Best Thin Mattress – Which Is Best For You?

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Bigger is not always better, especially when it comes to mattresses. While thick mattresses have a lot to offer, let’s not forget about thin mattresses. Thin mattresses are much easier to move around and take up less space. They also work well for those with mobility problems as they are much easier to move around on.

If you think a thin mattress is a good choice, keep reading. We personally tested 14 different products for this roundup, but only nine made the final list of the best thin mattresses.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Thin Mattress?

Our expert reviewers chose the Bear Original as the best thin mattress for its excellent motion isolation and cooling features.

Best Thin Mattresses: Our Top Picks

Compare the Best Thin Mattresses

Bear Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Zenhaven Mattress Cocoon Chill Mattress Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress Puffy Cloud Mattress Leesa Original Mattress Siena Mattress
Bear Mattress Nolah Original 10" Mattress Zenhaven Mattress Cocoon Chill Mattress Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress Puffy Cloud Mattress Leesa Original Mattress Siena Mattress
Rating
Firmness Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Soft: 6/10 Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Soft: 6/10
Material Foam Foam Latex Foam Foam Foam Foam Foam
Cooling -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Combination Back & Side

How We Test Our Mattresses

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 600 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period and warranty.

Latex mattress testing in our studio
Hands-on mattress testing in our sleep lab

For this list of best thin mattresses, we chose high-quality mattresses that were 10” thick or less. We made sure to include a wide range of mattress types, from organic latex to soft memory foam hybrids.

Best Overall- Bear Original Mattress

Best Overall

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Has a slow-moving feel
A great value
Has a cooling cover
Cons
Not good for stomach sleepers
Not supportive enough for heavyweight side sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Many thin mattresses are foam, and one of the absolute best is the Bear Original mattress. The Bear Original is just 10” thick and contains a Celliant cover and a comfort layer of graphite-gel-infused foam. These materials are known for their cooling qualities, making the Bear Original a great option for hot sleepers.

The Bear Original is also designed with athletes in mind. Overheating is a major issue for athletes, and the cooling materials really help fight that. If you want a thin mattress to help you recover after a long workout, the Bear Original could do the trick.

Even if you aren’t an athlete or hot sleeper, the Bear Original also promises great pressure relief and support for both side sleeping and back sleeping. This thin mattress really packs a punch!

What our testers say: “As an average weight side sleeper, I found this mattress to be a good match. The foam contours my shoulders and alleviates pressure. If you are a taller or heavier person, though, you might need to find a more supportive mattress.” Elisa, reviewer

What We Love About the Bear

  • It has a slow-moving feel, making it great for side sleepers who need pressure relief.
  • The Bear Original costs less than $1000 for a queen, which is much less than many other mattresses on the market.
  • It has a cooling cover made out of Cellient fabric, which is meant to help promote muscle recovery.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear

  • Because of the mattress’s medium-firm feel, stomach sleepers probably won’t get enough hip support. It’s likely that stomach sleepers will develop lower back pain from the Bear mattress.
  • Heavier side sleepers may “bottom out” and feel pressure on their shoulders and hips. If you weigh more than 230 lb, you may want to get a firm mattress instead.

Other User Reviews

Over 10,000 customers have reviewed the Bear Original on the company’s website, earning it an overall score of 4.5/5. Many people said they love its price point and found that, after breaking it in, the mattress offers a great amount of comfort and support. A few customers left one-star reviews and said the mattress wasn’t supportive enough and that it trapped body heat.

Read our full Bear Original mattress review. For more options, check out the best mattresses of 2024.

Best Soft Thin Mattress- Nolah Original Mattress

Best Soft Thin Mattress

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Soft Thin Mattress

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Best Soft Thin Mattress

Nolah Original 10" Mattress

The Nolah Original 10" mattress works especially well for side sleepers, and it's sold at a value price.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Pros
Great value
Has a balanced foam feel
Good for most back and side sleepers
Cons
Too soft for stomach sleepers
Lacks a super slow-moving feel

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a fan of softer mattresses, you have to check out the Nolah Original mattress. On a scale of 1-10, it came in at 6, softer-than-average. It features soft foam layers on top and really lets you sink into its comfy surface.

