Best Mattress For A Murphy Bed – Which Will You Choose?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

If you live in a house or apartment where space is limited, a Murphy bed could be a great idea. A Murphy bed lets you store your mattress against the wall when you’re not using it.

What type of mattress is best for a Murphy bed? We’ve put together a list of the best mattresses for Murphy beds. Keep reading to find out which Murphy bed mattress is right for you.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Mattress for a Murphy Bed?

Our expert reviewers chose the Helix Midnight as the best mattress for Murphy beds due to its layers of foam and signature memory foam feel. It will hold up well to any strain that Murphy beds tend to inflict.

Best Mattresses for Murphy Beds: Our Top Picks

Compare the Best Mattresses for Murphy Beds

Helix Midnight Mattress Nectar Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Loom & Leaf Mattress Bear Original Mattress WinkBeds GravityLux Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress
Helix Midnight Mattress Nectar Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Loom & Leaf Mattress Bear Original Mattress WinkBeds GravityLux Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Multiple firmness options Soft: 6/10 Firm: 8/10 Multiple firmness options
Material Hybrid Foam Hybrid Foam Foam Foam Foam Foam Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back & Side Back Back & Side Back & Side Back Back & Side Back & Stomach Back

How We Chose Our Top Picks

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty.

Mattress testing photos from the studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

For this roundup, we compiled a list of mattresses that will all work with Murphy beds. In addition, we selected a wide range of mattress types that scored well with regard to cooling, motion isolation, and support.

Best Mattress for Side Sleepers – Helix Midnight

Best for Side Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best for Side Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Helix Midnight Mattress
Best for Side Sleepers

Helix Midnight Mattress

The Helix Midnight is the brand's most popular model. It has a balance of comfort and support and should be an excellent match for back sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

The Helix Midnight is a popular mattress with side sleepers for good reason. Its medium-firm feel offers a good level of firmness for most back and side sleepers looking for enough pressure relief to keep their spines in proper alignment. While it’s a great choice for folks who weigh less than 230 lbs, heavyweight sleepers will probably want to opt for something with more support. The same is true for stomach sleepers.

What the testers say: “The Helix Midnight mattress handles motion transfer quite well for a hybrid mattress. With its layer of Memory Plus Foam on top, it prevents too much motion from transferring between each side of the mattress.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Helix Midnight

  • Medium-firm feel works for wide range of sleepers
  • Good motion isolation
  • Solid edge support

Cons of the Helix Midnight

  • Probably not supportive enough for sleepers who weigh over 230 lbs
  • Stomach sleepers will likely need a firmer mattress
  • Hybrid mattresses may warp when used in Murphy beds

Read our Helix Midnight mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers for more great options!

Best Memory Foam Mattress for a Murphy Bed – Nectar

Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
nectar original mattress updated e1619111594390
Best Memory Foam Mattress

Nectar Mattress

Nectar is a very comfortable memory foam mattress that happens to also be an amazing value.

Clarity Score 4.3/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type joint pain
Joint Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from joint pain.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

If you love the slow-moving feel of memory foam and are looking for a new mattress for your Murphy bed, consider the Nectar Classic. The Nectar is one of the most popular memory foam mattresses online and for good reasons. It features very comfortable foams that let you slowly sink into the mattress. Lying down, you’ll feel the Nectar conform to your curves and help all pressure melt away.

What the testers say: “Lying down on the Nectar mattress, I experienced that slow-moving feel you expect from memory foam. I loved the way that it conformed to the shape of my body and relieved pressure on key areas.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Nectar

Cons of the Nectar

  • Heavy people will likely prefer more support
  • May be hard for some to move around
  • Not for fans of firm mattresses

Read the full Nectar mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Memory Foam Mattresses for more great options!

Best Hybrid Mattress for a Murphy Bed – DreamCloud

Best Hybrid

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Hybrid

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5

Our Expert’s Take

Hybrid mattresses combine the contouring comfort of a memory foam bed with the supportive bounce of an innerspring one. The DreamCloud is a great example of how this construction can create a versatile, comfortable bed. This budget-friendly mattress is a good fit for most back and some stomach sleepers. It may be too firm for side sleepers, though.

What the testers say: “On the DreamCloud, I felt best whenever I slept on my back. Because this mattress has a firmer feel, it offered plenty of lumbar support. My hips sank into the top layer slightly, but my back stayed in a neutral alignment.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the DreamCloud

  • Offers a good balance of comfort and support for back sleepers
  • A good value bed-in-a-box mattress

Cons of the DreamCloud

  • Likely not soft enough for side sleepers
  • Disappointing edge support

Read the full DreamCloud mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options!

