The Best Split King Mattresses – Our Top 9 Picks!

We receive free products to review and participate in affiliate programs. See our disclosure page for more information.

Whether they’re paired with adjustable bases or placed directly on top of a bed frame, split king mattresses have many perks. If you’re in the market for one of these versatile beds, you’ve come to the right place.

We’ve rounded up a list of the best split king mattresses so that you can find the perfect one for your sleep needs. Keep reading to learn more about each bed’s firmness, feel, and construction.

Our Verdict: What’s the Best Split King Mattress?

Our expert reviewers picked the Nectar Premier as the best split king mattress due to its durability, adjustability and customer service terms.

Best Split King Mattresses: Our Top 9 Picks

Best Split King Mattresses: Video Roundup

Compare the Best Split King Mattresses

Nectar Premier Mattress Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress Titan Plus Birch Natural Mattress
Nectar Premier Mattress Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress DreamCloud Original Mattress Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress Titan Plus Birch Natural Mattress
Rating
Firmness Soft: 6/10 Medium-firm: 7/10 Medium-firm: 6.5/10 Firm: 7.5/10 Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Multiple firmness options Firm: 9/10 Medium-firm: 7/10
Material Foam Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid Hybrid
Cooling -- -- -- -- --
Sleep Position Back & Side Back & Stomach Combination Back Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Side Back & Stomach Back & Stomach

How We Chose the Best Split King Mattresses

Using proprietary methodology and hands-on testing, our team of Ceritified Sleep Science Coaches have reviewed hundreds of mattresses. We’ve spent time laying on these mattresses and testing different variables to figure out which mattresses are the best on the market. You can read more about our testing and review process here.

In this roundup of the best split king mattresses, we focused on durability, pricing, cooling, motion transfer, and edge support. Keep reading to find out which split king mattress is a fit for you!

Keep in Mind

Split kings contain two mattresses that each measure 38” x 80″, so essentially, it’s two twin XL mattresses put together. We include some mattress brands in this roundup that do not sell split king mattresses, but they do sell twin XL mattresses that you can buy in pairs.

Best Memory Foam Split King Mattress- Nectar Premier

Best Memory Foam Split King Mattress

Nectar Premier Mattress

Nectar Premier

The Nectar Premier is a plush memory foam mattress with some great cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Memory Foam Split King Mattress

Nectar Premier Mattress

Nectar Premier

The Nectar Premier is a plush memory foam mattress with some great cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Nectar Premier
Best Memory Foam Split King Mattress

Nectar Premier Mattress

The Nectar Premier is a plush memory foam mattress with some great cooling features.

Clarity Score 4.4/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Foam

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Soft: 6/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.4/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Pressure relieving
Dissipates body heat
Classic medium-firm feel
Cons
Not great for hot sleepers
Hard to move around on

Best Split King Mattress for Couples – Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

Best Split King Mattress for Couples

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

Saatva Modern Foam - Airtable

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Split King Mattress for Couples

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

Saatva Modern Foam - Airtable

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 Nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Saatva Modern Foam - Airtable
Best Split King Mattress for Couples

Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

With a quilted pillow top and plush comfort layer, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid mattress works well for most back and side sleepers. And, like all Saatva mattresses, this one doesn't arrive compressed inside a cardboard box!

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 Nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free white glove delivery

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Very breathable
Memory foam design that offers quality spinal support
Mattress stays quiet when moving on it
Cons
May not be suitable for heavier stomach sleepers
Returning the mattress comes with a fee

Our Expert’s Take

Saatva is well known for designing luxury-grade mattresses without compromising construction or quality. Its Memory Foam Hybrid offers sleepers the best of both comforting foam and supportive coils in its construction. The mattress is surrounded by high-density rails that keep it strong and retain its edge support, and it has a durable foundation of coils and thick foam. On top are two memory foam comfort layers underneath Saatva’s exclusive “Lumbar Zone Quilting” and a breathable, ultra-soft organic cotton cover.  

The hybrid design and its accessible medium-firmness offer the versatility that makes the Saatva an excellent choice for different types of sleepers who share a mattress. Furthermore, couples can rely on the support of the mattress’s heavy-duty coil and foam base when getting intimate.