Its softer design makes the Nolah Original a great option for side sleepers. When you lie on your side, you should feel the pressure melt away around your pressure points such as your shoulders and hips.

While many all-foam mattresses sleep hot, the Nolah Original should keep you nice and cool. Its Tencel cover and proprietary Airfoam are both designed to dissipate heat and prevent overheating.

What the testers say: “I love how the Nolah mattress helps dissipate body heat. The special AirFoam is a lot more breathable than traditional memory foam. However, as a heavier person, I didn’t think this mattress was supportive enough. It’s better suited for lightweight people.” Marten, reviewer

What We Love About The Nolah Original Mattress

  • The Nolah Original is a great value mattress, coming in at about $1,100 after discounts.
  • It has a balanced foam feel, so you should be able to move around easily. You shouldn’t feel “trapped” inside the mattress.
  • Average weight back and side sleepers should get the comfort and support they need. The mattress is slightly softer than average, but it has a thick support layer that should offer enough lumbar support.

What to Keep in Mind About The Nolah Original Mattress

  • The Nolah is too soft for most stomach sleepers. If you weigh more than 130 lb and sleep on your stomach, you will likely feel your hips sink out of alignment, which can lead to lower back pain. Take a look at our list of the best mattresses for stomach sleepers for some better options.
  • Fans of slow-moving memory foam may want to consider the Leesa Original. The Nolah mattress has a responsive feel, so you won’t sink inside the mattress quite as much.

Other User Reviews

On Nolah‘s website, the mattress earns an overall customer review score of 4.9/5. Many people said the mattress helped alleviate joint pain, and one person said the bed is so good that they bought two. Nolah doesn’t feature negative reviews, so I am unable to shed light on customer complaints.

Read the full Nolah mattress review. For other great options, take a look at our best soft mattresses

Best Thin Organic Mattress- Zenhaven Mattress

Best Thin Organic Mattress

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Latex

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Thin Organic Mattress

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Latex

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Thin Organic Mattress

Zenhaven Mattress

Zenhaven is an all-natural latex mattress that is innovative and has an excellent match of comfort and support.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Latex

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.9/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Breathable and cooling
Flippable
Has a responsive feel
Cons
Pricey
Not great for most side sleepers
Lacks a slow-moving foam feel

Our Expert’s Take

Looking for something a bit more eco-friendly? You may want to consider the Zenhaven mattress. The Zenhaven comes from Saatva and is an organic mattress that contains organic cotton and multiple layers of all-natural Talalay latex. These materials adhere to the highest organic standards, so this is a green thin mattress option.

With its many layers of latex, the Zenhaven is an extremely durable mattress. While some foam mattresses may start to sag in just a few years, that should not be an issue with the Zenhaven. It will stand up to many years of use without sagging.

The Zenhaven has one more trick up its sleeve–-it is flippable! Each side has a different firmness, so you get two mattresses in one. This gives you two chances to find the perfect firmness for you.

What our testers say: “I felt very cool when I slept on the Zenhaven mattress. The breathable latex didn’t trap body heat at all. I personally preferred the firmer side of the mattress because I’m a heavier person who’s 6’7″. The softer side wasn’t quite supportive enough.” Marten, reviewer

What We Love About the Zenhaven

  • The Zenhaven’s materials are very breathable, so the mattress is a good option for hot sleepers. The latex foam feels responsive, so it doesn’t trap body heat, and the organic cotton cover allows room for airflow.
  • The flippable design makes it a good fit for many different types of people. The softer side works well for lightweight back and side sleepers, while the firmer side is great for average weight back sleepers and lightweight stomach sleepers.
  • The Zenhaven has a responsive feel, which makes it easy for people to move around on top of the bed. You shouldn’t feel “stuck inside” the mattress.

