Best Mattress for Vacation Rentals

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Whether it’s through Airbnb, HomeAway, Home To Go, or Luxury Retreats, vacation rentals are extremely popular. Owning one comes with a lot of benefits, but also a lot of expenses. For instance, you’ll have to buy or replace mattresses. Even in terms of high-quality options, the best mattress for vacation rentals doesn’t have to run your wallet dry. There are numerous beds ideal for these spaces, and we’ve compiled them all into this roundup. Here are the best mattresses for vacation rentals!

Best Mattress for Vacation Rentals: Our Top Picks

How We Chose the Best Mattresses for Vacation Rentals

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

To choose the Best Mattresses for Vacation Rentals, we focused on beds with medium-firm firmness levels. This balanced feel allows for a wider range of sleepers to rest soundly on the same mattress, something that’s crucial for a vacation rental.

Affordability was a large focus when creating this roundup, but only in tandem with durability; we wanted mattresses cheaper than the one you might have in your own home, but just as long-lasting. We also kept a close eye on motion transfer because many couples enjoy vacation rentals.

Lastly, we chose beds with good cooling abilities, an important feature for any guest space. One of the featured beds scored an above-average 3.5/5 for cooling, while the remaining nine scored at or above 4/5.

Editor's Pick

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor's Pick

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor's Pick

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Helix Midnight Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Helix Midnight is our Editor’s Pick because it’s the dream vacation rental mattress. First off, its medium-firm construction appeals to a wide range of sleepers. Visiting couples will enjoy the bed’s stellar motion isolation, so they shouldn’t feel each other moving around at night. With coils and a breathable cover, there’s also plenty of cooling for hot sleepers. This can come in handy if your vacation rental is in a warmer climate or gets muggy during the summer months.

Why We Love the Helix Midnight

  • Made from a hybrid of high-density foams and sturdy coils, this mattress is durable.
  • The Memory Plus foam in the comfort layer provides lots of contouring for impressive pressure relief.
  • With good edge support and a responsive feel, visiting seniors should have an easy time getting in and out of bed.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review.

Best Foam Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced, cooling mattress.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Nectar Premier Copper Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Foam Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced, cooling mattress.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Nectar Premier Copper Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.6/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Foam Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced, cooling mattress.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Nectar Premier Copper Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
3.6/5
Watch Our Video Review

Foam mattresses have a bad reputation for their durability and cooling ability, two of the most important aspects of any vacation rental. You won’t have to worry about this with the Nectar Premier Copper. With a height of 14”, a 9” high-density base foam support layer, and impressive edge support, it can last over 10 years. This mattress includes many cooling features: a copper-infused cooling cover, Phase Change Material, and gel-infused foam. So, it sleeps cooler than most all-foam beds.

Why We Love the Nectar Premier Copper

  • This foam mattress has a balanced feel, so guests who favor support and guests who favor pressure relief should all be pleased.
  • It’s a luxury mattress, so it’s a nice high-end touch to your rental home.
  • It has a 365-night trial, a lifetime warranty, free shipping, and free returns, showing Nectar’s confidence in their product.

Read our full Nectar Premier Copper mattress review.

 

Best Mattress for the Money

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for the Money

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Mattress for the Money

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
Read Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5

Because Brooklyn Bedding owns their own factory, they can cut out the middleman. The result is a high-quality mattress set at an amazing value: the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid. It’s a hybrid mattress, using a combination of TitanFlex foam and Ascension coils. It comes in three firmnesses: Soft, Medium, and Firm. For vacation rentals, we recommend the medium version; it ranks 6.5/10 on our firmness scale, so it accommodates most back, side, and stomach sleepers.

Why We Love the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • Its cover features a plush, pillow-top feel and is soft to the touch.
  • This mattress comes in a number of different sizes, from Twin XL and Short Full to Olympic Queen and Split California King. It’s great for almost any space.
  • Its high-quality materials should allow guests to enjoy this mattress for 7–10 years.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review.

