,199 before sales and discounts.
  • Lightweight sleepers, most average-weight sleepers, and some heavier sleepers should enjoy this hybrid bed.
  • It’s great for hot sleepers; the cashmere-blend cover is breathable, the foam is infused with gel, and the coils provide airflow. 

Read our full DreamCloud review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Pain for more great options.

Best Budget Floor Mattress

Zinus Tri-Fold Comfort Mat

Material

Foam

Trial Period

N/A

Shipping Method

Flat-rate shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

N/A

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Best Budget Floor Mattress

Zinus Tri-Fold Comfort Mat

Material

Foam

Warranty

N/A

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Flat-rate shipping

Trial Period

N/A

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Best Budget Floor Mattress

Zinus Tri-Fold Comfort Mat

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

N/A

Warranty

N/A

Shipping Method

Flat-rate shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.9/5

The Zinus Tri-Fold Comfort Mat is a folding mat that makes for a stellar foam mattress. It’s also much easier on the wallet than a traditional mattress, priced at less than $300 for its Narrow Twin option. The Zinus Tri-Fold includes three different foam layers for both comfort and support: 1” of gel memory foam, 1” of viscolatex, and 1” of base foam. It should work especially well for lightweight sleepers (those under 130 lb).

Why We Love the Zinus Tri-Fold

  • The foam in this mat is CertiPUR-US certified, so eco-conscious shoppers can rest assured that the materials are quality.
  • This model is easy to fold and stow away, making it a convenient and portable option.
  • It measures 3” thick and 39” wide, and 75” long. ​​

Our full Zinus Tri-Fold Comfort Mat review is coming soon!

Best Foldable Floor Mattress

Milliard Tri-Folding Memory Foam Mattress

Material

Foam

Trial Period

N/A

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

N/A

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Foldable Floor Mattress

Milliard Tri-Folding Memory Foam Mattress

Material

Foam

Warranty

N/A

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

N/A

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Foldable Floor Mattress

Milliard Tri-Folding Memory Foam Mattress

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

N/A

Warranty

N/A

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

The Milliard Memory Tri-Fold is a unique foldable floor mattress in that it comes in a Queen size. This bed measures 78” x 58” x 6”, so there’s plenty of room to spread out. It has thicker layers for added comfort. 1.5” of memory foam and 4.5” of supportive foam make it better suited to adults than thinner, narrower foldable surfaces. The foldable element makes it portable and easy for temporary sleeping situations.

Why We Love the Milliard Memory Foam Tri-Fold

  • It comes with a washable cover and a non-slip bottom.
  • The memory foam is ventilated for cooling.
  • The foam is CertiPUR-US certified, and with 6” of quality material, it shouldn’t sag as easily.

Our full Milliard Memory Foam Tri-Fold review is coming soon!

Best Futon Mattress

D&D Futon Furniture Sleeper

Material

Foam

Trial Period

N/A

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Warranty

N/A

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Futon Mattress

D&D Futon Furniture Sleeper

Material

Foam

Warranty

N/A

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

N/A

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Futon Mattress

D&D Futon Furniture Sleeper

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

Trial Period

N/A

Warranty

N/A

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.
Average Customer Rating
4.5/5

Futon mattresses can be great temporary beds for guests, or in many cases, permanent sleeping spaces. The D&D Futon Mattress is designed to have the look and feel of a traditional Japanese futon mattress. When rolled out, it measures roughly the size of a Queen mattress. However, it’s much more portable, since all you need to do is roll it up and store it. The cushy foam in this futon adds to sleepers’ comfort while resting on the floor.

Why We Love the D&D Futon Mattress

  • The D&D Futon Mattress is made in the USA.
  • It has 4.5/5 stars on Amazon.
  • The fill of this bed consists of 90% white cotton batting, 5% polyester fiber batting, and resilient foam.

Our full D&D Futon Mattress review is coming soon!

Best Roll-Up Mattress

Simmons Siesta Gel Foam Lounger

Material

Foam

Trial Period

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Best Roll-Up Mattress

Simmons Siesta Gel Foam Lounger

Material

Foam

Warranty

Firmness

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Best Roll-Up Mattress

Simmons Siesta Gel Foam Lounger

Material

Foam

Firmness

Trial Period

Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5

If you’re looking for one of the best roll-up mattresses on the market, search no further than the Simmons Siesta Gel Foam Lounger. It comes in a Twin size and makes a fantastic temporary sleeping surface at a good value. Because this surface is so lightweight, it’s great for travel. It’s easy to store and set-up, so it works well as a play mat or even a comfy place to read. Simply roll it out and enjoy!