What to Keep in Mind About the Zenhaven

  • All-natural materials are not the most affordable, so the Zenhaven may be too pricey for some.
  • Side sleepers who weigh more than 130 lb may need more pressure relief. The Leesa Original could be a good alternative.
  • If you love the feeling of slow-moving memory foam, you may want to consider the Cocoon Chill instead.

Other User Reviews

Out of 316 customer reviews on the Zenhaven website, the mattress has earned an overall score of 4.9/5. Many people said the mattress feels very supportive and that it was “worth every penny.” Some people said the mattress felt too firm.

Read our full Zenhaven mattress review. For other options, check out the best organic mattresses.

Best Thin Cooling Mattress- Cocoon Chill

Best Thin Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The Cocoon by Sealy is a comfortable mattress that is also a great value.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Thin Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The Cocoon by Sealy is a comfortable mattress that is also a great value.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Thin Cooling Mattress

Cocoon Chill Mattress

The Cocoon by Sealy is a comfortable mattress that is also a great value.

Clarity Score 4.1/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Good for many back and stomach sleepers
Cooling
A good value
Cons
Too firm for most side sleepers
Not supportive enough for heavier people

Our Expert’s Take

Let’s face it, sleeping hot is the worst. If you’re like me, it’s no fun to wake up sweaty and overheating. To keep things nice and cool, consider the thin Cocoon Chill mattress.

As the name suggests, the Cocoon Chill is designed specifically with hot sleepers in mind. It features phase change material in its cover which actually draws heat away from your body. It is also cool to the touch.

The Cocoon Chill is a firmer mattress, so you will sleep more on top of the mattress. This allows more air to flow over your body, keeping you even cooler during the night.

What the testers say: “The Cocoon Chill is much firmer than average, which isn’t my preference. That said, I did feel quite supported when I rested on my back and stomach. Average weight side sleepers may need a softer mattress, though.” Elisa, Reviewer

What We Love About the Cocoon Chill

  • The Cocoon Chill is firmer than average, so it offers plenty of lumbar support for back sleepers. It’s also a good match for average weight stomach sleepers, because the firm foam helps prevent hips from sinking out of alignment.
  • The Cocoon Chill has a cover made out of phase change material, which feels cool to the touch. It’s one of the most effective cooling fabrics on the market.
  • The Cocoon Chill is a very good value. It costs $1239.00 before coupons, and it should last at 7-10 years.

What to Keep in Mind About the Cocoon Chill

  • The mattress is too firm for most side sleepers. If you rest on your side, you may feel some pressure build up along your shoulder and hip.
  • The Cocoon Chill isn’t supportive enough for heavier people. If you weigh more than 230 lb, you may want to consider getting the Cocoon Chill Hybrid instead.

Other User Reviews

On the Cocoon Chill website, over 8,300 customers left reviews. Overall, the mattress has a score of 4.7/5. Many people said the mattress shipped quickly and was easy to unbox. Others praised the bed’s cooling cover. A few people left one-star reviews and said the mattress felt uncomfortable.

Read the full Cocoon Chill mattress review. For other options, take a look at our best cooling mattresses

Best Thin Twin Mattress- Dreamfoam Essentials

Best Thin Twin Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Thin Twin Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Thin Twin Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Contains cooling materials
Good for back sleepers
Very affordable
Cons
Not supportive enough for heavy people
Not the most durable mattress on the market

Our Expert’s Take

Twin mattresses can be a great option for children, teenagers, and smaller adults. Smaller sleepers rarely need as much support as larger sleepers, and they can fare quite well with a thinner mattress.

