Best Mattress for Vacation Rentals

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Whether it’s through Airbnb, HomeAway, Home To Go, or Luxury Retreats, vacation rentals are extremely popular. Owning one comes with a lot of benefits, but also a lot of expenses. For instance, you’ll have to buy or replace mattresses. Even in terms of high-quality options, the best mattress for vacation rentals doesn’t have to run your wallet dry. There are numerous beds ideal for these spaces, and we’ve compiled them all into this roundup. Here are the best mattresses for vacation rentals.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress For Vacation Rentals?

Our expert reviewers chose the Helix Midnight as the best mattress for vacation rentals due to its well-rounded features that can work for many types of sleepers. It’s durable enough for continuous use and has impressive pressure relieving features.

Best Mattress for Vacation Rentals: Our Top Picks

Compare the Best Mattresses for Vacation Rentals

Helix Midnight Mattress Nectar Premier Copper Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nolah Signature 12" Mattress Layla Mattress Casper Original Mattress Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress
Helix Midnight Mattress Nectar Premier Copper Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nolah Signature 12" Mattress Layla Mattress Casper Original Mattress Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 7/10 Soft: 6/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10
Material Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Foam Foam Foam Foam Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back & Side Back Back & Stomach Back Back & Side Combination Back Back & Side Back & Side

How We Chose the Best Mattresses for Vacation Rentals

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

To choose the Best Mattresses for Vacation Rentals, we focused on beds with medium-firm firmness levels. This balanced feel allows for a wider range of sleepers to rest soundly on the same mattress, something that’s crucial for a vacation rental.

Affordability was a large focus when creating this roundup, but only in tandem with durability; we wanted mattresses cheaper than the one you might have in your own home, but just as long-lasting. We also kept a close eye on motion transfer because many couples enjoy vacation rentals.

Lastly, we chose beds with good cooling abilities, an important feature for any guest space. One of the featured beds scored an above-average 3.5/5 for cooling, while the remaining nine scored at or above 4/5.

Best Overall- Helix Midnight

Editor's Pick

Helix Midnight Mattress

the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Editor's Pick

Helix Midnight Mattress

the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
the Helix Midnight Luxe sits on a bed frame in a bedroom
Editor's Pick

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Helix Midnight
Excellent value
Balance of support and pressure relief
Cooling build
Cons of the Helix Midnight
Stomach sleepers may feel under-supported
Lack of support for heavier sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Helix Midnight is our Editor’s Pick because it’s the dream vacation rental mattress. First off, its medium-firm construction appeals to a wide range of sleepers. Visiting couples will enjoy the bed’s stellar motion isolation, so they shouldn’t feel each other moving around at night. With coils and a breathable cover, there’s also plenty of cooling for hot sleepers. This can come in handy if your vacation rental is in a warmer climate or gets muggy during the summer months.

What the testers say: “The Helix Midnight is a crowd pleaser that makes it a fantastic choice for hosting others, and side sleepers in particular. The bed also strikes a nice universal feel with the slow-moving memory foam on top added to the bounce of a coil base layer.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight

  • Made from a hybrid of high-density foams and sturdy coils, this mattress is durable.
  • The Memory Plus foam in the comfort layer provides lots of contouring for impressive pressure relief.
  • With good edge support and a responsive feel, visiting seniors should have an easy time getting in and out of bed.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight

  • This is a mattress tailored to side sleepers. Although side sleeping is the most common sleep position, your stomach-sleeping guests in particular may not be able to get as cozy. 
  • Heavier side sleeping guests may complain that the bed lacks pressure relief.
  • Helix’s 10-year warranty offers less coverage than mattresses with comparable builds.

Other User Reviews

Reviewers agreed that Helix Midnight is a hit with guests: “Bought it as a guest bed for a variety of sleepers. Everyone has stated that it was extremely comfortable,” writes verified buyer Bonnie R. Negative reviews tended to focus on delivery and customer service issues.

Read our full Helix Midnight mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses of 2022 for more great options.

Best Memory Foam Mattress for Vacation Rentals- Nectar Premier Copper

Best Foam Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced, cooling mattress.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Foam Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced, cooling mattress.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Nectar Premier Copper
Best Foam Mattress

Nectar Premier Copper Mattress

The Nectar Premier Copper is Nectar's most advanced, cooling mattress.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Nectar Premier Copper
Highly cooling build
365-night sleep trial
Robust height and durable build
Cons of the Nectar Premier Copper
Higher price tag for an all-foam build
May feel too slow-moving for some

Our Expert’s Take

Foam mattresses have a bad reputation for their durability and cooling ability, two of the most important aspects of any vacation rental. You won’t have to worry about this with the Nectar Premier Copper. With a height of 14”, a 9” high-density base foam support layer, and impressive edge support, it can last over 10 years. This mattress includes many cooling features: a copper-infused cooling cover, Phase Change Material, and gel-infused foam. So, it sleeps cooler than most all-foam beds.