Split kings already offer couples more freedom to get a good night’s rest while sharing the bed with their partner. Still, the Saatva takes it one step further by creating a top-to-bottom flexible design that may reliably help different types of sleepers sharing the bed find their unique comfort zone for a night of quality rest beside their significant other.

What our testers say:  “If you’re looking for one of the best mattresses for sex, the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid may fit the bill. This mattress has a responsive feel that’s easy to move around on, so you and your partner shouldn’t feel ‘stuck’ inside the layers.” Elisa, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

  • Couples with children or roommates may appreciate that our testers found the bed to stay impressively quiet when they moved around on it. 
  • Our tester reported that the mattress had “the best edge support” they have ever encountered. So, expect proper support and comfort across the entire bed’s surface.
  • The organic cotton cover and breathable foam design had our tester establishing that the Saatva is “one of the best cooling mattresses on the market.”

What to Keep in Mind About the Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid

  • While Saatva does offer a 365-night sleep trial, they will charge a $99 fee for picking up the mattress when making a return.
  • Heavier sleepers who sleep on their stomachs may not get the support they need on this Saatva, so they may want to consider a mattress designed more specifically for heavy sleepers.

Other user reviews

On the Saatva website, the Memory Foam Hybrid had an average score of 4.8/5 based on at least 171 reviews. Happy customers repeatedly mentioned the balanced combination of sturdy support and plush comfort, making for what many claimed was the “best sleep” a bed can offer.

Read our Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid review. Or for other options, check out our recommendations for the Best Mattresses for Couples.

Best Pillow-Top Split King Mattress – Helix Midnight Luxe

Best Overall Split King Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Overall Split King Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Carousel Luxe Midnight 1 600x e1609974070994
Best Overall Split King Mattress

Helix Midnight Luxe Mattress

The Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious hybrid mattress with plush comfort and great support.

Clarity Score 4.6/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 6.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

15-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight and heavyweight side sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Durable
Balanced hybrid feel
Balanced comfort and support
Cons
Comes in twin XL size
Not great for hot sleepers

Our Expert’s Take

With over a dozen different mattress models, Helix Sleep is known for variety. They even created a mattress quiz that matches customers to their ideal bed based on their firmness preferences, sleeping position, and body type.

But if you’re looking for a luxurious medium-firm hybrid mattress, you can’t go wrong with the Helix Midnight Luxe. This mattress contains durable coils, plush foam, and a cooling cover. It works well for most back and side sleepers!

Though you won’t find a split king option on the Helix website, you can purchase two twin XL mattresses and receive the same thing. This makes it a particularly good option for couples with different preferences. That way, each person can rest on the mattress that works for them.

What our testers say:  “On the Helix Midnight, I could feel the Memory Plus Foam conform to my body and allow me to sink into the mattress slightly, but it still had a bouncy feel and was fairly easy to move around on. This mattress felt great for me as a back sleeper.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • The Helix Midnight Luxe offers a nice balance of comfort and support, and its perfectly medium-firm feel makes it an ideal choice for most back sleepers.
  • As we mentioned, the Helix Midnight Luxe offers a great deal of comfort, especially thanks to its plush pillow-top that gives the bed a hotel mattress feel.
  • It’s a great choice for hot sleepers since it’s made to help dissipate heat. The layer of coils in the mattress help promote airflow, and the cover and foams on the mattress are designed to promote cooling and breathability. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Helix Midnight Luxe

  • Again, the Midnight Luxe is perfectly medium-firm, so it likely won’t be supportive enough for stomach sleepers, who will likely want something firmer, like the Helix Dawn Luxe.
  • As the name suggests, the Helix Midnight Luxe is a luxurious mattress and comes at a luxurious price tag. If you’re on a budget, this may not be a great fit.

Other user reviews

Over 5,000 customers rated the Helix Midnight Luxe on the Helix site and gave it an average score of 4.4 out of 5 stars. Reviewers loved that the mattress is soft and comfortable, but still feels supportive enough to hold up their bodies properly. On the other hand, some users felt the opposite and thought that the mattress was too soft.

Read our Helix Midnight mattress review. Or for other options, check out our recommendations of the Best Pillow-Top Mattresses.

