Best Gel Mattresses 2024

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Memory foam beds are known to trap heat, which is why many companies infuse their mattress foam with gel. The best gel mattress on the market absorbs heat so sleepers don’t have to. This technology is popular in all-foam mattresses, but can also be found in layers of other constructions, such as hybrids and innersprings. Our team at Mattress Clarity has reviewed and tested a number of gel-infused mattresses on the market, and we came up with a list of the 10 best gel mattresses.

Our Top Picks

How We Chose Our Products

Our team of sleep specialists have reviewed more than 150 mattresses, using proprietary analysis and hands-on testing to establish easy-to-understand scores. In addition to an overall score, we measure subscores for support, edge support, cooling, motion transfer, durability, trial period, and warranty. You can read more about our testing methods at the bottom of this roundup.

When we talk about gel mattresses, the first thing that often comes to mind is cooling. We made this our primary focus when selecting these models. Some are memory foam mattresses, others are hybrids, and some boast an innerspring feel. Out of our 10 selections, all scored above-average in cooling; in fact, 9 out of 10 scored a 4/5 in cooling. We also paid attention to the quality of materials and versatility of these selections so they cater to a variety of sleepers.

Compare the Best Gel Mattresses of 2024

Loom & Leaf Mattress Helix Plus Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nectar Premier Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Bear Mattress Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress Titan Plus
Loom & Leaf Mattress Helix Plus Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nectar Premier Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Bear Mattress Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress Titan Plus
Rating
Firmness Multiple firmness options Firm: 7.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Soft: 6/10 Multiple firmness options Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Firm: 9/10
Material Foam Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid Hybrid Foam Hybrid Foam Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Combination Back Back & Side Back Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Side Back & Side Back & Stomach

Best Overall- Loom & Leaf

Best Overall

Loom & Leaf Mattress

Loom & Leaf is a perfect choice for those looking for a luxury memory foam feel but don't want to sleep hot.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Loom & Leaf Mattress

Loom & Leaf is a perfect choice for those looking for a luxury memory foam feel but don't want to sleep hot.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall

Loom & Leaf Mattress

Loom & Leaf is a perfect choice for those looking for a luxury memory foam feel but don't want to sleep hot.

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Choice of firmness
Excellent pressure relief
Breathable with cooling upgrades
Cons
May lack support for heavyweight sleepers
Slow-reacting foam isn’t ideal for combination sleepers
Higher price point

Our Expert’s Take

The Loom & Leaf is an all-foam mattress with four foam layers. This complex construction includes gel infusions in its memory foam comfort layer. The first layer has two inches of gel memory foam that’s convoluted, further assisting with airflow. As if that wasn’t enough gel technology, there’s a gel laminate in the comfort layer. This Spinal Zone Gel laminate also provides spinal support.

What the testers say: “All foam mattresses aren’t as cool as hybrid or innerspring mattresses. However, the Loom & Leaf mattress shouldn’t sleep hot because the memory foam is gel infused, convoluted for airflow, and the middle third is laminated with gel to help with cooling.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Loom & Leaf

  • The foam layers do a great job at isolating motion, making this bed ideal for couples.
  • Those who want to make full use of the mattress surface will appreciate the Loom & Leaf’s above-average edge support.
  • The organic cotton cover adds to the breathability of this bed, while convoluted gel-infused foam layers also help with cooling.

What to Keep in Mind About the Loom & Leaf

  • If you aren’t a fan of memory foam’s classic slow-moving feel, then the Loom & Leaf isn’t for you. The foam contours and hugs close to your body.
  • Combination sleepers will likely prefer a bouncier mattress where they feel like they’re resting more “on top of” the bed.
  • The slow-reacting foam layers make it a little difficult to move around on the mattress, so it may not be a great place to have sex.

Other User Reviews

The premium Loom & Leaf mattress has over 500 reviews and a 4.9-star overall rating. Customers rave about its comfort and many credit it for relieving back pain. Many reviews also mention positive experiences with customer service and the delivery team.

Read our full Loom & Leaf mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses 2024 for more great options.