What the testers say: “Some people, especially people who sleep hot, understandably may turn their nose up at all-foam mattresses. The Nectar Premier Copper is like the holy grail though when it comes to all-foam mattresses that have a cooling effect, rivaled by few others.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Premier Copper

  • This foam mattress has a balanced feel, so guests who favor support and guests who favor pressure relief should all be pleased.
  • It’s a luxury mattress, so it’s a nice high-end touch to your rental home.
  • It has a 365-night trial, a lifetime warranty, free shipping, and free returns, showing Nectar’s confidence in their product.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Premier Copper

  • Being a vacation rental, you may want to add a mattress protector, and a basic mattress protector may mitigate the cooling properties of the Nectar Premier Cooper.
  • The Nectar Original mattress may be more than adequate for non-fussy guests, and is more budget-friendly.
  • Despite its robust build, you may have to deal with the perception from guests that any all-foam mattress isn’t a “real” mattress.

Other User Reviews

Verified buyer Jonathan W. wrote that he bought a Nectar Premier Copper for his Airbnb after enjoying his own, and said “guests love it as well.” The bed averages 4.5 out of 5 stars among 2,000-plus reviews. Some negative reviewers said they did not like how slow-moving the mattress felt.

Read our full Nectar Premier Copper mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Memory Foam Mattresses for more great options.

Best Vacation Rental Mattress for the Money- Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

Best Mattress for the Money

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for the Money

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Mattress for the Money

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid
A solid value hybrid
Multiple firmness options
Plush top layer
Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid
May be too soft for some
Heavier sleepers may need more support

Our Expert’s Take

Because Brooklyn Bedding owns their own factory, they can cut out the middleman. The result is a high-quality mattress set at an amazing value: the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid. It’s a hybrid mattress, using a combination of TitanFlex foam and Ascension coils. It comes in three firmnesses: Soft, Medium, and Firm. For vacation rentals, we recommend the medium version; it ranks 6.5/10 on our firmness scale, so it accommodates most back, side, and stomach sleepers.

What the testers say: “Brooklyn Bedding has a solid line of good value beds, and their hybrid stands out as especially having bang for the buck. I also love that the firmness can be custom ordered, including a medium firmness that should suit vacation rentals nicely.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • Its cover features a plush, pillow-top feel and is soft to the touch.
  • This mattress comes in a number of different sizes, from Twin XL and Short Full to Olympic Queen and Split California King. It’s great for almost any space.
  • Its high-quality materials should allow guests to enjoy this mattress for 7–10 years.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • May not offer enough support for heavyweight guests.
  • The 10-year warranty is one of the more middling warranties out there.
  • The bed did lack motion isolation under testing in the sleep lab, and that factor may interrupt the sleep of guests who are sharing the mattress.

Other User Reviews

Nearly 11,000 reviews give the Signature Hybrid a 4.7 out of 5. Verified buyer Annette W. wrote that guests, especially older guests, “love” the bed: “Some with back problems said their back felt great the next morning. Many say it’s the best sleep they’ve had in a very long time.” Less favorable reviewers said they preferred the more luxury Bloom Hybrid, and others found the bed to feel too soft.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for the Money for more great options.

Best Luxury Mattress for a Vacation Rental- Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Luxury Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Luxury Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Luxury Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

With a zoned support system, the Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a great fit for those with back pain.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros of the Bear Elite Hybrid
Unique build and cooling materials
Zoned support
Marketed for athletes and active people
Cons of the Bear Elite Hybrid
May be beyond some budgets
Lacks memory foam feel some prefer

Our Expert’s Take

Want your guests to feel like royalty? Invest in a luxury mattress like the Bear Elite Hybrid. It’s available in three different firmnesses: extra plush, luxury firm, and ultra firm. For catering to the widest range of guests, we suggest you opt for the luxury firm option. This balanced, medium-firm construction comes from its combination of sturdy coils and pressure-relieving foam. We particularly love the zoned support system in this mattress. This means it’s firmer towards the center and softer towards the head and foot of the bed. It allows for optimal spinal alignment, regardless of your sleeping position.