Best Hybrid Split King Mattress – DreamCloud Original

Best Hybrid Split King Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Best Hybrid Split King Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
DreamCloud Mattress Review 2024
Best Hybrid Split King Mattress

DreamCloud Original Mattress

The DreamCloud is a high-quality hybrid mattress that is sold for a value price.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 7.5/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

365 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.6/5
Pros
Offers plenty of lumbar support
More affordable than similar luxury mattresses
Great option for hot sleepers
Cons
Mediocre edge support
Expensive home-setup

Our Expert’s Take

Hybrid mattresses are a great solution if you want the durability and support of an innerspring bed and the ultra-comfort of a foam-based bed in one. The DreamCloud Original is a five-layered hybrid that combines foam and coils in its construction to efficiently deliver the benefits of both materials. At its base is a combination of coils for extra support and airflow underneath a high-density foam layer. At its core is a foam transition layer designed to retain comfort while preventing too much sinkage into the bed when sleeping. And greeting you on top is a pressure-relieving gel memory foam layer and a luxurious cashmere-blend cover top. The construction allows you to embrace memory foam’s hug while helping you avoid sleeping hot or compromising posture support when resting.

While the cashmere cover and memory gel top layers have a snug feel, the mattress is firmer than typical all-foam beds (7.5/10), making it ideal for people with back pain who love all-foam beds but don’t get the lumbar support they need. Overall, the DreamCloud is a great option for combination sleepers and couples with different sleeping preferences, making it one of the more stand-out luxury hybrid mattresses today.

What our testers say:  “On the DreamCloud, I felt best whenever I slept on my back. Because this mattress has a firmer feel, it offered plenty of lumbar support.” Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the DreamCloud Original

  • The quilted cashmere and foam blend cover top offers ultra comfort without compromising airflow. Testers found it to be “breathable and soft to the touch.”
  • The bed is built to last, with testers estimating you’ll get a quality six to eight years of proper rest on the DreamCloud.
  • The firmness and design of this hybrid provide great pressure relief for people with back pain.

What to Keep in Mind About the DreamCloud Original

  • Heavier sleepers (over 230 lb) may want to look elsewhere, especially those who sleep on their stomach or side. Our heavier tester reported tension from sinking into the firmer layers when resting on their stomach or side.
  • Due to the Dreamcloud’s size and weight, home setup may be complicated. And in-home setup comes at an additional $200.

Other user reviews

Out of 5125 reviews on DreamCloud’s website, their Original hybrid impressively kept an average score of 4.5/5. Many reported quality back support, with one review describing the hybrid design as “the right combination of support and comfort.”

Read our DreamCloud Original mattress review. Or for other options, check out our recommendations for the Best Hybrid Mattresses.

Best Hybrid Split King Mattress- Nolah Evolution

Best Hybrid Split King Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Hybrid Split King Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

Product Image

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Product Image
Best Hybrid Split King Mattress

Nolah Evolution Hybrid Mattress

The Nolah Evolution is a high-end hybrid mattress that features great support, comfort, and cooling.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Balanced foam feel
Great for side and back sleepers
Luxury upgrade from most mattresses
Cons
Not as slow moving as traditional memory foam
Higher price tag for luxury build

Our Expert’s Take

One reason to get a split king may be that one partner requires more support than the other. For example: What feels firm to a heavyweight sleeper might feel overly smushy to a lightweight sleeper. And there are few mattresses on the market that do a better job providing solid support than the Nolah Evolution, the most luxury mattress from the Nolah brand. Its hybrid build is made to support people of all sizes without sagging or breaking down too quickly or easily.

Plus, if you’re particular about your firmness preference, you can choose among Plush, Luxury Firm and Firm models of the bed. Our testers were most inclined to try the middle ground Luxury Firm model, which clocked a 6.5/10 on our firmness scale.

What our testers say: “As as heavier guy resting on the Nolah Evolution’s Luxury-Firm model, I sink in a bit, but the mattress is still a bit bouncy on the top foam layer and becomes slower-moving in the second layer, providing coziness but enough support to keep my hips up.Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Nolah Evolution

  • The Nolah Evolution is an exceptionally durable mattress that should least at least 10 years, likely more. That makes it a great purchase for eco-conscious consumers who want to avoid filling up landfills with mattress after mattress.
  • The bounciness of the Nolah Evolution means it might be the ideal side of the split king during sex: Couples looking for the best mattress for sex can seamlessly switch positions without feeling stuck. 
  • The Nolah Evolution mattress is made with a breathable cover and coils that promote airflow, making it one of the coolest mattress on the market, so it shouldn’t cause hot sleepers to overheat at night.