Best Gel Mattress for Heavy Sleepers- Helix Plus

Best Gel Mattress for Heavy Sleepers

Helix Plus Mattress

Helix PLUS Mattress Review

The Helix Plus is a supportive hybrid that could be a great match for heavier sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

100 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

15-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Gel Mattress for Heavy Sleepers

Helix Plus Mattress

Helix PLUS Mattress Review

The Helix Plus is a supportive hybrid that could be a great match for heavier sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

15-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

100 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Helix PLUS Mattress Review
Best Gel Mattress for Heavy Sleepers

Helix Plus Mattress

The Helix Plus is a supportive hybrid that could be a great match for heavier sleepers. 

Clarity Score 4.3/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

100 nights

Warranty

15-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Supportive for stomach sleepers in all weight ranges
Cooling upgrades to combat heat retention
Responsive feel is ideal for combination sleepers
Cons
Lacks pressure relief for side sleepers
Lacks the slow-moving feel of memory foam
Higher price point

Our Expert’s Take

The Helix Plus is a hybrid option with a 7.5/10 on the firmness scale. The Helix Plus includes strong coils, and the combined firmness and support make this bed great for heavier sleepers. Meanwhile, a layer of Ultra Dense Helix Responsive Foam assists with pressure relief without sagging under heavier weights.

What the testers say: “The Helix PLUS mattress is a solid choice for heavy people. It is designed to support heavier weights and its durable, high-density foams shouldn’t sag too quickly. Larger back sleepers, stomach sleepers and much heavier side sleepers will like what they find with the Helix PLUS.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Plus

  • Because it’s designed for heavier sleepers, the materials and construction are high-quality. It should last these folks around seven years before showing signs of wear.
  • Those looking for back pain relief should find a nice balance of comfort and support thanks to zoned coils.
  • It’s a great pick for hot sleepers, thanks to the moisture-wicking cover and breathable coils. The upgraded cooling pillow top adds even more cooling technology.

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Plus

  • The Helix Plus is designed for sleepers over 230 lb, which means that it doesn’t suit all average-weight or lightweight sleepers. 
  • Average-weight side sleepers, as well as back and side lightweight sleepers, should get something with more pressure relief.

Other User Reviews

The Helix Plus has over 1,800 five-star reviews. Self-described heavyweight sleepers say it’s supportive, made with high-quality materials and has resolved back pain issues.

Read our full Helix Plus mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Heavy People for more great options.

Best Hybrid Gel Mattress- DreamCloud

Best Hybrid Gel Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid Gel Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Hybrid Gel Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Cooling upgrades
Ideal for back pain relief
Responsive feel works well for combination sleepers
Cons
Lacks sufficient pressure relief for side sleepers
Lacks support for heavyweight sleepers
Lacks the slow moving feel of traditional memory foam

Our Expert’s Take

The hybrid DreamCloud Mattress uses a combination of gel-infused memory foam and sturdy coils for a more balanced, “on top of” feel. A breathable, cashmere-blend cover assists with cooling, and the coils help promote airflow throughout the mattress. The combination of these quality materials resulted in the 4 out of 5 score on our cooling test.

What the testers say: “The DreamCloud mattress is a budget-friendly mattress that features high-quality materials such as a cashmere-blend cover, gel-infused memory foam and individually-wrapped coils. This medium-firm hybrid mattress offers a nice balance of comfort, support and bounce.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud

  • It’s ideal for those with back pain, since it provides lots of support but also pressure relief around the lumbar region.
  • The DreamCloud comes at an excellent value, priced at $1,199 for a queen before sales and discounts.
  • A breathable cover, airflow-promoting coils and gel-infused memory foam make this a great pick for hot sleepers.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud

  • Those wanting lots of pressure relief or a sinking feel will want to opt for a softer mattress. This includes side sleepers or those with joint pain.
  • The DreamCloud doesn’t isolate motion particularly well, which may be a concern for those who share their bed with a partner or a pet.