What the testers say: “The balanced foam feel of this mattress creates a luxe feeling of comfort and security, making the Elite Hybrid a great option for any ‘superhost,’ as Airbnb would call it, who goes above and beyond by touting a luxury bed in their listing.” – Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • At 14” tall, this bed is extremely durable.
  • The cover includes Phase Change Material, our favorite cooling fabric.
  • The Bear Elite Hybrid uses copper-infused memory foam, which is cooling and antimicrobial.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Guests who like a slow-moving memory foam mattress may not like the responsive Bear Elite.
  • Heavyweight stomach-sleeping guests may not get enough support under the hips.
  • The Elite Hybrid is one of Bear’s most luxury mattresses with a higher price point, but the Bear Original mattress may more than suffice for most guests.

Other User Reviews

Nearly 4,000 reviews give the Bear Elite Hybrid 4.6 out of 5 stars. Verified buyer Sanela A., who said she previously slept on a $4,000 mattress, summed up the affordable luxury appeal well: “I have to say that this is probably the best mattress I ever slept on. The perfect firmness, it really does make you feel cooler when you sleep.” Less flattering reviews said the bed didn’t nail the preferred firmness.

Read our full Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Luxury Mattresses for more great options.

Best Hybrid Mattress for a Vacation Rental- Dreamcloud

Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Hybrid Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros of the DreamCloud
Brand runs excellent deals
Lifetime warranty and 365-night sleep trial
Plush quilted top
Cons of the DreamCloud
Heavier folks may need more support
Lesser motion isolation

Our Expert’s Take

The best foam mattress and innerspring mattress become one in the DreamCloud, our pick for best hybrid. This bed provides a luxury feel and high-quality materials at an affordable price. With a cashmere-blend cover, gel-infused memory foam, and strong coils for support, your guests should be more than satisfied with their rest.

What the testers say: “The DreamCloud will make an impression on any guest off the bat with its quilted foam top that is a favorite among testers. Most weights and sleep positions can get comfortable on the DreamCloud as well, although heavier people may need a tad more support.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud

  • Thanks to the support from its springs, the DreamCloud shouldn’t sag and can last up to eight years.
  • With a breathable cover, gel-infused foam, and coils for airflow, guests shouldn’t overheat.
  • This mattress is a bit firmer than average, so it can accommodate body types up to around 270 lb.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud

  • Heavier guests may not find they have enough pressure relief or support.
  • The price of the DreamCloud fluctuates substantially based on sales, so you may have to time your purchase based on when a sale is live if you’re on a budget.

Other User Reviews

DreamCloud has garnered a 4.6 out of 5 rating from almost 9,000 reviews. “I bought my DreamCloud hybrid mattress for the guest room. Every person who has used it has expressed how well they slept and how much they loved the mattress,” writes verified buyer Neil D. Negative reviews said the bed didn’t meet the sleepers’ firmness expectations.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options.

Best Vacation Rental Mattress for Back Pain- Nolah Signature 12”

Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

nolah signature

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

nolah signature

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
nolah signature
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Signature 12" Mattress

The Nolah Signature is a fantastic medium-firm mattress that offers plenty of foam comfort and pressure relief.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros of the Nolah Signature 12″
Uses propietary Airfoam
Excellent pressure relief for side sleepers
Lifetime warranty
Cons of the Nolah Signature 12″
Slightly pricier all-foam bed
Lacks the desired traditional memory foam feel for some

Our Expert’s Take

Georgetown University’s Health Policy Institute states that 65 million Americans report a recent episode of back pain. If you have guests who count themselves among this number, you’ll want an amazing orthopedic mattress to help with their back issues. You may find just that in the Nolah Signature 12”. Its medium-firm construction provides lumbar support, and also allows for comfort in a number of sleeping positions. The top layer of Airform contours to pressure points while side sleeping, and its high-density base layer gives lots of support to back sleepers.

What the testers say: “Stomach sleepers being an exception, Nolah Signature boasts excellent support and spinal alignment to keep back pain at bay. The bed’s use of Airfoam, the brand’s bouncier, more responsive take on memory foam, can also win over even the most ardent skeptics of all-foam mattresses.”– Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Signature 12”

  • Nolah cuts out the middleman by selling all their mattresses online, so the Nolah Signature 12” comes at a reasonable cost.
  • The transition layer of Deep Supportive High-Resilience foam prevents sleepers from sinking too far into the mattress and losing support.
  • It has a 100% organic cotton cover with a luxury feel.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Signature 12”

  • Guests may not be a fan of the Nolah Signature’s edge support, which garnered a mediocre score (3/5) out of the sleep lab. 
  • Some guests may scoff at the idea of sleeping on an all-foam bed, and favor a more traditional innerspring mattress.

Other User Reviews

Nolah Signature has a 4.9 out of 5 among reviewers, although there’s no readily available way to see how many reviews have been left, or sort for negative ones. Verified buyer Dewey M wrote that the Nolah “completely relieves my back pain,” allowing a good night’s rest.