Our pick for the best twin size thin mattress is the Dreamfoam Essential. It is an all-foam bed-in-a-box that is available in multiple thicknesses. You can choose between 6”, 8”, 10”, 12”, and 14” models. The 6” and 8” models are thinner than any other mattresses on this list. With their very low profiles, they could be ideal for children, and bunk beds as well.

The Dreamfoam is also one of the most affordable options on this list. The 6” model costs less than $300 for a twin size. Even if you opt for a thicker or larger model, the Dreamfoam mattresses are all a good value.

What our testers say: “I tested the 12″ model, and even though it is thicker than others on the market, I found that it wasn’t supportive enough for me. I’m a heavier person who is 6’7″, so I sank through the comfort layers quite a bit. That said, the Dreamfoam Essential mattress should work well for lightweight folks who are on a budget.” Marten, reviewer

What We Love About the Dreamfoam Essential

  • The mattress contains cooling materials to help with heat regulation. The breathable memory foam allows room for airflow, and the gel infusion helps pull heat away from the body.
  • The Dreamfoam Essential offers a good balance of comfort and support for lightweight back sleepers.
  • The mattress has a slow-moving memory foam feel some people love.

What to Keep in Mind About the Dreamfoam Essential

  • The Dreamfoam Essential is not be supportive enough for heavy people. If you weigh more than 230 lb, you should consider getting one of the best mattresses for heavy people.
  • It does not contain very durable materials, so it may not be a great long-term investment. You will probably need to replace this mattress in three to five years.

Other User Reviews

Over 3,800 customers have reviewed the Dreamfoam Essential on the website, and the mattress has earned an overall score of 4.7/5. Many lightweight back sleepers said the mattress was quite comfortable, and many people raved about its price point. One person, who said they weigh over 250 lb, said the mattress started to tear after only a few weeks.

Read our full Dreamfoam Essential mattress review. For other options, check out our list of the best twin mattresses for other great recommendations. 

Best Thin Mattress for Back Pain- Puffy Cloud

Best Thin Mattress For Back Pain

Puffy Cloud Mattress

Puffy is a comfortable memory foam mattress that is especially great for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Thin Mattress For Back Pain

Puffy Cloud Mattress

Puffy is a comfortable memory foam mattress that is especially great for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Thin Mattress For Back Pain

Puffy Cloud Mattress

Puffy is a comfortable memory foam mattress that is especially great for back and side sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Pros
Cooling
Good for back sleepers
Cons
Not supportive enough for heavier people
Not firm enough for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

If you deal with back pain, your new mattress should help support your lumbar area and keep your spine in neutral alignment. This can relieve that back pain and prevent future back pain as well. With this in mind, I recommend the Puffy Cloud mattress for back pain.

While the Puffy Cloud is a thinner mattress, it still provides good lumbar support. When you lie down on the Puffy Cloud, your hips should sink the right amount, and the top foam layers should press up into your lumbar area. The foam also provides some excellent contouring.

Even if you don’t deal with back pain, the Puffy Cloud will work well for side sleeping, back sleeping, and is easy to move around on.

What our testers say: “The Puffy Cloud mattress offers a nice balance of comfort and support, which is exactly what back sleepers need. When I rested in this position, I felt like the mattress helped me maintain a neutral alignment. It may not be supportive enough for heavier people, though.” Elisa, reviewer

What We Love About the Puffy Cloud Mattress

  • The Puffy Cloud features cooling foams that are infused with gel, which helps pull heat away from the body.
  • This mattress feels slightly firmer than average, which is good for back sleepers. In this sleeping position, average weight people should maintain the proper spinal alignment. This can help prevent back pain as time goes on.

What to Keep in Mind About the Puffy Cloud Mattress

  • Those who weigh more than 230 lb may feel themselves “bottoming out” on the Puffy Cloud. Heavier sleepers should take a look at the more supportive Puffy Lux Hybrid.
  • The Puffy Cloud isn’t supportive enough for most stomach sleepers. Those who weigh more than 130 lb will likely feel their hip sink out of alignment, which can cause back pain.