Other User Reviews

With over 8,500 reviews, the DreamCloud has an overall rating of 4.6 stars. Customers say it’s excellent for easing back pain, with just enough firmness to ensure support and a sleeping-in-the-clouds level of comfort.

Read our full DreamCloud mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Hybrid Mattresses for more great options.

Best Cooling Gel Mattress- Nectar Premier 

Best Cooling Gel Mattress

Nectar Premier Mattress

The Nectar Premier is a plush memory foam mattress with some great cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

365 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Gel Mattress

Nectar Premier Mattress

The Nectar Premier is a plush memory foam mattress with some great cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

365 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cooling Gel Mattress

Nectar Premier Mattress

The Nectar Premier is a plush memory foam mattress with some great cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.4/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

Trial Period

365 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Cooling upgrades
Durable materials
Excellent edge support
Cons
May not be supportive enough for stomach sleepers
May not be supportive enough for heavyweight sleepers
Lacks the traditional slow-moving feel of memory foam

Our Expert’s Take

Gel-infused foam is already famous for its cooling properties, but if you’re wanting an ultra-cooling mattress, try the Nectar Premier. While all-foam beds tend to trap heat, that won’t be a concern with this model. The Nectar Premier boasts a breathable cover, gel infusions, and Phase Change Material, which adapts its temperature to your body for maximum cooling.

What the testers say: “The Nectar Premier’s cover is made with cooling, breathable fabric that helps the surface of the mattress dissipate heat. It allows for a good amount of airflow through the very top of the mattress.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nectar Premier

  • With stellar motion isolation, the Nectar Premier is great for couples.
  • Side sleepers should love how the 3” memory foam comfort layer cradles pressure points at the shoulders and hips.
  • It has an extremely impressive lifespan for a foam mattress. Quality materials and high-density base foam should help this bed last at least 10 years.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nectar Premier

  • Heavier people won’t find the support they need on the Nectar Premier. The 6/10 firmness just isn’t enough to keep some sleepers from sinking in too deeply.
  • Stomach sleepers in average to heavy weight ranges will likely find that their hips aren’t properly supported, which can lead to back pain.

Other User Reviews

There are over 5,000 reviews for the Nectar Premier, with a 4.6-star overall rating. Customers call it “life changing” and praise its comfort and deep support.

Read our full Nectar Premier mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cooling Mattresses for more great options.

Best Gel Mattress for Couples- Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

Best Gel Mattress for Couples

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Gel Mattress for Couples

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Signature Mattress Review
Best Gel Mattress for Couples

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding has amazing products that are sold at very affordable prices. This mattress is extremely high-quality and a great option for combination sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Choice of firmness
Responsive and springy
Premium materials and a great price point
Cons
Lacks the slow-moving feel of memory foam
Edge support isn’t ideal
Doesn’t absorb motion well

Our Expert’s Take

With a partner in the bed, body heat can become even more of an issue than usual. Luckily, gel-infused foams can help draw away heat from your bodies, resulting in a much more comfortable experience for couples. The Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid is an excellent option for this. Its TitaniumGel-infused memory foam comfort layer promotes cooling. The quality materials in this bed make it durable and supportive enough for two sleepers. This bed can last around 7–10 years, making it a great long-term investment for you and your partner.

What the testers say: “It’s really easy to move around and change positions on the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress, which makes it a good mattress for sex.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • It’s a responsive bed, meaning it’s easy to move around on. This makes it a good mattress for sex.
  • Being a medium-firm mattress, the Signature Hybrid accommodates a wide range of body types and sleeping positions.
  • It comes in three firmnesses: Soft, Medium, and Firm. You can choose what works best for your needs and preferences.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

  • The motion isolation isn’t the best on the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid, so you might feel your partner’s movements at night. 
  • The mattress doesn’t have great edge support, which may make it harder to get in and out of bed.

Other User Reviews

There are over 8,400 five-star reviews for the Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress. Reviewers call it the perfect balance of soft yet firm and comfortable.

Read our full Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Couples for more great options.