Read our full Nolah Signature 12” mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Pain for more great options.

Best Flippable Mattress for a Vacation Rental- Layla

Best Flippable Mattress

Layla Mattress

mattress gal 2

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Flippable Mattress

Layla Mattress

mattress gal 2

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
mattress gal 2
Best Flippable Mattress

Layla Mattress

An innovative and flippable mattress, the Layla works for a variety of different types of sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Layla
Two firmness options in one mattress
Soft, pressure relieving surface
Solid motion isolation
Cons of the Layla
Difficult to flip by yourself
Not great for hot sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

The Layla’s most unique feature, and the reason why it’s such a good choice for vacation rentals, is because it’s flippable. One side is soft (a 6/10 on the firmness scale), and the other is firm (an 8/10). If guests find themselves prioritizing pressure relief and plushness, they can flip the mattress to the softer side. Heavier guests and those wanting firmer support can flip to the firm side. It’s essentially two mattresses for the price of one!

What the testers say: “The charm of the Layla being both soft and firm in one mattress has inspired a few on our team to nab this mattress for a guest room. It’s a simple concept that’s very well-executed in the Layla. My main note is to get cooling accessories, like sheets and a cooling mattress protector, if you sleep hot, since Layla will trap some heat.”– Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Layla

  • Its cover is infused with Thermogel and its foams are copper-infused, so it provides great cooling for an all-foam mattress.
  • With impressive motion isolation and a durable construction, this bed works well for couples staying at your rental.
  • Layla’s lifetime warranty and 120-night trial gives you plenty of time to decide whether this bed is ideal for your vacation rental.

What to Keep in Mind About the Layla 

  • Traditional mattress lovers sometimes balk at any all-foam bed, regardless of the support offered.
  • Unlike the hybrid Layla, the all-foam Layla Original doesn’t have handles, so it could be tricky for your guests to flip if they want to switch sides.
  • Guests with a Goldilocks complex still might not enjoy the Layla, since the soft side is quite plush, and the firm side is quite firm. A bed closer to a true medium-firmness, like the Casper, may be preferable.

Other User Reviews

Among more than 7,500 reviews, Layla receives 4.5 out of 5 stars. “Love the ability to have two different levels of firmness! Perfect for the guest room, which is where we are using it. We make sure every guest knows they have choices!” writes verified buyer Dana P. Some negative reviews said the bed lacked adequate pressure relief.

Read our full Layla mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Flippable Mattresses for more great options.

Best Vacation Rental Mattress for Couples- Casper Original

Best Mattress for Couples

Casper Original Mattress

casper original hero

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Couples

Casper Original Mattress

casper original hero

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
casper original hero
Best Mattress for Couples

Casper Original Mattress

Casper mattresses work well for all sleeping positions, thanks to its unique zoned support system.

Clarity Score 3.7/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year limited warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

"From the delivery of the box to the magical unfolding of the king size mattress to the first time laying on the bed, all smiles here! I have traveled for work for years, often sleeping on different beds at different hotels night after night."

Paul, Casper customer
Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Casper Original
Zoned support
Excellent edge support
Limits motion transfer
Cons of the Casper Original
On the pricier side
Bouncier than some all-foam beds

Our Expert’s Take

The last thing your guests want is to overheat with their partner in the bed, or to feel as if they’re falling off the mattress. This won’t be a concern with the Casper, one of the best all-foam beds on the market. Its AirScape foam is open-celled and ventilated, so it shouldn’t trap heat with more than one person in the bed. With good edge support, couples should be able to make full use of the mattress’s surface. It also scored well on our motion transfer test, so couples shouldn’t wake each other if they toss and turn at night.

What the testers say: “The Casper original mattress is a bed I wouldn’t hesitate to use in a vacation rental situation. It consistently gets great feedback from all sleep styles, which I think is thanks in large part to its zoned support layers.”– Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Casper

  • With a durable base layer and high-quality foams, you should get at least seven years of use out of this bed.
  • Its firmness level should suit most body types and sleeping positions.
  • It has a zoned support system that’s great for back pain and overall comfort.

What to Keep in Mind About the Casper

  • If you want to tout the bed in your listing as a boon for memory foam fanatic guests, they may be disappointed: Casper is more responsive, and less slow-moving than most all-foam beds.
  • On the other hand, you may face the perception from guests that any all-foam bed isn’t “legitimate.” 
  • Casper is a pricier mattress that doesn’t go on steep sales as compared to some of the other brands.

Other User Reviews

More than 20,000 reviews have been left for Casper’s original mattress, averaging 4.4 out of 5 stars. Many reviews echoed that guests have been very pleased with the comfort of the bed. A handful of negative reviews found the bed too firm.