Other User Reviews

According to the Puffy website, the Puffy Cloud mattress has a perfect five-star rating from over 12,000 customer reviews. Many positive reviews praise the mattress’s cooling features and comfortable foam layers. Puffy doesn’t publish negative reviews, so I can’t provide information about customer complaints.

Read the full Puffy Cloud mattress review. For other recommendations, check out our recommendations for the best mattresses for back pain

Best Thin Memory Foam Mattress- Leesa Original

Best Thin Memory Foam Mattress

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Thin Memory Foam Mattress

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Thin Memory Foam Mattress

Leesa Original Mattress

Made with responsive foam, the Leesa Original mattress works well for side sleepers and hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.9/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Watch Our Video Review

Pros
Isolates motion well
Cooling
Great for most back and side sleepers
Cons
Not firm enough for stomach sleepers
Not supportive enough for heavier people

Our Expert’s Take

First off, we have to talk about one of the best thin mattresses on the market, the Leesa Original mattress. The Leesa Original comes from Leesa, a producer of some high-quality bed-in-a-box mattresses. The Leesa Original is the flagship model and, at 10” thick, it is the thinnest Leesa model.

But, don’t let Leesa’s thinner design fool you. It still contains some high-quality layers of foam that offer some great comfort and cooling as well. The top layer of bouncy, breathable foam will relieve pressure without making you feel stuck or too hot at night. Below that, a thick layer of memory foam provides even more cushioning.

This design makes the Leesa Original a fantastic thin mattress for both back sleepers and side sleepers. Back sleepers will enjoy a balance of comfort and support while side sleepers will feel very little pressure on their shoulders and hips.

What our testers say: “The Leesa Original is a good option for many lightweight combination sleepers. The breathable foam prevented me from overheating at night, but if you’re a tall person like myself, you may not get the necessary lumbar support.” Marten, reviewer

What We Love About the Leesa

  • This mattress contours the body and offers lots of pressure relief –especially for average weight people. Most side sleepers should get the cushioning they need.
  • It isolates motion well, which is great for couples. This means that partners shouldn’t feel their loved one switching sleeping positions next to them at night.
  • It’s made with breathable foam, which doesn’t trap as much heat as traditional memory foam. If you tend to sleep hot at night, this could be a good option.

What to Keep in Mind About the Leesa

  • Because it’s a thin mattress, it isn’t supportive enough for heavyweight people. Those who weigh more than 230 lb will likely “bottom out” on this bed, which could lead to back pain.
  • It has a classic medium-firm feel, so it doesn’t work well for stomach sleepers. In this sleeping position, you run the risk of developing lower back pain.

Other User Reviews

Out of nearly 20,000 customer reviews on the Leesa website, the Original mattress earned an overall score of 4.5/5. Many people said the customer service team is excellent, and others said the mattress feels very comfortable. Some people complained that the mattress wasn’t supportive enough.

Read our full Leesa Original mattress review, Or for other options, check out our recommendations for the best memory foam mattresses.

Best Thin Mattress for Side Sleepers- Siena Mattress

Best Thin Mattress For Side Sleepers

Siena Mattress

Siena Mattress -- Featured

The Siena mattress comes from Nectar, but it's sold at a value price. It's a great option for lightweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.4/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

180 Nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Thin Mattress For Side Sleepers

Siena Mattress

Siena Mattress -- Featured

The Siena mattress comes from Nectar, but it's sold at a value price. It's a great option for lightweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.4/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

180 Nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Siena Mattress -- Featured
Best Thin Mattress For Side Sleepers

Siena Mattress

The Siena mattress comes from Nectar, but it's sold at a value price. It's a great option for lightweight sleepers.