Best Pillow Top Gel Mattress- Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid 

Best Pillow-Top Gel Mattress

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

Saatva Modern Foam - Airtable

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

365 Nights

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Pillow-Top Gel Mattress

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

Saatva Modern Foam - Airtable

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Trial Period

365 Nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Saatva Modern Foam - Airtable
Best Pillow-Top Gel Mattress

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.6/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

365 Nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Zoned support is ideal for relieving back pain
Balanced feel appeals to a wide range of sleepers
Cooling upgrades
Cons
Lacks responsive feel
High price point
Lacks the support heavyweight stomach sleepers need

Our Expert’s Take

Pillow-top mattresses have an unforgettably cloud-like feel, and the cushy surface is a must for many customers. The Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid is a pillow-top hybrid combining this plushness with firm support, resulting in a balanced, medium-firm feel. A half-inch of gel-infused foam not only cools down the mattress surface, but also provides targeted support towards the center of the bed. This promotes good spinal alignment.

What the testers say: “It’s a great mattress for people with back pain, because the mattress is zoned. This means it feels firmer in some areas and softer in others, which helps people maintain a neutral spinal alignment throughout the night.” Elisa, Editor & Product Tester

What We Love About the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

  • Light sleepers or couples shouldn’t wake up by movements at night, thanks to this bed’s great motion isolation.
  • This mattress is incredibly durable and should last you at least 10 years.
  • Saatva offers free white glove delivery, meaning the company will deliver and set up your mattress in whatever room you choose.

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

  • Saatva is known for their line of luxury mattresses, so it’s not an ideal option for budget shoppers. 
  • Combination sleepers in search of a responsive feel should consider the Saatva Classic mattress instead.

Other User Reviews

The Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress has a 4.8-star rating. Customers say it’s very well made, with a great blend of stability and comfort.

Read our full Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Pillow-Top Mattresses for more great options.

Best Gel Memory Foam Mattress – Bear 

Best Gel Memory Foam Mattress

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Gel Memory Foam Mattress

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Gel Memory Foam Mattress

Bear Mattress

The Bear Original mattress sleeps cool and is quite comfortable. It's a particularly good option for athletes.

Clarity Score 3.8/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Supportive and pressure relieving for most back and side sleepers
Cooling upgrades
Classic memory foam feel
Cons
Lacks support for stomach sleepers
Lacks a responsive feel for combination sleepers
Edge support is only decent

Our Expert’s Take

The Bear is a memory foam mattress infused with graphite for maximum cooling. While most all-foam mattresses tend to trap heat, it shouldn’t be a problem for the Bear. There’s also a Celliant cover, which is not only breathable, but purportedly assists with blood circulation and muscle recovery. Beneath the cover and first comfort layer is a second layer of transition foam, allowing you to sink into the mattress without getting stuck into the material.

What the testers say: “Side sleepers should have a great experience on the original Bear. When I rested on my side, I felt great pressure relief along my hips and shoulders. However, heavier folks might not feel as comfortable if they sleep on their side because they might sink too far into this mattress.” Elisa, Editor & Product Tester

What We Love About the Bear

  • The foam in this bed is CertiPUR-US certified, so it’s an eco-friendly option.
  • With high-quality materials and a high-density base layer, it’s a durable option.
  • Because it does a great job of cutting down on motion transfer, it’s a solid choice for couples.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear

  • Those preferring a super-firm and super-supportive mattress, such as heavier sleepers or stomach sleepers, should opt for one of the best firm mattresses.
  • Heavyweight sleepers in all sleep styles will want to consider a mattress designed for heavy people, since this one won’t offer sufficient support or pressure relief.

Other User Reviews

The Bear has more than 10,000 reviews and 4.4 stars overall. Customers are pleased by its reasonable price point, eco-friendly materials and high level of comfort.

Read our full Bear mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Memory Foam Mattresses for more great options.