Read our full Casper mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

Best Budget Mattress for a Vacation Rental- Dreamfoam Essential

Best Budget Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

Chill Lifestyle 24f4dc9b 6f0c 43d7 bfe2 534b4070581e e1606765475515

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Budget Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

Chill Lifestyle 24f4dc9b 6f0c 43d7 bfe2 534b4070581e e1606765475515

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Chill Lifestyle 24f4dc9b 6f0c 43d7 bfe2 534b4070581e e1606765475515
Best Budget Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Dreamfoam Essential
Comfortable but affordable
Classic slow-moving memory foam feel
Solid cooling features
Cons of the Dreamfoam Essential
May lack durability
Dearth of support for heavier sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Purchasing a bed for a vacation rental is quite the investment. If you’re strapped for cash, the Dreamfoam Essential is one of the best budget mattresses out there. It comes in five height options: 6”, 8”, 10”, 12”, and 14”. For the most durability, we suggest the 12” or 14” versions. Guests should feel comfortable with its slow-moving memory foam, and supported by its high-density base foam.

What the testers say: “This perhaps isn’t a bed you’d choose to sleep on every night, however within the under $500 mattress space, Dreamfoam definitely performed well in the sleep lab, with its cooling properties being particularly noteworthy.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Dreamfoam Essential

  • Its cover features a Nano Stain Terminator finish that’s environmentally friendly and protects the mattress from contaminants.
  • For such an affordable price, we were surprised at the great cooling features: a breathable cover and gel-infused foams.
  • It can be a great mattress for a bunk bed, since its construction makes it best for lightweight sleepers like kids and teens.

What to Keep in Mind About the Dreamfoam Essential

  • Lacking support, heavier guests could sink in too far to the top layer of the Dreamfoam Esssential.
  • Made with cheaper materials, the mattress could lack long-haul durability past five years in a well-populated vacation rental.
  • You may have to contend with guests who begrudge that any all-foam bed is inherently inferior to one with traditional coils.

Other User Reviews

The Dreamfoam Essential averages 4.7 out 5 among 4,000-plus reviews: “No complaints from my guests either, everyone loves the mattresses,” wrote verified buyer Hiltin T. Delivery issues and qualms with the bed feeling too firm or too soft made up most of the negative feedback.

Read our full Dreamfoam Essential mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cheap Mattresses for more great options.

Best Cooling Mattress for a Vacation Rental- Cocoon Chill

Best Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

cocoon hybrid product lifestyle

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive hybrid mattress made specifically with hot sleepers in mind.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

cocoon hybrid product lifestyle

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive hybrid mattress made specifically with hot sleepers in mind.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
cocoon hybrid product lifestyle
Best Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Hybrid Mattress

The Cocoon Chill Hybrid is a comfortable and supportive hybrid mattress made specifically with hot sleepers in mind.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros of the Cocoon Chill
Cooling materials integrated
Classic memory foam enveloping feel
A more budget-friendly pick
Cons of the Cocoon Chill
Plus-size sleepers may lack support
On the firmer side for many

Our Expert’s Take

Is your vacation rental in a hotter climate? Do people often visit your rental in the summertime? If the answer is yes, then the mattress you need is the Cocoon Chill. It’s designed for cooling. The cover includes Phase Change Material, a thermoregulating product. This makes it literally cool to the touch. While foam mattresses are known for overheating, this shouldn’t be a worry for guests on the Cocoon Chill.

What the testers say: “Cocoon Chill is a great value hybrid that can please most sleep styles and light and medium-weight sleepers, although the firmness is on the higher end, so I might suggest stashing a fluffy mattress topper in a closet if you really want to be sure your guests are cozy.” – Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Cocoon Chill

  • It’s great for couples, since it has good motion isolation, solid edge support, and durability.
  • It’s a 7.5/10 on the firmness scale. This is firmer than average, but it works well for heavier sleepers and couples.
  • The Cocoon Chill comes at a great value.

What to Keep in Mind About the Cocoon Chill

  • May not offer enough support for heavier guests.
  • The 10-year warranty is less robust than some comparable hybrid beds.

Other User Reviews

The Cocoon Chill averages 4.7 out of 5 stars among more than 8,000 reviews. Both reviews for the Cocoon Chill Hybrid and Cocoon Chill Memory Foam are included. One reviewer, who used the mattress for a daybed in the guest room, wrote that guests felt “comfortable” and that the bed is “the perfect amount of firmness.” Negative reviews said the bed wasn’t adequately comfortable.