What to Keep in Mind About the Nolah Evolution

  • The edge support on the Nolah Evolution is less robust than that of hybrids with a double coil layer. If you tend to stray from the center of your bed and don’t want to feel like you’re about to roll off, try the WinkBed or Saatva Original.
  • The pricetag on the Nolah Evolution is a bit steeper, even for a hybrid. A twin XL has a $1,599 sticker price ($1,099 with sales at publishing time).

Other user reviews

The Nolah website is less transparent with its customer reviews than that of other sites, so we can’t state the number of reviews in the 1- to 5-star range for the Evolution — only that the average is 4.9 out of 5. We also couldn’t sort reviews to find the opinion of sleepers on  split kings, but most of the featured recent reviews for the bed are positive, sighting the bed’s comfort. 

Read our full Nolah mattress review. For more options, check out our Best Hybrid Mattresses.

Best Cooling Split King Mattress- Bear Elite Hybrid

Best Cooling Split King Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

The Bear Elite Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers, especially if they're hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Best Cooling Split King Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured

The Bear Elite Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers, especially if they're hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Bear Elite Hybrid - Featured
Best Cooling Split King Mattress

Bear Elite Hybrid Mattress

The Bear Elite Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. It is a great match for back and side sleepers, especially if they're hot sleepers.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

Lifetime Warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight, average weight, and heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for lightweight and average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.5/5
Pros
One of the best orthopedic mattresses
High-quality and under $2,000
One of the best mattresses for sex
Cons
Not great for stomach sleepers
Might be too bouncy for some

Our Expert’s Take

The Bear Elite Hybrid mattress is a quality mattress made with athletes in mind and catered to their need to rest and recharge after a workout. The mattress comes in three firmness levels, and the medium-firm model is great for most back and side sleepers.

The Bear Elite Hybrid is one of the company’s most luxurious models, and its cooling features are some of its most impressive features. The mattress has a celliant cover, which is designed to help you keep cool, and furthermore, the top layer is infused with copper to help draw heat away from the body.

What the testers say:I’m typically a back sleeper, but side sleeping was great on the Bear Elite. I got some great pressure relief and my spine felt really supported.Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • The Bear Elite Hybrid has a great balance of comfort and support. The thick comfort layers are great for pressure relief, while the layer of coils helps to add support.
  • The Elite Hybrid comes in three firmness levels, Soft, Medium, and Firm. We tested the Medium version and thinks its a great match for side and back sleepers because of it’s balanced foam feel.
  • The mattress is cooling and made with a cooling cover and coils that help promote airflow. This makes it a great fit for people who sleep hot.

What to Keep in Mind About the Bear Elite Hybrid

  • Since this mattress is made with coil layers, it’s a bouncy and responsive mattress. If you prefer a slow-moving mattress, try one of the all-foam mattresses in this roundup, such as the Nectar Premier.
  • The Elite Hybrid is Bear’s most luxurious mattress. It’s made with high-quality materials, which means that it’s not a great mattress for shoppers who are on a budget.

Other user reviews

The Bear Elite Hybrid has a customer rating of 4.3 out of 5 stars on the Bear website. Some of the top reviews praised the mattress for its cooling effects, its comfortableness, and how plush it felt. As far as negative reviews go, some users complained that the mattress began to sag not too long after they began using it.

Read our Bear Elite Hybrid mattress review. For more recommendations, check out our Best Cooling Mattresses.

Best Split King Mattress for Back Sleepers- Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

Best Split King Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Split King Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review
Best Split King Mattress for Back Sleepers

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Mattress

The Aurora Luxe mattress from Brooklyn Bedding is a high-quality hybrid mattress that has cooling and pressure relieving components. The high-quality materials and thoughtful construction makes it a good value.

Clarity Score 4.0/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Multiple firmness options

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type side sleepers
Side Sleeping
Ideal for average weight side sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Sold at a value price
Durable and responsive
Three firmness levels
Cons
Comes in twin XL size
May be too bouncy

Our Expert’s Take

The Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe mattress is available in three firmness levels: soft, medium, and firm. Average weight back sleepers, however, will feel the most comfort and support on the medium model.