Best Luxury Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
/5
Best Luxury Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
/5
Best Luxury Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
Read Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
/5

Want your guests to feel like royalty? Invest in a luxury mattress like the Bear Elite Hybrid. It’s available in three different firmnesses: extra plush, luxury firm, and ultra firm. For catering to the widest range of guests, we suggest you opt for the luxury firm option. This balanced, medium-firm construction comes from its combination of sturdy coils and pressure-relieving foam. We particularly love the zoned support system in this mattress. This means it’s firmer towards the center and softer towards the head and foot of the bed. It allows for optimal spinal alignment, regardless of your sleeping position.

Why We Love the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • At 14” tall, this bed is extremely durable.
  • The cover includes Phase Change Material, our favorite cooling fabric.
  • The Bear Elite Hybrid uses copper-infused memory foam, which is cooling and antimicrobial.

Read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review.

Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Original Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Original Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read DreamCloud Original Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

The best foam mattress and innerspring mattress become one in the DreamCloud, our pick for best hybrid. This bed provides a luxury feel and high-quality materials at an affordable price. With a cashmere-blend cover, gel-infused memory foam, and strong coils for support, your guests should be more than satisfied with their rest.

Why We Love the DreamCloud

  • Thanks to the support from its springs, the DreamCloud shouldn’t sag and can last up to eight years.
  • With a breathable cover, gel-infused foam, and coils for airflow, guests shouldn’t overheat.
  • This mattress is a bit firmer than average, so it can accommodate body types up to around 270 lb.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review.

Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Nolah Signature 12" Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Nolah Signature 12" Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
Read Nolah Signature 12" Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Georgetown University’s Health Policy Institute states that 65 million Americans report a recent episode of back pain. If you have guests who count themselves among this number, you’ll want an amazing orthopedic mattress to help with their back issues. You may find just that in the Nolah Signature 12”. Its medium-firm construction provides lumbar support, and also allows for comfort in a number of sleeping positions. The top layer of Airform contours to pressure points while side sleeping, and its high-density base layer gives lots of support to back sleepers.

Why We Love the Nolah Signature 12”

  • Nolah cuts out the middleman by selling all their mattresses online, so the Nolah Signature 12” comes at a reasonable cost.
  • The transition layer of Deep Supportive High-Resilience foam prevents sleepers from sinking too far into the mattress and losing support.
  • It has a 100% organic cotton cover with a luxury feel.

Read our full Nolah Signature 12” mattress review.

Best Flippable Mattress

Layla Mattress

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Layla Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Flippable Mattress

Layla Mattress

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Layla Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Flippable Mattress

Layla Mattress

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
Read Layla Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

The Layla’s most unique feature, and the reason why it’s such a good choice for vacation rentals, is because it’s flippable. One side is soft (a 6/10 on the firmness scale), and the other is firm (an 8/10). If guests find themselves prioritizing pressure relief and plushness, they can flip the mattress to the softer side. Heavier guests and those wanting firmer support can flip to the firm side. It’s essentially two mattresses for the price of one!

Why We Love the Layla

  • Its cover is infused with Thermogel and its foams are copper-infused, so it provides great cooling for an all-foam mattress.
  • With impressive motion isolation and a durable construction, this bed works well for couples staying at your rental.
  • Layla’s lifetime warranty and 120-night trial gives you plenty of time to decide whether this bed is ideal for your vacation rental.

Read our full Layla mattress review.

Best Mattress for Couples

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Couples

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Couples

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
Read Casper Original Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review

The last thing your guests want is to overheat with their partner in the bed, or to feel as if they’re falling off the mattress. This won’t be a concern with the Casper, one of the best all-foam beds on the market. Its AirScape foam is open-celled and ventilated, so it shouldn’t trap heat with more than one person in the bed. With good edge support, couples should be able to make full use of the mattress’s surface. It also scored well on our motion transfer test, so couples shouldn’t wake each other if they toss and turn at night.