Read our full Cocoon Chill mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

The Best Firmness for a Vacation Rental Mattress

The mattress industry rates mattress firmness on a scale from 1 to 10, with 1 being the softest and 10 being the firmest. The best firmness for a sleeper’s needs depends on their body type, sleeping position, and personal preferences. What’s tricky about buying a mattress for your vacation rental is that it’s hard to find a bed to make everyone happy. That’s why it’s best to opt for a medium-firm mattress (about a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale). It strikes a balance between comfort and support that should accommodate most sleepers.

The Best Constructions for a Vacation Rental Mattress

Memory Foam

Memory foam is known for its unique slow-moving nature. It has excellent contouring abilities that promote a hug-like feel and provide pressure relief to pain points. In the context of a vacation rental mattress, memory foam beds can be quite comfortable. Where these mattresses often fall short is in their durability and cooling ability.

Luckily, many companies recognized the shortcomings of memory foam, so they created beds that defy its bad reputation. We recommend finding a memory foam mattress with cooling features, such as gel, graphite, or copper-infused foam. Use of thermoregulating Phase Change Material also promotes breathability. Additionally, we suggest finding a memory foam bed with high-quality materials and a high-density base foam layer. This should result in a much more supportive, long-lasting construction.

Innerspring

Innerspring beds are famous for their traditional feel. The construction centers around the sturdiness of thick coils and includes a much thinner comfort layer. This classic spring construction is great for cooling, since its coils allow for breathability. These beds tend to be much more durable than other materials like foam, which have the tendency to sag. You can expect unparalleled support from these mattresses; the innerspring is designed to handle more weight than base foams.

That said, innerspring mattresses tend to be more expensive than other beds. They also have poor motion isolation. For any couples staying at the vacation rental, motion isolation is crucial. A bed with great motion isolation allows couples to sleep soundly, so they shouldn’t wake up from each other’s movements at night. If you’re set on an innerspring, try to find one with a thicker comfort layer. Purchasing a mattress topper can improve motion isolation to an extent.

Hybrid

Hybrid mattresses are referred to as the “best of both worlds.” They combine the pressure-relieving qualities of a memory foam mattress and the support of an innerspring. This hybrid of foam and coils is great for vacation rentals. While it definitely depends on the manufacturer, these beds often offer a balanced feel, where sleepers feel comfortable without getting stuck in the material. These mattresses are durable, cooling, and supportive, but they can come at a higher price point. Luckily, our roundup features a number of more affordable options.

Latex

Latex mattresses are increasingly popular because they’re a sustainable, hypoallergenic option. As a bedding material, latex is naturally cooling and makes for some very durable mattresses. You’ll often find latex in transition layers because it provides a bouncier feel, allowing sleepers to sleep more “on top of” the mattress. Because latex is difficult to source, these beds generally come at a higher price point. They also have a unique, responsive feel that not everyone appreciates. However, if you’re wanting to go green and help your guests feel supported all night long, a latex bed is the way to go.

Qualities to Look For in a Vacation Rental Mattress

A man sits on the edge of the Zoma Boost Hybrid
Hands-on testing in our sleep lab

Aside from materials and firmness levels, there are a number of other considerations when it comes to selecting the best vacation rental mattress.

Cooling

Rentals in warmer climates or with popular locations in summer months should pay special attention to the cooling aspects of a mattress. It’s important to keep guests from overheating at night, especially if they’re sleeping with a partner. We recommend you check out our favorite cooling mattresses and cooling sheets for more information.

Durability

With so many different people sleeping on a mattress, there are a variety of body types and sleeping styles introduced to the same surface. The wrong mattress can sag easily and cause an awful night’s sleep for guests. So this is the least of your worries, make durability a focus. Our roundup is full of them, but there are plenty of other great options out there that won’t sag.

Whether It Suits Couples

Of course, vacation rentals are popular for couples’ getaways. It’s a good idea to ensure a bed suits more than one person. Beds with cooling abilities can help dissipate body heat, and durable beds are ideal for holding extra weight. However, motion isolation can be a crucial factor as well. Mattresses with good motion isolation prevent partners from waking up each other while they toss and turn at night. For more, check out our roundup for the best mattresses for couples.

Paying for a Vacation Rental Mattress

How Much You Should Spend

It goes without saying that it’s tough to shell out thousands of dollars on a mattress that’s going in a rental and not your own home. Luckily, quality mattresses for great values exist all over the mattress industry! When looking for the best vacation rental mattress, it’s important to balance affordability with durability and quality of materials. That said, if it suits your wallet, we suggest looking for a bed that’s around $1,000. Companies that normally price their beds higher offer price slashes multiple times a year. If you’re set on a model but it’s too expensive now, it’s possible that the company will lower prices sometime soon.