Best Gel Mattress for Side Sleepers – Puffy Lux Hybrid 

Best Gel Mattress for Side Sleepers

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

101 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Gel Mattress for Side Sleepers

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

101 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Best Gel Mattress for Side Sleepers

Puffy Lux Hybrid Mattress

The Puffy Lux Hybrid is a luxurious mattress that provides great pressure relief, especially for side sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.0/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

Trial Period

101 nights

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
Couples
This bed has great motion isolation so you will not feel your partner tossing and turning at night.
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
5.0/5
Pros
Cooling upgrades
Excellent lumbar support for back sleepers
Slow-moving feel of foam without sacrifice support
Cons
Lacks a bouncy feel
May not be supportive enough for stomach sleepers
Doesn’t have great edge support

Our Expert’s Take

Side sleepers require a bed that’s pressure-relieving and can alleviate pain points at the shoulders and hips. They’re likely to find these traits in the Puffy Lux Hybrid, which includes several comfort layers so side sleepers can enjoy plenty of plushness. The first comfort layer is infused with gel and dissipates heat. The next comfort layer adds pressure relief, but ensures that side sleepers won’t sink too far. A transition layer of Climate Comfort Foam wicks away moisture and provides adequate support.

What the testers say: “Because of its soft feel, the Puffy Lux works well for most back and side sleepers. The comfort layers will help alleviate pain on pressure points, and the springs create ample support.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Puffy Lux Hybrid

  • The Contour-Adapt Coils at the bottom of the Puffy Lux Hybrid help with support and durability.
  • As a medium-firm mattress, this bed has an ideal construction for most side sleepers and back sleepers wanting a softer feel.
  • All foams are CertiPUR-US certified, and these high-quality materials should help the bed last at least 10 years.

What to Keep in Mind About the Puffy Lux Hybrid

  • This bed isn’t responsive, so those looking for ease of movement (such as combination sleepers and seniors) should opt for a bouncier bed.
  • Most stomach sleepers won’t find sufficient support and will do better with a firmer mattress.

Other User Reviews

The Puffy Lux Hybrid has over 12,000 five-star reviews. Customers praise the quality of construction, price point and comfortable feel.

Read our full Puffy Lux Hybrid mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Mattresses for Side Sleepers for more great options.

Best Cheap Gel Mattress- Dreamfoam Essential 

Best Cheap Gel Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cheap Gel Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Cheap Gel Mattress

Dreamfoam Essential Memory Foam Mattress

The Dreamfoam Essential is a cooling, affordable memory foam mattress that comes in multiple thicknesses.

Clarity Score 3.6/5

Material

Foam

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Great value
Excellent lumbar support for back sleepers
Works well for lightweight sleepers
Cons
Not supportive enough for heavyweight sleepers
Lacks long-term durability
Won’t deliver sufficient support for stomach sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

Good cooling technology can be difficult to find, but it doesn’t have to be expensive. The Dreamfoam Essential is less than $600 at full price for a Queen, making it a great value mattress. It has a breathable cover, open-celled foam, and gel-infused memory foam, of course. The Dreamfoam comes in five different height options: 6”, 8”, 10”, 12”, and 14”.

What the testers say: “The Dreamfoam Essential is an all-foam mattress that comes in five height options and boasts several cooling features. It’s made in the USA by popular online mattress brand Brooklyn Bedding, and it’s part of the brand’s more affordable line of mattresses.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamFoam Essential

  • Lightweight sleepers of all sleeping positions should enjoy the Dreamfoam.
  • It has a memory foam feel but you shouldn’t feel stuck in the layers.
  • Dreamfoam offers a 120-night trial and a 10-year warranty, so you’ll have plenty of time to decide if this is the best bed for you.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamFoam Essential

  • While it’s a cheaper option, it isn’t the most durable one. It should last you between five and seven years.
  • The all-foam construction traps body heat, so hot sleepers should consider a cooling mattress.

Other User Reviews

Four thousand reviewers give the DreamFoam an overall rating of 4.7 stars. In addition to the low price tag, customers praise the variety in sizes and call it a comfortable mattress.

Read our full Dreamfoam mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Cheap Mattresses for more great options.