Best Luxury Mattress for a Murphy Bed – Loom & Leaf

Best Luxury

Loom & Leaf Mattress

loom leaf mattress

Loom & Leaf is a perfect choice for those looking for a luxury memory foam feel but don't want to sleep hot.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Luxury

Loom & Leaf Mattress

loom leaf mattress

Loom & Leaf is a perfect choice for those looking for a luxury memory foam feel but don't want to sleep hot.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
loom leaf mattress
Best Luxury

Loom & Leaf Mattress

Loom & Leaf is a perfect choice for those looking for a luxury memory foam feel but don't want to sleep hot.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

If you want the absolute best mattress for your Murphy bed, the Loom & Leaf should be right up your alley. The Loom & Leaf features multiple layers of foam and offers that slow-moving memory foam feel. The foams are high-density, meaning that they are durable. Murphy beds can put a strain on and warp low-quality memory foam mattresses, but this will not be an issue with the Loom & Leaf. It will likely stay comfortable and supportive for many years to come.

What the testers say: “When I tested the Loom & Leaf, I was impressed by just how substantial it was. With multiple thick layers of memory foam, it is one of the must luxurious memory foam mattresses I have reviewed. It offered great pressure relief and some good support as well.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Loom & Leaf

Cons of the Loom & Leaf

  • Not a very responsive mattress
  • Has a higher price point
  • Probably not supportive enough for heavy people

Read the full Loom & Leaf mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Luxury Mattresses for more great options!

Best Cooling Mattress for a Murphy Bed – Bear

Best Cooling Murphy Bed Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

bear original new airtable

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Murphy Bed Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

bear original new airtable

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
bear original new airtable
Best Cooling Murphy Bed Mattress

Bear Original Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

Some of the best cooling mattresses come from Bear, a mattress brand that promotes temperature regulation and body recovery after a long day. The Bear Original is a mattress that is soft and supportive and made with materials like cooling gel foam, a breathable Tencel cover, and an optional Celliant cover that studies suggest can help with recovery and well-being. And since it’s all foam, it should fold up into the even smallest of Murphy beds without causing you to overheat.

What the testers say: “Like the other Bear mattresses, the Bear Original is super comfy. It doesn’t skimp on pressure relief or cooling, and even helps promote muscle recovery.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Bear

  • A great value mattress
  • Offers good pressure relief
  • Boasts a balanced foam feel

Cons of the Bear

  • Not ideal for heavy people
  • Not enough support for stomach sleepers

Read the full Bear mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options!

Best Mattress For Couples – WinkBeds GravityLux

Best Mattress for Couples

WinkBeds GravityLux Mattress

memory lux 4 850x

The WinkBeds GravityLux is a very comfortable all-foam mattress. It should be a good match for back, side, and combo sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Mattress for Couples

WinkBeds GravityLux Mattress

memory lux 4 850x

The WinkBeds GravityLux is a very comfortable all-foam mattress. It should be a good match for back, side, and combo sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
memory lux 4 850x
Best Mattress for Couples

WinkBeds GravityLux Mattress

The WinkBeds GravityLux is a very comfortable all-foam mattress. It should be a good match for back, side, and combo sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.1/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

Do you sleep with a partner on a Murphy bed? If so, the WinkBeds GravityLux is going to be a great option. The GravityLux features great motion isolation, preventing you and your partner from disturbing each other during the night. In addition, the WinkBed comes in multiple firmness options, so you can choose the firmness that works right for both of you. And, the WinkBed’s cooling features will help keep couples from overheating.

What the testers say: “The WinkBeds GravityLux performed very well during my motion transfer tests. Lying down, I did not feel my coworker move around on their side of the mattress. This makes me think it should be a good option for couples.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the WinkBeds GravityLux

  • Features comfortable, breathable memory foam
  • Comes in multiple firmness options
  • Offers a balanced foam feel

Cons of the WinkBeds GravityLux

  • Lacks a very slow-moving feel
  • Likely not supportive enough for sleepers over 230 lbs
  • Not a cheap mattress

Read the full WinkBeds GravityLux mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options!

Best Mattress For Back Pain – Nolah Original

Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

Nolah Original 10

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

Nolah Original 10

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Nolah Original 10
Best Mattress for Back Pain

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5

Our Expert’s Take

If you experience back pain and sleep on a Murphy bed, take a look at the Nolah Original mattress. This medium-soft foam mattress features a great balance of comfort and support that research suggests can help keep your spine neutrally aligned. This can prevent and help ease back pain you may be suffering from. In addition, the Nolah Original will conform to the shape of your body, offering potential pain relief for your joints.

What the testers say: “I experienced good comfort and support on the Nolah Original mattress. When I was on my side and back, I felt the AirFoam pressing up into my lumbar area and supporting me there.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Nolah

Cons of the Nolah

  • Not likely firm enough for stomach sleeping
  • Heavier people probably need more support

Read the full Nolah mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Back Pain for more great options!