Clarity Score 3.4/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

180 Nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Kids
This bed is perfect for young sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
180-night sleep trial period and 10-year warranty
Offers lots of pressure relief
Affordable
Cons
Not supportive enough for heavier people
Not great for hot sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a side sleeper shopping for a mattress, it’s all about pressure relief. When you sleep on your side, your weight is concentrated on your shoulders and hips, and you can feel some serious pressure in those areas. If this applies to you, it’s worth looking at the Siena mattress.

The Siena features soft, comfortable memory foam that is fantastic with pressure relief. Lying down on your side, you should sink into the Siena and feel very little pressure on your shoulders and hips. If you are a back sleeper, you will also feel some fantastic contouring.

The Siena also is an affordable mattress option. For such a comfortable mattress, I would expect it to cost a pretty penny. However, it costs less than $700 for a queen size mattress.

What our testers say: “On the Siena mattress, I felt some nice pressure relief when I slept on my side. But because it’s softer than average, it’s not the best choice for back or stomach sleeping. I also felt quite warm on the mattress, so if you tend to overheat at night, you may want to look elsewhere.” Elisa, reviewer

What We Love About the Siena Mattress

  • The Siena mattress comes with a 180-night sleep trial, which is longer than many other trial periods. It’s also backed by a 10-year warranty.
  • The Siena features a slow-moving memory foam feel that some will love. This is particularly great for lightweight side sleepers who need some pressure relief along their shoulders and hips.

What to Keep in Mind About the Siena Mattress

  • Heavier people will want something more supportive than the Siena, such as the Zenhaven. The Siena mattress is softer than average, so heavier people will likely sink into the top layers and could develop back pain.
  • The Siena is not the best match for hot sleepers. The thick foam layers tend to trap body heat, so if you run hot at night, you might want to get the Cocoon Chill instead.

Other User Reviews

Out of over 14,000 customer reviews on the Siena website, the mattress has earned an average score of 4.5/5. Many people raved about the mattress’s support and affordable price tag. One person said the mattress was too firm for their 11-year-old daughter, and other people said the mattress traps body heat.

Read the full Siena mattress review. For other recommendations, take a look at our best mattresses for side sleepers.

Who Should Buy A Thin Mattress?

Thin mattresses are, well, thin. This gives them plenty of benefits for certain types of sleepers. Keep reading to see if one of these applies to you.

  • Lightweight sleepers. If you are on the lighter side, you really don’t need the support that a thicker mattress has to offer. You can save money by opting for a thin mattress and you’ll save on space as well!
  • Children and teenagers. Children and teenagers don’t require as much support as adults. Also, it can be dangerous for children to sleep on a mattress that is too thick. A thinner mattress will keep them lower to the ground and make it more difficult to fall out of bed. This is especially important with bunk beds, as you don’t want an extremely thick mattress on the top bunk. This is especially dangerous for children and can make it easier for them to fall out of bed.
  • Those with mobility issues. If you have health issues that make it more difficult to move around and get in and out of bed, you may consider a thin mattress. A thin mattress won’t let you sink in quite so far and can allow you to move around much more easily.
  • Those who have a lower profile bed. If you have a more modern bed frame that sits low to the ground, a thick mattress might just be too much. Thinner mattresses pair better with lower beds.

What To Consider When Buying A Thin Mattress

Here are a few things to keep in mind when shopping for a thin mattress.

Sleeping Position

No matter what type of mattress you purchase, you want to make sure it fits your specific sleeping position. For instance, if you are a back sleeper, a medium-firm mattress will give you the balance of comfort and support you require.

Side sleepers usually fare better on softer mattresses. Soft mattresses prevent bunching up around the shoulders and hips and relieve pressure on those areas.

For stomach sleeping, support is the name of the game. You need more support under your hips, and a firmer mattress can usually do the trick. If your mattress is too soft, your hips may sink into the mattress, and this can cause lower back pain.