This mattress features premium memory foam, high-quality transition foam, and 8” of individually-encased coils. All together, these materials give the mattress a long lifespan of 7-10 years – but that doesn’t mean it’ll cost an arm and a leg! Brooklyn Bedding owns their own factory, so they can cut costs and pass the savings on to customers.

What our testers say: “I felt the most comfortable sleeping on my back on the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe since the plush pillow top gave me comfort and I could still feel some bounce from the innerspring layers. Side sleeping on this mattress worked well too.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe 

  • The Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe should be a great choice for hot sleepers, thanks to its gel-infused foam layers and breathable cover.
  • It offers a nice balance of comfort and support thanks to it’s soft foams and coil layers. This makes it a good fit for back sleepers.
  • If you are a combination sleeper, or are looking for the best mattress for sex, this mattress may be a good fit since it’s easy to move around on.

What to Keep in Mind About the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe 

  • Stomach sleepers need a firm mattress that’ll keep their spines aligned while they sleep. We tested the Medium version of the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe, which is too soft for stomach sleepers.
  • Much like stomach sleepers, heavy people also tend to need firmer mattresses to get the needed support, and this mattress likely won’t offer that.

Other user reviews

On the Brooklyn Bedding website, the Aurora Luxe mattress is rated 4.7 out of 5 stars by customers. Reviewers think that the mattress is comfortable and keeps them from tossing and turning throughout the night, while some negative reviews noted the exact opposite – the mattress wasn’t comfortable enough.

Read our Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe mattress review. For more recommendations, check out our Best Mattresses for Back Sleepers.

Best Split King Mattress for Heavy People- Titan Plus

Best Split King Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Best Split King Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

titan featured image

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
titan featured image
Best Split King Mattress for Heavy People

Titan Plus

The Titan Plus is Brooklyn Bedding's mattress for heavy people. It is a firm, supportive mattress that can support heavier weights.

Clarity Score 4.2/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Firm: 9/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

120 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

10-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type hip pain
Hip Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from hip pain.
MC sleeper type back pain
Back Pain
This bed is perfect for anyone suffering from back pain.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for heavyweight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.7/5
Pros
Good responsiveness
Stays cool as you sleep
Good for back pain
Great for heavy stomach sleepers
Cons
Too firm for side sleepers
Not great for couples

Our Expert’s Take

If you’re a heavyweight sleeper, firmness is one of the most important factors to consider when shopping for a mattress. We rated the Titan Plus a 9 out of 10 on our firmness scale, meaning it’s really firm. This isn’t going to be a great option for everyone, but we do feel it accommodates most heavyweight sleepers very well. 

In addition to providing needed support and firmness for heavyweight sleepers, the Titan Plus also does a great job of staying cool throughout the night. Like most hybrids, the Titan’s layer of coils allows your body heat to easily flow out of the mattress—this breathability can help keep things from heating up to an uncomfortable temperature.

What our testers say: “Heavyweight stomach sleepers should enjoy fantastic spinal support on this mattress. Overall, it is one of the best mattresses for heavy people.Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Titan Plus

  • The Titan Plus is a great mattress for heavy people. It’s on the firmer side, so it’s supportive enough for people who weigh 230 to 500 lbs.
  • Since it’s a firm mattress, people who sleep on their stomachs may also get some really decent support from this mattress.
  • There are a few mattresses for heavy people on the market, but the Titan Plus is a more budget-friendly option for these kinds of mattresses. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Titan Plus

  • Though this is a great mattress for heavy people, heavy side sleepers may not get the best pressure relief in the hips and shoulders and may want to opt for the Luxe version of this mattress instead.
  • Because this is a mattress meant specifically for heavy sleepers, people who weigh less than 230 lbs will probably think that this mattress is too firm.

Other user reviews

The Titan mattress scores pretty highly on the Brooklyn Bedding website, as customers rated the mattress 4.7 out of 5 stars. The mattress is specifically made to support heavier bodies, and customers who fit the bill praised how supportive this mattress felt, regardless of their sleeping position.

Read our Titan Plus mattress review. For more recommendations, check out our Best Mattresses for Heavy People.

Best Organic Split King Mattress- Birch

Best Organic Split King Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Best Organic Split King Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Birch mattress
Best Organic Split King Mattress

Birch Natural Mattress

Birch is an eco-friendly mattress-in-a-box that’s made with natural latex and organic cotton and wool. It has a base layer of individually wrapped coils and comfort layers made with chemical-free latex foam.