Best Firm Gel Mattress- Titan Plus

Best Firm Gel Mattress

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Trial Period

120 nights

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Warranty

10-year warranty

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Firm Gel Mattress

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Warranty

10-year warranty

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Trial Period

120 nights

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Firm Gel Mattress

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5

Material

Hybrid

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

Trial Period

120 nights

Warranty

10-year warranty

Shipping Method

Free shipping

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Excellent support for heavyweight sleepers up to 500 pounds
Firm feel works well for stomach sleepers
Made with high-quality, durable materials
Cons
May lack in pressure relief for heavyweight side sleepers
May be too firm for sleepers under 230 lbs
Lacks the slow-moving feel of foam

Our Expert’s Take

While a firm mattress may not sound appealing at first, there are quite a few reasons why a high firmness might be appropriate for you. The Titan Plus, with a firmness of 9 out of 10, works especially well for stomach sleepers and heavyweight people. The support layer of industrial coils provides plenty of support, so heavyweight sleepers and stomach sleepers don’t need to worry about sinking uncomfortably into the mattress. If you’re worried about comfort, the Titan Plus has a plush, gel foam cover and 2” of foam above the support layer, both of which add some nice pressure relief.

What the testers say: “Firmness is always a bit subjective, and that’s especially true for beds that are designed with heavier people in mind. I ranked this mattress a 9/10 on our firmness scale, which is extremely firm. For reference, the industry standard for average firmness is 6.5/10.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus

  • For a mattress of this quality, the Titan Plus is very affordable. Before sales (which run often), a queen can be purchased for just $1,399.
  • The Titan Plus has great edge support. With such a sturdy perimeter, you shouldn’t have to worry about the mattress sagging if you sleep towards the edge of the bed.
  • Because of the industrial coils we already mentioned, the Titan Plus has solid durability, meaning it can last for quite a long time if properly cared for.

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • The Titan Plus doesn’t do a great job of isolating motion, which could be an issue for couples.
  • Heavyweight side sleepers should consider the Titan Plus Luxe for better pressure relief.

Other User Reviews

The Titan Plus has over 2,500 reviews and an overall 4.7-star rating. Customers confirm it’s firm enough for heavier body weight, with high-quality materials and solid construction.

Read our full Titan Plus mattress review for more information. Or check out our list of Best Firm Mattresses for more great options.

What Is a Gel Mattress?

Gel mattresses are beds infused with beads, swirls, or pods that help wick away moisture. These gel mattresses can have all-foam constructions, but we included many hybrid and innerspring-like models in this roundup that incorporate gel foam. Aside from cooling ability, gel mattresses are known to provide lots of pressure relief, and often the gel infusion helps keep sleepers from sinking as far into the mattress as they might with other foams.

Gel Mattress vs Memory Foam Mattress

Memory foam beds often lack cooling technology, but when they do include it, it’s in the form of gel infusions. Gel memory foam mattresses combine the slow-moving feel of memory foam with the beads, swirls, and pods that we mentioned. However, it’s worth noting that any cooling technology is probably going to make a mattress more expensive than a model using traditional memory foam.

Do Gel Mattresses Really Work?

While there may not be enough studies to fully determine this answer, the science behind gel mattresses is considerably sound. Liquid can cool surfaces, and the gel infused into foam mattresses is partially liquid. The gel purportedly draws away the heat from your body and absorbs it.

If you’re especially nervous about your tendency to sleep hot, it’s wise to purchase a mattress that uses both gel-infused foam and a breathable construction that’s known for cooling, such as a hybrid or innerspring mattress.

RELATED: Do Cooling Gel Memory Foam Mattresses Really Keep You Cool?

Benefits of a Gel Mattress

Cooling

There are a number of people who wake up sweaty and stuffy in the morning. Perhaps you’re experiencing hot flashes, or maybe you sleep with a partner who gives off a lot of body heat. Maybe you’re simply a hot sleeper. Whatever the case, gel mattresses are designed to wick moisture away from the sleeper.

Pressure Relief

Foam is known for its pressure-relieving qualities. This means it contours to the body and cushions pain points. The foam in gel mattresses does something similar, cradling your joints and creating a plush feel. Traditional memory foam is a bit better at contouring. However, the gel beads within gel-infused foam make the material a bit stiffer, which can help prevent the sleeper from getting stuck in the foam material. This is great for ease of movement, which may appeal to combination sleepers or seniors.