Why We Love the Casper

  • With a durable base layer and high-quality foams, you should get at least seven years of use out of this bed.
  • Its firmness level should suit most body types and sleeping positions.
  • It has a zoned support system that’s great for back pain and overall comfort.

Read our full Casper mattress review.

Best Budget Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Budget Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Budget Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
Read Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress Review

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Purchasing a bed for a vacation rental is quite the investment. If you’re strapped for cash, the Dreamfoam Essential is one of the best budget mattresses out there. It comes in five height options: 6”, 8”, 10”, 12”, and 14”. For the most durability, we suggest the 12” or 14” versions. Guests should feel comfortable with its slow-moving memory foam, and supported by its high-density base foam.

Why We Love the Dreamfoam Essential

  • Its cover features a Nano Stain Terminator finish that’s environmentally friendly and protects the mattress from contaminants.
  • For such an affordable price, we were surprised at the great cooling features: a breathable cover and gel-infused foams.
  • It can be a great mattress for a bunk bed, since its construction makes it best for lightweight sleepers like kids and teens.

Read our full Dreamfoam Essential mattress review.

Best Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive hybrid mattress made specifically with hot sleepers in mind.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive hybrid mattress made specifically with hot sleepers in mind.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive hybrid mattress made specifically with hot sleepers in mind.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
Read Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress Review

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Is your vacation rental in a hotter climate? Do people often visit your rental in the summertime? If the answer is yes, then the mattress you need is the Cocoon Chill. It’s designed for cooling. The cover includes Phase Change Material, a thermoregulating product. This makes it literally cool to the touch. While foam mattresses are known for overheating, this shouldn’t be a worry for guests on the Cocoon Chill.

Why We Love the Cocoon Chill

  • It’s great for couples, since it has good motion isolation, solid edge support, and durability.
  • It’s a 7.5/10 on the firmness scale. This is firmer than average, but it works well for heavier sleepers and couples.
  • The Cocoon Chill comes at a great value.

Read our full Cocoon Chill mattress review.

The Best Firmness for a Vacation Rental Mattress

The mattress industry rates mattress firmness on a scale from 1 to 10, with 1 being the softest and 10 being the firmest. The best firmness for a sleeper’s needs depends on their body type, sleeping position, and personal preferences. What’s tricky about buying a mattress for your vacation rental is that it’s hard to find a bed to make everyone happy. That’s why it’s best to opt for a medium-firm mattress (about a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale). It strikes a balance between comfort and support that should accommodate most sleepers.

The Best Constructions for a Vacation Rental Mattress

Memory Foam

Memory foam is known for its unique slow-moving nature. It has excellent contouring abilities that promote a hug-like feel and provide pressure relief to pain points. In the context of a vacation rental mattress, memory foam beds can be quite comfortable. Where these mattresses often fall short is in their durability and cooling ability.

Luckily, many companies recognized the shortcomings of memory foam, so they created beds that defy its bad reputation. We recommend finding a memory foam mattress with cooling features, such as gel, graphite, or copper-infused foam. Use of thermoregulating Phase Change Material also promotes breathability. Additionally, we suggest finding a memory foam bed with high-quality materials and a high-density base foam layer. This should result in a much more supportive, long-lasting construction.

Innerspring

Innerspring beds are famous for their traditional feel. The construction centers around the sturdiness of thick coils and includes a much thinner comfort layer. This classic spring construction is great for cooling, since its coils allow for breathability. These beds tend to be much more durable than other materials like foam, which have the tendency to sag. You can expect unparalleled support from these mattresses; the innerspring is designed to handle more weight than base foams.

That said, innerspring mattresses tend to be more expensive than other beds. They also have poor motion isolation. For any couples staying at the vacation rental, motion isolation is crucial. A bed with great motion isolation allows couples to sleep soundly, so they shouldn’t wake up from each other’s movements at night. If you’re set on an innerspring, try to find one with a thicker comfort layer. Purchasing a mattress topper can improve motion isolation to an extent.