Cooling

Sleeping hot is an issue for many people today. Whether you know it or not, your mattress has a lot to do with how hot or cool you sleep. You want to find a mattress that contains good cooling features.

mattress cooling features

Memory foam mattresses are known for sleeping hot because their chemicals trap body heat and direct it back at sleepers. However, some brands infuse their memory foam with cooling materials such as graphite, gel, or copper. If you want a memory foam mattress, make sure it has some sort of infusion.

Hybrid mattresses are usually a great fit for hot sleepers, as their coils allow for good airflow through the mattress. Latex mattresses are also very cooling because their natural foams do not trap heat the way memory foam mattresses do.

Durability

Even if you’re buying a more affordable thin mattress, it may still be an investment. You don’t want your mattress to start sagging right away.

Do your research and make sure that your mattress contains durable materials that will stand up to many years of use. If you are looking at an all-foam mattress, take a look at the foam density. If the brand advertises higher-density foam, that will last longer than cheaper, lower-density foam.

If you want something extremely durable, you can also consider a latex mattress. All-natural latex is more resilient than other types of foam and is a good long-term investment.

RELATED: Best Mattress That Won’t Sag

How Do You Make A Thin Mattress More Comfortable?

If you’re having trouble getting comfortable on your thin mattress, you may not need to buy a whole new mattress. With the help of a mattress topper, you can turn your thin, uncomfortable mattress into a very comfy mattress.

Depending on your sleeping position, you can choose a thinner 2” mattress topper or a much thicker 4” mattress topper. A 2” topper will add just a bit more comfort to your mattress. This is great for back sleepers who need a bit more contouring. If you sleep on your side, and your thin mattress is much too firm, a 4” topper could add a significant amount of pressure relief to the mattress.

However, don’t go too wild with your mattress topper purchase. If you choose a very thick topper, this can make things more uncomfortable over time. You may feel a lack of support, and this can lead to serious pain issues.

Summary

Once again, here is our list of the best thin mattresses.

MattressBest For:
Bear OriginalBest Overall
Nolah OriginalBest Soft Thin Mattress
ZenhavenBest Thin Organic Mattress
Cocoon ChillBest Thin Cooling Mattress
Dreamfoam EssentialBest Thin Twin Mattress
Puffy CloudBest Thin Mattress for Back Pain
Leesa OriginalBest Thin Foam Mattress
Siena MattressBest Thin Mattress for Side Sleepers

Thin Mattress FAQs

Is a 6” mattress too thin?

Six inches is quite thin for a mattress, but it should be enough for lightweight sleepers, children and some teenagers. However, a 6” mattress won’t offer much support for larger sleepers, who should look for something thicker.

Are thin mattresses better?

Thin mattresses can be good, but it depends on what you are looking for. If you need something for a lighter person, child or teenager, a thin mattress can do the trick. They aren’t good for people who need more support.

What does a thin mattress require underneath?

A thin mattress does not require as much support as a thicker mattress. Thin mattresses rarely require a box spring. Usually, a simple bed frame will suffice.

What are the cons of a thin mattress?

Thin mattresses aren’t as durable as thick mattresses, so you might need to replace them more often. They also don’t offer as much support. If you weigh more than 200 lb, you may need a thicker mattress.

Can a thin mattress cause back pain?

Depending on your height, weight and sleeping position, a thin mattress could cause back pain. In order to prevent back pain, you’ll need a mattress that helps you stay in a neutral alignment. Some thin mattresses cause sleepers to “bottom out,” which puts extra strain on pressure points. If you need some good options, you may want to take a look at our list of the best mattresses for back pain.

Marten Carlson

Marten is the Lead Reviewer at Mattress Clarity. He is a Certified Sleep Science Coach and covers the mattress industry as well as sleep science news. He is specifically interested in the connection between sleep and overall health. Marten has written for media publications like Consequence of Sound and received a master’s degree in Film Studies from Emory University. He comes from Franklin, Indiana, and spends all the time he can writing, directing, and acting in films.