Beds like the Dreamfoam Essential come at much lower price points and make our list for the best cheap mattresses. We appreciate the Dreamfoam Essential and how it includes more extra features and better materials than other lower-priced mattresses. However, always be on the lookout for cheaper mattresses; there’s often a reason why they’re cheap.

Finding the Best Deals

There are a few times a year where companies habitually slash their prices, and these often occur on holidays. Here’s when you can access those sweet deals:

  • President’s Day (February)
  • Memorial Day (May)
  • Labor Day (September)
  • Thanksgiving / Cyber 5 (November)
  • Christmas (December)

Warranties and Sleep Trials

Before clicking on the “checkout” button, take a close look at a mattress company’s warranty and sleep trial. These are indications of a company’s confidence in their product. Additionally, a longer warranty or sleep trial allows you more time to test out a mattress and determine if it’s the best fit for your rental.

Warranties are used to cover the customer in the event a mattress is damaged by a manufacturing flaw. Every company is different, so each warranty covers different circumstances. It’s imperative to read the fine print so you understand what the company commits to replacing.

Sleep trials are an allotment of time where customers can test out the mattress. They should use this time to determine whether the mattress suits their body type, sleeping position, and personal preferences. The longer the sleep trial, the better.

How to Care for Your Vacation Rental Mattress

How to Clean Your Mattress

A lot of guests will be using the mattress at your vacation rental, and so they’ll require a lot of cleaning. It’s important to keep up on maintenance to help make your mattress last longer. Also worth mentioning: above any advice you see online (including this article), you should consult the mattress manufacturer. Mattress constructions vary widely, and not all are treated the same when it comes to spot treating or deep cleaning. When in doubt, here are some tips that should work for most mattresses:

Deep Clean: After stripping away and washing the bedding, start with the vacuum cleaner. Using the hose attachment across the surface of the mattress can pick up loose dust or particles. After treating stains (outlined below), sprinkle baking soda across the mattress surface and let sit for a few hours to remove moisture and odor. Vacuum the surface again to pick up the baking soda particles and repeat with the other side. After cleaning, expose your mattress to sunlight so it can air out for a few hours. This can be done indoors with an open window, or outdoors if laid on a clean surface.

Spots and Stains: Overall, it’s best to treat the stain by putting one part white vinegar and one part water into a spray bottle. Leave the mixture there for 5–10 minutes, then dab the excess moisture with a cloth or rag. However, certain stains require certain removal processes. For more information on this, take a look at our article on how to clean mattress stains.

When to Replace Your Mattress

How often should you replace your mattress? This can be difficult to determine because mattress lifespan is largely dependent on the quality of materials used and overall construction. You can expect memory foam mattresses to last around 6-8 years because they tend to sag. Latex, hybrids, and innersprings can last 10 years or even more if cared for properly.

The easiest way to tell whether or not you need to replace your mattress is from physical signs of wear. Of course, visible sagging and general discomfort are signs. Your mattress may be yellowing because of allergens or aggravating your allergies. Perhaps your mattress is really noisy or you can feel the springs when you lie down. Perhaps there’s an odor that’s not going away. If it’s causing your unpleasantness or discomfort in any form, maybe it’s time to invest in a new mattress.

How to Protect Your Vacation Rental Mattress

Buy a Mattress Protector: If you want to extend the lifespan of your vacation rental mattress, using one of the best mattress protectors is a great start. They keep your mattress safe from contaminants like allergens, bed bugs, and stains.

Use a Box Spring, Platform, or Foundation: Placing a mattress over a box spring, platform, or foundation gives it a sturdy surface for a more comfortable night’s sleep. It also keeps the mattress off the ground and prevents premature wear. The option that’s best for your mattress often depends on the materials and construction. Learn the difference between the three in our article: Box Spring vs Foundations vs Platform Beds.

Rotate Your Mattress: Rotating a mattress from head to foot, or 180 degrees, evens out the wear on a mattress. It allows sleepers to rest on fresher spots of a mattress, giving heavily-used spots on the mattress a break. If you’re interested in learning more, take a look at our article on how to properly rotate your mattress.

Clean It Regularly: Cleaning a mattress regularly and caring for stains as soon as possible can increase your mattress’s lifespan. See our section above for more information on how to clean your mattress.

For additional information, check out our article: 11 Ways to Make Your Mattress Last Longer.