Hybrid

Hybrid mattresses are referred to as the “best of both worlds.” They combine the pressure-relieving qualities of a memory foam mattress and the support of an innerspring. This hybrid of foam and coils is great for vacation rentals. While it definitely depends on the manufacturer, these beds often offer a balanced feel, where sleepers feel comfortable without getting stuck in the material. These mattresses are durable, cooling, and supportive, but they can come at a higher price point. Luckily, our roundup features a number of more affordable options.

Latex

Latex mattresses are increasingly popular because they’re a sustainable, hypoallergenic option. As a bedding material, latex is naturally cooling and makes for some very durable mattresses. You’ll often find latex in transition layers because it provides a bouncier feel, allowing sleepers to sleep more “on top of” the mattress. Because latex is difficult to source, these beds generally come at a higher price point. They also have a unique, responsive feel that not everyone appreciates. However, if you’re wanting to go green and help your guests feel supported all night long, a latex bed is the way to go.

Qualities to Look For in a Vacation Rental Mattress

Aside from materials and firmness levels, there are a number of other considerations when it comes to selecting the best vacation rental mattress.

Cooling

Rentals in warmer climates or with popular locations in summer months should pay special attention to the cooling aspects of a mattress. It’s important to keep guests from overheating at night, especially if they’re sleeping with a partner. We recommend you check out our favorite cooling mattresses and cooling sheets for more information.

Durability

With so many different people sleeping on a mattress, there are a variety of body types and sleeping styles introduced to the same surface. The wrong mattress can sag easily and cause an awful night’s sleep for guests. So this is the least of your worries, make durability a focus. Our roundup is full of them, but there are plenty of other great options out there that won’t sag.

Whether It Suits Couples

Of course, vacation rentals are popular for couples’ getaways. It’s a good idea to ensure a bed suits more than one person. Beds with cooling abilities can help dissipate body heat, and durable beds are ideal for holding extra weight. However, motion isolation can be a crucial factor as well. Mattresses with good motion isolation prevent partners from waking up each other while they toss and turn at night. For more, check out our roundup for the best mattresses for couples.

Paying for a Vacation Rental Mattress

How Much You Should Spend

It goes without saying that it’s tough to shell out thousands of dollars on a mattress that’s going in a rental and not your own home. Luckily, quality mattresses for great values exist all over the mattress industry! When looking for the best vacation rental mattress, it’s important to balance affordability with durability and quality of materials. That said, if it suits your wallet, we suggest looking for a bed that’s around $1,000. Companies that normally price their beds higher offer price slashes multiple times a year. If you’re set on a model but it’s too expensive now, it’s possible that the company will lower prices sometime soon.

Beds like the Dreamfoam Essential come at much lower price points and make our list for the best cheap mattresses. We appreciate the Dreamfoam Essential and how it includes more extra features and better materials than other lower-priced mattresses. However, always be on the lookout for cheaper mattresses; there’s often a reason why they’re cheap.

Finding the Best Deals

There are a few times a year where companies habitually slash their prices, and these often occur on holidays. Here’s when you can access those sweet deals:

  • President’s Day (February)
  • Memorial Day (May)
  • Labor Day (September)
  • Thanksgiving / Cyber 5 (November)
  • Christmas (December)

Warranties and Sleep Trials

Before clicking on the “checkout” button, take a close look at a mattress company’s warranty and sleep trial. These are indications of a company’s confidence in their product. Additionally, a longer warranty or sleep trial allows you more time to test out a mattress and determine if it’s the best fit for your rental.

Warranties are used to cover the customer in the event a mattress is damaged by a manufacturing flaw. Every company is different, so each warranty covers different circumstances. It’s imperative to read the fine print so you understand what the company commits to replacing.