Clarity Score 4.5/5
MC Brand Icon MattressMaterial

Material

Hybrid

MC Brand Icon PropertyFirmness

Firmness

Medium-firm: 7/10

MC Brand Icon PropertyTrialPeriod

Trial Period

100 nights

MC Brand Icon MattressWarranty

Warranty

25-year warranty

MC Brand Icon PropertyShipping

Shipping Method

Free shipping

MC Brand Icon PropertyPrice

Price Range

$$$$$

We recommend this mattress for the following sleeper types:

MC sleeper type hot sleepers
Hot Sleepers
If you often overheat while you sleep, this mattress should help you stay cool.
MC sleeper type seniors
Seniors
This bed is perfect for senior sleepers.
MC sleeper type back sleepers
Back Sleeping
Ideal for average weight back sleepers.
MC sleeper type stomach sleepers
Stomach Sleeping
Ideal for average weight stomach sleepers.

Financing Options

Financing options are available for this mattress.

Average Customer Rating
4.8/5
Watch Our Video Review
Pros
Eco-friendly materials
Durable, responsive, and cooling
Should last at least a decade
Cons
Comes in twin XL size
May be too bouncy for some

Our Expert’s Take

Birch, also created by Helix Sleep, is one of the best eco-friendly mattresses on the market. Made with durable Talalay latex, organic cotton, and strong innersprings, this bed is both cooling and luxurious.

Another perk: Talalay latex is naturally breathable, so it won’t trap heat like memory foam often does. This material also feels responsive, making it easy for folks to move around on top of the mattress.

The Birch mattress feels slightly firmer than the industry standard, coming in at 7/10 on our firmness scale. We recommend this mattress for back sleepers and lightweight stomach sleepers.

What our testers say: “If you’re a back sleeper like me, the Birch will likely be a good fit. My hips sank into the wool and latex layers just the right amount, and the latex pressed into my lumbar area, which also makes this a good fit for anyone with chronic back pain.”Marten, Lead Reviewer

What We Love About the Birch

  • The Birch is an eco-friendly and organic mattress that features all-natural, fair-trade textiles without harmful chemicals or pollutants. It also has a cover that is made with Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) certified organic cotton, organic wool, and eco-INSTITUT certified Talalay latex.
  • The organic materials such as cotton, wool, and ventilated latex help make the Birch mattress a more breathable mattress than typical memory foam mattresses, which may make it a good fit for hot sleepers. 

What to Keep in Mind About the Birch

  • The bouncy nature of the Birch mattress makes for some high motion transfer. If you sleep with a partner who is easily disturbed by movements, this is something to consider.
  • The Birch is firmer than average, so side sleepers may feel some pressure on their hips and shoulders while lying on this mattress.

Other user reviews

On the Birch website, the Birch mattress is given an average customer rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars. Some of the highest praise comes from customers who think that the mattress is comfortable and easy to set up, and who love the eco-friendly materials. The few negative reviews mostly are complaints about the thinness of the latex layer.

Read our Birch mattress review. For more recommendations, check out our Best Organic Mattresses.

What Is A Split King Mattress?

When you place two 38” x 80” mattresses (also known as twin XLs) together, you’ll get a split king. Sometimes, mattress companies specifically sell split kings, but most of the time, customers will need to purchase two twin XL mattresses and put them side-by-side.

a photo of a split king mattress

Benefits of a Split King Mattress

Split king mattresses are great options for partners who have different sleeping preferences because they allow each person to choose the bed that suits their needs. With adjustable bed frames, split kings also allow each person to customize the height of their mattress.

How To Choose A Split King Mattress

When shopping for a split king mattress, there are several factors to consider.

Firmness

First and foremost, you’ll want to think about your desired firmness level. Mattress Clarity’s firmness scale ranges from 1-10, with 6.5/10 representing medium-firm. Average weight back and side sleepers typically need medium-firm beds, while stomach sleepers benefit from firmer mattresses. Ultimately, it all boils down to personal preference. Split kings are great ways to ensure couples rest on their ideal bed.