Best Firm Murphy Bed Mattress – Plank Firm

Best Overall

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

plank firm airtable

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

plank firm airtable

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
plank firm airtable
Best Overall

Brooklyn Bedding Plank Firm Mattress

The Plank Firm is a very firm mattress that is a great match for stomach sleepers and those who need extra support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 8/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

The Plank checks all of the boxes when it comes to finding a firm mattress for your Murphy bed. The flippable bed gives you two firm options in one bed, packaged into one bed for an affordable price. The firm construction also makes the Plank a great option for stomach sleepers, who are likely to feel excellent support and no slumping of the hips. One thing to keep in mind: Plank won’t be the most cooling mattress. Accessories like a cooling mattress protector and cooling sheets can definitely help mitigate this though.

What the testers say: “The Plank is a unique mattress in that it’s flippable and ultra-firm. And I mean that. In all my years of testing mattresses, only a select few can claim to be as firm. And that was great for lying on my stomach. I got the support I needed, but the bed’s surface isn’t overly rigid.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Plank Firm

  • Offers comfort and support for stomach sleeping
  • Bouncy, responsive foam makes it easy to change positions
  • Flippable design adds durability and firmness options

Cons of the Plank Firm

  • Even for firm mattress aficionados, both sides may feel too firm
  • Side sleepers will likely prefer a softer mattress
  • Lacks solid cooling features

Read the full Plank Firm mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Firm Mattresses for more great options!

Best Value Mattress for a Murphy Bed – Brooklyn Bedding Signature

Best Value Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Value Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Value Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type couples
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review

Our Expert’s Take

When you’re looking for a mattress for your Murphy bed, you don’t want to break the bank. Brooklyn Bedding offers some of the best value mattresses because they own their own factory. This allows them to price their mattresses more competitively while not skimping on quality. The brand’s most popular model is the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid. It features supportive coils, high-density foam, and some nice cooling features. You’ll be sleeping comfortably on your Murphy bed without hurting your wallet.

What the testers say: “I reviewed the Medium model of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid and thought it had the perfect balance of comfort and support. This made it a good fit for back sleeping, but side and stomach sleepers have two other firmnesses to choose from.” – Marten, Lead Reviewer

Pros of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • Comes in three firmnesses.
  • Responsive and easy to move around on
  • Great option for combination sleepers

Cons of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature

  • Doesn’t offer a slow-moving feel
  • Not a very deluxe mattress

Read the full Brooklyn Bedding Signature mattress review. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for the Money for more great options!

How Do Murphy Beds Work?

Simply put, Murphy beds allow you to store your mattress vertically when you are not using it. This gives you more space to use the room for other activities when you are not using the bed.

Murphy beds work on a hinged system so that the bed folds down from the wall or Murphy bed frame. Some Murphy beds contain springs or a hydraulic piston system to make it easier to pull down and put up your mattress.

Your weight and the weight of your mattress help keep the bed down during the night. In addition, some Murphy beds feature locking mechanisms to ensure they do not pop up unexpectedly.

Best Type Of Mattress For A Murphy Bed

Memory foam mattresses are usually the best fit for Murphy beds. They are usually thinner and hold their shape better when stored vertically. However, you want to make sure you find a more durable foam mattress that will not sag or bend too easily. A cheaper mattress could lose its shape while it is stored in a Murphy bed.

Hybrid mattresses can work in Murphy beds, but they aren’t as good of an option as memory foam mattresses. When coil mattresses are stored vertically, there is a chance the coils could start to bend and warp. Make sure to read your mattress warranty before pairing with a Murphy bed.

How To Install A Murphy Bed

There are a few different types of Murphy beds, and they have different installation processes. For instance, if the Murphy bed is not wall mounted, it’s as simple as building the Murphy bed based on the instructions and then pushing it against the wall.

However, even if the Murphy bed does not call for wall mounts, we still recommend using them. A stud finder will help you locate your load-bearing wall beam. Then, using a drill and angle brackets, secure your Murphy bed to the wall. This will help prevent the Murphy bed from tipping forward.

Summary

MattressBest For:
Helix MidnightBest for Side Sleepers
Nectar ClassicBest Memory Foam Mattress
DreamCloudBest Hybrid
Loom & LeafBest Luxury
BearBest Cooling Mattress
WinkBeds GravityLuxBest Mattress for Couples
Nolah OriginalBest Mattress for Back Pain
Plank FirmBest Firm
Brooklyn Bedding SignatureBest Value Mattress

Best Mattress for Murphy Beds FAQs

What kind of mattress do you use on a Murphy bed?

Memory foam mattresses are the best fit for Murphy beds. They will retain their shape and shouldn’t warp when staying upright.

Do Murphy beds take a regular mattress?

You can fit most standard mattresses on a Murphy bed. However, you don’t want something too thick, and coil mattresses might warp when you put them into the wall.

How thick should a Murphy bed mattress be?

It depends on the Murphy bed you have, but most won’t accommodate a mattress that is much thicker than 12″.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.