Why We Love the Simmons Siesta Lounger

  • It has a polyester-knit and washable cover, making this roll-up bed all the more convenient.
  • 3” of gel-infused foam makes this mattress cooling and comfortable.
  • This item comes with free shipping and returns.

Our full Simmons Siesta Gel Foam Lounger review is coming soon!

Best Portable Mattress

Better Habitat Sleep Ready Portable Floor Bed

Material

Foam

Trial Period

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Warranty

1-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Portable Mattress

Better Habitat Sleep Ready Portable Floor Bed

Material

Foam

Warranty

1-year warranty

Firmness

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Portable Mattress

Better Habitat Sleep Ready Portable Floor Bed

Material

Foam

Firmness

Trial Period

Warranty

1-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

There are two steps to setting up the Better Habitat SleepReady Portable Bed: unclip and roll out. You won’t need a pump like you would with an air mattress. To make things even easier, it comes with a travel case and carry handle. It can be easily lifted and stowed into a car. There are a number of uses for this bed; you can take it for an overnight trip, use it as a cozy guest surface, or even bring it to a college dorm room.

Why We Love the SleepReady Portable Bed

  • It includes a water-resistant bamboo sheet and non-slip bottom.
  • There are 3” of memory foam in the comfort layer, a material known to provide pressure relief and joint pain.
  • The cover is removable and machine-washable.

Our full Better Habitat SleepReady Portable Floor Bed review is coming soon!

Types of Floor Mattresses

Regular Mattresses

Traditional bed-in-a-box mattresses generally have a height of around 12” and are made from a variety of materials. These floor beds will keep you a bit higher off the ground and are better-suited for long-term use. That being said, these mattresses are generally meant to have a secure base, frame, or foundation of some sort. We recommend checking with the manufacturer to understand the mattress’s warranty, and to ensure that it can safely be placed on the ground.

RELATED: Best Mattresses

Foldable Mattresses

Foldable mattresses may fold once (bi-fold) or two times (tri-fold) at the creases. They typically include a layer or multiple layers of foam for cushioning while you rest on the floor. These sleeping surfaces are generally around 4” in height, and they can serve as a play mat for children or even a workout mat.

Rollable Mattresses

Like foldable mattresses, rollable mattresses are versatile, convenient, and space-saving. They roll into a similar and are lightweight, making them popular for travel. Rollable mattresses come in many forms, such as Japanese tatami beds, and are typically made of foam such as memory foam.

Yes or No: Mattresses on the Floor

Whether or not you should use a mattress on the floor is entirely circumstantial.

There are a number of different types of floor mattresses available, and while some of them aren’t suitable for long-term use, others get the job done quite well. The best way to tell whether a mattress is good for long-term use is to check with the manufacturer.

Regular bed-in-a-box mattresses: You should find that most mattresses can be placed on the floor, and that they work well enough for long-term use. This includes innersprings, hybrids, latex, and even memory foam mattresses.

Many foldable/roll-up/portable mattresses: While these sleeping surfaces might be more convenient in many cases, they may not be best for long-term use. Foldable or roll-up mattresses can be made with high-quality materials and can be used for something as long-term as a dorm room. However, pay special attention to how these surfaces are marketed and whether or not the manufacturer recommends them for long-term usage. Sometimes, they’re simply made to host a guest for a few nights or provide some pressure relief on a camping trip.

Benefits of Floor Mattresses

More Convenient

This applies more to portable/futon mattresses rather than traditional bed-in-a-box mattresses. Floor mattresses similar to foldable and rollable beds are easy to set up and put away, which makes them great in a pinch.

This can be fantastic for guests of all kinds (family reunions, your child’s sleepovers, a visiting friend, a vacation rental). These mattresses can be portable as well, adding comfort to your next camping trip.

Because they’re often not luxury, permanent options, and since you’re not paying the added cost of a foundation, these beds save quite a bit of money. You won’t have to empty your wallet to set up your guest bedroom.

The ability to pack up a portable floor mattress in a matter of minutes or even seconds allows you to save a significant amount of space. Many come with travel bags or cases for added convenience.

Temperature

If you tend to wake up hot and sweaty and cooling sheets and pillows just aren’t doing the trick, then putting your bed on the floor might change things. The air is cooler closer to the floor, which can prevent you from overheating.

Save Money

On average, quality foundations cost roughly $300, but luxury options can go beyond $500. Keeping your mattress on the floor means you don’t have to shell out an extra few hundred bucks.