Sleep trials are an allotment of time where customers can test out the mattress. They should use this time to determine whether the mattress suits their body type, sleeping position, and personal preferences. The longer the sleep trial, the better.

How to Care for Your Vacation Rental Mattress

How to Clean Your Mattress

A lot of guests will be using the mattress at your vacation rental, and so they’ll require a lot of cleaning. It’s important to keep up on maintenance. Also worth mentioning: above any advice you see online (including this article), you should consult the mattress manufacturer. Mattress constructions vary widely, and not all are treated the same when it comes to spot treating or deep cleaning. When in doubt, here are some tips that should work for most mattresses:

Deep Clean: After stripping away and washing the bedding, start with the vacuum cleaner. Using the hose attachment across the surface of the mattress can pick up loose dust or particles. After treating stains (outlined below), sprinkle baking soda across the mattress surface and let sit for a few hours to remove moisture and odor. Vacuum the surface again to pick up the baking soda particles and repeat with the other side. After cleaning, expose your mattress to sunlight so it can air out for a few hours. This can be done indoors with an open window, or outdoors if laid on a clean surface.

Spots and Stains: Overall, it’s best to treat the stain by putting one part white vinegar and one part water into a spray bottle. Leave the mixture there for 5–10 minutes, then dab the excess moisture with a cloth or rag. However, certain stains require certain removal processes. For more information on this, take a look at our article on how to clean mattress stains.

When to Replace Your Mattress

How often should you replace your mattress? This can be difficult to determine because mattress lifespan is largely dependent on the quality of materials used and overall construction. You can expect memory foam mattresses to last around 6-8 years because they tend to sag. Latex, hybrids, and innersprings can last 10 years or even more if cared for properly.

The easiest way to tell whether or not you need to replace your mattress is from physical signs of wear. Of course, visible sagging and general discomfort are signs. Your mattress may be yellowing because of allergens or aggravating your allergies. Perhaps your mattress is really noisy or you can feel the springs when you lie down. Perhaps there’s an odor that’s not going away. If it’s causing your unpleasantness or discomfort in any form, maybe it’s time to invest in a new mattress.

How to Protect Your Vacation Rental Mattress

Buy a Mattress Protector: If you want to extend the lifespan of your vacation rental mattress, using one of the best mattress protectors is a great start. They keep your mattress safe from contaminants like allergens, bed bugs, and stains.

Use a Box Spring, Platform, or Foundation: Placing a mattress over a box spring, platform, or foundation gives it a sturdy surface for a more comfortable night’s sleep. It also keeps the mattress off the ground and prevents premature wear. The option that’s best for your mattress often depends on the materials and construction. Learn the difference between the three in our article: Box Spring vs Foundations vs Platform Beds.

Rotate Your Mattress: Rotating a mattress from head to foot, or 180 degrees, evens out the wear on a mattress. It allows sleepers to rest on fresher spots of a mattress, giving heavily-used spots on the mattress a break. If you’re interested in learning more, take a look at our article on how to properly rotate your mattress.

Clean It Regularly: Cleaning a mattress regularly and caring for stains as soon as possible can increase your mattress’s lifespan. See our section above for more information on how to clean your mattress.

For additional information, check out our article: 11 Ways to Make Your Mattress Last Longer.

How to Maximize Space in Your Airbnb or Vacation Rental

Purchase a Space-Saving Bed

  • Pull-Out Couch: A two-in-one steal, pull-out couches are popular, cost-effective options that make room for an additional guest.
  • Bunk Bed: Want an extra bed for any younger guests, but don’t have the space? A bunk bed is a classic option, and many come at affordable prices.
  • Murphy Bed: These beds are sneaky in that they’re often disguised as furniture, such as a dresser. In fact, they’re fold-out mattresses. The multifunctional bed is a solid choice for any vacation rental.
  • Twin / Twin XL: Sizing down is always an option. If you’re wanting an extra bed in your rental space but it doesn’t need to be a big one, try a Twin or Twin XL (a Twin bed, but longer).