How to Maximize Space in Your Airbnb or Vacation Rental

Purchase a Space-Saving Bed

  • Pull-Out Couch: A two-in-one steal, pull-out couches are popular, cost-effective options that make room for an additional guest.
  • Bunk Bed: Want an extra bed for any younger guests, but don’t have the space? A bunk bed is a classic option, and many come at affordable prices.
  • Murphy Bed: These beds are sneaky in that they’re often disguised as furniture, such as a dresser. In fact, they’re fold-out mattresses. The multifunctional bed is a solid choice for any vacation rental.
  • Twin / Twin XL: Sizing down is always an option. If you’re wanting an extra bed in your rental space but it doesn’t need to be a big one, try a Twin or Twin XL (a Twin bed, but longer).

Take Advantage of Natural Lighting

Letting the daylight in can work wonders for a space, making it feel much larger. Bonus points if you’ve got walls that are lighter in color; it can make you feel less confined. Did you know that natural light provides a number of sleep benefits, too? Learn more about this in our article: How Does Light Affect Sleep?

Consider Vertical Storage

Vertical storage doesn’t have to be difficult to access. The addition of floating shelves, cabinetry, stacking drawers, and racks are some of the many ways folks are using vertical storage today. This can be great for a vacation rental, transforming a cramped space into one that has room for a couch or another mattress.

How to Make Your Vacation Rental Mattress More Comfortable

Buy a Mattress Topper

Mattress toppers are ideal for changing the firmness and feel of a mattress. If the model you bought is just a touch too soft or firm for most guests, adding the right topper can create a far more comfortable sleeping surface. If this interests you, see our roundup for the best mattress toppers.

Purchase a Mattress Pad

Mattress pads typically have thinner comfort layers than mattress toppers, so they don’t drastically change the feel of a mattress. They are still used for added cushioning. Mattress pads can be waterproof and act as a protector against contaminants, as well. Learn more by checking out our article about mattress pads versus mattress toppers.

Invest in Good Pillows

If the pillows provided to guests start to sag and lose their shape, it can cause a lot of unnecessary discomfort. That’s why it’s important to invest in a good pillow. Adjustable pillows are great for vacation rentals because they allow the sleeper to customize the loft. Need to replace your pillow? Head on over to our roundup for the best pillows on the market.

Find a Great Sheet Set

A good sheet set should last about two years of constant use. It’s pretty easy to tell when to replace a set. Visible signs of wear such as holes, yellowing, and split seams are some examples. There are a number of amazing sheet sets on the market, and some of our favorites are outlined in our best sheets roundup. In the context of a vacation rental, you can even purchase a nice set of cooling sheets for the hotter months and a flannel set in the winter. That way, guests sleep cozy year-round.

Overall

Here’s a summary of our top picks for vacation rentals:

MattressSuperlative
Helix MidnightEditor’s Pick
Nectar Premier CopperBest Foam Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Signature HybridBest Mattress for the Money
Bear Elite HybridBest Luxury Mattress
DreamCloudBest Hybrid Mattress
Nolah Signature 12”Best Mattress for Back Pain
LaylaBest Flippable Mattress
CasperBest Mattress for Couples
Dreamfoam EssentialBest Budget Mattress
Cocoon ChillBest Cooling Mattress

Still looking for your next perfect mattress? Try taking our mattress quiz for personalized recommendations!

FAQ

How thick should my vacation rental mattress be?

Mattress thickness often indicates durability, so a mattress on the thicker side is ideal. We recommend looking for a mattress with a height of at least 10”.

What bed is best for a vacation rental?

While different mattresses suit different situations, we’d say that the Helix Midnight is our favorite overall. Our editor’s pick for this roundup, the Helix Midnight balances comfort and support and should cater to a wide range of sleepers. It has impressive cooling properties, should work well for couples, and is durable.

What’s the most comfortable mattress for a vacation rental?

We think the most comfortable option for most is going to be the Bear Elite Hybrid or the Nectar Premier Copper. The Bear Elite Hybrid is our favorite luxury pick with all the bells and whistles. The Nectar Premier Copper is our favorite foam mattress, providing lots of pressure relief. Both are pricier options on the list, but we like to think the extra cost is worth the unmatched comfort.

What types of mattresses are used in hotels?

A lot of hotels use luxury options with hybrid or innerspring constructions. If you’re looking to provide your guests with a hotel bed feel without breaking the bank, take a look at the DreamCloud.

Lauren Hapgood

Lauren is a Performance Publisher at Mattress Clarity, where she writes and edits mattress content to keep readers updated on sleep products. Lauren is committed to helping readers find the best sleep products for their lifestyles and is even a Certified Sleep Science Coach! She earned her bachelor's degree in creative writing from the University of Washington. When she's not compiling lists of the best beds on the market, you can find Lauren running on a trail, reading classic novels, or napping on her favorite mattress (her best talent).