Motion Isolation

Foam helps cut down on motion transfer, and gel foam is no exception. This material traps movement, so you’re less likely to feel a partner tossing and turning at night. That makes gel mattresses great for couples, co-sleepers, or even those who sleep with a pet.

Disadvantages of a Gel Mattress

Off-gassing

When unboxing a bed-in-a-box mattress, many models emit an odor. This process is called off-gassing, and it’s caused by volatile organic compounds (VOCs). This process is harmless, but the odor can be annoying during the unboxing of your gel-infused mattress.

Price

You’ll have to pay more to get more; if you want the cooling features of a gel mattress, then you should be prepared to spend a bit more money. Budget shoppers might consider trying a cooling topper or a cooling pillow before investing in a cooling mattress.

RELATED: Best Cheap Mattresses

Gel Mattress Considerations

Materials

Gel mattresses can be all-foam beds, but many hybrid and innerspring beds include gel infusions in the comfort layers.

Foam mattresses: These beds are known for their pressure-relieving properties. They’re great for side sleepers who need pressure relief around the hips and shoulders, those experiencing joint pain, and couples needing a bed that cuts down on motion transfer.

Innerspring mattresses: These beds have a much thinner comfort layer than foam mattresses. Instead of focusing on a thick comfort layer, they specialize in providing firm support. This is accomplished by a layer of springy coils, which provide lots of airflow and add durability to the mattress. They’re ideal for those needing more support, such as heavier sleepers and stomach sleepers.

Hybrid mattresses: These beds are the best of both worlds, combining the pressure-relieving qualities of a foam mattress with the support of an innerspring. For this reason, they come in a variety of different feels and firmnesses. Some are great at motion isolation, others are especially durable, and most excel at cooling. Overall, they tend to suit back sleepers and combination sleepers well.

Are Gel Mattresses Toxic?

While not all are toxic, there are a number of models that do use toxic materials or have harmful emissions. This is something crucial to pay attention to, especially when selecting a mattress for infants or seniors. In any case, it’s important to know what’s in your mattress. If you’re a senior looking for a new mattress and are worried about toxicity in gel, check out other options on our recommendations on the best mattress for seniors

One easy way to do this is to check for material certifications. These are important to consider when purchasing a gel mattress. Depending on the certification, they can ensure that the materials are non-toxic, free from harmful chemicals, or even organic. Here are some of the most commonly seen mattress certifications:

Certification

About

CertiPUR-US

It’s a certification for foams without toxic chemicals and with low volatile organic compound (VOC) emission levels.

Greenguard

It’s a certification for products with low chemical emissions.

Oeko-Tex Standard 100

It’s a certification for products deemed harmless and free of harmless substances.

Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)

It’s a certification for the social responsibility of manufacturers, processors, and traders of a product.

Global Organic Latex Standard (GOLS)

It’s a certification for responsible latex substances and emissions levels.

Mattress Firmness

The mattress industry measures firmness on a scale from 1 to 10, with 1 being the softest and 10 being the firmest. A mattress with a 6.5/10 on the firmness scale is considered “medium-firm.” The best firmness level for your mattress depends on your personal preference, body type, and sleeping position.

Sleeping Position

Side sleeping: Side sleepers usually require a mattress that lies lower on the firmness scale. A softer, plusher feel allows pressure points like the shoulders and hips to be cradled. This prevents pressure buildup and lowers the likelihood of waking up with joint pain in the morning.

Stomach sleeping: Unlike side sleepers, stomach sleepers need lots of support. A mattress lying on the firmer side of the firmness scale keeps the hips lifted. This is best for maintaining the proper spinal alignment.

Back sleeping: Back sleepers are best suited to a medium-firm mattress. A balanced feel provides comfort and support to these sleepers. That way, they have enough support to keep the body lifted, but also enough pressure relief around the lumbar region.