Feel

If you love sinking into a slow-moving memory foam mattress, but your partner wants a bouncy innerspring bed – order a twin XL of each one! With split king mattresses, nobody has to compromise.

Durability

Mattresses are huge investments, so you will want to make sure your purchase has a long lifespan. Most all-foam mattresses last about seven years, and hybrid models can last as long as a decade.

When you’re shopping for your new bed, make sure to look at its construction. Latex, high-density foam, and strong coils tend to last longer than other materials.

Price

Mattress prices run the gamut, but generally, you can expect to pay between $1,200 and $3,000 for a split king mattress. Don’t forget – you can save some significant dough by using our Mattress Clarity coupons!

Split King Bed Frames

You don’t have to purchase a specific bed frame for your split king mattress. As long as the base fits a standard king mattress, you can easily fit both sections on top of it.

Here at Mattress Clarity, we particularly love platform bases because they don’t require box springs for support. Adjustable bases, such as the Saatva and Tuft & Needle, are also great options if couples want to adjust the height of their side of the bed.

RELATED: Best adjustable bases and bed frames

How to Keep Split King Mattresses Together

While split king mattresses have many benefits, there is one drawback that frequently annoys customers: Sometimes, the mattresses slide apart!

Fortunately, there are several easy ways to keep split king mattresses together. Oftentimes, manufacturers include iron plate connectors to the outside edge of each twin XL mattress, which allows customers to easily attach them.

Non-slip mattress pads can also help solve this problem. Simply place the thin grippy pad on the top of the bed frame and put the split king on top of it!

If all else fails, you can purchase a fitted bed frame that has a headboard, footboard, and side rails. This will help prevent your mattresses from sliding around and can create a stable sleeping environment.

Split King vs King

Though they have the same dimensions, split kings and king size mattresses aren’t the same. Split kings contain two mattresses that each measure 38” x 80.” King size beds contain one solid mattress that measures 76” x 80.”

Split king mattresses are ideal for partners who have different mattress preferences or who want to raise and lower their side of the bed with an adjustable base.

That said, split king mattresses may not work well for couples who want to rest closer to the center of the bed. Because split kings contain two mattresses, sleepers often feel a firmer ridge toward the center of the bed frame, which can be uncomfortable.

King mattresses are great for couples who have similar mattress preferences and don’t want to raise or lower each side of the bed with a split king adjustable base. It’s also easier to make the bed when you have a traditional king mattress because there’s only one fitted sheet.

Split King vs Split California King Mattress

Though rare, you can occasionally find split California king mattresses online. This type of bed consists of two mattresses that measure 36” x 42.” When placed together, they create a traditional California king bed measuring 72” x 84.”

Kings and California kings have the same surface area, but California kings are better suited for taller folks because they are four inches longer and two inches narrower than kings.

Summary

Once again, here are our top picks for the best split king mattresses.

Mattress Best For:
Nectar Premier Best Memory Foam Split King Mattress
Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Best Split King Mattress for Couples
Helix Midnight Luxe Best Pillow-Top Split King Mattress
DreamCloud Original Best Hybrid Split King Mattress
Nolah Evolution Best Hybrid Split King
Bear Elite Hybrid Best Cooling Split King Mattress
Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Best Split King Mattress for Back Sleepers
Titan Plus Best Split King Mattress for Heavy People
Birch  Best Organic Split King Mattress 

Best Split King Mattress FAQs

Are split king mattresses comfortable?

Yes! Split king mattresses are just as comfortable as any other mattress, and as long as you find the right firmness level and feel for your sleep needs, you should get the optimal amount of comfort and support. Split kings may not work well for couples who tend to rest closer to the center of the mattress, however. Because split kings contain two twin XL mattresses put together, the center section often feels a bit firmer than the rest of the bed.

How big is a split king mattress?

Split king mattresses are the same dimensions as king size beds, 76” x 80.” The only difference is that they are split evenly in two!

Is a split king two twin mattresses?

Not quite! Split kings contain two Twin XL mattresses that each measure 38” x 80.”

Elisa Regulski

Elisa is the Editor of Mattress Clarity, where she analyzes sleep products and appears in review videos. A certified sleep science coach, Elisa's sleep tips have appeared in Readers Digest, Homes and Gardens, and 21 Oak. She earned a M.A in Mass Communication from Texas State University and a B.F.A in acting from Oklahoma City University.