Take Advantage of Natural Lighting

Letting the daylight in can work wonders for a space, making it feel much larger. Bonus points if you’ve got walls that are lighter in color; it can make you feel less confined. Did you know that natural light provides a number of sleep benefits, too? Learn more about this in our article: How Does Light Affect Sleep?

Consider Vertical Storage

Vertical storage doesn’t have to be difficult to access. The addition of floating shelves, cabinetry, stacking drawers, and racks are some of the many ways folks are using vertical storage today. This can be great for a vacation rental, transforming a cramped space into one that has room for a couch or another mattress.

How to Make Your Vacation Rental Mattress More Comfortable

Buy a Mattress Topper

Mattress toppers are ideal for changing the firmness and feel of a mattress. If the model you bought is just a touch too soft or firm for most guests, adding the right topper can create a far more comfortable sleeping surface. If this interests you, see our roundup for the best mattress toppers.

Purchase a Mattress Pad

Mattress pads typically have thinner comfort layers than mattress toppers, so they don’t drastically change the feel of a mattress. They are still used for added cushioning. Mattress pads can be waterproof and act as a protector against contaminants, as well. Learn more by checking out our article about mattress pads versus mattress toppers.

Invest in Good Pillows

If the pillows provided to guests start to sag and lose their shape, it can cause a lot of unnecessary discomfort. That’s why it’s important to invest in a good pillow. Adjustable pillows are great for vacation rentals because they allow the sleeper to customize the loft. Need to replace your pillow? Head on over to our roundup for the best pillows on the market.

Find a Great Sheet Set

A good sheet set should last about two years of constant use. It’s pretty easy to tell when to replace a set. Visible signs of wear such as holes, yellowing, and split seams are some examples. There are a number of amazing sheet sets on the market, and some of our favorites are outlined in our best sheets roundup. In the context of a vacation rental, you can even purchase a nice set of cooling sheets for the hotter months and a flannel set in the winter. That way, guests sleep cozy year-round.

Overall

Here’s a summary of our top picks for vacation rentals:

Mattress Superlative
Helix Midnight Editor’s Pick
Nectar Premier Copper Best Foam Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Best Mattress for the Money
Bear Elite Hybrid Best Luxury Mattress
DreamCloud Best Hybrid Mattress
Nolah Signature 12” Best Mattress for Back Pain
Layla Best Flippable Mattress
Casper Best Mattress for Couples
Dreamfoam Essential Best Budget Mattress
Cocoon Chill Best Cooling Mattress

Still looking for your next perfect mattress? Try taking our mattress quiz for personalized recommendations!

FAQ

How thick should my vacation rental mattress be?

Mattress thickness often indicates durability, so a mattress on the thicker side is ideal. We recommend looking for a mattress with a height of at least 10”.

What bed is best for a vacation rental?

While different mattresses suit different situations, we’d say that the Helix Midnight is our favorite overall. Our editor’s pick for this roundup, the Helix Midnight balances comfort and support and should cater to a wide range of sleepers. It has impressive cooling properties, should work well for couples, and is durable.

What’s the most comfortable mattress for a vacation rental?

We think the most comfortable option for most is going to be the Bear Elite Hybrid or the Nectar Premier Copper. The Bear Elite Hybrid is our favorite luxury pick with all the bells and whistles. The Nectar Premier Copper is our favorite foam mattress, providing lots of pressure relief. Both are pricier options on the list, but we like to think the extra cost is worth the unmatched comfort.

What types of mattresses are used in hotels?

A lot of hotels use luxury options with hybrid or innerspring constructions. If you’re looking to provide your guests with a hotel bed feel without breaking the bank, take a look at the DreamCloud.

Gravatar for Lauren Hapgood

Lauren Hapgood