RELATED: Box Springs vs Platforms vs Foundations

Disadvantages of Floor Mattresses

Bad for Allergies

Sleeping closer to the ground means that you’re also sleeping closer to dust, pollen, and other contaminants that gather on the floor. If you suffer from bad allergies, then you might want to consider steering away from floor mattresses. The proximity to allergens can worsen your symptoms.

Additionally, if you don’t properly care for your floor mattress, mold and mildew can ruin the material. Moisture builds up much easier in a floor mattress; frames and foundations allow for more circulation. That’s why it’s so important to air out and clean your floor mattress (more on that below).

Not As Clean

Being closer to the dirt and dust that gathers on the floor can be a disadvantage for those who like to keep a cleaner sleeping space. You might have to wash your comforter and sheets more often. You may need to clean your floor more regularly as well.

Doesn’t Suit Seniors

Sleeping on the floor means it’s much harder to get out of bed. This can be a deterrent for seniors, who require ease of movement on a mattress.

RELATED: Best Mattress for Seniors

Warranties

It’s important to consult the manufacturer’s mattress warranty on the product. Often, if you don’t provide your mattress with the proper support, it voids the warranty. In many cases, companies void warranties when mattresses are placed on the floor instead of a proper base or foundation.

Floor Mattress Considerations

Type of Flooring

Here are the criteria for a the best floor mattress location:

  • Somewhere dry
  • A finished surface
  • Somewhere clean

Many natural surfaces tend to absorb moisture, so be conscious of the material on which you’re setting your floor mattress. Synthetic surfaces are often your best bet. Additionally, you’re going to want not only a finished surface, but a clean one. This is best for your overall comfort and health, as well as the floor mattress’s lifespan.

Dimensions

One of the trickiest parts about floor mattresses (particularly foldable and rollable ones) is that they’re meant to save space. They’re not designed to support couples or heavier sleepers; more often than not, their comfort layers are only thick enough to support a single light or average-weight sleeper at a time. Be careful before purchasing a mattress and ensure it suits your weight capacity and body type. The manufacturer should be able to provide you with information about your chosen product.

RELATED: Mattress Sizes and Dimensions Guide

Materials

Regular Mattresses:

  • Memory foam: Side sleepers and those with joint pain tend to love memory foam mattresses because of the thick comfort layer. This material is known for providing unmatched pressure relief and contouring. While many foams tend to trap heat and sag easily, most companies use modern technology to create cooling foams and high-density foams for durability. 
  • Innerspring: While memory foam lovers are in search for lots of cushioning, innerspring fans seek a traditional and supportive feel. Because it includes a thin comfort layer and focuses mainly on sturdy coils, this mattress best suits stomach sleepers, heavier sleepers, and those experiencing back pain.
  • Hybrid: These beds combine features of memory foam and innerspring mattresses. They include a thicker comfort layer along with sturdy coils. This results in a wide range of feels amongst hybrid mattresses. 

Foldable and Rollable Mattresses:

These beds are made from foam —  typically memory foam or polyfoam. Some utilize a combination of both foams, since they each have different properties and purposes. Memory foam is famous for its slow-moving feel and ability to provide pressure relief. Polyfoam is often found in mattress support cores and provides a denser feel.

Cooling

If you tend to sleep hot, you might find that sleeping on the floor is your solution. It keeps you cooler at night than sleeping at a higher elevation (such as on a base or foundation). That said,  humid environments can be bad for floor mattresses because a mattress on the floor is more likely to absorb moisture. Any retained moisture can cause odor, mold, or mildew.

It’s also important to note that certain mattress materials promote cooling more than others. Innerspring and hybrid mattresses have coils that allow room for airflow. Some cooling mattresses and other sleeping surfaces include cooling gel-infused foams or ventilated foams for breathability. By researching a mattress’s construction, you should be able to tell whether or not it’s going to suit your needs as a hot sleeper.

Durability

Another thing to consider is how long you’ll want your mattress to last. In many cases, foldable or rollable mattresses aren’t permanent sleeping situations. Because they’re not being used nightly, they should last a few years. Still, they’re rather thin and less durable than a traditional mattress. If you’re sleeping on a traditional mattress such as a hybrid, you can expect roughly 7 years of constant use. Some can last over 10 years.

Keep in mind that using a mattress on the floor may shorten its lifespan. Without a foundation or base, mattresses are closer to the contaminants that collect and live on the floor. These bases also help support sleepers as well as the mattress itself.

The best way to find a durable mattress is to look for the inclusion of quality materials. High-density foams prevent sagging, and sturdy coils can also extend a mattress’s lifespan.