Body Type

Lightweight sleepers: Those under 130 lb are considered lightweight sleepers. Softer mattresses tend to be more comfortable for lightweight sleepers because they compress into the softer layer and firmer layer, getting the proper balance of comfort and support.

Average-weight sleepers: Those between 130 lb and 230 lb are considered average-weight sleepers. While most lightweight sleepers do best on softer mattresses and most heavier sleepers do best on firmer mattresses, average-weight sleepers fall somewhere in between. A medium-firm mattress should provide an appealing balanced feel.

Heavyweight sleepers: Those over 230 lb are classified as heavier sleepers. When searching for a mattress, it’s crucial to find a bed that provides adequate support. Firmer mattresses tend to do this well, along with sturdy hybrid or innerspring constructions.

Note: When considering firmness, sleeping position, and body type, it’s important to do so altogether. For instance, a mattress might be great for lightweight and average-weight side sleepers, but not average-weight back sleepers or heavier side sleepers.

Buying Your Gel Mattress

Average Cost

Gel mattresses tend to be a bit more expensive than foam beds without cooling technology. Keep in mind that hybrid and innerspring beds come at a heftier price tag, too. Overall, you can expect to pay around $1,500 for a quality gel mattress.

Warranty and Sleep Trial

A mattress warranty protects the customer from paying for damaged or defective products, while a sleep trial is the allotment of time customers have to test out a mattress. Warranties and sleep trials are incredibly important for the customer’s satisfaction with the product, and both are indicative of a company’s confidence in their product.

Find the Best Deal

Companies tend to slash prices around large holidays, but especially President’s Day (February), Memorial Day (May), Labor Day (September), Cyber 5 (November), and Christmas (December).

To find exclusive deals year-round, head on over to our Mattress Clarity Coupons page.

Overall

Here’s a summary of our top picks for gel mattresses:

MattressSuperlative

Loom & Leaf 

Best Overall

Helix Plus

Best Gel Mattress for Heavy Sleepers

DreamCloud

Best Hybrid Gel Mattress

Nectar Premier

Best Cooling Gel Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Signature Hybrid

Best Gel Mattress for Couples

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

Best Pillow-Top Gel Mattress

Bear

Best Gel Memory Foam Mattress

Puffy Lux Hybrid

Best Gel Mattress for Side Sleepers

Dreamfoam Essential

Best Cheap Gel Mattress

Titan Plus

Best Firm Gel Mattress

FAQ

How long do gel mattresses last?

It depends on the mattress construction. Most gel memory foam mattresses last around seven years. Hybrids and innersprings tend to last a bit longer — around 10 years. The durability of a mattress is increased with the inclusion of quality materials and more supportive constructions, such as high-density foam foundations. 

Which gel mattress is the best?

The best gel mattress is going to look differently for everyone, because we all have our own needs and preferences. However, our selected best mattress overall is the Loom & Leaf. It has lots of cooling technology, solid edge support, and great motion isolation. Perhaps best of all, it’s eco-friendly and CertiPUR-US Certified.

Is a gel mattress good for side sleepers?

It truly depends on the model. You can find hybrid and innerspring mattresses with gel-infused foam, and these beds are historically a bit on the firmer side. We suggest opting for an all-foam mattress or a hybrid bed with a plush gel comfort layer; that way, side sleepers can obtain adequate contouring and pressure relief.

Is gel foam the same as memory foam?

No, some memory foams are not gel-infused. Many memory foams lack cooling technology and are known for trapping heat. If you’re interested in sleeping cool, look for gel-infused foam. Also, if you’re on the hunt for a slow-moving feel, look for gel-infused memory foam. Not all gel foam is made of memory foam.

Lauren Hapgood

Lauren is a Performance Publisher at Mattress Clarity, where she writes and edits mattress content to keep readers updated on sleep products. Lauren is committed to helping readers find the best sleep products for their lifestyles and is even a Certified Sleep Science Coach! She earned her bachelor's degree in creative writing from the University of Washington. When she's not compiling lists of the best beds on the market, you can find Lauren running on a trail, reading classic novels, or napping on her favorite mattress (her best talent).