Purchasing Your Floor Mattress

Average Cost

Most rollable or foldable options should cost somewhere in the neighborhood of $50–$300. The average traditional mattress goes for around $800–$1700. Of course, both cheaper and luxury options exist.

When You Should Buy

Companies tend to have their biggest sales around large holidays. Here are five of the best times to shop for sleeping surfaces throughout the year:

  • February – Presidents’ Day
  • May – Memorial Day
  • September – Labor Day
  • November – Cyber 5
  • December – Christmas

Coupons

You can find a number of exclusive deals for many of the mattress brands featured in this article through our Mattress Clarity Coupons page.

Warranty and Sleep Trial

Warranties and sleep trials are important policies that represent a company’s confidence in their product. While warranties protect the customer from paying for a damaged or defective product, sleep trials give the customer an allotment of time to test out a mattress.

Caring for Your Floor Mattresses

Above all else, you should check with the manufacturer before cleaning your mattress. Below are guidelines that should work for many materials, and can be used when in doubt.

How to Clean a Mattress

  1. Remove all bedding from the mattress.
  2. Vacuum the mattress surface to remove loose particles, such as dirt and dust.
  3. Spot-clean your mattress. 
  4. Use baking soda to clean the entire mattress, removing moisture and any odors. Sprinkle across the surface, leave for a few hours, and vacuum it all up.
  5. Let your mattress air out. This can be done inside or outside on a clean surface. Airing out your mattress eliminates moisture, bacteria, and mold from the material.

Letting Your Floor Mattress Breathe

Giving your mattress the chance to air out is not only important in the mattress-cleaning process, but especially for floor beds. Placing your mattress on the floor makes it more susceptible to trapping moisture and contaminants like bacteria. While warmer or humid climates may need to do this more often, we suggest stripping the bedding and letting the mattress air out against a wall. This should be done for a few hours every couple of weeks.

How to Make Your Floor Mattress More Comfortable

  • Pillows: These accessories are crucial for maintaining proper neck and head alignment. They can also assist with cooling. For excellent options, check out our roundup for the best pillows on the market.
  • Sheets: If you get home after a long day of work, the last thing you want to do is crawl into bed with scratchy old sheets. Up your game using our roundup of the best sheets out there.

Summary

Here’s a recap of our top picks for the best floor mattresses:

Mattress Best for
WinkBed Best Floor Mattress for Adults
Helix Midnight Best Floor Mattress for Guests
Tuft & Needle Best Foam Floor Mattress
Nolah Signature Best Cooling Floor Mattress
DreamCloud Best Floor Mattress for Back Pain
Zinus Tri-Fold Comfort Mat Best Budget Floor Mattress
Milliard Memory Foam Tri-Fold Best Foldable Floor Mattress
D&D Futon Mattress Best Futon Floor Mattress
Simmons Siesta Gel Foam Lounger Best Roll-Up Floor Mattress
Better Habitat SleepReady Portable Floor Bed Best Portable Floor Mattress

FAQ

What mattress is best for the floor?

First, it’s worth mentioning that the best mattress is the best mattress for your individual needs and preferences. However, if we had to choose, we’d say either the WinkBed or the Zinus Tri-Fold Comfort Mat. Both are high-quality floor options for reasonable prices.

Is a mattress on the floor a good idea?

It depends. Sleeping on a floor mattress is often cheaper, cooler in temperature, and incredibly convenient. They work especially well for guests and other sleeping situations. While they may not be the best long-term options, some traditional mattresses can be placed on the floor safely. However, this may void the manufacturer’s warranty.

How thick should a floor mattress be?

Many rollable and foldable mattresses are about 4” thick, but remember to take your body type into consideration. Four inches of material may not provide enough support for you. Traditional mattresses are much thicker, measuring around 10” in height. These would be much better options for heavier sleepers, stomach sleepers, and those wanting more support.

What can I put under my mattress on the floor to prevent mold?

To avoid moisture buildup and consequently mold and mildew, you can put something between your mattress and the floor. Common materials include plywood, foam, and cardboard.

Gravatar for Lauren Hapgood

Lauren Hapgood

Lauren is a Performance Publisher at Mattress Clarity, where she writes and edits mattress content to keep readers updated on sleep products. Lauren is committed to helping readers find the best sleep products for their lifestyles and is even a Certified Sleep Science Coach! She earned her bachelor’s degree in creative writing from the University of Washington. When she’s not compiling lists of the best beds on the market, you can find Lauren running on a trail, reading classic novels, or napping on her favorite mattress (her best talent).